PDA

View Full Version : Kelly Olynyk Declares for the NBA Draft



Goshzagit
04-19-2013, 10:53 AM
A Spokesman Review tweet:


"Gonzaga junior forward Kelly Olynyk will bypass his senior season and declare for the NBA Draft, The Spokesman-Review has learned."

No surprise at all, yet still bittersweet.

A huge congrats and well wishes to KO. He'll forever be missed, yet thought of and watched closely by all of Zag nation.

Do work big fella!

:clap:

KStyles
04-19-2013, 10:53 AM
http://i.imgur.com/LHmC0hb.png (https://twitter.com/SRJimm/status/325319558237921281)


Gonzaga’s Kelly Olynyk has decided to bypass his senior season and declare for the NBA draft, The Spokesman-Review has learned.

Olynyk, who turned 22 today, averaged 17.8 points, 7.3 rebounds, 1.7 assists and 1.1 blocks as a junior. He made 63 percent of his field-goal attempts and 77.6 percent of his free throws.

The 7-foot forward from Kamloops, B.C., was a consensus All-American as well as an academic All-American selection.

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2013/apr/19/gonzagas-kelly-olynyk-decides-declare-nba-draft/

DADoZAG
04-19-2013, 10:54 AM
Spokesman Review tweet:



Not a surprise at all, yet still bittersweet.

A huge congrats and well wishes to KO. He'll forever be missed, yet thought of and watched closely by all of Zag nation.

:clap:

Show 'em how, KO!

Congratulations, and Go ZAGS!

DixieZag
04-19-2013, 10:54 AM
Good luck Kelly!

Always a Zag.

rijman
04-19-2013, 10:54 AM
Now we know. Best of luck to you Kelly.

cjm720
04-19-2013, 10:55 AM
Good luck and work hard! Thanks for everything.

hegotit!
04-19-2013, 10:58 AM
Good Decision, selfishly I wanted him to come back. Nothing really to gain coming back. If had and the chance of a bad senior year and his draft status drops to second round.

All the best in the NBA, he earned it through hard work.

MBAGael
04-19-2013, 10:59 AM
Good luck! What a great person and story.

tlark420
04-19-2013, 11:03 AM
Good Luck Kelly! You deserve everything you have coming your way!

U Zig, I Zag
04-19-2013, 11:03 AM
Great, now Stockton is going to have to play standing on the shoulders of Pangos all next season. Wonder Twins, "Shape of a 7-footer with guard skills!".

good luck, KO! We'll miss you.

Wonder who'll he'll end up with.

zagzilla
04-19-2013, 11:06 AM
No surprise but disappointed as a Zag fan.

Amazing the way the program developed him from a big man who at one time looked like "Bambi on ice" to an early entry NBA draftee.

Good luck KO.

ZZ

DixieZag
04-19-2013, 11:11 AM
Now, one more "to-do" thing for Kelly as a Zag - - get drafted in the top 10. What a great selling point on the recruiting trail.

Really, his development should be worth more than the "No.1" thing in recruiting - - every parent should hear the story . . . oh and the degree and grad school work.

stevet75
04-19-2013, 11:11 AM
I, as did most of us, expected it. Good luck Kelly, and thanks for some great basketball.

DixieZag
04-19-2013, 11:12 AM
Good luck! What a great person and story.

Says the happiest person on the board right now. j/k

primal23
04-19-2013, 11:12 AM
Best of luck KO!

2wiceright
04-19-2013, 11:15 AM
Would have loved to have him back next year, but in our hearts he made the right move (I think most agree!).

Good Luck Kelly and I look forward to watching you keep developing and making yourself a name at the next level!

What a Zag!!!:cool:

CaliforniaZaggin'
04-19-2013, 11:15 AM
Couldn't be prouder of the kid. Thanks for the memories, KO, and give 'em hell in the NBA!

NotoriousZ
04-19-2013, 11:19 AM
Couldn't be prouder of the kid. Thanks for the memories, KO, and give 'em hell in the NBA!

+1

Looking forward to watching your NBA carreer.

gamagin
04-19-2013, 11:20 AM
and three BIG cheeers to all the coaches, trainers and this school that helped & supported our big man to the point that from one year to the next, he went from obscurity to first team AA.

Hoopaholic
04-19-2013, 11:22 AM
Going to miss watching you on the court. Best of luck

LongIslandZagFan
04-19-2013, 11:22 AM
Good luck KO... Selfishly hope you end up a Knick.

bballbeachbum
04-19-2013, 11:23 AM
Couldn't be prouder of the kid. Thanks for the memories, KO, and give 'em hell in the NBA!

Do it Kelly

SWZag
04-19-2013, 11:27 AM
Best of luck KO! I have the best feeling about KO than I have about any other Zag heading to the NBA. I think he can do the most. Go get'm KO!!!!!

SWZag

tucsonzag
04-19-2013, 11:27 AM
Congrats KO! Thanks for the memories and being a great all-around Bulldog! What a year. Wish you all the best. :)

webspinnre
04-19-2013, 11:30 AM
Sorry to see you guy, but best wishes for your future success!

rennis
04-19-2013, 11:36 AM
Good luck and work hard! Thanks for everything.

yup, this. +"make that money!"

GU would benefit from a high profile NBA guy. KO, you da man.

:cheers:

ZagMan in Philly
04-19-2013, 11:37 AM
Good luck Kelly, here is hoping the Sixers will draft you.

Pure
04-19-2013, 11:41 AM
Smart kid. Best wishes.

john montana
04-19-2013, 11:42 AM
Go get 'em KO!

former1dog
04-19-2013, 11:57 AM
Good luck to one of my favorite Canadians.

hooter73
04-19-2013, 12:01 PM
H was, is, and will continue to be a great Zag. Good Luck KO!

UberZagFan
04-19-2013, 12:03 PM
Good luck to KO! When all things considered, not much of a decision. Uber left undergrad at GU with a few years of eligibility left as well.

Now where will the Kings (soon to be Sonics) be drafting?

MTZag03
04-19-2013, 12:09 PM
I can't wait for KO to go out there in the scouting combine or whatever the NBA calls it and show how athletic, agile, and skilled he is. If he does that, he'll might make the top 10. I think it is foolish/ridiculous how people keep knocking him as unathletic. Perhaps it's all just memories of ammo. Regardless, a big congratulations and thank you to KO. Go get em!

zag944
04-19-2013, 12:16 PM
Hope we get the Sonics and I hope they make what would be considered to be a slight reach.

One of the all time great Zags. He will represent us well.

Oregonzagnut
04-19-2013, 12:17 PM
I can't wait to become a fan of whatever team drafts him, he gave us 4 years, graduated, helped us earn our first ever #1 ranking and #1 seed - he earned all of our support.

Way to go Kelly!

Not much more he can do for Gonzaga and nothing more Gonzaga can do for him. IMO he is not leaving early. He is leaving when he should because he graduated and is going out to get a multi-million dollar job offer. That is what college is primarily about, giving kids the tools to be more successful in the future. And Gonzaga again proves to turn some of the best kids into even better adults.

Go Zags, Go!

Nevada Don
04-19-2013, 12:31 PM
Great thread guys. Perfectly classy (as expected). All things considered, I'm sure he thought long and hard before making his decision.

FuManShoes
04-19-2013, 12:35 PM
Congrats, Kelly. Go get em in the Show.

(NBADraft.net (http://nbadraft.net/) has him going #10 to OKC, while DrafteExpress (http://www.draftexpress.com/) has him going #13.)

cdools
04-19-2013, 12:58 PM
I think the decision wasn't as straight-forward as people think. This team was so tight that part of him feels it is a tough group of guys and coaches to leave. Of course the NBA beckons and he is ready for the next stage of his career...Congratulations to Kelly and congratulations to the Zags players who were a big part of his success this year. Special mention to the coaching staff, including the strength coach, who helped Kelly so much in his red-shirt year. Of course Kelly put in the work when no one was watching which helped him excel when everyone was

BoZarth
04-19-2013, 02:42 PM
Here's to a long prosperous career!

Go Zags!!!!

zagmantis2001
04-19-2013, 02:54 PM
Good luck to Kelly, thanks for all of the hard work and good luck in the future.

However, in the immortal words of Spaulding:

Double Farts.

Zagdawg
04-19-2013, 03:49 PM
Congrats and good luck with the draft!

McZag
04-20-2013, 04:57 PM
Thanks for giving us your best KO! Godspeed and best wishes!

GoZags
04-20-2013, 04:59 PM
Good luck to one of our all-time GREAT Zags. Go get 'em, Kelly.

Blitzing-Zag
04-20-2013, 05:21 PM
Good luck Kelly!