PDA

View Full Version : Seahawks 2012-13 Season Thread



LongIslandZagFan
09-10-2012, 06:32 AM
First off. Braylon Edwards sucks... No excuse for not catching that ball. I'd rather have had TO than Edwards.

Now that that is off my chest. This season will be a work in progress. I liked what I saw out of Wilson on that drive... There were positives to take away. Hopefully week 2 will bring a W.

cjm720
09-10-2012, 08:14 AM
Arizona's D's better than a lot of people think and it played us well. Wilson didn't play too well but did what he had to do and his teammate failed him. Hate to blame the outcome on a single play, but Edwards should have easily caught that ball. Feel sorry for Wilson and am pissed as a fan...needed that divisional game.

LongIslandZagFan
09-10-2012, 08:17 AM
Arizona's D's better than a lot of people think and it played us well. Wilson didn't play too well but did what he had to do and his teammate failed him. Hate to blame the outcome on a single play, but Edwards should have easily caught that ball. Feel sorry for Wilson and am pissed as a fan...needed that divisional game.

True... I think the prior throw to Edwards was a mistake as Rice was cutting to the corner wide open, but Wilson didn't see it. I actually think that drive was actually one of the positives of the game, even though the outcome wasn't positive. Wilson was cool and collected and didn't make bad decisions at any point. That bodes well for the Hawks down the line IMHO.

cjm720
09-10-2012, 08:20 AM
Wilson is a winner and had the confidence to get the W. I believe in him and really think he'll improve mightily all year. Our O-line may never have been so important though!

cjm720
09-10-2012, 09:40 AM
Looks like an 0-3 start, yikes.

st. al
09-10-2012, 07:11 PM
Pete Carroll hasn't proven to me to be a very good in game coach.

With regards to the offense, Pete doesn't make that call.

gu03alum
09-16-2012, 05:55 PM
Seahawks were awesome tonight! I can't wait to talk #### to the cowboy fans at work tomorrow.

LongIslandZagFan
09-16-2012, 06:31 PM
Great having RedZone so I can see some of the Seahawks games... but when they start dominating defensively... I don't get to see much.

Good win. Now to figure out how to copy the Niners and beat Green Bay.

gu03alum
09-17-2012, 02:31 AM
http://m.si.com/igen/5234157_golden-tate.300x230.JPG

Eroop22
09-17-2012, 08:59 AM
http://m.si.com/igen/5234157_golden-tate.300x230.JPG

Loved that hit. To bad Johnston is such a cowboys homer that he couldn't pull his head out of his butt and see that it was a late hit penalty.

cjm720
09-17-2012, 09:39 AM
That Golden Tate hit was impressive. He's a difference maker IMO.

Good overall game. Would like to see Wilson's leash to be extended a bit, as we aren't going to win all our games with our defense and ST.

gu03alum
09-19-2012, 04:24 PM
Football Outsiders Ratings (http://www.footballoutsiders.com/dvoa-ratings/2012/week-2-dvoa-ratings)

Seahawks come in 13 overall
Offense 28
Defense 4
Special Teams 2

gu03alum
09-19-2012, 04:48 PM
http://assets.sbnation.com/assets/1380981/leepwned_medium.gif

gu03alum
09-19-2012, 04:54 PM
Video: Dallas Fan: I Told Y'all Not To Overlook Them (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=SjppKmRW6WI)

Eroop22
09-20-2012, 08:57 AM
Tate got fined for that hit. I still like it and I hope they continue to block and hit as hard as they do. Before Carroll arrived this team was softer than Charmin triple ply.

gu03alum
10-01-2012, 10:02 AM
Flynn! Flynn! Flynn!

LongIslandZagFan
10-01-2012, 10:21 AM
Flynn! Flynn! Flynn!

If you ain't gonna let Wilson throw the damn ball. I'm with ya.

sittingon50
10-01-2012, 11:51 AM
Really coulda' used some replacement officials yesterday.

cjm720
10-01-2012, 12:06 PM
Flynn! Flynn! Flynn!

Yea, looking more and more like Flynn should have been given the nod. Wilson's a tough dude, but to be replaced now would likely hurt the physche and if he's the LT guy, not sure if that's the anser. I would rather have seen Flynn start then work Wilson in - Everyone would have been fine with that and Wilson will only get better.

Sucks to waste a good D and Special Teams with the worst passing offense in the league.

bullzag23
10-01-2012, 12:26 PM
Sucks to waste a good D and Special Teams with the worst passing offense in the league.

Not to mention a very solid running game. Lynch continues to plow through people. Our air attack is a glaring weakness.

Edited to add:

Just looked at stats on ESPN. We have the #6 rushing offense with the league LEADER in rushing yards, but we're dead last in total passing yardage. Hell we're even 36 yards behind Chicago who's played only 3 games thus far. This can't continue.

Eroop22
10-01-2012, 02:18 PM
Flynn! Flynn! Flynn!

Not going to happen I just read that Carroll said Flynn is only throwing 15 balls a day. He could make it through a game but his elbow is to messed up to make it through an entire week of preparation and the game.
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000068363/article/pete-carroll-matt-flynn-not-healthy-enough-to-start

LongIslandZagFan
10-08-2012, 07:23 AM
Couple thoughts on yesterday's game....

1) this has been a topic of debate here at work, but I think the intentional safety was a stroke of genius... Genius that I wouldn't associate with Carrol... Others at work didn't think giving points up was a good move period. Thoughts?

2). Averaging 17 points a game isn't going to make the playooffs. Take the 27 spot put up on Dallas... And he numbers are even uglier. Game plan has got to change soon. You cant live and die with defense only.

gu03alum
10-08-2012, 08:41 AM
Couple thoughts on yesterday's game....

1) this has been a topic of debate here at work, but I think the intentional safety was a stroke of genius... Genius that I wouldn't associate with Carrol... Others at work didn't think giving points up was a good move period. Thoughts?

2). Averaging 17 points a game isn't going to make the playooffs. Take the 27 spot put up on Dallas... And he numbers are even uglier. Game plan has got to change soon. You cant live and die with defense only.

1) It worked so it was a good move. If it hadn't Carrol would have been crucified in the press (kind of like his on side kick last week).

2) I completely agree. This year's team is a lot like watching the Mariners. If Russell doesn't have the ability to throw the ball downfield then we need someone who can. I believe that Russell does have the ability so they need to open up the whole playbook. This team will not leapfrog the fortywhiners or the Cardinals with this offense. I think they need to finish second or higher to get a playoff spot. As good as the West is this year I don't think it's going to get two wildcard teams.

gu03alum
10-09-2012, 04:17 AM
Seahawks Defense: NFL's top-ranked unit by the numbers (http://www.fieldgulls.com/2012/10/8/3473684/seahawks-defense-nfl-leading-stats-numbers-brandon-mebane)

Eroop22
10-09-2012, 12:31 PM
I am all for grooming a young QB with tons of upside but part of me wishes we had a more established guy back there right now. We have a top tier defense, special teams, and running back. I cant help but think QB play and dumb mistakes by a young offensive line are holding us back.

gu03alum
10-10-2012, 05:46 AM
I just got my new Earl Thomas jersey and it is sick. Everybody in the office is jealous. I've even heard a Steelers fan say they want to buy a Seahawks jersey now.

gu03alum
10-14-2012, 03:11 PM
I am missing a hell of a game. I can't believe I decided to skip the bar today to get more studying done for my CPA test. I haven't been able to take my eyes of gametracker anyway.

gu03alum
10-14-2012, 03:33 PM
I assume there is now a quarterback controversy in SF after today. I can't wait until Thursday.

LongIslandZagFan
10-14-2012, 04:28 PM
Holy crap.... What a finish. Still on post win buzz.

sittingon50
10-14-2012, 05:06 PM
I thought the Pat's controlled the game, for the most part. But it's just like the Zags; you let a team hang around for awhile...........

bullzag23
10-14-2012, 05:20 PM
I thought the Pat's controlled the game, for the most part. But it's just like the Zags; you let a team hang around for awhile...........

I had the pleasure of being at the game, and all I can say is....holy sh!t.

gu03alum
10-14-2012, 05:31 PM
I had the pleasure of being at the game, and all I can say is....holy sh!t.

I am very jealous

LongIslandZagFan
10-14-2012, 06:36 PM
I had the pleasure of being at the game, and all I can say is....holy sh!t.

I hate you... in an envy sorta way... Can't imagine what it was like. Congrats on being there man.

sittingon50
10-14-2012, 06:36 PM
So were you O.K. with Seattle finally getting some rain, bull?

LongIslandZagFan
10-15-2012, 07:10 AM
Was this the game? Was this the game where Carroll finally decides he has faith in Wilson and opens the play book up?

bullzag23
10-15-2012, 07:15 AM
So were you O.K. with Seattle finally getting some rain, bull?

Sat way up in the Hawks' Nest and got soaked. Totally ok with it based on the way the game played out.

gu03alum
10-15-2012, 03:18 PM
I love this:

Richard Sherman trashes Pats' O (http://espn.go.com/boston/nfl/story/_/id/8508095/richard-sherman-gloats-seattle-seahawks-top-gimmick-new-england-patriots)

gu03alum
10-15-2012, 03:35 PM
Richard Sherman Tweet:


Brady sure looks like a man who turned the 12thMan against us pic.twitter.com/FeAFs78Q

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/A5NgcyiCcAAy7Tl.jpg

gu03alum
10-15-2012, 03:40 PM
Sherman talking to Brady after the game:

http://static.nfl.com/static/content/public/photo/2012/10/15/0ap1000000080708.jpg

sittingon50
10-15-2012, 09:39 PM
Did he show you his rings, Richard?

Weak.

gu03alum
10-16-2012, 01:58 AM
Did he show you his rings, Richard?

Weak.

How many rings has he won since the patriots were caught cheating?

gu03alum
10-16-2012, 03:08 AM
The Nfc west has more teams with winning records than the entire Afc.

bartruff1
10-16-2012, 04:18 AM
Sherman talking to Brady after the game:

http://static.nfl.com/static/content/public/photo/2012/10/15/0ap1000000080708.jpg Sherman is simply a piece of crap.

LongIslandZagFan
10-16-2012, 05:50 AM
Sherman is simply a piece of crap.

Brady did say to him I'll see you after the game... Sherman just wanted to ake sure they did see each other.

IMHO Brady started the trash talk by saying he'd shut the crowd up... That is a direct shot at the number one defense in the NFL.

Talking about pieces of crap.. Brady's coach is the worst one of them all. Cheater, rude to other coaches, way too high opinion of himself.

bartruff1
10-16-2012, 07:00 AM
I would agree about the coach....but that is no excuse ...

Brady will have a post football life that will be successful and rewarding economically and will likely be in the Hall of Fame.

I suspect that Sherman will end up like a majority of professional athletes ....which is to bad...

He has this unique opportunity to get a huge headstart on a post football life that I suspect he will squander.

He doesn't sound much like Magic Johnson to me. He sounds like a very troubled young man that we will read about in the future and it won't be good.

cjm720
10-16-2012, 07:02 AM
Sherman is simply a piece of crap.

No way Bart. Brady asked for it. Love it. This team needs to be nasty, needs to intimidate. He did that and some. Bring on the niners.

bartruff1
10-16-2012, 07:03 AM
The niners have a piece of crap coach also. There seen to be a lot of them in the NFL.

cjm720
10-16-2012, 07:05 AM
Bart, a compton kid who went to Stanford and is arguably a top 10 defensive player in the NFL in his second year. I'd be stoked and cocky too. Gotta throw Earl Thomas in with him on the trash talk too then since he started it. This teams needs a swager and they bring it.

LongIslandZagFan
10-16-2012, 07:09 AM
Bart, a compton kid who went to Stanford and is arguably a top 10 defensive player in the NFL in his second year. I'd be stoked and cocky too. Gotta throw Earl Thomas in with him on the trash talk too then since he started it. This teams needs a swager and they bring it.

Just a reminder Bart... Stanford doesn't lower its academic standards for athletes. Oh... And he graduated and started his Masters... Yeah... Real low life... I'm sure we'll be reading about this ne're do well.

bartruff1
10-16-2012, 07:09 AM
Bart, a compton kid who went to Stanford and is arguably a top 10 defensive player in the NFL in his second year. I'd be stoked and cocky too. Gotta throw Earl Thomas in with him on the trash talk too then since he started it. This teams needs a swager and they bring it. ..... I have no use for trash talking...probably a old fuddy duddy value...

LongIslandZagFan
10-16-2012, 07:14 AM
..... I have no use for trash talking...probably a old fuddy duddy value...

Think it just comes with the game... Heck you go back to the 70s and 80s and you had plenty examples of trash talking... It's just more in the open now with television and social media.

webspinnre
10-16-2012, 07:34 AM
Yeah, I'm not into it either, especially the social media approach.

bartruff1
10-16-2012, 07:42 AM
Think it just comes with the game... Heck you go back to the 70s and 80s and you had plenty examples of trash talking... It's just more in the open now with television and social media.

I think it goes with our media culture including politics and I do not know what the consequences of that may be, but I don't like it a bit. If it ever becomes the norm at Gonzaga, I will be gone. Come to think of it, I will probably be gone before it gets here !!! I didn't even like Morrison...

LongIslandZagFan
10-19-2012, 06:21 AM
Three dropped passes that either killed deep drives or were guaranteed TDs. Each ball was perfectly thrown... Not catching them were inexcusable.

cjm720
10-19-2012, 09:40 AM
Well, that sucked. Serious momentum lost in the first half. Got Gored in the second half. SF blitzing really limited Wilson and exploited his size. Shotgun is better against a team of SF defensive status, but that would also limit Lynch (heckuva a game).

Zag79
11-24-2012, 01:03 AM
Still down on this team peeps? Looking damn good if you ask me. Beast mode is in effect, Russ looks like our QBOTF, the defense is elite, our WR's are making big plays... And we're young. I love what Pete has done, it's only going to get better. Go Seahawks!!

gu03alum
11-24-2012, 06:04 AM
Still down on this team peeps? Looking damn good if you ask me. Beast mode is in effect, Russ looks like our QBOTF, the defense is elite, our WR's are making big plays... And we're young. I love what Pete has done, it's only going to get better. Go Seahawks!!

I will be all in if they beat the Dolphins on the road. They need some road victories. They will have to win on the road in the playoffs against better teams than the Dolphins or Bills.

LongIslandZagFan
11-24-2012, 07:44 AM
I still say this is a transition year. Not down on them at all... I just think there are more pieces to the puzzle that need to be filled. An elite ILB/OLB would really help... A dependable tall receiver would add to the mix... purge Edwards. Right now it is Tate and Rice and that is about it. One more set of solid hands.

Anything we get out of them this year IMHO is just gravy. Next season, with Wilson with a year of experience... that is where we can start thinking about playing in February.

gu03alum
11-26-2012, 01:46 AM
Now that Sherman and Browner are suspended this season is over. I don't really care. I hate cheating. I was thinking the other day that maybe I should have bought a Sherman jersey instead of an Earl Thomas jersey. I'm so glad I dont have Sherman's jersey now. I would never wear it again if I did.

Eroop22
11-26-2012, 07:08 AM
Now that Sherman and Browner are suspended this season is over. I don't really care. I hate cheating. I was thinking the other day that maybe I should have bought a Sherman jersey instead of an Earl Thomas jersey. I'm so glad I dont have Sherman's jersey now. I would never wear it again if I did.

Sherman claims he didn't take anything. I tend to not believe players when they come out with excuses like it was a tainted supplement, or it was adderall. But from what I have read this morning Sherman is just straight up saying he didn't take anything. I hope he is telling the truth.

zag944
11-26-2012, 07:20 AM
really disappointing. While its a legal substance if one has a perscription, I guess it can work as a masking agent too. One could probably make an argument that Sherman has been our best player this year, and I think Browner would be somewhere amongst our top 10.

Really going to struggle with this playoff push if suspensions hold.

gu03alum
11-26-2012, 07:46 AM
Sherman claims he didn't take anything. I tend to not believe players when they come out with excuses like it was a tainted supplement, or it was adderall. But from what I have read this morning Sherman is just straight up saying he didn't take anything. I hope he is telling the truth.

I doubt it. Lance has said for years he didn't take anything either. In my opinion, these guys are guilty as soon as the test results come in. I have no empathy for Sherman. He has hurt his team.

cjm720
11-26-2012, 08:18 AM
Now that Sherman and Browner are suspended this season is over. I don't really care. I hate cheating. I was thinking the other day that maybe I should have bought a Sherman jersey instead of an Earl Thomas jersey. I'm so glad I dont have Sherman's jersey now. I would never wear it again if I did.

Let's wait for this to play out.

Dissapointing though.

We should have had that game....lots of play to point to, but man, wish Baldwin could have held on to that one ball that would have been the 17th consecutive completion.

bullzag23
12-09-2012, 04:02 PM
For shame Arizona, for shame.

gu03alum
12-10-2012, 05:28 AM
58-0

sittingon50
12-16-2012, 01:44 PM
A little Gangnam Style @ halftime in Toronto.

webspinnre
12-16-2012, 04:33 PM
Now let's see if the Patriots can take care of their end, and then we'll control our own destiny.

RenoZag
12-23-2012, 05:56 PM
Seahawks opened the extra large can of "whup ass" tonight. Impressive.

webspinnre
12-23-2012, 08:43 PM
Utter domination. Absolutely glorious. Can't wait to listen to KNBR in the morning.

sittingon50
12-23-2012, 09:22 PM
Was hopin' they would score once more late & then go for 2 (I'm a BIG fan of Harbaugh).

;)

bullzag23
12-23-2012, 10:08 PM
That was a hell of a game to attend. Thanks Dad and Merry Christmas!

LongIslandZagFan
12-23-2012, 10:14 PM
Can Zona pull their collective heads outta their asses next week and pull off an upset? Is that asking too much?

bullzag23
12-24-2012, 04:46 AM
Can Zona pull their collective heads outta their asses next week and pull off an upset? Is that asking too much?

Unfortunately I'm going to go with 'yes' on that one.

billyberu
12-24-2012, 05:16 PM
That is a seriously good football team right now. This team would undress the 2005 Seahawks and they were talented too, but these guys would knock the snot out of those primadonnas.

It's been rather amazing to watch the progression of this young and talented football team. It is my fervent wish that our young Bulldogs would have a similar progression arc as these Seahawks.

LongIslandZagFan
12-25-2012, 12:42 PM
Unfortunately I'm going to go with 'yes' on that one.

Unfortunately... Me too.

bullzag23
12-27-2012, 12:49 PM
Richard Sherman's suspension REPEALED!!!!

Playoffs, baby.

IrishZagFan
12-27-2012, 12:57 PM
Here's a look at the Seahawks’ potential playoff opponents ... so you can look like you’ve been following them from day one.

First, you should know the current NFC playoff seedings.

1. Atlanta Falcons (NFC South Champion)
2. Green Bay Packers (NFC North Champion)
3. San Francisco 49ers (Leading NFC West)
4. Washington Redskins (Leading NFC East)
5. Seattle Seahawks (clinched playoff berth)
6. Minnesota Vikings (leading for final playoff berth)

Scenario 1

Seattle has clinched a wild card berth. If the team doesn’t advance any farther, they will play on the road the weekend of Jan. 5-6. Their potential opponents include the Washington Redskins or Dallas Cowboys (whoever wins the NFC East this Sunday), the NFC North champion Green Bay Packers (potential payback game from that Monday Night fiasco you’ve heard so much about), or even the same San Francisco 49ers team the Seahawks just dismantled (in this case, the results of next Sunday's games would make the Niners the NFC West champions).

Scenario 2

If the Seahawks win this Sunday against St. Louis and the 49ers somehow manage to lose to Arizona (not likely), then the Seahawks would be the NFC West Champions.

If that happens, and the Green Bay Packers don’t lose to Minnesota on Sunday, then the Seahawks would host a wild card game Jan. 5 or 6. Possible opponents could include San Francisco, Minnesota, Washington, Chicago, or the New York Giants. The 49ers are the only one of those teams that has clinched at least a wild card berth.

Scenario 3

If the Packers lose to Minnesota and the Seahawks win the NFC West, then Seattle could vault all the way up to the No. 2 seed. That would mean that they would get a first week playoff bye, with their first post-season game falling on the weekend of Jan. 12-13. Their opponent would be the highest remaining seed from the wild card round.

No matter what happens, Seattle cannot face Atlanta in the first week of the playoffs. The Falcons have clinched home field advantage, which means they will get that first week off and will host the lowest remaining seed from the wild card round.

KGW.com playoff possibilities (http://www.kgw.com/sports/184810801.html)

kitzbuel
12-28-2012, 03:46 AM
Question for the field: would the Seahawks make the playoffs if they had not won the Green Bay game?

Not sure that can be answered until after this weekend.

IrishZagFan
12-28-2012, 08:40 AM
Question for the field: would the Seahawks make the playoffs if they had not won the Green Bay game?

Not sure that can be answered until after this weekend.

We would have to see the outcome of this weekends games. If they had lost to Green Bay, they would currently be 9 - 6, and tied with Minnesota and Chicago.

They beat Chicago head to head, but Minnesota holds the tiebreaker over Chicago due to better division record, so as it currently stands Seattle and Minnesota would trade playoff spots. 6 vs 5.

Dallas and the Giants are 8 - 7. Seahawks beat Dallas back in Week 2 so would hold the tiebreaker over them.
The Giants are 7-4 in the conference, and the Seahawks would only be 6-5 if they had lost to Green Bay.

So in answer to your question, yes, we would have to wait for the outcome of this weekends games to see if the Seahawks would have made the playoffs if they had lost to Green Bay........ :)

bullzag23
12-28-2012, 10:07 AM
We would have to see the outcome of this weekends games. If they had lost to Green Bay, they would currently be 9 - 6, and tied with Minnesota and Chicago.

They beat Chicago head to head, but Minnesota holds the tiebreaker over Chicago due to better division record, so as it currently stands Seattle and Minnesota would trade playoff spots. 6 vs 5.

Dallas and the Giants are 8 - 7. Seahawks beat Dallas back in Week 2 so would hold the tiebreaker over them.
The Giants are 7-4 in the conference, and the Seahawks would only be 6-5 if they had lost to Green Bay.

So in answer to your question, yes, we would have to wait for the outcome of this weekends games to see if the Seahawks would have made the playoffs if they had lost to Green Bay........ :)

Hey IZF, not to pick nits, but the Seahawks also hold the tiebreaker over Minnesota due to a head to head W....

cjm720
12-28-2012, 10:51 AM
Here's to the Niners, Green Bay, and Washington losing!

bullzag23
12-28-2012, 01:06 PM
Here's to the Niners, Green Bay, and Washington losing!

Not to mention the Rams!

cjm720
12-28-2012, 01:08 PM
Not to mention the Rams!

Hahahaha, good point. We have clinched a spot though but need to keep the momentum. I predict another big win.

Zag79
12-28-2012, 11:07 PM
One of the most amazing seasons I can remember, to be this good and this young is scary! Go Seahawks!!

kitzbuel
12-30-2012, 07:35 PM
Looks like its Hawks and Skins. Battle of the rookie QBs. Skins have a rookie RB that can hang with Lynch.

bullzag23
12-31-2012, 08:38 AM
Looks like its Hawks and Skins. Battle of the rookie QBs. Skins have a rookie RB that can hang with Lynch.

Not sure when the ROY voting is, but if it's after this weekend then this game could decide who wins.

I like the Seahawks' chances here since the Skins play little to no D.

cjm720
12-31-2012, 09:07 AM
Hawks should win. Morris and of course RG3 has me a bit worried, but in all aspects we're as good or better. The tough part is an early game on the road.

kitzbuel
12-31-2012, 02:04 PM
Skins D is greatly improved and has been very under-rated recently. Ever since the Carolina game in particular. Haslett has been very good at getting confusing defenses out there that lead to interceptions. Skins have the most interceptions of any team in the playoffs.

ZagLawGrad
12-31-2012, 03:02 PM
Skins D is greatly improved and has been very under-rated recently. Ever since the Carolina game in particular. Haslett has been very good at getting confusing defenses out there that lead to interceptions. Skins have the most interceptions of any team in the playoffs.

Haven't watched them much. Think they can keep Lynch under wraps?

gu03alum
01-01-2013, 03:16 PM
Skins D is greatly improved and has been very under-rated recently. Ever since the Carolina game in particular. Haslett has been very good at getting confusing defenses out there that lead to interceptions. Skins have the most interceptions of any team in the playoffs.

I was looking at the numbers and was surprised at how good there defense has been lately. My initial impression was that they had a terrible defense due to how they were playing early in the season and all of the injuries. These teams are much closer than I thought. It should be a hell of a game.

I think I will wear my Seahawks Earl Thomas jersey on the train everyday over my work clothes just to see what kind of reaction I get from the DC people. I'm guessing the best reactions will be once I get off the train and walk from the train station to work. This city is a great football city and it's been fun to be here with the skins good.

gu03alum
01-01-2013, 03:18 PM
Also, this is my favorite Seahawks team. The team in 05 was a lot of fun and I liked them a lot too, but this team is so much fun to watch. I never really liked Alexander (I have no idea why), but I love Beast Mode.

LongIslandZagFan
01-01-2013, 07:13 PM
Make RGIII look like nothing next week....

GO SEAHAWKS!!!!

Zag79
01-03-2013, 10:46 PM
I'm already getting mentally prepared for playoff football... Must. Beat. The. Skins!!

gu03alum
01-05-2013, 01:33 PM
If any of you are in the DC area I'm going to meetup with a bunch of Seahawks fan at Penn Quarter Tavern (http://www.pennquartersportstavern.com/ordereze/default.aspx) tonight at 8.

gu03alum
01-05-2013, 01:47 PM
good article about Russell Wilson from SI (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/nfl/news/20130104/russell-wilson/?sct=hp_wr_a4&eref=sihp)


Wilson had told Carroll about his plans to win the starting job shortly after being drafted, and now he had an opportunity to make a statement with all the players gathered for a spring minicamp. But the offense struggled during an 11-on-11 session against the No. 1 defense. Had there been a mercy rule, Carroll could've used it.

Wilson, so poised and composed on the outside, seethed internally. He is the ultimate competitor, and the offense's performance -- HIS performance -- was unacceptable. So after everyone was gone he requested that Sidney Rice and Doug Baldwin, two of the team's top three receivers, join him at the indoor training facility so they could go over their goal-line pass routes. Again. And again.

gu03alum
01-05-2013, 07:54 PM
If any of you are in the DC area I'm going to meetup with a bunch of Seahawks fan at Penn Quarter Tavern (http://www.pennquartersportstavern.com/ordereze/default.aspx) tonight at 8.

There was a good turnout at the bar tonight. I couldn't even get to the upstairs part where it was reserved for seahawks fans. We pretty much took over the rest of the bar.

ZagLawGrad
01-06-2013, 12:17 PM
I'm thinking no love lost between Hawks and Skins.

Hawks the better team, but that road game stuff is scary. 'Bout to find out pretty soon.

kylasdad
01-06-2013, 12:37 PM
anyone have a stream?

FlyZag
01-06-2013, 12:50 PM
anyone have a stream?

www.justin.tv/rideopen

pwd = hawks

ZagLawGrad
01-06-2013, 01:12 PM
about as bad a start as Seahwks could have hoped to avoid

bartruff1
01-06-2013, 03:51 PM
It didn't seem to bother them...the only people that could stop them... was them....watch out Atlanta.... I imagine I am the only grouchy old man who found the " RG3 "....RG3.......RG3..... talk annoying !!! Sounds like something a PR person would come up with.....to cute by far...IMHO of course

ZagLawGrad
01-06-2013, 03:53 PM
Nice win Hawks

gu03alum
01-06-2013, 04:15 PM
F uck yeah, helluva win

I have nothing but love for the Redskins and their fans. They are great people. Second best fans in football.

gu03alum
01-06-2013, 04:39 PM
http://larrybrownsports.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/richard-sherman-trent-williams-face-530x332.jpg

kitzbuel
01-06-2013, 04:57 PM
Hated to see RG 3 go down. Shanahan is catching hell for leaving him in. No reason for him to be in there.

gu03alum
01-06-2013, 05:14 PM
Hated to see RG 3 go down. Shanahan is catching hell for leaving him in. No reason for him to be in there.

I watched the game with Redskins fans and they were yelling for him to go out long before the fumble. Combine that with the story from Dr. James Andrews:

Link (http://tracking.si.com/2013/01/06/rg3-injury-james-andrews-knee-rg-iii-robert-griffin-redskins-mike-shanahan/)


But Andrews said he never cleared Griffin to reenter the game. In fact, he said, Griffin “didn’t even let us look at him.”

“He came off the field, walked through the sidelines, circled back through the players and took off back to the field. It wasn’t our opinion,” Andrews said.

“We didn’t even get to touch him or talk to him. Scared the hell out of me.”

After the collision, Griffin went back into the game for four plays before removing himself in obvious pain. Backup quarterback Kirk Cousins took over and led the team to an overtime victory.

Andrews admitted that he is still worried about Griffin’s health and concerned that the team might have rushed their star rookie back too quickly.

They made a point of contrasting the Nationals handling of Strausburg to the way the Redskins handled RGIII. I think its a damned if you do and damned if you don't kind of thing though.

rennis
01-06-2013, 05:14 PM
Hated to see RG 3 go down. Shanahan is catching hell for leaving him in. No reason for him to be in there.

Xeleventy. The kid was held together with twine. Made me so mad to see him hobbling around and then collapse. No excuse for not benching him early in the game.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

webspinnre
01-06-2013, 08:24 PM
Especially when they've got a quality backup like Cousins who's already won games for them.

mtzaga
01-07-2013, 03:39 AM
It didn't seem to bother them...the only people that could stop them... was them....watch out Atlanta.... I imagine I am the only grouchy old man who found the " RG3 "....RG3.......RG3..... talk annoying !!! Sounds like something a PR person would come up with.....to cute by far...IMHO of course

I got tired hearing about Ray Lewis.

bartruff1
01-07-2013, 04:19 AM
I got tired about hearing about Ray Lewis.

I am with you on that...

gu03alum
01-07-2013, 04:35 AM
I got tired about hearing about Ray Lewis.

It's Jerome Bettis all over again. At least Bettis didn't murder anyone though.

LongIslandZagFan
01-07-2013, 08:28 AM
Lewis will be done next week I hope... Weird to think that some are considering the Seahawks the NFC favorites when they'll play every game on the road from here on out.

gu03alum
01-07-2013, 08:41 AM
Lewis will be done next week I hope... Weird to think that some are considering the Seahawks the NFC favorites when they'll play every game on the road from here on out.

I think it's because the Seahawks are one of the most complete football teams of all time. I am not even exaggerating. Look at the final DVOA numbers. Seattle ranks #1 overall this year and #6 all-time.

Football Outsiders Final DVOA (http://www.footballoutsiders.com/dvoa-ratings/2012/final-2012-dvoa-ratings)

cjm720
01-07-2013, 10:07 AM
Huge win! We have the momentum and swagger to play anyone, anywhere. Hopefully we get to Atlanta two or three days early to acclimate.

st. al
01-08-2013, 01:48 PM
Huge win! We have the momentum and swagger to play anyone, anywhere. Hopefully we get to Atlanta two or three days early to acclimate.

We leave Friday afternoon, same as any east coast trip.

ZagsBaby
01-08-2013, 01:50 PM
I think it's because the Seahawks are one of the most complete football teams of all time. I am not even exaggerating. Look at the final DVOA numbers. Seattle ranks #1 overall this year and #6 all-time.

Football Outsiders Final DVOA (http://www.footballoutsiders.com/dvoa-ratings/2012/final-2012-dvoa-ratings)


And yet they lost 5 games (6 if you count the replacement refs handing them the GB game)

cjm720
01-08-2013, 03:06 PM
We leave Friday afternoon, same as any east coast trip.

Uggh...was hoping for Wednesday or Thursday. Oh well. Get ready for some football!!!!

IrishZagFan
01-08-2013, 03:29 PM
https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/164688_10151243229019825_432353936_n.jpg

webspinnre
01-08-2013, 03:29 PM
And yet they lost 5 games (6 if you count the replacement refs handing them the GB game)

Except that GB wouldn't have even had the lead if the refs hadn't given them a non-existent PI call on the previous drive.

gu03alum
01-09-2013, 06:37 AM
And yet they lost 5 games (6 if you count the replacement refs handing them the GB game)

What's your point? This team is peaking at the right time. This team would have had the same seed whether they had 5 losses or 6 losses.

IrishZagFan
01-09-2013, 01:22 PM
http://oi49.tinypic.com/2a0gtpi.jpg

IrishZagFan
01-09-2013, 01:22 PM
http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQfNdv2aEnSO-8UUMoMtDH0BEbjug8VOLI7YaTvAej080vg9_0WX9nCg3nxhA

IrishZagFan
01-09-2013, 01:24 PM
http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-snc7/s480x480/303519_517152238317140_1432350693_n.jpg

gu03alum
01-11-2013, 09:00 AM
My prediction for the weekend:

Seahawks over Falcons
4whiners over Packers
Broncos over Ravens
Patriots over Texans

LongIslandZagFan
01-11-2013, 10:02 AM
Seahawks
Packers
Ravens
Patriots

gu03alum
01-11-2013, 02:24 PM
Felix is ready!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BAW9ty4CIAEKfZk.jpg

sittingon50
01-11-2013, 07:40 PM
(per PTI) says Seahawks/Patriots in the Super Bowl.

(no link; I searched his blog & couldn't find this particular info).

webspinnre
01-12-2013, 07:48 AM
Felix is ready!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BAW9ty4CIAEKfZk.jpg

This is awesome.

Also, found this on twitter:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BAXwgYzCEAAdxbW.jpg:large

ZagLawGrad
01-13-2013, 10:25 AM
Hawks sucking big time in first half against Atlanta. :argh:

gu03alum
01-13-2013, 11:11 AM
#### this ####

kitzbuel
01-13-2013, 12:04 PM
I believe this is the biggest playoff comeback in the NFL!

primal23
01-13-2013, 12:09 PM
Atlanta looking good on this drive... Not a good sign

kitzbuel
01-13-2013, 12:41 PM
Ugh

bartruff1
01-13-2013, 03:27 PM
Just a reminder Bart... Stanford doesn't lower its academic standards for athletes. Oh... And he graduated and started his Masters... Yeah... Real low life... I'm sure we'll be reading about this ne're do well. And Sherman is still talking...

LongIslandZagFan
01-13-2013, 03:59 PM
And Sherman is still talking...

And the Pats should be done next week. Ravens have their number.



Seahawks and their fans should hang their heads high... great season... way more than expected. This IS the team of the future for the NFL.

Go Seahawks!

bartruff1
01-13-2013, 04:58 PM
I just hope that Wilson is the face of the team...what a class act that guy is....

bullzag23
01-13-2013, 07:39 PM
Disappointing finish, but hell of a season. Things are looking up for this team going forward.

IrishZagFan
01-14-2013, 11:09 AM
Disappointing finish, but hell of a season. Things are looking up for this team going forward.

Being a Notre Dame fan, and a Seahawks fan, I know that the close finish from coming from way behind, to go ahead, and then lose in the last few seconds hurts a lot worse than just getting blown out.

At least with Alabama, Irish can admit they were just the better team. With the Seahawks, you just have to wonder......One play, no timeout called, score just before half time, get the one yard on 4th and 1.......Any number of what if's.....

cjm720
01-14-2013, 11:31 AM
Amazing season and lots of promise for next year.

My only gripe about yesterday: take the points! why go for it on 4th in the first half!!!

gu03alum
01-14-2013, 11:37 AM
Amazing season and lots of promise for next year.

My only gripe about yesterday: take the points! why go for it on 4th in the first half!!!

I agree, but it's how Pete has coached all year. I have seen that play with Robinson work many times and it might have worked, but somebody missed a block it appeared. It was a hell of a game.

I'm more concerned with how flat they started the last two games. There is no excuse for that in my opinion.

Zag79
01-22-2013, 11:54 PM
Late to the party, the loss was a heartbreaker but a helluva season Seahawks!! With all the youth at I,portent positions, depth at some spots like a college roster, this team is going to be on top for a long time. Awesome run!

Eroop22
01-23-2013, 09:54 AM
I have seen that play with Robinson work many times and it might have worked, but somebody missed a block it appeared. It was a hell of a game.

That was the problem with the play. Everyone had seen that play work for us all season. The entire world knew that was the play call. If my wife can correctly call out the play before it happens you know the play calling is way to predictable.