PDA

View Full Version : Vegas baby, yeah! :)



LynetteG
07-25-2007, 03:19 PM
Just back from the Main Event in Vegas, what a blast! There are SO many teams and kids there, I don't know how the coaching staff does it and sees all these kids. There are three tourneys going on back-to-back, Nike Main Event, Reebok Summer Championships, and adidas Super 64. On the flight down I sat next to an IU (Idaho) coach who was busily writing out a list of ALL the kids they wanted to see, and man, it was a long list! He said 'let the madness begin!'

Jordan played with the 17U King James Shooting Stars from Cleveland. His team is sponsored by LeBron James, and the kids all wear his shoes, etc. Nice gig and good team! They were seeded #1 in their pool and won all three pool play games: 57-44, 70-54, 60-39. Jordan improved with each successive game, nearly pulling down a double-double in the 3rd game. Remember, he's only 15, so he is playing up 2 years. He started all 3 games. What was really neat to see was the reaction of the coaches on the other side of the court (they are segregated from the family and fans) when Jordan grabbed an offensive board and two-hand slammed it in for the easy (and powerful) dunk. Suddenly, roster books started flying open so they could see who this kid was. Lots of comments from spectators "that kid is huge!", etc.

King James Shooting Stars finished first in pool play and moved on to the Platinum bracket. They drew a team that had also gone undefeated in pool play, but one that had been rested, as they had played their last pool play game the day before, whereas KJSS had played earlier that morning. Unfortunately, KJSS lost by a score of 58-50. They couldn't get their 3s to go, and Jordan got slightly hurt by another kid falling on him, bad bruise.

I have a few pics to post and will do that later. Right now the lawn is calling me....

Oh, and here's a little tidbit on J from ESPN. Btw, sis told me he is ranked #1 on the ESPN site for the state (and his class), regardless of position.

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncaa/recruiting/news/story?id=2948558

LAS VEGAS -- The third day of action at the Main Event in Las Vegas produced another day of blowouts and one-sided matchups as pool play came to a conclusion. The higher-seeded teams all cruised to easy wins in preparation for bracket play. Many of the much-anticipated showdowns between good teams and individual stars will take place in the next couple of days. A few players did have performances worthy of mention in the last day of pool play.

• 6-9 rising junior Jordan Morgan (Detroit, Mich.) runs the floor very well for a big man. He also attacks the offensive glass aggressively, using his strength and surprisingly decent leaping ability to snare offensive rebounds.

omahazag
07-25-2007, 03:32 PM
Lynette:

Jordan is going to be a Junior in High school and he's only 15 years old..is that right? If i remember correctly, I turned 16 the last day of my freshman year...yes people, i was a slow learner.....:)

LynetteG
07-25-2007, 03:38 PM
yes, he is a YOUNG junior and, in fact, his school wanted to double promote him from first to third grade, so he'd be even younger! so he is playing up 2 years in age, but only 1 year in grade. AAU goes by age, though. ok, really have to get the lawn now... bbl.

BobZag
07-25-2007, 05:48 PM
yes, he is a YOUNG junior and, in fact, his school wanted to double promote him from first to third grade, so he'd be even younger! so he is playing up 2 years in age, but only 1 year in grade. AAU goes by age, though. ok, really have to get the lawn now... bbl.

Welcome back. 2009 must be "the year of the young" with 2009 Abdul Gaddy not turning 16 until around December.

Good to hear J did well in Vegas.

Zag365
07-25-2007, 05:54 PM
Lynette: Great to hear how well Jordan is doing and the recognition he is getting around the country. He is a terrific Cub and represents U of D High well. I get the impression that Jordan is as well-thought of as a student/person as he is an athlete at UDHS. I was back at The High for my re-union last month and mentioned to Fr. Kiser that it would be great to have another Cub enroll at Gonzaga. When I mentioned that I specifically had Jordan in mind, he just smiled.

tyra
07-25-2007, 10:12 PM
Alas, Fr. Kiser's smile "felt" as inscrutable as encouraging. Despite all the great young men discussed here from time to time, getting Jordan as a Zag one day would make the whole year. He sounds like such a great young man! He simply needs to recall the immortal wisdom of Horace Greeley (Go West, young man, Go West!)



Lynette: Great to hear how well Jordan is doing and the recognition he is getting around the country. He is a terrific Cub and represents U of D High well. I get the impression that Jordan is as well-thought of as a student/person as he is an athlete at UDHS. I was back at The High for my re-union last month and mentioned to Fr. Kiser that it would be great to have another Cub enroll at Gonzaga. When I mentioned that I specifically had Jordan in mind, he just smiled.

LynetteG
07-26-2007, 08:04 AM
ok, couple of photos... sorry for the delay... we have almost an acre of grass and a push gas mower, takes a while! LOL

warming up, he wore #44
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/lynettelk/JordanVegas07079.jpg

huddle shots
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/lynettelk/JordanVegas07003.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/lynettelk/JordanVegas07033.jpg

smiling, having a good time (college coaches to the left)
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/lynettelk/JordanVegas07090.jpg

LynetteG
07-26-2007, 08:04 AM
next few are action shots...sorry but my camera wasn't cooperating and these are blurry.

tip off (J on far right)
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/lynettelk/JordanVegas07005.jpg

leading the floor
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/lynettelk/JordanVegas07069.jpg

in the paint (in the middle of the blurrrrrr)
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/lynettelk/JordanVegas07009.jpg

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/lynettelk/JordanVegas07010.jpg

LynetteG
07-26-2007, 08:05 AM
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/lynettelk/JordanVegas07011.jpg

LynetteG
07-26-2007, 09:48 AM
neglected to mention two things

1) video of his games is available for purchase from hooptv.net, if any of you are so inclined. The 06 games are still up and I suspect the 07 games won't be up until the tourney is over (today). I think DVDs are $15 each or 3 for $40. I know they taped his 3rd pool play game (vs NOC Stars 16s (CA) ). I am sure they also taped the 1st bracket play game vs Algiers Chargers (LA), but I don't know how he did (he got hurt) since I was flying home at gametime.

2) ran into Shane Battier (Houston Rockets) in the Wynn. He is from Michigan, and he and J had the same AAU coach at age 10. Coach used to say that J reminded him of Shane at that age. Mentioned this connection to Shane, and when Js name was mentioned, Shane said "I've heard of him, he's good!" :) Shane asked what team he was playing with in Vegas, and said to say "enjoy it". Was kind enough to pose for a pic, too :)