PDA

View Full Version : We Need to Sell Out the Toyota Charity Classic (Dan Dickau's event)



ZagNative
08-20-2007, 11:33 AM
There's another thread on this below, but I just wanted to post this separately to encourage all Spokane Zags to buy tickets for the game and sell it out. Last year I was surprised at the number of empty seats.

It's a charity event and NBA players have come from all over the country, so I feel as if the cost of the tickets shouldn't be a deterrent, so long as we have two shekels to rub against each other - and if Jannero Pargo comes again, I'd like Jeremy to be able to show him the kind of support the Zags get in Spokane. Maybe we'll get a chance to see this again:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/NBA/Morrison/DickauandBankhead.jpg

Here's a link to the story on the Review (http://www.spokesmanreview.com/sports/story.asp?ID=205108) last friday.


"At the end of three years, we'd refocus and see if it was worth continuing to do," said Dickau, who was traded from Portland to New York on draft day. "The way it's been growing has been great and hopefully it's an event we can continue to do past this year. It really makes it worthwhile and hopefully the community enjoys it and will continue to support it."
....
The game, which has seen scores of 181-155 and 141-135, features NBA players and ex-Zags. A tentative list of NBA players expected to join Dickau and Morrison includes Luke Ridnour, Robert Swift, Jannero Pargo (older brother of current GU guard Jeremy Pargo), Ime Udoka, Freddie Jones, Danny Granger and Casey Jacobsen.

Derek Raivio, Tony Skinner, Richie Frahm, Matt Santagelo, Kyle Bankhead and Ryan and Colin Floyd are among the former Zags likely to participate.

Hines said Ronny Turiaf (France) and J.P. Batista (Brazil) have commitments with their respective national teams.

"I couldn't tell you exactly who's coming, but a lot of guys have told me they'll be there and I think we're going to have as good a roster as we've ever had," Dickau said.

Link to Dan's website, where you can order tickets for pickup at Will Call (http://www.dandickaubasketball.com/charity_classic_celebrity_poker_tournament.cfm).

See ya Thursday!

jbslicer
08-20-2007, 11:48 AM
Are they going to sell hot dogs for $1? It works for the Spokane Chiefs and Indians.

JLGutrocks
08-20-2007, 12:02 PM
Me and 5 buddies are goin.

spudzag
08-20-2007, 12:07 PM
I'll be there with a group too.

ZagNative
08-20-2007, 12:16 PM
Who else is going?

Hoping to see this guy there:


http://www.nba.com/media/hornets/300_Pargo2_17Oct2006.jpg

From this Jannero Pargo page (http://www.nba.com/hornets/news/NBA_Superlatives_Pargo_17Oct2006.html).

Zagdawg
08-20-2007, 12:20 PM
I have not seen any marketing/advertising---

I would expect to see/hear something -- maybe I have not watched enough tv--listened to enough radio.

Word of mouth works-- but it has its limitations--

ZagNut08
08-20-2007, 12:28 PM
santangelo was on the news the other day promoting it

I will try and get some buddies to go...but ticket prices are keeping a lot students from eagerly going

Zag509
08-20-2007, 12:59 PM
Its worth it for a little fun, plus its for charity.

lothar98zag
08-20-2007, 01:05 PM
santangelo was on the news the other day promoting it

I will try and get some buddies to go...but ticket prices are keeping a lot students from eagerly going
plenty of $18 tix available.

ZagNative
08-20-2007, 01:37 PM
Ime Udoka, Dan's former teammate with the Blazers, is expected to be there:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/NBA/Other%20Teams/Imeudoka.jpg

Regarding the pub, I didn't think they had enough last year either.

ZagNative
08-20-2007, 01:52 PM
I'd like to see this young man there:


http://graphics.fansonly.com/photos/schools/gonz/sports/m-baskbl/99-00action/ncaa/9-lg.jpg

"Richie Frahm drives past Louisville forward Dion
Edward during second half. Frahm scored 31 points."
2000 NCAA Tournament.

More pics from the 2000 NCAA Tournament (http://gozags.cstv.com/sports/m-baskbl/ncaa-gallery.html)

We owe so much to guys like Richie ...

LynetteG
08-20-2007, 02:59 PM
I'll be there :) Plus I'll be at David's for the pre-funct.

See this thread for more info about who is going to be there. It's nearly sold out http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=4645

Proudzagmom
08-20-2007, 03:11 PM
This is such a fun event and I get to spend time with my kiddo before she starts school again next week. See y'all there!!!

ZagNative
08-20-2007, 03:24 PM
I just called TicketsWest (509.325-7328), and there is a chance we could sell this thing out if we show some of that famous Zags detrmination! The person I spoke to said he couldn't tell for sure, but that he would guess the amount of remaining tickets to be:

$75 - sold out
$36 - a few left
$24 - Maybe 200
$18 - Maybe 80

At that rate, I wouldn't count on getting in if you show up without a ticket. If you want to order tickets for pickup at will call, I'd suggest calling rather than using the website, because I think you might have more flexibility in picking your seat location.

ZagNative
08-20-2007, 03:38 PM
Mr. Santagelo likely to appear on the floor, only this time not in Benetton Treviso green:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/NBA/Others/MattSantangeloofBennetonTreviso.jpg

ZagNative
08-20-2007, 04:01 PM
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/NBA/Other%20Teams/LukeRidnour.jpg[/IMG]

I liked this John Blanchette column (http://www.spokesmanreview.com/local/story_txt.asp?date=101703&ID=s1425778)about Luke's Spokane connections.


Ridnour's route to NBA could have gone through here
John Blanchette discovers that Sonics rookie almost was an East Valley Knight.

October 17, 2003

Saturday's game [in October 2003] is supposed to be the Return of the Native. Ridnour was born 22 years ago just across the stateline when his father, Rob, coached at Post Falls High School and had his toddler son "playing by the time he was walking."

Rob Ridnour had done his own playing at Shadle Park High School ("Loved those tripleheaders at the old Coliseum," he said), Spokane Community College and Eastern Washington. By the mid-'80s, he had returned to the community college to assist Sam Brasch.

It was there that Luke Ridnour got his first "pub."

A newspaper profile of CCS standout and Spokane playground legend Bobby Jack Sumler included a picture that showed him in a defensive stance, wings extended -- guarding none other than 5-year-old Lukas Ridnour.

Ridnour played with the legendary Bobby Jack. Wow.

mendiant
08-20-2007, 04:37 PM
I'll be there :) Plus I'll be at David's for the pre-funct.

See this thread for more info about who is going to be there. It's nearly sold out http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=4645

Me too! :D

Looking forward to meeting lots of Zag Fans from the board.

ZagNative
08-20-2007, 06:47 PM
But the skinny kid with the flying hair will be ...


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/NBA/Morrison/amorrison101.jpg

ZagNative
08-20-2007, 07:01 PM
I hope so.


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/NBA/Others/HeatherDickau.jpg

bigblahla
08-21-2007, 04:41 AM
It's Mrs.blahla's birthday so big ,Mrs. & mini me blaha will be in attendance.

Go!! Zags!!!

spotucky
08-21-2007, 05:07 PM
Me and 3 just picked up tickets. Flying in on Thursday so I got lucky!!!

TheZagPhish
08-21-2007, 05:43 PM
Me and 3 just picked up tickets. Flying in on Thursday so I got lucky!!!

Lucky Spotucky! Woo hoo!

Zagdawg
08-21-2007, 07:18 PM
I am hoping to hear news of a sellout soon----

ZagNative
08-21-2007, 08:18 PM
The Chronicle story says the hoped-for list includes:


http://spln.imageg.net/graphics/product_images/p2550715dt.jpg

Adam had one of his best games of the season at Indiana with 30 points, and the 2nd-year Granger returned the favor with 32 at Charlotte later in the year. It will be interesting to see what they might do on a "neutral" court, which, of course, we all know K2 to be!

When I checked ticket sales on the Ticketswest website earlier tonight, there were still seats available at all levels except level 1 (the $75 seats for folks like El Voce and Hondo). Peons, still some good seats be be scarfed up so we can push this baby over the top.

Ibellibie
08-21-2007, 08:28 PM
My family and I will also be in attendance...looking forward to a fun evening! :)

mendiant
08-21-2007, 08:38 PM
I hope a lot of you who are going to the game will stop in at David's for some pre-game pizza and a brew (root or ale).

I know a few of us are planning on it, but judging from this thread, I think we could pack David's for an hour or two.

I don't know the owners' name (know him by sight alone) but I do know that he is a great Zag supporter and a true asset to the Spokane community as a whole.

This summer he had his pizza fire truck at Trinity Catholic School's Cow Plop and Block Party (one of their big fund raisers.)

It's a twofer really...meet some fellow Zags and support a great independant business owner.

Silly hats optional.

ZagNative
08-21-2007, 08:57 PM
Casey Jacobsen, signed with Memphis in late July, also one of the good guys on the list of those invited to participate:


http://www.nba.com/media/grizzlies/jacobsen-72214058-300.jpg

LynetteG
08-22-2007, 06:48 AM
Well, my husband has to attend an orientation at Jepson until 830p, so I have an extra ticket. If anyone is interested in it, please PM me. I still plan on going to David's beforehand, but looks like I'll be running solo! :)

zagzealot
08-22-2007, 08:01 AM
Count the 4 Zealot crew in attendance.

ZagNative
08-22-2007, 08:37 AM
OMG! Got to see Robert Swift's new tattoos!


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/NBA/Other%20Teams/RobertSwift-Sonics.jpg

Seattle PI - on Robert's Rehab - August 1 (http://seattlepi.nwsource.com/basketball/328013_sonx17.html?source=mypi)


He has been cleared to play 5-on-5 and said he sees a considerable difference in how he maneuvers inside against bigger players. When Swift was drafted out of Bakersfield High in 2004, he was a legitimate 7 feet but had the demeanor of Opie Taylor, unsure of himself in a man's game. A series of tattoos along with his weight-room work has helped the 21-year-old establish an identity. No longer is he the gullible guy who appeared afraid to exert his will on opponents.
...
Swift found a world outside basketball. He can't calculate how many tattoos he's received since his injury, but "it's about 120 hours of work," and he also began an exotic snake collection that includes a 10-foot python and a 14-foot yellow snake that is less menacing because it doesn't have teeth.

Now, don't say anything snarky about Robert, at least until he leaves town after graciously participating in this worthwhile charitable endeavor.

lawzag
08-22-2007, 11:59 AM
The pre-func at David's sounds like fun.
I'll definitely be there after work.
Don't worry Lynette - I'm flying solo too, so you won't be the only one.

Looks like the last few days have done quite a bit to get us near that "sell out". Go ZAGS & Friends!!!

LynetteG
08-22-2007, 03:10 PM
The pre-func at David's sounds like fun.
I'll definitely be there after work.
Don't worry Lynette - I'm flying solo too, so you won't be the only one.

Looks like the last few days have done quite a bit to get us near that "sell out". Go ZAGS & Friends!!!

LZ,
I sure haven't forgotten that someone is to yell out 'who the hell is Lawzag?' :)

lothar98zag
08-22-2007, 03:20 PM
Casey Jacobsen, signed with Memphis in late July, also one of the good guys on the list of those invited to participate:






ZN, how about a few posts about the charity?

AuntieZag
08-22-2007, 03:20 PM
Celebrating my birthday there! Yeah--me and 1,500 of my closest friends!

ZagNative
08-22-2007, 03:48 PM
ZN, how about a few posts about the charity?

Are you saying, "Enough with the posterboys already!!!"?

Actually, I did look for the info about the charities, but at the time, they didn't know which charities would benefit. I'll see what I can find.

Edited to add: The website just says "Coming Soon (http://www.dandickaubasketball.com/coming_soon.cfm)." Anyone got any better info?