PDA

View Full Version : Kelly's Draft Thread



BobZag
06-27-2013, 10:04 AM
Be sure to tune into ESPN at 4:00 PDT. We'll countdown the picks in this thread as they happen, not only for Kelly, but hopefully (fingers crossed) for Elias in 2nd Round as well.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 10:58 AM
Regarding rumors of trades ...
Andy Katz ‏@ESPNAndyKatz 15m

According to the NBA, no trades were sent in before the 2 pm trade deadline. That means draft order is set.

Draft Order (From Wiki):

1 1 Cleveland Cavaliers
1 2 Orlando Magic
1 3 Washington Wizards
1 4 Charlotte Bobcats
1 5 Phoenix Suns
1 6 New Orleans Pelicans
1 7 Sacramento Kings
1 8 Detroit Pistons
1 9 Minnesota Timberwolves
1 10 Portland Trail Blazers
1 11 Philadelphia 76ers
1 12 Oklahoma City Thunder (from Toronto via Houston)
1 13 Dallas Mavericks
1 14 Utah Jazz
1 15 Milwaukee Bucks
1 16 Boston Celtics
1 17 Atlanta Hawks
1 18 Atlanta Hawks (from Houston via Brooklyn)[a]
1 19 Cleveland Cavaliers (from LA Lakers)[b]
1 20 Chicago Bulls
1 21 Utah Jazz (from Golden State via Brooklyn)[c]
1 22 Brooklyn Nets
1 23 Indiana Pacers
1 24 New York Knicks
1 25 Los Angeles Clippers
1 26 Minnesota Timberwolves (from Memphis via Houston)[d]
1 27 Denver Nuggets
1 28 San Antonio Spurs
1 29 Oklahoma City Thunder
1 30 Phoenix Suns (from Miami via Cleveland and LA Lakers[b])[e]
2 31 Cleveland Cavaliers (from Orlando)
2 32 Oklahoma City Thunder (from Charlotte via Oklahoma City, Boston and Houston)
2 33 Cleveland Cavaliers
2 34 Houston Rockets (from Phoenix)
2 35 Philadelphia 76ers (from New Orleans)
2 36 Sacramento Kings
2 37 Detroit Pistons
2 38 Washington Wizards
2 39 Portland Trail Blazers (from Minnesota via Cleveland and Boston)
2 40 Portland Trail Blazers
2 41 Philadelphia 76ers
2 42 Memphis Grizzlies (from Toronto via Dallas and Toronto)
2 43 Milwaukee Bucks
2 44 Dallas Mavericks
2 45 Portland Trail Blazers (from Boston)
2 46 Utah Jazz
2 47 Atlanta Hawks
2 48 Atlanta Hawks (from Houston)
2 49 Los Angeles Lakers
2 50 Chicago Bulls
2 51 Orlando Magic (from Golden State via New York and Denver)
2 52 Minnesota Timberwolves (from Brooklyn via Minnesota and New Orleans)
2 53 Indiana Pacers
2 54 Washington Wizards (from New York)
2 55 Memphis Grizzlies
2 56 Detroit Pistons (from Los Angeles Clippers)
2 57 Phoenix Suns (from Denver via LA Lakers)
2 58 San Antonio Spurs
2 59 Minnesota Timberwolves (from Oklahoma City)
2 60 Memphis Grizzlies (from Miami)

webspinnre
06-27-2013, 11:42 AM
I'd love to see Elias go somewhere like San Antonio with that 58 pick. Not sure they really need him, but no one is better at utilizing role players than they are.

Nevada Don
06-27-2013, 11:46 AM
Question:
If players like Elias and Delly go undrafted, can't NBA teams still invite them to camp after the draft and sign them based on their performance to either their roster or their D-League?

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 01:04 PM
From twitter:
Kelly Olynyk ‏@KellyOlynyk 6m

Today is the day Ive been working for my whole life. Just wanna thank everyone who's helped me get where I am, so blessed! #thanks #nbadraft
Elias Harris ‏@EliasJMHarris 5h

I just wanna thank everyone for this day. It's not only about me, but also about those who have supported me and believed in my dream! Thx

ZagMan in Philly
06-27-2013, 01:22 PM
From twitter:

Great stuff. Good luck to both tonight.

scott257
06-27-2013, 01:29 PM
I watched a replay of the Gonzaga-Washington State game yesterday and that 3 point shot that Kelly sunk made me smile. It reminded me of the 3 pointer he sunk during the game against Baylor in Dallas when he was a sophomore. Those were both great (and timely) shots. At the Baylor game I remember David Stockton's gesture after Kelly sunk that shot and it stands out as one of the best memories I have of watching him play. I would be interested to hear some other Kelly stories that stand out from the past while we are waiting to see where he ends up.

scott257
06-27-2013, 01:31 PM
I watched a replay of the Gonzaga-Washington State game yesterday and that 3 point shot that Kelly sunk made me smile. It reminded me of the 3 pointer he sunk during the game against Baylor in Dallas when he was a sophomore. Those were both great (and timely) shots. At the Baylor game I remember David Stockton's gesture after Kelly sunk that shot and it stands out as one of the best memories I have of watching him play. I would be interested to hear some other Kelly stories that stand out from the past while we are waiting to see where he ends up.

Heck, I should have added that I would like to hear some stories about Elias too. This thread really should be re-named as I know we are all wanting to see Elias' name called tonight as well.

BobZag
06-27-2013, 02:06 PM
I don't know NBA teams like some of you, so what teams need a 7' stretch-4? Are any teams weak at the 4/5 position?

Zippyzaggy
06-27-2013, 02:14 PM
Somehow I feel like a kid on Christmas morning... and I can't wait for tonight! Super excited to see where KO lands and (fingers crossed), where Harris goes.

KO goes to Boston with the 16th pick.

Rollin on the E train. He'll slide in at #59 to Minnesota.

T minus 45 mins, and time for another glass of Zag Koolaid!

ZAGGED OUT
06-27-2013, 02:19 PM
I don't know NBA teams like some of you, so what teams need a 7' stretch-4? Are any teams weak at the 4/5 position?

OKC badly needs post scoring, Philly with the the whole Bynum injury saga could use another viable big, Boston in their rebuilding stage badly needs bigs (KG close to retirement, Fab Melo the only other big prospect of theirs), and even Utah might be interested (heard they were possibly shopping Kanter who is their starting 4 I believe)

75Zag
06-27-2013, 02:33 PM
Chicago needs KO's talent and at #20 it fits pretty well. The Thunder @ #12would make sense, but nothing about the NBA makes sense to me.

Good luck to KO and E.

Any of you Board Members crazy enough to drive to Kamloops to take advantage of KO's offer of free beer tonight?

Go Bulldogs!

ZaGranny
06-27-2013, 02:51 PM
Chicago needs KO's talent and at #20 it fits pretty well. The Thunder @ #12would make sense, but nothing about the NBA makes sense to me.

Good luck to KO and E.

Any of you Board Members crazy enough to drive to Kamloops to take advantage of KO's offer of free beer tonight?

Go Bulldogs!

I was crazy enough--I love Kamloops, and even like the drive--but not for the beer, just for the celebration. But Mr. ID reminded me he had a doctor's appointment today, so that wouldn't work.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 02:55 PM
Jerry Meyer likes KO:
Jerry Meyer ‏@jerrymeyer247 21m

My pick up team: Nerlens Noel, Trey Burke, Victor Oladipo, Anthony Bennett, Kelly Olynyk. I'll hand out water

gu03alum
06-27-2013, 03:32 PM
They keep showing KO!

BTB
06-27-2013, 03:35 PM
David Stern getting booed so hard

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 03:43 PM
#1 Anthony Bennett to the Cavs!

I don't believe it!

sittingon50
06-27-2013, 03:44 PM
#1 Bennett

Who bet Bennett/KO in the Daily Double?

ZagMan in Philly
06-27-2013, 03:44 PM
#1 Anthony Bennett to the Cavs!

I don't believe it!

me too...will another Canadian be the next pick??

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 03:47 PM
#2 Victor Oladipo to the Magic.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 03:53 PM
#3 Otto Porter to the Wizards

BTB
06-27-2013, 03:54 PM
I didn't think anybody in the NBA had the sense not to draft Nerlens Noel in the top 3. Apparently potential really isn't everything after all.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 03:59 PM
#4 Cody Zeller to the Bobcats

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 04:04 PM
Meyer's thoughts so far:
Jerry Meyer ‏@jerrymeyer247 4m

This draft is surreal. The "safe pick" draft. The most pedestrian top picks ever.

gu03alum
06-27-2013, 04:04 PM
David Stern getting booed so hard

I'm booing him in my living room too. There aren't many people in this world I hate more than David Stern.

gu03alum
06-27-2013, 04:05 PM
Meyer's thoughts so far:

It's been pretty entertaining so far with how unexpected the picks have been.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 04:08 PM
#5 Alex Len to the Phoenix Sun

raise the zag
06-27-2013, 04:09 PM
I didn't think anybody in the NBA had the sense not to draft Nerlens Noel in the top 3. Apparently potential really isn't everything after all.

Unbelievable potential and ceiling, yet very serious work ethic concerns. Heard execs/scouts interviewed his Physical Therapist and apparently he's missed PT appts and not quite up to snuff in regards to working his back from a serious knee injury. According to them. Nice kid, yet the exact opposite compared to a Robert Griffin III or Adrian Peterson who both rehabbed 3-4 times per day following similar knee injuries. Gotta put in the work -- injury or not. Also, it may sound ridiculous, yet its time to get a new haircut...he's had the same "fade" since he was 14 yrs old i.e. freshman in HS...and many say he acts like one too.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 04:12 PM
#6 Nerlens Noel to NO

gu03alum
06-27-2013, 04:15 PM
Block Party in New Orleans

007Zag
06-27-2013, 04:16 PM
Nerlens to N'Orleans!

gu03alum
06-27-2013, 04:16 PM
Also, it may sound ridiculous, yet its time to get a new haircut...he's had the same "fade" since he was 14 yrs old i.e. freshman in HS...and many say he acts like one too.

Yep, you're right, that is ridiculous.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 04:17 PM
#7 Ben McLemore to the Kings

Angelo Roncalli
06-27-2013, 04:17 PM
Sacto has to be thrilled to get B-Mac.

raise the zag
06-27-2013, 04:20 PM
my favorite player in the entire draft: Ben McLemore.

Next Dwayne Wade? Sounds unfair, but IDENTICAL attributes. Uber athletic, can stroke it when called upon, nice transition game, versatile, very nice/kind (on and off the court), and coachable.

Possibly the best prospect in 2013 NBA draft, imho.

BTB
06-27-2013, 04:25 PM
my favorite player in the entire draft: Ben McLemore.

Next Dwayne Wade? Sounds unfair, but IDENTICAL attributes. Uber athletic, can stroke it when called upon, nice transition game, versatile, very nice/kind (on and off the court), and coachable.

Possibly the best prospect in 2013 NBA draft, imho.

Similar, but Wade was always a supreme leader who could take over games. McLemore is a much better shooter but not a leader yet, but he's still young. Most talented player in the draft definitely though.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 04:25 PM
#8 Kentavious Caldwell-Pope to Detroit

sittingon50
06-27-2013, 04:26 PM
Bilas has Plumlee and Adams immediately ahead of Kelly. Does he jump either?

raise the zag
06-27-2013, 04:27 PM
Block Party in New Orleans

Nope. Nerlens on the move.

He has bust written all over him, in my opinion. 200 lbs, 6'11" just 8 weeks ago. Apparently gained 15 lbs in last month or so, yet would have passed on him as well. ZERO offense. Has ability or poor man's Roy Hibbert ability, yet needs to put on serious muscle, just like Austin Daye has been man-handled in the NBA...so will he. Needs to grow up. Has time and opportunity to do it thought....we'll see.

Radbooks
06-27-2013, 04:28 PM
Bilas has Plumlee and Adams immediately ahead of Kelly. Does he jump either?

I would think he'd jump Plumlee, but Adams has been getting a lot of good press lately so I don't think Kelly would jump him. But this draft has been crazy so who knows? :)

75Zag
06-27-2013, 04:30 PM
Looks like Philly has traded for Noel. Interesting if true.

Go Bulldogs!

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 04:31 PM
#9 Trey Burke to the Timberwolves

gu03alum
06-27-2013, 04:33 PM
Nope. Nerlens on the move.

He has bust written all over him, in my opinion. 200 lbs, 6'11" just 8 weeks ago. Apparently gained 15 lbs in last month or so, yet would have passed on him as well. ZERO offense. Has ability or poor man's Roy Hibbert ability, yet needs to put on serious muscle, just like Austin Daye has been man-handled in the NBA...so will he. Needs to grow up. Has time and opportunity to do it thought....we'll see.

I agree. I was really worried the Bullets would take him third and I would have to watch him next year when I go to the games.

raise the zag
06-27-2013, 04:36 PM
#9 Trey Burke to the Timberwolves

T-Wolves have 3, even 4 PG's on the roster. Gotta think they are gonna make a trade. Interesting. MN needs depth up front. Kevin Love is made of glass, although tough, very injury prone...need scoring options in the front court.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 04:37 PM
#10 C. J. McCollum to Portland

Angelo Roncalli
06-27-2013, 04:39 PM
Patriot League has a player drafted before the Pac 12. ;)

BobZag
06-27-2013, 04:41 PM
Pelicans is my favorite mascot name.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 04:44 PM
#11 Michael Carter-Williams to the Sixers

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 04:51 PM
#12 Steven Adams to OKC

sittingon50
06-27-2013, 04:53 PM
Was hopin' Kelly would land there.

BobZag
06-27-2013, 04:59 PM
Olynyk #13 to Mavs. To Celts.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 05:00 PM
#13 Kelly Olynyk to the Dallas Mavericks!

To be traded to the Boston Celtics, per Andy Katz!

zagzilla
06-27-2013, 05:00 PM
KO to Jazz?


ZZ

zagzilla
06-27-2013, 05:01 PM
Nevermind apparently the Jazz just traded that pick and more for Trey Burke

ZZ

NontradZag
06-27-2013, 05:02 PM
Best move ever. Holla!:000tens:

zagzilla
06-27-2013, 05:02 PM
KO to Mavs!

sittingon50
06-27-2013, 05:02 PM
Congratulations Kelly. Good Luck in Boston.
(you'll need it).

Congratulations David Stern. 23 (?) years as Commish and you can't pronounce Gonzaga!

gamagin
06-27-2013, 05:02 PM
Ko ! ! !

Zagdawg
06-27-2013, 05:02 PM
Good Deal -- Kelly to Boston.

Ok Kyle-- see what you can do given a little bit of time with the Zag/KO transformation program.

Radbooks
06-27-2013, 05:03 PM
Congratulations, Kelly!!! Good luck in Boston!

Marcus
06-27-2013, 05:05 PM
So happy for Kelly. Glad he went as a lottery pick too. Now the wait for Elias, hope he gets his name called tonight.

bigblahla
06-27-2013, 05:05 PM
The Celtics must think very well of TKO. Looks like a complete rebuild in Boston but Danny Ainge knows what he is doing and I love the fact he recognized Kelly has a huge upside even in the NBA.

Will be fun to see how Kelly fits in the rebuild.

Congrats TKO.

Go!! Zags!!!

zag buddy
06-27-2013, 05:06 PM
Nice going Kelly. 5.2 million for the next 3 years, not bad. With his degree completed in accounting he will be able to help many people.

DixieZag
06-27-2013, 05:07 PM
Congrats Kelly! Very excited for you.

And very shrewd move. We would have LOVED to have had you but no one can question your decision now - no way would he have gone higher next year.

Nice, a great result for a great guy based upon hard work.

75Zag
06-27-2013, 05:08 PM
Congratulations Kelly and let me be the first to introduce you to LegalSeafoods. A great Boston chain (now expanded to the Eastern Seaboard). I highly recommend their lobster "twofer" combination.

www.legalseafoods.com

Go Bulldogs!

Radbooks
06-27-2013, 05:12 PM
Nice pic from Kelly's sister:

https://twitter.com/JesseOlynyk/status/350419563101442048/photo/1

ZaGranny
06-27-2013, 05:13 PM
Congratulations, Kelly! Good Luck in Boston.

ZaGranny

tampanjzag
06-27-2013, 05:13 PM
Awesome picture of Kelly!

Jesse Olynyk ‏@JesseOlynyk 8m
@KellyOlynyk #13 goes 13th in 2013 draft! So proud of my bro! pic.twitter.com/W4qrR9IN07

gu03alum
06-27-2013, 05:16 PM
Nice pic from Kelly's sister:

https://twitter.com/JesseOlynyk/status/350419563101442048/photo/1

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BNzwvG2CUAAiZ3n.jpg:large

Marcus
06-27-2013, 05:19 PM
With Kelly going to Boston, a team in a rebuilding mode, it looks like Kelly will get lots of playing time. Count me in as a new Celtics fan.

Zagpower
06-27-2013, 05:19 PM
So if KO has been traded for three players as has been reported, is that a Zag record?

gonwick
06-27-2013, 05:19 PM
Psyched for Kelly. I think he was smart to not be there, but it seems like it would have been smart for few to be there to get some face time for the program, like other coaches who showed up. Who knows, maybe they both agreed not to show up.

Zippyzaggy
06-27-2013, 05:20 PM
I called it! KO to the Celtics.

I admit I was one who thought he should have stayed one more year to prove this season was no fluke. I thought he would be drafted higher, make more money, and do better in the league had he stayed.

Looks like I was wrong.

So what I'm sayin is... I was wrong, yet right, in the same post, lol.

Happy for KO, super sweet!

gu03alum
06-27-2013, 05:23 PM
Celticblog (http://www.celticsblog.com/2013/6/27/4472440/boston-celtics-select-kelly-olynyk-nba-draft-)


I like the pick. Kelly Olynyk grew on me the more I watched him. He has a well-developed offensive game that will fit in nicely with the Boston Celtics. I look forward to seeing him run the floor with Rajon Rondo. Olynyk has great straight line speed that would fit a potential up-tempo offense.

Olynyk probably isn't a starter down the line, but he could easily become a great sixth man for the team. If he is facing less talented players off the bench, his lack of skill on defense becomes less of a problem. He would also get the opportunity to score many baskets on the block and become a focal point as a part of the bench.

I would grade this selection as a B+. Olynyk should become a quality role player in the NBA that can providing scoring, energy, and a post presence.

scott257
06-27-2013, 05:24 PM
My guess is that Danny Ainge has been watching Kelly a lot this year.

DixieZag
06-27-2013, 05:27 PM
Knowing Kelly's proclivity for dressing - uniquely? - he wanted the single gaudiest, ugliest Celtic's hat immediately available for that picture with his sis'. And picked correctly.

doctorzag
06-27-2013, 05:27 PM
Where was Kelly tonite??

Rangerzag
06-27-2013, 05:28 PM
Good for Kelly! Curious, it didn't take them long to find multiple Celtics hats.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 05:29 PM
Where was Kelly tonite??In Kamloops. I think the bar name is Cactus Jacks.

mendiant
06-27-2013, 05:29 PM
Congrats Kelly!

scott257
06-27-2013, 05:32 PM
I really wish Kelly would have stuck here in Dallas. Mark Cuban just screwed up as far as I am concerned. At least I won't be wasting time and money going down to watch the Mavericks.

scott257
06-27-2013, 05:35 PM
What a waste of screen space that Bilas best pick is.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 05:38 PM
GoZags.com story (http://www.gozags.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=26400&ATCLID=208533460&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter)

Martin Centre Mad Man
06-27-2013, 05:38 PM
Nice. I spent this entire past season wishing the Celtics would call up Micah Downs so I could watch him play in Boston. I'll just have to watch Kelly O.

His jersey needs to read, "O'Lynyk."

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 05:44 PM
Katz Notes:
ndy Katz ‏@ESPNAndyKatz

From Celtics: They liked Olynyk for his shooting and thinking.

ZagMan in Philly
06-27-2013, 05:50 PM
Congrats Kelly!
In a way I am glad the Sixers did not pick you, this franchise is a mess.

OZZY
06-27-2013, 05:58 PM
Congratulations Kelly!

Your hard work and dedication have paid off handsomely!

Now you have the chance to show those naysayers that it is as much about what is upstairs (BB IQ) as it is downstairs (raw athleticism)!

LongIslandZagFan
06-27-2013, 06:10 PM
I am conflicted. I am happy for KO. But as a Knick fan... I hate Boston. I really really hate Boston. Like Seahawk fans used to (and some like me still do) hated the Broncos. That level of hate. Like anyone in Michigan hates Ohio State level of hate.

LongIslandZagFan
06-27-2013, 06:12 PM
Shame on the NBA for not having him there.

Congrats Kelly.

Oregonzagnut
06-27-2013, 06:15 PM
I am so happy for Kelly! Going to Boston and being the Celtics first choice is huge!! He will be a superstar in that town and the sheer history of the Celtics is truly an honor to be drafted by the team! The Celtics were an early choice in April and May to draft Kelly. But it seemed like Boston wouldn't get the chance at Kelly.

With the Celtics re-tooling and one of the oldest teams in the league, Kelly may have just hit a gold mine if he can produce and compete for ROY!!

Congratulations Kelly!

Green is your new color!

zagzilla
06-27-2013, 06:16 PM
LIZF-

I know what you mean. I felt the same way when the Lakers took Turiaf

ZZ

Radbooks
06-27-2013, 06:32 PM
LIZF-

I know what you mean. I felt the same way when the Lakers took Turiaf

ZZ

And then Sacre...

scott257
06-27-2013, 06:34 PM
Boston traded a first round and two future second round picks to get Kelly. That speaks volumes about how they feel about him. Good luck Kelly.

Mantua
06-27-2013, 06:45 PM
Big Congratulations Kelly!

The comments and clips on ESPN were great and reflected well the player we have treasured.

sittingon50
06-27-2013, 07:03 PM
Celtics getting gutted. Kelly may get good minutes on a bad team.

scott257
06-27-2013, 07:11 PM
Celtics getting gutted. Kelly may get good minutes on a bad team.

He will get good minutes on a team that is doing some serious rebuilding. If I understand correctly, this trade will end up with the Celtics having two first round picks per year for the next three years. Is that right?

UberZagFan
06-27-2013, 07:26 PM
I am conflicted. I am happy for KO. But as a Knick fan... I hate Boston. I really really hate Boston. Like Seahawk fans used to (and some like me still do) hated the Broncos. That level of hate. Like anyone in Michigan hates Ohio State level of hate.

The difference with the "rivals" hate is that just about anyone outside of Boston lovers hate the Celtics -- more like how all non-Yankees fans hate the Yankees. There not many that are indifferent or on the fence. Put Uber in LIZF's category. Not that it matters. Uber thought he'd watch more of the NBA to follow the other former Zags that have been drafted recently and that hasn't happened.

Good luck to KO!!!

whatazag
06-27-2013, 07:31 PM
wow. not the most positive analysis:

http://msn.foxsports.com/video/NBA?vid=d25b71dc-1a7f-4941-9669-ddeb303e3dbb

*WARNING* Don't watch if your jimmies are easily rustled

UberZagFan
06-27-2013, 07:32 PM
He will get good minutes on a team that is doing some serious rebuilding. If I understand correctly, this trade will end up with the Celtics having two first round picks per year for the next three years. Is that right?

Not sure how many 1st rounders the Celtics will have based on other trades, but the KO trade did not net the Celtics any picks. They gave up #16 this year and two second rounders this year.

The Mavs moved down to #18 for salary cap reasons--saved half a mill by dropping four slots or whatever it was. The two 2nd rounders they pick up next year are essentially throwaways for cap purposes.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 07:41 PM
Video: Danny Ainge talks about KO (http://www.nba.com/celtics/video/2013/06/27/20131stroundpickmp4-2523765)

75Zag
06-27-2013, 07:48 PM
I thought the great white hope comment on the Fox video link was low class. Twenty five years ago it might have been a reasonable assumption that Boston picked KO as yet another "great white hope", but in my view Boston has largely shed its racist past and has, as both a City and an NBA team, demonstrated that they are all about world class competition, and not skin color.

I do wonder whether KO is ready to hold an interior position against the best that Miami has to throw at him. I tend to doubt it, but the same could be said about just about every other 4/5 in the NBA right now.

Good luck to KO. I expect he will improve between now and October, and that we will all be proud of his accomplishments in the League.

PS - Kelly, please cut your hair. The Morrison look is bad karma for you and GU.

Go Bulldogs!

Oregonzagnut
06-27-2013, 08:03 PM
And then Sacre...

And then before both Turiaf and Sacre, in 1997 there was Paul Rogers drafted by the Lakers.


Olynyk joins a team with no coach and that has traded its 2 biggest stars to the Brooklyn Nets in a deal that would signal a major rebuilding for the squad that won the 2008 NBA title.

Zagdawg
06-27-2013, 08:24 PM
Great opportunity to be part of the rebuild a storied franchise.

No expectations due to the huge changes.

Oregonzagnut
06-27-2013, 08:28 PM
Great opportunity to be part of the rebuild a storied franchise.

No expectations due to the huge changes.

Or the opposite pressure. Kelly was the top Celtic pick this year and he will have the chance to lead if he can put in the work. Colton Iverson was also drafted. I'm sure he was hoping for a few minutes playing with Garnett and Pierce and Terry. Nets will be VERY good next year.

The Celtics fans will be following Kelly with a huge spotlight on him to produce.. Possibly more than any other NBA team due to the sheer cleaning house Boston just did.

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 08:44 PM
From twitter:
Elias Harris ‏@EliasJMHarris 16m

Thx for all the support. It's not the end of the world. There is more than one way to achieve my goal. #keepingthedreamalive

ZagNative
06-27-2013, 08:50 PM
Twitter:
Jonathan Givony ‏@DraftExpress 3m

DraftExpress once again had the most accurate mock (by a good margin) in terms of the number of players projected that actually got picked.

sittingon50
06-27-2013, 08:58 PM
I like Marques & respect his opinion. He said "excuse the expression" before his great white hope remark. To me it was just to convey a point in a more descriptive way. No problems.

The other guy. Because he's white he's gotta' be Kevin McHale or Larry Bird? Now that's plain stupid.

gamagin
06-27-2013, 09:01 PM
From twitter:

Good Luck and happy life, EH

Thanks for the memories.

LongIslandZagFan
06-27-2013, 09:22 PM
wow. not the most positive analysis:

http://msn.foxsports.com/video/NBA?vid=d25b71dc-1a7f-4941-9669-ddeb303e3dbb

*WARNING* Don't watch if your jimmies are easily rustled

Not for nothing... hardly a good analysis. Not sure either of them saw him actually play outside of highlights.

UberZagFan
06-27-2013, 09:26 PM
That Crispin guy lost all credibility when he said Olynyk did not play at a top program.

SwainZag
06-27-2013, 09:38 PM
Great night to be a Zag fan. Still sad to see Kelly leave early but to see him go so high in the draft is awesome. Best of luck to you Kelly! I really hope some team finds room for EH on their roster.

Hoopaholic
06-27-2013, 09:41 PM
Congrats. Ko....enjoy the ride.

LongIslandZagFan
06-27-2013, 09:44 PM
That Crispin guy lost all credibility when he said Olynyk did not play at a top program.

Bingo... when he said that the rest turned into blah blah blah

NumberCruncher
06-27-2013, 10:34 PM
Congratulations, Kelly O.

Number 13 is the 13th pick in the '13 draft.

SWZag
06-27-2013, 11:09 PM
Congrats Kelly! Hard work does pay off!

SWZag

bostonzagfan
06-27-2013, 11:46 PM
As a celtics fan I'm not pleased. One analyst said kelly could someday be the focal point offensively of a bench unit and I agree with that. On defense you need a rim protector at center in the nba and kelly is mot that. I would like to see him come in for six minutes a half when the opposing wings are on thr bench so he doesn't meed to worry about helpside defense too much and also can get a lot of touches. He works as a floor spacer offensively with his midrange shot. Obviously with the celtics rebuilding ko will play more tham that as he should. I referring to when the celtics are a playoff team again.

I think kelly was a safe pick but notbhigh upside

BTB
06-27-2013, 11:53 PM
Congratulations, Kelly O.

Number 13 is the 13th pick in the '13 draft.

Coincidence? I think not!

bigblahla
06-28-2013, 05:18 AM
Not for nothing... hardly a good analysis. Not sure either of them saw him actually play outside of highlights.

Johnson is one of the biggest UCLA homers ever, not as big as Walton but maybe 2nd in line. He never has anything good to say about GU or players who attend GU.

Go!! Zags!!!

cjm720
06-28-2013, 06:13 AM
Congratulations Kelly! All your hard work has paid off...

jazzdelmar
06-28-2013, 06:27 AM
Crispin just filling air time. Johnson I thought was fair, save for the stupid white hope and comparison to Bird and Mchale. Nice shout out to coach Daniels, obviously a UCLA thing.

JPtheBeasta
06-28-2013, 06:56 AM
As a celtics fan I'm not pleased. One analyst said kelly could someday be the focal point offensively of a bench unit and I agree with that. On defense you need a rim protector at center in the nba and kelly is mot that. I would like to see him come in for six minutes a half when the opposing wings are on thr bench so he doesn't meed to worry about helpside defense too much and also can get a lot of touches. He works as a floor spacer offensively with his midrange shot. Obviously with the celtics rebuilding ko will play more tham that as he should. I referring to when the celtics are a playoff team again.

I think kelly was a safe pick but notbhigh upside

Pau Gasol, Dirk Nowitski, Zach Randolph: none of these guys have athleticism. Heck, neither Paul Pierce or Garnet score their points by being athletic. Give Kelly a chance.

With the big trade of Pierce and Garnet it looks like Kelly will likely get his chance right away. I think you play him at the four and let him focus on his offense. Put a defensive-minded center on the floor beside him. Kelly's strength would seem to be using his height and skills against a power forward, as this would remediate some of his lack of athleticism and shorter arms. You also don't typically expect or want your center stepping out and shooting threes. It doesn't make sense to play Kelly regularly as a 5, to me.

I think the bigger issue for the Celtics is the bull-headed and injured Rajon Rondo. There are reports by SI that Doc Rivers tried to go to blows with him in the locker room and that their animosity towards each other is the reason Rondo has been on the trade block for the past two years. Seeing the Rivers trade and Rondo's demeanor on the court, I tend to believe the stories.

thespywhozaggedme
06-28-2013, 06:59 AM
Celtics fan board thread about him. Warning, lots of major d'bags:

http://forums.realgm.com/boards/view...?f=8&t=1258723

TexasZagFan
06-28-2013, 07:13 AM
As a celtics fan I'm not pleased. One analyst said kelly could someday be the focal point offensively of a bench unit and I agree with that. On defense you need a rim protector at center in the nba and kelly is mot that. I would like to see him come in for six minutes a half when the opposing wings are on thr bench so he doesn't meed to worry about helpside defense too much and also can get a lot of touches. He works as a floor spacer offensively with his midrange shot. Obviously with the celtics rebuilding ko will play more tham that as he should. I referring to when the celtics are a playoff team again.

I think kelly was a safe pick but notbhigh upside

Kelly's had one actual season's worth of work playing inside. Give him another year to get stronger and get used to the grind of an 82 game schedule.

He's already dynamite on the open floor. With a PG like Rondo, take advantage of it.

Robzagnut
06-28-2013, 07:22 AM
As a celtics fan I'm not pleased. One analyst said kelly could someday be the focal point offensively of a bench unit and I agree with that. On defense you need a rim protector at center in the nba and kelly is mot that. I would like to see him come in for six minutes a half when the opposing wings are on thr bench so he doesn't meed to worry about helpside defense too much and also can get a lot of touches. He works as a floor spacer offensively with his midrange shot. Obviously with the celtics rebuilding ko will play more tham that as he should. I referring to when the celtics are a playoff team again.

I think kelly was a safe pick but notbhigh upside

KO has only had one year as a starter and look at what he accomplished. He is only going to get better, much better. He’s a hard worker and once he’s had another year or two working on his post game, he is going to shine, because that will allow him to play inside or out depending on matchups. He wants to get better and puts in the time. You can’t teach his ability to make a pass and his ability to see the floor. Not many 7 footers were point guards.

When he gets the ball at the free throw line he is fun to watch. He can drive, hit the shot, make an entry pass, pick & pop, or hit the open cutter. He is a player that makes others around him better. Finally, he is smart. He’s already got his degree and was working on his Masters. Trading up to get him was a smart move by Ainge as he wasn’t going to be there at the 16th pick.

What team wouldn’t want a highly intelligent 7 footer, who shoots with range that has point guard passing skills standing at the free throw line with the ball in his hand? The NBA is about matchups and he will create problems.

rijman
06-28-2013, 07:28 AM
I'm very happy for KO going 13th, good for him. Not thrilled with him going to a rebuilding team that also traded away their coach. Hopefully KO will get lots of PT and the Celtics turn it around sooner rather than later.

Robzagnut
06-28-2013, 07:44 AM
I'm very happy for KO going 13th, good for him. Not thrilled with him going to a rebuilding team that also traded away their coach. Hopefully KO will get lots of PT and the Celtics turn it around sooner rather than later.

I agree.

The Celtics were my inherited team once the Sonics moved. It would have been nice to see KO get a year playing and learning under Garnett. But, the three #1 draft picks that Ainge got will help them rebuild pretty quickly.

I also fully expect Ainge to trade Rondo before the next draft which will allow him to make a run at Andrew Wiggins. With KO, Sullinger and Fab that will give them a decent core that can develop together. With all those extra #1 picks I'm hoping that their rebuild mode won't be very long and/or painful.

CdAZagFan
06-28-2013, 07:48 AM
Congrats to Kelly... I was excited when he was drafted by Dallas (and then bummed when he was traded) because I thought he could be tutored by Dirk Nowitzki - who's career and skillset would be great for Olynk to mimic.

Oregonzagnut
06-28-2013, 08:21 AM
Congrats to Kelly... I was excited when he was drafted by Dallas (and then bummed when he was traded) because I thought he could be tutored by Dirk Nowitzki - who's career and skillset would be great for Olynk to mimic.

Me too. Then I was excited that he would be able to play with Garnett and Pierce. THEN I was bummed because now he is left with no HOF mentor big man to guide him.

Still stoked though. Boston is his town now and they are passionate about their teams!




I'm booing him in my living room too. There aren't many people in this world I hate more than David Stern.

Most commissioners in any sport tend to waffle and side with the big money.

But I hope there is some sarcasm above because Stern is a saint compared to people like Michael Adebolajo and Ariel Castro. I personally would throw the switch on those two.

sittingon50
06-28-2013, 08:48 AM
Tell your boys KO isn't a center at the next level.

zagco
06-28-2013, 09:35 AM
Given what difference we saw in KO in one year, Zagco would be a bit reticent as a neutral Celtics fan to feel like his upside is not real high. It could be we are just one year into his transformation/maturity. With the right kind of development, perhaps KO will continue to grow into his position. This could be a real steal of a pick.

maynard g krebs
06-28-2013, 10:56 AM
PS - Kelly, please cut your hair. The Morrison look is bad karma for you and GU.



Would you be satisfied if he just stays off your lawn? Because that would be a reasonable request, considering that it is YOUR lawn and all.

bostonzagfan
06-28-2013, 12:13 PM
Pau Gasol, Dirk Nowitski, Zach Randolph: none of these guys have athleticism. Heck, neither Paul Pierce or Garnet score their points by being athletic. Give Kelly a chance.

With the big trade of Pierce and Garnet it looks like Kelly will likely get his chance right away. I think you play him at the four and let him focus on his offense. Put a defensive-minded center on the floor beside him. Kelly's strength would seem to be using his height and skills against a power forward, as this would remediate some of his lack of athleticism and shorter arms. You also don't typically expect or want your center stepping out and shooting threes. It doesn't make sense to play Kelly regularly as a 5, to me.

I think the bigger issue for the Celtics is the bull-headed and injured Rajon Rondo. There are reports by SI that Doc Rivers tried to go to blows with him in the locker room and that their animosity towards each other is the reason Rondo has been on the trade block for the past two years. Seeing the Rivers trade and Rondo's demeanor on the court, I tend to believe the stories.

1. Randolph and Dirk don't protect the rim either. Dirk needed Chandler to win the championship. Dirk is also one of the best offensive players ever so it doesn't make sense to say look at Dirk, Kelly could become that kind of player. Could Kelly score points against bench units? Of course. It makes sense to give him a lot of touches per minute when he is in because he won't be in there for his defense.

2. Kelly could maybe be a stretch four but a lot of pfs are much quicker than he is.


Kelly's had one actual season's worth of work playing inside. Give him another year to get stronger and get used to the grind of an 82 game schedule.

He's already dynamite on the open floor. With a PG like Rondo, take advantage of it.

Time isn't going to make his arms longer or make him more athletic. He is already skilled and doesn't need to put on much more weight or he will become slower. If he runs the floor with Rondo he can get some easy buckets but a Rondo Kelly P&R is not a great play.


KO has only had one year as a starter and look at what he accomplished. He is only going to get better, much better. He’s a hard worker and once he’s had another year or two working on his post game, he is going to shine, because that will allow him to play inside or out depending on matchups. He wants to get better and puts in the time. You can’t teach his ability to make a pass and his ability to see the floor. Not many 7 footers were point guards.

When he gets the ball at the free throw line he is fun to watch. He can drive, hit the shot, make an entry pass, pick & pop, or hit the open cutter. He is a player that makes others around him better. Finally, he is smart. He’s already got his degree and was working on his Masters. Trading up to get him was a smart move by Ainge as he wasn’t going to be there at the 16th pick.

What team wouldn’t want a highly intelligent 7 footer, who shoots with range that has point guard passing skills standing at the free throw line with the ball in his hand? The NBA is about matchups and he will create problems.

Kelly averaged more turnovers last year than assists. He's no Marc Gasol passing wise.


Tell your boys KO isn't a center at the next level.

You realize guys like Rudy Gay, Lebron, Melo, etc, play the four now? They are too quick for KO to guard.

Like I said the pick is a safe one as Kelly was one of the most likely players in the draft to become a rotation guy. But imo he was also one of the least likely to develop into a star.

ZAGGED OUT
06-28-2013, 12:23 PM
1. Randolph and Dirk don't protect the rim either. Dirk needed Chandler to win the championship. Dirk is also one of the best offensive players ever so it doesn't make sense to say look at Dirk, Kelly could become that kind of player. Could Kelly score points against bench units? Of course. It makes sense to give him a lot of touches per minute when he is in because he won't be in there for his defense.

2. Kelly could maybe be a stretch four but a lot of pfs are much quicker than he is.



Time isn't going to make his arms longer or make him more athletic. He is already skilled and doesn't need to put on much more weight or he will become slower. If he runs the floor with Rondo he can get some easy buckets but a Rondo Kelly P&R is not a great play.



Kelly averaged more turnovers last year than assists. He's no Marc Gasol passing wise.



You realize guys like Rudy Gay, Lebron, Melo, etc, play the four now? They are too quick for KO to guard.

Like I said the pick is a safe one as Kelly was one of the most likely players in the draft to become a rotation guy. But imo he was also one of the least likely to develop into a star.

Kelly won't be asked to do as much with the ball, so his turnovers shouldn't be as much of an issue. In addition, guys like Gay, Bron, and Melo do not play the 4 on a regular basis, only certain situations. Kelly will be just fine running at the 4, and his pick and roll with rondo will be deadly. Time could very much make him more athletic. Maybe you aren't familiar with the transformation he made in only one year but it was quite substantial. Give him NBA trainers, weight rooms, and nutrition plans and you're almost guaranteed a more athletic player in time.

bballbeachbum
06-28-2013, 01:05 PM
KO to Boston...who'd have thunk it?

Congratulations Kelly

Reborn
06-28-2013, 03:39 PM
Congrats to Kelly. I was so excited to see him go to Boston. I couldn't be happier. I have been a Celtic fan since my childhood. Players like Bob Cousey, Casey Jones and John Havlicek helped make me the player I was. And for being a winner Bill Russel was my role model. Who could ever forget his battles with Wilt Chamberlin. And in my adult years how can I ever repay Larry Bird, Kevin McHale, Dennis Johnson, and Robert Parrish for all the joy they brought me.

It is time for the Celtics to rebuild and I am glad that Kelly has a chance to bea part of it. I think he is much better than some posters here think. If you listened to much of the predraft hoopla yesterday you would have gotten a sense of how well Kelly was perceived in this year's draft. He is very well liked and respected. Kelly Olynyk is a very unique offensive player, and no one in my opinion, was able to stop him this year. I believe that Kelly is a piece of the puzzle as the Celtics rebuild the team, and I for one am proud of him for earning that opportunity. IMO he will be a very good NBA player and I'm exited for him.

The last player to help the recruiting efforts by the staff was Morrison. N now we have Kelly. His being a lotto pick will certainly help bring in some elite recruits at the post positions. GU coaches have proven that they can prepare a high school player to play in the NBA,as well as in Europe. Kelly will always be remembered in my opinion as The Great Surprise. He caught us all off guard, and almost none of us ever expected to see the great player that he was last year. I saw him live just once last year, and he is unbelievably so much better live. His first step is just so HUGH, which made him unstoppable when he got the ball at the foul line, facing a one on one situation.

Thanks for all the joy you brought to my family, Kelly. Good luck!

Go Zags

willandi
06-28-2013, 07:16 PM
Certainly fortunate for you, Bostonzagfan, that with KO coming in, Pierce and Garnett traded, you won't feel the need to waste money on tickets.

Personally, I think that KO will prove to be a very servicable 4 in the NBA. With a few breaks he could become similar to Dirk, but at the very least he will be a journeyman player, and last for several years. Could I be wrong? Of course, but, as a Zag fan, and after what I saw last year, I believe he will continue to improve and become a very good, if not great, player for many years.:cheers:

ZaGranny
06-28-2013, 09:33 PM
http://www.krem.com/sports

Click on the video in the upper left.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
06-29-2013, 08:52 AM
Thanks for the video link, granny! I was hoping to see some draft night video of KO.

ZaGranny
06-29-2013, 09:07 AM
Mostly positive views on Kelly.

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1688109-forecasting-kelly-olynyks-stat-line-for-his-rookie-season

Forecasting Kelly Olynyk's Stat Line for His Rookie Season

BY RICHARD LANGFORD (FEATURED COLUMNIST) ON JUNE 28, 2013 2,112 reads 22
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more storiesNext
Streeter Lecka/Getty Images
Kelly Olynyk will ride his limited athleticism to a long and productive NBA career.

The long-haired center from Gonzaga was originally selected 13th overall by the Dallas Mavericks in Thursday night's draft, but he quickly made his way to Boston.

The Celtics tweeted the news:

The Boston Celtics acquired the draft rights to Kelly Olynyk and Colton Iverson during Thursday night's NBA Draft: http://on.nba.com/11MDGMh

Of course, those weren't the only draft-day deals Boston was swinging. The Celtics made headlines with this trade tweeted by Pro Basketball Talk's Kurt Helin:

Kevin Garnett agrees to deal that will send him and Paul Pierce to the Nets http://dlvr.it/3ZltGc
11:15 PM - 27 Jun 2013

Obviously, as that trade screams, this is a franchise in transition. Olynyk has a golden opportunity to cement himself as a key part of that rebuilding process.

Also, with the suddenly wide open front line in Boston, he should get ample opportunity for minutes in his rookie season. He will be productive in those minutes.

I'll break down his game, but here is what to expect from Olynyk in his maiden year in the NBA.

Kelly Olynyk's Projected Rookie Stat Line

26.5 minutes, 10.2 points, 3.8 rebounds and 3.1 assists

More at the link, including a video. Some of the comments are toxic.

ZaGranny

Oregonzagnut
06-29-2013, 09:17 AM
http://www.krem.com/sports/Harris-Barone-make-NBA-Summer-League-Rosters--213601381.html

Harris will play for the Lakers in the summer league! Go Elias and Sacre!!!

75Zag
06-29-2013, 09:40 AM
I love that KO was drafted at the lucky 13 spot. Lots of money for him and his family (and agent) and, hopefully, some much needed increased respect for the GU program at the NBA level. KO is in a unique position on the Boston team. They have traded away much of their aging NBA talent, which opens up some great opportunities for young players like KO.

I am hopeful - but not entirely confident - that KO may be GU's 2nd "Impact Player" in the NBA. Stockton was wonderful, but it has been a very long time since a GU player was regularly talked about as being a major impact in the NBA.

Positive karma to KO and his family.

Go Bulldogs!

ZagNative
06-29-2013, 10:04 AM
BostonHerald.com (http://bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2013/06/kelly_olynyk_earns_high_marks_from_few)

Kelly Olynyk earns high marks from Few

It’s a story Gonzaga men’s basketball coach Mark Few likes to share when talking about his former big man and new Celtics forward/center Kelly Olynyk.

Olynyk decided to redshirt his junior season to develop his game and take advantage when some of the Gonzaga big men in front of him moved on to future endeavors. But Few didn’t have to look too far from the Bulldogs’ facilities to find his 7-footer during the school year.

Few set up Olynyk with the scout team and walk-ons to prepare his starters for upcoming games. Normally those would be one-sided affairs. As Few tells it, that wasn’t the case with Olynyk on the other side.

“He would take a group of walk-ons and get them organized and get them in the right spot and they would give our starting five fits sometimes,” Few told the Herald yesterday. “It was to the point where I’d have to tell Kelly to back off a little bit so it wouldn’t mess with our confidence.”

The opportunities will be there for the taking for Olynyk with a depleted Celtics front line. Patience to take a year off worked for Olynyk, and now the Celtics and his country are hoping it pays off.

“I think he’s a highly competitive person and player,” Few said. “I think it’s not something he will fear and it will be something he will look forward to. You just put him on the floor and he’s going to do whatever it takes to win.”
- See more at: http://bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2013/06/kelly_olynyk_earns_high_marks_from_few#sthash.Tpa7 gfSY.dpuf

Kiddwell
06-29-2013, 03:36 PM
Sorry for not wading through all of the above, but for someone who missed the NBA Draft broadcast, is there a link showing Kelly's pick (and subsequent analyst remarks)?


Thanks.


:]

ZaGranny
06-29-2013, 05:22 PM
http://espn.go.com/boston/nba/story/_/id/9437497/kelly-olynyk-chance-shine-boston-celtics

Kelly Olynyk lost in shuffle
Blockbuster deal stole spotlight, but he'll get chance to shine with Celtics

BOSTON -- His draft night was hijacked by the blockbuster swap that the Boston Celtics and Brooklyn Nets agreed to on Thursday, but Kelly Olynyk should focus on the positive: The rebuilding process being ushered in by that trade ought to put him in the spotlight more often during his rookie season.

The Celtics shuffled up three spots during Thursday's draft to nab Olynyk with the 13th pick. He's Boston's highest drafted player since the team took Jeff Green at No. 5 in 2007, only to flip him to Seattle in exchange for Ray Allen as the team began the process of emerging from its most recent rebuilding effort.

[+] Enlarge
Harry How/Getty Images
Kelly Olynyk's shooting ability caught the eye of the Celtics' Danny Ainge.
Now, as Boston bunkers down for a roster makeover, its draft-pick-a-palooza starts with Olynyk, a 7-footer out of Gonzaga. Celtics president of basketball operations Danny Ainge said he believes that Olynyk can be an excellent complementary piece as Boston, with nine first-round picks over the next five seasons, starts putting together its roster of the future.

"We weren't really confident that Kelly would be there at 16," said Ainge, who sent the No. 16 selection and two 2014 second-round picks to Dallas to move up. After the Oklahoma City Thunder took Pittsburgh big man Steven Adams at No. 12, Boston wasn't taking the risk that Olynyk could be the next big man off the board.

"There were some other guys that were there at 16, but Kelly was a guy that we think complements [Rajon] Rondo and Avery [Bradley] and Jeff [Green]. He's just a really good complementary player. He's not a go-to guy, not a star player. He's like a really good teammate type of player and complements other guys."

MOre at the link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
06-30-2013, 06:55 AM
http://www.krem.com/video?id=213726331&sec=550177

B.C.'s Kelly Olynyk welcomes chance to play for iconic Celtics NBA franchise

Arranged deal lets Kamloops native head to Boston

Kelly Olynyk isn’t upset that he wasn’t invited to the NBA draft in New York.

The Canadian college basketball star watched the proceedings on TV with 30-40 friends and family at his Kamloops home as he was drafted 13th overall by the Dallas Mavericks and immediately traded — as part of an arranged deal — to the Boston Celtics.

“I was definitely thinking about going,” Olynyk, 22, said Friday, a day after the festivities. “The NBA invites about 15 people, and I didn’t end up getting invited. So I didn’t end up going. But I think it worked out better that way.

“It was really fun to spend it here, back in Kamloops, with friends and family and people who have supported me my whole life. It was really nice, and real special, to be able to enjoy that and see how overjoyed people were for me and how proud and happy they were for me.”

Olynyk added: “It’s special. Being a little kid, it’s a dream. It’s every kid’s dream after touching a basketball. It’s another door that’s opened, another journey in your life.”

More at link.

ZaGranny

Read more: http://www.vancouversun.com/sports/basketball/Kelly+Olynyk+welcomes+chance+play+iconic+Boston+Ce ltics/8595592/story.html#ixzz2XiBOTdKM

Read more: http://www.vancouversun.com/sports/basketball/Kelly+Olynyk+welcomes+chance+play+iconic+Boston+Ce ltics/8595592/story.html#ixzz2XiBHTuRv

Oregonzagnut
06-30-2013, 07:48 AM
Sadly, I think the time for "Locks of Love" is drawing near. I knew Brian looked like silent Bob.

http://i700.photobucket.com/albums/ww10/peter_aaron/OlynykampMike_zps791689f3.jpg

http://i700.photobucket.com/albums/ww10/peter_aaron/JaysilentBoba_zps86cbb8ae.jpg

gamagin
06-30-2013, 08:40 AM
http://www.boston.com/sports/basketball/celtics/extras/celtics_blog/2013/06/kelly_olynyk_5_reasons_to_like_the_pick.html

Oregonzagnut
06-30-2013, 09:22 AM
http://www.boston.com/sports/basketball/celtics/extras/celtics_blog/2013/06/kelly_olynyk_5_reasons_to_like_the_pick.html

Agree with all those. There are more reasons so I would like to add a 6th reason, that Kelly has huge upside for any team. He hasn't even filled out his frame yet and although his mechanics and IQ are ready for the NBA, he has a lot of room for improvement physically and within the Celtics system.

I'm sure there are more "Great reasons"?

Rio Runner
06-30-2013, 09:28 AM
I'm sure there are more "Great reasons"?

Yes, he has a great demeanor. Nothing seems to rattle him. He plays well in the clutch and does not react when teams play dirty and take cheap shots at him (e.g. BYU). Great pick for the Celtics.

ZagNative
07-01-2013, 09:03 AM
. I've been searching in vain for an online stream.
Marc D'Amico ‏@Marc_DAmico 2h

The #Celtics will introduce their draft picks at a 1:30 p.m. press conference today.
10:30 am Pacific?

Eventually, I'd expect to see at least highlights of the press conference here (http://www.nba.com/celtics/video/originals).

ZaGranny
07-01-2013, 12:08 PM
http://nesn.com/2013/07/kelly-olynyk-colton-iverson-unveil-new-celtics-jerseys-at-introductory-news-conference-photo/

The first problem most Celtics draft picks run into is trying to find a number for their jerseys. As Danny Ainge noted Monday, there aren’t a lot of digits left.
Kelly Olynyk and Colton Iverson, the Celtics’ 2013 NBA draft picks, were officially introduced to the media and a group of local kids at a news conference that also served to unveil the newly renovated Mildred Avenue Teen Center in Mattapan, Mass. Olynyk, the 13th overall pick who was acquired in a trade with the Dallas Mavericks, held No. 41, while Iverson, the 53rd overall pick who as acquired in a cash transaction with the Indiana Pacers, held No. 37.

pic.twitter.com/gCUXvdSlSK

ZaGranny

ZagNative
07-01-2013, 12:15 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOG-r4_CYAA78Ox.jpg

ZagNative
07-01-2013, 02:11 PM
Here's Kelly's interview today (http://www.nba.com/celtics/video/2013/07/01/KELLYONEONONEmp4-2527263)

ZaGranny
07-02-2013, 05:32 PM
Kelly Olynyk ‏@KellyOlynyk 59m
Gotta love the history and feel of Fenway! Bases juiced! Lets get it Sox! #GreenMonster #BostonStrong #Sox pic.twitter.com/U0U2LNm2kY

http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/07/photo_boston_celtics_draft_pic.html

Continuing a week of exciting firsts, Kelly Olynyk met Boston Red Sox slugger David Ortiz at Fenway Park on Tuesday.

Olynyk was drafted by the Boston Celtics this past Thursday and introduced Monday as a member of the team. Sporting a baseball cap and Red Sox jersey at Fenway, the 7-footer looked a bit like Tim Lincecum . . . if only the southpaw still had a mop of hair and stood a full foot taller.

More at the link

ZagNative
07-02-2013, 05:49 PM
Very cool. Thanks!

NotoriousZ
07-02-2013, 05:52 PM
I'm officially a Celtic Fan now! Even with Daye, Pargo, Sacre and others in the league, I still haven't watched much NBA action. Keep working Kelly, you just might be the one who will get me to tune in on a regular basis.

Congrats Kelly!

ZaGranny
07-02-2013, 07:30 PM
Even better pic of Kelly and The Big Papi:

http://instagram.com/p/bSZepBgcsj/

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
07-02-2013, 08:49 PM
http://bostonherald.com/inside_track/the_inside_track/2013/07/tracked_down_tom_brady_gisele_bundchen_kelly_olyny k#sthash.tBgA0vda.dpuf

Tracked down: Tom Brady, Gisele Bundchen, Kelly Olynyk...

Celtics new bro Kelly Olynyk and fellow draft pic Colton Iverson joining former Green Teamer Dana Barros and bosses Stephen Pagliuca and Danny Ainge to unveil a new Shamrock Foundation renovated educational space at the Mildred Community Center in Mattapan - See more at: http://bostonherald.com/inside_track/the_inside_track/2013/07/tracked_down_tom_brady_gisele_bundchen_kelly_olyny k#sthash.tBgA0vda.dpuf

Click on pic # 2

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
07-03-2013, 11:51 AM
Fab Melo ‏@Fabpmelo 2h
Heading to Orlando with the Rook @KellyOlynyk.
Retweeted by Kelly Olynyk
Expand Reply Retweet Favorite More

ZaGranny

ZagNative
07-03-2013, 11:55 AM
Fun video of Kelly at Fenway Park (http://www.nba.com/celtics/video/2013/07/03/KellyOlynykvistsFenwayParkmp4-2529346).

ZaGranny
07-03-2013, 12:30 PM
Great video!

Thanks, ZN

sittingon50
07-03-2013, 01:35 PM
Thanks Native.

ZaGranny
07-04-2013, 08:11 AM
http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/07/discussing_kelly_olynyks_hair.html


Discussing Kelly Olynyk's hair, skill, defense and NBA potential: Boston Celtics drafted an intelligent All-American

Very few 7-footers have hair longer than my mother's, so Kelly Olynyk's mane is quite noticeable.

It extends well past his shoulders, has never been cut in the United States of America and even inspired at least one Twitter account. After drafting Olynyk this past Thursday, Boston Celtics president of basketball operations Danny Ainge joked that the Gonzaga product looks like a hippie born in Eugene, Oregon in 1977. That's Ainge's hometown, where, during the late 1970s, a lot of people presumably liked growing their flow. And just in case somebody hadn't heard his joke the first time (or because he really liked it), Ainge repeated himself at the rookies' introductory press conference. He also made a point to touch Olynyk's chin whiskers and deem his facial hair "this little Scooby Doo thing," which I'm not sure was a compliment. Later, a reporter asked Olynyk how many times Ainge has already mentioned his hair. The rookie looked at his boss sideways, paused for a few moments, smiled and said, "A couple."

The first question Olynyk fielded at his press conference was about the redshirt year he took after his sophomore season. The second was about his pre-draft workouts with Brian Scalabrine, who Ainge said communicated with the Celtics and vouched for Olynyk. I was surprised hair talk lasted until the third question, but it came: "Are there any plans to chop it down or anything like that?"

That set up a lively conversation about the hair, which might now need to be called The Hair. Olynyk didn't commit to a cut but wouldn't rule it out either, and he said some teams were more concerned with his 'do than others. After he enlightened reporters by telling them: "There's a lot more you can do with it the more you have," owner Steve Pagluica chimed in that the Celtics were fine with Olynyk keeping his hair, if that's what he wants to do. Then Ainge joked that The Hair served an additional purpose: "(Olynyk) was trying to put some weight on too."

The comical notion of Olynyk refusing trips to the barber shop for -- cue your best David Stern impression -- basketball reasons reminds me that he is, in fact, Boston's first-round draft choice. The Celtics felt highly enough of the 7-footer to surrender two 2014 second-round selections in order to move up to the 13th pick and grab him before someone else did. Several other decent-to-good big men remained on the board at No. 16, where the Celtics were initially slated to pick, so the trade up was a good indication Boston really liked the Gonzaga product. A league source indicated to MassLive.com that the big man likely would have been gone three picks later.

More at the link.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
07-06-2013, 06:48 AM
Nice CBC.ca audio interview with Ken Olynyk (http://www.cbc.ca/player/Radio/Local+Shows/British+Columbia/Daybreak+Kamloops/ID/2394682650/).

ZaGranny, haven't you frequently visited with Kelly's parents at GU games? Ken just seems like a solid, nice, high-character guy.

ZaGranny
07-06-2013, 08:25 AM
We first met them (and a lot of the rest of the family) at the Red Lion when we all stayed there--I think he was a freshman--and saw them there and at many of the games over the 4 years. Being only six hours (driving) away, they could decide to come down for a game almost at the last minute.

I took several pictures of them at the NCAA's in SLC. (see the ZaGranny's Adv. In Salt Lake thread)

They are great--really friendly and fun to talk to. They often took turns being at his games, or his sisters' games. I think Kelly got a lot of his poise in front of the cameras from them.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
07-06-2013, 12:24 PM
Day of the draft. I don't think I have seen this before--I searched the thread and did not find it.

http://www.kamloopsnews.ca/article/20130627/KAMLOOPS0201/306289999/-1/kamloops/lucky-no-13-for-kelly-olynyk

Somehow, they crammed 45 people into the basement of the Olynyk household to watch Thursday night's NBA draft on television.

You can bet every single one of them went nuts when NBA commissioner David Stern announced the 13th overall pick: "Kelly Olynyk, from Kamloops, Canada, and Gonzaga University."

"It was a special time to spend it with all the people who have supported (me) and been there for (me my) whole life, and got me to where I am today," Olynyk said during a news conference at the Tournament Capital Centre last night. "It was real nice to be able to celebrate that with them and share that moment with them."

Yes, it was a magical evening for Olynyk and his family and friends, who sat on pins and needles for about an hour and 20 minutes before Kelly's name was called. The pick originally belonged to the Dallas Mavericks, but they wound up trading Olynyk to the Boston Celtics for the 16th overall selection and two second-round picks.

"Hard work, dedication, sacrifice — that's what gets you to something like this," Olynyk said. "The people around me growing up really instilled work ethic and they allowed me to pursue my dreams and I can't thank them enough."

All of those things, and having a dream. Olynyk's father, Ken, talked about how his son was always willing to work, at any time, in hopes of becoming a better basketball player.

"When he was seven years old, we asked him what he wanted to do," Ken Olynyk said. "He said he wanted to play in the NBA. I said, 'You'd better have a backup plan.' He said, 'Well maybe I'll be a farmer.' I thought, 'Kelly, we live in Toronto, you've never been to a farm. . . .'

"That's been his goal since he was seven years old, and he never lost sight of that. That's a testament to him as an individual and how hard he's willing to work."

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
07-06-2013, 01:43 PM
http://www.masslive.com/celtics/index.ssf/2013/07/boston_celtics_rumors_2013_jar_1.html

Boston Celtics rumors 2013: Jared Sullinger, Courtney Lee, Kelly Olynyk and Shavlik Randolph react to Brad Stevens hiring

Despite his lack of NBA experience, the Boston Celtics bet on Brad Stevens. Signing him to a six-year contract worth $22 million this week was a clear indication the Celtics think he can handle players at the professional level.

Stevens will have other concerns during his transition to the NBA from Butler University (like the quicker 24-second shot clock), but it will be critical for him to develop a nice rapport with the Celtics roster. Dealing with players who hold guaranteed contracts and substantial egos could be different than leading a bunch of young kids with scholarships that need to be renewed every year. Yet Stevens still expects to use the same process he did at Butler. He plans to build relationships and trust by showing the players how much he cares about them and their success.

We still haven't heard reaction to the hiring from the Celtics' two biggest remaining stars (Rajon Rondo and Jeff Green), but the first wave of quotes from Boston players suggests they already hold him in high regard.


Kelly Olynyk, power forward (via the Boston Herald):

"They're so disciplined, so executionally sound," he said of his Butler impressions. "I think a lot of it has to do with him. When we were playing them, you'd think you know what's coming, but you really don’t. All of a sudden they have a counter to the counter. It's unbelievable.
"I'm excited. He's a great coach. I really respect him. I think he's a great basketball mind. I really respect him because he knows the game and is a student of the game. I'm really looking forward to working with him and I'm excited for the opportunity."


Reactions of Randolph, Lee, and Sullinger at the link.

ZaGranny

ZaGranny
07-06-2013, 04:28 PM
Olynyk eyes future with Stevens
Celtics rookie was burned at Gonzaga by new coach's Butler squad in January


WINTER PARK, Fla. -- Forgive Boston Celtics rookie Kelly Olynyk if the name Brad Stevens makes him shudder.

Olynyk thinks the world of Boston's new head coach and believes he has an amazing basketball mind. It's just that Stevens represents one of the more forgettable moments in Olynyk's college career.

Back in January, Olynyk's eighth-ranked Gonzaga visited Stevens' 13th-seeded Butler. Up one with 3.5 seconds to play, all the Zags needed to do was inbound the ball and ice the game with free throws. Instead, a lob pass to Olynyk fizzled and Butler's Roosevelt Jones stole the ball before connecting on a frantic, buzzer-beating floater over Olynyk for a 64-63 victory that left Bulldog fans storming the court in celebration.

[+] Enlarge
Brian Spurlock/USA TODAY Sports
Butler's Roosevelt Jones, right, got the last laugh on Gonzaga's Kelly Olynyk in January.
(Quick tangent: Watch the video of that final play and keep an eye on Stevens. His team just pulled off a minor basketball miracle and Stevens is already walking to shake hands with Gonzaga's staff as soon as the ball passes through the cylinder. As one of the commenters playfully suggested of his demeanor, "I think I have dry cleaning to pick up.")

"I haven't really talked to him too much yet," Olynyk said of Stevens on Saturday before Boston's summer squad practiced at Rollins College. "I'm sure he'll bring it up once or twice this year."


Much more at the link.

ZaGranny