PDA

View Full Version : Who else is as confident about this team as I am?



UKWildcatsFan
02-16-2013, 04:57 PM
Who else thinks that Gonzaga is going to head into the tournament at 31-2, as a 1 seed, and take home the trophy?!?!

I think I might have to go back to the 06 team to think of a time where I was absolutely confident Gonzaga was going to win everytime they walked into a gym. 09 I was pretty sure they would win but a home loss to Portland State and a road loss to Utah shook that confidence.

rijman
02-16-2013, 05:01 PM
I am confident the Zags can win out through the WCC tourney. I like their chances of making FF in the NCAA tourney, this is the season to do it with parity among the top ranked teams and the Zags fielding a very good team. This is the season to make a deep run.

zagamatic
02-16-2013, 05:47 PM
This years team has me believing a couple of things I haven't with teams of old.
1. They seem to learn from mistakes quickly. Not just week to week, but in game as well.
2. Depth. We really do have that luxury this year and it's getting better.
3. Chemistry is outstanding no matter who is in with the possible exception of lob passes. But , to me at least, this says that there really isn't a showboating kind of guy although there certainly are some capable of showboat plays.
4. This team does not hang it's head. It's just onto the next possession. Short memories win games in March and April.
5. Team defense is improving every game as well as individual defense (see Barham).
In short, the few complaints I've had with this years team are short lived, even the things regarding the coaching staff.

ZagMan in Philly
02-16-2013, 05:54 PM
I believed since Olynyk became a starter.
We could even get better, and peak right into the NCAA tourney.

bartruff1
02-16-2013, 05:56 PM
Confident ???...No...I am not looking that far ahead...beat Santa Clara.. I am confident they should do that.....next week is a opportunity to try some stuff and practice some stuff and get better..because I think the team is getting better ....

maynard g krebs
02-16-2013, 06:33 PM
I think the team is very confident now, and that's the important thing. Today I felt totally relaxed when USF tied the score, and that's an unusual feeling when the score's tied on the road late in the game. This team has at least 4 guys that you can go to for a game winning shot, and they've shown the ability to make big plays down the stretch time and again.

On the flipside of that, it's mostly true for the other top 7-8 teams as well. So I'm about 89.2% confident of at least making the s16. Beyond that, it's matchups and who is playing well that day.

Zag365
02-16-2013, 06:42 PM
I like that this team has adopted the attitude that they need to sweep the WCC and the WCC tournament to gain respect. Our most successful teams have had that "dammit, let's shown 'em we are better than they give us credit for" attitude.

ZagsBaby
02-16-2013, 06:57 PM
I like the team, but they aren't winning no NCAA championship

VaBeachZAG
02-16-2013, 07:18 PM
While it would be very unwise to bet your home and all your possessions that the Zags will win the national championship, neither would I ever summarily dismiss the possibility that they could win it all. As to national respect, it is still an iffy proposition. When the game day talking heads showed the graphic with the Zags as a bracket one seed, one of them quickly responded; "we'll see how long they (Zags) can hold it."

roxdoc
02-16-2013, 07:45 PM
Zags have burned the talking heads before.... but this time they are for real!

Oregonzagnut
02-16-2013, 08:00 PM
I like the team, but they aren't winning no NCAA championship

Why not?

DixieZag
02-16-2013, 08:11 PM
As far as talking heads go, Andy Katz (admittedly the Zaggiest of the talking heads) said that Olynick was one of his favorites for Player of the Year - that is Amazing. This is a guy that couldn't crack the line-up his sophmore year.

Kelly is our most consistent player, but on any given night we have 4 more that can beat a team. The re-emergence of Gary has me really excited, just another weapon especially if he keeps attacking the rim - the dish to KO or Elias will open up even more.

Yes, they can go as far as they want. I still worry about every game and it will take some luck (same as any team) and a great draw but they are closing in on the number one seed and that creates a good draw.

ZagsBaby
02-16-2013, 08:22 PM
Why not?

Because teams like Indiana, Duke, and Michigan are better.

Probably more. That's ok though.

tempe85
02-16-2013, 08:28 PM
I like the team, but they aren't winning no NCAA championship

Well that's a double negative, so what you're really saying is they will win. :clap:

UKWildcatsFan
02-16-2013, 08:33 PM
Because teams like Indiana, Duke, and Michigan are better.

Probably more. That's ok though.

How often does the best team in the tournament actually win it? 2012 Kentucky and 2007 Florida are the only overall #1 seeds to win it all.

ZagsBaby
02-16-2013, 08:34 PM
Sorry for having an opinion

UKWildcatsFan
02-16-2013, 08:38 PM
Sorry for having an opinion

I'm sorry too.

(just kidding)

cggonzaga
02-16-2013, 08:52 PM
Indiana is the only team in the country that has as much depth as us. They may be a tad better but beatable. Duke is definitely not better and Michigan seems to be running out of steam late in the season. We are as good as if not better than any team in the country. If we win out we will not only be a 1 seed but also ranked number 1 in the country. Book it!

Ekrub
02-16-2013, 08:53 PM
I've been overly optimistic since the end of the Ohio State game last year. I said that we were a top 5 team. Little did I know that Kelly Olynyk was going to turn into the player he did and make that prediction come true. As the year has moved on, my optimism has grown. Every poll that asks for our prediction over a certain game span, I chose us to go undefeated. I can't help it. I'll be doing the same thing on my bracket this year. Go Zags.

UKWildcatsFan
02-16-2013, 08:55 PM
I've been overly optimistic since the end of the Ohio State game last year. I said that we were a top 5 team. Little did I know that Kelly Olynyk was going to turn into the player he did and make that prediction come true. As the year has moved on, my optimism has grown. Every poll that asks for our prediction over a certain game span, I chose us to go undefeated. I can't help it. I'll be doing the same thing on my bracket this year. Go Zags.

I'm with this smart Zag fan here. *thumbs up*

229SintoZag
02-16-2013, 10:46 PM
Wyoming. Nevada. Arizona. Texas Tech. UCLA. Freaking Davidson. Indiana. Syracuse. BYU. Ohio State.

Don't ask me why I just posted all these schools up here. It's a mystery.

What was this thread about again?

calizag
02-16-2013, 11:16 PM
Wyoming. Nevada. Arizona. Texas Tech. UCLA. Freaking Davidson. Indiana. Syracuse. BYU. Ohio State.

Don't ask me why I just posted all these schools up here. It's a mystery.

What was this thread about again?

Thanks for the flood of bad memories.....all at once.

ZagsGoZags
02-17-2013, 12:25 AM
UCLA

doubled over on floor in pain

this year, if and when we lose in the NCAA I don't think it will be that way, we have been tough in the close ones

This is our year