PDA

View Full Version : Bryan Alberts Commits



exclusivelee
10-28-2013, 06:50 PM
http://i.imgur.com/ba8IYdf.jpg (https://twitter.com/slipperstillfit/status/395019012288937984)

https://twitter.com/slipperstillfit/status/395019012288937984

madness
10-28-2013, 06:56 PM
That escalated quickly!

ZaGranny
10-28-2013, 06:57 PM
Welcome to Gonzaga, Bryan!

ZaGranny

Zag 77
10-28-2013, 06:59 PM
I can't keep track of all these commits. Who is he, what position is he, where does he go to school and what year would he be a freshman at GU?:confused:

exclusivelee
10-28-2013, 07:08 PM
I can't keep track of all these commits. Who is he, what position is he, where does he go to school and what year would he be a freshman at GU?:confused:

6'5 SG/PG from Sun Valley, CA. Plays AAU for BTI Pump N Run and he is a senior at Village Christian. Would be a freshman at Gonzaga in fall 2014

Zagdawg
10-28-2013, 07:16 PM
17.8 pt avg, 3.8 assists 4.7 rbs, 2.2 steals

madness
10-28-2013, 07:20 PM
Welcome Bryan!!! Let's hope Reid joins him and forms the best Zag class ever.

jchocolate99
10-28-2013, 07:23 PM
Welcome Bryan!!! Let's hope Reid joins him and forms the best Zag class ever.

If we only have one scholarship left and supposedly have that Euro big coming did we take ourselves out the Travis Sweepstake?

Mumblingbulldog
10-28-2013, 07:23 PM
Guess we are going with a four guard offense for the next few years.

Zagdawg
10-28-2013, 07:27 PM
Welcome to the Zag family Bryan!!

Next---
If Travis commits --there is a scholly for him----whoever pulls the trigger first gets the scholly.

btzag
10-28-2013, 07:39 PM
Awesome, welcome Bryan!

webspinnre
10-28-2013, 07:42 PM
Welcome to the family, Bryan. We've had good experiences with big guards. How does he compare to a guy like Matt Bouldin?

RRZagFan
10-28-2013, 08:00 PM
I have heard comparisons to Steven Gray.

CDC84
10-28-2013, 08:15 PM
If we only have one scholarship left and supposedly have that Euro big coming did we take ourselves out the Travis Sweepstake?

Any Euro big that Gonzaga gets is likely to sign late. Just like Elias, just like Shem. Very good chance a scholarship opens up after the season. It's just the way it works.

The Zags very, very much want Reid Travis.

jchocolate99
10-28-2013, 08:21 PM
Any Euro big that Gonzaga gets is likely to sign late. Just like Elias, just like Shem. Very good chance a scholarship opens up after the season. It's just the way it works.

The Zags very, very much want Reid Travis.

Just what I needed to read to keep from going over the edge hahaha Man if we get Travis '14 will be a damn good class

Zagdawg
10-28-2013, 08:34 PM
Some info on Bryan.

http://fansided150.com/2012/08/09/basketball-recruiting-bryan-alberts-takes-charge-on-court/

Kiddwell
10-28-2013, 08:36 PM
With his size (6-5) and maybe another inch a'coming, he can slide out to play SF. Of late, Zags have had a HUGE need of a scorer at that position.

Good get. Now let's roll out another red carpet for Reid Travis.


:]

exclusivelee
10-28-2013, 08:45 PM
Meehan chimes in:

http://m.spokesman.com/blogs/sportslink/2013/oct/28/busy-daynight-gu-beat/


Alberts, playing predominately at point guard, averaged 17.8 points, 4.7 rebounds, 3.8 assists and 2.2 steals in 65 games in his sophomore and junior seasons, according to maxpreps.com. He’ll probably play shooting guard or wing for the Bulldogs.

“I think I can handle the ball a little better than most 6-5 players and I think I have a little better shot, too. I really like finding other players, getting them opportunities and trying to create a good environment by being a team leader,” Alberts said. “I can play the ‘1’, ‘2’ or ‘3’.”


click the link to read much more

exclusivelee
10-28-2013, 08:48 PM
Meehan also said that Bryan Alberts had Stanford in his final 2 with Gonzaga, taking official visits to both, along with an official visit to Tulane

Zagdawg
10-28-2013, 08:53 PM
Heres another story where he led his team past Robert Cartwrights team (#95 recruit and Stanford commit) in the state playoffs last year.

http://articles.latimes.com/2013/mar/06/sports/la-sp-village-christian-flintridge-20130307

He's a winner----

Go Zags!

soccerdud
10-28-2013, 09:01 PM
congrats bryan, and welcome.

here's an additional link i found: http://www.inrecruit.com/article/562/california-shooting-guard-bryan-alberts-commits-to-gonzaga

i hope it is wrong about the "severe tendinitis" in his knees. tho i certainly would love another stepp.

exclusivelee
10-28-2013, 09:24 PM
Jerry Meyer ‏@jerrymeyer247
Gonzaga commit Bryan Alberts has been compared to Steven Gray and Trey Kell.
8:51 PM - 28 Oct 13 (https://twitter.com/jerrymeyer247/status/395035079015034881)

Jerry Meyer ‏@jerrymeyer247
Gonzaga might have landed a big sleeper in Bryan Alberts. Injuries. bit.ly/Hn6Omo (http://247sports.com/Player/Bryan-Alberts-22801)
8:43 PM - 28 Oct 13 (https://twitter.com/jerrymeyer247/status/395033197341192192)

exclusivelee
10-28-2013, 09:31 PM
Jerry Meyer ‏@jerrymeyer247
Gonzaga 3 man class ranked No. 28 in #247Composite national team recruiting rankings. http://bit.ly/1cnGoyE (http://gonzaga.247sports.com/Season/2014-Basketball/Commits)
9:00 PM - 28 Oct 13 (https://twitter.com/jerrymeyer247/status/395037417184309248)

San Diego State is sitting at #7 in those rankings, BYU #29:

http://247sports.com/Season/2014-Basketball/CompositeTeamRankings

zag67
10-28-2013, 09:33 PM
Welcome and look forward to seeing you as a Zag. The next few years just keep looking better and better

MickMick
10-28-2013, 09:34 PM
A bird in the hand.

Welcome aboard Bryan.

Stiff competition. You appear to be welcome of the challenge. Earn your playing time and become a star. I like guys that are not afraid of competing for playing time.

Worthington
10-28-2013, 09:39 PM
Great pickup! For those of you wanting a big guard on the team, here you go!

Does make me wonder what Few and company have in mind though, considering Melson and Alberts are both combo guards. I guess just amass the best talent you can and then figure out how to work it all together.

I haven't heard much about what his injury was, but it was serious enough to keep him sidelined for most of last year so I hope it isn't too nagging.

MDABE80
10-28-2013, 09:42 PM
No wonder Few said that GU is fine with guards now and the future...he did say what we know ie we need bigs. I don't think we get Travis. Few will have to figure out the "Big" prblem over the next year. I'd like to see one really good Euro and one killer US kid. We'll see..........I just can't imagine Travis coming here conisering Duke, Stanford and his hometown team are offering him. Hope I'm wrong. Dranginis needs to really get it going this year. He's got gifts we haven't seen yet.

Mumblingbulldog
10-28-2013, 09:54 PM
No wonder Few said that GU is fine with guards now and the future...he did say what we know ie we need bigs. I don't think we get Travis. Few will have to figure out the "Big" prblem over the next year. I'd like to see one really good Euro and one killer US kid. We'll see..........I just can't imagine Travis coming here conisering Duke, Stanford and his hometown team are offering him. Hope I'm wrong. Dranginis needs to really get it going this year. He's got gifts we haven't seen yet.

Only one open scholarship open though so one euro and one us kid wont happen, unless we see a transfer which is bound to happen with this many guards coming in

sittingon50
10-28-2013, 10:03 PM
Welcome Bryan. You're gonna' love the GU experience.

ZagaZags
10-28-2013, 10:04 PM
Dorian Pickens must be shaking his head tonight. Need to recruit other positions? GU must have Alberts rated higher over Pickens.

Kiddwell
10-28-2013, 10:04 PM
Bryan Alberts seems a likely redshirt candidate, IMO. So when Pangos and Bell are signing off their terrific careers in their senior year, Bryan will be learning the GU system, getting stronger, taller (maybe), etc. So this fan doesn't see a logjam for him. His signing seems timely. If he does, in fact, grow an inch, Bryan may very well lock down the 3 position for three or four years. We need a scorer at the wing. Methinks this kid's it.

:]

MDABE80
10-28-2013, 10:05 PM
Only one open scholarship open though so one euro and one us kid wont happen, unless we see a transfer which is bound to happen with this many guards coming in

Brilliant.....you just solved the problem.
Meanwhile welcome aboard to Mr Alberts!

cggonzaga
10-28-2013, 10:42 PM
Man if we get Travis '14 will be a damn good class

This is already a great class. I would say at least top 3 of all time at GU. I don't remember ever having this good a group of guards that seems to me gives us a starting 1-3 by 2015. Alberts is a big time sleeper. Can score in various ways, good to great athlete and can defend. Obviously rounding it out with Travis gives us a top 10 national recruiting class. Even without Travis but ultimately ending up with Sabonis I'm thinking we've had an incredible 2014 class.

MJGoGaels
10-28-2013, 10:49 PM
http://touch.latimes.com/#section/-1/article/p2p-77966018/
Good get.

SWZag
10-28-2013, 10:53 PM
Excellent!!! Welcome Bryan!

SWZag

cggonzaga
10-28-2013, 11:05 PM
Bottom line:
Alberts is an intriguing talent. He has an innate scorer who can get his own shot at any time. With maturity and experience his game should continue to evolve. As his fundamentals (jump stop) and overall skills continue to get better, he has a chance to be an elite shooting guard prospect

Especially love the last line from ESPN although I don't think they saw him a lot over the summer.

Ekrub
10-28-2013, 11:11 PM
Man do we need bigs. We will have 7 guards next year, Pangos, Bell, Coleman, Dranginis, Alberts, Perkins, and Melson. Our Bigs will be Nunez, Karnowski, Edwards, and Miekle. Definitely a Need a few talented bigs for 2015 and beyond

ZagaZags
10-28-2013, 11:18 PM
Man do we need bigs. We will have 7 guards next year, Pangos, Bell, Coleman, Dranginis, Alberts, Perkins, and Melson. Our Bigs will be Nunez, Karnowski, Edwards, and Miekle. Definitely a Need a few talented bigs for 2015 and beyond

You forgot Wiltjer.

cggonzaga
10-28-2013, 11:24 PM
And from the sounds of things Sabonis. Also don't forget to include Griffen with the guards.

Mumblingbulldog
10-29-2013, 01:07 AM
Man do we need bigs. We will have 7 guards next year, Pangos, Bell, Coleman, Dranginis, Alberts, Perkins, and Melson. Our Bigs will be Nunez, Karnowski, Edwards, and Miekle. Definitely a Need a few talented bigs for 2015 and beyond

Thought Nunez was going to be playing the three

CanadianZagFan
10-29-2013, 03:31 AM
This kid seems like a great pick up, a 4 year guard with great size and the ability to play multiple positions. Sounds good to me.

ZagsObserver
10-29-2013, 05:41 AM
Dorian Pickens must be shaking his head tonight. Need to recruit other positions? GU must have Alberts rated higher over Pickens.

Yep, and they are just about the only ones who had him above Pickens...

Birddog
10-29-2013, 05:47 AM
Yep, and they are just about the only ones who had him above Pickens...

I suspect that there is just a little more to it than that, but that's just me.

jazzdelmar
10-29-2013, 05:59 AM
I suspect that there is just a little more to it than that, but that's just me.

BD, one would hope.......

GoZags
10-29-2013, 06:08 AM
Yep, and they are just about the only ones who had him above Pickens...

It is my belief that you have no way of knowing that ...... at all.

Or are you in "off the record" communication with college coaches throughout the West and around the Country? (i.e. college coaches who aren't allowed to comment on PSAs).

Please elaborate on how you know what you've written.

In the meantime, welcome to the Gonzaga family, Bryan.

bigblahla
10-29-2013, 06:35 AM
Blake Stepp had knee issues but was and still is a great Zag hope the same for Alberts. Future guards are bigger so logic says perimeter defense should be better.

Go!! Zags!!!

cjm720
10-29-2013, 07:03 AM
Welcome to the family!

75Zag
10-29-2013, 07:14 AM
Alberts is a point guard not a shooting guard or a combo guard. His AAU team BTI Pump n Run is a highly respected CA program. Luke Walton and other folks have come out of there. Some might say they are a "factory" for future NBA players, which is ok with me. I am excited to have him coming to GU although I am a bit curious about how roster spots will shake out going forward.

http://www.btihoops.com/bti-prospects/2014

Go Bulldogs!

DixieZag
10-29-2013, 07:16 AM
Maybe fewer bigs than ideal but one whole lot of athletes coming in.

Nice choice Bryan - welcome.

Kiddwell
10-29-2013, 07:26 AM
Man do we need bigs. We will have 7 guards next year, Pangos, Bell, Coleman, Dranginis, Alberts, Perkins, and Melson. Our Bigs will be Nunez, Karnowski, Edwards, and Miekle. Definitely a Need a few talented bigs for 2015 and beyond

Add Wilter. Plus, this fan really believes Sabonis is in the fold and so might be another European. Hope so, anyway.


:]

omahazag
10-29-2013, 08:13 AM
Welcome, Bryan. Think he will impress.

ZagZombie
10-29-2013, 08:16 AM
Can someone give me a reasonable explanation why we turned Pickens away for this guy?

sittingon50
10-29-2013, 08:34 AM
Fit?

exclusivelee
10-29-2013, 08:36 AM
Can someone give me a reasonable explanation why we turned Pickens away for this guy?
The coaching staff may have Bryan Alberts higher in their rankings than Dorian Pickens and maybe he's a better fit for the style in which the Zags play

Ekrub
10-29-2013, 09:14 AM
You forgot Wiltjer.

Knew I was forgetting someone.

And isn't Nunez 6'7"? With Barham playing back up "4", I'm sure that when Nunez comes in we will see him take over that spot. I could be wrong.

Chicken Ball
10-29-2013, 09:40 AM
Upside. Alberts has great size and strength and some rare ball skills for a 6'5" player. He doesn't have the one elite skill that Pickens has (shooting the ball), but it looks to me like Alberts has the higher ceiling, especially when you consider Alberts has been somewhat hampered by injuries.

Hoopaholic
10-29-2013, 10:00 AM
Welcome Mr Alberts......look forward to watching you play

Kiddwell
10-29-2013, 11:35 AM
Can someone give me a reasonable explanation why we turned Pickens away for this guy?

It isn't certain that Pickens was a slam dunk. Pickens may very well have chosen a different school whether or not Few & Co. stuck with him to the end. By Bryan Alberts' visit then quick verbal shortly thereafter, looks like his interested in the Zags was higher. A safer bet.

Maybe.


:]

GUZag08
10-29-2013, 11:36 AM
Couldn't the staff see that Pickens was TWO stars better than this guy! Two stars!

The star system is fool proof!

stevet75
10-29-2013, 11:39 AM
I'm thrilled to have Bryan a Zag!

GUZag08
10-29-2013, 11:46 AM
in all seriousness though I like the Alberts pick up. Think him and Melson are two solid under the radar players

Reborn
10-29-2013, 01:16 PM
Albert's is tough, and he's a winner. As I've said before, this is a good "get" by GU. And welcome to GU Bryan. I am really looking forward to seeing you in a Gonzaga uniform. You will add alot to the team.

jazzdelmar
10-29-2013, 01:18 PM
Couldn't the staff see that Pickens was TWO stars better than this guy! Two stars!

The star system is fool proof!


It's not infallible, 08, but it doesn't mean nothing.

ZagsGoZags
10-29-2013, 01:24 PM
Rivals has him as a 2-star

http://sports.yahoo.com/ncaa/basketball/recruiting/player-Bryan-Alberts-142974

josh perkins 5 star

Goshzagit
10-29-2013, 01:26 PM
in all seriousness though I like the Alberts pick up. Think him and Melson are two solid under the radar players

+ 1

If either player were just a tad bit better shooters from distance, they'd be considered 4-star prospects, hands down.

Alberts and Melson are elite scorers in their own right and considered very good slashers to the hoop and play-makers. However, they are sub-40% 3pt shooters at their respective positions and the HS level, which translates into around 30% shooters at next level. Keep in mind, players such as Pangos, Bell Jr, Dranginis were all 50+% 3pt shooters in the senior seasons, which is not uncommon for tremendous shooters.

That said, I like the fact Alberts and Melson are ballers and can create their OWN shot; each are considered one of the best scorers at their position(s), PG/SG (although Bryan translates to more a wing in college).

They really need to improve their shooting ability from downtown and Gonzaga is the place to do it.

You are right, their natural attributes are highly underrated, yet all 3 recruiting services tab both of them as having "high ceilings and not quite reached their potential". I love that about both of them.

Good gets all the way around.

jazzdelmar
10-29-2013, 01:35 PM
You are right, their natural attributes are highly underrated, yet all 3 recruiting services tab both of them as having "high ceilings and not quite reached their potential". I love that about both of them.

Why isn't the defending #1 team in the USA signing 4 and even 5 star kids with "high ceilings?"...as I assume Perkins is being touted.

vandalzag
10-29-2013, 01:54 PM
You are right, their natural attributes are highly underrated, yet all 3 recruiting services tab both of them as having "high ceilings and not quite reached their potential". I love that about both of them.

Why isn't the defending #1 team in the USA signing 4 and even 5 star kids with "high ceilings?"...as I assume Perkins is being touted.

Because if they were doing that you would have nothing to ##### and moan about and then what would you do with your free time?

Zagdawg
10-29-2013, 02:08 PM
No worries about Jazz I am confident that he could find something. ;)

Tempering the optimism as we are welcoming the new guy.

Every board has one.


Go Zags

cjm720
10-29-2013, 02:08 PM
You are right, their natural attributes are highly underrated, yet all 3 recruiting services tab both of them as having "high ceilings and not quite reached their potential". I love that about both of them.

Why isn't the defending #1 team in the USA signing 4 and even 5 star kids with "high ceilings?"...as I assume Perkins is being touted.

Me and others have posited why. What's your answer?

maynard g krebs
10-29-2013, 02:09 PM
Pangos, Bell Jr, Dranginis were all 50+% 3pt shooters in the senior seasons, which is not uncommon for tremendous shooters.



I followed Bell's senior year closely, and he was around 44-45% for the year. He did shoot almost 50% after January began, but was in the mid 30's before the new year began.

GUZag08
10-29-2013, 02:16 PM
Why isn't the defending #1 team in the USA signing 4 and even 5 star kids with "high ceilings?"...as I assume Perkins is being touted.

According to the final USA Today Coaches poll of last year we are the defending #12 team in the USA.

maynard g krebs
10-29-2013, 02:18 PM
[I]

Why isn't the defending #1 team in the USA signing 4 and even 5 star kids with "high ceilings?"

Louisville's 3 signees according to Scout are all 4 stars, so apparently they are. Though I suppose one could complain that the national champs can't get a 5 star.

jazzdelmar
10-29-2013, 02:27 PM
Because if they were doing that you would have nothing to ##### and moan about and then what would you do with your free time?

Ah, the rock turns over and there you are

bigblahla
10-29-2013, 02:38 PM
[Why isn't the defending #1 team in the USA signing 4 and even 5 star kids with "high ceilings?"...as I assume Perkins is being touted.

Seems Alberts was Coach's choice from the beginning. Prime example of nobody on this board really knowing anything about recruiting, myself included.

I think he reminds coach of both Stepp and Gray and Few's love of Stepp is unending. If he is another Stepp we are all in for a treat if not then it's a case of tunnel vision, time will tell. I do worry about the reported chronic tendinitis in his knees but the kid sounds like a tough SOB. I believe Mark Few has a system and a plan and he recruits who he thinks best fits his system to help his plan succeed. Lucky for us he's right more than wrong.

Just my opinion.

Go!! Zags!!!

sonuvazag
10-29-2013, 02:41 PM
So for those who think Alberts over Pickens was Few's decision and are being critical about it, why is that you don't suspect there's a good reason for it.

sittingon50
10-29-2013, 02:43 PM
In the words of Rodney King (who was also an L.A. product)

"Can't we all just go out for tacos?"

bigblahla
10-29-2013, 02:47 PM
In the words of Rodney King (who was also an L.A. product)

"Can't we all just go out for tacos?"

Are you finally going to break that $50 bill Angelo says you've been sitting on and treat? :)

Go!! Zags!!!

75Zag
10-29-2013, 04:17 PM
In the words of Rodney King (who was also an L.A. product)

"Can't we all just go out for tacos?"

A looooooong time ago, I made quite a bit of money selling T shirts which said "L.A.P.D. - We will treat you like a King"

Ahhh, the good old days. Now get off my lawn. And back to GU basketball.

Go Bulldogs!

GoZags
10-29-2013, 05:39 PM
Are you finally going to break that $50 bill Angelo says you've been sitting on and treat? :)

Go!! Zags!!!

Hey .... don't give my buddy fiddy a hard time about the dust that's collecting on the bill in his wallet. Never mind .... have at it.

Vanzagger
10-29-2013, 08:22 PM
75 you da man. Where is 79 I always look forward to his insight. I remember seeing video of Bryan and really wanting to land him. Perkins and Melson too. Trifecta!!! As always....nice job coaching staff. Ryan and Lucas just got an extra dunk per game.

Yes Gonzaga. The original Dunkyouverymuch

BMAN
10-30-2013, 07:00 AM
Everyone assumes that Pickens is a better 3pt shooter than Alberts. Their 3 pt percentage for last year are very similar. Pickens was 36% and Alberts 34%. Alberts is a more physical player and probably better suited to play the 3 spot where Pickens is a 2 guard.

Goshzagit
10-30-2013, 07:17 AM
As I've mentioned, I like this pick-up. Alberts is a work in progress in regards to shooting, yet features all the tools and natural attributes to mold into a great prospect/player. A very underrated player who is solid on and off the court.

My only concern is the fact he's had chronic knee issues. And not just ONE knee, yet in BOTH knees. Bilateral tendonitis in his knees.

This could be a long-term degenerative issue or simply growing pains, sincerely hope its the latter. Some bball players can miss an entire season due to knee tendonitis, other can play through it. Hope its nothing major, yet considering this effects both, instead of one, is definitely a slight cause for concern.

This wasn't a freak knee injury, such as our very own Connor Griffin blowing out his one knee, forcing him to forgo his Junior season, and fully recovering, yet more a long-term issue with Alberts; although, he's been known to play through the pain...

Will be interesting to monitor this season. Has his knees recovered? Will they?

Reborn
10-30-2013, 07:23 AM
There is a heck of a lot more to playing basketball at Gonzaga U then the number of stars behind your name. There's a lot of criticism of Mark Few and his staff for how they have recruited this year, and unfortunately their judgement is based solely on the number of stars. I guess the rating services know more about a basketball player, and how they will play in college then college coaches. I wonder who gets paid more. I am disappointed in those who have spewed their negativity on this thread which should have been dedicated to welcoming a new recruit. In the past when a player would announce his commitment to play at Gonzaga, everyone would welcome him. This has been a very different year. Some of you seem to be to be spoiled brats. If the coaches don't sign who YOU think they should, you get very upset. Some of you really do do think you know alot more than 5% about what is going on about recruiting. I have liked everything that has been written about Alberts by the media sports writers who see him play. And I think he's really good.

DixieZag
10-30-2013, 07:32 AM
Nice job Reborn.

Goshzagit
10-30-2013, 07:48 AM
People want to know the difference between Dorian Pickens and Bryan Alberts.

One word: versatility.

Pickens and Albert are nearly identical in size, both are 6'4"-6'5", 190lbs, although Alberts looks to feature a thicker frame with more room for muscle compared to Pickens.

That said, Pickens is listed as a SF, while Alberts is listed as a 6'5" PG.

No doubting Pickens is a smooth operator, good shooter, can pass, and score in space and very good for his position; however, his ball-handling and explosiveness isn't at Alberts level and is most definitely -- and only -- a wing at the NCAA level.

While we most likely project Alberts a SF/wing for us as well, he's the starting PG on his HS team. He said so himself, "I can play the 1, 2, or 3 if necessary." Pickens the 2 and mostly the 3.

Alberts first step quickness, tight ball-handling, and versatility to play all 3 positions is the difference. This may not be the reason the staff chose him, but its a fact he's simply more versatile of a player than Pickens, plain and simple. (maybe better overall too, who knows).

SteelCityZag
10-30-2013, 08:53 AM
There is a heck of a lot more to playing basketball at Gonzaga U then the number of stars behind your name. There's a lot of criticism of Mark Few and his staff for how they have recruited this year, and unfortunately their judgement is based solely on the number of stars. I guess the rating services know more about a basketball player, and how they will play in college then college coaches. I wonder who gets paid more. I am disappointed in those who have spewed their negativity on this thread which should have been dedicated to welcoming a new recruit. In the past when a player would announce his commitment to play at Gonzaga, everyone would welcome him. This has been a very different year. Some of you seem to be to be spoiled brats. If the coaches don't sign who YOU think they should, you get very upset. Some of you really do do think you know alot more than 5% about what is going on about recruiting. I have liked everything that has been written about Alberts by the media sports writers who see him play. And I think he's really good.

Amen. Welcome Mr. Alberts. We're really looking foward to seeing you play, and are very happy you're a Zag.

When it comes to recruiting, this has been a unique scenario for the Zags. Not often has a player who is rated higher than the one we want been the one spurned. Historically, the player with more stars chooses another school and we're left questioning who walked away from whom. This, however, is a clear case of the coaches making a choice.

Though not infallible, I'll trust coach on this one, thank you very much. Again, welcome Bryan to Zag Nation!

Zagdawg
10-30-2013, 09:04 AM
Well said Reborn.


Go Zags!

Zippyzaggy
10-30-2013, 09:09 AM
A bushel of mighty fine schools either offered, or were showing interest in Alberts, see here: http://247sports.com/Recruitment/Bryan-Alberts-23711/RecruitInterests

Feels nice to beat out Stanford and UW, among others.

WELCOME BRYAN!!

Mr Vulture
10-30-2013, 09:34 AM
Alberts can play and I trust the staff. The GU offense is not simplistic so having guys that are interchangeable and have ball skills (meaning handle/passing) as well as good basketball IQ is important. In all likelihood, his star ranking is reflective of the knee issues he's had more than purely based on skill. I look forward to Bryan helping us win games down the road!

cjm720
10-30-2013, 10:00 AM
Love the fact that Alberts has been on the recruiting radar for what seems like 4-5 years....glad staff stayed with him and glad he's headed to Spokane. Love the one that loves you - J. Perkins quote (might not be exact).

Zippyzaggy
10-30-2013, 10:56 AM
Not sure where to add this but since it appears GU has opted for Alberts over Malik Pope and others, Pickens, Trey Kell? et all, It seemed appropriate to once and for all clear the air that Pope did NOT choose SDSU over GU. GU backed off. Some still do not believe this. Here, Pope answers a question that should end any and all speculation as to who backed off: http://247sports.com/Recruitment/Bryan-Alberts-23711/RecruitInterests

The Question- Malik, why didn't you make that scheduled visit to Gonzaga? Did they come in second or third to SDSU and/or Kansas? Or, did they back off? Please let us know...it's killing us, Zag fans wanted you SOOOO BAD!! In any event, wish you massive success! Just bummed out big time tho.

The Answer from Pope- "They backed off!"


AND...

The Question- You say "something happened" with you & Gonzaga....can you tell us what? Or give us a clue? Did they back off? Why? :-)

The Answer from Malik Pope- "Yes they did . Idk why ."

Thread hijack over.....back to Alberts.

TheGonzagaFactor
10-30-2013, 11:10 AM
You are right, their natural attributes are highly underrated, yet all 3 recruiting services tab both of them as having "high ceilings and not quite reached their potential". I love that about both of them.

Why isn't the defending #1 team in the USA signing 4 and even 5 star kids with "high ceilings?"...as I assume Perkins is being touted.

I am pretty sure Louisville has an elite class of 4/5 stars coming in.

Zagdawg
10-30-2013, 11:17 AM
qty 3-- 4 stars per ESPN # 31, 57 and 74th ranked recruits.

scott257
10-30-2013, 11:45 AM
I don't remember, how many stars did Kelly have when he committed to Gonzaga?

webspinnre
10-30-2013, 11:54 AM
I don't remember, how many stars did Kelly have when he committed to Gonzaga?

ESPN doesn't show stars from back then, but he was just outside the top 100 (#25 SF, and the #23 SF was #96 overall).

edit: He wasn't even listed by Rivals or Scout, so no idea there. Rivals had Manny as a 4 star, as some indication of how sometimes star ratings don't always work out.

Kiddwell
10-30-2013, 12:04 PM
According to Zippy's link (above), five PAC-12 schools offered Byran, with three others showing interest. Wisconsin and Oklahoma also offered. If that's accurate, looks like we got a well sought-after player. Me happy.


:]

jazzdelmar
10-30-2013, 04:39 PM
A bushel of mighty fine schools either offered, or were showing interest in Alberts, see here: http://247sports.com/Recruitment/Bryan-Alberts-23711/RecruitInterests

Feels nice to beat out Stanford and UW, among others.

WELCOME BRYAN!!

Hold on, you (not you, Zip, but the thread per se) castigate recruiting sites and their star systems and then hold up a site that says he was much sought after as proof he's a good one. Can't have it both ways, gents.

GonzaGAW
10-30-2013, 06:34 PM
first let me say, welcome aboard bryan, glad you choose Gonzaga, hope you love your time here and have a great career.
next put me in the I think the coaches know what they are doing camp. as mentioned before, all write ups on the young man are good, with good potential of being an elite player. plus rather than look at stars behind your name, I like to look at who has shown interest and who has offered a player. this young man has had lots of attention and offers from major universities. alberts is not just a mid major prospect. I say this is a good get.

sonuvazag
10-30-2013, 08:11 PM
Hold on, you (not you, Zip, but the thread per se) castigate recruiting sites and their star systems and then hold up a site that says he was much sought after as proof he's a good one. Can't have it both ways, gents.
I'm confused. It seems you're saying that recruiting site rankings are a reflection of how highly sought after a recruit is. Or more simply, the recruiting sites rate players higher when top schools show interest.

So, by choosing Alberts, Few validates him as a prized recruit? Few is one of last year's AP #1 coaches right?

Or are the star-ratings independent of coaches' evaluations and therefore not the same thing?

ZagsObserver
10-30-2013, 08:21 PM
I'm confused. It seems you're saying that recruiting site rankings are a reflection of how highly sought after a recruit is. Or more simply, the recruiting sites rate players higher when top schools show interest.

So, by choosing Alberts, Few validates him as a prized recruit? Few is one of last year's AP #1 coaches right?

Or are the star-ratings independent of coaches' evaluations and therefore not the same thing?

Recruiting site rankings are by no means infallible. There is, however, a correlation between stars and future success. Explained in the extreme to convey a point, you'll find far 1-2 stars fail than you will 4 and 5 star recruits as a percentage of their respective grouping. As to whether this pick makes sense for GU, we'll have ample opportunities to find out in the years to come. Until then, welcome aboard Mr. Alberts, excited to see your talents displayed to us mere observers!

sonuvazag
10-30-2013, 08:21 PM
I suppose the star system and school list might help a college coach narrow down a list target, but after that the coach would gather more detailed information and always go with the player that scores higher in more extensive evaluations.

It's an assumption that if Few is flat-out choosing Alberts over players with higher star-ratings, he is doing so because of more substantial evaluations. Are those of you who question this decision thinking it was done of a whim?

sonuvazag
10-30-2013, 08:29 PM
Recruiting site rankings are by no means infallible. There is, however, a correlation between stars and future success. Explained in the extreme to convey a point, you'll find far 1-2 stars fail than you will 4 and 5 star recruits as a percentage of their respective grouping. As to whether this pick makes sense for GU, we'll have ample opportunities to find out in the years to come. Until then, welcome aboard Mr. Alberts, excited to see your talents displayed to us mere observers!
I wouldn't argue with the point. I doubt Few would either. If Few and GU staff didn't do their homework they probably would go with the higher-rated player right?

The only explanation of why a coach would go with a lower-rated player is he has information that is not available to the recruiting sites.

So many questioning Few's decision as if he doesn't know which is greater between 2 and 4.

What do you think his thought process was. He picked the 2-star player cause he likes to live dangerously? Cause he likes a challenge? Cause he doesn't want the player that is best for his program?

ZagaZags
10-30-2013, 10:35 PM
I think Bryan Alberts will be a fine Zag. We do need to get bigs for 2014. I will say that I am very pleased with what I saw from Ryan Edwards in the one game I saw. He is farther along than I expected.
As it stands we have at the 4 and 5 positions next season.
1. Wiltjer
2. Karnowski
3. Meikle
4. Edwards

* Nunez is not a power forward. He is a tall SF like Pope.

ZagaZags
11-05-2013, 10:13 PM
Story on Bryan Alberts. http://www.inrecruit.com/article/562/california-shooting-guard-bryan-alberts-commits-to-gonzaga

Zagger
11-06-2013, 02:49 AM
Good read - Thanks! Looks like the Zags will be a solid team for the foreseeable future. Can't wait for Saturday's game.

hooter73
11-06-2013, 08:17 AM
I like hearing about him but that was a crap hit and run article. Talking about Alberts as a solid two guard, like Stephen Gray, then switching to calling them both point guards and saying he will have to play point at GU, who will have Perkins at the same time... but I do like hearing updates and agree that the all important star ranking is down because of his injuries. OF course true to history, as soon as a recruit commits to GU their ranking goes down anyway so what does it matter?

cjm720
11-06-2013, 09:27 AM
Good article, thanks for posting. Sounds like a tough player....staff has been on him for years and they got him. Good get assuming he can stay healthy. We're set at the guard position for 2014 that's for sure...

exclusivelee
01-29-2014, 11:36 AM
Slipper Still Fits ‏@slipperstillfit
Per @latsondheimer, 2014 #Gonzaga commit Bryan Alberts will return from injury on Tuesday. It will be his first action of the season.
https://twitter.com/slipperstillfit/status/428626856024088576

eric sondheimer ‏@latsondheimer
Bryan Alberts of Village Christian is set to return to the court on Tuesday. He hasn't played this season. Injury.
https://twitter.com/latsondheimer/status/428621465341001728

exclusivelee
05-24-2014, 05:35 PM
Bryan Alberts looking to posterize his opposition next season:

Bryan Alberts @bryan_a_alberts
I'm telling y'all right now, next year don't jump because you'll just end up a highlight
https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/status/470366655961239552

cggonzaga
05-24-2014, 07:07 PM
Kid has sick hops. Sounds like a redshirt isn't in the cards.

exclusivelee
05-25-2014, 12:11 PM
Bryan Alberts looking to posterize his opposition next season:

Bryan Alberts @bryan_a_alberts
I'm telling y'all right now, next year don't jump because you'll just end up a highlight
https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/status/470366655961239552

After the above comment, someone asked about his health:


Mark Reynolds ‏@CanEyeBall
@bryan_a_alberts That's what I like to hear! Feeling 100%?
https://twitter.com/CanEyeBall/status/470417739417280512

Bryan Alberts ‏@bryan_a_alberts
@CanEyeBall the closest thing to it
https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/status/470486312181833728

Alberts asked for input on his what his Gonzaga jersey number should be, and he chose #10


Bryan Alberts @bryan_a_alberts
I need help picking my number for Gonzaga!!!! Hit me up pleazzeee!! Taking all suggestion!!
https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/status/463474932240773120

Bryan Alberts @bryan_a_alberts
#10
https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/status/463532861186789376

Stepp, Gibbs, Arop, Edi include some of the recent Zags wearing such jersey number

hooter73
05-27-2014, 07:49 AM
lets maybe just keep it to "Stepp had that number" lol ;)

WallaWallaZag
05-27-2014, 08:04 AM
lets maybe just keep it to "Stepp had that number" lol ;)

dunno about that either...stepp had a lot of issues with his knees as well...bad karma

hooter73
05-27-2014, 09:54 AM
ooo good point. DOOMED

exclusivelee
06-10-2014, 01:59 PM
Gonzaga Basketball ‏@ZagMBB
Introducing 2014-2015 newcomer Bryan Alberts. @bryan_a_alberts will wear #10 for the Zags this season. pic.twitter.com/RIjrkuJ7Wk
https://twitter.com/ZagMBB/status/476399078805209089

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BpyCcBwCcAAt8lr.jpg (https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BpyCcBwCcAAt8lr.jpg)

Bryan Alberts will wear the #10 jersey, as noted before:


Alberts asked for input on his what his Gonzaga jersey number should be, and he chose #10

Stepp, Gibbs, Arop, Edi include some of the recent Zags wearing such jersey number


Bryan Alberts @bryan_a_alberts
I need help picking my number for Gonzaga!!!! Hit me up pleazzeee!! Taking all suggestion!!
https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/...74932240773120

Bryan Alberts @bryan_a_alberts
#10
https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/...32861186789376

exclusivelee
06-26-2014, 08:57 PM
Bryan Alberts on his way to GU!


Bryan Alberts @bryan_a_alberts (https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts)5:23pm · 26 Jun 2014 (https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/status/482318149560172544)
Road trip to Gonzaga #zagup (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23zagup) pic.twitter.com/Dy3DN8DS9C (http://t.co/Dy3DN8DS9C)
https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/status/482318149560172544https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BrGJzNwCUAAloZw.jpg:small

Hoopaholic
06-27-2014, 03:33 AM
Mr Alberts is one of the most intriguing recruits we have had in a while IMO.......under the radar but I personally think he is going to shock many people

bigblahla
06-27-2014, 05:36 AM
Mr Alberts is one of the most intriguing recruits we have had in a while IMO.......under the radar but I personally think he is going to shock many people

How so? Better than expected? Expectations aside I think Coach sees some Blake Stepp in Alberts.

Go!! Zags!!!

Hoopaholic
06-27-2014, 06:32 AM
How so? Better than expected? Expectations aside I think Coach sees some Blake Stepp in Alberts.

Go!! Zags!!!

I just get the sense that many on the board have not fully comprehended what this young mans skill set and potential impact could be for this year and future years

Reborn
06-27-2014, 06:55 AM
I just get the sense that many on the board have not fully comprehended what this young mans skill set and potential impact could be for this year and future years

Gonzaga has had an excellent recruiting class, as we all know. We will now wait to see who rises to the top once practices, and games, start
next fall. You are probably right about Alberts, but honestly, for me I've always felt he has as good of a chance of becoming a star as anyone. The competition next fall is going to be intense, and that's a promise. IMO, Gonzaga has never had a team with this much talent on it. These players should give Few some options that he's never had before. Alberts is certainly among those who have a chance to get playing time, but he, like everyone else, will have to earn it. I am really excited, and can hardly wait for November.

exclusivelee
06-28-2014, 12:05 PM
Alberts has arrived at Gonzaga!


Bryan Alberts (https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts)@bryan_a_alberts (https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts) 11:54am · 28 Jun 2014 (https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/status/482960231853334528)
We made it pic.twitter.com/y6OHOVHXQ0 (http://t.co/y6OHOVHXQ0)
https://twitter.com/bryan_a_alberts/status/482960231853334528https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BrPRxXKCQAAxXmC.jpg:small

hooter73
06-28-2014, 01:07 PM
He's as underrated as Kyle d was. Kyle being the big fish in the little pond most looked past also because of the others he came in with. Same thing with Alberts.

exclusivelee
06-28-2014, 01:25 PM
via instagram:


Bryan Anton Alberts @bryan_a_alberts (http://instagram.com/bryan_a_alberts) 27 minutes ago · Gonzaga University
It starts now #ZAGUP
http://instagram.com/p/pzVB7oOLyn/
http://photos-c.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xpa1/926485_848218601874698_1093030645_n.jpg

strikenowhere
06-28-2014, 05:57 PM
via instagram:

Does anyone know what the list is in the locker in that pic? Is that a list of former players that wore that number?

zag67
06-28-2014, 07:43 PM
Welcome and hope you are recovering quickly. Looking forward to seeing you on the court.

MTZag03
06-28-2014, 08:59 PM
I like Bryan already. I hope he busts his tail and makes an impact this year.

exclusivelee
07-12-2014, 11:18 PM
Alberts with some new ink


Bryan Alberts @bryan_a_alberts (http://instagram.com/bryan_a_alberts) 2 hours ago
Silverwood and tattoos
http://instagram.com/p/qYK7O9OL29/
http://photos-d.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xpa1/10467788_265903840280611_1754758184_n.jpg

Christo @cmike131 (http://instagram.com/cmike131) 7 hours ago
Tatted up. College changed me for real. @bryan_a_alberts (http://instagram.com/bryan_a_alberts)
http://instagram.com/p/qXvxD6Bnsr
http://photos-d.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xfp1/10547083_616493798448043_2146721320_n.jpg

exclusivelee
07-12-2014, 11:59 PM
Instgram video of the fun night of Wiltjer, Melson, Alberts, & Perkins: (click link to watch)

http://videos-h-19.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xaf1/10554738_1450466508539679_3291962_n.mp4


Kyle Wiltjer @kwiltj (http://instagram.com/kwiltj) 21 minutes ago
Hold up, hold up. This is what we do on Saturday nights... @joshperk13 (http://instagram.com/joshperk13) @kampaignsilas (http://instagram.com/kampaignsilas) @bryan_a_alberts (http://instagram.com/bryan_a_alberts) #wedemboyz
http://instagram.com/p/qYgPKLgkll/
http://photos-a.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xpa1/10540498_652924791464080_83938310_n.jpg

MDABE80
07-13-2014, 01:03 AM
Congrats to the kids. It's Saturday nights working your game that makes a huge different come March......or anytime.

Baseline
07-13-2014, 12:56 PM
Every one of them looks in great shape. Travis will have a great starting point with this crew. I wonder how many takes?

Once and Future Zag
07-13-2014, 02:25 PM
Is that little patch on Alberts abs in all the shirtless picks for an insulin pump?

raise the zag
07-13-2014, 02:51 PM
Is that little patch on Alberts abs in all the shirtless picks for an insulin pump?

Yes.

That is absolutely, 100%, no question, an insulin pump pictured on Bryan Alberts. I see one everyday.

Interesting. Unexpected.

I was well aware of his chronic knee issues, yet had no clue required monitored & sustained insulin injections.

Maybe there is/was more the story explaining why he missed significant playing time the last 2 seasons.

Much to learn. I hope he's OK & under the best care. Being a D1 athlete & dealing with some sort of insulin deficient condition is rare, but it's been done before.

tyra
07-13-2014, 03:48 PM
"Being a D1 athlete & dealing with some sort of insulin deficient condition is rare, but it's been done before."

Anyone in particular come to mind? :-)

Once and Future Zag
07-13-2014, 06:07 PM
Yes.

That is absolutely, 100%, no question, an insulin pump pictured on Bryan Alberts. I see one everyday.


Thought so - I just hadn't seen it mentioned in any of his articles.

exclusivelee
07-15-2014, 09:19 PM
Alberts with a 360 dunk! (Click link to watch video)


http://videos-a-0.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xaf1/10564297_611693875610080_1403540177_n.mp4


Bryan Alberts @bryan_a_alberts (http://instagram.com/bryan_a_alberts) 10 minutes ago · Gonzaga University
Post shoot around #nobounce #butstill #zagup
http://instagram.com/p/qf-Z1pOL6C/
http://scontent-b-sea.cdninstagram.com/hphotos-xpa1/t51.2885-15/10514117_870381149658694_694086248_n.jpg

exclusivelee
07-30-2014, 12:55 PM
Bryan Alberts alley-oop (Click to watch video)

http://scontent-b.cdninstagram.com/hphotos-xaf1/t50.2886-16/10586274_1567473070147073_601499801_n.mp4


Bryan Alberts @b.alberts (http://instagram.com/b.alberts) 1:42 PM July 30, 2014 (http://instagram.com/p/rFsmYPuL38/)
From volleyball ( @kaylieloewen ) to soccer ( @cmike131 ) to basketball. #zagup #latenightgrind

jchocolate99
07-30-2014, 01:03 PM
Bryan Alberts alley-oop (Click to watch video)

http://scontent-b.cdninstagram.com/hphotos-xaf1/t50.2886-16/10586274_1567473070147073_601499801_n.mp4

Man Alberts can get up... He might have something to say to everyone thinking he was an automatic redshirt this year

cjm720
07-30-2014, 01:48 PM
Man Alberts can get up... He might have something to say to everyone thinking he was an automatic redshirt this year

He's definitely the most underrated recruit, largely because of his knee issues throughout high school. He's probably the most rounded (as in the ability to play multiple positions) of the three incoming guards, IMO.

GeorgiaZagFan
07-30-2014, 07:47 PM
"Being a D1 athlete & dealing with some sort of insulin deficient condition is rare, but it's been done before."

Anyone in particular come to mind? :-)

Hopefully he can have the same impact another Zag suffering from diabetes had a few years ago! Would be nice if he could be another Adam Morrison..college career that is....

Baseline
07-30-2014, 08:21 PM
Alberts has had a bit of a run of bad luck with his knee problems. I hope he is fine and beyond those issues and his career takes off.

Zagger
07-31-2014, 03:56 AM
BA's knees sure look fine in the Instagram vids. Nice moves.

Malastein
07-31-2014, 10:26 AM
I'll believe he'll be a contributo when I actually see him contribute. He's really the most unknown of quantities, and YouTube and all that won't show enough. Hoping we all the guys coming in make a big difference, because going deep in March would propel Gonzaga to a rarefied air where better and better players would join the program.

MDABE80
07-31-2014, 01:36 PM
WHen you actually SEE him play, all doubt disappears. Physical tools are quite eyepopping. Handles great, shooting is great, athleticism is off scale PLUS he's a very nice kid. Him, SIlas and Jenks(!!) will be our future. He'll get his time on the court because he's got the goods and works hard. He was quite a surprise for me as was Jenks. I need to see more Silas.........have only seen him play briefly . The three kids all show high level athleticsm, all shoot well and they like each other.. Few got a truimvirate of excellent guards.