PDA

View Full Version : Zags should be voted 3rd by coaches



BobZag
10-19-2012, 10:01 AM
But no, the WCC coaches will vote der Zags #1 so all the other players and fans can get pissed off and circle their games with GU. Ugh. Gets tiresome. C'mon, coaches, I double dog dare y'all to vote das Zags #3 in WCC. Be original, do it.

stmikezag
10-19-2012, 11:37 AM
Do you really think that coaches voting amounts to anything . Honesty is not a strength in this regard. The truth of the matter is that when the new schedules are printed they automatically come with the zag games circled. So what else is new?

CaliforniaZaggin'
10-19-2012, 11:48 AM
Winning doesn't get old. Neither does respect. Nor objectivity. Zags #1.

GoGU
10-19-2012, 12:07 PM
I hope they have our games circled. Makes for a more entertaining game.

DADoZAG
10-19-2012, 01:09 PM
But no, the WCC coaches will vote der Zags #1 so all the other players and fans can get pissed off and circle their games with GU. Ugh. Gets tiresome. C'mon, coaches, I double dog dare y'all to vote das Zags #3 in WCC. Be original, do it.

No one is curious as to why BZ thinks the ZAGS should be 3rd and not 2nd? I am!

So, just who do you think should be 1st and who should be 2nd, BZ?

And why...

Go ZAGS!

Baldwinzag
10-19-2012, 01:19 PM
Have a feelin' the Zags will be voted 2nd by Coaches -- fwiw, I think St Mary's will be just as good this season(4 of 5 starters return), a couple high-profile transfers have become eligible, one of their best recruiting classes in school history, & past injured players ready fill Rob Jones shoes just fine. The Gaels have a 7-footer via Big10 team, an elite Top-150 guard who averaged double-digits & 4+ assists at another D1 school, and a solid post player in the mix(name escapes me); also, BYU will most assuredly be a better overall team, imo. top-to-bottom with the return of Tyler Haws, Carlino, Davies, et al. Not tremendous depth, but better weapons on both sides of the ball, even with the loss of the efficient Hartsock.

Anyway, I predict Zags will be 2nd in Coaches Poll.

Gonzaga, as talented as we are, will have to fight for their lives to come out on top in the WCC.

Bogozags
10-19-2012, 03:43 PM
Have a feelin' the Zags will be voted 2nd by Coaches -- fwiw, I think St Mary's will be just as good this season(4 of 5 starters return), a couple high-profile transfers have become eligible, one of their best recruiting classes in school history, & past injured players ready fill Rob Jones shoes just fine. The Gaels have a 7-footer via Big10 team, an elite Top-150 guard who averaged double-digits & 4+ assists at another D1 school, and a solid post player in the mix(name escapes me); also, BYU will most assuredly be a better overall team, imo. top-to-bottom with the return of Tyler Haws, Carlino, Davies, et al. Not tremendous depth, but better weapons on both sides of the ball, even with the loss of the efficient Hartsock.

Anyway, I predict Zags will be 2nd in Coaches Poll.

Gonzaga, as talented as we are, will have to fight for their lives to come out on top in the WCC.

Baldwinzag,

I agree, SMC should be ranked #1 with the Zags at #2 and BYU at #3. Delly will be hard pressed to win POY again with stiff competition from Davies, Harris and Pangos depending on which team wins the WCC.

SMC is going to be really tough this year as we have difficulty with their offenses and also defending their pick&roll offence, which IMO is the best in the nation.

BYU will be tough again as Rose will have them ready and don't think they will lose three at home again either.

We are loaded but the "alignment of the planets" will determine our success on the road against both these teams this year.

TheGonzagaFactor
10-19-2012, 08:52 PM
Baldwinzag,


SMC is going to be really tough this year as we have difficulty with their offenses and also defending their pick&roll offence, which IMO is the best in the nation.



How can you say something like that when they haven't made it work against any relevant team outside the WCC?

2wiceright
10-20-2012, 12:31 AM
Have a feelin' the Zags will be voted 2nd by Coaches -- fwiw, I think St Mary's will be just as good this season(4 of 5 starters return), a couple high-profile transfers have become eligible, one of their best recruiting classes in school history, & past injured players ready fill Rob Jones shoes just fine. The Gaels have a 7-footer via Big10 team, an elite Top-150 guard who averaged double-digits & 4+ assists at another D1 school, and a solid post player in the mix(name escapes me); also, BYU will most assuredly be a better overall team, imo. top-to-bottom with the return of Tyler Haws, Carlino, Davies, et al. Not tremendous depth, but better weapons on both sides of the ball, even with the loss of the efficient Hartsock.

Anyway, I predict Zags will be 2nd in Coaches Poll.

Gonzaga, as talented as we are, will have to fight for their lives to come out on top in the WCC.

I think you're buying in to a little of the St Marys Koolaide when it comes to their frontcourt (IMHO). Their big 'snag' that they're sooo hyped about is Matt Hodgson, a 6'11'' power forward that Bennett supposedly said he could envision him in the NBA some day. He played two years at Southern Utah and averaged 29 minutes per game. As a sophmore, the best stats he could muster at his advanced height and slight frame was an unimpressive 3.5 rebounds, 1.2 blocks, and a hefty 4.5 points per game. And supposedly he will more than make up for the loss of Rob Jones (I don't buy it!).

If anyone questions their frontcourt compared to us or BYU Alameda intimidates all into this kid being their surprise weapon of this year and browbeats everyone to his way of thinking, because of a rumor that Bennet was high on his upside. And I believe their big guard pickup (name ?) has to sit out a year or is redshirting.

Any team will be good with their backcourt from last year. But I really believe we will be much better than them this year and will have the chance to take them down twice in regular season play (although they will be close hardfought games as always, our depth and superiority in the frontcourt and wing positions will be their undoing....). Just my 2 cents.

Naph
10-20-2012, 03:33 AM
And I believe their big guard pickup (name ?) has to sit out a year or is redshirting.

Paul McCoy is coming back off multiple knee operations. Big questions marks after mising so much time but he was good before those knee surgeries.

Garret Jackson (SF) is a transfer from USC and will be redshirting.

James Walker is a JuCo transfer from Citrus (previously with Utah State), does not need to redshirt or sit out and is expected to earn significant minutes.

MickMick
10-20-2012, 09:50 AM
But no, the WCC coaches will vote der Zags #1 so all the other players and fans can get pissed off and circle their games with GU. Ugh. Gets tiresome. C'mon, coaches, I double dog dare y'all to vote das Zags #3 in WCC. Be original, do it.

I would love to read this board after that.

2wiceright
10-20-2012, 11:34 AM
Paul McCoy is coming back off multiple knee operations. Big questions marks after mising so much time but he was good before those knee surgeries.

Garret Jackson (SF) is a transfer from USC and will be redshirting.

James Walker is a JuCo transfer from Citrus (previously with Utah State), does not need to redshirt or sit out and is expected to earn significant minutes.

Thanks Naph, I forgot Walker was a JuCo. Bennet has a way of doing something with nothing and this may turn out to be an example. To me it's a head scratcher. We usually pick up accomplished Jucos (Carter, Batista, GLE, and on and on) who were stars at their respective schools who in turn usually were on a Junior College championship team. From what I can tell from Walker, he averaged 10 minutes a game last year. When he did play he shot 34% from 2, and a dismal 26% from three.

I don't know if he is some kind of defensive specialist or what. But even though they got a couple of 3 star kids GU was also (according to the kid) interested in and they look to be very solid players in a year or two. I think for the next year or two we will be a notch or two above the rest (finally). It's the 2014 class that's so vital, but Few and Co. always seem to come through under pressure. I'm keping my fingers crossed!

Bogozags
10-20-2012, 01:49 PM
How can you say something like that when they haven't made it work against any relevant team outside the WCC?

They have made it work against us, which is my point. We have a really difficult time stopping their pick and roll offence it has been effective against other teams on their schedule too! I hope we do better against it this season.

Naph
10-21-2012, 05:29 PM
Thanks Naph, I forgot Walker was a JuCo. Bennet has a way of doing something with nothing and this may turn out to be an example. To me it's a head scratcher. We usually pick up accomplished Jucos (Carter, Batista, GLE, and on and on) who were stars at their respective schools who in turn usually were on a Junior College championship team. From what I can tell from Walker, he averaged 10 minutes a game last year. When he did play he shot 34% from 2, and a dismal 26% from three.

I think you're looking at the wrong guy. The Gaels have this guy
ESPN recruiting profile (http://espn.go.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/81466/james-walker)
Horrible formatting but his statistics at Citrus (28-2) can be viewed here (http://www.cccaamensbasketball.com/rosters/50188/statistics.pdf)
19.1ppg (FG%:.458 FT:.826 3FG:.349) 4.7rpg 2.9apg 1.3spg 2.6topg 0.7bpg
He was named the CCCAA state and SoCal player of the year.

Oregonzagnut
10-21-2012, 05:55 PM
Being a GUBoard founding father, a lifetime Zag and a Gonzaga basketball insider, BobZag has earned the right to:

Stir the P0t.
Be absurd.
Be a Devils advocate.
Shift popular opinion.
Shift UNpopular opinion.
Claim hindsight was reverse psychology.
Claim reverse psychology was foresight.
Never be wrong.

And above all, be thanked for holding this website to such high standards.

:000tens:

2wiceright
10-21-2012, 06:06 PM
Naph, Re: James Walker...

Right guy, wrong year! The stats I have are on the the Saint Marys site from his first year of college ball at Utah State. He really appears to have done well in JC. (it looks like he went into Utah State rated a 4 star from ESPN). Remains to be seen, as with all JuCos, how well he plays against Div 1 opponents. As a freshman he was a dud. We got 1/2 a year out of Carter (the 2nd half of his first year he was unstopable from 3). The next year nothing, other than some good defense he couldn't buy a basket. Remains to be seen how he does...

Naph
10-21-2012, 06:08 PM
Absolutely. You never really know what you are going to get with any new addition to a program.

2wiceright
10-21-2012, 06:20 PM
Absolutely. You never really know what you are going to get with any new addition to a program.

Especially from a Junior College. Division 1 is so much faster paced. We've had our share of JC duds, others should/could turn out to be real studs (see JP Batista).

I guess I'm agreeing with you in a way, the only downside is this kid started his college ball in Div. 1 and had some problems per his stats. Maybe his year at a JC gave him some confidence, I don't know. Hopefully he will be the next star at St. Mary's...

Oregonzagnut
10-21-2012, 07:18 PM
Absolutely. You never really know what you are going to get with any new addition to a program.

True. Few gets the benefit of evaluating his needs AND THEN matching up the guys collegiate game to even better the odds that the kid will be a good match for us. I would think the risk isn't as high with a JC guy right off the bat as a HS kid. But the duration and chemistry may not gel as good with only 2 years.

I would think there are too many JC's and non-Div1 schools to use up much of our grassroots recruiting resources. Especially on guys with only 2 years left. Like maybe 25% of our recruiting budget? Less? Anyone know how much Gonzaga spends on recruiting per year?

I think Few does a stellar job of predicting on court (and off court) chemistry and managing the "risk/reward" JC talent to fill his needs with what is available to us. Having a program that everyone wants to be a part of helps immensely. Look at the Yankees. The Steelers. The Lakers. The Red Wings. All teams that really don't have to struggle to sign the best talent. Gonzaga is almost there in college basketball.

GoZags
10-21-2012, 09:22 PM
True. Few gets the benefit of evaluating his needs AND THEN matching up the guys collegiate game to even better the odds that the kid will be a good match for us. I would think the risk isn't as high with a JC guy right off the bat as a HS kid. But the duration and chemistry may not gel as good with only 2 years.

I would think there are too many JC's and non-Div1 schools to use up much of our grassroots recruiting resources. Especially on guys with only 2 years left. Like maybe 25% of our recruiting budget? Less? Anyone know how much Gonzaga spends on recruiting per year?

I think Few does a stellar job of predicting on court (and off court) chemistry and managing the "risk/reward" JC talent to fill his needs with what is available to us. Having a program that everyone wants to be a part of helps immensely. Look at the Yankees. The Steelers. The Lakers. The Red Wings. All teams that really don't have to struggle to sign the best talent. Gonzaga is almost there in college basketball.

When this "cute little run" began, the recruiting budget was $8,000 a year (last in the WCC). It wasn't until the 3rd Sweet Sixteen in a row that the Zags finally got a high speed video machine for scouting purposes (those were $25k). But I don't know how much of the budget is allocated to recruiting for Men's Basketball. Only that there is a least another zero, and thens some.