View Full Version : Gonzaga Student-Athletes Honored At 'Evening of Excellence'

04-29-2014, 06:35 AM
Congratulations to all the Gonzaga student-athletes!


Gonzaga Student-Athletes Honored At 'Evening of Excellence'

SPOKANE, Wash. Ė Menís soccer player Nick Hamer and womenís basketball player Haiden Palmer were honored Monday as the Gonzaga University Male and Female Senior Athletes of the Year, respectively, as the third annual Evening of Excellence honored the Bulldog seniors and recognized and thanked all Gonzaga student-athletes as another year of competition comes to a close.

Menís basketball player Drew Barham and womenís rower Naseeb Bhangal were the Male and Female Scholar Athletes of the year, respectively; baseball pitcher Karl Myers was presented the Leadership Award, and baseball and womenís soccer teams shared the P.R.I.D.E. competition championship.

In addition, 20 student-athletes were inducted into Gonzaga Universityís chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, the national college athlete honor society. Chi Alpha Sigma exists to encourage and reward high academic scholarship of college athletes at 4-year accredited colleges and universities, to recognize outstanding academic achievement by intercollegiate varsity letter winners and to encourage good citizenship, moral character, and friendship among the high academic achievers in college athletics. Founded in 1996, Chi Alpha Sigma has grown to more than 222 University chapters nationwide, comprised of members from all levels within the NCAA and the NAIA. The seniors inducted today have maintained a minimum 3.4 cumulative GPA while earning varsity letters in their respective sports. Gonzagaís inductees are Sarah Atkins (womenís rowing), Drew Barham (menís basketball), Krista Beyer (womenís cross country/track), Naseeb Bhangal (womenís rowing), Brian Bhaskar (menís basketball), Meghan Blanchet (womenís cross country/track), Michelle Davis (womenís cross country, track), Scott Davis (menís cross country, track), Emily Eckmann (womenís soccer), Brent Felnagle (menís cross country, track), Muzeen Ismath (menís tennis), Madison Keaty (womenís rowing), Joe LaMontagne (menís cross country, track), Malori McGill (womenís rowing), Pablo Mosquera-Perez (menís tennis), Karl Myers (baseball), Ali Ohashi (womenís soccer), Andrew Owenson (menís soccer), Jordan Schroeder (womenís rowing), Jennifer Wheeler (womenís cross country, track)...

More at the link....

Gonzaga Article Link (http://www.gozags.com/ViewArticle.dbml?ATCLID=209483654&DB_OEM_ID=26400)