PDA

View Full Version : Some of your favorite thoughts/ memories of Stockton, Dower and Barham



Zags11
02-14-2014, 07:40 AM
Barham, he has just a sweet stroke from 3. Pretty as a rembrandt picture. Fit in with Gonzaga very well.

Sammy D. He finally got the starting role and as used it like a True Vet would. Silky smooth like a spiders web.
He has one of the best shots for a big man here...ever.

Little David. Mighty Mouse. He has the heart of a 14 foot man. Courage of many men. True zag. He has stepped up huge this yr.

Again,

Thank You Seniors.

Reborn
02-14-2014, 07:51 AM
Because it's Senior Night Saturday, I thought it's be cool to have a thread on our three Seniors who'll be leaving after this year. I always hve liked Senior Night because I feel it's important to remember all the great and wonderful things about the guys who have played at GU.

I'll go with David first. From the beginning I was so curious about David because he was John Stockton's son, but also because he was a walk on. I remember being one of the few bloggers here who felt that David could possibly make it as a Zag. I remember watching him play as a sub, and how whenever he would go into the game the Zags seemed to go on a run. He added so much energy off the bench, and was a great passer like his dad. I can't remember who it was against, but I remember David winning a very important conference game by hitting a 3 pointer at the buzzer off a busted play. David never could shoot the 3 until this year; so it was xtra special. I will always remember him because he's such a great role model of what a person can do if he sets his mind to it and believes in himself. He has almost always been a player who gave it 100% all the time, and that I have always admired about him. I will always remember this year because he has really stepped up offensively when needed. He has proven he can score, and that he has earned his role as a starter on this Zag team.

I remember Sam playing in the his very first game. It was an exhibition game, and he led the Zags in scoring. I think he had around 19. He has always been a great shooter and has never had any fear of putting up a shot. I appreciate what he has given GU so much. He's the kind of player that could have left GU to go to another program. But he decided to stay at GU and play behind guys like Robert Sacre, Kelly Olynyk and Ellias Harris. He was patient and waited for his time. And wow! What a great year he is having, leading the Zags in scoring in conference play. I'll never forget his game winning, last second shot this year against Santa Clara @ Santa Clara. And to top it off it was a three pointer. I remember how excited Kerry Keating was in the huddle during their last huddle as a team before Dower's game winner. He really thought he (Keating) had us. And who can forget the number of times that Sam had outstanding games against St. Marys coming off the bench. I am so proud of how he has become the great player that he always knew he could be.

And finally we honor Drew Barham who like the other two Seniors, has had a great season, and he showed us all that he is one heck of a great shooter. He was perhaps the one who saved our season this year. After Dower and Bell got injured it was Barham who stepped up the most, imo, and of course David Stockton's terrific offensive game against Santa Clara at Gonzaga. Because I love the 3 pt shot, I have completely appreciated Drew's Ninja shooting eye. The Zags have had such a wonderful season so far, and what I'll always remember about it, is how guys like Drew really stepped up to show the world what it means to be a Zag. I really doubt of there are many programs can boast what these guys did. How many teams could lose two of their 3 top scorers and win six games and lose one without them. We can certainly see what has happened to Oklahoma City and even Michigan St to some extent. And what irks me, is that Gonzaga has never been given the creidt for what they did this year. But like David Stockton said in that interview after the game last night, like many of some of the best Gonzaga teams the team likes to be under the radar.

Thank you David, Sam and Drew for all you have given to me, and to the community of Gonzaga University. Now let's go forward with even better memories. The best is yet to come.

Go Zags!!!

zag67
02-14-2014, 08:09 AM
Thanks Reborn, super comments. I also want to thank them for the efforts they have put out on and off the court. Dave would have not been where he is without many hours in the weight rooms and practice court. Sam for all of the work these four years leading up to this year. Playing behind the other stars and working hard enough to be there this year. And then Barham for all of the work he has done on the rest of his game to give us many more great minutes.

Thanks to all of you, your teammates and your coaches. You have all worked to give us another great year of GU basketball.

gonzagafan62
02-14-2014, 08:25 AM
I am so proud of this team no matter what happens next. The adversity these seniors have gone through has been unreal. I am very glad we have had these three guys on this team extending our streak of 20 wins for another 16th consecutive year.

My Favorite moments:

Sam Dower Jr. - This might be the overwhelming favorite, but when Sam took that shot against Santa Clara, I about freaked until the shot went in. That was so amazing. I really appreciated what he did for us in the West Virginia game as well as what he accomplished last year too. I don't think we get to a #1 ranking without Sam Dower too. His constant rotation status in his first years as a Zag really helped him as he became a senior this year. His leadership and never wanting to quit has bailed this team out tremendously this year.

David Stockton - When I think of David Stockton, I think of John being in the stands. Those were always precious moments when he first walked on to GU. He has become a stealing machine much like his father, and his big game last night will be one I never forget. He has brought so much enthusiasm and fight and grit to this team that was so crucial to this team. David, I thank you my man.

Drew Barham - I will always remember him as the 3 point specialist. Shooter only. I will always remember his game this year at the Kennel vs Wazzou. His 5 three's game was just incredible. I was going bonkers. Always great to see one of our guys step up against Wazzou. Mutual respect, but I think we are starting to develop a thing for laying the 3 bomb on Wazzou in the K2. That was purely remarkable.

Thank you seniors, I appreciate all you did. Hopefully we will make this team last awhile in March. This team has been very special to me. And its pretty close to last years team, and the 99. Its up there. Go Zags!

Zags11
02-14-2014, 08:51 AM
All good. I can't believe Sr night is upon us. Have we ever been on road after Sr night for 4 games (not counting post season WCC/NCAA)?

GoZags
02-14-2014, 08:58 AM
My favorite memories of Sam and David come from the year they were redshirts. I attended practice, and the two of them were out on the floor, working together long before the rest of the team (i.e. the "real" team that year .... came out).

I believe I posted at the time .... these two kids appeared to have bonded .... and formed their own version of "Stockton and Malone".

I recall it being questioned whether or not an unrecruited (by others) David Stockton would ever see the floor and get meaningful minutes. I believed (from that early practice) that he would.

It's been a joy to watch David and Sam, and Drew coming into the fold has been a blessing as well.

Good luck to our "Senior" leaders. Hope they have a long run in them, and that they can be remembered for accomplishing something very special in March (and April). GoZags

Reborn
02-14-2014, 09:03 AM
I'm also remembering about all the discussion last summer about this year's Zag team. A lot of posters where wondering how this year's team could ever replace the points of Kelly and Elias. I remember being one who felt the Zags could produce equal offensive numbers to last years team. And I felt Sam would have a great senior year because most Zags do. And I had no idea it would be this good. He has improved so much since the last few years. I know he put in alot of work over the summer.

Zags11
02-14-2014, 09:05 AM
Sam and David do seem to have this special connection. Pretty awesome.

Vanzagger
02-14-2014, 09:16 AM
Thanks guys. Enjoy your night. I'm sure the KC will send you off in style. But more importantly, send yourselves off in style.

Zag 77
02-14-2014, 10:26 AM
He is also a senior. All good teams need the unheralded walk-ons who almost never get any attention.

former1dog
02-14-2014, 10:36 AM
Dower's break out game on the road versus Xavier.

gonzagafan62
02-14-2014, 10:46 AM
He is also a senior. All good teams need the unheralded walk-ons who almost never get any attention.

That's right! Is he going to start Saturday?

jim77
02-14-2014, 12:11 PM
3 classy and talented players....whose greatest college game may yet be ahead of them. Just a hoot to watch these fellas lace it up...GREAT JOB GUYS!

DixieZag
02-14-2014, 12:27 PM
the fact that sam is the last big that can hit a fifteen foot jumper

barham doesn't miss in wcc

david has improved more than any player over 4 years

former1dog
02-14-2014, 12:32 PM
My favorite thought about Barham is that this season, anytime he shoots an open shot, I think its going in.

former1dog
02-14-2014, 12:36 PM
My favorite memory of David is early on in his time at GU when one of the starters made a big shot and David was on the bench celebrating with the team and he made a gesture that he thought the player making the big shot at big balls. Very funny. I think it showed that David had a unique personality and was well liked by his teammates.

kitzbuel
02-14-2014, 01:30 PM
I remember one of the early reports on Stockton's progress as he was going into his redshirt freshman year:


Stockton is a pest and real gamer

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?22773-Zag-Tipoff-Luncheon&p=464728#post464728.

That was Matt Bouldin's Senior year.

gozagswoohoo
02-14-2014, 01:49 PM
David has come so far in his 4 years. I love him because he gives kids that aren't huge, tall, insanely athletic, rippled, hop-out-of-the-gym type of guys some HOPE!!!

Plus, when we met him in Vegas, he COULD NOT HAVE BEEN NICER!

http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i228/gozagswoohoo/photo-725551_zpsec97a994.jpg (http://s73.photobucket.com/user/gozagswoohoo/media/photo-725551_zpsec97a994.jpg.html)

gamagin
02-14-2014, 02:14 PM
Favorite images:

1st: David and Sam driving down an alley in a white '53 Corvette convertible, just below Mission about the 600 block. It looked to me like Stewart Little driving a towering Shazaam down the street in his shoe-sized car. David was smiling and Sam looked a little worried, but they were having a ball buzzing the neighborhood. Sorry I didn't have a camera.

I assume the vintage vette was JS's.

At the other end of the alley is where DS, KO, SD and several other Zags have lived since moving off campus a few years ago. I heard there is a feature article in the works about these two great friends. I suspect KO would be in there too had he not gone pro.

2nd: David finding the open man over and over and basically doing what has become his mantra -- "whatever it takes" to help win every game.

3rd: Drew waiting in one corner or another for a feed and a three. Then, when there was time, turning his thumb & index finger into a circle, covering one eye, symbolizing another beautiful DB43 shot had just occurred. The KC would send the signal back to DB and the circle was complete.

4th: SD stepping up as a go to scorer his final year. Plus the moment I realized he had developed a nice, very effective, right hook or layup to his repertoire.

sittingon50
02-14-2014, 02:19 PM
The older I get, the faster these kids blow thru GU!

Thank you Sam, David, Drew & Brian.

Also, I believe 2 of the MGRS. will be walking tomorrow nite . Those kids work equally as hard!

Hoopaholic
02-14-2014, 02:36 PM
For david it will forever be etched in my memory him driving the paint, coming out the other side still holding his dribble and finding a three point shooter for a bucket.....

Sam it is the three point shot from top of key vs Santa Clara and his reaction

Drew was the first time he hit a three ball and put that three sign up to his eye as he looked into the crowd

Brian forever being the first off the bench to congratulate the team at timeouts....always upbeat and supportive no matter the situation

Each brought many memories and hopefully each of you will go out on a high note and impact society as ZAGS are known to do........we will miss each of you but as with any family, the door is always open and I am sure we will see each of you in the future.........

THANK YOU

Ekrub
02-14-2014, 02:41 PM
David- saving our bacon a few years back. We needed him badly at pg and he stepped in and did his thing. Really earned his place in the zag history

Dower- watching him in an game he gets hot. Love that mid range jumper. Continued the tradition of excellent bigs at GU

Barham - sniper. Love watching him get hot.

Ekrub
02-14-2014, 02:43 PM
My favorite memory of David is early on in his time at GU when one of the starters made a big shot and David was on the bench celebrating with the team and he made a gesture that he thought the player making the big shot at big balls. Very funny. I think it showed that David had a unique personality and was well liked by his teammates.

@ Baylor. Olynyk hit that three.

cjm720
02-14-2014, 02:47 PM
You blink and the season is almost over. Real proud of these guys...all took different routes, all had different expectations, all had success, and all are Zags for life!

NumberCruncher
02-14-2014, 03:21 PM
This says it for me.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WxQM7GXA8Tc‎

BaldguyZag
02-14-2014, 03:27 PM
My thanks to each of these fine Zags for their contributions to this wonderful program.

David's half court shot at the halftime buzzer against Oklahoma State his freshman year in the Kennel that essentially ended that game will be my fondest memory of him.

Sam seemed to never hit the rim with his shots. I have never seen such a smooth stroke. Loved he stayed when he could have left to be the man somewhere else much earlier.

I don't think Drew has had his "Zag moment" for me yet! I think that comes this March!

Thanks again gentlemen!

wnczagfan
02-14-2014, 04:59 PM
David- saving our bacon a few years back. We needed him badly at pg and he stepped in and did his thing. Really earned his place in the zag history


I remember the game where I believe David first got some significant playing time. It was against Portland, and we were down by 13 after about 5 minutes. I still remember Steven Gray chewing his fingernails looking worried. Stockton subbed in, and never went out again the whole game. David was saying "Let's Go!" and the Zags slowly worked their way back into a lead and won the game. Stockton was stealing the ball from them, making layups, and I remember seeing Steven Gray and Kelly Olynyk looking at each other on the bench late in the game like "where did this David come from?" I still have that game saved on my DVR and it is always a game I think of whenever we are behind; there is hope. David went on to play the majority of minutes at the point in the WCC tournament that year, and I remember Rob Sacre hugging him at the end of the Championship game.

He has worked hard to improve his strength, his defense, his ball handling, and is a success story in my eyes. Most importantly to me, he has been fun to watch!

As for Sam, I really was worried at the start of this year that he was not aggressive enough to get the job done. I wondered: He is a nice guy and a good shooter, but can he rebound? Can he defend? He has stepped up this year in a major way and become a great rebounder, scorer, and leader. I am very proud of him.

As for Drew, he hasn't been with us for long, but he is definitely a Zag. Hustling on defense, and a dagger on offense. He has fit in with the team so well and so quickly. What a great team player!

ZaggyStardust
02-14-2014, 06:06 PM
http://www.zimbio.com/photos/David+Stockton/Sam+Dower/WCC+Basketball+Tournament+Championship/rAKp5a-aEQ9

I don't know how to make a picture show and am too tired to learn but I love this pic of David and Sammy.

gamagin
02-14-2014, 06:17 PM
Sam posted this to some friends tonight:

Samuel Dower Jr.
Cant believe that tomorrow will be my last game in the Kennel...

ZagsZombieNation
02-14-2014, 09:10 PM
Dower's break out game on the road versus Xavier.

I'd say the one weekend in January 2011 when he had 15 points vs. SMC and then 27 points vs. USD.

RenoZag
02-15-2014, 06:43 AM
LINK (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2014/feb/14/gonzaga-seniors-stayed-it/)

Great quote from Sam:


Dower spent three seasons, a span of 103 games, making seven starts and averaging 16 minutes, waiting his turn behind Olynyk, Harris and Robert Sacre – three of his closest friends, by the way.

Asked why he stayed, Dower’s explanation went beyond basketball.

“I feel like this place was always home, whether I was playing or not,” Dower said. “The people are always so good to me here. No other place could treat you the way they treat you here.

“Whatever my outcome, I was going to be here regardless.”

Reborn
02-15-2014, 07:39 AM
LINK (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2014/feb/14/gonzaga-seniors-stayed-it/)

Great quote from Sam:

I completely understand Sam Dower's love for Gonzaga. I am a GU graduate, and I couldn't agree more with Sam.

ZagNative
02-15-2014, 11:03 AM
I liked this tweet from Steven Gray:
Steven Gray ‏@StevenGray32 10m

@dstockton32 & @DoloDower i am so proud of you guys and how you have grown as zags and men. Take a moment to soak it all in. You deserve it!

gamagin
02-15-2014, 11:18 AM
+1


I liked this tweet from Steven Gray:

very cool ! tnx ZN

bballbeachbum
02-15-2014, 12:53 PM
My favorite thought about Barham is that this season, anytime he shoots an open shot, I think its going in.

agree, and it pretty much does too. because of this he's a real x factor come March.

so many Sam moments, he's come thru a lot, hopefully the best still ahead for him. sweet touch for any player and especially for a big guy like him, has the game to help take a team for a ride in March

have identified with David from the beginning because I see my game as the most like his of perhaps any college player, and he was always so questioned, always undersized and questioned (great pic woohoo), but his game is built to overcome that, and he has. Senior guard in March too, keep proving them wrong

Zag Man
02-15-2014, 02:30 PM
3 classy and talented players....whose greatest college game may yet be ahead of them. Just a hoot to watch these fellas lace it up...GREAT JOB GUYS!

I've really enjoyed watching Sam and David play these many years. Gosh, it seems so long ago when they started their careers here! They are such articulate and obviously intelligent young men and such a credit to our university. I'm hoping for some good things in the WCC and NCAA Tournaments so that their legacy can be extended and be extra special for them.

We were so fortunate to get such a quality player and person in Drew Barham to come to our university. He has been a blessing to the team and to the community.

BTB
02-15-2014, 03:03 PM
Man this thread brings up a lot of memories, it really makes me emotional...

My favorite memory(s) of David are just his redshirt freshman year in general.. As far as I'm concerned he saved that season for us. Just has always been such a hard worker and a great team player.

My favorite memory of Sam is his game winner vs. SCU, but I'll always remember how hard he played this season, I wasn't sure he was capable of being a leader and he completely proved me wrong. So proud!

I'll remember Barham as being the best catch and shoot shooter I've seen at GU. I was a little young during the early 2000s and don't have distinct memories of Bankhead, Dickau, and Stepp so I could be wrong. But either way his shot is just so silky!

Zags11
02-15-2014, 10:37 PM
Frahms shot was sweet.

Reborn
02-16-2014, 06:58 AM
I liked this tweet from Steven Gray:

me too. Steven is one awesome guy. What's he doing now? is he still playing basketball?

bballbeachbum
02-16-2014, 07:45 AM
me too. Steven is one awesome guy. What's he doing now? is he still playing basketball?

yep. check out the Old Dogs, he's in there.

Rangerzag
02-16-2014, 08:32 AM
yep. check out the Old Dogs, he's in there.

Reborn, if you have not been watching the Old Dogs Forum you are in for a treat.

ZaGranny, ZagNative and assorted others do some very vigilant work there.

Reborn
02-16-2014, 02:54 PM
Reborn, if you have not been watching the Old Dogs Forum you are in for a treat.

ZaGranny, ZagNative and assorted others do some very vigilant work there.

I had not until this morning. I'm glad I found that. Thanks guys.

ZagsZombieNation
02-16-2014, 05:54 PM
I liked this tweet from Steven Gray:

I guess he didn't mention Barham because they did not cross paths at Gonzaga and they might not really know each other. Although they faced each other in two GU-Memphis games.

zagmantis2001
02-18-2014, 09:59 AM
Dower hits a three and runs down the court with the "three" sign up to his eye. Timeout on the court, the officials review the play and overturn it--Dower only hit a two. Stockton and Dower are sitting next to each other on the bench and David does the same sign, but with two fingers and they both bust up.

gonzagafan62
02-18-2014, 10:26 AM
He hit a three on senior night that will live in my memory bank forever. The kid deserved it and that is my fondest memory of Bhaskar.

Brought a tear to my eye.