PDA

View Full Version : Dickie V's Preseason Top 25



exclusivelee
10-12-2013, 10:36 AM
Dickie V's Preseason Top 25:

Gonzaga in at #14; BYU in "Others is Watch"

http://espn.go.com/espn/dickvitale/story/_/id/9791313/dick-vitale-preseason-top-25


14. GONZAGA

Mark Few has a shot to win his 400th game before suffering his 100th loss. Gary Bell, Jr. and Kevin Pangos form an outstanding backcourt.

One of the better preseason placements for the Zags for 2013-14

DixieZag
10-12-2013, 11:16 AM
I know Vitale is a blowhard and can be super annoying as an announcer but I just can't hate on him. He has a heart of gold - no one has ever questioned that.

And I think he still knows some BB as it relates to the ACC and whatever they call the Big East nowadays. But, anything west of Louisville? -He's just filling space.

But, 14? I'll take it.

Reborn
10-12-2013, 11:27 AM
Wow! And some fans who post here are complaining about Gonzaga's "weak" schedule this year. LOL Weak? We play two teams in the top ten and 3 in the top 20. Syracuse, Baylor, and Memphis. Of course we have to beat Baylor to get to Syracuse. And good to see BYU in the top 30.

Wow! Gonzaga at #14. Pretty awesome I'd say. If the Zags can play defense and rebound I think it will stick. We will have offense, that's for sure. And we have a deep bench. This is a pretty experienced team. And even though we lose 3 starters, Coleman, Stockton, Nunez, Barham and Dranginis should fill those gaps nicely. I think Sam Dower has been waiting for this season for along time. He really could explode, imo.

MDABE80
10-12-2013, 11:30 AM
Too high.

Zagdawg
10-12-2013, 12:25 PM
Just win baby........


Go Zags

Hoopaholic
10-12-2013, 12:29 PM
Nice to see Boise state in the picture.....comfortable with our rating

Oregonzagnut
10-12-2013, 12:32 PM
Too high.

A little bit high I agree. But projection is part remembrance, and we were #1. We normally drop 10-15 places, so this is pretty much normal. But usually Dukie V puts mid majors like us pretty low,like 20-25 at best.

In my opinion, given what we know about our team and who is returning, I do not think we will EVER drop out of the top 25. Plus I really think we have a chance to return to the top spot if the stars align like they did last year. Namely, we keep winning and they all lose on occasion.

TheGonzagaFactor
10-12-2013, 12:56 PM
A little bit high I agree. But projection is part remembrance, and we were #1. We normally drop 10-15 places, so this is pretty much normal. But usually Dukie V puts mid majors like us pretty low,like 20-25 at best.

In my opinion, given what we know about our team and who is returning, I do not think we will EVER drop out of the top 25. Plus I really think we have a chance to return to the top spot if the stars align like they did last year. Namely, we keep winning and they all lose on occasion.

I think somewhere from 14-20 is about right but I hate preseason rankings. Worthless.

We will not be #1 this year unless we go undefeated.

Oregonzagnut
10-12-2013, 02:13 PM
We will not be #1 this year unless we go undefeated.

I think several people made a similar quote last year. At least you say "unless" but some others said "impossible".

Anything is possible.
Never say never.
In Few we trust.