PDA

View Full Version : Inserting an image into a post



ZagNative
08-17-2007, 07:25 PM
Part #1 - Inserting an image from the internet into the body of a post on GUBoard

I use Mozilla Firefox, so that's what the graphics below will generally show. What you'll see in IE Explorer or other browsers will likely be different, so you'll just have to understand the concept and figure out the differences.

Step 1 - With your mouse above the image you want to post, right click and select "Copy Image Location." (In IE Explorer, select "properties" instead and then copy the image location, being careful to select the entire location, which almost always will end with ".jpg.")


http://img157.imageshack.us/img157/4017/1copyimagelocationnq3.jpg


If you're using IE explorer and so are getting the address from the "Properties box, select the whole link and press control+c to copy it:

http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/4632/2copyimagelocationfromptk4.jpg


Note: Observe that the image location is not necessarily the same as what you will see in the browser address bar. If you use what's in the browser bar, your image might show up as a link in your post, not as an image.

Step 2 - On the GUBoard, inside the post screen, click on the image icon (the little envelope third from the right above the posting window):


http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/7465/3selecttheimageiconsv3.jpg

Paste the image location URL there (Control+V) and hit the okay button.

Note: After you have inserted the image in your post, hit the "Preview Post" buttom to make sure your image appears as expected, then hit the submit button, and you should be good to go.

***The stuff above may appear elsewhere in support, but I couldn't find it when I went looking for it, and it seemed as though enough of us have trouble posting images to warrant spending a few minutes on some graphic instructions.

Feel free to add thoughts here, folks, if you have better ideas or if you have questions.

Next: How to post an image from your hard drive into a post. (I might not get to that tonight, though, as I need to watch Theo's game for the bronze in Bangkok.)

ZagNative
08-18-2007, 09:11 PM
Uploading Photos from Your Computer to PhotoBucket and linking from a GUBoard post

Caution: I'm still basically a novice when it comes to Photobucket, but maybe this will provide some help for Zags fans who have great photos on their hard drive they'd like to share with other Zags.

I've used ImageShack.com until ust recently, but have switched to PhotoBucket. Photobucket just seems ten times more intuitive, and it's easy to organize photos so you can find them again.

Step 1: Join Photobucket, if you haven't already done so. It's free.



www.photobucket.com (www.photobucket.com)

Select "Join Now" and register.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/1-Introscreen.jpg



Step 2: Log in to Photoshack (you may need to wait for an e-mail from photoshack and double-click on the link provided in the e-mail to activate your account first.)



Click "Browse," find the photo you want to upload from your hard drive and double-click to add it. Repeat manually for each photo you want to upload (or use the beta multiple-image upload on the screen if you prefer).
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2-Choosephotostoupload.jpg

Click the Upload button.

Note: I like eto organize my photos into subalbums to make stuff easier to find, as shown above with a directory for each of several players, etc., as shown above under the "Upload" button. You can upload from within an album so the uploaded photos go directly there, or else upload to your main album and then move to the desired directory by clicking the "Move" option above each image. However, be sure you don't move an image after you've already linked to it on the GUBoard, or the link will be broken and your image won't display in the post on the GUBoard.

Step 3: Scroll down the screen to see your images that have been uploaded, and click in the "IMG Code" box, which will copy the html code to paste into the GUBoard window.


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/3-Viewuploadedimages.jpg


Step 4: Go to your post on GUBoard and press Control+V to paste the Image code. Hit the preview buttom to make sure all is well, finish your post, and hit the submit button.

Note: There is a resize option button to shrink the size of your images to a reasonable size for posting on the board, usually something like 640 x 480 or proportionately less. I haven't used it yet because I always resize my photos to the size I want before uploading them.

Anyway, hope that helps.

Zagguy23
08-19-2007, 06:41 PM
you have computer skills far beyond my own

ZagNative
08-19-2007, 09:22 PM
I mentioned above, that the file name for an image suitable for linking to the GUBoard will usually end with ".JPG." Other permissible extensions, I believe, are


GIF, JPEG, TIFF, PNG, PPM, and WBMP.

Emoticons typically have GIF extensions. This is an example of a GIF image:

http://media.scout.com/media/image/31/311043.gif

i.e., http://media.scout.com/media/image/31/311043.gif

ZagNative
08-19-2007, 09:34 PM
This is a helpful thread about Avatars (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=3197).

ZagNative
08-20-2007, 11:07 PM
I have never been able to attach an image directly from my hard drive so it appears in a post as a photo and not a link. This is a test to see what I'm doing wrong.

94

Hah! A light comes on. See the next post for steps to insert a photo from your hard drive into a post without having to upload it to a photo-hosting website.

ZagNative
08-21-2007, 12:36 AM
I can't believe how easy this was. What a numbskull I was not to have figured it out earlier!

Step 1 - Hit the paper clip above the posting window.


102

Step 2 - To upload the file from your computer, hit the "Browse" button and then double-click the file on your hard drive you want to attach, and then select the "upload" button next to the browse button. Repeat for each file you want to attach. The files that have been attached will show in the window as "Current Attachments". Close the "Manage Attachments" window.


103

Step 3 - Now you're back in the posting window, where you will hit the paper clip button again, to insert your attachment in the post. Select the attachment you want to insert at a particular spot.


104


Preview the post, and you should be good to go.

ZagNative
10-09-2007, 01:21 PM
Zagnative is back to square one. Attachments I previously made to this post no longer appear. I'm glad I figured out how to upload to a website like photobucket or image shack, because attachments are inconsistent for me!

I'm going to test here and see if I can attach now.

156

Nope. Not working.

Edited to add: I deleted some old attachments and now the attachments in this thread are working! There may be a limit to the amount of storage the system allots for each user. No clue. No clue at all.

Rubbadub
10-09-2007, 04:05 PM
you and your pictures :)

ZagNative
10-09-2007, 04:25 PM
Why, I believe I'll take that as a compliment!

http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/8758/pigsmilingjj6.jpg

ZagNative
10-26-2007, 10:19 AM
If you want to resize your photos so they display better on the GUBoard, you can download Irfanview (http://www.irfanview.com/), which is a really nifty free (shareware) program. There are also online services you can use on the web, but I like Irfanview.

Irfanview also makes it easy to do screen copies and save them as graphical images you can upload to Photobucket or Imageshack and link in posts, as I did with the graphical images in the posts above. It will also let you crop images to capture only the stuff you want (as done in the images in the instructions above.)

To resize a photo in Irfanview, select "Image" from the menubar, and select the resize option. On the GUBoard, optimum width is 700 pixels or less. Enter the width you want and the height adjusts automatically.

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/650/irfanviewxf7.jpg

Save the edited photo (as a copy of the original if you don't want to overwrite it) and upload as usual.

I'm sure there are smarter ways to do the stuff outlined here, but this might get you started.

lothar98zag
01-03-2008, 02:26 PM
bump

DenDiegoZag
01-11-2008, 01:01 PM
Wish I would have read this BEFORE I went diving into the Foo this afternoon...

HA

Bump...

Akzag
06-09-2008, 06:00 PM
Ak-Bump

ID ZAGFAN
12-26-2009, 11:16 AM
Uploading Photos from Your Computer to PhotoBucket and linking from a GUBoard post

Step 4: Go to your post on GUBoard and press Control+V to paste the Image code. Hit the preview buttom to make sure all is well, finish your post, and hit the submit button.

Note: There is a resize option button to shrink the size of your images to a reasonable size for posting on the board, usually something like 640 x 480 or proportionately less. I haven't used it yet because I always resize my photos to the size I want before uploading them.

Anyway, hope that helps.

ZagNative--I got as far as step 4, but when I do that, only the code shows up in the preview, not the picture. :confused:

ID ZAGFAN

ZagNative
12-26-2009, 12:06 PM
It's been a long time since I posted this thread, and the Photobucket site has changed some, and I don't know where you might have gone amiss. However, it sounds from your description as if you've posted the wrong code. What you post needs to be preceded by the code and followed by

To get the right code, have the image open in Photobucket, and click in the box at the botom left below the image, as below:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/How%20To/Post%20an%20image/Howtopostanimagefromphotobucket.jpg

If you have uploaded to Photobucket, perhaps you need to find a photobucket tutorial on the Photobucket site if you have more questions.

ID ZAGFAN
12-26-2009, 07:37 PM
I've got it now. And I am even able to insert the stats in their proper form in the Old Dogs sub forum!:)

ID ZAGFAN

ID ZAGFAN
04-01-2010, 02:52 PM
I have been using photobucket to upload photos and then insert them into y posts. All of a sudden there is not window that says UPLOAD PHOTOS when I go into my albums.

I don't know if Photo Bucket has changed, I have too many photos uploaded, or what. I have 93 photos, and some I could delete, but can't figure out how to do that either.
:confused:

Help!

ID ZAGFAN

ezcure17
07-26-2010, 05:38 AM
Here are some pics of Matt..578

579.

Zag79
10-16-2011, 11:06 PM
umm... dumb question considering i have been on here for years and post pics all the time. why the hell cant i now? :lmao: seriously... help?

ZagNative
10-17-2011, 04:25 PM
umm... dumb question considering i have been on here for years and post pics all the time. why the hell cant i now? :lmao: seriously... help?Is the photo you want to post online, or is it on your hard drive?

What happens when you try to post the pic? Does the pic have a .jpg extension? Can you right click on it and select "View image" and then copy the location that displays in your address bar, which should end with a jpg extension? Usually, when I've had the problem you describe it's because the photo doesn't have a jpg extension.

Zag79
11-01-2011, 12:15 AM
i usually just post pics from the internet in the foo, but now when i try to copy and paste the URL into the box for pics it stays blank. its very odd, never had this problem before and i have posted many dumb pics. :lmao: for example, i click the "insert image" box and paste the jpg url and hit "ok". it just does nothing. my mind is boggled, any help?

gozagswoohoo
11-15-2011, 07:57 AM
http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i228/gozagswoohoo/zagsgame-2-1.jpg

a13coach
11-15-2011, 08:06 AM
http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i228/gozagswoohoo/zagsgame-2-1.jpg

Awesome WooHoo Awesome!

gozagswoohoo
11-15-2011, 08:16 AM
Now if I can just get this re-sized and CLEARER dangit!

http://www.picresize.com/popup.html?images/rsz_zagsgame.bmp

gozagswoohoo
01-11-2012, 11:07 AM
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/3947/smcj.png (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/10/smcj.png/)


TEST

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-15-2016, 11:35 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/354119403/Poodle_Free_Mt_final2_.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-15-2016, 11:43 AM
moose drool jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-15-2016, 11:44 AM
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/7/75/Moose_Drool_beer_glass.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-15-2016, 11:46 AM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Star_Wars#/media/File%3AStar_Wars_Logo.svg

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-15-2016, 11:50 AM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dog#/media/File%3ACollage_of_Nine_Dogs.jpg

Test

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-15-2016, 11:52 AM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dan_Quayle#/media/File%3ADan_Quayle%2C_official_DoD_photo.JPEG

Test

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-15-2016, 11:53 AM
Try again.

https://commons.m.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Dan_Quayle,_official_DoD_photo.JPEG#mw-jump-to-license

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ross_Perot#/media/File%3ARoss_Perot.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-15-2016, 05:29 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Groucho_Marx#/media/File%3AGroucho_Marx_-_portrait.jpg

Hmmmm

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-15-2016, 05:34 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FSWiMoO8zNE

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-15-2016, 05:37 PM
http://m.imgur.com/iAMnEvD

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-17-2016, 12:37 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guinness#/media/File%3AGaeilgeGuinness.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-17-2016, 12:38 PM
Testhttps://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guinness#/media/File%3AGaeilgeGuinness.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-17-2016, 12:39 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guinness#/media/File%3AGaeilgeGuinness.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
03-19-2016, 04:11 PM
http://cdn-media-1.lifehack.org/wp-content/files/2014/07/Stress-Free.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
04-28-2016, 04:20 PM
https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/28/55/b4/2855b42f767cb416cfcb31eb8294bf3c.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
04-28-2016, 04:21 PM
http://m.imgur.com/OXtI5lZ?r

Martin Centre Mad Man
07-03-2016, 12:25 PM
I can't believe how easy this was. What a numbskull I was not to have figured it out earlier!

Step 1 - Hit the paper clip above the posting window.


102

Step 2 - To upload the file from your computer, hit the "Browse" button and then double-click the file on your hard drive you want to attach, and then select the "upload" button next to the browse button. Repeat for each file you want to attach. The files that have been attached will show in the window as "Current Attachments". Close the "Manage Attachments" window.


103

Step 3 - Now you're back in the posting window, where you will hit the paper clip button again, to insert your attachment in the post. Select the attachment you want to insert at a particular spot.


104


Preview the post, and you should be good to go.

I can't seem to find the "browse" button described in Step 2 above. Is it still available?

ZagNative
07-03-2016, 06:30 PM
I don't know. I've forgotten how to do some of the stuff on this thread. Sorry.

Martin Centre Mad Man
07-04-2016, 01:12 AM
I don't know. I've forgotten how to do some of the stuff on this thread. Sorry.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Martin Centre Mad Man
07-25-2016, 03:08 PM
http://s1072.photobucket.com/component/Download-File?file=%2Falbums%2Fw368%2Ftombout11%2FIMG_1275. jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
08-27-2016, 06:22 PM
http://s225.photobucket.com/user/HeinousMark/media/man_show_fox.gif.html

Martin Centre Mad Man
08-27-2016, 06:23 PM
https://media.giphy.com/media/Y8mxSo9vEz3pu/giphy.gif

Martin Centre Mad Man
09-18-2016, 03:04 PM
http://themetapicture.com/pic/images/2015/07/10/funny-Angry-Birds-chicken-farm.jpg

willandi
09-29-2016, 08:43 PM
I usually use a 3/4" spade bit and an electric drill, but it really comes down to the size of the image and the size of the post.

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-05-2016, 05:47 PM
https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/0d/c0/ad/0dc0adc947663e9bf31365edde44424c.jpg

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-05-2016, 05:51 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vt1Pwfnh5pc

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-08-2016, 05:55 PM
http://cuppacafe.com/fawn-liebowitz-dies/20160

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-08-2016, 05:55 PM
http://cuppacafe.com/fawn-liebowitz-dies/20160

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-13-2016, 04:44 PM
https://cbsdenver.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/broncos-22.jpg?w=1260&h=708

https://cbsdenver.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/broncos-22.jpg?w=1260&h=708

Martin Centre Mad Man
10-18-2016, 03:29 AM
http://s243.photobucket.com/user/forwardmarch/media/movies/spinaltap-11.jpg.html