PDA

View Full Version : 24 hour marathon game thread.



ZagaZags
11-11-2013, 03:32 PM
3 WCC teams in the marathon starting today. West Virginia vs Virginia Tech and New Mexico State vs Hawaii should be fun. The headliners Kentucky vs MSU and Duke vs Kansas is Final Four good. Get the coffee p o t going.
I had to say p o t because if I say ### it won't show it.

zag buddy
11-11-2013, 03:48 PM
I suspect from what I've seen Duke may be the best team in the nation. If they blow out Kansas then I think I'm right.

exclusivelee
11-11-2013, 03:49 PM
Notable Games:

http://i.imgur.com/K4md5ZP.png?1 (http://imgur.com/K4md5ZP)

Matchups highlighted in yellow involve teams Gonzaga plays this season


If unable to read the chart, check here: http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/schedule

ZagaZags
11-11-2013, 04:33 PM
GU favored by 15 pts over Colorado State.

Reborn
11-11-2013, 04:40 PM
thanks for the schedule of games.

exclusivelee
11-11-2013, 08:11 PM
BYU - Stanford game started right after Zags final.

BYU moves the ball well

VinnyZag
11-11-2013, 08:34 PM
Haws is really good. Wonder which Zag guards him. Coleman and Bell, I guess.

Also: Mika is huge. Doesn't look like a freshman.

RenoZag
11-11-2013, 08:35 PM
ESPN's current "Marathon" home page:

http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x375/RenoZag/gbj_zpsc4502146.jpg (http://s1178.photobucket.com/user/RenoZag/media/gbj_zpsc4502146.jpg.html)

exclusivelee
11-11-2013, 08:35 PM
BYU Up 29 to 24 after 10:30 in the game, BYU already called for 10 fouls

johno
11-11-2013, 08:35 PM
Wow the fan atmosphere betwen Stanford and Gonzaga is shocking. Nothing close to the kennel club at stanford.

Mantua
11-11-2013, 08:39 PM
The SportsCenter coverage let everyone know that Guard U is back!

RenoZag
11-11-2013, 08:39 PM
Wow the fan atmosphere betwen Stanford and Gonzaga is shocking. Nothing close to the kennel club at stanford.

They're too busy planning their IPO's. . .

exclusivelee
11-11-2013, 08:39 PM
Tickets sales have drastically fallen each year throughout Dawkins' coaching tenure.

NEC26
11-11-2013, 08:48 PM
Wow they are calling a ton of fouls on BYU.

Zagdawg
11-11-2013, 08:53 PM
BYU looking good--Mika is a good one for BYU.

btzag
11-11-2013, 08:57 PM
Wow the fan atmosphere betwen Stanford and Gonzaga is shocking. Nothing close to the kennel club at stanford.

Yes this was my first thought as this game kicked off. Incredibly lifeless atmosphere. Also the much better team is BYU...guards, wings, bigs, coaching.

RenoZag
11-11-2013, 08:57 PM
WCC is going to be a slugfest this year

Mantua
11-11-2013, 08:59 PM
I guess Stanford can offer top recruits a lot of PT.

DixieZag
11-11-2013, 09:08 PM
WCC is going to be a slugfest this year

I still think there is a huge range between BYU/GU and all the others. We'll see.

I do think that the middle will be much better. USF/USD/SMC will all be much improved. The at BYU - USD and USf games will all be very tough this year.

MDABE80
11-11-2013, 09:19 PM
BYU will be a very tough out this year. Karno best get his head in the game. Mika looks very very good for a frosh. Surprisingly agressive. Nate Austin we know is trouble and they have 3 good guards. It'll be parity galore. Travis will be ok at Stanford. Boy do they need his help.

GZag
11-11-2013, 09:23 PM
Could very well be. Looks like free throws are going to be important this year :)

Zagdawg
11-11-2013, 09:29 PM
BYU looks impressive --they have a ton of weapons also.

ZagaZags
11-11-2013, 09:35 PM
I wonder if Reid Travis is watching the 24 hour marathon. The GU game had energy and the Stanford has none.

ZagaZags
11-11-2013, 09:36 PM
BYU looks impressive --they have a ton of weapons also.

GU at BYU is going to be tough.

zagamatic
11-11-2013, 09:44 PM
BYU has 81 points with ten minutes to go! I'm happy to see a fellow conference team do well. But, quite frankly, they look built to beat us. Our key to beating them will be Barham, Dranginis and Edwards. We'll need their depth and most specifically their size.

DixieZag
11-11-2013, 09:44 PM
GU at BYU is going to be tough.

BYU is willing to throw down and wrestle if they think it will help them, especially at home. That's not really a put down but if they are out talented, they will make it a dog fight. Their coach is one tough hombre. It seemed to me that they were pretty dirty last year when I saw them live.

Blowing Stanford's doors off on the road is very impressive.

ZagaZags
11-11-2013, 09:47 PM
Has the WCC lost a game yet? Saint Mary's is up next. Damn this is going to be a long night.

SWZag
11-11-2013, 09:57 PM
BYU with 97 points and 4:38 to go!!! Wow. And against Stanford!

SWZag

ZagaZags
11-11-2013, 09:58 PM
BYU with 97 points and 4:38 to go!!! Wow. And against Stanford!

SWZag

Gotta love the Pac 12. ;)

primal23
11-11-2013, 09:59 PM
Not a lot of defense being played but byu looks sharp.

kitzbuel
11-11-2013, 10:13 PM
BYU is willing to throw down and wrestle if they think it will help them, especially at home. That's not really a put down but if they are out talented, they will make it a dog fight. Their coach is one tough hombre. It seemed to me that they were pretty dirty last year when I saw them live.

Blowing Stanford's doors off on the road is very impressive.
Looks like Stanford put their doors back on.

GZag
11-11-2013, 10:21 PM
Looks like Stanford put their doors back on.

Considering the lead loss and the end of the game, the starters still in the game. Not sure it was a well thought out game.

GZag
11-11-2013, 10:23 PM
Got to root for the Toppers here. Love our friend from WKU

Zagdawg
11-11-2013, 10:24 PM
Agree--Hilltoppers are good people.

DixieZag
11-11-2013, 10:24 PM
Got to root for the Toppers here. Love our friend from WKU

I agree. he is a good guy.

plus, they are playing Wichita - plenty of reasons to cheer for the tops

Oregonzagnut
11-11-2013, 10:58 PM
The WCC is the only conference left that is undefeated and everyone has a win!

SWZag
11-11-2013, 11:15 PM
BYU's road win at Stanford puts Gonzaga on alert in the WCC (http://www.cbssports.com/collegebasketball/eye-on-college-basketball/24219972/byus-road-win-at-stanford-puts-gonzaga-on-alert-in-the-wcc)


Over the past two seasons, though, the question with BYU has revolved around its ability to win beat good teams. In 2012, the Cougars went 1-6 against teams ranked in the top 50 at KenPom.com. Last season, BYU lost its seven most difficult games – by an average of 11.3 points per game. Both seasons, they ended up on the bubble, getting a No. 14 seed in 2012 and missing out last season.


But this season just feels different – and Gonzaga is now on alert.

SWZag

ZagaZags
11-12-2013, 12:46 AM
Saint Mary's doesn't need a bigger arena. They can't fill the high school gym they play in now. Embarrassing.

2wiceright
11-12-2013, 12:59 AM
Saint Mary's doesn't need a bigger arena. They can't fill the high school gym they play in now. Embarrassing.

No kidding! The last shot ending the first half putting the Gaels up by 7, the camera panned up above the basket and there was nobody in all the seating in the whole section. You're right Zaga, it seems the couldn't sustain attendance in a facility like ours (except when we play them at their place!).

ZagaZags
11-12-2013, 01:14 AM
Saint Mary's cheerleaders look like they got beaten by the ugly stick while eating 25 Big Macs.

sullyzag66
11-12-2013, 01:27 AM
Saint Mary's doesn't need a bigger arena. They can't fill the high school gym they play in now. Embarrassing.
Well, it is midnight...

ZagaZags
11-12-2013, 01:51 AM
The WCC is now 15-0.

ZagaZags
11-12-2013, 01:54 AM
New Mexico State has some talent. Not sure if I can stay awake for it. Coffee ### is on.

ZagaZags
11-12-2013, 02:09 AM
New Mexico State has some size.

Kevin Aronis G 21 6'3" 185 6/26/1992 Senior Sebastopol, CA
4 Ian Baker G - 6'0" 180 - Freshman Washington, DC
3 Remi Barry F 22 6'8" 225 8/27/1991 Junior Paris,
2 Sim Bhullar C 20 7'5" 360 12/2/1992 Sophomore Toronto, ON
21 Tanveer Bhullar C - 7'3" 335 - Freshman Toronto, ON
20 Matej Buovac F 20 6'7" 220 6/15/1993 Sophomore Zagreb,
25 Renaldo Dixon F 23 6'10" 215 9/20/1990 Senior Toronto, ON
1 DK Eldridge G - 6'2" 180 - Junior Dallas, TX
34 Aaron Kubinski F 19 6'5" 195 6/6/1994 Sophomore Albuquerque, NM
0 Travon Landry G - 6'1" 176 - Freshman San Antonio, TX
23 Daniel Mullings G 22 6'2" 170 7/26/1991 Junior Toronto, ON
15 Tshilidzi Nephawe C 24 6'10" 268 6/10/1989 Junior Johannesburg,
12 K.C. Ross-Miller G 22 6'1" 175 1/4/1991 Junior Grand Prairie, TX

SWZag
11-12-2013, 02:21 AM
New Mexico State has some size.

Kevin Aronis G 21 6'3" 185 6/26/1992 Senior Sebastopol, CA
4 Ian Baker G - 6'0" 180 - Freshman Washington, DC
3 Remi Barry F 22 6'8" 225 8/27/1991 Junior Paris,
2 Sim Bhullar C 20 7'5" 360 12/2/1992 Sophomore Toronto, ON
21 Tanveer Bhullar C - 7'3" 335 - Freshman Toronto, ON
20 Matej Buovac F 20 6'7" 220 6/15/1993 Sophomore Zagreb,
25 Renaldo Dixon F 23 6'10" 215 9/20/1990 Senior Toronto, ON
1 DK Eldridge G - 6'2" 180 - Junior Dallas, TX
34 Aaron Kubinski F 19 6'5" 195 6/6/1994 Sophomore Albuquerque, NM
0 Travon Landry G - 6'1" 176 - Freshman San Antonio, TX
23 Daniel Mullings G 22 6'2" 170 7/26/1991 Junior Toronto, ON
15 Tshilidzi Nephawe C 24 6'10" 268 6/10/1989 Junior Johannesburg,
12 K.C. Ross-Miller G 22 6'1" 175 1/4/1991 Junior Grand Prairie, TX

Only 6 US players....

jazzdelmar
11-12-2013, 03:57 AM
Stanford is mediocre at best. Lucky to best Bucknell at home. I called this one. 😎

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 04:08 AM
Prepared to root against Stanford all college basketball season. 4 months until Stanford misses the NCAA tournament, Johnny Dawkins gets canned, and Reid Travis reopens his recruitment

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 04:14 AM
The WCC is the only conference left that is undefeated and everyone has a win!

Big Ten still without a loss, too

Some good opportunities for them to lose today, however with:

Michigan St vs Kentucky, Wisconsin vs Florida, and maybe little Pitino's Minnesota squad could lose to Montana

bartruff1
11-12-2013, 05:08 AM
Thanks for the schedule...

ZagaZags
11-12-2013, 10:48 AM
West Virginia is up 37-24 over Virginia Tech in the 1st half. I wonder if Josh Perkins will be able to see the WVU vs Gonzaga game live.

Bogozags
11-12-2013, 11:50 AM
BYU will be a very tough out this year. Karno best get his head in the game. Mika looks very very good for a frosh. Surprisingly agressive. Nate Austin we know is trouble and they have 3 good guards. It'll be parity galore. Travis will be ok at Stanford. Boy do they need his help.

MDA you are absolutely correct...BYU is gonna be really tough to beat anywhere...we will have our hands full. I predict Mika will be "Rookie of the Year" and Haws looks better than last year and Carlino won't be allowed to "run so freely" against us...Are we sure Mike Hart can't get another year of eligibility ala Gibbs? I am hoping for tons of snow for both games and maybe they will just have to cancel both and just play the one game in Vegas...yes, I think we can win but, boy, they will be really nasty games...

primal23
11-12-2013, 11:51 AM
West Virginia is up 37-24 over Virginia Tech in the 1st half. I wonder if Josh Perkins will be able to see the WVU vs Gonzaga game live.

WVU shooting 47% from 3...

sittingon50
11-12-2013, 12:47 PM
WV goes down to Va. Tech, which went down to USC Upstate the other day. Another long year for Huggie Bear?

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 01:03 PM
WV goes down to Va. Tech, which went down to USC Upstate the other day. Another long year for Huggie Bear?

lol and shooting 35.7% from the field

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 01:05 PM
Baylor down 39-38 to South Carolina at halftime... at home

They've gone 11 of 20 from the free throw line, though

CarolinaZagFan
11-12-2013, 01:50 PM
Come on Baylor! Up by four with just over 9 mins left.

ZagaZags
11-12-2013, 02:31 PM
Come on Baylor! Up by four with just over 9 mins left.

Baylor wins a close one, 66-64.

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 03:56 PM
Indiana down 36-33 to LIU Brooklyn at halftime... at home

Keep your fingers crossed, for this could be the Big Ten's first loss.

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 03:57 PM
Indiana is shooting 27.5% from the field (11 of 40)... with a 3P% of 6.3% (1 of 16)

wiszag
11-12-2013, 04:37 PM
Go LIU Brooklyn, take down Clappy the Creepy Clown.

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 04:48 PM
Liu brooklyn up 3 with 6 min. Remaining

jazzdelmar
11-12-2013, 04:48 PM
Go LIU Brooklyn, take down Clappy the Creepy Clown.

Amen. Brickman outplaying vastly overrated Ferrell

kitzbuel
11-12-2013, 04:50 PM
I think Izzo might get hit with a moving screen foul if he gets any further out on the court.

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 05:04 PM
Indiana holds on to win after LIU Brooklyn misses on a 3 point attempt at the buzzer

wiszag
11-12-2013, 05:05 PM
Or Clappy the Creepy Clown (Crean). Dang LIU was close.

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 05:06 PM
Michigan State exposes Kentucky's poor fast break defense

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 05:12 PM
Michigan State looks solid in transition and is containing Randle well

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 05:23 PM
Payne is giving Calipari pains. Michigan State looks well-prepared for the NCAA tournament. Kentucky not so much

DixieZag
11-12-2013, 05:49 PM
Everyone should turn it over to ESPN2 and watch the last 9 Minutes of VCU - Virginia

UVA-45
VCU-42

Harris such a stud. The Zag in a different uniform

willandi
11-12-2013, 08:39 PM
Don't know if its part of the marathon, but UCSB is up on UNLV by 20 with 10 minutes left in the game! Lucky that UNLV got all those big names otherwise it might be a blowout! LOL

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 08:41 PM
Big Ten still remains undefeated after today's games

willandi
11-12-2013, 08:53 PM
Isn't the WCC also? if Pacific can hold on?

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 08:59 PM
Pacific up 3 on UC Irvine with 4:30 min remaining

Santa Clara up 19 on San Jose St with 25 min left

DixieZag
11-12-2013, 09:02 PM
Did anyone see the big VCU three ball to win the game?

Tie ball game and a deep three that went in leaving one second on the clock.

Great finish.

sittingon50
11-12-2013, 09:05 PM
Pacific tied, 2:24 to go.

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 09:05 PM
This Duke - Kansas matchup is a game of multiple lead changes.

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 09:07 PM
Pacific has 3 point lead. 0:49 left. Wish I could watch it

SWZag
11-12-2013, 09:08 PM
Pacific up 3 with less than a minute...

Santa Clara up double digits on San Jose State in the first half.

SWZag

UberZagFan
11-12-2013, 09:08 PM
VCU-Virginia was a great game. VCU's Graham had a great game and ice in his veins late. Some really big shots. Amazing how bad both teams shot from the line though. Either one of them shoot decent from the line and the game would not have been close.

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 09:10 PM
Pacific up 6. 32 sec remaining

DixieZag
11-12-2013, 09:13 PM
VCU-Virginia was a great game. VCU's Graham had a great game and ice in his veins late. Some really big shots. Amazing how bad both teams shot from the line though. Either one of them shoot decent from the line and the game would not have been close.

Glad you mentioned that. The score is so low not so much from good defense as abysmal foul shooting and actually quite a few missed bunnies.

It was a very intense game - reminded me of GU-WSU games. The great private school (though much bigger than us 23,000 student total) against a tier one public university not far apart from each other. I really enjoyed it.

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 09:16 PM
Pacific over UC Irvine by 5.

WCC 16-0

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 09:19 PM
Santa Clara holds a 14 point lead on San Jose St at halftime

CDC84
11-12-2013, 09:27 PM
It's going to be very hard for a team outside the major conferences to make the final four this year. The four teams in Chicago are not only overloaded with talent (some of it transcendent talent), but they're also playing remarkably well for this time year....especially when you consider all the roster changeover. These teams are only going to get better and better.

DixieZag
11-12-2013, 09:29 PM
BTW - - Just a correction. I just looked a little bit into VCU (I just was curious, I knew nothing about it) and it is actually a public university.

I guess it would be like a huge EWU-CWU combination. It started as a state medical school and then developed the rest of the system. It is in Richmond.

Probably not that interesting to anyone but I thought it was a small private school until I looked into it.

DixieZag
11-12-2013, 09:32 PM
It's going to be very hard for a team outside the major conferences to make the final four this year. The four teams in Chicago are not only overloaded with talent (some of it transcendent talent), but they're also playing remarkably well for this time year....especially when you consider all the roster changeover. These teams are only going to get better and better.

That is a great point.

Makes last year all the more disappointing. To get to the FF, you not only have to be playing well but if there are 3 or 4 teams that are absolutely loaded, there is just little chance. Kind of like Kentucky 2 years ago - there was never any real chance that they were not going to be national champs

And, you're right. This years crop of elite players at those schools is just eye-popping, it is unusual how many stars there are this year and they all do seems to coagulate in those programs.

DixieZag
11-12-2013, 09:34 PM
How do we feel about the patterned Duke unis?

I kind of like them. I hated the ND - types last year.

SWZag
11-12-2013, 09:51 PM
SCU cruising. Up 15 nearly midway thru the 2nd half.

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 10:09 PM
Was a 20 point game at the 7 min mark. Now san jose st only down by 9 with 5 min left

exclusivelee
11-12-2013, 10:31 PM
Santa Clara over San Jose State 89 - 77

WCC 17-0

ZagaZags
11-12-2013, 10:33 PM
Kansas, Duke Kentucky and MSU, is the answer to, What 4 teams do I not want GU to face in March Madness.
The 24 hour ESPN marathon is sadly over. I always look forward to it. I had red eyes at work today.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAj8jLe_shQ

sittingon50
11-12-2013, 11:25 PM
1st WCC team out of the chute Wed is Portland @ OSU. Could be tough.

DixieZag
11-12-2013, 11:39 PM
SMC has a game against North Dakota State coming up which sounds like a dog except that NDSU is highly rated, favored to win their conference, won 24 games last year and has most everyone back.

It will be a very tough game though not appearing so at first glance.