PDA

View Full Version : What's the reason for the hype around Kyle Wiljter?



ProjectMKUltra5
11-04-2014, 11:50 AM
For the life of me I can't figure out why people are so high on him. In the game against Thompson Rivers his feet looked like they were being weighed down bricks and this was in comparison to thompson rivers. He does appear to be more comfortable with contact but that won't change his game. Is he slightly more athletic then before? Sure, but that bar wasn't very high to begin with. He's still a unathletic stretch 4 with a limited ability to defend imo yet I see people saying he should be the 2nd or even 1st scoring option on a top 10 team.

Imo it's a combo of just being optimistic and the Olynyk transformation. The assumption that Wiljter will make some sort of jump because of Travis Knight. You wanna talk about what needs to be done to beat the Arizonas of the world, we need Kyle coming off the bench so Sabonis can play.

Vanzagger
11-04-2014, 11:55 AM
Just wait a few weeks

gonzagafan62
11-04-2014, 12:47 PM
Just wait a few weeks

This.

Don't you remember he hasn't really played in a game in over a year and a half? It will take time for him to mesh, but the game against Thompson Rivers, the Texas secret scrimmage and the game against Sacramento State will be huge for him. He will get better. Its his first game with his teammates. Its not like you can fit him completely in the system in game one, and expect him to be perfect. You could see even Sabonis was late on rotations and switches, but he looked good despite early fouls. It happens when you haven't played with your teammates yet.

It will come.

Pargo the Destroyer
11-04-2014, 12:51 PM
This.

Don't you remember he hasn't really played in a game in over a year and a half? It will take time for him to mesh, but the game against Thompson Rivers, the Texas secret scrimmage and the game against Sacramento State will be huge for him. He will get better. Its his first game with his teammates. Its not like you can fit him completely in the system in game one, and expect him to be perfect. You could see even Sabonis was late on rotations and switches, but he looked good despite early fouls. It happens when you haven't played with your teammates yet.

It will come.

OP never mentioned anything about gelling with his teammates, his post was about how unathletic he looked against the exhibition opponent. True he has not played in a year and a half, but hes also not been sitting on the couch pounding pringle cans. He looked slow. Shot looked great. He got beat a few times. I think Texas and their deluge of big men have their way with him.

NotoriousZ
11-04-2014, 01:17 PM
His defensive abilities are still an unknown at this point, but Wiltjer will be a scoring machine. I would be surprised if he doesn't lead the team in points scored. And that's no knock on Pangos either, Wiltjer is just that good.

As for Sabonis...wow. That guy is the real deal for sure. The Zags should have a sweet big men rotation with Karno, Wiltjer, and Sabonis. I don't know where that leaves Nunez, but he'll get in there somewhere.

BTB
11-04-2014, 01:30 PM
The hype is because he was a high school All-American and one of the best players in the SEC 2 years ago and has had a year and a half to practice.

thickman1
11-04-2014, 01:31 PM
Kyle forces teams to respect the three and drag a big out of the key freeing up Shem and Domas.

ProjectMKUltra5
11-04-2014, 01:37 PM
OP never mentioned anything about gelling with his teammates, his post was about how unathletic he looked against the exhibition opponent. True he has not played in a year and a half, but hes also not been sitting on the couch pounding pringle cans. He looked slow. Shot looked great. He got beat a few times. I think Texas and their deluge of big men have their way with him.

Exactly. I don't have any issue with the fact that he went 4-13, we know he can shoot it. This was my first time seeing Wiljter play in person and he just looked so slow. If you would have swapped his jersey he would have fit right in on the other team. He's still the same player he was imo, a unathletic stretch 4. I think Sabonis is to good to keep on the bench and given that Kyle has already had success off the bench at UK, it will be a natural transition.

seacatfan
11-04-2014, 01:40 PM
and one of the best players in the SEC 2 years ago

That's a bit of a stretch. He was 6th man of the year in the SEC that season, but couldn't crack the starting lineup. He averaged about 10 pts/game. Not an eye popping number. He was a 3 point shooting specialist, not an all around player. I think if you went up and down SEC rosters for that season, you would find quite a few players that were much better than Wiltjer. Wesley has proven himself as a college basketball player much more than Wiltjer has, it's not even close. There should probably be more hype for Wesley. Just on this board there are already quite a few who think Sabonis is better than Wiltjer and more deserving of being in the starting lineup. This has been a really strange off season. Never have expectations been higher, yet there are so many unknowns.

RenoZag
11-04-2014, 01:43 PM
I was sad because I had no hype 'til I met a man that had no reason.

Zaglaw
11-04-2014, 01:54 PM
For the life of me I can't figure out why people are so high on him. In the game against Thompson Rivers his feet looked like they were being weighed down bricks and this was in comparison to thompson rivers.

It's the red shoes - optical illusion.

TheGonzagaFactor
11-04-2014, 01:56 PM
I don't like this thread. We saw him play ONE game. Wait until he loses us a game or two before we even begin to question him. Have we been overly optimistic with regards to Kyle's development because of Kelly? Sure. But I think these criticisms are premature. Sam is one of my all time favorite Zags, but he was awkward and soft but found ways to get the job done, Kyle is similar but just has a quicker trigger and more range. I'll reserve judgement on the guy until after the NYC trip, at least. This team isn't going to depend on any one player on either end, so Kyle just needs to find his role within the offense and he will be fine.

CDC84
11-04-2014, 02:09 PM
You may remember that Kelly Olynyk looked terrible in his first few games back after his redshirt season.

seacatfan
11-04-2014, 02:17 PM
I didn't think Olynk looked terrible. He looked kinda rusty, but certainly better than before the redshirt.

maynard g krebs
11-04-2014, 02:17 PM
If you would have swapped his jersey he would have fit right in on the other team.

Careful about what you say. People might put you in the Heister category. That's pretty disrespectful. Hyperbole is one thing, but being ridiculous is another.

Larry Bird was as slow as KW. Not that I'm comparing the two. And I don't think KW will be as good as Olynyk. But he brings a skill set that the other bigs don't. It's a 3 man rotation. They'll all get their time. Not starting doesn't mean Sabonis will "sit". He'll get his minutes. But all things being equal, you start the vets.

I think you'll be eating the above words in short order.

BMAN
11-04-2014, 02:21 PM
In his radio show on Monday coach Few said that he did miss a lot of shots but he was not worried. He said he makes 80% of those in practice and he thought he was just overly excited for his first game. He is going to be a great player.

ProjectMKUltra5
11-04-2014, 02:41 PM
Careful about what you say. People might put you in the Heister category. That's pretty disrespectful. Hyperbole is one thing, but being ridiculous is another.

Larry Bird was as slow as KW. Not that I'm comparing the two. And I don't think KW will be as good as Olynyk. But he brings a skill set that the other bigs don't. It's a 3 man rotation. They'll all get their time. Not starting doesn't mean Sabonis will "sit". He'll get his minutes. But all things being equal, you start the vets.

I think you'll be eating the above words in short order.

If Kyle kills it early on I'll be the first one to bump this thread but I stand by what I said. He's a better player then the bigs for TRU but athletically speaking he was still very underwhelming, underwhelming against TRU. And this idea that we should wait to criticize him, we don't know what kind of player he is. I disagree wholeheartedly, we know who he is, he showed what he is in 2 seasons at UK. So far I don't think there is much to point to that indicates he's a different player so I don't know why the expectations are so high for him.

I also want to point out that I like Kyle for what he brings, hes a great fit here and deserves plenty of minutes but I think alot of you are going to be surprised when Sabonis takes control of that spot.

Angelo Roncalli
11-04-2014, 02:43 PM
If Kyle kills it early on I'll be the first one to bump this thread but I stand by what I said. He's a better player then the bigs for TRU but athletically speaking he was still very underwhelming, underwhelming against TRU. And this idea that we should wait to criticize him, we don't know what kind of player he is. I disagree wholeheartedly, we know who he is, he showed what he is in 2 seasons at UK. So far I don't think there is much to point to that indicates he's a different player so I don't know why the expectations are so high for him.

I also Wana point out that I like Kyle for what he brings, hes a great fit here and deserves plenty of minutes but I think alot of you are going to be surprised when Sabonis takes control of that spot.

What does "Wana" mean?

primal23
11-04-2014, 02:47 PM
As Fox said, he didn't mind seeing KW miss those shots down low, because he both was taking them and he hadn't played against anyone other then teammates for so long. Give it time.

GoZags
11-04-2014, 02:47 PM
What does "Wana" mean?

That's "shock jock" talk ....

ZagaZags
11-04-2014, 02:56 PM
That's "shock jock" talk ....

http://onlineslangdictionary.com/meaning-definition-of/wana


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWxgfTMLtc0

cggonzaga
11-04-2014, 02:56 PM
For those that watched him at Kentucky, you can already see what a different player he is. I see a guy that has diversified his offensive game to the point where he can be unstoppable. I also see a guy willing to bang a little more and definitely get after it on the boards. If you really want to talk about "athleticism" don't look any further than Adam Morrison. A guy doesn't have to be athletic to be dominant. I don't think Kyle has to worry too much about losing playing time to anybody and I do believe he'll lead us in scoring. Sabonis is great but they are two completely different players. I see Sabonis and Karno sharing minutes moreso than Wiltjer.

raise the zag
11-04-2014, 02:58 PM
Coach Few, Coach Michaelson, and Coach Lloyd all said Kyle missed more shots in the Thompson Rivers game alone than he's missed ALL off-season.

Not a coincidence they shared the same comment.

A season ago, Wiltjer was voted by Coaches as the "6TH MAN OF THE YEAR" in the athletically gifted front-courts of the SEC.

He averaged double-figures as a Sophomore at Kentucky and was a STARTER at the beginning of '12-'13 season.

Not proclaiming he'll be our 2nd coming, yet you sound as if he's some random, over-hyped juco big with no evidence of success.

He was a McDonalds All-American, And-1 All American (played in both events), for his skill, shooting, IQ, scoring ability, and overall ability as a basketball player.

Comparing him to a future NBA player in Sabonis is also unfair until further warranted.

hooter73
11-04-2014, 03:12 PM
I didn't think Olynk looked terrible. He looked kinda rusty, but certainly better than before the redshirt.

not quite how I remember it. Pretty sure he started his comeback tour on an alleyop dunk from pangos after beating everyone down the floor.

ProjectMKUltra5
11-04-2014, 03:16 PM
Coach Few, Coach Michaelson, and Coach Lloyd all said Kyle missed more shots in the Thompson Rivers game alone than he's missed ALL off-season.

Not a coincidence they shared the same comment.

Right, I never said anything about his ability to score, that's what he brings to the table

A season ago, Wiltjer was voted by Coaches as the "6TH MAN OF THE YEAR" in the athletically gifted front-courts of the SEC.

Notice my comment about him moving to the bench in favor of Sabonis. His scoring is best used off the bench as that 6th man.

He averaged double-figures as a Sophomore at Kentucky and was a STARTER at the beginning of '12-'13 season.

see above comments

Not proclaiming he'll be our 2nd coming, yet you sound as if he's some random, over-hyped juco big with no evidence of success.

I admit I came off a bit aggressive and I didn't mean to. Not trying come in bashing players, especially being the new guy.

He was a McDonalds All-American, And-1 All American (played in both events), for his skill, shooting, IQ, scoring ability, and overall ability as a basketball player.

I think his 2 seasons at UK are much better indicator of what kind of player he will be for us then his high school accolades

Comparing him to a future NBA player in Sabonis is also unfair until further warranted.

Not when they play the same position on the same team. Kyle has a beast breathing down his neck, that's not a knock on him


Edit: meant to quote raise the zag

titopoet
11-04-2014, 03:19 PM
For the life of me I can't figure out why people are so high on him. In the game against Thompson Rivers his feet looked like they were being weighed down bricks and this was in comparison to thompson rivers. He does appear to be more comfortable with contact but that won't change his game. Is he slightly more athletic then before? Sure, but that bar wasn't very high to begin with. He's still a unathletic stretch 4 with a limited ability to defend imo yet I see people saying he should be the 2nd or even 1st scoring option on a top 10 team.

Imo it's a combo of just being optimistic and the Olynyk transformation. The assumption that Wiljter will make some sort of jump because of Travis Knight. You wanna talk about what needs to be done to beat the Arizonas of the world, we need Kyle coming off the bench so Sabonis can play.

Just wait. The Zags will need both Sabonis and Wiljter. I saw him too and he defended well and had a tough game shooting, but the rest of the game was a whole lot better. He running is not like it was at Kentucky, he is smoother. he rebounded better than I expected. Having the three rotate along the post with Angel will be big time. I feel deja vu as I had similar conversations at the start of Kelly O Junior year. He didn't play early and the posters were doubting him, but by the end he was All American and a Lotto pick. While I wouldn't put money on Kyle being a Lotto pick, he will make heads turn by the end of the season.

Wiltjer believe the hype, and add to the legend of Zags.

ProjectMKUltra5
11-04-2014, 03:20 PM
Just wait. The Zags will need both Sabonis and Wiljter. I saw him too and he defended well and had a tough game shooting, but the rest of the game was a whole lot better. He running is not like it was at Kentucky, he is smoother. he rebounded better than I expected. Having the three rotate along the post with Angel will be big time. I feel deja vu as I had similar conversations at the start of Kelly O Junior year. He didn't play early and the posters were doubting him, but by the end he was All American and a Lotto pick. While I wouldn't put money on Kyle being a Lotto pick, he will make heads turn by the end of the season.

Wiltjer believe the hype, and add to the legend of Zags.

I Hope I'm wrong

cjm720
11-04-2014, 03:48 PM
For the life of me I can't figure out why people are so high on him. In the game against Thompson Rivers his feet looked like they were being weighed down bricks and this was in comparison to thompson rivers. He does appear to be more comfortable with contact but that won't change his game. Is he slightly more athletic then before? Sure, but that bar wasn't very high to begin with. He's still a unathletic stretch 4 with a limited ability to defend imo yet I see people saying he should be the 2nd or even 1st scoring option on a top 10 team.

Imo it's a combo of just being optimistic and the Olynyk transformation. The assumption that Wiljter will make some sort of jump because of Travis Knight. You wanna talk about what needs to be done to beat the Arizonas of the world, we need Kyle coming off the bench so Sabonis can play.

Over-reaction???

Your second post is more reasonable.

Sabonis will push Karno too.

Zagdawg
11-04-2014, 03:51 PM
We went through this last year too with Coleman -- after the scrimmage -- he was going to replace the guards in front of him (and we had formed our opinion based on a scrimmage).

Sabonis is going to be a good Zag and so is Kyle-- they will both be part of the primary 3 man big rotation that Few will use to win us a good number of games.

They each have their strengths and weaknesses.

What many newer fans don't understand-- it is not one or the other -- gotta start Kyle or you gotta start Sabonis-- they both will get their time on the floor and we will need them both along with Big K and Nunez to get to where we need to be.

Lots of great options - but not only one or the other.

Go Zags

EEzag
11-04-2014, 03:56 PM
Over-reaction???

Your second post is more reasonable.

Sabonis will push Karno too.

Wiljter is an ultimate weapon in Few's system. He will stretch the defense for the high-low in ways no other big ever could. Few is a sucker for guys that can shoot and shoot well. Sabonis will demand more minutes, but we've only seen one game in an exhibition. The same logic that says Wiljter is over-hyped before the game could also apply for Sabonis after the game .....it's one game against an inferior opponent. Five to seven games in, let's revisit. Maybe Wiljter ends up off the bench and Sabonis starts.....I doubt it but who knows?

ProjectMKUltra5
11-04-2014, 04:33 PM
Over-reaction???

Your second post is more reasonable.

Sabonis will push Karno too.

The people who are saying he's the 1st or 2nd scoring option on a team with final 4 aspirations are the ones over-reacting. The expectations are sky high for this kid, we need to pump the brakes on him

DixieZag
11-04-2014, 04:40 PM
The people who are saying he's the 1st or 2nd scoring option on a team with final 4 aspirations are the ones over-reacting. The expectations are sky high for this kid, we need to pump the brakes on him

While that is most certainly true, about tempering expectations - we've never had a guy who played pro with grown men in what some describe as the second best league in the world. What we can say is that the speed and physicality is not going to surprise him.

I don't think anyone (me included) would be going quite so bonkers about him if Few had not made the comments he has about him. That, and the stuff above, tilts it into a more reasoned analysis.

MDABE80
11-04-2014, 04:51 PM
It would be nice and appropriate for ONCE, if the poster who begins this type of a thread would define the terms so we all can know what's he's talking about. "HYPE" is an ambiguous term..........does anyone seriously think Kyle is in the realm of hyperbole? From that work, I don't think the fans have been.
Let the poster tell us what he means........no what he REALLY means before many waste time writing about something...

maynard g krebs
11-04-2014, 05:05 PM
If Kyle kills it early on I'll be the first one to bump this thread but I stand by what I said. He's a better player then the bigs for TRU but athletically speaking he was still very underwhelming, underwhelming against TRU. And this idea that we should wait to criticize him, we don't know what kind of player he is. I disagree wholeheartedly, we know who he is, he showed what he is in 2 seasons at UK. So far I don't think there is much to point to that indicates he's a different player so I don't know why the expectations are so high for him.

I also want to point out that I like Kyle for what he brings, hes a great fit here and deserves plenty of minutes but I think alot of you are going to be surprised when Sabonis takes control of that spot.

It's one thing to make an informed criticism of a player. It's another to say switch jerseys and he'd fit right in on a D2 team, which is why I found your post offensive.

As to saying he showed what he is in two seasons at UK, he chose a place where the playing style didn't match his skill set. Some people might have said the same about Dan Dickau after 2 years at UW, when it was obvious how good he was but he was in a system that didn't allow him to use his skills. We'll see.

slam dunk
11-04-2014, 05:13 PM
For the life of me I can't figure out why people are so high on him. In the game against Thompson Rivers his feet looked like they were being weighed down bricks and this was in comparison to thompson rivers. He does appear to be more comfortable with contact but that won't change his game. Is he slightly more athletic then before? Sure, but that bar wasn't very high to begin with. He's still a unathletic stretch 4 with a limited ability to defend imo yet I see people saying he should be the 2nd or even 1st scoring option on a top 10 team.

Imo it's a combo of just being optimistic and the Olynyk transformation. The assumption that Wiljter will make some sort of jump because of Travis Knight. You wanna talk about what needs to be done to beat the Arizonas of the world, we need Kyle coming off the bench so Sabonis can play.

Can we at least let Kyle or who ever we want to make assumptions about get a few games under their belts before we past judgements. One exhibition game doesn't prove much about anything.

Hoopaholic
11-04-2014, 05:17 PM
For those that watched him at Kentucky, you can already see what a different player he is. I see a guy that has diversified his offensive game to the point where he can be unstoppable. I also see a guy willing to bang a little more and definitely get after it on the boards. If you really want to talk about "athleticism" don't look any further than Adam Morrison. A guy doesn't have to be athletic to be dominant. I don't think Kyle has to worry too much about losing playing time to anybody and I do believe he'll lead us in scoring. Sabonis is great but they are two completely different players. I see Sabonis and Karno sharing minutes moreso than Wiltjer.

This

We saw more paint moves in a single game than Kentucky saw ever from him. The dual.option threat will create match up issues which can be exploited or will open up our other TEAM members on the court

Will be.important part of our overall success this season imo

gu03alum
11-04-2014, 05:23 PM
Can we at least let Kyle or who ever we want to make assumptions about get a few games under their belts before we past judgements. One exhibition game doesn't prove much about anything.

Agree, was just going to make the same point. I'm excited about him. He looked good in the scrimmage.

jbslicer
11-04-2014, 05:37 PM
I'm glad he is a Zag and not a Gael.

Zags11
11-04-2014, 05:40 PM
Yea cuz he would hit 13 3s vs us all 3 matchups and well "players get hot sometimes." See what i did? Stirred the ### and thats what makes this board tick. ..........booooooom.

Worthington
11-04-2014, 06:03 PM
He's 6'10 with long arms, soft hands, and excellent footwork. While he missed some shots in the exhibition game, his footwork and post moves looked nice. He looked a lot more comfortable inside than he did at Kentucky, that alone is reason to be excited. I'm very confident that you're going to be eating your words soon. One game is not enough time to make judgements about the improvements he's made in his redshirt year, the staff have all said that he's a different and better player.

jim77
11-04-2014, 06:25 PM
[QUOTE=Worthington;1042469]He's 6'10 with long arms, soft hands, and excellent footwork. While he missed some shots in the exhibition game, his footwork and post moves looked nice. He looked a lot more comfortable inside than he did at Kentucky, that alone is reason to be excited. I'm very confident that you're going to be eating your words soon. One game is not enough time to make judgements about the improvements he's made in his redshirt year, the staff have all said that he's a different and better.

Yup....so who does the other team send to guard him? Their center? Go ahead...then Kyle lobs it in to PK for the easy deuce..hes going to be a match up nightmare.

btzag
11-04-2014, 06:57 PM
It's one thing to make an informed criticism of a player. It's another to say switch jerseys and he'd fit right in on a D2 team, which is why I found your post offensive.

As to saying he showed what he is in two seasons at UK, he chose a place where the playing style didn't match his skill set. Some people might have said the same about Dan Dickau after 2 years at UW, when it was obvious how good he was but he was in a system that didn't allow him to use his skills. We'll see.

Completely agree with this. KW will have plenty of opportunities to prove himself against top-level bigs this year and then we can give our opinions as fans.

However ProjectMK, remember that there are very few players EVER that had zero weaknesses. For Karno critics see Shaq or Dwight Howard. For KW critics see Bird or Nowitzki. KW probably will never be a super athletic player but he can be a great player on this Zags team and help lead them to a FF. KW is almost assuredly the best shooting 6'10" player in the country, seems to be a great teammate and great leader and deserves all of our support even if he is not in the 'perfect' player realm like Jordan or Lebron. Your post was offensive and IMO pretty ridiculous to compare him to a D2 player.

coolhandzag
11-04-2014, 07:39 PM
For the life of me I can't figure out why people are so high on him. In the game against Thompson Rivers his feet looked like they were being weighed down bricks and this was in comparison to thompson rivers. He does appear to be more comfortable with contact but that won't change his game. Is he slightly more athletic then before? Sure, but that bar wasn't very high to begin with. He's still a unathletic stretch 4 with a limited ability to defend imo yet I see people saying he should be the 2nd or even 1st scoring option on a top 10 team.

Imo it's a combo of just being optimistic and the Olynyk transformation. The assumption that Wiljter will make some sort of jump because of Travis Knight. You wanna talk about what needs to be done to beat the Arizonas of the world, we need Kyle coming off the bench so Sabonis can play.

Maybe the project is working. Maybe it is not. All in the eye of the beholder I suppose.

Zagceo
11-04-2014, 07:58 PM
I'm surprised to see a Zag fan be so judgmental of a Zag student athlete after ONE (1) pre-season game.

Lighten up Francis as Bill Murray would say! Maybe some Zag fans have high expectations but remember these are college kids not paid professionals.

As the great Aaron Rogers once said to his fans...........R.......E......L.....a.......x..... ..we're gonna be alright!

zagamatic
11-04-2014, 08:10 PM
Well no one else has said it so I will, "off with Few's head! What's he thinking starting Wiltjer in an exhibition game? Doesn't he listen to this board? " I kid, I kid. :doh:

thespywhozaggedme
11-04-2014, 09:24 PM
The hype is because he was a high school All-American and one of the best players in the SEC 2 years ago and has had a year and a half to practice.

?????

Robzagnut
11-04-2014, 10:26 PM
For the life of me I can't figure out why people are so high on him. In the game against Thompson Rivers his feet looked like they were being weighed down bricks and this was in comparison to thompson rivers. He does appear to be more comfortable with contact but that won't change his game. Is he slightly more athletic then before? Sure, but that bar wasn't very high to begin with. He's still a unathletic stretch 4 with a limited ability to defend imo yet I see people saying he should be the 2nd or even 1st scoring option on a top 10 team.

Imo it's a combo of just being optimistic and the Olynyk transformation. The assumption that Wiljter will make some sort of jump because of Travis Knight. You wanna talk about what needs to be done to beat the Arizonas of the world, we need Kyle coming off the bench so Sabonis can play.

1. First McDonalds All-American on GU since Mica Downs. They don't grow on trees in the WCC.

2. He's been to a Final Four and won a National Championship. You can't pay for that type of experience.

3. Silky smooth from 3. Who's the defense going to cover between Pangos, Wiltger and Bell out there when they're rotating the ball to the open man. Plus, there's less chance of all three of them being cold.

4. Who would you rather have out there shooting and defending the 3? The 5' 10" David Stockton or the 6' 10" Kyle Wiltger?

5. KW is capable of dropping 25 at any time. With the depth of GU I doubt it happens often, but it's nice to know that the team has it in their back pocket if needed.

CDC84
11-04-2014, 11:54 PM
I didn't think Olynk looked terrible. He looked kinda rusty, but certainly better than before the redshirt.

Well, I felt Wiltjer looked rusty. Semantics, I suppose.

Put this way, after the Old Spice Classic, I had no clue that Kelly would come close to being the player he would become later in the season.

Oregonzagnut
11-05-2014, 01:03 AM
1. First McDonalds All-American on GU since Mica Downs. They don't grow on trees in the WCC.

2. He's been to a Final Four and won a National Championship. You can't pay for that type of experience.

3. Silky smooth from 3. Who's the defense going to cover between Pangos, Wiltger and Bell out there when they're rotating the ball to the open man. Plus, there's less chance of all three of them being cold.

4. Who would you rather have out there shooting and defending the 3? The 5' 10" David Stockton or the 6' 10" Kyle Wiltger?

5. KW is capable of dropping 25 at any time. With the depth of GU I doubt it happens often, but it's nice to know that the team has it in their back pocket if needed.

Agree on all points. I would add.

6. Wiltjer went through the same Travis Knight red shirt program as Olynyk and we see what happened to him.

7. It appears his head is on straight and smarter now than in 2011. So much so he saw the best thing for him was to leave Calipari and Kentucky and go to Gonzaga. I hope that intelligence spreads.

8. He is the best player ON PAPER to ever come to Gonzaga and Zag fans give out hype like it was candy nowadays. I struggle to find any player more deserving of the hype before his first game.

9a. Adding to Robozag's #2 reason and the hype for our team as a whole, Kyle Wiltger knows what and how Calipari coaches. He brings Calipari's playbook and tricks of the coaching trade to Mark Few and our program. Calipari is no hack, and Few will take the best and leave the rest. Same with Nunez from Louisville and Rick Pitino, Eric McClellan from Vanderbilt and Kevin Stallings, and Wesley from USC and Andy Enfield.

9b. Gonzaga and Few has never had so many players with this much talent. AND at the same time never had players with this much information on elite coaches. When has any team ever had a transfer from both Calipari and Pitino on the team at the same time? When has a team ever had both a transfer from Kentucky and Louisville at the same time. How many overlap? Few achieves another first in taking players from 2 of the top 10 coaches still active, and at the same time from two different yet consecutive National Championship programs? Anyone who thought Mark Few and our staff's learning curve was leveling out, can now trust that Few will get more than just a better team for a couple years, but he will be a better coach for the rest of his life. Yes, Mark Few is still and will continue to get better and he is already considered one of the top 25 coaches in the game today.

Zagger
11-05-2014, 04:35 AM
Kyle just needs to let his hair grow. :cool:

bartruff1
11-05-2014, 05:05 AM
Obviously I did not get the Memo and was completely unaware there was any unusual amount of hype for Kyle. I expect he will have a important role to play this year but so will others.

jazzdelmar
11-05-2014, 05:13 AM
KW will be just fine. He is more than anything a high volume shooter and if he had hit 8 or 9 for 13 we would be anointing him the next Ammo. In exhibition games vs lesser squads what most separates the players is quickness and so Sabonis and Wesley stood out more than someone like KW who relies on guile and position and, of course, shooting.

jazzdelmar
11-05-2014, 05:15 AM
Obviously I did not get the Memo and was completely unaware there was any unusual amount of hype for Kyle. I expect he will have a important role to play this year but so will others.

Bart, you need to get yourself in shape for the season, my friend. :)

bartruff1
11-05-2014, 05:18 AM
As usual as the snow starts to fall here, I can hardly wait for the season to start.

Are you still getting the ads for meeting Asian Ladies ?? You know you can clear your browsing history.

jazzdelmar
11-05-2014, 05:20 AM
Are you still getting the ads for meeting Asian Ladies ?? You know you can clear your browsing history.

Hilarious. Trust me, that's among the least offensive sites on my browser. But thanks for the, shall we say well-experienced, tip.

bartruff1
11-05-2014, 05:48 AM
Hey Jazz, I see Coleman is going to start for Georgetown against Kentucky.. He will get his chance, a real chance he couldn't get here, to showcase his skills against the future pros in front of the NBA Scouts....

I wish him nothing but the best and hopefully the third time will be charm. Kinda like a third marriage, a triumph of hope over experience.

jazzdelmar
11-05-2014, 06:00 AM
Hey Jazz, I see Coleman is going to start for Georgetown against Kentucky.. He will get his chance, a real chance he couldn't get here, to showcase his skills against the future pros in front of the NBA Scouts....

I wish him nothing but the best and hopefully the third time will be charm. Kinda like a third marriage, a triumph of hope over experience.


I'm with you on that. But I'm thinking 30-70 against.

Zags11
11-05-2014, 07:07 AM
As usual as the snow starts to fall here, I can hardly wait for the season to start.

Are you still getting the ads for meeting Asian Ladies ?? You know you can clear your browsing history.

Lol

GoZags
11-05-2014, 07:27 AM
Tacos anyone?

Not sure why, but I am jonesing for tacos.

bartruff1
11-05-2014, 08:56 AM
Finally...

jazzdelmar
11-05-2014, 09:00 AM
Blame it on the snow......it's 72 here.