PDA

View Full Version : Old Spice Classic



Zag4Hire
11-13-2012, 08:17 AM
Nice to waltz into the office today with two proud WVU alums absolutely avoiding me. I think the GU classy way is you don't have to say anything (similar to my previous SMC WCC Championship game experience). But trust me I had many a zingers prepared just in case.

Looking forward to the OSC so the 'Tall Prince' can get an early tournament type atmosphere experience. Is there a scouting report on Clemson? I recognize Booker from last year's ACC tourney viewing and he is quite the load. However since Purnell left, they have been off my radar. When Purnell was the HC, you knew Clemson was playing because of the orange coat (not to be confused with Pearl) and a team that could push both UNC and Duke to the brink but rarely seal the deal. If the Zags get by Clemson, Spangler's Sooners would possibly be the next tilt. Nice to see no Tiny Gallon to cause delays in the viewing. The Sooners, another team I know nothing about but glancing at the roster lists a James Fraschilla. I am guessing that is Fran's son and would be interesting if he would be doing color for the game.

Zag4Hire
11-15-2012, 11:11 AM
Looks like the CBS Sports preview was written by a very casual fan. It was also ranked 7th out of 20 early season tournaments by the writer.


7. Old Spice Classic (Nov. 22-23, 25): Best preconference-play tournament you probably don't know about, and the Old Spice has been really good for nearly a decade now. Gonzaga the best of the group, but the next level of teams -- Davidson, West Virginia, Vanderbilt -- is really good, and even Clemson, UTEP and Oklahoma are on the upswing. Marist is the only dicey one of the group. Davidson can definitely win this, as De'Mon Brooks and Jake Cohen could have some monster years ahead. I'll take West Virginia though, mainly because Bob Huggins is already smarting from being picked sixth in the Eers' inaugural Big 12 year.

http://www.cbssports.com/collegebasketball/blog/eye-on-college-basketball/20995191/ranking-the-best-early-season-tournaments

Jakester425
11-15-2012, 11:51 AM
Looks like the CBS Sports preview was written by a very casual fan. It was also ranked 7th out of 20 early season tournaments by the writer.



http://www.cbssports.com/collegebasketball/blog/eye-on-college-basketball/20995191/ranking-the-best-early-season-tournaments

:vomit-smiley-007: I doubt he watched WV's first game. I think they will play better next week than they did against us, but ill be surprised if they make it to the final.

allbusiness_zag
11-15-2012, 11:55 AM
Wow. I thought this might have been a quote from a couple weeks ago with the West Virginia pick...but then I saw that it was posted today. Seriously? The Zags are the best in the bunch, but he's picking WVU? Does he know we could meet in the final? Did he watch either of our games against them the past 8 months? Give me a job CBS, I want to be a 'Senior Blogger' too. :confused:

CDC84
11-15-2012, 12:03 PM
I think that pick was made before GU torched the Mountaineers.

My sister is a West Virginia grad, but I don't have to see her moan because she lives in Michigan these days.

krozman
11-15-2012, 02:24 PM
I doubt WV will be a top 50 RPI win by the season's end, so not sure I want to face them again anyway. Bring on the bigger boys!

DixieZag
11-15-2012, 03:56 PM
I don't want to face WVU again b/c we have nothing to win and everything to lose. Plus, there is that proverbial "tough to beat a team 3 times" - -

I think WVU has a chance to come back and have a decent year, since we have "gotten to know him" my respect for Huggins has gone way up and I think that he will get these guys molded together and find a shooter somewhere on the roster.

Zag365
11-15-2012, 07:27 PM
I haven't seen anything that explains how the teams are paired after the first round of the OSC. If we beat Clemson, who are we likely to play in the second round? Is there a seeding? drawing out of hat? pistols at 20 paces?

caduceus
11-15-2012, 08:53 PM
http://i.imgur.com/1bW1f.png

primal23
11-16-2012, 08:31 AM
Beat Clemson, then a possible battle with Oklahoma. That could be interesting.

LongIslandZagFan
11-16-2012, 08:45 AM
Here are my guesses:

WVU over Marist
Vandy over Davidson
Sooners over UTEP
Zags over Clemson

Round 2 winners
Vandy over WKU
Zags over Sooners

Round 2 Losers side
Davidson over Marist
Clemson over UTEP

Loser side final game
Davidson over Clemson
UTEP over Maris

Round 2 losers
Sooners over WKU

Championship Game
Zags over Vandy

sittingon50
11-16-2012, 09:25 AM
You snuck the Hilltoppers in there, LI.

I'll go with Davidson on the other side.

ValencyLovesZagsInAtlanta
11-16-2012, 09:44 AM
Here are my guesses:

WVU over Marist
Vandy over Davidson
Sooners over UTEP
Zags over Clemson

Round 2 winners
Vandy over WKU
Zags over Sooners

Round 2 Losers side
Davidson over Marist
Clemson over UTEP

Loser side final game
Davidson over Clemson
UTEP over Maris

Round 2 losers
Sooners over WKU

Championship Game
Zags over Vandy

Hi

Keep in mind Davidson was up 13 with just under 15:00 mins to go in the game @ New Mexico "The Pit" playing in the altitude at 3:30 AM in the morning east coast time when they hit the wall and were hit with a late run by the Lobos knocking them out.

What do you like most about Vanderbilt this year?

Val :)

Tmac5360
11-16-2012, 09:52 AM
LIZ, normally Vandy would be a great pick. But they are going to struggle this year. Rebuilding in a big way. Davidson should handle them. WV will get through Marist and then lose to Davidson I think. The real game is second round between GU and OU. That to me is the title game. If GU can survive that one they should be able to handle Davidson. Certainly GU's tourney to win They are the class of the group but Lon Kruger is a great coach and they will pay there butt's off for him. Gonna be fun.

gbnyba17
11-16-2012, 10:07 AM
Round 1:
WV over Marist
Davidson over Vandy
OK over UTEP
Zags over Clemson

Round 2 winners:
Davidson over WV
Zags over OK

Round 2 Losers:
Vandy over Marist
Clemson over UTEP

Loser Final Game:
UTEP over Marist

Round 2 Losers Winners
Vandy over Clemson

Championship:
Zags over Davidson!!!

I will further say that Zags toughest game will be the first game against Clemson. We will come out a little flat but early in the second half will pull away. 2nd and 3rd games will be dominating performance by the Zags with margins of victory around 20 pts for each game. I love these Zags.

Zag4Hire
11-16-2012, 10:11 AM
Taking a look at the bracket and in agreement with some of the previous comments, the bigger challenges are in the front end. Vandy doesn't appear to have many upper classmen and the cupboard is clearly bare for Stallings. Clemson has Booker and this will be the first big man test this season.

Zaglaw
11-16-2012, 12:05 PM
I'd like to see them do well, so our win looks even better.

DixieZag
11-16-2012, 12:21 PM
Taking a look at the bracket and in agreement with some of the previous comments, the bigger challenges are in the front end. Vandy doesn't appear to have many upper classmen and the cupboard is clearly bare for Stallings. Clemson has Booker and this will be the first big man test this season.

A great point.

I folllow GU rabidly but know next to nothing about the rest of the country and even I thought "why do we seem to draw the other best teams in the first and second games????

It could well be that it is in the tournaments interest to generate hype early and matching the favorite against a huge ACC and then a huger (school/alumni sized) Big 12 team ensures good ratings - - the finals take care of themselves.

zagzilla
11-16-2012, 12:29 PM
So I am still confused by the notion of the "play in game" we had vs WV already. Did the results of that game impact the draw for the OSC? Doesn't seem so since Clemson has been on our schedule since the beginning.

Anybody else confused?

ZZ

gbnyba17
11-16-2012, 12:39 PM
So I am still confused by the notion of the "play in game" we had vs WV already. Did the results of that game impact the draw for the OSC? Doesn't seem so since Clemson has been on our schedule since the beginning.

Anybody else confused?

ZZ

Styles explained it perfectly in another thread (which I don't want to spend the time finding), but essentially it's all about how many games the NCAA will let a team play in a year. By calling our game against WV a Play-in game to the tourney, it is considered a tournament game and does not count against the 27 regular season games we are allowed plus a preseason tourney.

UberZagFan
11-16-2012, 12:49 PM
Would not be surprised in the least to see Davidson in the finals. Sooners and Zags in second round will be a nice matchup to see but have to get by Clemson first.