PDA

View Full Version : Stat question?



Zags11
03-09-2014, 03:14 PM
Who leads our team this year in clutch moments? The stat where game is tied or losing with certain time left.

Career wise?

Thanks.

Oregonzagnut
03-09-2014, 03:36 PM
Tough question to answer since it just tallies up as a made basket. Probably Adam Morrison if I had to guess. But I bet it is pretty spread out with many different players having 1 or 2 game winners in their GU careers. Those are career defining memories no matter what happens in the future, and that is something that cannot be taken away.

Casey Calvary. Possibly the greatest Gonzaga clutch bucket of all time.

Zags11
03-09-2014, 04:09 PM
Hmmmm. Thx

NumberCruncher
03-09-2014, 04:49 PM
Game winning shots in the last minute are fairly rare.

Just working from memory, I don't think there were any between Meech's winner against WKU in '09 and KP's winner against the Cougs last season. Then GBJ hit the 3 pointer against OK St. This year, it's only Dower and Stockton against SCU. Anybody know of any others during the time frame?

Zags11
03-09-2014, 05:01 PM
Yea but I mean like clutch moments. I swore clutch % was on statfinder.com and I swore david had best %. Is it all a dream?

caduceus
03-09-2014, 05:42 PM
Statistically:

Clutch = Less than 5 minutes to go in the 2nd half or OT, neither team ahead by more than 5 points

It's a time period. Sometimes plus/minus or Roland are figured during clutch time.

Zags have had 7 "clutch" games this year, winning 3.

Zags11
03-09-2014, 05:49 PM
Statistically:

Clutch = Less than 5 minutes to go in the 2nd half or OT, neither team ahead by more than 5 points

It's a time period. Sometimes plus/minus or Roland are figured during clutch time.

This.

NumberCruncher
03-09-2014, 05:51 PM
Statistically:

Clutch = Less than 5 minutes to go in the 2nd half or OT, neither team ahead by more than 5 points

It's a time period. Sometimes plus/minus or Roland are figured during clutch time.

Now I get it. Thanks, cad.

Sounds interesting. I'll look into it. Shouldn't be that hard to dig out.

caduceus
03-09-2014, 06:49 PM
Player Clutch Games Clutch +/- Clutch Roland Clutch Wins Clutch Losses Clutch Win% Pangos 7 -4 17 3 4 42.9 Stockton 5 9 43 3 3 50 Karnowski 6 -5 11 2 4 33.3 Dower 3 -1 19 2 4 33.3 Dranginis 7 -17 -9 2 5 28.6 Bell 7 -7 11 2 5 28.6 Barham 4 4 20 2 1 62.5 Coleman 4 -7 23 0 3 12.5 Nunez 5 -4 -9 0 1 40

+/- = Team points scored minus Opp points allowed

RR (Roland Rating) = On Court +/- minus Off Court +/-

Clutch = Less than 5 minutes to go in the 2nd half or OT, neither team ahead by more than 5 points


(Not sure I trust some of these numbers -- per statsheet.com, Nunez has 4 "clutch ties" -- weird.)

Zags11
03-09-2014, 09:23 PM
Hey cad.., I appreciate your effort.

This is cool. David and barham....who would of thought this? Clutch

Hoopaholic
03-10-2014, 05:31 AM
Player Clutch Games Clutch +/- Clutch Roland Clutch Wins Clutch Losses Clutch Win% Pangos 7 -4 17 3 4 42.9 Stockton 5 9 43 3 3 50 Karnowski 6 -5 11 2 4 33.3 Dower 3 -1 19 2 4 33.3 Dranginis 7 -17 -9 2 5 28.6 Bell 7 -7 11 2 5 28.6 Barham 4 4 20 2 1 62.5 Coleman 4 -7 23 0 3 12.5 Nunez 5 -4 -9 0 1 40

+/- = Team points scored minus Opp points allowed

RR (Roland Rating) = On Court +/- minus Off Court +/-

Clutch = Less than 5 minutes to go in the 2nd half or OT, neither team ahead by more than 5 points


(Not sure I trust some of these numbers -- per statsheet.com, Nunez has 4 "clutch ties" -- weird.)

struggling to understand this....so the graph is saying that bell and drainginis were on the court at end of games 5 times that we lost but others were not....??? would seem to me that you would see more players with similar win loss numbers as there is only so many combinations

U Zig, I Zag
03-10-2014, 07:13 AM
Player Clutch Games Clutch +/- Clutch Roland Clutch Wins Clutch Losses Clutch Win% Pangos 7 -4 17 3 4 42.9 Stockton 5 9 43 3 3 50 Karnowski 6 -5 11 2 4 33.3 Dower 3 -1 19 2 4 33.3 Dranginis 7 -17 -9 2 5 28.6 Bell 7 -7 11 2 5 28.6 Barham 4 4 20 2 1 62.5 Coleman 4 -7 23 0 3 12.5 Nunez 5 -4 -9 0 1 40

+/- = Team points scored minus Opp points allowed

RR (Roland Rating) = On Court +/- minus Off Court +/-

Clutch = Less than 5 minutes to go in the 2nd half or OT, neither team ahead by more than 5 points


(Not sure I trust some of these numbers -- per statsheet.com, Nunez has 4 "clutch ties" -- weird.)


Nice.

Even without the stats my gut instinct is that frankly, the two you have to have out there are Stockton and Dower. If Zags *have* to have one guy try and do something - anything - to get some points, get to the line, make the right dish then it has to be Stockton. He is fearless, which is 90% of it.

caduceus
03-10-2014, 12:31 PM
struggling to understand this....so the graph is saying that bell and drainginis were on the court at end of games 5 times that we lost but others were not....??? would seem to me that you would see more players with similar win loss numbers as there is only so many combinations

Remember that clutch time is less than 5 mins to go in the game and the score is within 5. You can go "in and out" of clutch time during the last 5 minutes of a game (if the lead increases above 5, for example). Clutch time can turn to garbage time quickly if there's a big scoring spurt.

I haven't looked at those clutch games closely, and I mentioned that some of the numbers were kinda weird on statsheet.com. I would take it with a grain of salt. As you know, sometimes minutes played get messed up on live stats. I've even seen Wiltjer in with a few minutes this season on box scores.

NumberCruncher
03-10-2014, 04:39 PM
http://i.imgur.com/OByTliU.gif

Here's a cumulative box score for all of the clutch minutes on the season.

Zags11
03-10-2014, 08:49 PM
NumberC,

thanks

willandi
03-11-2014, 07:57 AM
This is a different Stat question, but this thread has moved to second page so I will post my question here rather than start a new thread.
Preference my remarks by saying that I don't pay to follow or access any of the 'insider' 'kenpom' or such sites.

Are there any sites that start everybody with a clean and equal slate and then add the reuslts, game by game, to arrive at figures for SOS, RPI, BPI etc.?
It seems that if you start with a pre-concieved notion, a pre-season ranking, and use that to determine those figures, it is a biased beginning anyway.
Thanks

caduceus
03-11-2014, 11:52 AM
This is a different Stat question, but this thread has moved to second page so I will post my question here rather than start a new thread.
Preference my remarks by saying that I don't pay to follow or access any of the 'insider' 'kenpom' or such sites.

Are there any sites that start everybody with a clean and equal slate and then add the reuslts, game by game, to arrive at figures for SOS, RPI, BPI etc.?
It seems that if you start with a pre-concieved notion, a pre-season ranking, and use that to determine those figures, it is a biased beginning anyway.
Thanks

As far as I know, all of the statistics-based rankings (KenPom, RPI, BPI, etc) use a clean slate. Only the polls use any pre-season ranking. SOS is derived from the opponents' winning percentage and the winning percentage of those opponents' opponents. In calculating the RPI, the SOS accounts for 75% of the RPI calculation and is 2/3 its opponents' winning percentage and 1/3 its opponents' opponents' winning percentage.

KStyles
03-11-2014, 12:14 PM
I think I remember reading on his blog that KenPom uses a bit of data from the previous year to start out each new season, but he phases the weight of the old data out so its completely gone around the time conference play starts.

exclusivelee
03-11-2014, 12:32 PM
I think I remember reading on his blog that KenPom uses a bit of data from the previous year to start out each new season, but he phases the weight of the old data out so its completely gone around the time conference play starts.

Yes: http://kenpom.com/blog/index.php/weblog/entry/pre_season_ratings_2014

willandi
03-11-2014, 02:54 PM
As far as I know, all of the statistics-based rankings (KenPom, RPI, BPI, etc) use a clean slate. Only the polls use any pre-season ranking. SOS is derived from the opponents' winning percentage and the winning percentage of those opponents' opponents. In calculating the RPI, the SOS accounts for 75% of the RPI calculation and is 2/3 its opponents' winning percentage and 1/3 its opponents' opponents' winning percentage.

Thanks for the answers, it's good to hear, but shows (at least to me) how a team, or conference could game the system. Wasn't there a thought that the Mountain West did that last year or the year before? Sure would have helped the Zags if Santa Clara, while bottom feeding in the OOC could have at least WON all those games>