PDA

View Full Version : WVU @ GU, Vegas has spoken



madness
11-11-2012, 09:23 PM
Opening line is Gonzaga -10...

So far the only point of reference was the -23 line for Southern Utah.

I am slightly befuddled that the line is this high. I'm not alone, 91% of bets are currently on WVU. Expect it to move a point or two by game time.

IrishZagFan
11-12-2012, 01:42 PM
The line has moved to GU -10.5 which does indicate more money being bet on West Virginia.

For the un-Vegas Line educated, the point spread is set by odds makers in order to induce 50% of the bets on one side of the line and 50% on the other side. Because Vegas pays back 9.00 on a 10.00 bet, (you win 19.00 if you bet 10.00) they make one dollar on every 10.00 bet on the losing side of the column. If Vegas gets an even amount of money on both sides of the line, they can't lose.......

NotoriousZ
11-12-2012, 01:45 PM
The line has moved to GU -10.5 which does indicate more money being bet on Gonzaga.

For the un-Vegas Line educated, the point spread is set by odds makers in order to induce 50% of the bets on one side of the line and 50% on the other side. Because Vegas pays back 9.00 on a 10.00 bet, (you win 19.00 if you bet 10.00) they make one dollar on every 10.00 bet on the losing side of the column. If Vegas gets an even amount of money on both sides of the line, they can't lose.......

Fixed. If it went to GU -9.5 that would indicate more people betting on West Virginia.

gozagswoohoo
11-12-2012, 01:50 PM
Fixed. If it went to GU -9.5 that would indicate more people betting on West Virginia.

I was just about to say that, THAT would indicate most people are taking the zags.

Goshzagit
11-12-2012, 02:46 PM
I just placed a $ignificant amount of dough against that spread.

Just like most the talking heads, Vegas has no idea nor aware of their 4 elite level/all-conference/all-american type transfers they have ready to play:

PG Staten -- all-conference as a Freshman and led A-10 in assists.

SG Humphrey -- double-digit scorer from an ACC school.

PF Murray -- All-american nominee, averaged near double-double in A-10, and NBA prospect / Top-40 4-star out of HS

C Gerun -- one of the Top-Euro prospects and averaged double-double in U19 World Championships last Summer.

West Va is good.

There is a very good reason Dana O'Neill picked them to win the Big-12 Championship this season. Not to mention, Coach Huggy Bear has been quoted at least 10 times this pre-season about this being his "best, deepest, more versatile team since he's been at West Va".

Remember, that INCLUDES his Final 4 squad from 3 years ago...

madness
11-12-2012, 02:49 PM
Money definitely following GU (up to -11 now) and the OVER...Sportsbook.com currently has 100% of bets on the Over 138...

webspinnre
11-12-2012, 03:06 PM
I just placed a $ignificant amount of dough against that spread.

Just like most the talking heads, Vegas has no idea nor aware of their 4 elite level/all-conference/all-american type transfers they have ready to play:



To be clear, they very well may be aware of that, but since they're more interested in setting the line to get even action than they are in getting the exact result, they may have gone with the -10 anyway.

MDABE80
11-12-2012, 06:48 PM
West Virignia is a tough team. 3 returness and 3 very very good tested transfers.
I don't know how to gamble AND I don't know what "over/under means. I do think is GU is favord by 11 pts, I might be betting against that spread ( isn't it 11 pts?).

Almost seems like someone could bet on the zags to win every game and only lose 4 times or so. Money to be made if you know what your
're doing.

So what happens if someone put $1000 on the Zags to win by 11?

madness
11-12-2012, 06:56 PM
$1000 wins $909.09...So most of my bets would be 1100 to win 1000, (or more like 11 to win 10, heh)

DixieZag
11-12-2012, 07:01 PM
I don't bet.

But if I did, I wouldn't bet on this.

10ish points is A LOT of points to give up when you have BCS/Tourney type teams coming in to play early in the year. I usually have a pretty good feel for what a decent predictive point spread should be, this seems like it is coming from Mars.

I know it is set on money and not on actual thoughts on competitiveness. That being said, I would have thought that a 4 or 5 point spread would have been reasonable.

Oregonzagnut
11-12-2012, 07:08 PM
Whatever happened to the "Gentleman's Bet"?

I have a sweet Dan Dickau autograph card to wager that we win by more than 11.


DixieZag said: I know it is set on money and not on actual thoughts on competitiveness. That being said, I would have thought that a 4 or 5 point spread would have been reasonable.

I think it is very reasonable. they have a lot of transfers who have never played a Div1 game yet together as a team. They are rebuilding in my opinion. Reloading yes, but they are way behind the chemistry and balance curve that we have. It will take several games for them to gel and this is their first. I think we are well oiled machine if we play smart and fast. WV will look confused at times when their physicality isn't getting it done.

just my opinion.

Kiddwell
11-12-2012, 07:11 PM
Here's why:

http://www.wvusports.com/blogs.cfm?blog=mbbBlog&story=22412

Note from article: The Mountaineers were 1 for 14 from 3-Point Land in their last Tuesday exhibition. They still clobbered Glenville State (95-53)...but 1 for 14?


:]

DixieZag
11-12-2012, 07:24 PM
Whatever happened to the "Gentleman's Bet"?

I have a sweet Dan Dickau autograph card to wager that we win by more than 11.



I think it is very reasonable. they have a lot of transfers who have never played a Div1 game yet together as a team. They are rebuilding in my opinion. Reloading yes, but they are way behind the chemistry and balance curve that we have. It will take several games for them to gel and this is their first. I think we are well oiled machine if we play smart and fast. WV will look confused at times when their physicality isn't getting it done.

just my opinion.

A totally valid point. It really is just little more than guess work right now. But, even assuming we are a heavy favorite, 10 points is STILL a LOT of points to be giving! Think of it this way, we can pretty much dominate and lead by 15 all game and then in the last minute, WVU hits 2 three pointers in a row and we win by 9 - - lose your bet. See?? My only point is that is one big point spread.

Oregonzagnut
11-12-2012, 07:45 PM
A totally valid point. It really is just little more than guess work right now. But, even assuming we are a heavy favorite, 10 points is STILL a LOT of points to be giving! Think of it this way, we can pretty much dominate and lead by 15 all game and then in the last minute, WVU hits 2 three pointers in a row and we win by 9 - - lose your bet. See?? My only point is that is one big point spread.

Yes, it is a lot and a last second three has killed our spread many times. Historically, Gonzaga does NOT cover. We usually play closer to our competition and Few always has but on the brakes too early IMo and we have let other teams back in too soon.

This is not the case this year. I believe Few is focussed and committed to dominating our opponents with the class our program has proven over the years.

goZags! by 15+

MDABE80
11-12-2012, 07:57 PM
It seems that if GU wins most games. Thanks for the responses by the way.
If I put $1000 on GU with 5 pts all 31 games, that would make some money?

It would be an ....all proceeds would go to charity.
Thoughts?? Where does one place those bets??

Just A Zag
11-12-2012, 09:41 PM
The line has moved to GU -10.5 which does indicate more money being bet on West Virginia.

For the un-Vegas Line educated, the point spread is set by odds makers in order to induce 50% of the bets on one side of the line and 50% on the other side. Because Vegas pays back 9.00 on a 10.00 bet, (you win 19.00 if you bet 10.00) they make one dollar on every 10.00 bet on the losing side of the column. If Vegas gets an even amount of money on both sides of the line, they can't lose.......

are you talking about yourself?

Just_An_Old_Zag
11-12-2012, 10:38 PM
but i dont think we should be talking about betting here..

Look what happened at San Diego

If you have to bet college basketball to enjoy it...i think your priorities are out of whack..

ok...smack me down i can take it..