PDA

View Full Version : KO named most improved player for Boston



Baseline
04-29-2014, 05:35 PM
A great write up on Kelly

http://www.nba.com/celtics/news/sidebar/2014-awards-series-most-improved-player-kelly-olynyk

looks like the big guy has it going. I still dream about him spending the last year at GU and dream what could have been. He made the right decision to go pro and it looks like he is on his way to a great career.

Good Luck Big Guy!

Zag Man
04-29-2014, 06:18 PM
Thanks for sharing this article with all the Gonzaga fans! This is great to see Kelly doing so well in the NBA. He's a great representative for Gonzaga basketball.

BTB
04-29-2014, 06:32 PM
I'm going to have to add an Olynyk Celtics jersey to my collection soon.

wnczagfan
04-29-2014, 07:30 PM
Congratulations, Kelly!


I remembered this article with a quote by Travis Knight, basically saying that people were skeptical about Kelly's dream to be an NBA player, but how Kelly believed in his dream and worked to achieve it. The last few paragraphs …

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2013/04/19/gonzagas-kelly-olynyk-declares-for-nba-draft-after-breakout-year/2097545/

sittingon50
04-29-2014, 08:40 PM
:clap:

Baseline
04-30-2014, 11:46 AM
Congratulations, Kelly!


I remembered this article with a quote by Travis Knight, basically saying that people were skeptical about Kelly's dream to be an NBA player, but how Kelly believed in his dream and worked to achieve it. The last few paragraphs …

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2013/04/19/gonzagas-kelly-olynyk-declares-for-nba-draft-after-breakout-year/2097545/

Thanks for that link, I had not seen it before. It sure points out that the game begins in the head and what you believe. I hope Ryan has similar thoughts as I think he is capable of a similar leap, but its all up to him.

ZagsGoZags
05-01-2014, 10:45 PM
just plain heartwarming article to read
go zags

Zagger
05-04-2014, 05:19 AM
Go Kelly! Go Zags!
What a great year with the Celtics - kinda like his stay @ GU all wrapped up in one year. Hope Kelly gets some time to take in a Zags game or two next season. He can continue to be a role model for current and wannabe Zags. I'm sure last season's team, with Kelly's help, put GU further to the front of many young and up-coming players' minds. Kelly's success with the Celtics can only continue to help GU recruitment.
Just ordered Kelly's road game T-shirt from the Celtics store :-)
And, I'm with Baseline above - If Edwards works hard he sure seems to have the basics to excel as a Zag - if not further.

DixieZag
05-04-2014, 06:34 AM
Don't know much about the NBA but do know how rabid Boston fans about any of their teams - some optimism based on a very good person through and through will make him a very popular guy in the city.

basketballzag
05-04-2014, 10:00 AM
And KO hasn't even reached the pinnacle of his career. Think about how good he is going to be in 5 years. He will be a household name.

TexasZagFan
05-07-2014, 06:44 AM
The Mavericks are going to regret trading him to Boston.

gu03alum
05-08-2014, 03:21 AM
Celticsblog wrote Olynyk's less Nowitzki, more Gasol (http://www.celticsblog.com/2014/5/6/5662604/olynyks-less-nowitzki-more-gasol-player-comparison).

It has some fun GIFS in the blog post showing Kelly operating in the high post and how he has gotten more confident driving to the basket.

Vanzagger
05-08-2014, 12:13 PM
I saw him at the fights the other night. You can take the kid out of Boston and Canada, but you can't take the Boston and Canada out of the kid.

LongIslandZagFan
05-08-2014, 12:19 PM
I would not be remotely shocked if KO totally explodes next year. More likely he will make baby steps toward a steady career... but there is a slight chance he could go completely nuts next season.

Baseline
05-10-2014, 11:50 AM
I hope Kelly has the time and opportunity to spend some time back in Spokane this summer. I would love to have him talk with our bigs and share a lot of what he learned from his year in the NBA. Some tips would be great, but telling them what to work on to optimize their game.

The Celtics have the need for a big center to be a stopper at the rim, that was not Kelly this last year. During the second half of the year he started showing better rebounding and his drives to the basket showed that he could be a legitimate center for the Celtics. I hope he continues to hit the weights as this is something that can still help him achieve his goals. If Kelly's game continues to unfold like it did at the end of the season, he will be their starter.

ZaGranny
05-12-2014, 09:36 AM
Kelly Olynyk highlight reel for the 2013-14 season

http://www.nba.com/celtics/video/2014/05/09/2014KellyOlynykSeasonHighlightsm-3265043/

ZaGranny