PDA

View Full Version : Kelly Olynyk Preseason Thread for 2013



ZagNative
08-17-2013, 11:26 AM
Miscellaneous Olynyk preseason tibits:

From Comcast Net, csnne.com (http://www.csnne.com/boston-celtics/celtics-talk-kelly-olynyk-exactly-what-celtics-need), this video, "Kelly Olynyk 'exactly' what the Celtics need," is fun to watch.

ZagNative
08-20-2013, 06:20 PM
Very fun piece (http://espn.go.com/blog/boston/celtics/post/_/id/4706501/summer-forecast-great-expectations), with a bunch of Celtics sprtswriters projecting Kelly's performance this coming season.

Each weekday for a three-week span, our summer panel of prognosticators -- a motley crew featuring our friends in the Celtics blogging community -- will join forces to tell you how the 2013-14 season will play out for Boston. We'll gaze into our crystal balls and attempt to answers all your questions before this season's team even hits the floor together for the first time.

Today's Celtics Summer Forecast topic: What are your expectations for Kelly Olynyk?

Boston shuffled up three spots and snagged Olynyk at No. 13 in June's draft. Celtics president of basketball operations Danny Ainge promptly diminished expectations, going out of his way to suggest that he did not view Olynyk as a starter, but more of a complementary role player. What's more, Ainge suggested that 7-foot Olynyk probably couldn't play the center position at the NBA level.

Well, none of the bloggers in our summer panel seem to care what Ainge thinks. One day after Olynyk was pegged the favorite to emerge as the starting center for the Celtics this season, our panel overwhelming voted that Olynyk will earn All-Rookie team honors during the 2013-14 campaign. Given four options for Olynyk's potential contributions next season, a whopping 56.3 percent picked All-Rookie, while another 37.5 percent elected for a Jared Sullinger-like first-year impact (you'll remember Sullinger played big minutes, looked comfortable on the floor, and had ascended to a starter role before a back injury ended his season in February). In fact, only 6.3 percent of respondents picked Olynyk for either of the final two lesser options (Limited impact or D-League).

So much for tempering expectations.

Olynyk showcased some slick offensive skills at summer league and left some Celtics fans breathlessly making Kevin McHale comparisons. Are we putting too much stock in a five-game summer glimpse? Of course. But it's understandable that observers are intrigued by a 7-footer with the offensive repertoire that Olynyk displayed.

So what are more reasonable expectations? The guess here is that Olynyk carves out a consistent role off the bench, getting something like 25-28 minutes per game and seeing his numbers slowly climb as the season progresses (particularly if Boston unclogs the frontcourt with additional moves). If he proves he can carry over that summer success, there's a chance for those minutes to spike, maybe sharing the frontcourt at times with Sullinger (in that pairing, Sullinger is more likely the 5).

Olynyk is so smooth offensively that it's probably not out of the realm of possibility that, on a team that needs scoring, he could be a double-digit scorer by season's end (something that Boston's bench has desperately needed in recent seasons). Go ahead and put him on the McHale path and see if he can emerge as a starter down the road as Boston navigates this rebuilding process. We still have to see if he can play consistent NBA defense and improve his rebounding numbers. He'll get a bit more rope than he might have seen on Doc Rivers' veteran teams.

While this writer won't rule out the All-Rookie squad (the potential lack of competition for those 10 available spots will help his cause), we'll take the Ainge approach and suggest that if Olynyk can show the same sort of comfort level and basketball IQ that Sullinger did in his abbreviated glance last season, then Olynyk will have had an excellent rookie campaign.

See the story, for the writers' evaluations of KO (http://espn.go.com/blog/boston/celtics/post/_/id/4706501/summer-forecast-great-expectations).

ZagNative
08-21-2013, 12:51 PM
From CBS Sports (http://www.cbssports.com/nba/eye-on-basketball/23250881/2013-offseason-report-boston-celtics), " Basketball
2013 Offseason Report: Boston Celtics"

The draft

The Celtics sat 16th in the draft, but moved up to No. 13 to select Gonzaga's Kelly Olynyk. All of a sudden, this pick had a new perspective with it. Instead of being a young player to groom behind Garnett, now the Celtics were taking someone that needs to be something. They needed a player with both immediate ability and upside. They needed a player that filled a current and future need, while still trying to get the most talent for the pick.

Olynyk seems like as close to all that as they could've gotten. He's a supremely gifted offensive seven-footer, with range to the 3-point line and great touch and feel around the rim. He's a soft defender and not a great rebounder, but the Celtics can work on that.

And if his Summer League performance is any indication, the Celtics might've gotten a steal. Olynyk dominated in Orlando, using his unique blend of size and skill to finish around the rim and score in midrange situations. Is he a building block piece? Probably not. But with Rondo running point for him and some defensive/rebounding help alongside him, he could certainly be a high quality NBA center.

Overall grade and accomplishments: B+

ZagNative
08-21-2013, 02:02 PM
From the Celtics' official site (http://www.nba.com/celtics/news/sidebar/082113-top-rookies-watch-for-2013-14):

Top Rookies To Watch for in 2013-14

By Marc D'Amico

BOSTON – Twists, turns, trades and surprises. Those four words do a great job of describing what took place during the 2013 NBA Draft on June 27.

No one knew what to expect that night. The No. 1 pick was up in the air, and nearly every team had discussed trading its pick.

With the belief that there was no franchise-changing talent available to be selected, teams simply wanted to land the player they had rated the highest. Boston, Orlando, Cleveland, Charlotte and Philadelphia all believe they accomplished that goal, and here’s why you should pay attention to their top picks this season.

Kelly Olynyk ● Power Forward ● Boston Celtics
Kelly Olynyk

One of the 16 trades made on draft night included the Boston Celtics, who moved up to No. 13 to grab Kelly Olynyk. The move caught many people off guard, but the Celtics got their man.

Danny Ainge spoke to the media with a smile following the pick. He felt fortunate to have landed Olynyk, who he described as, “a 7-footer that can shoot and pass and think.”

Every NBA executive talks up their draft picks on draft night, but Ainge was simply speaking the truth. Olynyk proved as much during the Orlando Pro Summer League, where he showcased all of the skills Ainge had described.

Olynyk’s well-rounded game helped him finish fourth in Orlando in scoring with 18.0 points per game and fifth in the league in rebounding with 7.8 rebounds per game. He racked up those numbers while torching the nets to the tune of 57.8 percent shooting, and he committed one or less turnovers in three of his five games.

Olynyk made a lasting impression in Orlando and there’s no doubt that the league will be on the lookout for him. He has the potential to be a great role player for the Celtics next season, and that is exactly what they want him to be.
Others the article says to watch for:
Victor Oladipo ● Guard ● Orlando Magic
Anthony Bennett ● Forward ● Cleveland Cavaliers
Cody Zeller ● Center ● Charlotte Bobcats
Michael Carter-Williams ● Point Guard ● Philadelphia 76ers

ZagNative
08-23-2013, 04:58 PM
From Scott Souza/Daily News staff
The MetroWest Daily News
Celtics' Olynyk starting early to make splash as rookie

...
Olynyk showed excellent mobility for a 7-footer, an ability to score inside and outside, and superb court awareness. He also showed it largely against competition who will never see the inside of an NBA arena during a regular-season game without buying a ticket — a fact he readily recognized when looking back at his Orlando performance during an event for the Celtics Shamrock Foundation at Canobie Lake Park on Friday.

"It was fun to try to get your feet wet and get things underway, get a taste of what the next level is like," he said. "Obviously, it’s not what the next level entirely is. But at least it eases you into it and it segues you into the season. I think it’s good in that respect. It gives you some confidence and something to go off.

"But I still have a lot to prove, obviously. It’s just one step. People forget it just as easily as they remember. You’ve got to keep working hard and keep getting better every day."
Olynyk said he will begin that work at the team’s training facility in Waltham starting next week as he spends three weeks getting settled in Boston before coming to the city for good at the start of training camp in October. Shooting guard MarShon Brooks — acquired from the Nets in the Garnett/Pierce trade — said Thursday he plans to spend most of the next month in the Waltham gym as well getting to know first-year coach Brad Stevens and whichever teammates come to town early to get a head start on camp.

"I think that will definitely be an opportunity," Olynyk said of any voluntary team scrimmages. "I haven’t been over (to Waltham) yet, so I’m not sure who is back yet. But I will be here for the next three weeks — maybe the whole time — who knows?"

ZaGranny
08-23-2013, 08:28 PM
http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/08/boston_celtics_bring_1st_round.html


Boston Celtics bring 1st round pick Kelly Olynyk to Canobie Lake Park; Olynyk says plantar fasciitis is improving


The Kelly Olynyk welcome party continued as the Boston Celtics continued to introduce the first round selection out of Gonzaga to the New England setting by bringing him to a local favorite amusement park: Canobie Lake Park.

Olynyk heads into his first year with the Celtics with high expectations and could play a big factor in Boston's rebuilding effort.

As reported by ESPN Boston's Chris Forsberg, the Celtics brought Olynyk along to Canobie Lake Park as part of a Celtics Shamrock Foundation and helped host 30 children at the event.

Outside of getting soaked on some of the rides with team co-owner Steve Pagliuca, Olynyk did speak to the media and addressed his lingering plantar fasciitis, saying that it is improving and that he's working to be healthy when the regular season starts.

"[The plantar fasciitis] is improving," Olynyk to ESPN Boston. "I just have to keep working to get it better every day, doing things I can do. The [team] doctors here have been great. I just need to keep working to be ready for season."

The real highlight, though, was Olynyk taking in the park.


More at the link. Be sure to click on the comment to see Kelly in the log flume.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
08-23-2013, 09:57 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BSY9aOJCIAEDqP-.jpg

ZaGranny
08-23-2013, 10:05 PM
Thanks, ZN. I am a little limited in loading pics as I post from RV parks in AK.

ZaGranny

webspinnre
08-23-2013, 10:06 PM
What a wonderful picture.

Dogtownkid
08-24-2013, 08:08 AM
Great picture, ZN!

sittingon50
08-24-2013, 09:23 AM
That IS a great shot!

ZagNative
08-26-2013, 12:26 PM
NBA Rookies like Kelly! From NBA.com (http://www.nba.com/2013/news/features/john_schuhmann/08/26/2013-14-nba-rookie-survey/index.html):

Posted Aug 26, 2013 10:42 AM

There are a lot of duties that come with being an NBA rookie. You have to carry bags, buy donuts and sport a Barbie (or perhaps a Dora the Explorer) backpack.

Before you get to all that, you have the privilege of filling out the NBA.com Rookie Survey in between shots at the annual Rookie Photo Shoot at the Knicks' practice facility. This year, 36 rookies were on hand to give us a preview of the new class.

This crop of rooks isn't coming into the league with much hype, but there are a couple of players who could make an impact right away. There are also a few that will get plenty of playing time with bad teams. Victor Oladipo is one of those, and he could be the star of the class -- both short-and long-term -- according to the players who know him best.

Note that players were not allowed to vote for themselves, college teammates or NBA teammates.

Who will be the 2013-14 Rookie of the Year?

T-1st: C.J. McCollum, Portland & Victor Oladipo, Orlando -- 24.2 percent

3: Kelly Olynyk, Boston -- 18.2 percent

4: Trey Burke, Utah -- 12.1 percent

5: Ben McLemore, Sacramento -- 6.1 percent

Which rookie will have the best career?

T-1st: Victor Oladipo, Orlando & Kelly Olynyk, Boston -- 18.2 percent

Which rookie is being most overlooked?

T-1st: Ricky Ledo, Dallas, Erik Murphy, Chicago, Nerlens Noel, Philadelphia & Kelly Olynyk, Boston -- 8.6 percent

ZaGranny
08-26-2013, 09:22 PM
http://espn.go.com/boston/nba/story/_/id/9603254/boston-celtics-rookie-kelly-olynyk-enjoying-ride-far


Olynyk is enjoying the ride so far
Expectations are high for Celtics rookie, but he takes VIP treatment in stride
Updated: August 27, 2013, 12:52 AM ET
By Chris Forsberg | ESPNBoston.com
SALEM, N.H. -- Only about 50 days had passed since Kelly Olynyk was last in Boston, but, boy, had expectations grown.

Dubbed a complementary role player by Celtics president of basketball operations Danny Ainge on draft night, all it took was a stellar five-game performance at his pro debut at the Orlando Pro Summer League for some Boston fans to ready Olynyk for the Hall of Fame.

Olynyk averaged a team-best 18 points and 7.8 rebounds over 24 minutes per game this summer, shooting 57.8 percent from the floor, and was named to the all-tournament first team.
On a pristine late-August morning, the 22-year-old Olynyk stood in the lot of a New Hampshire Park and Ride off Interstate 93 as a police escort assembled to deliver him -- and 30 children from the Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children -- to a nearby amusement park for a Shamrock Foundation event. Just days after league MVP LeBron James received an unauthorized police escort to a Justin Timberlake and Jay Z concert in Miami, there were wisecracks about all this attention going to the rookie's head.

Olynyk just smiled when asked about the escort. Truth be told, it wasn't even the first one of his basketball career. An officer noted that traffic on I-93 would soon be back to the New Hampshire border; the escort was the only way this crew was getting to the park anytime soon.

.....

Later, a Celtics staffer told Olynyk he was free to go, a cue that often encourages players to race for the nearest exit at these sorts of events. Not Olynyk. He stayed for another hour, signing autographs and hanging out with the kids.

All those expectations clearly haven't gone to his head yet.

That last was my favorite bit. Lots more at the link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
08-26-2013, 09:32 PM
Great posts about Kelly, ZN. Thanks.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
09-10-2013, 02:58 PM
http://clnsradio.com/boston-celtics-news/item/7821-what-to-expect-from-kelly-olynyk-in-2013-14

What to Expect From Kelly Olynyk in 2013-14 Featured
Written by Tim MacLean on September 10th, 2013

At this point in the offseason we know exactly what the Celtics have in Kelly Olynyk. He’s going to score in myriad ways, whether it’s mid-range jumpers, threes, or crafty low-post moves, he’ll have little trouble putting up points in the NBA. The only downfall is that he’ll most likely be a liability on the defensive end of the floor during his inaugural season due to his lack of girth. Expect to see opposing teams attack Olynyk on the low-block by playing bully ball. If the big Canadian is being continuously dominated in the paint game in and game out then his overall confidence may take a huge hit.

More at the link.

ZaGranny

gamagin
09-18-2013, 04:27 PM
http://nesn.com/2013/09/kelly-olynyk-will-ride-green-line-to-promote-taking-public-transportation-to-td-garden/

ZaGranny
09-26-2013, 07:34 AM
http://espn.go.com/blog/boston/celtics/post/_/id/4706925/intensity-rising-at-cs-workouts

A couple of tidbits about Kelly in the Celtics report:


MILTON, Mass. -- Boston Celtics rookie Kelly Olynyk showed up to the Shamrock Foundation’s sixth annual Teeing Up for Kids golf tournament on Tuesday at Wollaston Golf Club with a fresh gash on his chin. When a reporter asked if someone had caught him with an elbow during the team’s informal workouts, Jeff Green playfully interjected, “He wasn’t following the rules; I had to let him know.”

Olynyk smiled and went along with it: “You gotta put rookies in their place sometimes.”

With training camp set to open next Tuesday in Newport, R.I., the intensity of Boston’s pickup games evidently are ramping up. And despite being on the wrong end of that physicality, Olynyk offered, “It’s nice to see. A little more physical, guys are competing real hard, and that’s what it’s all about.


ZaGranny

exclusivelee
10-01-2013, 04:53 PM
NBA: Boston Celtics-Media Day
Sep 30, 2013; Waltham, MA, USA; Boston Celtics forward Kelly Olynyk (41) poses for pictures during media day at the Celtics Practice Facility. Mandatory Credit: David Butler II-USA TODAY Sports

http://cdn.usatodaysportsimages.com/image/thumb/650-550nw/7713058.jpg

ZaGranny
10-02-2013, 07:42 AM
SHOOTING TOUCH, INC. ‏@ShootingTouch 1 Oct
Proud to welcome @kellyolynyk to our Board of Directors! We think it was a #Slam #Dunk getting this… http://instagram.com/p/e7TxnjOJ9R/
Retweeted by Kelly Olynyk


Shooting Touch harnesses the power of basketball to elevate the health, education and opportunities of youths and young adults around the world.

In Boston, Shooting Touch has established a year-round presence and program that provides inner city and suburban youth with opportunities for development, both on and off the court.

Internationally, The Shooting Touch Sabbatical Program, known as the "Basketball Peace Corps" provides the opportunity for gifted college graduates to work in Rwanda, dedicating an entire year of service to using basketball as a catalyst for good.

Very pleased to see how Kelly is active in the community. (And not one bit surprised!)

Zagranny

ZaGranny
10-02-2013, 09:31 AM
http://boston.cbslocal.com/2013/10/02/celtics-rookie-kelly-olynyk-joins-toucher-rich/

Celtics’ Rookie Kelly Olynyk Joins Toucher & Rich
October 2, 2013 9:46 AM

BOSTON (CBS) – It’s unclear where Celtics rookie Kelly Olynyk will play when the C’s open the season, but the seven-footer is open to whatever his new team asks of him.

Celtics GM Danny Ainge has said he sees Olynyk more as a power forward, but with just one true center on the roster the rookie figures to get a taste of both positions this season.

“Once you’re on the floor you do whatever you do. It’s kind of like you’re putting a label on someone,” Olynyk told 98.5 The Sports Hub’s Toucher & Rich at Monday’s Media Day. “Hopefully with Brad (Stevens) and the staff here, they can help that transition be a little easier.”

PHOTOS: Celtics Media Day

Olynyk isn’t worried about his offensive game translating to the NBA, but knows he has his work cut out for him on defense, especially at center.

“The tough thing will be trying to guard centers down there. Those are some big guys playing in this league,” he said. “That is something that will take a learning curve. You have to use your intelligenceand smarts to get you through that.”

Links to media day photos and the radio show

Wonderful to hear Kelly's interview.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
10-02-2013, 04:48 PM
Kelly's digital diary, Day One, from csnne.com (http://www.csnne.com/blog/celtics-talk/entry-1-its-been-whirlwind):
I'm excited about camp; definitely excited. It's been a whirlwind for me so far, a great ride. I just want to keep it going, go into training camp and work hard and see what this NBA thing is all about.

A lot of the guys have said snippets here and there about what to expect in training camp. They just tell me to enjoy myself, have fun, come in and work hard. One of [coach Brad Stevens's] sayings is come in, have fun playing the game that you love, just work hard, and all the chips will fall into place.

Sounds good to me.

My summer has been basically non-stop. Prepping for the draft, flying city to city working out, and then the actual draft. And then flying into Boston for the press conference and going to Orlando for Summer League.

And then I went home and ran my first summer camp (that was a lot of fun!) and then up to Gonzaga for a couple days and then went to Vegas for the Players Association meetings and then came back here.

That's a lot, eh?

But I've also done a bunch of stuff out here in terms of appearances and visits with kids, which was a lot of fun; trying to get out in the city and trying to find an apartment; find a vehicle; set up a place. I'm basically starting from scratch out here. I don't really know anyone, don't have anything to my name out here, don't even have a fork!

I had to go and get everything, and I still need more. Sometimes I'll be in my apartment and go to do something, and I'll be like, "I don't have a shower curtain! I have to take a bath?" So I get in my car and drive to the practice facility and take a shower. It's stuff like that where it's like, sometimes you don't realize what you have until you don't have it.

But it's been a lot of fun so far. All the people and all you Celtics fans have been great to me. And I'm looking forward to what's coming up next, get to play in some games and really play the game I love for the best franchise and the best fans in the NBA!

ZaGranny
10-02-2013, 08:01 PM
http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/10/boston_celtics_training_camp_2_4.html

Boston Celtics training camp 2013: Brad Stevens looking for Kelly Olynyk, big men to space the floor


NEWPORT, R.I. – At the Orlando summer league in July, Kelly Olynyk shot a lot.

He didn’t have the itchy finger of, say, Kobe Bryant or Carmelo Anthony, but he attempted more than one field goal every two minutes, enough to finish fourth in the league in scoring.

Still, the Boston Celtics coaching staff never stopped reminding him to abandon all shyness. Whenever he passed up an open look, a chorus of voices encouraged him not to do so again. Just days into his new job, head coach Brad Stevens implored Olynyk to keep shooting, saying, "I just think he has such a smooth stroke, it could really become a great weapon for him."

Months later, in training camp this week at Salve Regina University, little has changed. Stevens still wants Boston’s lottery pick to take full advantage of his diverse skill set.

“I think that’s the way he likes to play,” said Olynyk. “He really likes to space the floor and open it for other people, and be able to draw defenses different ways, and be able to dictate how defenses play us, rather than the defense dictating how we’re going to play. I think that’s something he likes in a player and in a team, and hopefully I can bring that to the team.”

Lots more at the link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-03-2013, 05:01 PM
http://espn.go.com/blog/boston/celtics/post/_/id/4707092/camp-fire-rookies-sing-happy-birthday

NEWPORT, R.I. -- Boston Celtics rookie Kelly Olynyk noted Wednesday that he had, to that point, been spared from any egregious hazing at training camp on the campus of Salve Regina University. That changed Thursday when Boston's three rookies -- Olynyk, Vitor Faverani, and Phil Pressey -- and the training camp invites -- Chris Babb, Damen Bell-Holter, DeShawn Sims, Kammron Taylor -- were forced to sing for birthday boy Courtney Lee after the team's final session at the Rodgers Recreation Center.


Chris Forsberg/ESPN Boston
The remnants of Courtney Lee's post-practice birthday cake.
Led by Jared Sullinger, who Lee suggested has not shed yet his rookie status after playing in just 45 games last season, the true rookies briefly conferenced and came up with a little dance move to go along with their rendition. The effort wasn't lost on Lee, who gleefully watched and clapped along with Boston's veteran players.

"That was the best [rendition] by far," said Lee. "I had about five or six rookies over there, and they were 2-stepping while they were singing to me. That was by far the best one."

Lee noted that Sullinger has to play 37 more games this season before he'll reach 82 for his career and shed the "rookie" label. Until then, he's been tasked with babysitting the true rookies.

"Sully is considered a rookie still because he hasn’t played 82 games yet," said Lee. "His job is to get the rookies in order and get that performance underway. And he did a good job of that."

The rookie group was a motley crew with Brazilian center Vitor Faverani and Olynyk offered some 7-foot baritone from the back line of the Singing Septet. Olynyk was brutally honest in reviewing the group's debut performance.

"We have a lot to work on there," deadpanned Olynyk. "We weren’t very in sync. We weren’t in tune. We have a lot to work on there in that category. Hopefully we’ll have a little bit of time before another birthday."

No pressure, guys. Coach Brad Stevens is next up on Oct. 22.

More on the Celtics and a funny (if hard to see) video at the link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-04-2013, 08:12 AM
Boston Celtics training camp 2013: Kelly Olynyk picking things up quickly, but still going through adjustment period defensively

http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/10/boston_celtics_training_camp_2_6.html

NEWPORT, R.I. – Unless Troy Polamalu develops a deadly jump shot, Kelly Olynyk should dominate the NBA’s long hair game. Boston Celtics teammate Jared Sullinger has said Olynyk reminds him of someone from Lord of the Rings.

In most years, I would think, Legolas lookalikes tend to take the NBA’s hair crown – no disrespect meant to the unkempt nature of Chris Kaman’s former flow, which bucked any human or even elfin comparison. And seriously, I'm sorry for leading with Olynyk's hair. Though it holds no relevance whatsoever to this post, it just speaks to me.

Olynyk should also help out offensively, with a refined and polished game that should allow him to contribute from Day 1. Head coach Brad Stevens has pointed out the rookie’s ability to learn, saying he picks up drills and sets quickly. What Stevens is saying, basically: Olynyk’s as cerebral as his up-and-unders look.

But still, he’s going through an adjustment period defensively.

“I feel pretty good,” Olynyk said Thursday after wrapping up training camp at Salve Regina University. “I can pick up a lot of the offensive stuff quickly. Some of the defensive stuff related to the NBA – in the key, tagging guys, that kind of stuff, I still need to work on a lot. Hopefully my basketball IQ can get me through some of that.”

Much more on Kelly's training camp at the link. Nice photo, too.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-04-2013, 04:35 PM
http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/04/kelly-olynyk-doesnt-have-a-fork-shower-curtain/

A pretty funny look at what Kelly wrote in his first digital diary.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
10-06-2013, 09:50 AM
Video Interview Celtics Life (http://www.celticslife.com/2013/10/video-kelly-olynyk-chats-with-emily.html?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter).

ZaGranny
10-07-2013, 07:13 PM
Kelly played 18:49. He had 4 points, 2 rebounds, 5 assists, 4 fouls, 3 TO's, 1 block.

I thought it was a great start.

ZaGRanny

ZaGranny
10-08-2013, 08:22 AM
http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/08/stat-man-the-jared-sullinger-kelly-olynyk-combo/


STAT MAN: THE JARED SULLINGER-KELLY OLYNYK COMBO
10.08.13 at 10:29 am ET
By Ben Rohrbach


he debut of the much anticipated Jared Sullinger and Kelly Olynyk frontcourt combination — one to which Celtics president of basketball operations Danny Ainge even admitted his intrigue — didn’t come until midway through the second quarter of the team’s first preseason game. And even then only lasted 8:29 in spurts.

Based on the early returns, we’ll be seeing a lot more of the Sully-O clinic early and often. Actually, don’t be surprised if that duo with 45 NBA games between them ultimately takes over the starting 4 and 5 spots.

“I don’t have a plus/minus report right now, so I don’t know,” said coach Brad Stevens after his first game on the Celtics sidelines, a 97-89 loss to the Raptors, “but I thought they played pretty well together.”

When Stevens took a look at that report and watched film later Monday night — his self-imposed requirement before sleeping — he discovered this: Olynyk and Sullinger owned a plus-7 rating, combining for 10 points (4-8 FG), four assists and three rebounds in their 8:29 on the floor together. Of the nine Celtics field goals in those 509 seconds, the rookie and the sophomore either scored or assisted on seven of them.

When Stevens added Gerald Wallace to that frontcourt mix — forming a complementary trio of flair, hair and derriere that the coach has praised throughout training camp — the production was unmistakable.


“The one thing I’ve learned about Gerald Wallace in my short time knowing him is he’s going to give it everything he has, regardless of whether it’s in practice, an exhibition game or a regular-season game,” added Stevens. “That guy plays hard, and it’ll be good. I think that sets a really good tone for our team.”

Wallace played all 8:29 alongside Olynyk and Sullinger, and as a group they totaled 16 points (6-12 FG), seven assists and four boards. That trio either scored or assisted on all nine field goals in those 509 seconds. They’re 36-minute averages: plus-30, 68 points, 30 assists and 17 rebounds.
More at the link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-08-2013, 09:07 AM
http://www.bostonglobe.com/sports/2013/10/07/brad-stevens-makes-celtics-coaching-debut-exhibition-game-against-raptors/49qGmQHR6PdbzRAb8usZIL/story.html

Celtics lose in Brad Stevens’ preseason debut

A familiar foe for rookie

Celtics rookie Kelly Olynyk was born and grew up in Toronto, so it was a treat for him to play his first NBA game against the Raptors and hear “O Canada,” his home country’s national anthem, before tipoff.

“It makes you feel at home, especially the Raptors,” he said. “I grew up watching them.”

Olynyk shot 1 of 5 from the floor and scored 4 points, adding 5 assists. “He didn’t score like he’s been scoring, but that will come,” Stevens said of the Celtics’ 2013 first-round draft pick.

More about the game at the link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-08-2013, 09:11 AM
http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/10/boston_celtics_vs_toronto_rapt_6.html

Boston Celtics vs. Toronto Raptors day-after analysis: Jared Sullinger, Kelly Olynyk and Gerald Wallace shine; defense needs work, but offense shows glimpses

BOSTON – During the second quarter of Brad Stevens basketball played Monday night at the TD Garden, a man sitting about 20 feet from the media section dropped to his knee for a wedding proposal.

Tossing aside the obvious concerns (it’s the preseason, bro, step up your proposal game) I almost understood why, at that very juncture, someone would want to put a ring on it. Those in the crowd (some of whom got in for $5, apparently) had just been treated to a flurry of Vitor Faverani creativity, a two-possession tour de force including an oddly-bowled outlet pass that somehow resulted in a Courtney Lee lay-in, plus a fast break during which Faverani trailed the action perfectly, caught a beautiful pass from Kelly Olynyk and slammed home his first NBA (preseason) dunk. The Celtics had started oh fer a lot, had trailed 14-2, had quickly encouraged scattered boos in the TD Garden. But by proposal time they had completely won back the crowd.

I would like to think the moment was not planned and Mr. Romance walked around with the ring in his pocket for days, waiting for the right time to make his move. I would like to think he did not originally intend to reach the next level of his relationship at an NBA preseason game, but became overwhelmed by the offensive possibilities of an Olynyk-Jared Sullinger frontcourt. I would like to believe Mr. Romance's girlfriend would have otherwise scoffed at the venue, but, after seeing Gerald Wallace’s pulse speed back to life, could not say no. I would hope seeing Faverani – the man, the myth, the Brazilian – succeed in live action dizzied the couple’s emotions and provided the perfect preamble to what will surely become a delightful, long-lived marriage.

But, probably, I will never know what becomes of those two lovebirds. I lost them forever at their moment of bliss, when the possibilities all seemed great. Perhaps, too, we should have left the Celtics at that Faverani dunk. They were so fun then, so full of hope.

But we did not leave the Celtics at that moment. Including the preseason, we have 89 games left.

A few things we learned from exhibition Game 1, a 97-89 loss Monday night to the Toronto Raptors.

Olynyk, Sullinger and Wallace

Together their names sound like a law firm, but really they’re just three hard-working guys who, so far, have meshed well together. Before the preseason opener, head coach Brad Stevens – aka The Lineup Whisperer – suggested they had outperformed every combination in practice. Stating an indifference to when they played together, he brought them all in off the bench. And they were awesome.

Olynyk led the team with five assists. Sullinger and Wallace both pitched in four. They all tried taking charges, they all moved the basketball, they all brought fun (and, I’d like to think, a wedding proposal) to the TD Garden. And, in different ways, their many contributions came as a surprise.

Sullinger was seeing his first game action since January. Wallace was coming off his worst season of the past decade. And Olynyk earned a lot of hype at summer league, but he still hadn’t met NBA competition. After less than a week of practice, in a new system, they showed plenty of potential for synergy.

“I’d like to think I play good with anybody,” Wallace said before the game. “But I think those are guys that, for me personally, stretch the floor. They’re able to knock down jump shots and stretch the floor. They open up the lane for me, and I’m able to penetrate, get in the middle and kick out to those guys. So I think we complement each other very well on the court.”

Added Stevens on Olynyk: “He’s one of the best passers on our team. He can play in the high post, he can pass, he can make back-door passes, he can handle the basketball. He didn’t score it like he’s been scoring it, but that’ll come. There’s probably a little bit of jitters for him too, but he’s a good player and his ability to make plays passing the ball makes others better.

More at the link

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-08-2013, 09:22 AM
1. The Celtics are still mixing and matching on the lineup, trying to find solid pairings of players, but the plus-sized trio of Kelly Olynyk, Jared Sullinger and Gerald Wallace proved to be an intriguing combination of players, as Stevens foreshadowed before the game.

Wallace, a swingman who roams the wing, led the Celtics with 16 points; Sullinger, a big-bodied-but-undersized power forward who has a soft touch around the basket, added 14; and Olynyk, a rookie 7-footer from Gonzaga whose passing and shooting will probably keep him more on the perimeter this season, added 4 points and a team-high 5 assists.

When they played in concert, their differing styles of play meshed together well, as Sullinger could play down low while Wallace and Olynyk played somewhere on the perimeter to within 15 feet or so. Wallace and Olynyk are good enough shooters that defenses can't sag off and crowd the paint, which gives Sullinger some room.

"I love playing with those guys," Wallace said. "Those are two bigs that spread the floor, they are able to cut, and both of them are great passers, so they complement me because they open up the floor for me to drive and they are able to make passes in the paint."

Their quick passing was effective, in part because all three played unselfishly, as Sullinger harped on after the game.

"I mean, honestly, everybody is very unselfish," he said. "They're just always moving, Kelly and Gerald ... They're constantly moving and they're open, so it's easy to find them."

Olynyk didn't light it up on the offensive end in his first NBA game, but Stevens said the rookie's scoring will come along.

"There's probably a little bit of jitters for him too, but he's a good player and his ability to make plays passing the ball makes others better," Stevens said.

Olynyk did admit to a bit of nerves after the game.

"I guess there are a little nerves every time you make the next step, but that goes away once you realize it's just a game of basketball again," he said. "You know you're playing the same thing; the hoops are still 10 feet, the free-throw line's 15. And you know the vets are real good at calming me down, making sure you're all right out there, and just go with the flow."


2. On the offensive end, Stevens kept encouraging his players to move faster, even motioning from the sidelines that they needed to pick up the pace.

The players should get the hang of that in time, but it's worth noting that Kris Humphries said he and Jeff Green ran sprints on the treadmill after the game to help sharpen them up, conditioning-wise.

But overall on offense, the Celtics shared the ball well, earning 25 assists on 33 field goals.

"That's pretty good," Stevens said. "I like that. That's a good place to start. If we can keep moving the ball like that, again, I think we'll knock down a few more of those shots. I think one of the strengths of our team in the first seven days has been an unselfish nature playing the game."

Ah, unselfish. That word was tossed around a lot in postgame interviews, including by Avery Bradley, who filled in at the point guard spot for Rajon Rondo, a role Bradley will be playing for a while while Rondo (knee) is sidelined.

3. Monday's tilt was Jeff Green's first as "The Guy," also known as the player typically tabbed to lead his team in scoring most every night. Green struggled, scoring 6 points on 2-of-7 shooting from the floor, and said he noticed how the defense was focusing on him.

"All that attention is coming my way, but my shot just wasn't falling," he said.

4. He's known as "Crash" and he played as hard as his nickname indicated.

"The one thing I've learned about Gerald Wallace in my short time knowing him is he's going to give it everything he has, regardless of whether it's in practice, an exhibition game, or a regular season game," Stevens said. "That guy plays hard. And it'll be good -- I think that sets a really good tone for our team."

That appeared to be the case, according to Wallace's teammates.

"Gerald is kind of a quiet guy, but he goes so hard, man," Bradley said. "All you can do is respect him. It rubs off on me and I want to go out there and play hard for him."


5.The Celtics had six rebounds in the first half. That's not a typo. By the end of the game, they were out-rebounded, 46-26, and that wasn't too bad considering how lopsided that figure was earlier in the game.

In fact, given how the Celtics were smashed on the glass, it's surprising that the final margin was single-digits when it could've been a lot worse.


More at the link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-08-2013, 04:45 PM
http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/10/brad_stevens_kelly_olynyk_bett.html

WALTHAM – Kelly Olynyk wasn’t perfect during his preseason debut – as that 1-5 shooting can attest – but the rookie power forward demonstrated plenty of skills to excite Boston Celtics fans.

During just 19 minutes of a loss Monday night to the Toronto Raptors, he notched a team-best 5 assists – including a textbook high-low pass to teammate Jared Sullinger, and a scoop pass between two defenders to set up a fast-break Vitor Faverani dunk.

“He’s actually probably been more impressive, even, in practice,” head coach Brad Stevens said after Tuesday’s practice in Waltham. “He’s a guy that, he can do so many things. We can put a lineup out there with bigs that can really pass. He was a guy that grew late, so he played a guard position and plays it well. His savvy is going to help us.”

Olynyk, hindered by foul trouble, finished with only 4 points on the aforementioned poor shooting. The smooth shooter missed all three of his attempts from outside of the paint, notching his lone field goal with a fast-break layup from Gerald Wallace.

“He needs to be even more aggressive offensively,” said Stevens. “He can’t pass up shots for us.”

More at the link.

ZaGrannuy

ZaGranny
10-09-2013, 06:41 PM
Kelly played 17:23. He had 4 points, 1 rebound, 1 assist, 4 fouls, 4 turnovers, 1 block. I did not get to see the entire game, but I did not see the lineup that was so good the other night of Kelly, Sullinger, and Gerald.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-10-2013, 06:58 PM
WALTHAM – Avery Bradley spilled the beans: Brad Stevens occasionally raises his voice.

Said Bradley, “One thing I heard him say to Kelly (Olynyk) and (Jared) Sullinger. He yelled at them on the bench (suring Wednesday’s preseason loss to the New York Knicks), ‘Don’t ever pass up an open 3.’ He wants us to take open, smart shots."

Wait, Stevens shouts at players?

“Well, not yell, but talk loudly,” Bradley smiled Thursday after practice at the team's practice facility. “He doesn’t really yell.”

If the Boston Celtics coach did, he would be imploring even his big men to release 3-pointers whenever they see a good look. The Celtics have ended multiple practices with a shooting drill that features everyone on the team – from centers down to point guards – taking shots from beyond the arc. While Stevens cautioned not to read too far into the habit (“once you say you can shoot 2s, guys just shoot 8-footers,” he said), twelve-year veteran Gerald Wallace said he hasn’t seen all-inclusive 3-point drills since his rookie year with the Sacramento Kings.

http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/10/boston_celtics_practice_notes_1.html

More at link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-11-2013, 05:53 PM
Kelly started and played 25:26. He had 13 points, 2 rebounds, 1 assist, 4 fouls, 3 steals. 2 TO's, 1 BS, 1 BA

I didn't see the start of the game, but in the 4th quarter with Sully, and Wallace, he looked really good.

ZaGranny

willandi
10-12-2013, 06:03 PM
Kelly Olynyk, PF 25 5-6 1-2 4-4 1 5 6 3 2 1 1 3 +15 15

Oregonzagnut
10-12-2013, 08:22 PM
Kelly Olynyk, PF 25 5-6 1-2 4-4 1 5 6 3 2 1 1 3 +15 15

Huge Game!! Good Job Kelly!!

http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/new-york-knicks-boston-celtics-2013101202/

ZaGranny
10-12-2013, 10:43 PM
Thanks for posting. I just finished watching the recorded game after getting back from K in the k.. kelly looked fantastic!

As a side note, at k in the k they had a video message from KO which brought a tear my eye. I'm gonna miss that guy!

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-13-2013, 10:02 AM
http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/10/boston_celtics_vs_new_york_kni_17.html

Great article on Kelly and the Celtics


MANCHESTER, N.H. – Boston Celtics head coach Brad Stevens will never frown about rookie Kelly Olynyk scoring points, especially when the big man does so with the efficiency level he managed during Saturday night’s win over the New York Knicks.

But even when Olynyk does not pour in buckets, Stevens believes he helps out.

“I thought Kelly was pretty good, and he has been good,” Stevens said after the rookie finished with 15 points and six rebounds on 5-6 shooting in the 111-81 victory. “The thing about Kelly is he makes your team better when he’s on the court. And sometimes that shows up in box scores, sometimes it doesn’t. But all the minutes that he can gain in this setting, the better.”

Olynyk’s passing ability has stood out throughout the preseason, and his skill level is obvious. He has struggled at times against NBA athleticism (one note to Kelly from this past week: hook shots over Tyson Chandler are not easily released), but looks capable of contributing from the start of his career.

“He’s adjusting pretty well. He’s a skilled young guy,” said teammate Brandon Bass. “I think he has a bright future ahead of him.”


MOre at the link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-13-2013, 10:07 AM
http://hardwoodhoudini.com/2013/10/13/celtics-notch-first-win-pre-season-111-81-new-york-knicks/

Kelly “Fear the Hair” Olynyk scored 15 points and grabbed 6 rebounds, the Boston Celtics scored the first ten points of the game, and the New York Knicks rested pretty much every starter they had, all of which amounted to a 111-81 win for the Cs in their fourth preseason contest.

Don’t get me wrong – the Celtics fought the Knicks tooth-and-nail just three nights ago, and a win is a win, especially a 30-point trouncing. It was good to see Olynyk get some more press, too:


Olynyk is going to be fun to watch this season, as he is a high-energy player who can provide a nice boost off of the bench for the Celtics. I’m glad he had such a great performance tonight.

More at the link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-14-2013, 08:01 AM
http://bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2013/10/rookie_kelly_olynyk_wows_celtics_with_hoop_smarts

On Friday night, the Celtics dressed in the locker room of the University of Delaware’s women’s volleyball team. Kelly Olynyk hung his clothing in a place that, according to the nameplate, is generally reserved for someone named Katie.
On Saturday, the Celts used the room of the American Hockey League’s Manchester Monarchs, and the rookie changed in the spot used by a left winger named Andy. Olynyk felt much better — and not because Kelly minded being Katie or anything.
“This is hockey. I feel at home,” said the Canadian 7-footer.
More to the C’s interests, Olynyk is feeling even more comfortable when he leaves the dressing quarters. Four games into his first NBA preseason, he has shown himself to be basketball wise beyond his 22 years.
Like last year’s top draftee, Jared Sullinger — himself just 21 — Olynyk is impressing his teammates with his IQ for the game.
“From practice and the first games, you can see he’s got a good feel for the game,” said Brandon Bass, a veteran who will battle for time in the rotation with Olynyk. “Some guys are just basketball savvy, and I think he’s one of those guys. It’s still early. We’ll see how it goes.”
Swingman Courtney Lee has learned already to stay aware when Olynyk has the ball. If he finds an open space, there’s a better than average chance that the kid, if he has the ball, will find him.
And it’s this quality that will endear him further to his mates as the season progresses. In the course of the 82-game marathon, players hate when their successful cuts go unrewarded.
“He has a good feel for the game,” said Lee, echoing the theme that always seems to arise, even in separate conversations. “We’ve got sets in now that allow everybody to showcase their ability. He’s comfortable, and he’s capable of making those plays.
“The more we get used to this system and get used to each other and playing with each other, it’ll go even better. But he’s showing he’s good.”
Thus far, Olynyk has shot just 43.8 percent from the floor, but some of that can be attributed to orientation issues. The Celtics know he has a clean stroke from the outside, and they fully expect it to bear fruit.
“It’s always good to play with a good-passing big man,” said Lee, “but he’s also a big man who can shoot, so he’ll be able to stretch the floor for us. Him, Sully, BB and (Kris) Humphries are big men that can shoot, so that opens the floor up and makes everything easier.”
- See more at: http://bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2013/10/rookie_kelly_olynyk_wows_celtics_with_hoop_smarts# sthash.NNEm5rug.dpuf

More at the link

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-14-2013, 04:15 PM
There is a really neat segment with Kelly Olynyk on the Celtics preview on NBA TV. They appear to re-run these previews. The next time it is listed is Thursday at 5:00 AM, so I have it set to record. If you get NBA TV, it might be a fun thing to record.

(I don't know that I'd get up at 5:00 AM to watch it--but then I don't do 5:00 AM.)

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-15-2013, 08:04 PM
Kelly had a good game but fouled out in 19:50. He had 10 points, 4 rebounds, 2 assist, 6 fouls, 1 steal, 3 Turnovers

From the Box Score nuggets on the Celtics site:


Kelly Olynyk fouled out of the game.
Olynyk scored 10 points, grabbed four rebounds and dished out two assists. The Celtics outscored the Nets by 10 points while he was on the floor.


As far as I could tell, the game was not on TV.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-16-2013, 02:43 PM
Celtics on NBA League Pass at 4:00 (561 Dish)

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-16-2013, 04:14 PM
Kelly had (according to the announcers) his best 5 minutes of basket ball in the NBA. He had 11 points.

It was fun to see him banging against Austin Daye.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-16-2013, 05:49 PM
Kelly played 25:56/. He had 13 points, 9 rebounds (3 offensive) and six fouls.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-17-2013, 04:22 PM
Naturally, with the board down today, there were lots of great stories about Kelly. I'll just post the links and a teaser:
1.
http://bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2013/10/raptors_inspired_young_kelly_olynyk

Canada’s sole remaining NBA city is not going to crack many Top Ten lists as a treasured player stop. But for Kelly Olynyk, last night’s exhibition game against the Raptors carried as much meaning as Brad Stevens will feel in his return to Indianapolis as an NBA coach later this season.

The Celtics rookie spent his first 13 years in Toronto, where his father Ken coached the University of Toronto’s men’s team, and his mother Arlene was not only a basketball referee, but a member of the Raptors’ original scoring crew.

Raptors history may not be particularly rich, but Olynyk can chronicle it by heart, by names. Asked about what he remembered — asked to name a favorite player — and Olynyk’s voice accelerated as he started to recount.

He didn’t have a player, because all of those former Raptors appear to have been his favorite players. The only thing he didn’t do was alphabetize the names.

2.
http://bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2013/10/raptors_edge_celtics_99_97_in_preseason

TORONTO — Terrence Ross scored 19 points, Landry Fields had 14 and the Toronto Raptors beat Boston 99-97 on Wednesday night, handing the Celtics their fifth loss in six preseason games.
MarShon Brooks scored 17 points, 15 of them in the final quarter, and Kelly Olynyk fouled out with 13 points and nine rebounds for the Celtics.
- See more at: http://bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2013/10/raptors_edge_celtics_99_97_in_preseason#sthash.b1W sWQuD.dpuf

3.
http://espn.go.com/boston/nba/story/_/id/9839882/lots-questions-answerQ: How soon until Olynyk and Sullinger are both starting and do you see the C's trading Rondo at any point? -- @KaraokeJack (via Twitter)

A: The Celtics have seemingly been at their best this preseason when Olynyk and/or Sullinger have been on the court. I need to see it more during the regular season to know if it's sustainable to have them together, but you certainly have to like the way it would spread the floor offensively (something that has helped Gerald Wallace during the exhibition season when paired with those two). Defensively, I wonder if that pairing is still too young to sustain, but these are the sort of things we'll find out during the regular season. I think it's possible that, later in the season, these two could both be starters, particularly if Boston's roster gets an in-season overhaul. As for Rondo, I just don't see any reason to trade him anytime soon. You're not getting a top 15 player in return and the only way you move him next summer is if you determine -- for whatever reason -- he's simply not the guy you want to build around.

4.
http://espn.go.com/blog/boston/celtics/post/_/id/4707455/only-whistles-have-slowed-olynyk

Unfortunately for Boston Celtics rookie Kelly Olynyk, the most eye-catching stat on his cumulative preseason box score might be his foul total. The 22-year-old has been whistled for a team-high 25 infractions through six games (Jared Sullinger owns the next highest total on the team at 17) and Olynyk fouled out during both nights of Boston's back-to-back against the Nets and Raptors this week.

NBA referees don't let rookies get away with much and it's particularly difficult to hide when you're a 7-footer with flowing hair like Olynyk. Fortunately for him, the rest of his stat line reflects well. Olynyk is plus-39 in plus-minus over Boston's last three games and a big reason why the Celtics have been more competitive than they were at the start of the exhibition season.

5.
http://nesn.com/2013/10/kelly-olynyk-loaded-with-pleasant-surprises-for-celtics-so-far-in-preseason/

Olynyk was the Celtics’ best player against the Raptors on Wednesday, even as MarShon Brooks surpassed his 13 points. Olynyk scored those points on 6-of-7 shooting and added a game-high nine rebounds. He did not block a shot Wednesday — that still is not one of his strengths — but he has blocked four this preseason, tying Vitor Faverani for second-most on the club behind Kris Humphries and Green, with five apiece. He does not fall into the stereotype of a pretty-boy big man who would rather fire away 20-footers than get his hands dirty. Even if his defense lacks polish, it does not lack for effort. That is why Stevens is not willing to throw out the baby with the bath water after Olynyk fouled out in just under 26 minutes in Toronto. “He plays so hard,” Stevens told reporters. “He’s got to pick his spots a little bit. The one thing is, he’s always trying. He’s always trying to do his job well. I’d rather that be the case than not.” Olynyk has been his own worst critic, which is refreshing as veterans like Green have shrugged off their obvious inconsistency as merely a product of the preseason. The first step to improving is admitting there is a problem, or at least an area of improvement. Olynyk knows he has things to work on, but the list is not nearly as long as it could be.

Read more at: http://nesn.com/2013/10/kelly-olynyk-loaded-with-pleasant-surprises-for-celtics-so-far-in-preseason/

6.
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/sports/basketball/kelly-olynyk-room-to-grow/article14900368/

The Canadian says he’s thankful for the guidance he’s been offered from one of the greatest assist men in today’s game, Celtics point guard Rajon Rondo.

“He has a wealth of knowledge, and to have that at your fingertips is pretty special,” Olynyk said. “I’m definitely looking forward to playing with him when he’s back [from injury], because he’s a real special player.”

The youngster has been getting used to the life of a professional athlete in Boston, signing autographs and taking in Patriots and Red Sox games. An NBA.com camera crew even followed the rookie as he went house-hunting.

“I’m having fun. Every time I get to play the game of basketball, it’s a blessing, especially at this level,” he said. “It’s my passion and my joy.”

7.

http://www.tsn.ca/nba/story/?id=434330

TORONTO - Kelly Olynyk was calm, cool and collected in his first NBA game at the Air Canada Centre.

He let his game do the talking.

Standing in front of a Celtics backdrop with his trademark locks and quiet confidence less than an hour before Wednesday's preseason game, Olynyk downplayed a night he had been dreaming about for some time.

"It's something you dream about when you're a kid," said Boston's 22-year-old rookie, "especially growing up in Toronto, being born and raised in Toronto here."

The Toronto native, who relocated to Kamloops, B.C. as a teenager, played well beyond his years just six exhibition games into his promising NBA career.

"It was special," he admitted after scoring 13 points and adding nine boards in a 99-97 preseason loss to the Raptors. "It felt good to get out on the court I grew up watching and grew up idolizing. I got into the game pretty quick."

Enjoy all the reads!

ZaGranny

ZagNative
10-17-2013, 07:51 PM
Highlight video, "Kelly Olynyk 15 points vs New York Knicks 10/12/13 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5pfcwoQ9UUE&list=TLcg4xnfmb4d0bZZA6o74_bwN2ypCtVz3w)"

and another, :"Kelly Olynyk 13 points,9 rebounds vs Toronto Raptors (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1h0-b0t7eeA)"

ZaGranny
10-19-2013, 08:09 AM
http://www.rantsports.com/nba/2013/10/18/kelly-olynyk-has-an-ideal-situation-in-boston-celtics/

Olynyk embodies the new era of Boston basketball and the youth movement that has overtaken the organization. Aside from simply being young and tall, the Gonzaga product also shoots a nasty 3-ball someone of his stature, a quality that will fit nicely with Head Coach Brad Stevens’ offense, which tends to be reliant on shooting from behind the arc. The Stevens-Olynyk pairing also works nicely because Stevens predecessor, Doc Rivers, had habit of under-using rookies.


In reality, the Celtics team of last year would prove to be a tough environment for Olynyk. He wouldn’t be getting many minutes, and the minutes he did get would be fought over between himself and vastly different players. However, this version of the Celtics is exactly the right place for Olynyk. He may go from “good addition” to “dark horse Rookie of the Year” candidate pretty quickly. Whether he wants to slam it home, or fire away from downtown, Olynyk is in the right place to do so.

More at the link

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-20-2013, 04:33 PM
Kelly played 19:24. He had 4 points, 6 rebounds (2 Offensive), 2 assists, 3 fouls, 1 TO.

He matched up against Ronny a few times.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-20-2013, 05:15 PM
I thought this was a fun story.

http://www.kamloopsnews.ca/article/20131018/KAMLOOPS0201/131019870/-1/kamloops02/sports-briefs-south-kam-to-hold-kelly-olynyk-night

South Kamloops secondary is getting ready to play host to Kelly Olynyk night, which is set to honour its distinguished alumnus and raise money and awareness for prostate cancer charities.

The night will coincide with Olynyk’s NBA regular-season debut. Olynyk, a first-round pick of the Celtics, will lead Boston into the regular season against the Milwaukee Bucks on Nov. 1.

The Kelly Olynyk Night is set to begin at 3:45, with the game to be shown on a big screen starting at 4:30. There will be videos, games, prizes and food.

more at link

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-20-2013, 06:26 PM
Gonzaga rookies in the NBA: Kelly Olynyk and Elias Harris update

The NBA season is just over a week away with tip off set for October 29th. Gonzaga has two rookies currently in the NBA in Kelly Olynyk and Elias Harris, and both have gotten off to decent starts so far.

Both Olynyk and Harris are trying to establish themselves on the Celtics and Lakers. Harris is fighting for one of the last spots on the Lakers roster, while Olynyk is working at becoming a starter for the new look Celtics.


Kelly Olynyk was drafted 13th overall by the Celtics and has some expectations to live up to. After the team went through a major overhaul trading away Paul Pierce and Kevin Garnett, Olynyk is expected to begin the rebuilding process.

Thus Far, Olynyk has not disappointed. After his stellar NBA summer league, Olynyk has not slowed down. Averaging 11 points per game, Olynyk has been efficient. In his past three-preseason game he has shot over 62 % from the field, two of those he even shot over 80% from the field. Olynyk’s game is about efficiency and thus far he has been able to show it. The Celtics currently have a very crowded backcourt with Jared Sullinger, Kris Humphries, Gerald Wallace, and Brandon Bass. Olynyk may be able to win over the starting center position, but it will be interesting to see how the Celtics lineup shapes out.


I'll put the Elias part in the Elias thread.

More on Kelly at the link.

http://isportsweb.com/2013/10/20/gonzaga-rookies-nba-kelly-olynyk-elias-harris-update/

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-22-2013, 09:02 AM
http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/10/2013_nba_gm_survey_results_kel.html

With a great summer league and a solid, albeit unspectacular, preseason, Boston Celtics rookie Kelly Olynyk has already impressed general managers throughout the NBA.

According to a polling of all 30 general managers for the league's annual GM survey, Olynyk was named the 2013 draft's biggest steal. The 22-year old Celtics big man, , selected with the 13th pick in June's draft, also finished fifth in a projection of which rookie will be the best player five years from now, behind only Victor Oladipo, Anthony Bennett, Cody Zeller and Ben McLemore.

More at link

Another article on the same subject:

http://www.celticsblog.com/2013/10/22/4866310/olynyk-bradley-and-rondo-land-on-gm-survery

Olynyk, Bradley, and Rondo land on GM survery (sic)


Several Celtics were featured in a survery taken by all 30 general managers around the league. Boston wasn't picked to win the Atlantic division, the Eastern Conference, or the NBA Finals, but there were some bright spots. Ainge got some votes for making the best off-season moves this summer, including drafting Kelly Olynyk. Olynyk finished fifth in "which rookie will be the best player in five years" and first in "biggest steal." Avery Bradley tied for fourth for "best perimeter defender."

More at link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
10-23-2013, 02:36 PM
Heads-up--it is their last pre-season game and the only one that will be on ESPN this pre-season.

ZaGranny

scott257
10-23-2013, 02:56 PM
Heads-up--it is their last pre-season game and the only one that will be on ESPN this pre-season.

ZaGranny

Thanks for the heads up. I have my drink in hand and am ready for tip off.

jazzdelmar
10-23-2013, 03:16 PM
Celts are atrocious. Feel for KO playing with that dreck....

75Zag
10-23-2013, 03:19 PM
Celts are atrocious. Feel for KO playing with that dreck....

Agree, but maybe playing on a team of losers, misfits and over-the-hill guys will allow KO to shine brightly?

Just trying to find the pony in the pile of horse ****.

Go Bulldogs!

jazzdelmar
10-23-2013, 03:22 PM
Agree, but maybe playing on a team of losers, misfits and over-the-hill guys will allow KO to shine brightly?

Just trying to find the pony in the pile of horse ****.

Go Bulldogs!


Good luck with that, cowboy. Very selfishly, I watch and envision him back with GU one mo' year.

katman50
10-23-2013, 06:31 PM
The Celtics won their second game. You have to remember, at times they have 3 rookies on the floor. At any rate, Kelly had an efficient game. 4-8 from the field, 6 boards, and 9 points. He had a particularly good move with one minute left in the game. Nice dribble and cross-over from the foul line to the basket. Reminded me of his moves last year. The commentators once again were singing praises for KO. Again, he is maybe the 4th option. Plays smart. Doesn't gun it whenever her gets the ball. He is going to be fine. This was the final pre-season game. Don't know if he will start, but he is going to be a worthwhile contributor. Would love to see, maybe 10 ppg and at least 4 boards, and 3 assists.

ZaGranny
10-23-2013, 06:37 PM
Kelly started played 34:02. He had a really good game--hopefully indicative of what he can do with more minutes.

He had 9 points, 6 rebounds, 1 assist, 1 steal, 1 foul, 1 block. 4 of 8 shoting, and 1 of 3 3 pointers. No turnovers.

I also really liked the lineup of Olynyk, Faverani, Wallace, Pressey and Bradley. They looked really good together.

ZaGranny