PDA

View Full Version : Kelly Olynyk - 2014-15



ZagNative
10-03-2014, 02:40 PM
Nice article about Kelly from the Boston Globe (http://www.bostonglobe.com/sports/2014/10/02/celtics-power-forwards-center-attention/hFIrJuH3DMaTNbYMxiyOKL/story.html), with a great photo:

Celtics’ power forwards the center of attention
By Gary Washburn
| Globe Staff October 03, 2014


http://c.o0bg.com/rf/image_960w/Boston/2011-2020/2014/09/29/BostonGlobe.com/Sports/Images/davis_csmedia21_spts.jpg

Kelly Olynyk shows off his ball-spinning skills during Celtics practice this week. The 7-foot power forward could see considerable minutes at center this season. Jim Davis/Globe Staff


By Gary Washburn
| Globe Staff October 03, 2014

WALTHAM — Although Celtics president of basketball operations Danny Ainge reshaped the roster over the past two years, he wasn’t able to pull off the blockbuster deal the organization desired, hence a series of logjams at key positions as the team approaches its first preseason game.

The most crowded position is power forward, where Jared Sullinger, Brandon Bass, and Kelly Olynyk are legitimate starters who will command major minutes for coach BradStevens.

Given the wealth of talent at that position, Stevens said Thursday that he is considering using the 7-foot Olynyk, the classic definition of a “Stretch Four,” at center this season. Boston lacks a bona fide starting center with Tyler Zeller, Vitor Faverani, and Joel Anthony competing for minutes, leaving open the possibility of Olynyk receiving an opportunity.

“It’s a little bit like last year,” Stevens said. “You don’t look at them as a power forward. I think you look at them as, ‘We’ve gotta play five guys together, who fits best?’ We’ll play Kelly at the five [center] some. I’d prefer not to play Jared at the five some but if him and Bass are in there together, he’s a five. Kelly is not your prototypical five, either. He’s a little bit undersized in some ways, but he is a matchup problem on the other end for most fives as well.”
The key to productivity without a dominant defensive center, according to Stevens, is precision.

“Again it goes back to we’ve got to be great in the details, be playing lower [in the post] longer and then be able to scheme the [defensive] help appropriately and use our athleticism on the perimeter to help us if we get posted in matchups against some of those bigger guys,” he said.

Olynyk played in 70 games as a rookie, with nine starts, and flourished when he was allowed to run the floor. The question is whether he can adequately defend legitimate NBA centers.

“It just kind of depends on the center, right?” Stevens said. “That’s a great question. One of the things Kelly was last year, by the end of the year, he was always in the right spot. Now he would either get there just a moment too late or his hands weren’t appropriate when he got there.

“He’s really worked hard in summer league to get some of that corrected. I can tell that he worked hard with the Canadian national team and then when he came back, I just think his technique looks better. He’s in a much better position with his hands this year than he was last year.

“That’s going to be critical. He’s got to be smart to guard some of those guys because he’s going to be at a weight disadvantage.”

titopoet
10-16-2014, 01:04 PM
Kelly named starting center. Out of position, but he should take opposing centers on the perimeter and drive on them.
http://www.bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2014/10/celtics_notebook_thin_at_center_with_kelly_olynyk_ there

ZagNative
10-16-2014, 04:41 PM
KO is having a heck of a game against the Sixers right now. With 2:56 left in the third, he's got 14 points, 8 rebounds, 4 assists, 3 steals, and 3 blocks. Box score (http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/boxscore?gameId=400583975)

WBM
10-24-2014, 08:17 AM
Buried at the end of an article about the Celtic's Tip-Off Gala:


Celtics second-year big man Kelly Olynyk was honored with the Community Champion award.

I have seen a lot of footage of Kelly visiting at area children's hospitals and volunteering in his new community. Great Zag!

ZaGranny
10-24-2014, 06:02 PM
Kelly has a twitter with a great picture of him visiting Boston Children's in costume, but I don't know how to post the pics.

Just google kelly olynyk twitter

ZaGranny

ZagNative
10-24-2014, 07:16 PM
Nice piece about Kelly's defensive improvements. (http://www.csnne.com/boston-celtics/olynyk-prepares-face-nbas-best-big-men)
Olynyk prepares to face NBA's best big men

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-4ffFavjqirM/UoRcJjZ1dzI/AAAAAAABiLE/kRI-Q50-uoI/s640/2013-11-13%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%2520Bobcats.jpg
....
Olynyk's offensive game is multifaceted and creates potential matchups in Boston's favor, but it has been the strides he has made defensively that enabled him to secure a starting job in the middle.

"His weight room work has really helped, and not your traditional weight room work," Stevens said. "It's not like he spent all summer on the bench press or something like that where he's just building up muscle. It's more about working on his base and being able to play in a stance for longer periods of time."

That involves strengthening his core, something he spent a considerable amount of time working on with Bryan Doo, the Celtics' strength and conditioning coach, when he wasn't with the Canadian National Team.

Olynyk said his offseason conditioning was centered around, "being more athletic in general; bigger, stronger, faster, quicker and try not to sacrifice bulk for mobility. That was the focus."

Both Stevens and Olynyk agree that his defense has improved but isn't where either would like it to be.

"It's more about working on his base and being able to play in a stance for longer periods of time," Stevens said. "And he's in the right spot with his hands in the right spot [defensively], a lot more of the time [now) than he was last year."

ZaGranny
10-29-2014, 06:16 PM
Kelly played 28:32. He led the C's with 19 points. He had 6 rebounds, 2 assists, 4 fouls, 1 steal, 1 TO. He looked really good!

ZaGranny

willandi
10-29-2014, 06:59 PM
Kelly played 28:32. He led the C's with 29 points. He had 6 rebounds, 2 assists, 4 fouls, 1 steal, 1 TO. He looked really good!

ZaGranny

Wasn't it 19 points?

WBM
10-29-2014, 09:13 PM
It was indeed 19 points. He led the Celtics in scoring.

Also found himself on Kevin Garnett's bad side. We'll see how that works for him in the next game against the Nets.

ZaGranny
10-29-2014, 09:14 PM
Yeah, it was 19. I have fat fingers.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
11-01-2014, 08:43 AM
THe Celtics will be on NBA League Pass at 5 today. If you can't get the Zags, sign up for the free trial and watch Kelly. Or tape it if you are going to the game, like we are.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
11-02-2014, 07:50 PM
I am watching our DVR of last night's game. Kelly played just under 20 minutes and had 7 points. Celtics lost by 14--they came back from a 20 point deficit with 2 minutes left in the 2nd quarter.

The highlight of the broadcast so far--one of the Houston announcers was talking about Kelly and other Canadians and said "You know, the Canadians always bring their "eh" game!"

ZaGtranny

ZaGranny
11-04-2014, 09:02 AM
Celtics were down as much as 20, but had a good second half.

Kelly played 22:17. He had 5 points, 4 rebounds, 2 assists, 5 fouls, 1 steal, 3 TO's. He had 2 fouls early and sat for part of the first half, then four fouls and sat during the second half.

ZaGranny

OZZY
11-04-2014, 04:37 PM
Yes, fouls hurt him and reality is that he is going to get a lot of offensive charging calls as his opponents tend to have quicker feet than him...

In saying that though he was +13 (from memory) for the game, by far the best for any of the Celtics players in the game....

ZaGranny
11-05-2014, 06:02 PM
Question: How could they lose when they had 2 players (Kelly and Sully) with double doubles and Rajon with a triple double?

Easy answer: 28 turnovers!

Kelly played 33:53. He had 18 points, 13 rebounds, 2 assists, 5 fouls, 2 TO's.

A bright spot--he played quite a few minutes with 2 fouls and then more with 4 fouls, without fouling out.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
11-06-2014, 01:52 AM
Young man is earning his salary....

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-2erpa9KYT5Y/VFtQ_Bxgl2I/AAAAAAABk5Y/PKoSQ_zjfQk/s512/2014-11-05%2520elly%2520Olynyk-2.jpg?gl=US

ZaGranny
11-07-2014, 06:00 PM
Finally--a win after leading the first half and struggling the second.

Kelly played 27:58. He scored 12 points, had 5 rebounds, 2 assists, 2 fouls, 1 steal TO'.s

5 Celtics scored in double figures. Bummer note: Marcus Smart went down with an ankle injury--MRI to come.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
11-08-2014, 06:24 PM
Kelly had a great game--a double double.

He played 33:26. He had 18 points (second highest on the Celtics) , 11 rebounds, 1 assist, 3 fouls, 4 TO's, 1 Block.ZaGranny

ZagNative
11-09-2014, 04:22 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGdcbMShwco&list=UUZ3ooucD3IrQTXo4N6Y018w

Fun, fun game to watch!

ZagNative
11-10-2014, 02:35 PM
I'm increasingly impessed with Kelly, especially after the win over Chicago. Story from the Milford Daily News (http://www.milforddailynews.com/article/20141110/SPORTS/141119584/11527/SPORTS):


Olynyk scored 18 points with 11 rebounds in Boston’s 106-101 victory at Chicago Saturday night, upping his season averages to 13.3 points and 7.3 rebounds. He is shooting 60.8 percent from the floor (31-of-51), a team-leading 53.3 percent from 3-point range (8-of-15), and is tied for second on the team with six steals.

The impact he’s made — especially on the glass — has been an eye-opener to many, if not necessarily so to Stevens.

“I think Kelly’s been really consistent all the way through,” Stevens said before Monday’s practice. “I know people who don’t see him every minute of every single day might feel differently, but I see it in practice. I think Kelly is a really valuable player for our team.

“He stretches the floor. He can put the ball on the floor. He can drive. He can shoot it. He can offensive rebound really well. He’s starting to get some defensive rebounds. “

Perhaps as much as anyone on the roster, Olynyk has benefited this season from the coach’s preaching of ball movement and playing at a high pace.

“We’re just getting up and down,” Olynyk said. “It’s really fluid. We’re moving the ball well. Everyone’s contributing and everyone’s a threat.

“It’s fun that way. Everyone touches the ball. Everyone gets to be in the flow of the game rather than coming down, slowing it down, with the point guard just dribbling, dribbling, dribbling, then someone shoots in the end.”


I wonder if, during his time at GU, Kelly envisioned himself coming out ahead of some of the giants in the NBA:

Snatching a rebound away from Joachim Noah ...

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-eUUqAMa1hVM/VGE3olj1P5I/AAAAAAABk7I/1noMpvKAF2o/s720/2014-11-09%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%2520Noah.jpg

Or beating Pau Gasol to a board ...

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-1yklPDoc7pc/VGE8a5wnycI/AAAAAAABk7c/TgWqHXjQcx0/s615/2014-11-09%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%2520Gasol.jpg

Interesting to compare the salaries for the players on the two teams. Sullinger got screwed ...

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-w9GYcp48eMQ/VGFA3fwCq-I/AAAAAAABk7w/d_dFi9z2zH4/s664/2014-11-10%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%2520Bulls%2520Salary.jpg

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-7oLfxdqEa7I/VGFA4Fsq3uI/AAAAAAABk74/Q5_DuDTj0Mw/s639/2014-11-10%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%2520salary.jpg

hooter73
11-11-2014, 09:28 AM
Are the rims higher in the NBA? Never see Kelly with a dunk anymore.

LongIslandZagFan
11-11-2014, 10:53 AM
Are the rims higher in the NBA? Never see Kelly with a dunk anymore.

Couldn't find any video... so a pic or two will have to do:


http://www3.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Kelly+Olynyk+Orlando+Magic+v+Boston+Celtics+BCDeCJ vV1wLl.jpg

http://www3.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Kelly+Olynyk+Orlando+Magic+v+Boston+Celtics+IuENbs UWej4l.jpg

ZagNative
11-12-2014, 04:52 PM
Are the rims higher in the NBA? Never see Kelly with a dunk anymore.
Here's another one, a sweet reverse dunk from tonight's game v. the Thunder:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B2SQ_xsIIAADaaR.jpg

ZaGranny
11-12-2014, 06:13 PM
Kelly was in for 32:17. He scored 14, had 2 rebounds, 4 assists, 4 fouls, 1 steal, 1 TO, 2 blocks.

The Celtics had a great first quarter, then seemed to unravel. All five starters scored in double figures, but tono avail.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
11-12-2014, 06:20 PM
I wonder when or if Kelly will solve his fouling problem.... Frustrating ...

ZagNative
11-13-2014, 07:42 AM
Nice piece about Kelly from Celtics Blog: (http://www.celticsblog.com/2014/11/13/7212679/kelly-olynyk-is-having-a-breakout-season-for-the-boston-celtics)
Kelly Olynyk is having a breakout season for the Boston Celtics

By Daniel Hebert on Nov 13 2014, 1:33a

http://cdn1.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/44069208/20141029_ajw_bt1_165.JPG.0_standard_709.0.jpg

Kelly Olynyk finishes a layup against the Brooklyn Nets - Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

I don't know if anyone has noticed, but Kelly Olynyk is starting to look like a breakout candidate. The Boston Celtics are playing better than most people expected and currently sit at 3-4. While I'm not ecstatic about a record below 0.500, I am starting to get excited about the prospects of our future.

..
Kelly Olynyk's counting stats aren't incredible, as he's averaging around 13.5 points, 6.5 rebounds, and 1.9 assists. To put this into perspective, he is the leading scorer of all sophomore NBA players, and he was the second leading rebounder going into the game against the Thunder. So while he's not dropping 20 and 10 like Anthony Davis did in his second year, he is proving to be one of the better offensive players that came out of his draft class.

Not only is Olynyk one of the highest scorers out of his draft class, but he is scoring at a wildly efficient clip. He is shooting over 60% from the field, and a missed three during garbage time against the Thunder dropped his three point percentage to 50%.

It can be argued that Olynyk has developed into the Celtics best all around shooter already. He is also posting a PER above 20 (the only other Celtic to do so is Sullinger). While I don't expect his efficiency to remain quite so high, I do think he is developing into an absolute fixture of the Celtics offense. His passing and floor spacing are invaluable to an offense that ranked 6th in the league before the horrendous shooting night against OKC.

Olynyk finds ways to score within the offense, and if anything, he is a little too tentative at times. It sounds like both Stevens and his teammates are telling him to be more aggressive, so I'm hoping that his early season run gives him the confidence to take that next step.

While I do want him to be more aggressive with his shot, I don't want it to come at the expense of his passing. I know he doesn't have gaudy assist numbers, but he almost always makes the right pass. He keeps the ball moving, and he has a good eye for hitting the open man. He also seems to end up with a lot of secondary assists (his passes lead to passes that end with a score). Olynyk just plays offense the right way, and his high basketball IQ really makes him a nightmare in the high post for opposing defenses.

One thing that could get Olynyk's counting numbers up is just staying on the floor. I know I'm not the only Celtics fan that cringes every game when Olynyk picks up 2 early fouls and has to come out of the game. Most of these fouls are of the ticky tack variety or come off of the ball. If Stevens can just work with Olynyk to get rid of the pointless fouls, he will be able to stay on the floor a lot longer. So far this season, Olynyk is averaging right under 28 minutes a game. I believe he has the stamina to easily play 30+ MPG, but he has to cut down on his number of fouls for that to even be possible. I think if he keeps out of foul trouble, Stevens would be happy to give him 34-35 MPG. Olynyk is just too much of a positive when he's on the floor to keep him out any longer than we have to.
Emphasis added to the last paragaph.

sittingon50
11-13-2014, 09:29 AM
Thanks Native.

ZagNative
11-14-2014, 04:17 PM
Kelly and his Celtics are playing LeBron and the Cavs right now. Box Score - Celtics leading 39-32, (http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/boxscore?gameId=400578417) KO wih 7 poits, 2 bds, a steal, a block and a foul, with 8:47 left in the 2nd.

Nice pic early in the game.

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-QRxm_N7jUNM/VGanEJyDm_I/AAAAAAABlA4/fHaTV_8z-Qs/s512/2014-11-14%2520Kelly%2520Olyny%2520Cavs.jpg

ZagNative
11-14-2014, 06:15 PM
Well,that's a hell of a deal ... Cavs win it 122-121, after the Celtics had led the whole game. LeBron scored 40.

Looks like a pretty solid game for our guy KO:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-7TJdP-a4Cvw/VGbE4D64sYI/AAAAAAABlBQ/DmIKKi-kSjg/s916/2014-11-14%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%2520box%2520score%2520vs%2 520Cavs.jpg

ZagNative
11-14-2014, 08:14 PM
From Ford Keys to the Game on NBA.Com (http://www.nba.com/celtics/game_recap/keys-20141114-CLEBOS):

Key Player

Brad Stevens has been asking Kelly Olynyk to shoot the ball more often. He shot it Friday night, and he shot it well.

Olynyk scored a team-best 21 points as the Celtics nearly snagged an impressive win over the visiting Cavs. The big man was extremely efficient on the night, hitting eight of his 13 shot attempts, including a 2-of-5 performance from long range.

There were other Celtics who had impressive performances – Rajon Rondo dished out 16 assists, Jared Sullinger and Jeff Green scored 19 points apiece – but none had as much of an impact as Olynyk. He finished the game as the only Celtics starter who tallied a positive plus/minus rating. Boston outscored Cleveland by nine points while he was on the court.

Olynyk also contributed in other areas. He grabbed six boards and two steals while also adding an assist and a blocked shot.

Not a bad night for the second-year center. Let’s hope we see this aggressive Olynyk more often.

ZagNative
11-14-2014, 11:28 PM
Nice highlight video from tonight's game:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h446JG1Jvos

Marcus
11-15-2014, 09:02 AM
I was able to watch the game, Kelly looked great. He sat a bit to long in the fourth in my opinion. When things were stagnant on O, they really need him back in there. Thanks for posting the highlights too. i love watching them.

ZagNative
11-15-2014, 10:31 AM
http://www.nbahooptroop.com/videos/olynyk-reverse-dunk

mendiant
11-15-2014, 12:34 PM
Always thought I'd never got his autograph....cleaning out and sorting through THAT spare room that we all have....FOUND IT!!! I forgot about the autographs I got when volunteering at Hoopfest. Poster autographed by Kelly and David. YAY!!!

ZagNative
11-17-2014, 02:50 PM
Brian Scalabrine video interview with Kelly is fun. (http://www.csnne.com/video_content_type/scalabrine-1-1-kelly-olynyk-0)

bigblahla
11-17-2014, 04:18 PM
Brian Scalabrine video interview with Kelly is fun. (http://www.csnne.com/video_content_type/scalabrine-1-1-kelly-olynyk-0)

Thank you....he gives me a reason to watch the NBA...

Go!! Zags!!!

ZagNative
11-17-2014, 06:31 PM
Shudder! Not Kelly's game tonight... Celtics lose by 4 points. KO picked up 4 fouls, 3 turnovers, and no points in limited minutes. Box Score (http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/boxscore?gameId=400578440).


Jay King ‏@ByJayKing

Stevens confirmed what we suspected: Kelly Olynyk was benched because of ineffectiveness.

ZaGranny
11-19-2014, 11:06 PM
Kelly was in the game for 26:45. He scored 9, had 3 rebounds, 4 assists, 5 fouls, 1 steal. I haven't seen the game yet, so don't know how he looked.

ZaGranny

ZagNut08
11-21-2014, 06:23 PM
KO led the team in Pts/Rebs withs 18/6 in the loss.

FuManShoes
11-22-2014, 08:12 AM
KO led the team in Pts/Rebs withs 18/6 in the loss.

Sounds like Olynyk had a big third quarter against the Grizzlies but his streakiness - or defensive issues - are frustrating Stevens, and the Celtics' bigs got owned by Gasol and Randolph.

http://hosted2.ap.org/MAGRE/72eeec13f2a241e1a4d3a48f99389d7a/Article_2014-11-22-BKN--Celtics-Grizzlies/id-8e6994a1eb7f46059f222ebe78cc54ff


ON OLYNYK: Stevens said there were times, particularly in the second half, Olynyk showed flashes, but the Celtics need more consistency. "Maybe there are some learning experiences for these guys, but they have to expedite that curve because they're playing for us. We're not showing them film and learning after practice. They're playing in games."



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

ZaGranny
11-24-2014, 10:40 AM
Kelly played 27:20. He had zero points 8 rebounds 3 assists 3 TO's 2 steals. Tommy said something to the effect that he can't be passive out there. (And yay! Dish has made up their differences with CSNNE so we get to see Tommy when they are at home--before we just saw the visiting announcers.)

ZaGranny

CdAZagFan
11-25-2014, 09:51 PM
A little bit of a slump right now and interesting story:

http://espn.go.com/blog/boston/celtics/post/_/id/4715882/time-for-olynyk-to-take-his-shots?ex_cid=espnapi_public

Hoping he works through it quickly (and that Stevens gives him ample time to go through the ups and downs...

ZaGranny
11-29-2014, 11:18 AM
Celtics 102 Bulls 109

Kelly played 18:45. He had 4 points, 3 rebounds, 1 assist, 5 fouls, 1 TO.

ZaGranny

ZagNut08
11-29-2014, 06:04 PM
Brad Stevens said he is open to changing the lineup, especially at center...not good for KO

willandi
11-29-2014, 08:17 PM
I don't see it as especially bad. If KO is allowed a bit of time to adjust, acclimate and do what he needs to, it could be good. He definately has some skills. I see him more as a PF than a center. He will still end up as a viable NBA player, it's just where and at what position.

ZaGranny
11-30-2014, 11:23 AM
Spurs 111 Celtics 89

Kelly did not start. He played 25:09 (more than Tyler Zeller who did start.) He had 3 points, 3 rebounds, 4 fouls, 2 TO's 1 block.

Austin played 3:56 for the Spurs. He had 2 points, 1 steal, 1 TO.

ZaGranny

FuManShoes
11-30-2014, 09:56 PM
Kelly needs to hit reset on the season. He was oozing with confidence to start his sophomore campaign but has lost it. Time to clean the slate and go back to basics. Just play, kid.

http://nesn.com/2014/11/kelly-olynyk-celtics-facing-crisis-of-confidence-after-loss-to-spurs/


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ZaGranny
12-02-2014, 09:20 PM
Kelly looks like he had a decent game. (looking at the box score)

He was in 19:37. He scored 4, had 4 rebounds, 7 assists, 4 fouls, 3 steals. 1 TO, 1 block.

He did not start.

ZaGranny

zag944
12-03-2014, 08:55 AM
I watch a lot of the NBA on TNT and ESPN, but have never sprung for the league pass. Unfortunate, since Boston is hardly ever on. Does anyone actually like watching this dismal Lakers team play so often? I wish there was a little bit more variety.

Can some one that is watching KO explain why he is picking up so many fouls? Right now he is 3rd in the league in fouls per game. Is he just completely overmatched when on defense or something?

ZaGranny
12-03-2014, 10:07 AM
I have watched most of his games--some live and some taped. It seems like a lot of his fouls are rather ticky tacky and that it may be just being a big man makes you a target for foul calls. (See Shemmick Karnowski) If you follow the Celtics on twitter, Tommy Heinsohn--who is admittedly a Celtics homer--is very critical of most of the fouls, but the ones that are actually fouls, (IMO), he agrees with.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
12-03-2014, 08:28 PM
Heck of a statline for KO today vs. the pistons, which the Celtics won 109-102 (http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/boxscore?gameId=400578557):

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-xrxHXb7e0f0/VH_vl6_jsDI/AAAAAAABsRk/T_k9vg0UV9I/s906/2014-12-03%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%2520box%2520score.jpg

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-VthRsDyrS7E/VH_mDZ6R_OI/AAAAAAABsRU/5HNnBN3G3lM/s640/2014-12-03%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%2520Pistons-4.jpg

Boston Celtics center Kelly Olynyk (41) drives to the hoop while guarded by Detroit Pistons forward Josh Smith (6) during the second half
of an NBA basketball game in Boston, Wednesday, Dec. 3, 2014. The Celtics won 109-102 in overtime. (AP Photo/Elise Amendola)

ZaGranny
12-03-2014, 11:02 PM
http://nesn.com/2014/12/kelly-olynyk-bounces-back-at-perfect-time-as-celtics-earn-much-needed-win/

Great article on tonight's game

Boston Celtics Schedule Standings Stats Roster Live Blog Odds Fantasy Home
Kelly Olynyk Bounces Back At Perfect Time As Celtics Earn Much-Needed Win
by Zack Cox on Thu, Dec 4, 2014 at 12:12AM
Share this:


Fancred


BOSTON — “Confidence.” It’s the word that’s followed Kelly Olynyk around like lost puppy this season.
When the Celtics center was playing well, the line was that he should have the confidence to shoot more. And when his game slipped, as it had over the last few weeks? You guessed it: lack of confidence.
On Wednesday, Olynyk decided to show everyone just how confident he really is.
In his third game since being replaced by Tyler Zeller in the starting lineup, Olynyk went off, turning in one of his most complete efforts of the season to help lead the Celtics to a 109-102 overtime win over the Detroit Pistons.
Olynyk’s first stint in relief of Zeller was nothing special — he failed to score a point in the first quarter and struggled defending the Pistons’ big-man duo of Andre Drummond and Greg Monroe — but he began to gain steam when he returned to the floor in the second.
“Kelly hasn’t been shooting the ball well, but every shot he takes, we have confidence that he can make it,” forward Jared Sullinger said. “He got a couple of easy layups, and him getting a couple of easy layups kind of got the ball rolling for him. He played great.”
The second-year center’s production through the first three quarters (10 points, four rebounds) already was enough to earn him a favorable review, but it wasn’t until the fourth that he truly made his mark on the game. Olynyk collected seven points, three rebounds, two assists, three blocks and two steals one six-minute span before heading to the bench with five fouls.

Much more at the link

ZaGranny

OZZY
12-04-2014, 04:45 PM
Great to see KO get his Mojo back!

For the life of me I can't figure out where it went, but he lost it after three quarters of the game against Cleveland when he had scored 21 points......

I think that Kelly is getting a real raw deal from the refs in the league. The only way to fix that is to have some big games, where the refs might start holding the whistle because more people are watching him play...

Kelly and Big Rob play against each other tomorrow, hope they both have great games.

ZagNative
12-05-2014, 12:49 AM
Fun highlight video Pistons Game (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=trufJdsxq4M)

FuManShoes
12-05-2014, 01:21 PM
Awesome!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

ZaGranny
12-05-2014, 05:58 PM
Kelly looked good. He played 20:40. He had 6 points, 4 rebounds, 1 assist, 3 fouls, 1 TO 1 block.

Rob played 20:15. He had 2 points, 3 rebounds, 1 assist 3 fouls, 1 block 1 TO.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
12-06-2014, 05:02 AM
I liked this pic of KO from yesterday's game:

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-Yw454YEdGLU/VIMKTYHPqAI/AAAAAAABsZQ/u8VTRyhnk7Y/s800/2014-12-05%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%2520LA.jpg

Speaking of Rob, I cringed to note he took ten shots and missed nine of them...

CdAZagFan
12-07-2014, 07:40 PM
Zero points today - didn't see the game, but wish he WOULD be more consistent. I still can't believe he is sitting behind Tyler Zeller of all people (Olynk has a much better skill set than Zeller)...

Marcus
12-08-2014, 07:33 PM
Well Kelly absolutely killed it tonight, 19pts, 11rbs, 4stl, & 3ast. He was huge in every aspect of the game. By far his best defensive game of his career. Taking charges, stealing the ball, and incredible hustle. He still fouled out but he gets ZERO respect from the Refs. He gets fouls called on him that nobody else in the league gets called for. I really think that he is trying so hard to adjust defensively, and improve on his weakness that it's taking all his focus. He only took one shot last game. Once he finds the right balance/confidence the consistency will be there. His effort always is.

ZaGranny
12-13-2014, 12:27 PM
Kelly played 21:20. He had 11 points, 4 rebounds, 2 assists, 2 fouls, 1 steal, 2 To's, 1 block.



ZaGranny

ZagNative
12-15-2014, 04:23 PM
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-dTs6p_KlvaY/VI-HvaaAmbI/AAAAAAABvwQ/ghK4NC4Gwbo/s765/2014-12-15%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%252076.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
12-15-2014, 06:23 PM
Kelly's stat line for tonight's win:

30 points, 9 rebounds, 3 steals, 2 blocks, and an assist.

http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/boxscore?gameId=400578649

ZagNative
12-15-2014, 06:24 PM
From MassLive.com (http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2014/12/kelly_olynyk_boston_celtics_ph.html):

Kelly Olynyk's career night allows Boston Celtics to punish Philadelphia 76ers, 105-87

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-_E_2n4kRtCo/VI-g1R-_8wI/AAAAAAABvxA/wWzn4-J0G2A/s620/2014-12-15%2520Kelly%2520Olynyk%252076-1.jpg
..
Kelly Olynyk rode in atop a cloud of confidence. One issue with Olynyk has always been his hesitation; he doesn't always carry himself like the best shooter on his team, nor does he always realize -- as a 7-footer with many guard skills -- how difficult he should be to cover. On this night, though, he strutted. He pulled up for 3s on the fast break. He followed his first miss by chucking away again. He behaved like he should, with the knowledge he will always own a green light, with an internal belief that lit up the court. Olynyk played well enough that Avery Bradley scored 11 first-quarter points and barely drew recognition. Puffing out his chest for 18 first-half points, Olynyk glowed.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Oj4GUU8laWs/VI-lx-9UHSI/AAAAAAABvxM/iAPSSsX3FTQ/s918/2014-12-15%2520Cetics%2520Box%2520Score.jpg

Marcus
12-15-2014, 07:03 PM
2 blocks and 3 steals, looks like he's coming around on the defensive end of the floor. Once he puts it all together with some consistency I think he'll be an all star.

ZagNative
12-15-2014, 07:55 PM
Highlight video of KO fromtonight's game:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oDjDXkQloY&feature=youtu.be

Marcus
12-15-2014, 08:53 PM
Great video, thanks for posting it.

OZZY
12-16-2014, 04:21 PM
Here is an article from the Celtics website, thought is was interesting...

http://www.nba.com/celtics/news/sidebar/post-121514-olynyk-trusts-self-torches-sixers-philly

hooter73
12-17-2014, 08:05 AM
Dang, Kelly is playing his way into the hearts and minds. Even being as new to the NBA as KO is, Steven's might be the perfect coach to get him set on the right path for a long, stat and highlight filled career.

ZaGranny
12-17-2014, 05:48 PM
Kelly had another nice game. He played 30:11. He had 15 points, 6 rebounds, 1 assist, 1 fouls, 1 steal, 1 TO, 2 blocks.

I love to see his smile when he is playing well. Tried to find it on the internet, it may show up tomorrow.

ZaGranny

Marcus
12-17-2014, 07:41 PM
Coach Stevens had a nice quote in regards to Kelly's play and worh ethic, "Kelly really wants to be good. His work ethic is great. He's back at the gym almost nightly regardless of the outcome." Looks like his head coach really likes and believes in Kelly. It has really been an amazing journey he's been on. Glad I was able to witness all of it from the start of his freshman year until now.

sittingon50
12-17-2014, 09:01 PM
Sportscenter reporting that Rondo is on the block. Mark Cuban shopping.

CdAZagFan
12-17-2014, 09:13 PM
Kelly had another nice game. He played 30:11. He had 15 points, 6 rebounds, 1 assist, 1 fouls, 1 steal, 1 TO, 2 blocks.

I love to see his smile when he is playing well. Tried to find it on the internet, it may show up tomorrow.

ZaGranny


Saw he made Sportscenter's Top 10 tonight (No. 2) with a drive down the crowded lane and finishing with a dunk. Looks like maybe he has his swagger back a little?

ZagNative
12-19-2014, 05:54 PM
Kelly Olynyk's 21 points lead balanced attack as Boston Celtics push past Minnesota Timberwolves, 114-98 (http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2014/12/kelly_olynyk_boston_celtics_mi.html)

http://imgick.masslive.com/home/mass-media/width620/img/celtics_impact/photo/16610762-mmmain.jpg


Celtics star of the game: Olynyk. The second-year big man continues to make a lot of plays. The Timberwolves helped by showing very little ability to resist, but Olynyk took advantage of his opportunities. He capitalized off the dribble, after cuts, and even while throwing a long-range alley-oop to Brandon Bass. This dude's not an ordinary 7-footer. Sometimes -- and that includes during each of the past three games -- that results in fun performances.

It's nice to be grooving.

Box Score (http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/boxscore?gameId=400578677)


Tommy Heinsohn ‏@CSNTommy

"Kelly Olynyk, for a total contribution at both ends of the floor, wins the #TommyAward!" 21 points, 8 rebounds, 3 assists! #CelticsTalk

Martin Centre Mad Man
12-23-2014, 02:07 AM
Kelly was nominated for Player of the Week in the Eastern Conference.

http://espn.go.com/blog/boston/celtics/post/_/id/4716548/olynyk-nominated-for-player-of-week-award

ZaGranny
12-23-2014, 06:55 PM
Celtics game back from a 25 point deficit at the beginning of the 4th to get within three, but ultimately lost by 5.

Kelly played 25:45, He had 14 points, 8 rebounds, 1 assist, 3 fouls, 1 steal, 0 TO's, 0 blocks.

He looked good in the second half, and average in the first.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
12-27-2014, 10:33 AM
Kelly played 24:11. He had 11 points, 3 rebounds, 1 assist, 3 fouls, 1 T), 2 Blocks.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
12-27-2014, 06:17 PM
Kelly played 29:18. He had 15 points, 8 rebounds, 2 assists, 1 foul, 2 turnovers.

I think the team looks much better with Kelly on the floor--but I just might be a little biased! He did have the highest +/- of the Celtics: + 5.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
12-31-2014, 11:52 AM
Kelly had a good game.

He played 26:02. He scored 15 points, had 4 rebounds, 3 assists, 2 fouls, 1 steal, 1 TO, 1 block.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
01-07-2015, 12:14 PM
Missed posting for a few games:

1/2/15: Mavs 119 Celtics 101

Kelly played 15:55. He had 2 points, 4 rebounds, 1 assist, 2 fouls.

1/3/15: Bulls 109 Celtics 104

Kelly played 13:51. He had 0 points, 2 rebounds, 2 assists, 4 fouls, 1 block.

1/5/15: Hornets 104 Celtics 95

Kelly played 13:32. He had 5 points, 3 rebounds, 3 fouls, 1 steal.

Not a great series of games for Kelly, but not very good for the Celtics, either. My take is that they are still adjusting to their new roster after the trade.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
01-07-2015, 06:34 PM
Kelly played 21:22. He had 6 points, 2 rebounds, 5 fouls, 1 steal, 1 turnover.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
01-09-2015, 06:46 PM
Celtics lost a heartbreaker. After coming back from way down to send the game into overtime, the Celtics lost by 4.

Kelly played 32:45. He had 15 points, 6 rebounds, 1 assist, 4 fouls, 1 steal, 1 TO.

Celtics were playing under a little stress. They found out shortly before the game that Brandan Wright had been traded and Jeff wouldn't play, because he was due to be traded. Asked how it changed things, Brad Stevens said--"It changed my pre-game speech."

I really like Brad--I think Kelly landed in the best possible place with the best possible coach and owner. I am sure Danny Ainge has a plan, but it's hard to understand for mere mortals!

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
01-10-2015, 11:08 PM
Kelly had a great game in his home town, the Celtics not so much.

He was in for 27:08. He scored 23, had 5 rebounds, 2 assists, 2 fouls, 2 steals, 4 TOs, 1 block.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
01-12-2015, 06:18 PM
Kelly played 13:35. He got 5 fouls midway through the third, and sat until late in the 4th, where they had him switching offense/defense.

He had 2 Points, 4 rebounds, 1 assist, 1 steal,2 To's 1 block as well as the 5 fouls.

I saw most of the game, and thought that at least 2 of the fouls were pretty ticky tacky.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
01-17-2015, 10:30 AM
1/14/15: Atlanta 105 Celtics 91

Kelly played 22:58. He had 12 points, 8 rebounds, 1 assist, 3 fouls, 3 turnovers.

1/16/15: Bulls 119 Celtics 103

Kelly played 24:54. He had 14 points, 9 rebounds, 4 fouls, 1 to, 1 block

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
01-23-2015, 10:40 AM
1/19/15 CliPPers 102 Celtics 93

Kelly Played 26:35. He had 11 Points, 7 rebounds, 2 assists, 3 fouls, 3 steals, 2 T's.

1/22/15 Celtics 90 Blazers 89. See my adventure thread in this form for details about Kelly's injury.

He Played 20:05. He had 5 oints, 3 rebounds, 4 fouls, 4 TO's 2 blocks.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
01-28-2015, 11:15 AM
Boston Celtics ‏@celtics 28m28 minutes ago
Kelly Olynyk has been chosen by the NBA to play in the Rising Stars Challenge game at All-Star weekend as a member of the World Team roster.

This would indicate that they are pretty confident that Kelly will be back from his ankle injury by all star week.

ZaGrnny

gonzagafan62
01-28-2015, 11:33 AM
Boston Celtics ‏@celtics 28m28 minutes ago
Kelly Olynyk has been chosen by the NBA to play in the Rising Stars Challenge game at All-Star weekend as a member of the World Team roster.

This would indicate that they are pretty confident that Kelly will be back from his ankle injury by all star week.

ZaGrnny

Thanks ZaGranny. Any idea when this game is?

ZaGranny
01-28-2015, 12:12 PM
http://hangtime.blogs.nba.com/2015/01/28/wiggins-carter-williams-among-participants-in-bbva-compass-rising-stars-challenge/

According to this blog, 2/13

Apparently this is the first time they have used theUSA/International format.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
02-11-2015, 03:29 PM
Celtics tweeted that Kelly will not be able to play in the Rising Stars game, but he will participate in other All-Star weekend activities.

Zagranny

ZaGranny
02-13-2015, 07:26 PM
http://www.bostonglobe.com/sports/2015/02/12/kelly-olynyk-forced-sit-out-rising-stars-challenge-all-star-weekend/K8q7VQzaL6G5hDG1wo3vLN/story.html

Gives more info about his injury and why he did not play in the Rising Stars Challenge. He did sit on the bench and was actively sheering. Looked like he was not limping.

From the article:

NEW YORK — As his temporary teammates went through a simple practice at Long Island University-Brooklyn on Thursday evening, Celtics 7-footer Kelly Olynyk sat on the bench next to a fluffy NBA mascot.

Olynyk was selected to play in Friday’s Rising Stars Challenge, but he remains sidelined with a right ankle injury. Still, he elected to attend All-Star Weekend even though he can’t participate in much of the festivities.


Before Thursday’s basic practice session, Olynyk took part in some shooting contests as a loud emcee tried to explain the nature of the contests. But few people in the stands seemed to care about the rules or the score. Mostly, the fans just wanted to take pictures of players such as Minnesota Timberwolves rookie Andrew Wiggins.

Olynyk shot a few 18-footers from the baseline. Then he hoisted a few shots from the elbow and attempted some 3-pointers. When they started some drills that required more movement, Olynyk took a seat.

“I was really looking forward to [playing], but right now it’s in my best interest to take some time and have this break,” Olynyk said. “Taking time to just get as healthy as I can. You never know with this thing. Sometimes you’re almost [ready to return] for two or three weeks. You never know.”

For now, Olynyk is targeting the Celtics’ practice in Sacramento next Wednesday as his return date. That will be the start of the team’s final West Coast road trip this season.

More at the link.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
03-04-2015, 02:57 PM
Kelly reportedly will play in today's game vs. the Jazz. I'll be watching on Root TV, Comcast 627 at 4:30 pm.

I saw a photo in the last couple of days showing him with a billy-goat-gruff goatee. Man, I hope it's gone for today's game.

ZaGranny
03-07-2015, 09:19 AM
Wednesday:

Kelly played 7:14. He had 0 points, 1 rebound, 1 assist, 2 fouls.

Friday:

Kelly played 22:16. He had 8 points, 3 rebounds, 3 assists, 3 fouls, 1 block.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
03-14-2015, 12:12 PM
Magic 103 Celtics 98

Kelly played 12:54 in his second game back. He had 2 points, 2 rebounds, 1 assist.

Celtics 100 -- Heat 90

Kelly played 20:45. He had 10 points, 2 rebounds, 2 assists, 1 steal 1 foul.

Celtics 95 Memphis 92

Kelly played 19:59. He had 15 points, 6 rebounds, 3 assists, 4 fouls, 3 steals, 5 TO's.

Celtics 95 Magic 88

Kelly played 19:59. He had 13 points, 5 rebounds, 3 fouls, 1 steal 2 TO's.

They play tonight at the Pacers at 4:00 PDT on NBA TV 156.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
03-14-2015, 06:58 PM
Kelly played 20:04. He had 2 points, 5 rebounds, 5 assists, 4 fouls, 2 TO's, 1 block.

Celtics have won 4 in a row. This was an important win for them because the Pacers were ranked 7th in the division.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
03-17-2015, 10:37 AM
Kelly played 15:38. He struggled shooting, 0 - 6. He had 1 point, 4 rebounds, 1 assist, 3 fouls one steal.

Boston, Pacers, and Miami are all 30 and 36. Indiana is ranked 7th and Miami 8th, so they must have the tie-breakers.

Go, Celtics!

ZaGranny

SteelZag
03-17-2015, 02:06 PM
On Around The Horn this afternoon the talking heads were talking about the Celtics and showed a great clip of Kelly. He unleashed a bullet from inside his own restricted arc area to hit a teammate who then passed to trailer for a great dunk. Awesome!

willandi
03-17-2015, 08:30 PM
Kelly played 15:38. He struggled shooting, 0 - 6. He had 1 point, 4 rebounds, 1 assist, 3 fouls one steal.

Boston, Pacers, and Miami are all 30 and 36. Indiana is ranked 7th and Miami 8th, so they must have the tie-breakers.

Go, Celtics!

ZaGranny

Has to be conference record. Celts are 18-21, the other two are over .500. Celts are ahead in division wins, so that has to be it!

ZaGranny
03-19-2015, 08:23 AM
Kelly played 23:01. He had a great game. 20 points, 3 rebounds, 2 assists, 3 fouls, 2 steals, 3 TO's, 2 blocks. Kelly was 3 of 8 on FT's, 7 of 13 FG's, 3 of 6 threes.
(Brandon Bass scored 20 also, and Marcus Smart scored 25.)

A few more free throws would have won it for the Celtics, they were 17-28.
ZaGranny

ZaGranny
03-23-2015, 09:48 PM
Kelly was in for 16:40. He scored 18, 5 rebounds, 2 assists, 4 fouls, 1 steal, 1 block, 1 TO.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
04-01-2015, 03:24 PM
Kelly took an elbow to the eye from Shav Randolph and is sporting a dandy shiner before the game with the Pacers coming up at 4:30 on NBA TV (Comcast 630). Questionable to play:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CBinGQsUIAE4xqG.jpg

Angelo Roncalli
04-01-2015, 03:30 PM
Kelly took an elbow to the eye from Shav Randolph and is sporting a dandy shiner before the game with the Pacers coming up at 4:30 on NBA TV (Comcast 630). Questionable to play:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CBinGQsUIAE4xqG.jpg

I gotta open my eye. Cut me, Mick. Cut me.

ZaGranny
04-01-2015, 03:57 PM
Kelly unlikely to play much if at all, as he got elbowed in shoot a round, but if you want to see a closeup of his world-class shiner with 4 stitches, you might want to tune in and look for him on the bench.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
04-01-2015, 04:10 PM
Kelly in, and just made a basket--I wonder if he can see in that eye?

Celtics ahead by 11, I think.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
04-01-2015, 04:24 PM
Kelly with 9 points in 9 minutes before sitting down.

Mantua
04-01-2015, 04:43 PM
I cat figure out how to paste the image that can't be opened but here's the link.

http://deadspin.com/kelly-olynyks-eye-is-pretty-messed-up-1695134815

ZagNative
04-01-2015, 04:47 PM
I cat figure out how to paste the image that can't be opened but here's the link.

http://deadspin.com/kelly-olynyks-eye-is-pretty-messed-up-1695134815
http://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/s--rlq_iumT--/s6iq5zjugjxcweookze1.jpg

Mantua
04-01-2015, 04:58 PM
Thanks ZN. I post from a tablet most of the time. I like to keep my pc distraction free for work.

ZaGranny
04-01-2015, 05:47 PM
Well, I was certainly wrong about how much Kelly would play!

21:43 19 points, 2 rebounds, 2 assists, 5 fouls, 1 steal, 1 block.

If a mod wants to move this to the Old Dogs, we'll have the info over there.

ZaGranny

Mantua
04-01-2015, 05:50 PM
Well, I was certainly wrong about how much Kelly would play!

21:43 19 points, 2 rebounds, 2 assists, 5 fouls, 1 steal, 1 block.

ZaGranny

Doing well compared to the blue blood program guys.

I liked Crowder when he was at Marquette - a sturdy player.

ZagaZags
04-01-2015, 05:52 PM
http://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/s--rlq_iumT--/s6iq5zjugjxcweookze1.jpg

Was Kenny Gaines in the house?

RenoZag
04-01-2015, 05:57 PM
Looks like Rocky Balboa before Mick cut him. . .

Section 116
04-01-2015, 08:12 PM
Scores 19 after injury: http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/nba/2015/04/01/olynyk-overcomes-eye-injury-leads-celts-past-pacers-100-87/70810652/

sittingon50
04-01-2015, 08:28 PM
Is there any back story on this? How the hell can you get nailed that bad in shoot around?

ZaGranny
04-01-2015, 08:29 PM
Celtic 100 pacers 87

Kelly: 21:43 minutes, 19 points, 2 rebounds, 2 assists, 5 fouls, 1 steal, 1 block.

ZaGranny

CdAZagFan
04-01-2015, 09:52 PM
And that happened in Shoot Around before the game? Someone trying to get more playing time, perhaps?

ZaGranny
04-01-2015, 10:07 PM
Here's a link to the blog describing the incident:

http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2015/04/kelly_olynyks_eye_looks_fright.html

So what happened? During a pregame 1-on-1 matchup with Shavlik Randolph, Olynyk took an accidental elbow above his left eye. According to head coach Brad Stevens, the big man was quickly rushed to the opthalmologist "to get (a laceration) sutured up and hopefully get some swelling down."
...

"We were doing our normal pregame drills," Randolph said. "We were playing 1-on-1. He got me on a pump fake and just jumped into my arm. I'm surprised he got up. He got hit pretty hard.

Much more at the link.

ZaGranny

OZZY
04-01-2015, 10:45 PM
True Grit!

They grow' em tough up in the Great White North...eh!

ZagaZags
04-01-2015, 11:15 PM
True Grit!

They grow' em tough up in the Great White North...eh!

Yep, Kelly Olynyk has a little hockey in him.

http://www.sportmedicine.ru/images/hockey_face_injury.jpg

ZaGranny
04-04-2015, 10:24 AM
Kelly played 19:03. He had 5 points, 4 rebounds, 1 assist, 1 foul, 3 steals, 2 TO's.

Kelly looked pretty good, but not as good as the other night (as Brad said about the other night--His play looked good, but not his eye).

Can a mod move this back to the old dogs forum. THey play again tonight.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
04-08-2015, 07:13 PM
Kelly played 18:21.

He had 12 points, 4 rebounds, 2 assists, 5 fouls, 2 steals.

He got 2 fouls fairly early in the first half, so he sat a while.

Celtics win and Brooklyn loss means Celtics are now 7th and the Nets now 8th in the standings.

They have some tough games coming up though--home and hme with Cavaliers this weekend.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
04-12-2015, 02:18 PM
Cavs let 4 starters rest and got floor time for a lot of reserves.

Kelly played 18:11. He had 10 points, 7 rebounds, 1 assist, 2 fouls, 1 steal, 1 turnover.

Celtics are now strongly in 7th place, as Nets lost today. Heat cannot pass Celtics.

Pacers and Thunder (both in 9th place in their conference) play at 3 today PDT.

ZaGranny

willandi
04-13-2015, 06:03 PM
With the Brooklyn loss to the Bulls today, the Celtics have clinched a playoff berth! Go Kelly!

ZaGranny
04-14-2015, 06:32 PM
Celtics won on some heroics by Turner and Crowder.

Kelly played 12:46. He had 3 points, 4 fouls, 4 rebounds.

Celtics have clinched the 7th spot, which means they face the Cavs in the first round of the playoffs.

They play the Bucks tomorrow, which won't change anything.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
04-15-2015, 06:36 PM
Kelly played 22:24.

He looked really good. He had 16 points on 5 of 8 shooting, 4 of 5 3's, 2 of 2 FTs. He had 4 rebounds, 2 assists, 3 fouls, a steal and a TO.

"He came out before the end after a blow to the back of the head and did not come back in. He was holding a towel to the back of his head, but it did not look too serious."

(This info from Rotoworld, one of the fantasy BB blogs.)

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
04-15-2015, 08:52 PM
Latest from Rotoworld on Kelly's injury.

"Kelly Olynyk needed five stitches on the back of his head after he was forced to leave Wednesday's game vs. the Bucks.
He wasn't able to return, but he should be fine moving forward and we will leave him off the injury report unless we hear anything different."

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
04-16-2015, 09:05 AM
NESN:

/nesn.com/2015/04/celtics-notes-gigi-datome-blasts-bucks-kelly-olynyk-gets-bloodied/

— It’s been a rough couple of weeks for Kelly Olynyk. The Celtics big man, who still carries the remnants of the gnarly black eye he suffered earlier this month, had to leave Wednesday’s game in the fourth quarter after taking a shot to the top of the head. The impact left Olynyk with a gash on his scalp that required five stitches to close. Don’t worry, though: The flow remained intact. Kelly Olynyk needed five stitches to the top of his head. Celtics PR czar Jeff Twiss confirms Olynyk didn't need to shave his hair. — Marc D'Amico (@Marc_DAmico) April 16, 2015 “I don’t know if he got scratched or elbowed, or whatever the case may be, but it opened up, so they had to stitch it up, from what I’ve been told,” said Stevens, who added that Olynyk had undergone concussion tests. “He was fine; he felt fine as far as alertness and everything else, from what I was told. (Celtics trainer Ed Lacerte) and our doctors will go through all of that stuff and make sure he’s fine, but he wasn’t going to go back in.”

Read more at: http://nesn.com/2015/04/celtics-notes-gigi-datome-blasts-bucks-kelly-olynyk-gets-bloodied/

Masslive:

http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2015/04/boston_celtics_notes_kelly_oly_7.html

MILWAUKEE, Wisc. -- For the second time this month, Kelly Olynyk required stitches after taking an elbow to the head.

Late in the fourth quarter of Wednesday night's 105-100 win against Milwaukee, the Boston Celtics big man needed five stitches to close up a gash on the top of his head. He appeared to take a shot while trying to jump for a rebound.

Olynyk tried explaining to the referee that he had been fouled, but the official wasn't buying it.

"He said, 'You guys all went up there (after the rebound),'" Olynyk explained. "I said, 'Well, I didn't do it to myself."

CBS

http://fantasynews.cbssports.com/fantasybasketball/update/25150980/celtics-kelly-olynyk-needs-five-stitches-for-cut-on-head

by R.J. White | CBSSports.com
Thu, 16 Apr 2015 1:05 AM ET


Celtics center Kelly Olynyk needed five stitches to close up the cut on the back of his head after Wednesday's 105-100 win over the Bucks, ESPNBoston.com reports.

Olynyk didn't return to action after suffering the injury and finished with 16 points on 5 of 8 shooting, including 4 of 5 shooting from 3-point range, in 22 minutes off the bench. Game 1 against the Cavaliers is scheduled for 3 p.m. Sunday, so Olynyk has a few days to recover before playoff season kicks off.

See more at the three links.

I was pleased to learn that they did need to shave his head--I like the flow! And more importantly, he like it!

ZaGranny

Mantua
04-16-2015, 05:02 PM
Man! Has Kelly got a target on his back? He was still a top three scorer for the Celts yesterday.

I hope the Celts playoff games will be televised. I'm so happy to see their improvement.

ZaGranny
04-16-2015, 05:39 PM
These times are Eastern time as I took them from the Celtics site.

Time TV
1 Sun 4/19 @ CLE 3:00 P.M. ABC
2 Tue 4/21 @ CLE 7:00 P.M. CSNNE/TNT
3 Thu 4/23 BOS 7:00 P.M. CSNNE/TNT
4 Sun 4/26 BOS 1:00 P.M. ABC
5* Tue 4/28 @ CLE TBD CSNNE/TBD
6* Thu 4/30 BOS TBD CSNNE/TBD
7* Sat 5/2 @ CLE TBD CSNNE/TNT
* If necessary

ZaGranny

Mantua
04-17-2015, 07:54 AM
Thank you!

ZagNative
04-19-2015, 11:25 AM
Kelly and the Celtics in their first playoff game vs. the Celtics on ABC now. Kelly with 7 points already! Box Score (http://espn.go.com/nba/boxscore?gameId=400790905)

CdAZagFan
04-19-2015, 11:25 AM
Kelly getting some love from the announcers early in their first playoff game!

raise the zag
04-19-2015, 11:49 AM
Kelly 4-4 FG, 10 pts, 2 rebs in 1st Quarter.

Hasn't stepped FOOT on the court in 2nd quarter.

Now, Cavs are tied with Boston. Kelly was moving the ball, spacing the floor, etc.

At least Kelly was defending the PERIMETER, where Love & Co are launching 3's like crazy…

CdAZagFan
04-19-2015, 11:53 AM
Kelly with his 3rd foul on bad offensive charge call... Probably won't see him again this half.

ZagNative
04-19-2015, 11:54 AM
Darned foul trouble for KO....

ZagNative
04-21-2015, 03:12 PM
Game 2 on now on TNT. Go Kelly!

Zaghuatanejo
04-26-2015, 05:04 PM
Game 2 on now on TNT. Go Kelly!

Love is calling Kelly's play "bush-league" and felt it was totally intentional. KO was reacting to physical play, but in no way did he try and intentionally dislocate his shoulder. I know it sucks, but do not blame a guy for playing as physically as you were.

zag944
04-27-2015, 03:51 PM
Just a weird thing. I realize players jostle for position on rebounds and this kind of thing (the act, not the injury) is common, but you don't often see a player do something like that 20 feet from the hoop. One can imagine the added torque when both players are running rather than just dueling under the basket. I thought a flagrant 1 was appropriate. I don't think that the intent was there (Smith or Perkins in the same game) in which case it should have been a 2, but I did see it as unnecessary and reckless.

Hope Kelly continues to grow with this Boston team. They are young and fun. Frustrating season at times...the injury, black eye, etc. Also he showed some pretty strong games that'll hopefully become a much more common occurence.

ZagNative
05-07-2015, 01:15 PM
Kelly highlight video for 2014-15:


http://www.nba.com/celtics/video/originals/feature-kelly-olynyk-highlights-050615

sittingon50
05-16-2015, 09:33 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KTJ7BPvw-Co

ZaGranny
07-29-2015, 07:32 PM
Nice article about Kelly's Olynyk Klynyk in Kamloops.

http://www.kamloopsthisweek.com/olynyk-shoots-hoops-with-youth-discusses-sophomore-nba-season/

Olynyk shoots hoops with youth, discusses sophomore NBA season

Friday was a cool day, spurts of rain landing on the newly-minted basketball hoops at Kamloops’ Riverside Park.
But, the weather didn’t stop droves of kids from hitting the court with the Tournament Capital’s most famous basketball product — Kelly Olynyk.
Olynyk spent the afternoon shooting hoops at the downtown park, offering tips to a few kids in a preview for the sold-out Olynyk Klynyk, which kicked off on Monday.
“It’s nice to give back to the community,” he said. “It’s a place for kids to play, for kids to get excited about the game of basketball. For me, basketball is everything, especially growing up, especially at these kids’ age.
“You’re just spreading the love of the game, the passion for the game. It’s fun to see kids out here wanting to play, wanting to learn, wanting to get better.”
The Olynyk Klynyk wraps up on Thursday at Thompson Rivers University.

More at the link, discussing his 2nd season with the Celtics.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
07-29-2015, 07:45 PM
More about the Klynyk:

http://www.cfjctv.com/story.php?id=23918

Click on the coaches link to see a couple of other familiar faces: Sam and Drew

http://www.klynyk.com/

Click on more, then gallery to see some great pics. There are a lot of pics, but I noticed that Drew is wearing some kind of cast on his left leg

ZaGranny

ZagNative
07-30-2015, 10:31 AM
Neat stuff! Thanks Zagranny!

willandi
08-17-2015, 04:18 PM
Josh Lewenberg ‏@JLew1050 Aug 14
Kelly Olynyk on pride in playing for Canada and biggest difference from the NBA: "They can't trade me to Germany"

https://twitter.com/JLew1050

ZagNative
10-02-2015, 01:06 PM
Kelly ranked #122 (http://espn.go.com/nba/story/_/id/13780981/nba-nbarank-121-130)in ESPN's ranking of the NBA's top 400 players. That's up from his rank of 174 last year.