PDA

View Full Version : Coach Few to the NBA?



Zags_Fanatic
04-29-2014, 12:11 PM
Talk about grasping at straws! A Yahoo Sports video titled Which College Coaches Would Do Best in the NBA? (Terrible title from the get-go) names Coach Few as one of the three best candidates for an NBA coaching job. From my perspective this seems so far removed from reality that it almost isn't worth commenting on but it is out there and I'm curious to know if any die-hard Zags fans see any merit to it.

Source: http://sports.yahoo.com/video/college-coaches-best-nba-coaches-130847008.html

MTZag03
04-29-2014, 12:16 PM
I see no merit. You hit the nail on the head when you said grasping at straws.

ZAGLAWQB
04-29-2014, 12:20 PM
So far outside his comfort level neither side would even entertain a discussion. His bench and game skills are not suited for egos and a 24 second clock.

GoZags
04-29-2014, 12:47 PM
Talk about grasping at straws! A Yahoo Sports video titled Which College Coaches Would Do Best in the NBA? (Terrible title from the get-go) names Coach Few as one of the three best candidates for an NBA coaching job. From my perspective this seems so far removed from reality that it almost isn't worth commenting on but it is out there and I'm curious to know if any die-hard Zags fans see any merit to it.

Source: http://sports.yahoo.com/video/college-coaches-best-nba-coaches-130847008.html

This is something that Mark Few has discussed among this friends (and I think it was in an article about 6-8 years ago .... when Mike Montgomery was in the NBA). He said he wouldn't be interested in coaching at any other college but that the NBA intrigued him as a challenge. Again, his friends and "confidents" know this, and I know at one time his feelings were in the public domain.

Mantua
04-29-2014, 01:02 PM
I don't know if Mark Few would like the atmosphere in the NBA. Years ago, I knew a coach who quit to go back to college coaching because he was offended by NBA management's bad manners! True story.

realtydog
04-29-2014, 01:13 PM
I don't know if Mark Few would like the atmosphere in the NBA. Years ago, I knew a coach who quit to go back to college coaching because he was offended by NBA management's bad manners! True story.

Think back to about 1995 or 96'--I think it was during the 1995 lookout----George Karl was brought in by the student body assoc to give a speech---it was in the Martin Center and there were only a few hundred kids there---Karl had prepared note cards and said he was to talk about leadership---it ended up being him just talking about the NBA and related issues---I thought it was great----to this day there is one quote he made that I still repeat----- he said "I'm more of an ego manager than a coach" ---to me that sums the NBA (or prosports) up-----might be a few others on the board that were there---anyway, I don know if Few has the skills to deal with the ego of the NBA player

BTB
04-29-2014, 01:44 PM
I don't see why this is "grasping at straws." The report talks about which coaches would be the best NBA coaches, not which coaches are most likely to be NBA coaches. He even says that he doesn't think Few would ever leave Gonzaga. Basically he is just saying that he thinks Few is a great coach.

Zagger
04-29-2014, 02:00 PM
If Few should head to the NBA I doubt if it would be anytime soon. Next season could prove to be pretty special w/ who's still here and who's coming in. But, if a good team in a good place were offered (Few specifically recruited by team owner(s )) - hard telling ......

bartruff1
04-29-2014, 03:29 PM
The Utah Media are talking about John Stockton taking the Utah job....now that I cannot imagine ....

coolhandzag
04-29-2014, 03:52 PM
Think back to about 1995 or 96'--I think it was during the 1995 lookout----George Karl was brought in by the student body assoc to give a speech---it was in the Martin Center and there were only a few hundred kids there---Karl had prepared note cards and said he was to talk about leadership---it ended up being him just talking about the NBA and related issues---I thought it was great----to this day there is one quote he made that I still repeat----- he said "I'm more of an ego manager than a coach" ---to me that sums the NBA (or prosports) up-----might be a few others on the board that were there---anyway, I don know if Few has the skills to deal with the ego of the NBA player

I enjoyed Karl's stop on campus. He seemed like cool guy. He did say that his job consisted of ego management primarily. I can't imagine.

Not Few's arena.

wnczagfan
04-29-2014, 07:48 PM
I think he has the confidence, intelligence, ability and the skills, but I don't see him having the desire to be an ego manager. He seems to pick his players pretty carefully to ensure that Gonzaga has team oriented players who are not egomaniacs. I can't imagine him wanting a team that I believe is pretty much chosen by others that he has to work hard to keep them on the same page and working toward the same goal. Quality of life seems to be high on his list of priorities, and I just can't see him taking a job that, while financially lucrative and challenging, would invariably provide him with a lot of headaches dealing with players of which many are probably more interested in their own stats and their next contract than whether or not they play together as a team to achieve team goals. At least that's my opinion. I would be very surprised to see him take an NBA coaching position. I would not be surprised to hear him say he would consider it, however, as that would be a very intelligent salary negotiation tactic.

MickMick
04-29-2014, 08:19 PM
Perhaps I'm the only person that believes that Mark Few might do very well in the NBA given the right circumstances, but that can be said about any competent college coach.

DixieZag
04-29-2014, 09:07 PM
Am I right in thinking that he would no longer explore this option while his kids were in school? He seems to value stability as much as anything - I would bet that is especially so with his family. While his kids are school age children, it's hard to see him packing up and moving to a big city where he might be there for three years - maybe a lot more, but conceivably 3 years.

If, after his kids are grown, and he has his heir apparent right here in place - well, then I could see the challenge being intriguing to him.

zagfan1
04-30-2014, 05:54 AM
No. There is no systematic offense in the NBA outside of the triangle offense. That would drive him crazy along with the post game interviews. College is good for Few.

jazzdelmar
04-30-2014, 06:14 AM
No. There is no systematic offense in the NBA outside of the triangle offense. That would drive him crazy along with the post game interviews. College is good for Few.

+1000000.... Yet another April Fool's thread wends it way. Are you guys for real?

gonwick
04-30-2014, 06:49 AM
Few is a very good college coach, but in my opinion the NBA is way out of his comfort zone. He would hate giving interviews to critical reporters, let alone being under the microscope of a critical fan base. He is not a great in game manager, seeming to do better with game prep. Doubt that would fly when you are playing back to backs with no game prep. He likes high character kids, doubt he would do well with ego driven adults who have strong opinions about how they should be used. His emphasis on system over players wouldn't fly. He has a job where he makes millions in a town where millions go far. He has an adoring fan base, no media challenges, and can spend his off time not thinking about basketball. Few has no reason to go, just as gonzaga has no reason to want him to go. Each has their limitations, and they mesh well.

HOOTER
04-30-2014, 05:31 PM
I don know if Few has the skills to deal with the ego of the NBA player

Fully agree. Few represents ALL of the ego at Gonzaga, concerning basketball anyway. He can get away with this in college as long as he continues to recruit the right kids and keep the right coaches. This would never work in the NBA and he knows that.

zagfan24
04-30-2014, 05:37 PM
There have been plenty of Zags with big egos. I think people are really underestimating his ability to manage that type of player; and fwiw, the coaches I see succeed in the NBA do so because they cultivate humility and respect among their players (e.g, Gregg Popovich). I don't know if Few would be successful in the NBA, but I don't think his issue would be player management.

BTB
04-30-2014, 06:08 PM
There have been plenty of Zags with big egos. I think people are really underestimating his ability to manage that type of player; and fwiw, the coaches I see succeed in the NBA do so because they cultivate humility and respect among their players (e.g, Gregg Popovich). I don't know if Few would be successful in the NBA, but I don't think his issue would be player management.

I agree, player management seems to be less of an issue in the NBA when the players respect the coach. I don't think Few would have any trouble getting players to buy into his system (and yes, there ARE actual offensive systems in the NBA, they just aren't really strict like college) and think he would be very successful in the NBA. His offenses would be unbelievable if he could have a PG like Steve Nash or Chris Paul surrounded by shooters and athletic wings!!! Weather or not he would actually WANT to play the ego management is another story, though.

Zagsker
04-30-2014, 06:37 PM
Lol...Few would not succeed in the NBA, conversely not a lot of NBA coaches would succeed in college

jazzdelmar
04-30-2014, 06:50 PM
Lol...Few would not succeed in the NBA, conversely not a lot of NBA coaches would succeed in college

Would u exchange Mike Dantoni, newly available, for Few right now?

bigblahla
04-30-2014, 07:01 PM
What a thread.....I think I would rather discuss the courtship and liaison of Mark Few and Big Foot which is more likely than Mark Few ever coaching in the NBA.

Go!! Zags!!!

GrizZAG
04-30-2014, 07:12 PM
The suggestion is flattering to the Gonzaga program and Mark Few in general. The guy is really well thought of across the country and his consistency along with keeping our shop "Clean" are attributes we all are proud of. He's a classy guy that has won the respect of many and I can see his name being tossed in journalism circles for sure.
I wonder how it would fly if he benched some of those NBAers for turnovers....HA!

Zagsker
04-30-2014, 07:15 PM
Would u exchange Mike Dantoni, newly available, for Few right now?

Yes I would

vandalzag
05-01-2014, 08:48 AM
Yes I would

As coach of GU? Oh please explain.

Vanzagger
05-01-2014, 12:31 PM
Few is a very good college coach, but in my opinion the NBA is way out of his comfort zone. He would hate giving interviews to critical reporters, let alone being under the microscope of a critical fan base. He is not a great in game manager, seeming to do better with game prep. Doubt that would fly when you are playing back to backs with no game prep. He likes high character kids, doubt he would do well with ego driven adults who have strong opinions about how they should be used. His emphasis on system over players wouldn't fly. He has a job where he makes millions in a town where millions go far. He has an adoring fan base, no media challenges, and can spend his off time not thinking about basketball. Few has no reason to go, just as gonzaga has no reason to want him to go. Each has their limitations, and they mesh well.

I typed a few words when this thread first hit. I took the advice of Herm Edwards and didn't hit send. I think the above politely describes closely how I feel.

If Few wants self actualization as a Basketball Guy maybe he can get in tight with Coach K and win a Gold Medal.

TheGonzagaFactor
05-01-2014, 02:14 PM
No way. Few in the NBA would be a disaster. I respect Few, but NBA players wouldn't. His style wouldn't fit nor would his demeanor.

CB4
05-01-2014, 08:23 PM
Few has continuously turned down all career advancement opportunities.

scott257
05-02-2014, 06:06 AM
Few has continuously turned down all career advancement opportunities.

Not really - he accepted all of the career advancement opportunities that were offered to him at Gonzaga. I think one thing to consider is that he might actually not think of the offers that were made to him as "advancement opportunities." Knowing his family, I believe that he places a much higher value on permanence and family than financial gain or personal fame.

Zagdawg
05-02-2014, 06:30 AM
Agree-- he is a rare breed.

LongIslandZagFan
05-02-2014, 06:34 AM
Knowing his family, I believe that he places a much higher value on permanence and family than financial gain or personal fame.

I think this sums it up. Now, if the Zags were to win a NC... I wonder if he'd be more likely to listen if the NBA called. Mostly because it would be a personal challenge and not a financial thing.

bartruff1
05-02-2014, 06:46 AM
" What would it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul ".....Mark 8:36

HOOTER
05-02-2014, 09:01 AM
Knowing his family, I believe that he places a much higher value on permanence and family than financial gain or personal fame.

He's a god in these parts with plenty of national attention, not to mention that we'd all jump on the opportunity to trade paychecks with him. He's got plenty of fame and money, believe me. He's not going to risk all that for something uncertain. As long as he can maintain the status quo he'll continue to get big checks and plenty of affection, and there's really no reason to believe he can't do this indefinitely. Only a fool would abandon such an ideal situation.

MDABE80
05-02-2014, 09:48 AM
These thread go on and on and on over................................? It's the offseason. magical minds at work. Few may watch an NBA game on his TV and that's about as close as he'll get to the NBA.

cjm720
05-02-2014, 09:49 AM
These thread go on and on and on over................................? It's the offseason. magical minds at work. Few may watch an NBA game on his TV and that's about as close as he'll get to the NBA.

+1...figured this would have been a three post thread!

LongIslandZagFan
05-02-2014, 09:57 AM
Abe and cjm... just on a purely speculative level... if the Zags won a NC... do you think it might change the equation?

Just from my observations... it would seem to me that he is driven by wanting success... and until that point where he reaches the pinnacle of success (within the confines of family and general happiness) at GU then it would likely never be a thought. IMHO though I see him more like a Coach K kind of guy... he might think about the next level but loves the level he is at more and will likely never leave.

MDABE80
05-02-2014, 10:12 AM
I think he'll be here for the next 10 years..forseeable future.

LongIslandZagFan
05-02-2014, 10:22 AM
I think he'll be here for the next 10 years..forseeable future.

Don't necessarily disagree. But lets hypothetically say the Zags won the NC in the next 4 years. Do you think he'd listen if the NBA came asking?

CDC84
05-02-2014, 10:26 AM
One thing that no one has mentioned is the possibility of Few being interested in serving as a NBA assistant one day. I think he would be a terrific offensive specialist at the NBA level. I also believe many NBA teams would be interested in hiring him in this capacity. It would allow him to just focus in on his passion, which is offensive basketball. By serving as an assistant, he would be kept out of the business of managing NBA egos and a lot of the other junk that head coaches have to deal with. It would also give him a better chance of coaching with a winning franchise.

I don't think he would do this right away, but maybe for the last few years of his coaching life......

cjm720
05-02-2014, 11:07 AM
Abe and cjm... just on a purely speculative level... if the Zags won a NC... do you think it might change the equation?

Just from my observations... it would seem to me that he is driven by wanting success... and until that point where he reaches the pinnacle of success (within the confines of family and general happiness) at GU then it would likely never be a thought. IMHO though I see him more like a Coach K kind of guy... he might think about the next level but loves the level he is at more and will likely never leave.

Nope...I think the Coach K comparison is spot on.

MDABE80
05-02-2014, 11:50 AM
Now, this could happen. Perhaps toward the end of his career. I don't see Coach being happy with all the superstar interactions. It would be a very nice learning experience and he could contribute lots.

I tried to QUOTE CDC in this post but it didn't work out. See his post and then mine.

CB4
05-02-2014, 11:53 AM
Nope...I think the Coach K comparison is spot on.

Not really. Duke is the gold standard of college basketball and the job pays nearly $10 million, which is nearly $4 million more than the next highest paid college basketball coach, nearly $3 million higher than the highest paid NBA coach, and well above the NBA average coach salary of about $4 million. Coach K's best offer was a few years ago with the Lakers when they offered him $8 million a year for 5 years, which he turned down. Coach K is in a league of his own.

The only comparison between the two is that they've both stayed at their jobs for the duration of their careers. They have different mindsets and different motivations.

LongIslandZagFan
05-02-2014, 12:17 PM
Not really. Duke is the gold standard of college basketball and the job pays nearly $10 million, which is nearly $4 million more than the next highest paid college basketball coach, nearly $3 million higher than the highest paid NBA coach, and well above the NBA average coach salary of about $4 million. Coach K's best offer was a few years ago with the Lakers when they offered him $8 million a year for 5 years, which he turned down. Coach K is in a league of his own.

The only comparison between the two is that they've both stayed at their jobs for the duration of their careers. They have different mindsets and different motivations.

Even before he got to the salary level he is currently at Coach K rejected the Lakers... that should say enough.

cjm720
05-02-2014, 01:03 PM
Not really. Duke is the gold standard of college basketball and the job pays nearly $10 million, which is nearly $4 million more than the next highest paid college basketball coach, nearly $3 million higher than the highest paid NBA coach, and well above the NBA average coach salary of about $4 million. Coach K's best offer was a few years ago with the Lakers when they offered him $8 million a year for 5 years, which he turned down. Coach K is in a league of his own.

The only comparison between the two is that they've both stayed at their jobs for the duration of their careers. They have different mindsets and different motivations.

do you honestly think coach k is still there because of money?

CB4
05-02-2014, 02:08 PM
do you honestly think coach k is still there because of money?

No he's there because he can't climb any higher. He came, he built, he conquered. The NBA is not necessarily a higher level of coaching than the NBA, and this is evident by the amount of money Duke pays him.

CDC84
05-02-2014, 03:40 PM
A lot of people seem to forget that for as much glory as the NBA gets, the NCAA tournament - specifically the Final 4 - is watched by many, many more TV viewers than the NBA finals. Needless to say, the Final 4 is attended by way more people than the NBA finals. It's not like the college football coach who goes to the NFL, or the college baseball coach who goes to MLB. A guy like Coach K isn't going to achieve anymore glory with the Lakers than he would at Duke. He'd probably achieve less glory because of what he has already established at Duke and how this helps him moving forward.

HOOTER
05-02-2014, 05:19 PM
I think the NBA is better served by having coaches like Krzyzewski (among others) remain in college to develop players and prepare them for the pros. Since these guys can't go straight to the NBA, they might as well spend their brief college career getting pro level coaching.

scott257
05-03-2014, 04:18 AM
I think this sums it up. Now, if the Zags were to win a NC... I wonder if he'd be more likely to listen if the NBA called. Mostly because it would be a personal challenge and not a financial thing.

Presbyterian Ministers are not forced to transfer as is the case in other denominations. As long as the congregation is still happy the Pastor can stay. His Dad stayed over 50 years at the church in Creswell, Oregon. Now here is the interesting point, Presbyterian Ministers do transfer but many wait (like my wife's father did) until their children are out of the house and in college. My guess personally is that if we were to see Mark Few leave, it would be following the graduation of his youngest child. I am not saying Mark would leave even then, but I do believe that if he were going to and the opportunities were still there, that is when he would make his move.