PDA

View Full Version : Silas Melson: 2014 Guard



Angelo Roncalli
12-30-2012, 11:19 PM
Silas Melson (Jefferson) – It won’t be too long until Melson becomes nationally known. The 6’3 guard is very athletic and has a sweet jump shot. Melson’s shot was falling the first day of the LSI. The young man went 7-7 from behind the arc in the first half. If you can compare Melson to anyone it would have to be Avery Bradley minus the defensive intensity. Melson is able to break down his opponent and hit the open shot or take it to the rack and finish with his athleticism. Melson had the most college coaches watching him Thursday at the LSI.

http://leftcoastrecruiting.com/2012/12/29/les-schwab-invitational-filled-with-talent/

According to Jason McCleary and Chris Fetters, Melson has offers from Gonzaga and Colorado State. He also has offers from UP, PSU and UW.

http://highschoolsports.oregonlive.com/news/article/-1264085372931530088/les-schwab-invitational-central-catholic-84-jefferson-67/

Seattle fans can catch Melson and the Jefferson Democrats when they play Mt. Rainier at the MLK Holiday Hoopfest at Seattle Pacific University on 1/21 (game time is 6:30 PM).

http://www.kube93.com/pages/events.html?feed=106591&article=10657151

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NfYRQ7iJX0

CanadianZagFan
12-31-2012, 04:04 AM
Nice high release on his jumper with range out past the 3 point line. I would have liked to see a little more agression in teh video, but it was only one brief look.

hooter73
12-31-2012, 08:28 AM
I like him. Not the best timing in the world but he could get his feet under him during the remaining tenure of our current guards and then him and Small could run the show.

zag67
12-31-2012, 08:41 AM
I would think the timing is perfect. Kp and kb will be seniors. Train one year and then go for it

BobZag
12-31-2012, 08:50 AM
First hand reports?

Mantua
12-31-2012, 10:55 AM
Well, considering the way UW is playing, I'm sure Romar could promise instant PT.

hooter73
12-31-2012, 01:12 PM
I would think the timing is perfect. Kp and kb will be seniors. Train one year and then go for it

youre right, i was a year off in my thinking. Bring him in!

ValencyLovesZagsInAtlanta
01-03-2013, 05:11 AM
Right now Wilson-Frame (class of 2014) is a bit under the radar but the big offers will be coming in soon from many top programs in my opinion. Tomorrow night I am headed to Connecticut with a friend and will be watching JWF for the 3rd time when Windsor plays @ Wethersfield in CT. Jared scored 45 points against Kuran Iverson's (5***** recruit headed to Memphis next year) Northwest Catholic team last year when he lit up the gym with 9 three pointers Kevin Pangos style!

I think JWF would be a good fit for the Zags. Gonzaga should go after this kid very hard in my opinion. They should watch him play and make an offer. The rest may just take care of itself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1rxu5ahJSk&feature=endscreen

I think this year and the success we can potentially have (Final 4) can put us in a good position to recruit JWF and others on the east coast if coach Few decides to go in that direction.

ValencyLovesZagsInAtlanta
01-03-2013, 08:28 AM
http://www.maxpreps.com/athletes/0dag_21ZLUisk0JRt3c6vQ/basketball-winter-12-13/profile-hamidou-diallo.htm

Hamidou is an amazing youngster. Very bright and major major major major talent. Hamidou is just a Freshman and can really shoot. If I were the Zags I would reach out to him early. He is a kid we can get in my most humble of opinions of course as the Zags program continues to get more exposure with our success this year. :)

23dpg
01-03-2013, 08:47 AM
From the Oregonian today:

Silas Melson, the Democrats’ 6-foot-3 junior wing, led the team with 90 points in four games and was named to the all-tournament first team in voting by the tournament coaches and the media.

“Obviously, the coaches recognized what Silas did in those four games four our team and how dominant he was offensively,” Strickland said of Melson, who shot 52.7 percent (29 of 55) from the field, including 50 percent (12 of 24) from three-point range.

“Silas has stepped up as one of our leaders and he’s our best defender as well. We’re definitely anticipating him having a good year.”

ZAGGED OUT
01-03-2013, 09:33 AM
Just read an article that said Melson plays for Team ICP in the AAU season. If I'm not mistaken, another recruit, Donovan Dorsey, will be playing for the same team. Anybody plan on catching ICP in action?