PDA

View Full Version : Top 15 Perimeter Attacks For 2013-2014



exclusivelee
10-18-2013, 11:13 AM
NBC Sports ranks the top backcourts leading into the 2013-14 college basketball season:

http://collegebasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/2013/10/17/college-basketballs-top-15-perimeter-attacks-for-2013-2014/


10. Gonzaga: With Kelly Olynyk dominating the headlines last season, people started to forget about just how good the back court of Gary Bell Jr. and Kevin Pangos is. Throw in Louisville transfer Angel Nunez (eligible in December), Providence transfer Gerard Coleman, and David Stockton, and Mark Few will have some depth at his disposal as well.

Some of this season's opponents made the list, as well:

2. Memphis
3. Oklahoma St

exclusivelee
10-18-2013, 11:20 AM
Gonzaga didn't make the cut for best frontcourts (as expected), but some of their possible non-conference opponents make NBC Sports' list:

http://collegebasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/2013/10/18/2013-14-season-preview-the-nations-best-front-courts/

3. Syracuse
4. Baylor

GonzagasaurusFlex
10-18-2013, 01:14 PM
Gonzaga didn't make the cut for best frontcourts (as expected), but some of their possible non-conference opponents make NBC Sports' list:

http://collegebasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/2013/10/18/2013-14-season-preview-the-nations-best-front-courts/

3. Syracuse
4. Baylor

Worrisome, on the one hand, as either Syracuse or Baylor could prove to be too much for our Zags inside; on the other hand, great opportunity for Dower and Karno in particular and Zags as a whole to make an early season statement: don't overlook us!!

NumberCruncher
10-18-2013, 01:24 PM
Gonzaga didn't make the cut for best frontcourts (as expected), but some of their possible non-conference opponents make NBC Sports' list:

http://collegebasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/2013/10/18/2013-14-season-preview-the-nations-best-front-courts/

3. Syracuse
4. Baylor

This is why I still think Meikle does not redshirt, even though the staff would like to do that. 3 games in 3 days with the possibility of facing 2 of the nations best front courts doesn't seem like a good time to be using Barham a lot at the 4.

exclusivelee
10-18-2013, 01:35 PM
This is why I still think Meikle does not redshirt, even though the staff would like to do that. 3 games in 3 days with the possibility of facing 2 of the nations best front courts doesn't seem like a good time to be using Barham a lot at the 4.


I was about to say that to... the 2013-14 quick facts sheet doesn't mention that Meikle is expected to redshirt (but that still doesn't mean that he won't redshirt), but it does say that Leo Roese will redshirt:

https://admin.xosn.com/fls/26400//MEN'S%20BASKETBALL/CoSIDA%202014%20MBX.pdf

Also to note: Bell's height bumped up to 6'2, Barham's up to 6'7, Meikle up to 6'9, Bhaskar up to 6'3 from the heights they were listed on the roster page:

http://www.gozags.com/SportSelect.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=26400&SPID=90846&SPSID=627536&KEY=

Kiddwell
10-18-2013, 02:12 PM
Also to note: Bell's height bumped up to 6'2, Barham's up to 6'7, Meikle up to 6'9, Bhaskar up to 6'3 from the heights they were listed on the roster page:

http://www.gozags.com/SportSelect.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=26400&SPID=90846&SPSID=627536&KEY=

Yeah, Bell looked a good two inches taller than Pangos in a former photo posted on GUBoards. (Is Pangos really 6-1?) Nice to see Meikle an inch taller. 6-9 is nice. Perhaps Meikle will add another inch before he's done growing.

:]

NumberCruncher
10-18-2013, 02:14 PM
I was about to say that to... the 2013-14 quick facts sheet doesn't mention that Meikle is expected to redshirt (but that still doesn't mean that he won't redshirt), but it does say that Leo Roese will redshirt:

https://admin.xosn.com/fls/26400//MEN'S%20BASKETBALL/CoSIDA%202014%20MBX.pdf

Also to note: Bell's height bumped up to 6'2, Barham's up to 6'7, Meikle up to 6'9, Bhaskar up to 6'3 from the heights they were listed on the roster page:

http://www.gozags.com/SportSelect.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=26400&SPID=90846&SPSID=627536&KEY=


Looking at the team picture:

http://www.gozags.com/SportSelect.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=26400&SPID=90846&SPSID=627537"

I believe that Meikle is 6'9, but don't think Barham is 6'7.

The redshirt decision doesn't need to be made until the Bryant game.

DixieZag
10-18-2013, 04:05 PM
I thought that Bell and Pangos would come in a little higher. Granted, I don't know much about who is ahead.

Perhaps they would have if Bell had been healthy all last year.

Can Meikle really play the 4 at this level now?

btzag
10-18-2013, 07:26 PM
Yeah Meikle is definitely 6' 9" and taller than Dower from just a visual comparison of that picture. I know it is a ridiculously small sample size but Meikle stood out for me in the scrimmage video just in how he competed, his feel for the game and his skill level. Did not look at all like a true frosh to me and his ability to hit a 15-20 jumper from the PF position was impressive. Personally I felt Nunez looked way more lost and out of sorts than Meikle or Edwards did in that little scrimmage video and I think Meikle could easily be the 4th big off the bench this year.

Zagdawg
10-18-2013, 07:46 PM
Adam being on staff will really help Meikle -- show him some of the tricks of the trade.

DixieZag
10-18-2013, 10:22 PM
Good stuff btzag. I had not even considered that he would have a big role, maybe he will. Interesting, thx.

amaronizag
10-19-2013, 11:12 AM
If you look closely of that team photo, and use the white dots on the bleachers in the background as a guide, the relative height differences can be estimated (assuming the bleachers are level). Here's how it looks to me (my best guess based on the dots).

listed height name actual height
7 1 PK 7 1
7 1 RE 7 0
6 10 KW 6 10
6 8 LM 6 9
6 9 SD 6 8
6 8 AN 6 7
6 6 DB 6 6
6 5 KD 6 5

LynetteG
10-20-2013, 08:28 PM
Gonzaga didn't make the cut for best frontcourts (as expected), but some of their possible non-conference opponents make NBC Sports' list:

http://collegebasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/2013/10/18/2013-14-season-preview-the-nations-best-front-courts/

3. Syracuse
4. Baylor

I'm kinda liking the #7 team for some reason... ;)

hooter73
10-21-2013, 07:44 AM
Adam being on staff will really help Meikle -- show him some of the tricks of the trade.

^Agree big time with this.

Nunez had a bad showing, but make no mistake, even as a wing and not the skinny power forward he probably should be playing, he is really talented with experience playing with and against some of the nations best.

exclusivelee
10-21-2013, 03:54 PM
NBC Sports ranked Pangos #14 as a "lead guard"

http://collegebasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/2013/10/21/2013-14-season-preview-ranking-the-nations-best-point-guards/


14. Kevin Pangos (Gonzaga): Kelly Olynyk and Elias Harris overshadowed Pangos last season, but don’t forget about just how good he was as a freshman.



Lead guards are the term we will use to define a team’s primary ball-handler. Different systems require different qualities from their lead guards, with some needing the floor general to be a primary scoring option while other systems prefer a player who will primarily play the role of distributor. This list will include “true” point guards, combo-guards, shoot-first point guards and everything in-between, so long as it is the player that gets his team into an offensive set.