PDA

View Full Version : Small clip of Sacre in Rookie Trailer



The509sfinest
10-02-2012, 10:53 PM
http://www.nba.com/video/channels/nba_tv/2012/10/02/2012-nba-rooks-trailer.nba/?ls=iref:nbahpt2

I like his line,

Oregonzagnut
10-02-2012, 11:09 PM
http://www.nba.com/video/channels/nba_tv/2012/10/02/2012-nba-rooks-trailer.nba/?ls=iref:nbahpt2

I like his line,

I like it too, but Sacre is not at the bottom of any food chain.

gamagin
10-03-2012, 09:02 AM
just to be included.

NotoriousZ
10-03-2012, 02:56 PM
Nice just to be included.

Yes, there were maybe 15 guys in that rookie clip, and he was #60 in the draft. Hope he, Adam, and the other Zags make an impact this season.

Worthington
10-06-2012, 03:34 PM
Here's some Lakers practice footage: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxJKD7Y53w8&feature=player_embedded Rob has a nice dunk a couple minutes in.

Everyone should definitely tune in tomorrow to the Lakers preseason game because with Howard not playing it sounds likely that Sacre will get the start (Lakers want to keep their bench unit playing together)! That's going to be a sight to see, Rob out there with some of the best players in the game.

MDABE80
10-06-2012, 07:56 PM
What time and channel Worthington?

ZagNative
10-07-2012, 08:46 AM
Everyone should definitely tune in tomorrow to the Lakers preseason game because with Howard not playing it sounds likely that Sacre will get the start From the LA Times (http://www.latimes.com/sports/lakersnow/la-sp-ln-lakers-starting-center-20121006,0,6897424.story?track=rss):
To the dismay of Lakers fans living in Fresno, they won't see Dwight Howard on the court when the Lakers travel there Sunday for their first preseason game against the Golden State Warriors.

Instead, they'll be treated to the debut of a rookie center, either Robert Sacre or Greg Somogyi, in a star-studded starting lineup featuring Kobe Bryant, Steve Nash, Pau Gasol and Metta World Peace.

Brown insisted he was serious about the decision even though numerous reports indicated he would start Jordan Hill while Howard rehabbed on his surgically repaired back. Brown joked he might flip a coin to decide whether to start Sacre or Somogyi, but he promised those were the only two candidates for the Lakers' starting center.

The thought process actually makes sense.

"I just want to start a true center with the group so I can watch Pau [Gasol] at the power forward spot," Brown said after practiece Saturday at the Lakers' facility in El Segundo.

Sacre, a 7-footer from Gonzaga taken with the 60th and final pick of the draft, started all five games for the Lakers' summer league team, averaging 9.0 points, 6.2 rebounds and 1.0 blocks in 30 minutes. The 7-foot-3 Simogyi went undrafted, but the the former UC Santa Barbara product played for the Lakers' summer league team, averaging 1.2 points and 1.6 rebounds in 7.2 minutes.

Rangerzag
10-07-2012, 10:45 AM
What time and channel Worthington?



i don't know channel but this makes it look (http://www.nba.com/gameline/20121007/) like a 7 pm pdt start.

ID ZAGFAN
10-07-2012, 11:36 AM
It's on Time Warner Sports and Time Warner Deportes, which seems to be a new network. If you go to the Laker website you can follow the debut link which will tell you if your provider carries it. (DISH does not.)


Link:

http://www.nba.com/lakers/twc_iwantmylakers

7 PDT is the time.

ZaGranny

ZagNative
10-07-2012, 12:05 PM
Thanks, Zagranny.

As of now, Comcast is not carrying Time Warner Cable SportsNet or Time Warner Cable Deportes. Send an email and tweet to Comcast demanding your Lakers!

ZagNative
10-07-2012, 04:47 PM
From the Lakers' official twitter account:
Los Angeles Lakers ‏@Lakers

Rookie Robert Sacre will start at center for the Lakers tonight w/ Dwight Howard sidelined.


Mike Trudell ‏@LakersReporter

Don't expect the starters to play more than 20 minutes tonight to open the preseason. They have 8 games to work up to reg. season.

ZagNative
10-07-2012, 05:06 PM
I'm going to try listening online on ESPN 970 (http://espn.go.com/losangeles/radio/), since I don't have access to the TV.

ZagNative
10-07-2012, 05:48 PM
Go Big Rob!
Lakers Nation ‏@LakersNation

This is a huge opportunity for Sacre. Lakers might want to carry an extra big on the roster (esp. w/ Dwight's back). Now's his chance.

ID ZAGFAN
10-07-2012, 06:01 PM
I went to the link and it says they are playing ESPN news and cannot stream games live.

Is there some other way to listen.

ZaGRanny

ZagNative
10-07-2012, 06:20 PM
3 minutes in and Rob scores a layup! Go Big Rob!

Another one! With 4 points now, on 2/3 shooting. Plus a rebound ... and a foul.

Stats (http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/gamecast?gameId=400400470)
Lakers lead 16-7, with 5:58 left in the first.

Worthington
10-07-2012, 06:21 PM
Sacre's off to a great start, already got 4 points! The game is being played at Fresno's arena, and there's a big old bulldog emblem at center court. Rob probably feels right at home

ZagNative
10-07-2012, 06:25 PM
EEK! Rob misses his first free throw, makes the second. Then sits.

ZagNative
10-07-2012, 06:33 PM
I went to the link and it says they are playing ESPN news and cannot stream games live.

Is there some other way to listen.

ZaGRannyGo here and click Listen (http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/scoreboard#) next to box score. You have to register for all-access, but the audio is free. I'm listening right now.

ZagNative
10-07-2012, 06:51 PM
Back in the game, makes one out of two free throws.

ID ZAGFAN
10-07-2012, 06:56 PM
Rob is on the floor with Gasol, Bryant, World Peace, and Nash!

ZaGranny

ZagNative
10-07-2012, 09:36 PM
From Twitter:
Los Angeles Lakers Los Angeles Lakers ‏@Lakers

Brown on Nash: ďSteve just created easy shots for everybody. He made Sacre look like heís in his 3rd year in the league.Ē
And here's some video of Sacre scoring (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hh5Rm2KxTec) off a Nash feed.

And here's a highlight of both feeds (http://espn.go.com/video/clip?categoryId=2459789&id=8477047) from Nash.

MDABE80
10-07-2012, 10:59 PM
BOX:
http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/boxscore?gameId=400400470

zagfan24
10-08-2012, 01:03 AM
http://espn.go.com/blog/los-angeles/lakers/post/_/id/33356/rapid-reaction-warriors-110-lakers-83

Sacre the starter

With Dwight Howard out, Mike Brown turned to second-round draft pick Robert Sacre to plug up the middle.

ďIím a West Coast Conference guy. Heís a West Coast Conference guy,Ē said Lakers coach Mike Brown, who went to the University of San Diego. ďEven though he went to Gonzaga, I still donít hold it against him. There are some ties there between the two of us, so he gets to start.Ē

Sacre rewarded Brownís conference loyalty with six points and two rebounds in 13:35 of playing time.

After spending all week as the backup center against the Lakersí video game starting lineup, Sacre said it was invigorating to be surrounded by all that talent. ďI think itís a pretty reassuring feeling,Ē Sacre said. ďYou can feel pretty confident. Knowing that those guys are behind you makes you feel strong and gets you ready for whatever you have to face.Ē

LynetteG
10-08-2012, 06:49 AM
Story on Nash, Sacre mention

"Rookie Robert Sacre, the last pick of this year's NBA draft, started in Howard's place and scored six points. Nash zipped one pass to Sacre through a defender's legs. Nash, Lakers coach Mike Brown said, made Sacre look like a third-year pro. "

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/nba--steve-nash-bonds-quickly-with-kobe-bryant-in-his-lakers-debut.html

ZagNative
10-08-2012, 07:07 PM
Some nice props from kobe Bryant and Steve Nash in this LA Times story (http://www.latimes.com/sports/lakersnow/la-sp-ln-lat-robert-sacre-impresses-lakers-with-energy-in-preseason-debut-20121008,0,6197463.story):
Robert Sacre impresses Lakers with energy in preseason debut

It appears the circumstances surrounding Robert Sacre's first career start in the Lakers' preseason opener had little to do with his skill set.

The Lakers already penciled out Dwight Howard as he rehabs from back surgery. Lakers Coach Mike Brown wanted Pau Gasol to stay mostly at power forward and keep the the bench rotation intact. When it came to deciding between Sacre, the Lakers' second-round draft pick, or 7-foot-3 rookie Greg Somogyi, Brown said he may consider just flipping a coin. Instead, Brown maintained that he selected Sacre because he attended Gonzaga, which resides in the same conference (West Coast) as Brown's alma mater, San Diego. Sacre said he didn't even know about the promotion until reporters relayed him the news.

All things considered, though, the Lakers sounded satisfied with Sacre's six-point effort on two-of-three shooting and two rebounds in nearly 18 minutes of play in the Lakers' 110-83 preseason loss Sunday to the Golden State Warriors at Fresno's Save Mart Center.
"I think he did fantastic," Kobe Bryant said of Sacre. "I think he played extremely, extremely well. Heís a hard worker. He came out and learned the offense and learned the defense. He got the start tonight. He answered the bell. He came out and played exceptionally well."
Although Brown described Sacre as "solid," he also pointed out that he benefited from playing with a star-studded group. A question about Nash's playmaking prompted Brown to point out, "He made Sacre look like he was in the third year of the league."

Bryant let out a hearty laugh when a reporter relayed Brown's assessment and nodded his head.

"Thatís probably an accurate assessment," Bryant said.
"I was really impressed with Robbie," Nash said. "I thought he played well. Heís well coached and he played hard. He was generally in the right spots. Thatís a challenge for a rookie. But I was impressed with him."Be sure to check out the videos with the story.

007Zag
10-09-2012, 11:29 AM
Makes me so happy to hear Rob getting ups from his teammates. He just might stick in LA and see the floor as Dwight's backup!

johno
10-09-2012, 01:26 PM
Here's more highlights:

http://www.opposingviews.com/i/sports/nba/video-lakers-vs-warriors-2012-preseason-highlights

Worthington
10-09-2012, 01:58 PM
Backup center for the Lakers, Jordan Hill, has been diagnosed with a herniated disk in his back. Sounds like somewhat of a serious injury, may require surgery. Can't say this doesn't help Rob's chance at making the roster, and possibly even getting some playing time.

007Zag
10-10-2012, 08:35 AM
From what it sounds like, Hill's injury isn't all that serious, and they're going to hold him out of preseason games more as a precaution than anything. He says he expects to be back for the season opener.

That said, players aren't always honest or knowledgeable about their own injuries and health, so who knows. I certainly don't hope it's serious, but if it is I hope Rob can take advantage of the opportunity.

Worthington
10-10-2012, 07:07 PM
Sacre got the start again tonight! At the half he's got 4 points and 2 rebounds. I'm keeping my eye on Rob when he's out there, and he's looking really good IMO. You can tell he's been well coached defensively, especially on the pick and roll. He's been guarding JJ Hickson, a really athletic mobile power forward, and has contained him very well so far. On offense, he went to the line and knocked two down, and made a nice little jump hook that we're all so used to. Overall impression so far is that he looks like a very capable bench big man in the league.

75Zag
10-10-2012, 07:45 PM
If you read the LA papers and blogs, Sacre is headed for the D League or worse. But I really hope he can impress and get a contract to play for LA this year.

Go Sacre!

Go Bulldogs!

Worthington
10-10-2012, 08:04 PM
The Lakers don't have much room left on the roster, but out of all the guys fighting for a spot, Rob is standing out the most. I actually like his shot to make the roster right now. Got a lot of 'meaningful' playing time this game, was great on defense, made his freethrows, and showed off his hook shot. Plus with Howard and Hill both recovering from injuries, Rob is a good insurance big man for them.

KStyles
10-10-2012, 08:08 PM
Good interview today with Sacre on Lakers Nation. He covers the draft, summer, training camp, and the game he started Sunday against the Warriors.


LN: Although the Lakers didnít win against the Warriors Sunday night, tell me about the overall feel you got after game one.

RS: It was upsetting we didnít win, but for me, that starting feeling and the feeling that ďIíve got on a Lakers uniformĒ is one of the greatest feelings I have had. There are no words. I looked around and saw who I was playing with and it was incredible. Indescribable really.


LN: After Sundayís game, how do you think you did?

RS: I think I did alright for the first game, but I can always get better. I have to take one step at a time. You canít crawl and then expect to run. There are always those baby steps you have to take first. I need to ensure I keep getting better and keep working hard.

http://www.lakersnation.com/robert-sacre-talks-lakers-training-camp-and-pre-season-basketball/2012/10/10/

ZagNative
10-11-2012, 08:16 AM
Fun photo from yesterday's game:

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-Cn-pnMszFug/UHbwoM4BIHI/AAAAAAABVoo/V24tYPb1rdw/s510/2012-10-10%2520Robert%2520Sacre%2520Portland.jpg

Blazers power forward J.J. Hickson tumbles to the court after colliding with Lakers center Robert Sacre during a preseason game Wednesday night.

ZagNative
10-11-2012, 09:08 AM
Post-game interview with Steve Nash (http://www.nba.com/lakers/video/2012/10/10/121010Nashmov-2244337), with mention of how he thought Rob did.

ZagNative
10-12-2012, 09:14 AM
1. "Rookies Get Owned by Dwight Howard (http://allball.blogs.nba.com/tag/robert-sacre/)" Video.

2. "ESPNLA: Robert Sacre on Dwight Howard and Steve Nash (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiV-fYb3pis)" Youtube.

3. "ESPNLA: Robert Sacre on playing against Dwight, his preseason (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avzwPZZNCRY)" Youtube, with some nice props to Mark Few.

4. At least one prognosticator thinks Big Rob has earned a roster spot, from Forum Blue and Gold (http://www.forumblueandgold.com/2012/10/11/five-takeaways-from-lakersblazers/):
Robert Sacre continues to show he belongs on the team. Itís not his stat line ó an okay 8 point, 3 board, 1 block/steal/assist night ó that has me convinced. Itís more the fact that he continues to show he understands how to play the game at this level. Heís in the right position more often than not. He knows how to use his size to his advantage. He doesnít make too many mistakes and continues to play to his strengths. When all of those qualities come in a 7í0″, 260 pound frame Iím more than willing to give him a roster spot as the Lakersí 5th big. Forget Jordan Hillís injury or the fact that Dwight Howard isnít yet cleared to play in games. Strictly from a roster construction standpoint, the Lakers need another big man on the roster and preferably someone that can play center. Sacre is that player, Iím convinced.

ZagNative
10-12-2012, 10:05 AM
Somehow I missed this great interview with Rob posted in Laker Nation (http://www.lakersnation.com/robert-sacre-talks-lakers-training-camp-and-pre-season-basketball/2012/10/10/) on October 10. Rob left the author impressed. It's a fun interview:
This ease that Robert has that makes you think that youíve been buddies for years translates to his life in a number of ways. When it comes to the Lakers, he fits right in. The hard working player goes well with the easy teammate he can be, especially with the characters this L.A. team picked up during the summer. But Robert doesnít intend to fade back; rather, the big man plans to be the back-up to Dwight the Lakers can count on. Playing as part of the starting five without nervousness on Sunday night is the first sign of a stable player. His dependability to live up to the challenges thrown at him is admirable, but Sacre is also fearless. I mean, he has to be; this isnít the time to wimp out.

Iíve experienced all types of athletes working in athletics for eight years, but I donít think I have met someone so sure of themselves as Robert. At 23, Robertís got the maturity to be sure of himself and the Lakers team as a full-time roster player. His life is about basketball and playing basketball, but more importantly, he has a winnerís mentality. And from what LN has heard this summer, the coaches and players have done nothing but emphasize a championship in 2013, nothing less. Sacreís tapped into that thirst, and I believe heís an asset to get L.A. there.

KStyles
10-12-2012, 10:13 AM
Somehow I missed this great interview with Rob posted in Laker Nation (http://www.lakersnation.com/robert-sacre-talks-lakers-training-camp-and-pre-season-basketball/2012/10/10/) on October 10. Rob left the author impressed. It's a fun interview:

This one?


Good interview today with Sacre on Lakers Nation. He covers the draft, summer, training camp, and the game he started Sunday against the Warriors.

http://www.lakersnation.com/robert-sacre-talks-lakers-training-camp-and-pre-season-basketball/2012/10/10/

ZagNative
10-12-2012, 03:54 PM
From the LA Times (http://www.latimes.com/sports/lakersnow/la-sp-ln-rookie-center-sacre-might-make-lakers-roster-20121012,0,7898157.story):

Rookie center Robert Sacre might make Lakers' roster

Maybe Robert Sacre isn't so irrelevant after all.

The rookie center out of Gonzaga might make the Lakers' roster after showing some muscle and ability in the exhibition season.

Sacre was the 60th and last player taken in the NBA draft in June, a position known in the much longer NFL draft as "Mr. Irrelevant."

If Sacre is still on the roster for the Oct. 30 season opener against Dallas, it's not a sure thing he'll be on it the rest of the season. He has a non-guaranteed contract that pays him $474,000 and becomes guaranteed the rest of the season only if he is on the roster in early January.

[video of Kobe talking about Rob (http://www.latimes.com/videogallery/72864629/Sports/Lakers-guard-Kobe-Bryant-on-Robert-Sacre).]

"I'm very impressed," Kobe Bryant said Friday of Sacre. "I really didn't know too much about him coming out of Gonzaga. I know Gonzaga puts out some solid big men but I really didn't know too much about him."

Will the 7-footer make the Lakers?

"Oh yeah, I think so. Absolutely," Bryant said.

75Zag
10-12-2012, 04:10 PM
I read the LA Times every day. They have a lot of great LA sports stuff, although with the NHL strike the LA sports scene is not all that interesting. Sacre is the great mystery right now in LA. Some of the articles hint that Big Rob is just a place holder until the elite LA players are back from their injuries or other issues. Other articles suggest that Big Rob will be kept on the team.

Unfortunately, Big Rob did not rock the LA/NBA world with his first pre-season appearance, but Kobe and others had some very positive comments on his effort.

Go Big Rob!

Go Bulldogs!

ZagNative
10-12-2012, 04:21 PM
Sacre is the great mystery right now in LA. Some of the articles hint that Big Rob is just a place holder until the elite LA players are back from their injuries or other issues. Other articles suggest that Big Rob will be kept on the team.

Unfortunately, Big Rob did not rock the LA/NBA world with his first pre-season appearance, but Kobe and others had some very positive comments on his effort.I research stories about Rob every day, and I've yet to find one that doesn't have positive stuff to say about Rob. No idea where you're finding the negative stuff. Weird that you come up with a bit of a downer, after a story in which Kobe said, in response to the question about whether Rob would make the roster, "Oh yeah, I think so. Absolutely..."

75Zag
10-12-2012, 04:30 PM
ZN, I thought we were not speaking to each other. So it is good to hear from you.

But in any event, this is from the LA Times

5. The Lakers are struggling on defensive rotations. So many sequences epitomized the Lakers' slow defensive reactions. Brown yelled at rookie center Robert Sacre on consecutive possessions after he showed up late on a defensive assignment. When Portland ran in transition, the Lakers often scrambled getting back. There were a few possessions when the Trail Blazers beat the Lakers' frontline of Gasol and Sacre for alley-oops and easy layups on backdoor cuts. Clearly, the Lakers could use the presence of Howard and Hill. But they'll have to show more discipline in that area whenever they miss a shot or get beat off the dribble.

I mean no disrespect to Big Rob and in every post from draft night until today my posts have tried to support him. But realistically, there is a big chance that elite players are going to bump Big Rob.

Go Bulldogs!

willandi
10-12-2012, 08:32 PM
I saw that same article in the L.A. Times, and realized that coach wasn't going to yell at Gasol. Looking at the roster, though, Rob is the only true back-up center (discounting the 7'3" kid from UCSB and the unsigned invites). Jordan Hill is listed as a forward, and plays like it. He shot a lot of 3's in the Portland game. I expect Rob to make it as the back-up center, the 5th big on the team. At least that's what I expect. That and $50 buys a decent bottle of Single Malt...but not a great one! LOL

ZagNative
10-13-2012, 07:36 PM
Man, can you imagine Rob's fondest dreams as a Zag, visualizing this scenario:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-tdb-tWLWs2w/UHoyIlQa1tI/AAAAAAABVpw/LgOnPrPk2YI/s500/2012-10-13%2520Rob%2520Sacre%2520%2520Utah.jpg

Game stats here, heading into the half, 9 rebounds, an assist, and a block, with just 1 foul, and 0 turnovers! (http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/boxscore?gameId=400400501)

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-wc7MZ0Fb_wM/UHozSwztGuI/AAAAAAABVp4/JpKEsjl6Wcw/s750/Fullscreen%2520capture%252010132012%252083444%2520 PM.bmp.jpg

I'm listening to the game on NBA live access.

Go Big Rob.

ZagNative
10-13-2012, 07:57 PM
Sacre scores again! 9 points now and 10 rebounds. A point away from a double-double. Oh, oh. Picked up his second and third fouls, however. Announcers said at half time they'd be surprised if he didn't make the roster.

Radbooks
10-13-2012, 08:26 PM
A 'retweet' from Gonzaga Basketball

Mike Trudell ‏@LakersReporter

Pretty good low post D from Sacre on Enes Kanter, who has some good moves. Hard to complain about the Gonzaga rookie so far.

ZagNative
10-13-2012, 08:34 PM
Just fouled out. It looked like a good night for Rob.


Mike Trudell ‏@LakersReporter

Sacre fouls out w/10 rebs, 9 pts & 3 blks, a solid effort. W/Howard/Hill healthy, he won't see floor much, but has impressed so far.
ZN = happy for Big Rob!

ZagNative
10-13-2012, 10:03 PM
Couple of fun tweets:
Los Angeles Lakers ‏@Lakers

Pau Gasol on his locker neighbor Sacre: ďHeís playing really well. Heís worked really hard and heís really been helping us.Ē
Los Angeles Lakers ‏@Lakers

Turiaf, currently in China with the Clippers, offered to let Sacre use his car while heís out of the country.

and a nice pic of Rob battling Enes Kanter:

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-RAdKIaI_Pjw/UHpXmjHRtKI/AAAAAAABVrE/ayyYnj2NraY/s650/2012-10-13%2520Robert%2520Sacre%2520Utah-3.jpg

And guarding Jamaal Tinsley:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-kEMRPk4n6Y0/UHpTPzWx7aI/AAAAAAABVqw/lttIyPwNexE/s650/2012-10-13%2520Robert%2520Sacre%2520Utah-2.jpg

Radbooks
10-13-2012, 10:21 PM
From the ESPN Laker Blog (http://espn.go.com/blog/los-angeles/lakers/post/_/id/33463/jazz-99-lakers-86-rapid-reaction):


Here are five takeaways.

1. Robert Sacre wants to be on the Lakers.

You'd expect any 60th pick to work his tail off in any preseason burn, because that's what 60th picks are supposed to do. Sacre definitely does just that, and over 27 minutes Saturday it paid off in the form of 10 rebounds, including five on the offensive end. He hit the floor in pursuit of loose balls (it's a long way to the ground for a 7-footer), and did his best getting up and down the floor. But Sacre isn't just hustle. The activity comes with purpose. On multiple occasions he went high on the perimeter defensively in pick-and-roll coverage, and also rotated well defending the basket, including a Sacreblock! (patent pending) on Al Jefferson in the third quarter. Offensively, when he rolled to the bucket on P-n-R sets, he did so assertively, and also tossed in some nice post moves on the block.

He still has plenty to learn -- avoiding fouls (he picked up his sixth with 10:22 left in the fourth) and playing defense while staying on the floor, for example -- but overall Sacre looked like a guy who belongs in the NBA. Whether it's with the Lakers remains to be seen, but he's certainly not hurting his chances. Nine points, 10 rebounds, three blocks.

Worthington
10-13-2012, 10:49 PM
Man Sacre really had his hands full with Kanter, he has to be one of the strongest players in the NBA and he's only like 20. He went to battle with Kanter, and made things hard for Jefferson. A 7 footer who plays hard nosed smart defense has a place in the league. Another great performance from Rob, he just keeps getting better and better! He may have just secured his spot on the roster with that showing.

ZagNative
10-13-2012, 11:45 PM
If Kobe's not impressed, he's doing a good job of faking it, per this story (http://www.nba.com/games/20121013/UTALAL/gameinfo.html?ls=gt2hp0011200042)..
Canadian-born rookie Robert Sacre, a second-round draft pick out of Gonzaga, had nine points, 10 rebounds and three blocked shots for the Lakers in his second start before fouling out with 10:22 left in the game.

"He's a very smart player, so he's able to get himself in positions to be successful, make plays for others as well as for himself, and rebound," Bryant said. "He's able to read the defense and see how they're playing Steve and how they're playing me. He's doing a fantastic job. I'm pleasantly surprised with what we have in him. He's going to be a huge plus for us."

Radbooks
10-14-2012, 07:20 AM
Another great ESPN blog post from Ramona Shelbourne (http://espn.go.com/blog/los-angeles/lakers/post/_/id/33468/sacre-enjoying-himself-not-taking-anything-for-granted#more)... it's just about how Rob is doing overall and how they may keep him because he's younger and less expensive and they can groom him - besides the fact that he's doing so well. :)


The 23-year-old rookie center from Gonzaga has started all three of the Lakers' preseason games in place of the injured Dwight Howard. Saturday night in the Lakers' 99-86 loss to the Utah Jazz he was far more than a place-holder, finishing with nine points, 10 rebounds and three blocks in 27 minutes.

"It's still pretty surreal," Sacre said. "I'm not even going to lie. All the stars are aligning for some reason.

"I'm starting. And when I look around, there's Hall of Famers on either side of me."

This won't last of course. Howard should be back in the next few weeks. So will Jordan Hill. And even if Howard takes a while to round into shape, Lakers coach Mike Brown has indicated he'd start Pau Gasol at center in a regular season game, not Sacre.

But for a guy who began his professional career bracing for the worst, things have taken a pretty nice turn.

"I'm not going to hold my breath because anything can happen," Sacre said, when asked if he thought he would make the Lakers' roster. "But I know I can play with these guys now. I think that's the biggest thing I've been able to show."


Brown wasn't ready to say Sacre would make the team, but it's hard to overlook how solid he has been in a difficult role thus far.

"I thought Sacre was solid," Brown said. "He didn't try to do anything outside of the norm. He didn't try to do too much. He just used his big body. He made some rookie mistakes. But he's earned his minutes by keeping it simple and trying to fit in."

Sacre credited Gonzaga coach Mark Few for helping him learn to stay within himself and former Gonzaga star Ronny Turiaf for giving him a taste of the NBA over the years.

Not bad for a guy whose career began as Mr. Irrelavant.

There is a lot more at the link.

zagfan24
10-14-2012, 07:48 AM
One of Sacre's biggest blessings, aside from Howard and Hill both being out right now, is that the Lakers are installing a new offense. It would be awfully difficult to join a veteran team where the majority of the players are familiar with the offensive sets. Instead, he can learn the Princeton offense right alongside the superstars...and given the consistent comments about his intelligence, it's clear he is picking up on things well.

webspinnre
10-14-2012, 08:09 AM
At the very least, if he doesn't make the Lakers, I've got to think another team would snatch him up after his performance during the offseason and preseason.

nonzagzag
10-15-2012, 07:38 AM
funny video clip: Gasol & Sacrehttp://espn.go.com/blog/los-angeles/lakers/post/_/id/33475/watch-pau-talk-about-sacre-like-hes-not-in-the-room

titopoet
10-15-2012, 08:54 AM
If you read the LA papers and blogs, Sacre is headed for the D League or worse. But I really hope he can impress and get a contract to play for LA this year.

Go Sacre!

Go Bulldogs!

That is changing http://www.lakersnation.com/writers-roundtable-which-non-guaranteed-lakers-player-will-make-roster/2012/10/13/

It seems the beat writer are getting behind Sacre as the fifth big. Several reasons for this. One insurance. two inexpensive. three Great locker room presences. Four Good minutes. Five Nash. six his play has been good.

One of the writers even said he did not pick Sacre just be different. Sacre got a chance and if he continues to seize the opportunity, he will have a seat on the Lakers bench. If he does make it, practicing against Howard everyday will make he better.

willandi
10-15-2012, 08:57 AM
funny video clip: Gasol & Sacrehttp://espn.go.com/blog/los-angeles/lakers/post/_/id/33475/watch-pau-talk-about-sacre-like-hes-not-in-the-room

That is funny! Seems that all the Lakers like Rob and have good things to say about him. If they have salary cap considerations (and I think they do), a league minimum guy like Rob, energetic, conscientious and a hard working quality guy, would be a valuable asset.

willandi
10-15-2012, 03:59 PM
:link:
http://www.latimes.com/sports/lakersnow/la-sp-ln-la-earl-clark-out-indefinitely-with-groin-injury-20121015,0,6177910.story?track=rss

Thinning down the front line! It has to help Rob's chances!

willandi
10-15-2012, 04:34 PM
:link:
http://www.latimes.com/sports/basketball/nba/lakers/la-sp-lakers-fyi-20121015,0,4571508.story

And yet another story about Rob. In todays LA Times, even though much has been talked about before!

ZagNative
10-16-2012, 09:06 AM
Video: Will Rob make the team (http://www.twcsportsnet.com/sportsnet/videos/2012/10/15/who-will-make-the-team.html)?

Another nice video here, "Diamond in the Rough (http://www.twcsportsnet.com/sportsnet/videos/2012/10/14/sacre-could-make-lakers.html)." Nice props to Mark Few for developing players.

willandi
10-16-2012, 10:19 AM
Video: Will Rob make the team (http://www.twcsportsnet.com/sportsnet/videos/2012/10/15/who-will-make-the-team.html)?

Another nice video here, "Diamond in the Rough (http://www.twcsportsnet.com/sportsnet/videos/2012/10/14/sacre-could-make-lakers.html)." Nice props to Mark Few for developing players.

The first link comes up as unavailable for me! The other is great!
Thanks, Will

ZagNative
10-16-2012, 11:12 AM
Let's see if this link (http://www.twcsportsnet.com/sportsnet/videos/2012/10/15/who-will-make-the-team.html) works better.

willandi
10-16-2012, 01:23 PM
Let's see if this link (http://www.twcsportsnet.com/sportsnet/videos/2012/10/15/who-will-make-the-team.html) works better.

That one works! I just hope that Brown listens to ALL the other pundits that think Rob should make the team!

zagfaninmt
10-17-2012, 07:08 AM
Thanks for posting these updates on Robert Sacre. He's an inspiration.