PDA

View Full Version : Thanks Raivio and Mallon... you deserve better



ZagAddict
02-12-2007, 11:06 PM
I love the heart that Raivio and Mallon have been bringing to the team this year. This has been a rough year, but Raivio and Mallon have always been there giving their all out effort night in and night out. Thank you for giving the effort that we have become accustomed to seeing as Zag fans.

As seniors, Mallon and Raivio deserve better than the hand that has been dealt to them ala Josh Heytvelt. I won't go into whether or not his presence changes the outcome of this past weekend or games in the future, but it is a complete shame that one player can put a team/program in such a bad situation. Teammates that don't have the team's/program's/school's best interestes at hand have no place on the Zag roster in my opinion.

Raivio and Mallon... good luck the rest of the way. It's not too late to accomplish your goals as seniors (i.e. NCAA Tournament).

Heytvelt, I wish you luck as well. I hope you are able to learn from this experience and make better choices in the future. Unfortunately, I hope this doesn't take place while wearing a Zag uniform. Your lack of respect for you teammates can never be reversed in my opinion, and the other 14 players on the team deserve better.

Just my opinion on a frustrating night...

mendiant
02-12-2007, 11:13 PM
You get a big amen form me brother...on all points.

love,
church lady

Argentum
02-12-2007, 11:33 PM
Derek and Sean, hold your heads high. You made this Zag fan proud tonight by battling hard to the end.

TexasZagFan
02-12-2007, 11:34 PM
Teammates that don't have the team's/program's/school's best interestes at hand have no place on the Zag roster in my opinion.

We've been lucky over the last ten years. May our good fortune continue for at least ten more.

soonerterp
02-13-2007, 01:37 AM
Derek and Sean, hold your heads high. You made this Zag fan proud tonight by battling hard to the end.

... you also made a big impression on the Friendly Outsider Pest (me) likewise.

pdxzagfan
02-13-2007, 07:12 AM
Great post ZagAddict, I agree with everything you said. Raivio and Mallon are class acts and do deserve far better. I love their attitudes during this time of adversity; it seems they never stop chipping away. I read in an article (a while ago) where Raivio's dad said DR's heart was as big as his body, and I believe it.

jayray
02-13-2007, 07:20 AM
As seniors, Mallon and Raivio deserve better than the hand that has been dealt to them ala Josh Heytvelt.

Give me a break. Blaming this loss on Josh? I don't think so. This is flat out ridiculous. Josh was NOT Mr. Almighty, able to save GU from anything. With or without Josh the they would have lost. All season it was all those road games Few scheduled. Now, we have Josh to blame. If it makes you feel better to believe that, I guess there is no harm.

brasszag
02-13-2007, 07:27 AM
How about they deserve better than someone risking their last chance to go to the NCAAs "because he got high"

LongIslandZagFan
02-13-2007, 07:29 AM
Give me a break. Blaming this loss on Josh? I don't think so. This is flat out ridiculous. Josh was NOT Mr. Almighty, able to save GU from anything. With or without Josh the they would have lost. All season it was all those road games Few scheduled. Now, we have Josh to blame. If it makes you feel better to believe that, I guess there is no harm.

I think what people mean here, and I hope I am not putting words into their mouths, is that his disappearance from the team left a very big hole. Does that mean that this team is a complete bust without him? No. A better way to look at it would be he just tipped over the apple cart right before the most important weekend in conference play. It is going to take a bit to get the chemistry flowing again.

The team was NOT itself last night. We shot horribly from everywhere... Josh or no Josh, that ISN'T this team. This does strike me as a result of a post Josh debacle hangover. One positive is how they came together at the end of the game. If they take that intensity into the game against Memphis from the get-go I'd say we have a reasonable shot at winning the game.

SteeleMan
02-13-2007, 07:32 AM
"Give me a break. Blaming this loss on Josh?"

I'm feel confident that Addict is not blaming any loss on JH. What I took his post as meaning is that D.Rav and Mallon, as seniors and giving their heart and sole to the program, don't deserve the turmoil that has been brought upon them and the program by the actions of JH and TD.

That was a very inspired performance by Derek last night. One that I will remember for a long time.

ZagSlug
02-13-2007, 08:09 AM
The question I have is.....how long will it take to find this version of the team to find its identity? It is a total recalibration of the team late in the season.

I agree with LIZF, there is a hole and it happens to be in the middle which is more difficult to fill than a wing or guard position.

Here's hoping that the staff and players figure it out before the WCC tournament.

Schmitty
02-13-2007, 08:10 AM
Josh wouldve made a HUGE difference last night, just as he does every game. Think about the intagibles.. You think Pariseau wouldve been driving the lane for easy layups if Josh was in there, or any of the SCU guards for that matter.. Rebounds, blocks, dunks, crowd momentum, intimidation, defense, etc etc.. Josh isnt the reason they lost, but he most certainly couldve helped them win.

zaglawdad
02-13-2007, 10:01 AM
great post ZagAddict. I agree on all points with you. Raivio and Mallon are both a class act. Sean Mallon isn't the most athletically gifted player on the court but he brings intelligence, heart, and work ethics to the team.

wazZag
02-13-2007, 10:32 AM
I'm going to miss seeing Mallon in a Zag-uni for all of the reasons you mentioned zaglawdad. There have been times where I wished we had someone more athletic, bigger, stronger, etc. down low instead of SM, but I've begun to appreciate what he brings more and more. For example, he may not be able to rebound at an incredible rate, but I've never seen a big guy take more charges. He knows what is going on, is a great leader, plays his ass off, and demands the same of his teammates.

brasszag
02-13-2007, 10:32 AM
My 2 cents and Sean Mallon tribute as it were.

Sean came in as a sought after top-100 recruit, redshirted, and then was overshadowed almost immediately on his return - at his own position by Ronny, and from his own city by Ammo. His staying in Spokane to play for GU was a major boost to the GU program's recruiting morale at the time. Let's not forget that either.

He's been a class act and a valuable on-court contributer for his entire career - even as his physical limits have been maximised, he continues to improve his game skills to contribute on the court. This is not disregarding the often-shabby and condescending treatment he gets from the Zags own "fans."

He's one of the guys on this year's team that most reminds me of the Zags from when they started their run in the late 90's - savvy and tough-minded and often playing against bigger, faster, more "athletic" players. He's done this as a Senior and one of the key members of a team that has had to tackle vastly greater obstacles - both on the court and off - than the one when he was recruited. This team will be poorer next year without a Senior student-athlete of his caliber on it.

I'd be surprised next year if there aren't times where Mark Few will be missing being able to call him off the bench. Guys like Sean are the heart of our program, and they are the ones I'm most proud of, as an Alumnus of Gonzaga.

IrishZag
02-13-2007, 10:57 AM
He's one of the guys on this year's team that most reminds me of the Zags from when they started their run in the late 90's - savvy and tough-minded and often playing against bigger, faster, more "athletic" players. He's done this as a Senior and one of the key members of a team that has had to tackle vastly greater obstacles - both on the court and off - than the one when he was recruited. This team will be poorer next year without a Senior student-athlete of his caliber on it.




I agree with everything that has been said, but I wanted to add that this team will have that kind of senior leader next year. His name is David Pendergraft, and without taking away anything from the two current senior leaders. Pendo has done more than has ever been asked of him every time he has stepped out on the court for the Zags. This has been even more evident over the course of the last couple of weeks. My hope is that we can continue to find these kind of quality players who have sincere passion for not just the game of basketball but for the Gonzaga program.

I really feel for all the players on this team, I think the second half of yesterday's game demonstrated that desperately cared about this program and that home winning streak. I hope this brings them together as a team, and does not break their morale going into the last few games of the season. I strongly believe that the character of the players that we have remaining will prevail, and these Zags like the Zags of the past will find a way to win. Or at the very least they will go down swinging.

wazZag
02-13-2007, 11:00 AM
I agree, Pendo will be the leader on next year's team. Although Pargo will be a junior, he will (and already has) assumed some of those responsibilities as well.

brasszag
02-13-2007, 01:11 PM
I'll certainly agree that Pendo's a leader - but a bit more fiery as it were - I don't see anyone who will have that steadying influence like Sean this year. Someone who pulls the offence back in a bit when it starts to get over-agressive to the point of slop, or not losing cool and confidence when we're down.

I actually removed something to that effect before I posted, since I figured next year's team will be Pendo's team. If they mis the NCAA this year, let's hope they make it back for Big Red.

ZagAddict
02-13-2007, 07:04 PM
Thanks for the support on this SteeleMan. I never blamed Josh for a Zag loss this past weekend or in the future. It's not possible to know how things would have played out if Josh had been able to play against SCU... for all I know he could have been in foul trouble and contributed nothing againat SCU...

Jayray... in regards to the quote you used in my post ("As seniors, Raivio and Mallon deserve better than the hand they have been dealt ala Josh Heytvelt."), how does that imply that any blame was placed on Josh for the loss? Josh has dealt all his teammates a bad hand for the rest of this season. He was a contributor/teammate how was relied upon for the season thus far. His bad decision has most certainly put the entire team in a bad situation. Before jumping to conclusions about posts you should try reading the whole thing...

soonerterp
02-14-2007, 03:00 AM
I think I said this before but it bears repeating:

Senior Night -- fraught with emotion on seemingly any campus at every final home game of the season -- seems like its going to be extra sad at Gonzaga to have to bid farewell to this pair, Sean Mallon and Derek Raivio. They'll be much missed next season (and wishing them success whether in or out of basketball).

I vaguely remember reading somewhere (maybe I came across it at the Columbian while looking for Blazers news from something other than the Oregonian) that Raivio's brother was going to play at U. of Portland next season?

soonerterp
02-14-2007, 03:01 AM
Great post ZagAddict, I agree with everything you said. Raivio and Mallon are class acts and do deserve far better. I love their attitudes during this time of adversity; it seems they never stop chipping away. I read in an article (a while ago) where Raivio's dad said DR's heart was as big as his body, and I believe it.

I don't doubt you or anything, I was curious if the article was online somewhere.

pdxzagfan
02-14-2007, 07:15 AM
soonerterp, I found it under this link, it was originally a Spokesman Review article, but I think you have to pay at the paper to see archived articles....

http://www.findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4186/is_20050203/ai_n11712630

sullyzag66
02-14-2007, 02:09 PM
I think I said this before but it bears repeating:

Senior Night -- fraught with emotion on seemingly any campus at every final home game of the season -- seems like its going to be extra sad at Gonzaga to have to bid farewell to this pair, Sean Mallon and Derek Raivio. They'll be much missed next season (and wishing them success whether in or out of basketball).

I vaguely remember reading somewhere (maybe I came across it at the Columbian while looking for Blazers news from something other than the Oregonian) that Raivio's brother was going to play at U. of Portland next season?
You are correct. Derek's brother, Nik, will play for the Pilots next year.

http://www.columbian.com/sports/localNews/01192007news94582.cfm

I thought this quote by their father, who was a star at UP was odd: "It's kind of nice, but it doesn't really matter to me that he'll play for Portland. He's his own guy now," Rick said.

Then I read in UP Forums that Rick Raivio never forgave UP for the way they treated his coach, Jack Avina.

soonerterp
02-15-2007, 01:20 AM
Thanks sully and pdx for the links.