PDA

View Full Version : TSSF recruiting roundup: 4/22/2013



CDC84
04-22-2013, 09:44 AM
http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2014-gonzaga-recruiting/2013/4/22/4251078/gonzaga-basketball-recruiting-aau-josh-perkins

Five star 2014 PG Josh Perkins will visit Gonzaga in early May. He has been drawing some comparisons with Deron Williams in terms of his style. He apparently was outstanding this weekend at his AAU tournament.

DixieZag
04-22-2013, 09:57 AM
Thank you for posting. Great article.

BobZag
04-22-2013, 10:34 AM
Funny. Few goes down to SoCal and offers San Diego's SG Trey Kell. Grier goes up to Eastern WA and offers Spokane's SG Brett Bailey.

Kinda nutty, isn't it?

jazzdelmar
04-22-2013, 10:44 AM
Funny. Few goes down to SoCal and offers San Diego's SG Trey Kell. Grier goes up to Eastern WA and offers Spokane's SG Brett Bailey.

Kinda nutty, isn't it?

Exactly, it's a shell game.

Kiddwell
04-22-2013, 11:22 AM
Chewy.



:]

BobZag
04-22-2013, 01:20 PM
Coach Glen Worley ‏@SDsupathletes 1h

Kendall Small '15 has seen SDSU,Columbia,BC, New Mexico n a ton of West Coast schools gaining interest in the 6'0" guard from Ocean Viee!

cjm720
04-22-2013, 02:54 PM
Coach Glen Worley ‏@SDsupathletes 1h

Kendall Small '15 has seen SDSU,Columbia,BC, New Mexico n a ton of West Coast schools gaining interest in the 6'0" guard from Ocean Viee!

6 feet tall now..at this rate, he'll be 6'4" by the time he gets on campus!

hooter73
04-22-2013, 03:31 PM
I really hope we dont over look Small - no pun - seriously, he is dang good and WANTS to be a Zag.

BroncoZAG615
04-22-2013, 03:37 PM
I really hope we dont over look Small - no pun - seriously, he is dang good and WANTS to be a Zag.

I don't think the staff will - that is just an update of some of the recent and new interest.

The staff, most notably Coach Few, are going to be in full Josh Perkins stalk mode leading up to his visit in May. Some of the other prospects, especially 2015 guys, will likely need to be a little patient.

webspinnre
04-22-2013, 03:44 PM
I don't think the staff will - that is just an update of some of the recent and new interest.

The staff, most notably Coach Few, are going to be in full Josh Perkins stalk mode leading up to his visit in May. Some of the other prospects, especially 2015 guys, will likely need to be a little patient.

Wonderful news.

cggonzaga
04-22-2013, 04:54 PM
Bronco, say by some miracle we end up with Perkins and McLaughlin/Allen. Does Small like us enough to be a backup for a year or two? Can't imagine any of those 2014 guards stay longer than a couple of years.

ZagNative
04-22-2013, 05:15 PM
SSF just tweeted:
Slipper Still Fits ‏@slipperstillfit 3m

Was able to confirm that 2014 5-star guard Josh Perkins of Aurora, CO will visit #Gonzaga on April 29th.

sittingon50
04-22-2013, 05:48 PM
That's a Monday. Wonder how long he's visiting?

BroncoZAG615
04-22-2013, 06:07 PM
Bronco, say by some miracle we end up with Perkins and McLaughlin/Allen. Does Small like us enough to be a backup for a year or two? Can't imagine any of those 2014 guards stay longer than a couple of years.

It would be a miracle if that happened, indeed!

If that occurred, I think it would absolutely impact Kendall but I wouldn't think about it much. McLaughlin feels like a strong lean to wind up in the PAC-12 and Grayson was just offered by Duke meaning they have likely jumped to the very top of his list. That said, he has discussed visiting Spokane so you just never know.

I think we are in superb position for Perkins and then look for another possible guard addition in Trey Kell or Silas Melson. They would be solid off the ball with Josh.

Then you complement that with a wing like Donaven Dorsey and a big in the mold of Brekkott Chapman and I might just move back to Spokane!

CDC84
04-22-2013, 06:32 PM
If Josh Perkins commits, I would really aggressively recruit Grayson Allen, Namon Wright and a number of other top 50 level shooting guards. I know there is a belief that some of these guys might want stick to their home region, but Perkins is the kind of guy who might cause a domino effect. He's the best passing PG in the entire class by a good distance. If I'm an elite scoring guard, playing alongside a five star PG like Perkins would be tantalizing. It's the kind of thing that might make a CA kid like Namon Wright want to be a Zag. But first things first: get a verbal from Perkins.

BroncoZAG615
04-22-2013, 06:37 PM
If Josh Perkins commits, I would really aggressively recruit Grayson Allen, Namon Wright and a number of other top 50 level shooting guards. I know there is a belief that some of these guys might want stick to their home region, but Perkins is the kind of guy who might cause a domino effect. He's the best passing PG in the entire class by a good distance. If I'm an elite scoring guard, playing alongside a guy like Perkins would be tantalizing. It's the kind of thing that might make a CA kid like Namon Wright want to be a Zag. But first things first: get a verbal from Perkins.

And, of course, stick with Malik Pope :)

cggonzaga
04-22-2013, 06:46 PM
We add Perkins and Pope and I don't care who else we get. Those 2 alone equal our best recruiting class ever. Chapman would be great because he would give us a true defensive presence in the middle. Just looks like a natural shotblocker. Dorsey would give us that athletic wing player we desperately need more of. What a class that would be! Add Small in 2015 and we'd be set.

Any reason we haven't offered Small yet?

BroncoZAG615
04-22-2013, 07:19 PM
We add Perkins and Pope and I don't care who else we get. Those 2 alone equal our best recruiting class ever. Chapman would be great because he would give us a true defensive presence in the middle. Just looks like a natural shotblocker. Dorsey would give us that athletic wing player we desperately need more of. What a class that would be! Add Small in 2015 and we'd be set.

Any reason we haven't offered Small yet?

I'm guessing that they are just seeing how the 2014 class develops before making 2015 offers. The 2014 class is loaded with backcourt talent on the west coast. If the staff truly thinks they can get a Jordan McLaughlin, the approach to 2015 could absolutely change. That said, I think that is unlikely.

Worthington
04-22-2013, 07:50 PM
Hope we're sending an assistant coach to sit bedside while Pope recovers from his injury. Show him we'd still want him with only one good leg :)

EDIT

Any news on Bryan Alberts? Thought he was going to end up in a Zag uniform and for a while now there's been nothing new

madness
04-22-2013, 07:58 PM
Are both Moser and Perkins going to be at Gonzaga visiting during the same time period?

RRZagFan
04-22-2013, 09:47 PM
saw on twitter that Gonzaga in contact with Justin Burks ,class of 14


Justin Burks ‏@JustinBurks25 20m
Gonzaga called 😊🏀

jazzdelmar
04-23-2013, 03:57 AM
We add Perkins and Pope and I don't care who else we get. Those 2 alone equal our best recruiting class ever. Chapman would be great because he would give us a true defensive presence in the middle. Just looks like a natural shotblocker. Dorsey would give us that athletic wing player we desperately need more of. What a class that would be! Add Small in 2015 and we'd be set.

Any reason we haven't offered Small yet?

Only Portland has offered. Are they sure Small is a high major prospect? I have heard he does not project to be, so to speak, Zags level material.

Zagdawg
04-23-2013, 07:24 AM
He's getting interest from Arizona and UCLA-- maybe they don't know what a "Zag Level material" player is either-- or maybe because he is class of 2015 most programs think they have some time to offer based upon how 2013/2014 play out.


He has a couple of programs looking per ESPN.

http://espn.go.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/142899/kendall-small

BroncoZAG615
04-23-2013, 08:05 AM
Only Portland has offered. Are they sure Small is a high major prospect? I have heard he does not project to be, so to speak, Zags level material.

I think he will wind up getting a good number of Pac-12 offers and a number of other D1 offers. There are a few other very skilled PGs in California in 2015 that have sort of overshadowed him at this point but his stock is gaining momentum.

There aren't a whole lot of offers out across the country yet for the 2015 class unless you are a sure-fire top-50 to 75 guy.

CDC84
04-23-2013, 08:27 AM
The Zags have much work to do with the 2014 guys. Keep an eye on 2015 (and 2016), but 2014 is going to be a big intake and an important one.

My sense is that Bryan Alberts is either off the radar or is a backup plan at best. He hasn't really progressed much as a prospect. He's the kind of kid who I could see at a place like Northwestern or Oregon State.

RRZagFan
04-23-2013, 09:02 AM
Some info on some of the guys that Zags have their eyes on.

http://247sports.com/Article/Tyler-Dorsey-leads-Belmont-Shores-to-Pangos-championship-127794

BobZag
04-23-2013, 09:14 AM
What concerns me is how we lose Dower and, if we get him, Moser in 2014, leaving us with only Karnowski. Few will have to bring in at least one good big who can contribute right out of the chute. I don't have a world of faith in Edwards, and Meikle "might" be able to contribute...or not. Wish we woulda aimed just a wee bit higher in 2013.

GoZags
04-23-2013, 09:17 AM
What concerns me is how we lose Dower and, if we get him, Moser in 2014, leaving us with only Karnowski. Few will have to bring in at least one good big who can contribute right out of the chute. I don't have a world of faith in Edwards, and Meikle "might" be able to contribute...or not. Wish we woulda aimed just a wee bit higher in 2013.

Two spots left to fill before school starts in September..... i.e. this was the situation when Ronny and Elias came into the fold. Have to believe that there's some "aiming" currently going on.

cjm720
04-23-2013, 09:38 AM
Thought this was interesting (from RR's link): "A prospect who will move up the 2014 rankings, Chapman has a game quite similar to Austin Daye."

cggonzaga
04-23-2013, 11:53 AM
Sounds like Arizona has their teeth dug in unfortunately.

ZAGGED OUT
04-24-2013, 05:24 PM
Perkins video

http://ballislife.com/josh-perkins-is-the-best-passer-in-the-nation-2014-point-guard-has-great-court-vision-game/

CDC84
04-24-2013, 06:25 PM
More Perkins highlights from his soph year:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp49hnOisss

The Zags need to get a verbal out of that kid right away. I'm telling you, other elite recruits will want to play alongside that guy with his passing ability and court vision.

MDABE80
04-24-2013, 06:43 PM
I'd say so! Quick, long explosive and he knows where everyone is on the court. This kid is not to be missed on. Matty B....help!!

cjm720
04-25-2013, 07:59 AM
More Perkins highlights from his soph year:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp49hnOisss

The Zags need to get a verbal out of that kid right away. I'm telling you, other elite recruits will want to play alongside that guy with his passing ability and court vision.

To think how much more mature (body, less flash) this kid will be too by the time he reaches campus is staggering...wow.

BobZag
04-25-2013, 03:55 PM
http://247sports.com/Article/Josh-Perkins-leads-a-group-of-four-eye-catchers-from-Pangos-128124

By Jerry Meyers.

thespywhozaggedme
04-25-2013, 04:24 PM
http://247sports.com/Article/Josh-Perkins-leads-a-group-of-four-eye-catchers-from-Pangos-128124

By Jerry Meyers.

We're recruiting three of those four players listed. Way to go Few!

BobZag
04-27-2013, 09:44 AM
Zach Bell was in the gym to watch Josh Perkins in Denver and reports Few was front and center there as well. Also, Jerry Meyer reporting big man Reid Travis wants to visit Gonzaga.

Promising stuff.

cggonzaga
04-27-2013, 10:00 AM
Reid Travis would be a terrific get!

cggonzaga
04-27-2013, 10:23 AM
Can you imagine a frontcourt with Travis and Pope?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Du-ojs0dY3g

CDC84
04-27-2013, 10:26 AM
FYI - Reid is at #41 with Rivals. He's also a very, very talented football player.

http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/basketball/recruiting/player-Reid-Travis-126012;_ylt=AoxoGcsqx1yTPmxuFg1zXkHXO5B4

He kind of reminds me of Elias in some ways.

BobZag
04-27-2013, 10:45 AM
Can you imagine a frontcourt with Travis and Pope?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Du-ojs0dY3g

That would be as good as it gets. Perkins and Namon Wright and/or Donavan Dorsey would be sweet to go with them.

cggonzaga
04-27-2013, 11:04 AM
That's a top 5 recruiting class BZ. It would be incredible!

BobZag
04-27-2013, 02:19 PM
According to SuperiorAthletes, Few has offered 2015's Kendall Small and Stephen Thompson, Jr. I'm always a bit skeptical of offer reports but Few did watch them.

SSF's Zach Bell reporting 2016's Payton Pritchard from Linn, OR, was being watched yesterday by Gonzaga in an Indiana event. Left Coast Recruiting raves about the youngster.

Malastein
04-27-2013, 05:03 PM
Andy Enfield is heavily recruiting Perkins now too, and I think will be a major threat for future recruiting battles after what he did with Florida Gulf Coast and Dunk City.

BroncoZAG615
04-27-2013, 08:18 PM
Andy Enfield is heavily recruiting Perkins now too, and I think will be a major threat for future recruiting battles after what he did with Florida Gulf Coast and Dunk City.

USC will not be a major player for Perkins.

MDABE80
04-27-2013, 08:30 PM
We need Matty B to spend some time......like Kentucky's ex players do. Might make a difference if anything will. Look guys...we've got TV, great facilities, best coaches, etc. I dont know why anyone wouldn't want us....

DixieZag
04-27-2013, 09:29 PM
USC will not be a major player for Perkins.

Not trying to be combative but do you know a specific reason or are you going off their recent inability to get out of their own way?

BroncoZAG615
04-28-2013, 05:34 AM
Not trying to be combative but do you know a specific reason or are you going off their recent inability to get out of their own way?

Coaching stability and tenure is extremely important to the Perkins camp. I'd be pretty blown away if he went anywhere with a new staff to be honest.

RRZagFan
04-28-2013, 03:55 PM
saw this on twitter, offered this 2013
DG D1 Amb 6'6George King had a great weekend .getting offers from Colorado & Gonzaga. Interest from UTEP, Utah, Drake, Colo St to name a few

GoZags
04-28-2013, 04:09 PM
saw this on twitter, offered this 2013
DG D1 Amb 6'6George King had a great weekend .getting offers from Colorado & Gonzaga. Interest from UTEP, Utah, Drake, Colo St to name a few

Wonder how Drake heard of this kid.

cggonzaga
04-28-2013, 04:23 PM
To quote a video on King, "he has scary athleticism". I'll post a YouTube video in a little bit showing a windmill alley oop dunk in pre game warmups. All I've got to say is "WOW".

ZagNative
04-28-2013, 04:26 PM
Interesting. He's a 2013 kid.
E-N Area Boys Basketball Player of the Year: George King of Brennan


http://ww2.hdnux.com/photos/21/16/17/4514809/5/628x471.jpg

At a glance

School: Brennan

Height: 6-5

Position: Forward

Grade: Senior

Why he's the one

Honors: TABC All-State, District 28-4A MVP

Averages: 16.6 points, 11.5 rebounds, 1.6 blocks, made 60 percent from field.

Highlights: Helped lead Bears to a 39-3 record, a sweep of District 28-4A, the No. 1 ranking among Class 4A teams in Texas in February and an appearance in the state semifinals. ... Recorded 25 double-doubles. ... Had two 20-20 games, with 23 points and 20 rebounds against Warren (Nov. 12), and 20 points and 20 rebounds against Lanier (Jan. 29) including 12 rebounds in one quarter. ... All-Area last season.

Quotable: "He's such a physical player, and he was so smart in understanding how effective he could be by using his size, getting rebounds and doing dirty work." ó Lanier coach Rudy Bernal

Read more: http://www.mysanantonio.com/sports/high_school/high_school_boys_basketball/article/E-N-Area-Boys-Basketball-Player-of-the-Year-4461466.php#ixzz2Ro7dvYwE

ZagNative
04-28-2013, 04:49 PM
MaxPreps Stats for King (http://www.maxpreps.com/athletes/FwOHVx6HyE2aHiZhANmEPA/basketball-winter-12-13/stats-george-king.htm#season_stats)

cggonzaga
04-28-2013, 05:00 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7AsPQk8ruzQ

:eek:

jazzdelmar
04-28-2013, 05:18 PM
saw this on twitter, offered this 2013
DG D1 Amb 6'6George King had a great weekend .getting offers from Colorado & Gonzaga. Interest from UTEP, Utah, Drake, Colo St to name a few

Not exactly blue bloods in the hunt.

ZagNative
04-28-2013, 05:35 PM
Not exactly blue bloods in the hunt.That damn Few! What's he planning to drop at our feet this time ...

http://a2.ec-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/98/4d66559b0caa42168b9f93fac301c840/l.jpg

jazzdelmar
04-28-2013, 05:46 PM
....quiet desperation......

cggonzaga
04-28-2013, 05:51 PM
Isaiah Bailey (Compton, Calif./Compton) said assistants from Gonzaga and USC are all over him. Head coaches make the ultimate decisions, but the Zags and Trojans are looking. Also mix in Oregon State and UNLV. UCLA hadnít been in touch as of last weekend, but new assistant David Grace recruited him at Oregon State.

From Telep at ESPN. Personally I'd rather have Bailey than Dorsey but either would do.