PDA

View Full Version : Final USA Poll



flytiezag
04-09-2013, 09:39 AM
Gonzaga 12 in final USA poll.Seems we did get some respect.

KStyles
04-09-2013, 09:45 AM
Was just making this thread.

Poll Date: Tuesday April 09 2013

RANK TEAM RECORD POINTS
1 Louisville 35-5 775 (31)
2 Michigan 31-8 744
3 Syracuse 30-10 696
4 Wichita St. 30-9 643
5 Duke 30-6 607
6 Ohio St. 29-8 594
7 Indiana 29-7 568
8 Kansas 31-6 533
9 Florida 29-8 530
10 Miami 29-7 487
11 Marquette 26-9 475
12 Gonzaga 32-3 444
13 Michigan St. 27-9 440
14 Arizona 27-8 359
15 Oregon 28-9 320
16 Saint Louis 28-7 265
17 Georgetown 25-7 253
18 Memphis 31-5 185
19 New Mexico 29-6 165
20 Kansas St. 27-8 147
21 Creighton 28-8 134
22 Wisconsin 23-12 101
23 Va. Commonwealth 27-9 99
24 La Salle 24-10 97
25 Florida Gulf Coast 26-11 91

Others Receiving Votes
Butler (27-9) 76; Oklahoma State (24-9) 63; Mississippi (27-9) 27; North Carolina (25-11) 26; Baylor (23-14) 23; California (21-12) 23; Iowa State (23-12) 16; Saint Marys (28-7) 15; Illinois (23-13) 13; Colorado State (26-9) 11; Pittsburgh (24-9) 8; Temple (24-10) 8; Iowa (25-13) 7; UCLA (25-10) 3; Belmont (26-7) 1; Minnesota (21-13) 1; Notre Dame (25-10) 1; Weber State (30-7) 1.

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/ncaab/polls/

FuManShoes
04-09-2013, 08:03 PM
Not sure I get the "respect" part. We dropped from 1 to 12 after a 6 pt loss to a team that made the Final Four. Seems the Zags paid a steep penalty for a disappointing early yet ultimately "quality" loss. Can't really argue about the teams ahead of the Zags, but did GU deserve to fall like that?

KStyles
04-09-2013, 08:25 PM
1 National Champ (Louisville)
2 National Runner-Up (Michigan)
3 Final Four (Syracuse)
4 Final Four (Wichita State)
5 Elite Eight (Duke)
6 Elite Eight (Ohio State)
7 Sweet 16 (Indiana)
8 Sweet 16 (Kansas)
9 Elite Eight (Florida)
10 Sweet 16 (Miami)
11 Elite Eight (Marquette)
12 R32 (Gonzaga)
13 Sweet 16 (Michigan St.)
14 Sweet 16 (Arizona)
15 Sweet 16 (Oregon)
16 R32 (Saint Louis)
17 R64 (Georgetown )
18 R32 (Memphis)
19 R64 (New Mexico)
20 R64 (Kansas St.)
21 R32 (Creighton)
22 R64 (Wisconsin)
23 R32 (Va. Commonwealth)
24 Sweet 16 (La Salle)
25 Sweet 16 (Florida Gulf Coast)

Not really sure what it means, other than tournament performance was weighted pretty heavily. GU is the top non Sweet 16 team (even ahead of 5 of them).

krozman
04-09-2013, 09:35 PM
I rank us somewhere between 17 and 32 based purely on results. It's the world we live in.

rijman
04-10-2013, 07:05 PM
The polls haven't made any sense all year, why should they start now? So the final rankings in some cases are very closely tied to the NCAA tourney results.

Mike Bobinski said the NCAA tournament committee did not put more emphasis on conference tournament results than regular season results, so for example, an Indiana loss in the conf tourney to Wisconsin did not move them from the 1 seed. Apparently the coaches see rankings a lot differently, the NCAA tourney results are given more importance than all the games leading up to it.

Does Indiana really fall to #7? Do the Zags really fall to #12 because of a loss to Wichita St? Whatever.

Reborn
04-10-2013, 07:36 PM
Unfortunately tournaments do count, and especially the NCAA tournament. It's the end of a long year, and in the end it's usually how a team is judged. I believe it's a fair judgement. The teams ahead of us had a great year and did go further than the Zags. We could have ended up where Ohio St was and I would have liked that the best because I honestly believe the Zags could have beaten Ohio St and Wisconsin. In many ways that's why the loss to Wichita St hurt so badly because I really did want to play those teams from the Big 10 and Big East, or even ACC. I think we could have beaten them this year. I really hated losing to a team from a mid major conference. I hate it when the selection committee does that, but honestly I think the committee expected the Zags to play Pitt, which would have just been fine with me.

I hope this final poll really hits Kelly Olynyk the way it does me. I think we all know that the Zags were better than that. And I would want to come back and end my career proving that. If it were me I would not want to end my career the way it did this year. I would want more for my teammates, my coaches, the university, the fans and mostly for myself. I have a lot of confidence that the Zags could go further next year, and who knows. I would like the chance to be on the first Gonzaga Men's team that went to the final 4. The mulitmillion dollar contract will be there in one year. But that's just me, and I believe my opinion is quite unpopular here on the board where most of you now see Kelly leaving. I still do not.

Zagcity
04-11-2013, 06:46 AM
I hope this final poll really hits Kelly Olynyk the way it does me. I think we all know that the Zags were better than that. And I would want to come back and end my career proving that. If it were me I would not want to end my career the way it did this year. I would want more for my teammates, my coaches, the university, the fans and mostly for myself. I have a lot of confidence that the Zags could go further next year, and who knows. I would like the chance to be on the first Gonzaga Men's team that went to the final 4. The mulitmillion dollar contract will be there in one year. But that's just me, and I believe my opinion is quite unpopular here on the board where most of you now see Kelly leaving. I still do not.

His demeanor after the game against WSU speaks volumes as to his thinking but only he and the good Lord knows for sure. There is also the rumor about his tap on coach Few's shoulder and what was said after that game. :pray:

cjm720
04-11-2013, 07:08 AM
His demeanor after the game against WSU speaks volumes as to his thinking but only he and the good Lord knows for sure. There is also the rumor about his tap on coach Few's shoulder and what was said after that game. :pray:

what rumor?

jazzdelmar
04-11-2013, 07:24 AM
what rumor?

Grasping now.

cjm720
04-11-2013, 07:39 AM
why not? i live and breath GU basketball, it's fun.

Zagdawg
04-11-2013, 07:55 AM
The rumor I heard was Kelly and Edwards were going to move to the tennis team to play doubles and walk on to the basketball team.


Wouldn't that be a scary sight to try to lob over a tandem of Kelly and Ryan.

Zageist
04-11-2013, 08:03 AM
seems fair

rijman
04-11-2013, 08:24 AM
The rumor I heard was Kelly and Edwards were going to move to the tennis team to play doubles and walk on to the basketball team.


Wouldn't that be a scary sight to try to lob over a tandem of Kelly and Ryan.
I played doubles tennis years ago against Toby Kimball, former UConn and Celtics basketball player, I tried to lob him early on and the ball came back at me like a missile. That was the only time I tried to lob him.

scott257
04-11-2013, 12:55 PM
Just saying, I don't really care about this poll. It isn't accurate and doesn't really mean anything with respect to how I feel about Gonzaga. Rating Wichita State as high as they did is a gift to them for playing as well as they did in the tournament. They are not a better team than Gonzaga and I imagine most everyone on this board already knows that. I believe that our team could play Wichita State and win nine out of ten games. If we had a series with Wichita State and you had these same coaches bet their paychecks on who would win the series, they would probably all vote for Gonzaga.

gamagin
04-11-2013, 01:15 PM
predicted on here for the Zags following the WSC loss. 12th is fair.

We did finish the season with only three losses. Best W-L in this school's 1.25 century history.

Meantime, back to the riveting multimillion post discussion about a guy who has one year of eligibility left, and might but probably won't transfer to GU, but who nevertheless may or may not be Magic Johnson reincarnated. But is too small. Or is it too tall. Or is too light.

But probably isn't. It's hard to say. But I do now know that Dower won't play, or start. Unless, of course, he does.

Welcome to summer camp.