PDA

View Full Version : Monday Few Show on 1510 am radio in spokane w/Tom Hudson - running



gamagin
03-03-2014, 11:22 AM
TH: wcc tourney talk.

TH: u came out fromlosses and got after it.

MF: no question. toughness needed to survive on the road. to their credit they found it inside themselves. they bottled it up and played that way both games. tough teams. physical. portland & pacific, SMC and BYU -- all very physical. we stepped up.

TH: agree, doesn't look like it at first, but they really are . . .
MF: pacific is physical. they use all their fouls and shuffle through a lot of guys, inside and on the perimeter, too. yet you have to understand and settle .. gotta go in and physically engage them atop and underneath. stedda runners (a favorite pet peeve of MF's) we ran plays (this time) and attacked.

TH: we had early foul trouble, then the bench gave good minutes
MF: yeah we were in foul trouble, it was as bad as maui at one point. to their credit, the bench came in with nice minutes.

TH: got help off bench, too
MF: matchups help, and DB was hunting. his feet were ready and he played better as a hunter. it's a better thing all around. when he's there with KP and GB or KD then those posts are one on one. (thus) no one doubling in the post. so it's constant balancing act back and forth with what we're doing.

TH: no slippage this time with the lead.

MF: on the road, usually the home team makes another run. we jumped pacific in spokane and they tried to get back in in spokane, but this time it didn't work.

TH: on to moraga ..won outright WCC crown in Pacific. nice to wrap it up in Stockton.
special deal ?
MF: so much harder than what others get enamored with. we had a 2.5-3 month run which was so much harder than anything else (like dance). We had to negotiate through injuries and i think most coaches will tell you its the hardest thing to do.

we tried to say how speical and important it is and our guys have done a great job of understanding this. some people around think its a birthright (WCC crown) but that is not the case. people do think it's automatic. think about the most injuries I've ever dealt with in 15 years (as HC), and the 25-26 years since i've been here and still win it. (Overall) the bottom teams are better plus BYU have made it much tougher, big time recruiting and place in order to "get that guy."

TH; look at 7 9 & 10 (league rank) all beat us or BYU this season. 4 are in top 80 RPI, the numbers bear out this is a good league.
MF: true. scary from the top teams perspective. now we have to play everybody to get through it. they've shown this. LMU beat BYU USF has dropped some. Not going to be true. If your a socialist you're going to enjoy the trip down there (I didn't catch the meaning here).

moraga.
MF: think SMC has lost a total of 4-6 games in moraga, we have four of those w's. we took it too em. played physical and efficient and patient, took good shots and the response was good this weekend -- we had our backs against the wall -- and that can go either way. To have to flip it on the road. there aren't many teams -- there are a very few -- who have shown they can do that. drop two & get the last two.


TH: smc was 16-1 at home and we hand them the worst loss of bennet's career. Holt 0-6. biggest margin since 2001.
MF: got rid of the 3 line. doubled waldo and rotated out. did a nice job on holt. he's good. but we did a nice job, made it difficult but he had to force to get there. none of the others had a chance to get going.

Zags11
03-03-2014, 11:27 AM
Thanks

gamagin
03-03-2014, 11:27 AM
P2
WCC tourney talk
TH: 25-6 W-L heading to L.V. S.Clara v pacif, winner plays GU.
MF: we've had difficult games with SC. took a great play from sam (buzzer beater) to get one W. they are a low possession, grinding team. They have three gifted guys, there's a lot of action and it makes them difficult to guard. we'll deal with that. and the flip side is Pacific and a multitude of sets and difficult game.

TH: sat night. winner sat plays pepp or smc.

TH: how much rest and prep for LV ?
MF: thought we might be tired but others say ready. so we'll do some hitting and physical, and let it rest a day or so. it's now 3 games sted two so it's a long week down there.

TH: is it hard to stay focused and keep them in the right mentality
MF: there isn't a right answer. nobody knows. it's a fine line. do we rest and be fresh or do we continue to hit and drill and risk an injury. We'll have to go on instincts and see how they feel and look and what seems to be needed to help performance. we'll watch film today and see some different offensive sets. Tuesday we go physical and wed we'll take a break.

cjm720
03-03-2014, 11:31 AM
Gracias

I heard Bob Knight interviewing Greg Marshall over the weekend, and BK gave some unsolicited advice to Marshall. I'm paraphrasing, but he said the single most important thing for them was to rest. To not over work the players so they're ready for the big dance. We're in a little different situation as we're staring at an at-large if we don't get the auto bid compared to a #1 seed.

gamagin
03-03-2014, 11:35 AM
P3

FB question entertained.
Q:coach you've proven you can win. what new goal would you follow now?
MF try to win the tournament

Qfr steve. how keep guys focused?
MF: we're on a tight sked so its typical road sked. we get there fri eve and eat and see film. eat film and shoot around eat and game, so there's isn't a whole lot of free time in their lives. they understand. been blessed with focused guys and this is a business trip. studying, too.

Q: NCAA tourney. how do you look at dance and if guys are paying attention ?
MF: this is year where I haven't gotten into o. focused on us and performance. last year number one seed and all the media attention was significant. at least thinking. this year not the case. trying to control the next game and that's all we are guaranteed at this point. trying to get peak performance this next one and move on from there.

(pause) it's amazing how many experts have appeared this year. (laughingly) maybe this has created a lot of new job opportunities and I'm not sure. but there are a lot of new experts out there this year . . . .

gamagin
03-03-2014, 11:56 AM
P4
TH: interview with DS
Repeated the post game interview at Moraga --- see section 116's post after the game on this board:

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?49119-GU-SMC-Post-game-radio

did enjoy this ending exchange:

TH: how much fun has it been for you this sr year:
DS Great i'd like to make it better though. we're not done yet.

TH: how stay fresh for the WCC and beyond ?
DS: we can enjoy tonight but we can't let down like we did before. I'm tired of that, though, i want to turn it up a bit.
10 pts five assists, five rebounds and one steal.

Matt Santangelo -- one of the heroes of the '99 E 8 team --- is interviewed--

TH: anything in your career stand out and what's different between then and now ?
MS: lot of things. it's strange because watching what the program has become, the level of sustained success, some of the fringe benefits. travel, gear and type of athletes recruited and how different that is. fact is that our group didn't have that. we came in feeling slighted. we came in feeling we had to prove ourselves to everyone, each other included. I still take a lot of pride in that.

showing my age, another thing is teammates we had. four of 5 live in spokane. they are successful well adjusted members of society. and one in australia. so the character of those guys, and casey and spink and all there successes after ball, somewhere there's a correlation between achieving at GU and achieving as adults.

TH: in your E8 run, did you feel it coming. what going on thenn ?
MS: we were so naive. that's probably why we succeeded. not like today. today's players handle everything with humility. handle success, charities and go to schools and as celebrities. they handle it well but there is an expectation that it's part of it. we didn't have that expectation. it wasn't a regular happening. so to be part of the first was a wild ride. sometimes reflect on the wild ride. outside looking in we just had fun, with the press. on espn was brand new and fresh. so we had fun with it it wasn't an expectation. we like talking to the third grad basketball team. I think with our group ignorance was bliss. we tried to enjoy the ride. and that level of expectation has changed alot from GU to the nation -- it's a world apart from what we went through.

TH: Favorite on court memory. watching Sam make that 3 at Santa clara. two memories came to me, at SC our soph year first round of WCC vs. USF, I had the opportunity, we were up one and their point makes a shot, they are up one with 5 seconds on the clock. broken play at the end and I was able to literally at the buzzer knock down 3 at the end. also did that at el paso again with a three. so those are a couple I thought of after Sam's winner.

TH _ off court memory favorite
MS: Sweet 16, again, and after Casey's big shot. Munson comes in and tries to refocus us and there's still more to do. munse is rubbing his head and said "we just have to. . . we just have to. I have no idea what we have to do but we'll figure it out.

I loved that. but in that moment it was genuine and true. none of us had experienced that and it was a wonderful moment. so true and sincere and favorite moment."

MS: and there is one other story I love telling: after stanford game, we beat them in seattle. i remember coming out of the locker room to meet family and friends. came out and my parents were there. my dad choked up and couldn't get a word out. so we both just cried. It's the Italian in us, Huddy. But that is one of my proudest moments as a son, even more than as a ballplayer. It sticks with me. I love going down that memory lane. dad was SO excited and there was no context in which to put that great moment.

---

TH: we wound up 29th ap and 31 coaches poll this week (I THINK i heard this right)

ALSO: Huddy said the all league selections are scheduled to be announed at any moment. He was hoping to announce them on this show, but they have not been reeleased as of this moment.

final note: DB named all WCC academic pick

--end--

gamagin
03-03-2014, 12:52 PM
Gracias I heard Bob Knight interviewing Greg Marshall over the weekend, and BK gave some unsolicited advice to Marshall. I'm paraphrasing, but he said the single most important thing for them was to rest. To not over work the players so they're ready for the big dance. We're in a little different situation as we're staring at an at-large if we don't get the auto bid compared to a #1 seed.

Thanks.

As I listened to MF it was clear that, like everything else, it all depends on whether some need time off or some need more time to prep, whether its for Las Vegas or beyond.

Section 116
03-03-2014, 01:54 PM
Thanks Gamagin, I forgot all about the show today. Must have been the snow I was shoveling???

Zags11
03-03-2014, 02:44 PM
Thx gam. This team will shock some people.

BobZag
03-03-2014, 02:50 PM
Thanks, Gam. Great job as always.

hondo
03-03-2014, 03:37 PM
Thanks Gam.

Zagdawg
03-03-2014, 03:56 PM
Thank you for taking the time to post.

Much appreciated!

Pleasant Peninsula
03-03-2014, 05:13 PM
(pause) it's amazing how many experts have appeared this year. (laughingly) maybe this has created a lot of new job opportunities and I'm not sure. but there are a lot of new experts out there this year . . . .
-- Few

Haha. There certainly has been more Few second-guessing this year than I can remember in a year. Not entirely without merit, either. But a sweet sixteen trip would stuff a sock in that talk pretty quickly.

Zagdawg
03-03-2014, 06:09 PM
A sweet 16 trip would be huge in a rebuilding year with the injuries we have gone through-- I don't know how realistic that is.....but you never know....the Zags could get hot.

kclubfounder
03-03-2014, 07:03 PM
A sweet 16 trip would be huge in a rebuilding year with the injuries we have gone through-- I don't know how realistic that is.....but you never know....the Zags could get hot.

The Zags ARE hot. Really hot.

At the right flipping time.

Oregonzagnut
03-03-2014, 07:05 PM
The Zags ARE hot. Really hot.

At the right flipping time.

Yes we are and we had one of our best games of the year for our last. I don't even think we are peaking yet.

gozagswoohoo
03-03-2014, 09:09 PM
Thanks Gam.

I really look forward to seeing Stockton in the NCAA Tourney this year. Just have a feeling he is going to be/do something special...

gamagin
03-04-2014, 06:58 AM
+1


Thanks Gam. I really look forward to seeing Stockton in the NCAA Tourney this year. Just have a feeling he is going to be/do something special...

I hope we release the hounds on this tourney and grow a swagger for the dance, running on all five cylinders.

Also Look forward to a report or two from those of you who will be there. Enjoy !

DixieZag
03-04-2014, 07:21 AM
Releasing a swagger is exactly what is needed. This team needs to play aggressive to be at its best. Yes, it is hot, but by that measure its been hot several times this year and took its foot off the gas or something and regressed, quickly. It needs to keep doing what it did this last weekend.

I think the toe felt much better last weekend - if that is the case that's half the battle right there. Kevin is infinitely better when moving aggressively and the rest of the team moves more aggressively around him. Kevin floats around? Everyone floats around. He is tough - he'll turn it up.

gamagin
03-04-2014, 11:15 AM
+1


Releasing a swagger is exactly what is needed. This team needs to play aggressive to be at its best. Yes, it is hot, but by that measure its been hot several times this year and took its foot off the gas or something and regressed, quickly. It needs to keep doing what it did this last weekend. I think the toe felt much better last weekend - if that is the case that's half the battle right there. Kevin is infinitely better when moving aggressively and the rest of the team moves more aggressively around him. Kevin floats around? Everyone floats around. He is tough - he'll turn it up.

If I had a wand, I would like to see the 6-7-8-9 etc., players also really step up and inspire the whole team to start or keep showing their stuff for 40 full minutes of intensity & focus. I'm talking KD, DB, PK and, when called on, GC and AN enter for their showtime, relish their roles and execute.

It seems to me, looking back, that "someone" not expected to stick a dagger in did just that in the games we lost. The BYU guy who came in to rough up PK. the frosh who took a few shots from downtown. All those Portland guys refusing to give an inch. they all did their parts.

having to rely on one or even two obvious choices to provide all the fireworks in these one-off games is just not enough. Everyone sent in should consider himself the star and treat every touch and handle as though it was his turn to be the star. Because that's exactly what happens in tournaments year after year.

A DB or a KD or a GC, who has been flashing incremental brilliance all year long, digs down and contributes mightily by filling in a gap here and there, cans a shot or steals the ball or grabs a board. While all eyes and double teams may be concentrating on the stars.

This happens at just the right time. And the game changes and the good times start to roll. Or continue to roll. Or keep rolling as the swagger forms and then takes on an air of success. And all the stars shine.

McZag
03-04-2014, 11:38 AM
Thanks for the transcript! MF echoed my thoughts exactly . So glad he is in the captains chair!