PDA

View Full Version : A Steven Gray Scrapbook



ZagNative
08-29-2007, 10:07 PM
So, you've probably noticed nothing's going on in basketball right now.. I decided it would be a good time to organize my Steven Gray memorabilia, and, having done that, thought I'd share some memories of Steven’s past couple of years with you all, so we’ll remember once again how blessed we are going into this season with such an outstanding young man on campus and on the court and how much it took for Steven and his family to get here.

One of the earliest and best stories I read about Steven, in the December 5, 2005 Tacoma News Tribune (http://dwb.thenewstribune.com/sports/story/5155879p-4689817c.html) gave us a great introduction to what a gift we were getting.


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/SPT0905_GRAY_P1-1.jpg


Three months ago, home was in the small town of Chimacum, an hour north of Bainbridge Island. In this community of fewer than 1,400 residents, Steven, 16, and his sister Brittany, 14, first started playing basketball in elementary school. At Chimacum High last winter, Steven, as a 10th grader, led the Cowboys to a sixth-place finish at the Class 2A state tournament in Yakima. He was voted the state player of the year, averaging 27 points per game.

Chimacum was not, however, where the Grays thought he was going to receive the preparation needed to succeed in an NCAA Division I program.

Even though Robert and Lorraina continue to hold jobs in Port Townsend near Chimacum – he at the paper mill, she in the yard office at the port – and own a house in Chimacum, for the next four years they will live on Bainbridge Island, and their children will attend Bainbridge High School, a 3A school in the Metro League.
...
“You know the ones that have a little bit extra to give to the game,” said Craig Murray, his Total Package Hoops coach the past two seasons. “You can feel that in his presence when he’s on the floor.”

The package – maturity, ability to see the court, emotional control – draws raves. Steven’s jump shot in particular is what separates him from average players, and what makes coaches swoon.
...
“We were thinking about it, and discussing (leaving Chimacum) at the start of the basketball season,” Steven said. “It was just an idea thrown out there, it wasn’t really something that we were looking into at the time. But as the season went on, we saw that something was gonna have to be done. … If I came to Bainbridge, and were playing in the Metro League, it would help prepare me for the sort of things I’d be seeing in college.”
...
Because basketball was going to be Steven and Brittany’s ticket to success – not to mention a fully financed college education – the Grays were going to do everything in their power to make that opportunity a reality.

“As a parent, what’s your job?” Robert said matter-of-factly. “You try to provide what is best for your family. And that’s all we’re trying to do – to give them as much of an opportunity as we possibly can.”
...

Tell me these people aren't too good to be true!

ZagNative
08-29-2007, 10:11 PM
Going into the 2006-2007 Season
Entering his senior year at Bainbridge HS, in September, 2006, Gray was ranked #99 in Sports Illustrated’s Hot 100 Seniors (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2006/highschool/09/11/top.seniors/index.html).

Scout (http://gonzaga.scout.com/a.z?s=130&p=8&c=1&nid=1988875) did its usual poor job of evaluating Gonzaga recruits, awarding him just three stars and not finding a spot for him in their top 100, while Rivals (http://rivalshoops.rivals.com/viewprospect.asp?Sport=2&pr_key=52546) rated Steven a 4-star, ranking him #61 out of their top 100 for the class of ’07.


Steven signs his Letter of Intent with the Zags

Gray a Cut Above the Rest
Kitsap Sun (http://www.kitsapsun.com/bsun/sp_preps/article/0,2666,BSUN_23496_5130738,00.html)
Chuck Stark | Viewpoint
Thursday, November 9, 2006


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/Steven_with_family-LOI.jpg

Steven Gray could have done without the fanfare."He really doesn't like this, he really doesn't," said his proud father, Robert, observing his Gonzaga-bound basketball player during an unpretentious letter of intent signing ceremony in Bainbridge High's library Wednesday night.
……
Gray's skills on the basketball court, combined with his high character off it, make him the ideal Gonzaga recruit, which is why the Zags offered a full scholarship to him in June 2005, prior to his junior year at Bainbridge. "Steven had the qualities that we look for," said Gonzaga assistant Leon Rice, who was on to Gray when he was the Class 2A player of the year his sophomore year at Chimacum. "He's got such a good feel for the game. I don't know if I've seen anybody better (in high school) come off a screen and pop it like Steven."


Steven’s Senior Year at Bainbridge H.S.

As the 2006-07 season wore on, Steven began on his path of record reaking.

Gray Rewriting Record Book
Kitsap Sun (http://kitsapsun.com/bsun/sp_preps/article/0,2666,BSUN_23496_5215736,00.html)
Nathan Joyce | Prep Beat
Friday, December 15, 2006


http://media2.kitsapsun.com/bsun/content/img/photos/2006/12/15/20061214-225056-pic-808655983_e.jpg

Bainbridge's All-State 6-foot-4 guard Steven Gray is 24 points away from breaking the all-time West Sound scoring mark. In 80 games at Chimacum and Bainbridge, Gray has scored 1,936 points. Ryan Kaps scored 1,959 points playing from 1985-89 at Sequim.

Steven did go on to gain the West Sound scoring mark later that week, as reported in another Kitsap Sun story (http://www.kitsapsun.com/bsun/sp_preps/article/0,2666,BSUN_23496_5228925,00.html):

With most of his senior season still to play, Bainbridge's Steven Gray has already left his name atop the West Sound scoring list. The 6-foot-4 guard scored 36 points Wednesday night in a 65-33 non-league win over Clover Park. That gave him 1,972 career points, breaking the area scoring record of 1,959 by Sequim's Ryan Kaps, set in 1985-89.

The Gonzaga-bound guard has averaged 24.3 points for his career.

From a later Sun (http://www1.kitsapsun.com/bsun/sports/article/0,2403,BSUN_19109_5248555,00.html) story:


Clover Park coach Mel Ninnis had this to say about the Gonzaga-bound guard: "It was a privilege to get to coach against him. Anyone who has a chance to see him play should go, because he is one of the best young players I’ve seen."

On the day he signed his letter of intent to go to Gonzaga, his high-school coach, Scott Orness, stopped to buy a congratulations card, but wound up buying a thank-you card.

His select team coach, Craig Murray of Total Package, told Gray: "Basketball is the easy part. You mastered the other part which is being a good person. I think (Gonzaga) should be just as proud of getting you as you are of being able to go to school there."

ZagNative
08-29-2007, 10:14 PM
Seattle Times (http://archives.seattletimes.nwsource.com/cgi-bin/texis.cgi/web/vortex/display?slug=boybios24&date=20070224&query=Steven+Gray)
Sports: Saturday, February 24, 2007

2006-07 Star Times boys basketball – All-Area Team:
Star Times all-area teams are selected by Seattle Times reporters, freelancers and editors covering high-school sports. Players are picked from schools in King and Snohomish counties or from WesCo, Metro or SPSL 3A leagues.


Steven Gray
Bainbridge
Guard, 6-4, Sr.

Gray is MVP of the Metro League and the only unanimous selection to the All-Metro team. Gonzaga recruit averaged 21.3 points, eight rebounds, five assists and two steals in one of Bainbridge's best seasons ever. Made 16 of 18 field-goal attempts in a 35-point performance in win at O'Dea.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/2003582893.gif
A Nod from the Kitsap Sun for Metro League MVP (http://kitsapsun.com/news/2007/feb/28/high-school-report-bainbridges-gray-voted-metro/?printer=1/)


Kitsap Sun Staff
Wednesday, February 28, 2007
The Bainbridge Spartans' big season was rewarded in all-league voting.

Steven Gray was named Metro League MVP and Scott Orness was named the league's coach of the year.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/20070227-235403-pic-960201022_e.jpg

ZagNative
08-29-2007, 10:18 PM
Kitsap Sun (http://kitsapsun.com/news/2007/Mar/06/the-road-to-state-part-3-of-3-together-spartans/)


The Road to State, Part 3 of 3: Together Spartans Pull It Off
Blowout over nemesis Rainier Beach and tight win at O'Dea helped define Spartans' memorable boys basketball season.
Nathan Joyce
Tuesday, March 6, 2007


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/Stevengetshugaftermetroleaguechampw.jpg

In the Rainier Beach game: Bainbridge took control in the first quarter and never let up against the No. 3 team in the state, winning 80-62. Steven Gray was his usual all-star self with 21 points on 8-of-12 shooting from the field with nine rebounds, eight steals and seven assists. Coby Gibler, despite playing with the flu, had 13 points, six rebounds and six blocks.

In the O'Dea Game: When the Spartans arrived at the gym on that Feb. 3 night, the varsity players stayed on the bus. It was time for a team meeting. "Usually I'll have to tell a captain to have a meeting," Orness said. "I never said boo." On the bus, the team rededicated itself to the rest of the season.

"We want to give everything we have for the next month," Gray said. "For seven seniors, we have one month of high school basketball left." And Gray especially looked as if he took the meeting to heart. The Gonzaga-bound Metro League MVP had a huge game, hitting 14 of 16 from the field, including 5-for-5 from beyond the 3-point line, and scored 35 points.

"In a game like this, you look for your go-to player to stand up and be that guy," O'Dea's notoriously grumpy coach Phil Lumpkin said. "And he was tonight."

The win would move Bainbridge into the state's No. 1 ranking, where they would remain the rest of the season. It also set the stage for the rematch five days later, when over 2,200 people descended on the high school to see the Irish and Spartans settle the division title.


Gray's performance erased any doubt that he was the state's top player.

"I know some people feel they have to prove they're the top player," said Gray, who will get his fourth straight All-State selection later this month, "but I feel that if your team's successful that reflects on the players who lead it."

Gray, who transferred to Bainbridge from Chimacum before his junior season, became West Sound's all-time leading scorer this year. He averages 19.7 points and normally guards the other team's best player as the Spartans primarily play man-to-man defense. Nobody has had much success against him.

"That's been fun, too," Gray said. "Knowing that I'm going to get everybody's best shot. If I can handle taking everybody's best shot now, in high school against their top player for that team, that's what it's going to be like next year in college. Everybody in college can play."

TheZagPhish
08-29-2007, 10:19 PM
Thank you for your time and energy - again. Very nice sequence there.

:)

ZagNative
08-29-2007, 10:22 PM
Seattle Times (http://archives.seattletimes.nwsource.com/cgi-bin/texis.cgi/web/vortex/display?slug=boys07&date=20070307&query=Steven+Gray)
Wednesday, March 07, 2007

3A Boys | Metro's boys are standing tall again
By Craig Smith

Some things just don't change — the road to the Class 3A state boys basketball championship goes through the Metro League.
....

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/2003602229.jpg

Bainbridge's Steven Gray (left) and O'dea's Jamelle McMillan
will try to lead their teams to a championship title in a 3A
tournament loaded with Metro League schools.

ZagNative
08-29-2007, 10:26 PM
Kitsap Sun (http://kitsapsun.com/news/2007/Mar/08/cant-slow-spartans/)
Can't Slow Spartans

Bainbridge, up 21-0 at halftime, cruises to 63-29 first-round win over North Thurston.

Nathan Joyce,
Thursday, March 8, 2007

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/20070308-000258-pic-884573086_e.jpg

It was 23-0 before the Rams finally scored. Bainbridge led 32-2 at one point before the Rams went on a 6-0 run in the third quarter.
...
Gray led Bainbridge with 14 points, nine rebounds and four points and Coby Gibler added 14 points and eight boards. Paxton Kruse scored 10 off the bench. Bainbridge shot 55 percent from the field, while North Thurston, led by Will Sharp's seven points, only managed 27.7 percent.

Seattle Times - Day 2 of the 3A Tourney (http://archives.seattletimes.nwsource.com/cgi-bin/texis.cgi/web/vortex/display?slug=boyfour09&date=20070309&query=Steven+Gray)


3A Boys | Bainbridge finds way (over Bellevue, Day 2 of 3A tourney)
By Michael Ko
Seattle Times staff reporter
Sports: Friday, March 09, 2007


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/2003609232.jpg

Banbridge's Steven Gray (32) slides past Chase Anderson (10) as he eyes the basket in the first half. Bainbridge rallied in the second half to beat Bellevue 64-54 and will face North Central in the semifinals Friday.

Sadly, Bainbridge would go on to lose to O’Dea in the finals after winning over North Central.


Seattle Times (http://archives.seattletimes.nwsource.com/cgi-bin/texis.cgi/web/vortex/display?slug=boys110&date=20070311&query=Steven+Gray)

3A Boys | O'Dea's champion again
By Craig Smith
Seattle Times staff reporter
Sports: Sunday, March 11, 2007


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/2003612609.jpg
Bainbridge's Steven Gray is smothered by O'Dea's Brian Walker.

Gray, who averaged 16.3 points in the tournament, scored 13 against O'Dea and was named tournament MVP.

Gray made 6 of 17 shots and the Spartans shot only 36 percent (13 of 36). They were 1 of 9 from the three-point arc and were outrebounded 37-21.

"We got some great shots," said Bainbridge coach Scott Orness. "When the ball doesn't go in, it's tough to stay in the ballgame, especially against a great team like O'Dea."

ZagNative
08-29-2007, 10:29 PM
Seattle Times (http://archives.seattletimes.nwsource.com/cgi-bin/texis.cgi/web/vortex/display?slug=boyle20&date=20070320&query=Steven+Gray)
Bainbridge's Gray rises to the next level
By John Boyle
Tuesday, March 20, 2007
JIM BATES


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/2003611281.jpg
Note: The photo above wasn't in the original story, which was a duplicate

Sixteen months ago, before his first game with Bainbridge, Steven Gray sat in a locker room at Cleveland High School and worried.

After two seasons at Class 2A Chimacum, Gray was about to kick off his junior season in the Class 3A Metro League, widely regarded as the best boys basketball league in the state. Gray was coming off a sophomore year in which he lit up the Nisqually League for 27.3 points per game, but this was the Metro League. A road game at Cleveland was a long way from Chimacum, both literally and figuratively.

"In the locker room, I was shaking, wondering how I'd come out and play," Gray recalls. "I was a little worried because it would be something new and different."

Gray responded with a 30-point debut, and more significantly, two seasons that showed he could excel in any league.

Midway through the Cleveland game, Bainbridge coach Scott Orness turned to his father, assistant coach Bruce Orness, and smiled.
….
Gray, a 6-foot-4 guard, who ranks third on the state's career scoring list with 2,415 points, finished his high-school career by leading the Spartans to the Class 3A state title game as a senior. The Gonzaga signee, who averaged 19.2 points, 8.5 rebounds, 5.2 assists and 2.1 steals, is The Seattle Times' State High School Male Player of the Year.

Gray averaged 24 points as a junior at Bainbridge. This season, he transitioned into a more selfless player, finding 6-9 teammate Coby Gibler with precision passes and doing whatever it took to win. The result was Bainbridge's first trip to a state-championship game since 1955.

"Offensively he has so many tools," Orness said. "He could have scored 30 every night if he wanted to, but he gave up that part of his game. He gave up himself to make our team as good as possible. He trusted his teammates. That was a big part of our success."
….
"He takes the pressure off everyone else. He's good at finding teammates and getting us easy buckets. It's great having player who can see the floor like he does."

Gray was also one of the Spartans' leaders, despite his quiet demeanor. "His biggest leadership quality is by example," Orness said. "I can't think of one thing he missed, whether it was the weight room or open gym. "This team played without the fear of failure, and Steven led the way in that area."

Steven was the 2007 Tacoma News Tribune Washington State Player of the Year (http://dwb.thenewstribune.com/sports/story/6423875p-5725803c.html)

MaxPreps.com reports on Steven earning MVP honors (http://www.maxpreps.com/FanPages/Content/Article.mxp/ArticleID-1964ffc5-acef-4e4f-9086-794b6f0beec7) in the Les Schwab Northwest Shootout, as Washington beat Oregon, 96-82, at the University of Portland.

ZagNative
08-29-2007, 10:34 PM
More Honors for Steven

Bainbridge Review.com
Apr 14 2007

Gray wins AP Player of Year


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/Stevensquating.jpg



Kitsap Sun (http://kitsapsun.com/news/2007/jun/16/kitsap-sun-athletes-of-the-year-spartan-sweep/)
Spartan Sweep: Gray, Stuart Named Sun Athletes of the year
Steven Gray earns Sun male athlete of the year.
By Nathan Joyce
June 16, 2007

It still hasn't hit Steven Gray.

In just a few months he'll be playing before boisterous sell-out crowds, playing on nationally televised games, playing in famous college arenas he's seen only on TV. And a few months after that, he'll more than likely be playing in the NCAA tournament.

"It hasn't really hit me how big it is," the Gonzaga recuit said. "Later this year, it's going to be big-time college basketball."

While big-time college basketball is just months away, Gray has been one of the biggest players on the state's big-time high school basketball stage. The Bainbridge senior was the Metro League MVP and was named the Class 3A player of the year by the Associated Press (his fourth straight all-state nod). He led the Bainbridge Spartans to a second-place finish at the Class 3A state tournament and finished his career with 2,415 points, which is No. 3 on the state's all-time list. For these reasons, Gray is the Kitsap Sun male athlete of the year.


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/Greatpicwithface.jpg

Gray's first foray into big-time college basketball is actually just two weeks away. It won't be an exciting introduction. On June 30, he's headed over to Spokane to start summer school. He asked Gonzaga coach Mark Few what his normal day would look like. He was told class in the morning, weight lifting in the afternoon and basketball at night.

"It's my personal opinion, he's one of the best high school kids in the country coming off screens and shooting," Rice said. "Or right there." And when the 3-point line is moved back for 2008-09, Rice figures it will help a player such as Gray. "Moving it back a foot sorts out the guys who can shoot it and who can't," Rice said.

Of course, nobody is handing Gray minutes, but they're still happy to welcome a shooter in a program that harvests shooters.

"We think we're getting a kid who's looking to make an impact right away," Rice said.

ZagNative
08-29-2007, 10:49 PM
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/StevenDunks.jpg


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/2003611282.jpg

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/Stevenleaping.jpg

TheZagPhish
08-29-2007, 11:01 PM
Really cool post.

I am trying very hard to contain my anticipation for this year. This didn't help. :D

ZagNative
08-29-2007, 11:19 PM
Really cool post.

I am trying very hard to contain my anticipation for this year. This didn't help. :D
You know TheZagPhish can do no wrong where Zagnative is concerned. Always nice to know there's another board junkie out there pounding on the keyboard when respectable people are tucked away for the night.

Radbooks
08-30-2007, 04:41 AM
Thanks for posting all of this ZN!! I loved reading about Steven and I can't wait to see him play. :D

lawzag
08-30-2007, 05:06 AM
you are the champion at gathering data ZN!
thanks for all the info & the totally cool pics :)

wazZag
08-30-2007, 06:26 AM
Great posts!

DenDiegoZag
08-30-2007, 07:16 AM
More Honors for Steven

Spartan Sweep: Gray, Stuart Named Sun Athletes of the year
Steven Gray earns Sun male athlete of the year.
By Nathan Joyce
June 16, 2007

It still hasn't hit Steven Gray.

In just a few months he'll be playing before boisterous sell-out crowds, playing on nationally televised games, playing in famous college arenas he's seen only on TV. And a few months after that, he'll more than likely be playing in the NCAA tournament.

"It hasn't really hit me how big it is," the Gonzaga recuit said. "Later this year, it's going to be big-time college basketball."

Sometimes I forget how much of an intense jump this must be for the guys coming in. It is such an advantage for GU that the whole campus and really all of Spokane get behind the team from the first tip-off. Steven will be a special player, and now I am even more excited to get to see the next season of BIG-TIME GONZAGA BASKETBALL! Great Series of Posts!

gamagin
08-30-2007, 07:17 AM
thanks for taking the time. This kid, and his family, too seem perfect for this program.

CDC84
08-30-2007, 08:14 AM
Gray is going to be a great Zag. I can't wait to see him in action this year.

dim4sum
08-30-2007, 08:33 AM
If Pargo goes down, either through injury or bad play, Gray starts.

ZigZagger
08-30-2007, 09:16 AM
This thread belongs in the Hall of Fame!!!

ZagNative
08-30-2007, 09:29 AM
I forgot to add the Krem 2 webpage (http://www.krem.com/sports/gu/stories//krem2_110606_stevengray____.11657ae8.html) for Steven, which has some great videos.

If anyone else has info or photos to add, I hope you'll share them here.

I just can't wait to see Steven play and see what kind of a role he carves out on the team!

BobZag
08-30-2007, 10:47 AM
ZN, lest we Zag fans forget, that pretty girl sitting beside Steven as he inks his LOI has also committed to Gonzaga. Brittany Gray will join Kelly Graves' WCC Championship team. She's quite a player in her own right. :)

Thanks for the pics. I hadn't seen some of them before.

MDABE80
08-30-2007, 11:44 AM
Just an amazing post ZN! You've earned a free burger at Applebees or Pepperdine! Message me when you'd like to collect. Abe

Zagdawg
08-30-2007, 12:42 PM
Outstanding Post!

LynetteG
08-30-2007, 01:56 PM
Wow, awesome!!! I would rep you but says I have to spread some around first!!!

RandomZagFan
08-30-2007, 02:14 PM
Kudos to you ZN. Nicely done.
:clap: :clap: :clap:

tyra
08-30-2007, 03:20 PM
I'll buy you a beer. Just let me know. Thnx for the great post.

ZagNative
08-30-2007, 04:46 PM
I had lots of fun putting the posts together and finding an excuse to read old stories and add to my photo collection. Thanks for the nice compliments, but the pleasure was all mine.

I hope that Steven and his family have an amazing time through his career at Gonzaga. Reading through all the stories about Steven and his family and his high school basketball career, these are some of the things that impressed me most:

How nice it is to see parents who truly put their children first. I have a sense that it's not just about basketball and wanting to live vicariously through a kid, but that these are folks who really want the best for their kids and are willing to make sacrifices to see that they get it. The are obviously a close-kit bunch.


What a nice, thoughtful young man Steven seems to be. I have a hunch that a jesuit education is not going to be wasted on him. From the April 14 Bainbridge Review story cited above:


BR: When you talk about the future, what do you see yourself doing? Do you see yourself in the NBA or saying "OK, if that doesn't work out, I'll find some other interest that I like and maybe I can make a career out of it?"

SG: I'm still trying to figure that out. It'd be nice to go to the NBA, but if it doesn't, it's not going to be the end of the world. I'm going to work hard to try and get to that point, because things would be a lot easier when you have that much money. I want to try and evaluate what I enjoy doing and what things are important to me and I what I feel are important to me.

I'm not really sure what I want to do, what I'm thinking - because I was talking to Mr. Lewis and he did PeaceCorps. He went to Africa for a couple of years. You have one tree, a mud shack and he's teaching in the school. He said it was one of the most interesting (experiences) and it changed him.

I'm thinking of some way you can give back. There are people out there that have it a lot worse than we do. I just want to help in someway - I don't know what exactly that is yet, but something along those lines.

We learned a lot about Africa in Contemporary World Issues with Mr. Zarling and he's showing us - have you seen Invisible Children?

BR: I don't think I have.
SG: It's a documentary and it shows kids that run - they have to commute in large groups (in Northern Uganda) because they have people come and take kids in the middle of the night and become child soldiers.

It's crazy just to think there's 12, 13, 14-year-old kids going through (this) and I come out and play basketball every day. It makes my life so much more - I don't know. It just makes things a lot easier for me just to know that I'm just out here playing (basketball). I don't have to worry about anything. I can just come out and play basketball. It's helped to relax me a lot. Thinking there's so many worse things going on (so) I have nothing to worry about with this basketball game. It doesn't matter who we're playing. It's just a game. It's helped having my eyes open to what's going on outside this little community.

You know, you read so many stories about a lot of highly recruited players and how they come into college with a sense of "entitlement" that presents all sorts of problems for their coaches and teammates. They are prima donnas. I think it is safe to say that Steven Gray is no prima donna.