PDA

View Full Version : Zags in NBA Summer League



ZagNative
07-03-2012, 10:00 PM
Here's what I'm showing so far. Times listed are Pacific time zone.

(I was surprised to see Michael Stockton on the roster for the Jazz and added him to the list.) I was hoping to see Bouldin and Gray on somebody's roster but haven't spotted anything yet. (Note: See posts below re: Gray and Pargo, who have been added to the chart.)

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/PargoSummerLeague.jpg

I think games will be broadcast on NBA TV. Hope so anyway ....

Rob's agent tweeted that he's due in Lakers training camp July 8th. Good luck, big guy!

RenoZag
07-03-2012, 11:03 PM
Dang !

You really eat, breathe and sleep this stuff. . .

Thanks for the effort & time to bring that schedule to the rest of us, Zag Native.

I wish 'em all well but admit I'm more likely to watch a Sacre game, if any.

Have a great 4th of July

ZagNative
07-03-2012, 11:20 PM
I'm likely to try to catch a bit of all those games.

ZagNative
07-04-2012, 12:12 PM
Good news for Steven Gray, per HoopsHype twitter (https://twitter.com/hoopshype/status/220304700602462210):

HoopsHype

Former Gonzaga guard Steven Gray has been invited to the Vegas Summer League with the Washington Wizards, agent John Spencer told HoopsHype. He averaged 13.9 ppg and 4.0 apg his senior season. Need to edit my chart...

KStyles
07-04-2012, 12:27 PM
From the Memphis Flyer's Grizzlies blog (http://www.memphisflyer.com/BeyondtheArc/archives/2012/06/29/post-draft-notebook), it sounds like Pargo may also be making some summer league appearances.


*The Grizzlies look forward to featuring Wroten and Josh Selby in the Las Vegas Summer League and are currently trying to fill out the roster. Jeremy Pargo is likely to play some, but probably not ever game.

MDABE80
07-04-2012, 02:34 PM
Good news for Steven Gray, per HoopsHype twitter (https://twitter.com/hoopshype/status/220304700602462210):Need to edit my chart...

I sincerely hope Gray has done the hardcore work necessary. I don't know what he did in this past year. he has all the tools to make the league. As always, it's up to him to do the work necessary. NO DISTRACTIONS Pulllleeeeeeeze!~ Go Steven!

ZagNative
07-04-2012, 03:07 PM
None of this, Steven! No artsy-fartsy stuff allowed for that important week in summer league!

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-Gh-vl-qVJWw/TMoUT-SbbqI/AAAAAAABMMg/mu2KiQP7ZBo/s600/2010-10-28%2520Steven%2520Gray%2520Romeo%2520and%2520Julie t%2520small.jpg

SLOZag
07-04-2012, 03:31 PM
I sincerely hope Gray has done the hardcore work necessary. I don't know what he did in this past year.

Steven was playing for BK Ventspils in Latvia. Season stats:

GP MIN PTS REB AST STL BLK TOV

59 22.2 10.6 2.1 2.3 0.9 0.2 1.7

Read more: http://basketball.realgm.com/international/league/3/Eurochallenge/team/724/BK_Ventspils/rosters

gamagin
07-04-2012, 03:53 PM
Steven was playing for BK Ventspils in Latvia. Season stats:

GP MIN PTS REB AST STL BLK TOV

59 22.2 10.6 2.1 2.3 0.9 0.2 1.7

Read more: http://basketball.realgm.com/international/league/3/Eurochallenge/team/724/BK_Ventspils/rosters

once a thespian . . .

MDABE80
07-05-2012, 02:13 PM
Full state of TV so we can wach our kids do their stuff. Rob has a unique opportunity in LA. Something tells me he'll use it to the fullest. I hope Jeremy stick again. Lots of competition for the PG duties in Memphis. Adam, too could stick with Brooklyn. They need shooters. He performs and all the old junk will fade. Performance counts.

Thanks again to ZN for her work. We'd be diminished without her.

ZagNative
07-09-2012, 12:10 PM
Live stats and box scores on the Summer league site (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/gameline/20120709/). Austin Daye's pistons vs. Michael Stockton's Jazz up at noon.

ZagNative
07-10-2012, 08:49 AM
New game schedule, with Micah Downs added for Dallas:
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Fullscreencapture710201284328AMbmp.jpg

ZagNative
07-10-2012, 01:10 PM
Austin having a nice game for the Pistons, with 22 points in the middle of the third, on near-perfect shooting, with 5 rebounds.

I'd like to see him have a really good summer league.

Adam's Nets team vs. Boston up next at 2:00 pm.

Mr Vulture
07-10-2012, 02:01 PM
Who is Michael Stockton?

ZAGGED OUT
07-10-2012, 02:12 PM
It's John's long lost older brother, he received some controversial age reversal surgery and is enjoying a comeback in the league, seems to be playing well......................

ok, sorry for my sarcasm, I believe it's one of John's 3 sons

KStyles
07-10-2012, 02:23 PM
I believe it's one of John's 3 sons

Yep, although I think Stockton also has a 4th son after Houston, Michael & David.

Michael went to Westminster in SLC, graduated a year ago. Good article about his game yesterday here (http://www.sltrib.com/sltrib/jazz/54457991-87/stockton-jazz-summer-league.html.csp).

The509sfinest
07-11-2012, 12:51 AM
Daye interview http://www.freep.com/article/20120711/SPORTS03/207110405/detroit-Pistons-Austin-Daye-turns-on-power?odyssey=mod%7Cnewswell%7Ctext%7CSports%7Cp

ZagNative
07-11-2012, 02:38 PM
New schedule, with Morrison on the Clippers' roster:
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Fullscreencapture711201215248PMbmp.jpg

ZagNative
07-13-2012, 05:43 PM
Rob in his first summer league game on now on NBA TV just put down his first bucket.

SageOfZagville
07-13-2012, 10:23 PM
4 pts, 5 boards, 1 block

Lakers got worked.

sullyzag66
07-14-2012, 07:59 AM
Gray didn't get in the game--coaches decision.

LynetteG
07-14-2012, 08:09 AM
Directv didn't have Steven's game this AM, but shows it at 10a (I am assuming it's the same game just rebroadcast...?) I also have Pargo at noon just as schedule says above, but then I have Sacre at 5p, not 1p...go figure! At least they are on TV, for the most part!

ZagNative
07-14-2012, 08:12 AM
I think I got Steven's game time wrong. Check the times on the Summer League site here (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/gameline/20120714/).

sullyzag66
07-14-2012, 09:31 AM
Gray didn't get in the game--coaches decision.
This was yesterday's game against Atlanta. Wizards play Rockets tonight @7:00 PM tonight, so maybe he'll get in.

U Zig, I Zag
07-14-2012, 10:26 AM
Daye interview http://www.freep.com/article/20120711/SPORTS03/207110405/detroit-Pistons-Austin-Daye-turns-on-power?odyssey=mod%7Cnewswell%7Ctext%7CSports%7Cp

IMHO, of all the former Zags we are talking about right now - those on rosters, those trying to make it onto rosters, those just trying to play for money (anywhere) - I feel that Austin is far and away the most skilled and attractive to an NBA team. Adam DID do some out and out incredible things in college and I hope he gets his mojo back but for my monday, Daye is the most likely NBA starter/big minutes guy.

He just needs some weight and some confidence..

zag buddy
07-14-2012, 12:40 PM
It irritates me that Steven doesn't even get in the game or take warm up shots just rebounds for the rest of the guys. Why did he go there? Unless he's injuried They do not get much pay for being there so I believe the teams owes it to the players they bring in to give them some court time so other teams can see what they can do, otherwise I would tell them to shove it and leave. Of course I did that in college and it didn't work out so well for me.But as Frank said " I did it my way".

ZagNative
07-14-2012, 06:28 PM
Rob having a good game. 9 points and 7 rebounds with 7:23 left in the third.

MDABE80
07-14-2012, 06:42 PM
I'm watching the game. Rob has 8 boards now. He keeps this up, he'l find a spot. He's perfect for LA. Dazzling personality. With all this work he's put in with private workouts, ROb's leggs look a bit weary. He's tough kid.... he's done everything expected of him. I'd like him on my team. He just needs some rest. "You can rest later!" he yelled as he urged his teammates on last Summer. Looks like he's followed his own advice. Best of everything to this young man.

Jeremy did a nice job (9 pts and 4 a's) in an earlier game. Hit all his FT's. He'll stick...if not in Memphis, somewhere.

ZagNative
07-14-2012, 06:53 PM
I want to see him with a double-double this game. He's played the whole game, 29:27 so far, and he sure looks like he belongs out there.

MDABE80
07-14-2012, 07:00 PM
11 and 10 now ZN. 5.5 mins left.

willandi
07-14-2012, 07:21 PM
Think that once Rob figures out that he can actually use his body, and not be called for a foul every time, he will be a beast.

:ban: (just wanted to post this)

SageOfZagville
07-14-2012, 07:24 PM
11 points 5-10 from the field.
10 boards
2 assists

Much better game, although the Lakers still look bad.

MBZags
07-14-2012, 07:56 PM
http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/534525_10151963667875341_749696858_n.jpg

ZagNative
07-14-2012, 08:06 PM
Steven playing now for the Wizards. 4:32 minutes, 4 points and a steal. Go Steven!

GUZag08
07-14-2012, 08:14 PM
http://espn.go.com/nba/

bballbeachbum
07-14-2012, 08:23 PM
Rob played tough tonight. He kinda looked tired towards the end but we've all read that crazy schedule he's maintained. He plays with some real heart Big Rob, makes me feel happy right now.

Wish I could have watched JP earlier, Austin too even tho it does feel different with him to me which is weird.

anyway, more passing in Vegas so far, which is nice, as is this thread

Go Steven!!!

MDABE80
07-14-2012, 08:52 PM
Steven's got his form back. He needs a stronger motor. Loooks good though. he looks like he's got a very good understanding of the game. Knows where everyone is on the court. Steven always had the tools. I hope he get 10 tonight but he needs more time on the floor.

ZagNative
07-15-2012, 10:06 AM
Steven's game today is at 7:00 PM. Micah's is at 3:00 pm. Today's game schedule is here (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/gameline/20120715/).

ZagNative
07-15-2012, 01:07 PM
Note: Steven and Micah's games won't be available to watch live on NBA TV. I have Micah's game set to record on DVR at 1:00 AM and Steven's game at 6:00 AM.

The live versions of the game are available online on the subscription Summer League Broadband (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/gameline/20120715/).

RRZagFan
07-15-2012, 01:47 PM
http://t.co/YWNaGdz2

Some good praise for coach Few.

kitzbuel
07-15-2012, 02:37 PM
Good stuff. I so hope he sticks.

zag buddy
07-15-2012, 04:59 PM
Glad to see about 6 former Zags but what about Matt and Josh any news anyone? I don't like to complain but it seems the NBA is prejudice against drugs.

ZagNative
07-15-2012, 06:18 PM
Josh recently signed with a Turkish club. I doubt his drug issues have anything to do with his not playing in summer league.

No idea what's up with Bouldin, but I doubt that drugs had anything to do with him not getting a summer league gig, especially since the drug he was bounced from the Greek team a couple of years ago is not one that's illegal in the US, if my memory is correct.

zag buddy
07-15-2012, 06:46 PM
Just kidding ZN

MDABE80
07-15-2012, 07:07 PM
If Josh decided to rebound, he'd be in the NBA. Just an amazing talent. Big strong, good shooter but .........

I don't know if I've seen a big man with this much athleticism at GU.

Malastein
07-15-2012, 11:26 PM
If Josh decided to rebound, he'd be in the NBA. Just an amazing talent. Big strong, good shooter but .........

I don't know if I've seen a big man with this much athleticism at GU.

Just something lacking so bad that it's a major detractor from what he does well. Just needlessly faulty, but so much potential it's agonizing.

MDABE80
07-16-2012, 12:00 AM
I'm glad he's working and getting plenty of money. Oh well...maybe someday..........

JPtheBeasta
07-16-2012, 12:49 PM
A Micah Downs article (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2012/jul/14/former-zag-micah-downs-hopes-third-time-charm-nba-/)I don't recall seeing yet.




Though Dallas head coach Rick Carlisle only saw Downs for the first time earlier this week, he’s come away impressed with him after just a handful of practices.

“I like him. I know he’s been a successful player in Europe,” Carlisle said. “I like his size, length, skill. This is an opportunity for him to show what he can do, not only for us but for 29 other teams once he gets to Vegas.”

Downs is one of six ex-Bulldogs participating in the summer leagues in either Orlando (which has concluded) or Las Vegas, and being part of the Gonzaga contingent is a huge honor.

“Gonzaga’s a great program. We produce a lot of good players,” Downs said. “We all work hard and we’re trying to do what we can to play the game that we love.”

ZagNative
07-16-2012, 12:59 PM
Thanks, JPTB! This was news to me:
There will be one other major difference for him this time around as this will be his first time in summer league as a father. Micah and his wife, who reside in Seattle, became parents for the first time in late May with the birth of their son, who is now 7 weeks old.

“It’s just an amazing feeling,” Downs said. “Just being a dad, it’s like you just automatically take this next step in your life. You mature so fast. You have to. You have no other choice. You’re taking care of a life. I love it. I couldn’t ask for anything else.”Congrats, Micah and Natanya!

JPtheBeasta
07-16-2012, 01:17 PM
Thanks, JPTB! This was news to me:Congrats, Micah and Natanya!

News to me, too. I had forgotten Adam had kids, as well. The wives probably like the excuse to see Europe, but having a spouse playing over there has to be tough, at times.

ZagNative
07-16-2012, 01:32 PM
On deck today (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/gameline/20120716/):

Downs' Mavs vs. Raptors at 3:00 PM
Sacre's Lakers vs. Heat at 5:30 PM
Morrison's Clippers vs. Timberwolves at 7:00 PM

None are on NBA TV live.

23dpg
07-16-2012, 09:27 PM
Sacre had a tough night tonight. The Lakers got beat badly, Rob played 32 minutes, had one rebound...and a +/- of -50. I've never seen that before.

MDABE80
07-16-2012, 09:37 PM
Rob got 9
Adam got 11

Rob's tired. Adam needs to do more. Adam will need to be outstanding.
The Laker's Summer team is playing like they're in a rec league.

ZagNut08
07-17-2012, 07:34 AM
Frontcourt may be getting crowded for Lakers. Alredy have Pau and Bynum, rumor has it Antwan Jamison may be signing with them, and they are working out Jermaine Oneal in Vegas. I still think if they don't sign Jordan Hill they will keep Rob on the cheap, to have some youth in the frontcourt in case of injury.

willandi
07-17-2012, 07:55 AM
Didn't watch the games (I won't pay the NBA for their broadband), but followed the love stats. Looked like Rob got Pittman in foul trouble, and cleared out for his teammate to get beaucoup rebounds instead of himself.
Adam started off poorly, 1-5 and 1-1 from three, then had a good stretch, but finished up trying to make a bunch of points at the end, to get his team back in the game.
I don't know how Rob is expected to guard all five of the opponents position players, and it was the other positions that did the most offensive damage. Rob's stats seemed to undicate that he played within himself, made 5-6 freethrows and blocked out. The -50 was because the other players didn't do their part on both ends, AND he played a lot of minutes.
I think Rob should be OK, but Adam needs to light it up for at least one game.
Micah didn't score either!.It has to be a lot like D-League where each player is out to impress the coaches, so don't pass as much, don't give it up to the open man. We know what these guys can do, let's just hope they get the chance!

webspinnre
07-17-2012, 08:40 AM
I'll point out once again here that +/- is one of the worst stats ever invented, and should be stricken from the record books.

ezcure17
07-17-2012, 09:37 AM
I was at the game last night, (Adam's) and he played MUCH more aggressive than he did in Brooklyn. Most of his missed shots were the in and out kind. Much better team atmosphere with the Clippers than with the Nets. I told him before the game to be aggressive, and when he is on the floor to play like it's a Zags NCAA tournament game, and to take control. I sat right behind the Clips coach DelNegro and listened a lot. They really liked his hustle on defense, and I said, "come on coach, give him a chance. That's all he needs, give him an invite to training camp!" He smiled and nodded.

Adam DID have the most shots in the game, 13 and the other players were very receptive to him, unlike the Nets. After the game, I was waiting to talk with him and Sacre showed up so we hung out together. I told Adam what the coaches had said about his D, and he liked hearing that. Who knows, maybe him knowing that will let him know he has a chance, and that's what we all want for Adam, another chance. I will keep you updated.

MDABE80
07-17-2012, 11:57 AM
Well done EZ! Nice report!

ZagNative
07-17-2012, 03:30 PM
Lakers vs. Spurs on now on NBA TV. Comcast 630 HD (416 regular TV)

Live stats here (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/games/20120717/SASLAL/gameinfo.html). Sacre with 6 points with 3:52 left in the first.

Wizards and Grizzlies also playing, though not live on TV. Live stats here (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/games/20120717/WASMEM/gameinfo.html).

gamagin
07-17-2012, 03:58 PM
Asked who he liked playing in the game, he named only one athlete.

"I like Robert Sacre. I liked him for the past couple of years he was at GonZAWga. I was pleased he was available and we got a chance to sign him." He went on to say RS was big and strong and he like the way he played and worked.

edited to predict: Gonwick will corroborate this report.

gonwick
07-17-2012, 04:00 PM
Jim buss, e vp of the lakers, was interviewed during the game today and chose to talk about Rob first among the players on the floor. Said he likes him, he's a big body, and someone they've had their eyes on for a couple years and were glad to see him available. That has to bode well for rob.

Whoops, see gamagin beat me to the punch. Darn dvr delay.

U Zig, I Zag
07-17-2012, 05:26 PM
Starter stats for Lakers game. Rob had a good one it looked like.

pos min fgm-a 3pm-a ftm-a +/- off def tot ast pf st to bs ba pts
C. Eyenga G-F 30:25 5-12 0-2 3-5 -23 1 3 4 1 3 0 0 1 0 13
C. Elonu F-C 05:09 1-1 0-0 0-0 +3 1 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 2
R. Sacre F-C 26:18 3-7 0-0 8-8 -14 3 4 7 0 2 0 2 0 1 14
T. Murry G 18:43 2-7 0-0 0-0 -3 0 1 1 1 2 0 1 0 0 4
D. Morris G 25:37 9-9 0-0 6-9 -9 0 0 0 4 6 0 4 0 0 24
J. Khazzouh 33:14 3-8 0-2 2-2 -14 1 3 4 2 3 1 1 0 1 8

ZagNative
07-17-2012, 05:29 PM
Sacre finishes with 14 points and 7 rebounds, 3/7 shooting, but perfect from the free throw line at 8/8.

Gray with 8 points with two of four threes, a couple of rebounds and assists, in 17:47.

Pargo with 16 points, on 5/15 and 1/7 from three, with 7 assists and 3 steals.

sittingon50
07-17-2012, 05:52 PM
Gotta' believe that Rob's FT shooting becomes an important factor come pare down time.

ZagNative
07-17-2012, 06:09 PM
Up for tomorrow, July 18 (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/gameline/20120718/):

1:00 pm - Gray's Wizards vs. Bucks
5:00 pm - Downs' Mavs vs. Atlanta
7:00 pm - Morrison's Clippers vs. Spurs

ZagMan in Philly
07-17-2012, 08:57 PM
Sacre finishes with 14 points and 7 rebounds, 3/7 shooting, but perfect from the free throw line at 8/8.

Gray with 8 points with two of four threes, a couple of rebounds and assists, in 17:47.

Pargo with 16 points, on 5/15 and 1/7 from three, with 7 assists and 3 steals.

Pargo's assist was a thing of beauty, and was #1 on ESPN Sportscenter tonight.

RenoZag
07-17-2012, 09:37 PM
Thanks to all for the updates !

ZagNative
07-18-2012, 12:24 PM
Up for tomorrow, July 18 (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/gameline/20120718/):

1:00 pm - Gray's Wizards vs. Bucks
5:00 pm - Downs' Mavs vs. Atlanta
7:00 pm - Morrison's Clippers vs. SpursSteven's 1:00 Wizards game is up next on NBA TV. That's the only Zag-related game live on NBA TV according to my Comcast listing.

MDABE80
07-18-2012, 12:57 PM
Special props to PArgo for his performance yesterday. TWO huge highlights for Jeremy. Watch the full 2 mins of video.

http://www.nba.com/video/games/grizzlies/2012/07/17/1521200024_was_mem_recap.nba/index.html

SweetOnionZag
07-18-2012, 01:37 PM
Special props to PArgo for his performance yesterday. TWO huge highlights for Jeremy. Watch the full 2 mins of video.

http://www.nba.com/video/games/grizzlies/2012/07/17/1521200024_was_mem_recap.nba/index.html

That's really good...........thanks

MDABE80
07-18-2012, 02:35 PM
With 2.30 mins left in the 4th, Steven has played 12 mins and has 8 pts of 4-7 shooting.

I think we'll get multiple kids in the leage. Rob, Jeremy, Pargo, Austin, Steven.and hopeful Adam(fingers crossed). Micah's not seeing court time. Mavs like him though. He needs to make a splash!!!!!

bballbeachbum
07-18-2012, 02:40 PM
With 2.30 mins left in the 4th, Steven has played 12 mins and has 8 pts of 4-7 shooting.

I think we'll get multiple kids in the leage. Rob, Jeremy, Pargo, Austin, Steven.and hopeful Adam(fingers crossed). Micah's not seeing court time. Mavs like him though. He needs to make a splash!!!!!

Cassell has played him down the stretch, in crunch time, and WAS has come all the way back! Steven is glue out there, in the right spots on O and D, boxing out, running and spacing the floor...looking good and getting run late! Steven is a pretty smart defender out there

yes!

Robert played solid last night too, fun to watch him going to work :)

and great report on Adam EZ...thnak you!!!

SageOfZagville
07-18-2012, 10:05 PM
Adam led Clippers tonight with 23

MDABE80
07-18-2012, 10:07 PM
WOW! Just WOW! Sage delivers the good news! He'll need this type of production to stick! I hope he does!

Ebay
07-18-2012, 10:37 PM
Special props to PArgo for his performance yesterday. TWO huge highlights for Jeremy. Watch the full 2 mins of video.

http://www.nba.com/video/games/grizzlies/2012/07/17/1521200024_was_mem_recap.nba/index.html

It almost looks like JP says something to Gray while running back up the court. It's either to him or to the fans in the front row. Anyone else see that? What you think he said if he was talking to Gray? Man, I love watching those highlights.

bballbeachbum
07-19-2012, 07:07 AM
Adam led Clippers tonight with 23

Oh Yeah!!! watching the game replay right now and that boy is attacking the rim! so good to see it

zagfan07
07-19-2012, 08:29 AM
Adam got a little love from ESPN. Check out #6 half-way down the page on the right as best of the night:

http://espn.go.com/nba/dailydime/_/page/dime-120718/daily-dime

Keep it up AMMO!

Radbooks
07-19-2012, 09:18 AM
Robert (Lakers) and Adam (Clippers) play tonight at 5:30 on NBA t.v. I hope they both play well!

ezcure17
07-19-2012, 10:37 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 2 of summer league for Adam. WOW!!! I haven't seen THAT from him since the good old days at Gonzaga!! If he keeps this up it would look good for a camp invite. He is looking more comfortable out on the floor. You could see the fire in his eyes!! He was yelling for the ball, so great to see. ALSO did you all notice something?? NO HEADBAND!! He never wore it in college, I don't think anyway, but on Monday, I was just about to talk to him when a Clipper fan asked him for the headband, and he tossed it to him, maybe that was his only one, I will be there again tonight, Adam's 28th birthday, and if he is wearing another headband, I will ask him to remove it!! lol.
I don't know if what I told him after the first game, about the coaches really noticing his D and aggressiveness had anything to do with it, I like to think it did...lol..but he looked really good out there, and the fans cheered for him the loudest!! led by me of course. Once I figure out how to add pictures on here, I will post some of Adam, Steven, and Rob.
I am going to try to get Rob's jersey after the game, and Adam's on Sunday..might have to ditch work dealing at the crap table for that one!!

Anyways, hope Adam has another great game tonight and I will keep you all posted!! Thanks
__________________
ZAG 4 LIFE

ZagNative
07-19-2012, 06:16 PM
That was nice to hear, wasn't it Gray's?

Live stats are here (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/games/20120719/LACLAL/gameinfo.html).

Morrison with 14 points on 5-6 shooting with 3 minutes to go until the half

ZagNative
07-19-2012, 07:17 PM
Adam had a phenomenal game in the Clippers 69-75 loss, with 22 points on 8-13 shooting, 3-4 from three, 3-4 FT, with 4 rebounds and an assist.

Rob - not so much, with 7 points on 2-12 shooting, but with 8 rebounds.

ZagNative
07-19-2012, 07:21 PM
Honestly, Adam looks like a shorter version of Dirk this Summer...not just "Ammo of old", yet he's passing, rebounding, and even defending when called upon...which is the ONLY aspect of his game keeping him from playing a significant role in this league. He'll make a team. I mean this guy dominated one of the top Euro leagues, so he's destined to make it again...somewhere.Ammo's results in Euro play were inconsistent. It would be a mistake to say he dominated. Old dogs post about play in Serbia (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=701171#post701171). Post regarding play in Turkey (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=785001#post785001).

Martin Centre Mad Man
07-20-2012, 08:10 AM
Adam had a phenomenal game in the Clippers 69-75 loss, with 22 points on 8-13 shooting, 3-4 from three, 3-4 FT, with 4 rebounds and an assist.

Rob - not so much, with 7 points on 2-12 shooting, but with 8 rebounds.

I watched a small part of that game, but the highlight for me was seeing Rob tear a rebound away from two defenders and almost knock one to the ground in the process. He would have been called for a foul on that play in the WCC. The NBA lets that play go.

Martin Centre Mad Man
07-20-2012, 08:53 AM
By the way, I thought that Adam was playing for the Nets. When did he wind up in a Clippers' practice uni?

KStyles
07-20-2012, 09:21 AM
By the way, I thought that Adam was playing for the Nets. When did he wind up in a Clippers' practice uni?

He played for the Nets in the Orlando Summer League (8 team league), which ran from the 9th-13th. He is playing for the Clippers squad in the Vegas Summer League (24 teams I believe), which started last Friday and runs through Sunday.

Martin Centre Mad Man
07-20-2012, 09:35 AM
He played for the Nets in the Orlando Summer League (8 team league), which ran from the 9th-13th. He is playing for the Clippers squad in the Vegas Summer League (24 teams I believe), which started last Friday and runs through Sunday.

Does either team "own" him during that period of time? Does he sign some sort of short-term contract with those franchises? Are the players actually affiliated in any way with the teams?

Zagquette
07-20-2012, 10:01 AM
Before we get too carried away....

This is just the summer league. Only of a handful of these guys will get an invite to camp and even fewer will make a big-league roster.

If you take away the top draft picks and established guys, essentially those that are guaranteed a spot, there is a slim chance any of these folks will see the bright lights.

I usually don't find the bleacher report as a very credible source, but they featured only five guys that could "steal a spot"... (http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1263723-free-agent-nba-summer-league-stars-looking-to-steal-a-roster-spot)

But hey, at least we get a chance to see a few of our guys play again.

Peace

KStyles
07-20-2012, 10:15 AM
Does either team "own" him during that period of time? Does he sign some sort of short-term contract with those franchises? Are the players actually affiliated in any way with the teams?

I'm pretty sure non-contract (free agent) players do sign a 'summer league' contract (just for the week or two of summer league, not worth much) with their respective summer league teams. Aside from the draft picks (the drafting team owns their rights, e.g. Sacre-Lakers), D-League guys under contract and NBA players currently under contract (e.g. Pargo, Memphis owns his rights), however, the rest of the free-agent guys (Morrison, Downs, Gray) in summer league are basically in a free-for all. Scouts from all 30 teams are there, and while a guy like Adam may be wearing a Clippers jersey, the jersey doesn't mean much in the grand scheme of things. He's being scouted and evaluated by any team who is interested in scouting him, and is free to accept a training camp invite/negotiate with any team he wants to after summer league is over.

KStyles
07-20-2012, 10:22 AM
Just found this with a search, it might help explain summer league as well:



ABOUT NBA SUMMER LEAGUES

NBA summer leagues feature rosters that are different from the regular season. A team's summer league roster usually features a mix of (1) rookies that the team just drafted, (2) a few other players signed to that team, and (3) various undrafted players and free agents looking to get signed to that team or any other team. If a player is a free agent, and that player gets invited to play on a certain summer league team, that team obviously has some interest in him, but the player is hoping to get signed to that team or any other team that happens to be impressed by him.

If you are a member of the Boston Celtics, and you play summer league, you'll be on Boston's team. If you are not currently signed to any NBA team, a team might just sign you for their summer league team, and you're trying to get signed to a real, regular season NBA contract from any team in the league, including the team that you're playing summer league for.

NBA summer leagues are great for seeing how various rookies play as well as watching guys compete for NBA jobs.

In NBA summer league play wins-losses don't really matter. These aren't regular season rosters. It's really all about the individual player performances. Some of these players are fighting to prove themselves worthy of more playing time once the regular season rolls around. Others just want more experience. But a lot of NBA summer league players are jobless. These dudes need a contract. And they'll do whatever it takes.


Read more: http://insidehoops.com/nba-summer-leagues.shtml#ixzz21BVMqe96

Martin Centre Mad Man
07-20-2012, 10:40 AM
I'm pretty sure non-contract (free agent) players do sign a 'summer league' contract (just for the week or two of summer league, not worth much) with their respective summer league teams. Aside from the draft picks (the drafting team owns their rights, e.g. Sacre-Lakers), D-League guys under contract and NBA players currently under contract (e.g. Pargo, Memphis owns his rights), however, the rest of the free-agent guys (Morrison, Downs, Gray) in summer league are basically in a free-for all. Scouts from all 30 teams are there, and while a guy like Adam may be wearing a Clippers jersey, the jersey doesn't mean much in the grand scheme of things. He's being scouted and evaluated by any team who is interested in scouting him, and is free to accept a training camp invite/negotiate with any team he wants to after summer league is over.

Good info. Thanks.

JPtheBeasta
07-20-2012, 10:48 AM
Adam is older, but was a high draft pick at one time who has played on championship NBA rosters. He's not your average college cum Euro guy. He should get extra long looks because of his pedigree, as well as his offensive skillset. He has a better chance than most. Pargo is in a similar situation. Both of them look better than the average summer player out there. Steven and Micah have a much tougher row to hoe, IMO.

KStyles
07-20-2012, 11:12 AM
Adam is older, but was a high draft pick at one time who has played on championship NBA rosters. He's not your average college cum Euro guy. He should get extra long looks because of his pedigree, as well as his offensive skillset. He has a better chance than most. Pargo is in a similar situation. Both of them look better than the average summer player out there. Steven and Micah have a much tougher row to hoe, IMO.

Pargo is in a much better situation, having signed a 2-year, $2 million dollar contract with the Grizzlies prior to last season. I'd say Pargo & Daye (Daye played in Orlando summer league) are in better situations than Adam is, with Pargo's contract from last December and the Pistons having exercised Daye's club option for 2012-2013 last summer.

bballbeachbum
07-20-2012, 01:10 PM
definitely fun watching all these guys play again! still have not caught Micah yet tho :(

come on Adam! have some more fun out there baby! lovin it.

he's getting a chance and responding. who knows what will happen but it's great to see him getting after it

JPtheBeasta
07-20-2012, 05:04 PM
Pargo is in a much better situation, having signed a 2-year, $2 million dollar contract with the Grizzlies prior to last season. I'd say Pargo & Daye (Daye played in Orlando summer league) are in better situations than Adam is, with Pargo's contract from last December and the Pistons having exercised Daye's club option for 2012-2013 last summer.

Sounds good to me. Thanks for the clarification. I knew Pargo played last year, but didn't know he had a second year. I was trying to speak primarily to the fact that both Adam and Jeremy have played in the NBA and actually are standout players in the summer league. Daye is always the forgotten Zag for me to an extent, but although he was in the summer league I didn't think there was a question that he wouldn't be in the league next year.

MDABE80
07-21-2012, 01:28 PM
Adam for the SUmmer League is averaging 18.7 ppg w 5 boards.
Austin is 17.7 w 5 boards
Pargo 12 and 5.
Steven is 8 and 3.
Micah just hasn't seen much of the floor. only 2 ppg.
Rob's doing 9 ppg w 6 boards.

I cannot imagine someone not liking Adam. Steven has shown such poise. He's much better now that he's got his form back. MUCH better player than he was with US. He easily could find a place...not so much for his scoring but his overall feel of the game. I REALLY like Steven.

Adam on with the Clips at 530 (730 for our WooHoo). Hope he cleans up..

Go Zags!!!

ZagNative
07-21-2012, 05:14 PM
Better outing for Micah today, with 9 points in 25:18 minutes, plus a couple of assists. Box Score (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/games/20120721/DALSAS/gameinfo.html).

ZagNative
07-21-2012, 06:32 PM
Morrison's Clippers vs. Bulls on NBA TV (630 HD) right now. At the half, Morrison with 10 and 4 rbs. Live stats (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/games/20120721/CHILAC/gameinfo.html).

Gonezagaga
07-21-2012, 07:47 PM
http://espn.go.com/nba/dailydime/_/page/dime-120719/daily-dime

See #2

MDABE80
07-21-2012, 09:32 PM
Adam with 18 pts (7-15) and 5 boards. I hope someone is watching. he looked so good! I know I'd hire him.

MDABE80
07-22-2012, 11:18 AM
Last games today for the Summer League. Adam's last chance today at 3pm when the Clips play the Celts.

ZagNative
07-22-2012, 02:39 PM
Adam's game will be on NBA TV, so I'm looking forward to watching. Live stats will be here (http://www.nba.com/summer-league/gameline/20120722/).

ZagNative
07-22-2012, 03:17 PM
Wow! He's unstoppable out there! 12 points near the end of the first quarter. He's just got to get a spot on an NBA team out of his summer league performance.

MDABE80
07-22-2012, 03:17 PM
12 pts end of first quarter. he's tearing it up. Making some very tough shots. 3-3 from 3. It's his time!! I hope he get's 40!

MDABE80
07-22-2012, 03:23 PM
Mickey McConnell looks good too. Good to see him out there. If Adam had hit that 4th 3 pter, the gym would have exploded. They like Adam. Hope the NBA does too.

ZagNative
07-22-2012, 03:40 PM
On fire! God, he's fun to watch!

MDABE80
07-22-2012, 03:45 PM
Only 3 mins time in the 2nd quarter. Still though , he's got 16 at the half. Looks a bit leg weary. Wuite a few games. HE's also playing some defense. If he gets 30 today, he'll get an invite or a contract offer. Who could pass on him??

ZagNative
07-22-2012, 03:49 PM
I thought his defense looked really good.

Bogozags
07-22-2012, 03:49 PM
Only 3 mins time in the 2nd quarter. Still though , he's got 16 at the half. Looks a bit leg weary. Wuite a few games. HE's also playing some defense. If he gets 30 today, he'll get an invite or a contract offer. Who could pass on him??

I really believe that if he had not been injured, he would have been play substantial minutes this past season in the league. I think he will be signed and play this coming year and we could well have four possibly five Zags playing this year, depending on Ronnie coming back.

ZagNative
07-22-2012, 03:56 PM
Morrison wasn't hurt last season. He was playing in Serbia and Turkey.

LynetteG
07-22-2012, 04:06 PM
Morrison is torching the Celtics, wow!

gamagin
07-22-2012, 04:21 PM
for summer league. Ammo not on it. One of the announcers (Greg Anthony, I think) said he belonged there. I'm sure anyone watching him would agree that he belongs on there.

Just an outstanding performance, particularly the second half of this short league. He did it all. Very well.

I don't think any big league teams looking for a shooter will be able to ignore this fellow. One announcer said he spent time with Ammo in spokane and suggested he just needed more time to mature and that he has done that.

That makes more sense than any other iterations on this great Zag. He's ready, now.

Just give him the ball. And watch.

Bogozags
07-22-2012, 04:27 PM
Morrison wasn't hurt last season. He was playing in Serbia and Turkey.

Not last season but his second in the NBA, believe he had knee surgery, if memory serves.

ZagNative
07-22-2012, 04:35 PM
I hadn't seen this July 15 Boston Globe story (http://www.bostonglobe.com/sports/2012/07/14/adam-morrison-tries-score-one-final-opportunity/WM3HSJGGoiOhSvNjrKYAsJ/story.html?s_campaign=sm_tw) before:
“I just need somebody to take a chance and give me an opportunity,” he said. “I’m a good teammate. I work hard, so hopefully somebody will give me an opportunity to show that. It’s tough when people say I was just terrible and I was just no good. A lot of people leave out that I missed a whole season and then got traded to the Lakers. So, that part is tough. But for me, I know what happened, so that’s just how it is.”

After missing home the last two years, Morrison said he will likely retire if does not make an NBA roster.

“I kind of made it either NBA or turn the page and do something else with my life,” he said. “Whether that’s coaching, I’m not sure yet. If I don’t make it in the NBA, I can look myself in the mirror and say I gave it an honest shot. After that, I think I’m just going to stay and coach.

“Europe is tough. It’s hard. I’ve got two little daughters. I mean, the people are really nice. Not knowing the language, not knowing where everything is at, and the stuff you take for granted being in America, it’s crazy. It’s one of those things you have to experience because once you get over there, turn on the TV, there’s one English channel. And it’s, ‘Hey, I want to be [in the States],’ but it’s a 17-hour flight to get back.”

Morrison undoubtedly has had to humble himself to return to the summer league. There are players as much as nine years younger (Detroit’s Andre Drummond) participating, making Morrison feel like a fossil.

“I was looking at one of the [roster] sheets and I saw [birth years] ’90, ’91, and I got one or two more years to show and if not, the door’s closed. I had some bad luck and part of it is I didn’t prepare myself after my rookie year. It’s just how it is.”

DCZag
07-22-2012, 04:38 PM
Adam put up 26pts, 6R and 3A - was really impressed with how he played within himself. Definitely should be on a roster somewhere this season.

LynetteG
07-22-2012, 04:39 PM
Not last season but his second in the NBA, believe he had knee surgery, if memory serves.

Yeah, he actually had a really good rookie season but injured his knee second year and had surgery.

MDABE80
07-22-2012, 04:40 PM
A lot like the old days. 3 guys drapped on him and he scored anyway. Good 3 pt shooting and FT's excellent. Finishes w 26 pts and 6 boards. All that sas is gone. Just wants to play. A lot more humble now.

I'd hire him in a minute. He's done such a nice job in Summer. I'm guessing he'll finish this league with 20 ppg for his Clipper time. If he's ignored, I'd count it as incredible. Redemption.......:)

gamagin
07-22-2012, 04:41 PM
I hadn't seen this July 15 Boston Globe story (http://www.bostonglobe.com/sports/2012/07/14/adam-morrison-tries-score-one-final-opportunity/WM3HSJGGoiOhSvNjrKYAsJ/story.html?s_campaign=sm_tw) before:

Ammo was THE one interviewed star of this final game, and this after the Vegas crowd cheered him for his great game.

He reiterated what he has been saying (and what ZN posted) , but when asked how it felt to be cheered after making 26 points and having a great game, he said -- paraphrasing -- "It felt good. I have been booed most of the time over the past six years, so this was real nice."

Watching him was real nice, too.

Ammo was "unbelievable," according to announcer Vince cellini. "It's a wonderful story", said the other announcer.

bballbeachbum
07-22-2012, 04:46 PM
don't know what to say, just makes me feel so good for Adam to play like this! responding to that Orlando super garbage league jive with such sweet replies all week, facials

sure would love to see Adam play some more and get after that coaching career some time later

willandi
07-22-2012, 04:51 PM
This morning, when my wife said she was going to our store to do some work on a day off, I checked and saw the Clips were going to be on NBA TV, and decided to watch Adam. I hoped he would light up this last game, hoping for 30, 10 boards and 10 assists. He almost got the 30, had 6 boards, and 3 assists, but several point blank misses by teammates that would have stretched that total to 6 or 7.
The game today was about Adam. The announcers could not stop talking about him, excepting when they were talking with the summer league VP, and Adam put in another 4-5 points. Oh well. He was the primary subject of discussion during todays game. That has to bode well for his chances.
On the other hand, I don't think that, as a shooter, he is the type that can come off the bench and hit 3's. He needs to be in the flow. I hope that his Vegas performance was enough to get a chance. Seems thats all he wants...a fair chance.
Go Adam!!

Bogozags
07-22-2012, 05:00 PM
Yeah, he actually had a really good rookie season but injured his knee second year and had surgery.

POY Reddick is playing substantial minutes but he didn't have the rookie year Adam had and IMO Ammo had a better overall game, which is why I think had he not gotten hurt, he would be playing somewhere in the league and we would not be watching him play in this Summer League...JMHO...

MDABE80
07-22-2012, 05:05 PM
yes Will...he needs to be in the game flow to do well. It seems like it would be very hard to be cold and asked to produce. 20 years ago, Vinny "the microwave" could do some but even he did much better when he was sweating it out with his Detroit teamates....and then .....he'd erupt.
Adam has a good chance now. It was gratifying to hear the announcers fawning over him. Better yet to see how his demeanor has matured. His new attitude might make a big difference in his prospects.

For some reason, while watching, it seemed like he'd never left. 26 pts....Long, short, harassed...... just did his average and moved on. Good to see.

SageOfZagville
07-22-2012, 05:17 PM
Greg Anthony just reported that an inside source said that Adam would be on the Clippers roster this year. Very nice if true. Way to go Adam.

ezcure17
07-22-2012, 08:59 PM
WOW I can't believe today!! Once again, another awesome performance from Adam. The crowd LOVED HIM!! Chanting MVP, MVP!! It was so great to hear. I talked to Adam before the game, and said one more time AMMO, he smiled. Once again, DelNegro sat courtside in front of me, and I kept telling him, you can't keep him from camp now, coach, he nodded!!!

After the game, I asked Adam for his jersey, he leaves the court, then about 3 minutes later, here he comes, jersey in hand, everyone is screaming to him for it...What does he do?? walks right TO ME, and hands me his jersey!! YES!!!! Then, back at his hotel, I got to thank him for the jersey and how much it meant to me.

Adam knows how passionate I am about him and the Zags, and when saying goodbye, he thanked me not only for being a LOYAL FAN, but also for telling him what the coaches has said on his first Monday, he said it really helped and meant a lot to him. I promised him that I will see him play again in the NBA, he smiled and said thanks!!

FrahmfortheWin
07-22-2012, 09:13 PM
Great update! Its something that you will remember your whole life EZ and Im trully glad you got to have that experience (and an awesome jersey!)

I had a good day today but the highlight was reading this. Im really proud to be a Zags fan.

Go Adam! A lot of people are genuinely pulling for you and believe in your abilities. You are a class act and I cant wait to watch you in an nba game again!!

ezcure17
07-22-2012, 09:20 PM
Ok, here is where you can see the pics

http://s1138.photobucket.com/albums/n527/ezcure17/

JPtheBeasta
07-22-2012, 09:27 PM
A nice write up (http://sports.yahoo.com/news/unstoppable-adam-morrison-obliterates-lakers-summer-league-game-053300853--nba.html)from a Lakers fan/blogger


With the Lakers leading 71-66 with just :54 seconds remaining in the game, Adam Morrison pulled up from approximately The Bellagio hotel and nailed a clutch 3-pointer from deep, cutting the Lakers' lead to 71-69

bballbeachbum
07-23-2012, 02:04 PM
WOW I can't believe today!! Once again, another awesome performance from Adam. The crowd LOVED HIM!! Chanting MVP, MVP!! It was so great to hear. I talked to Adam before the game, and said one more time AMMO, he smiled. Once again, DelNegro sat courtside in front of me, and I kept telling him, you can't keep him from camp now, coach, he nodded!!!

After the game, I asked Adam for his jersey, he leaves the court, then about 3 minutes later, here he comes, jersey in hand, everyone is screaming to him for it...What does he do?? walks right TO ME, and hands me his jersey!! YES!!!! Then, back at his hotel, I got to thank him for the jersey and how much it meant to me.

Adam knows how passionate I am about him and the Zags, and when saying goodbye, he thanked me not only for being a LOYAL FAN, but also for telling him what the coaches has said on his first Monday, he said it really helped and meant a lot to him. I promised him that I will see him play again in the NBA, he smiled and said thanks!!

great story! and thanks again for the first hand accounts. Would love to have been there experiencing all this last week too, Adam dialing it up again. so much fun

and finally got to see Micah play again too, make some plays, mix it up :)

Oregonzagnut
07-23-2012, 03:23 PM
POY Reddick is playing substantial minutes but he didn't have the rookie year Adam had and IMO Ammo had a better overall game, which is why I think had he not gotten hurt, he would be playing somewhere in the league and we would not be watching him play in this Summer League...JMHO...

Injuries have killed many a stars career!:argh: But I like how Adam is thinking. He is honest with himself, he knows he will have a career still in the game, he is putting out feelers for coaching (HEY FEW!!!!!!!!), he has been an inspiration to every American that diabetes is not a crutch but just another hurdle.

Adam grew up alot in the last 5 years! He is nothing less than an exemplary Zag and he is far more than a NCAA scoring Champion, All American, NBA 3rd all around Lottery pick, ROY candidate, unlucky knee injury, 2 time NBA champion, and the current summer league top average scorer!!

He is one of my heroes! Jesus, Thomas Edison, Gandhi, Ben Franklin, MLK, Adam Morrison.:D Not necessarily in that order.

Oregonzagnut
07-23-2012, 04:28 PM
I agree, he's dropped that coaching thing during interviews multiple times. I hope Few picks up on that and when Adam finally hangs up his sneakers GU has a place for him on staff.

Well, Few is going to have to wait! I know Few was chomping at that bit to get Ammo involved but I am happy to wait another season!

Greg Anthony has stated "unofficially" that The clippers will sign Adam Morrison!

:drool:SWEET :drool:

Saxon_zag
07-23-2012, 08:27 PM
WOW I can't believe today!! Once again, another awesome performance from Adam. The crowd LOVED HIM!! Chanting MVP, MVP!! It was so great to hear. I talked to Adam before the game, and said one more time AMMO, he smiled. Once again, DelNegro sat courtside in front of me, and I kept telling him, you can't keep him from camp now, coach, he nodded!!!

After the game, I asked Adam for his jersey, he leaves the court, then about 3 minutes later, here he comes, jersey in hand, everyone is screaming to him for it...What does he do?? walks right TO ME, and hands me his jersey!! YES!!!! Then, back at his hotel, I got to thank him for the jersey and how much it meant to me.

Adam knows how passionate I am about him and the Zags, and when saying goodbye, he thanked me not only for being a LOYAL FAN, but also for telling him what the coaches has said on his first Monday, he said it really helped and meant a lot to him. I promised him that I will see him play again in the NBA, he smiled and said thanks!!

That's so awesome! Gotta feel great to still get his zag support wherever he goes. Ammo is looking straight dangerous as a scorer.

ZagNative
07-24-2012, 03:34 PM
I haven't seen this article from yesterday on the Clippers' site (http://www.nba.com/clippers/morrison-stars-summer-league-clippers) posted yet. Some very positive stuff.

Clippers Summer League coach Robert Pack expanded on Morrison’s all-around game after Sunday’s win over the Celtics.

“I think today he did a really good job of reading screens and getting off the ball, attacking the basket, and when guys doubled him he made the passes,” Pack said. “It showed that guys who are just shooters they only see you if you’re sitting on top of the rim, but today he was able to make some passes that really showed him as a basketball player.”

But it’s still Morrison’s scoring that could vault him back into the league. In his Summer League finale, he had a game-high 26 points to lead the Clippers and made four of his six 3-pointers.

In the first quarter he knocked down consecutive long balls from the left wing, one on a drive to his left and another as a spot up shooter. From the bench, Wright looked at teammate Marcus Hubbard, who was seated next to him, and could only grin.

Morrison finished his run in Vegas making 13-of-21 shots from downtown (61.9%) and averaging 20.0 points and 5.0 rebounds.

“He’s a video game,” center Hilton Armstrong said of his long-haired teammate. “I’m glad he’s on my team.”

After the game Sunday, Morrison was hopeful that someone took notice, saying he knew it was the “last time somebody could see him play” in his quest to make an opening-night roster in the fall.

“Adam’s been amazing,” Pack said. “He’s kind of known as a guy who can put the ball in the hole and we tried to put him in some situations where he could be successful and not have to force shots and just play his game. I think he took advantage of the opportunity and played very well. It was good to see him have somewhat of a big come out.”

MDABE80
07-24-2012, 04:15 PM
HUGE/ The announcers were giddy. Crowd clapped for the joy of seeing a redemptive Adam Morrison. I don't know how a kid sho shoots 62% from 3 could possible be ignored.

ZagNative
07-24-2012, 04:25 PM
The last paragraph in the article really struck a note with me. I have long wondered if coaches simply weren't putting Adam in positions where he could succeed, playing to his strengths.

gamagin
07-24-2012, 05:14 PM
The last paragraph in the article really struck a note with me. I have long wondered if coaches simply weren't putting Adam in positions where he could succeed, playing to his strengths.

I think the announcer who said he had matured was spot on. It took that critical step for Ammo to get back to just playing round ball. And he did.

He was THE man in this summer league season & everyone knows it.

bballbeachbum
07-24-2012, 06:15 PM
The last paragraph in the article really struck a note with me. I have long wondered if coaches simply weren't putting Adam in positions where he could succeed, playing to his strengths.

me too, and it played out on the 2 summer league teams he played for seems to me

Vanzagger
07-24-2012, 09:10 PM
He played within himself, but you can't do that if a coach isn't allowing you to do that. I sincerely hope that if the Clips did sign him, Del Negro realizes that Adam can be a very nice asset to his team if he uses him correctly.

I've always known Adam can play in the league, it's just getting him in a system that works. He is not ever going to be your #1 guy, and that should have been clear from day one.

could you explain?

Martin Centre Mad Man
07-25-2012, 03:21 AM
How soon do teams start announcing that they've signed Summer League players?

LynetteG
07-25-2012, 08:01 AM
The last paragraph in the article really struck a note with me. I have long wondered if coaches simply weren't putting Adam in positions where he could succeed, playing to his strengths.

That was exactly my thought when he went to Charlotte. He was doomed from the start there.

KStyles
07-25-2012, 08:32 AM
How soon do teams start announcing that they've signed Summer League players?

Whenever. The Knicks announced on the 16th that they had signed Chris Copeland to a contract.

Vanzagger
07-25-2012, 12:43 PM
he did tear it up at UofA and played well with Mike, David, and Tim....So I'll give you a pass.

It does look like Adam is right. If true, he has always been a number 1 guy so a coach using him different is risky. He has length and can score a million different ways. Not too many of those guys.

He dropped 10/game on teams this summer with his eyes closed. Do you think putting him with what many would consider an elite pg(cp3) and a freak of nature(Blake) that number could go up?

Trick question. cp3 would never let the offence flow through Adam. It would affect his(Chris Paul) scoring and assists. Selfish, selfish, selfish.

Just another over rated small, scoring point guard who likes to pound the air out of the ball up top. Hence no rings for the Clip joint any time soon.

Do can all ; )

ZAGGED OUT
07-25-2012, 01:05 PM
he did tear it up at UofA and played well with Mike, David, and Tim....So I'll give you a pass.

It does look like Adam is right. If true, he has always been a number 1 guy so a coach using him different is risky. He has length and can score a million different ways. Not too many of those guys.

He dropped 10/game on teams this summer with his eyes closed. Do you think putting him with what many would consider an elite pg(cp3) and a freak of nature(Blake) that number could go up?

Trick question. cp3 would never let the offence flow through Adam. It would affect his(Chris Paul) scoring and assists. Selfish, selfish, selfish.

Just another over rated small, scoring point guard who likes to pound the air out of the ball up top. Hence no rings for the Clip joint any time soon.

Do can all ; )

How can you honestly call cp3 a selfish pg? You must have zero basketball knowledge if you really believe that. If he was, that would make all of our previous pg stars (Raivio, pargo, dickau) selfish x1000. Adam knows he's not a #1 anymore, he's shown he'll do the little things to ensure he gets a spot. cp3 won't let the offense run through him because it shouldn't. There are much more viable, consistent, nba vets on that team that have earned and require shots before Adam. Just part of the game.

FuManShoes
07-25-2012, 01:33 PM
As someone else noted, Adam seems to need to get in the flow of the game to be a weapon. Problem is, if he's coming off the bench there is no time to get in the flow. And it's not like he can be a defensive stopper or doing much else out there until he finds his groove. I'd love to see him make it in the league, but he's the one who has to change to become a more consistent shooter, a more dogged defender, better off the ball in the NBA game. I still see him watching guys fly by, taking shots over three defenders, and all that. That was nice in college, Europe and maybe even in summer league ball but regular season and playoff NBA ball is a different game with different caliber athletes. Unlike Kerr of yesteryear and Korver of today, Ammo is not a three-point specialist. He's not a pure shooter but I fear that is what he must become to make it.

JPtheBeasta
07-25-2012, 02:11 PM
Do can all ; )

+1?

It's hard to bargle, nawdle, zouss with all these marbles in my mouth.

Adam has said that he is trying to prove he can be a rotation guy (http://www.thenolookpass.com/2012/07/22/tnlp-talks-to-adam-morrison/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter)if he makes it in the league. He's a 28 yo guy playing in the summer league- I think he can definitely make some kind of impact in the league, and I like Adam as a player, but the idea that he would be a #1 guy to build a franchise around seems silly... But he isn't not tall, so I guess by that standard he is guaranteed to win some championships.

Vanzagger
07-25-2012, 03:31 PM
is long and wiry. Long arms. He is the master of the half inch. He can score on anybody.

CP3...is he gonna win one this year? Lot of hype lately. Been hearing elite and super star on ESPN for a few years now. When? Put your $ where your mouth is.

I'll go with Westbrook and Durant. Yes we are talking about World Championships not gold medals.

CDC84
07-25-2012, 04:13 PM
What Adam happens to be is a guy who should be playing in the NBA. He's too dang good of a player not to be seeing minutes as a backup reserve. While I never expected Adam to be a NBA star coming out of college, I also never expected him to vanish from the league. What I am hoping is that a healthy body and diminished expectations might just be the thing that allows him to stick around and make a career of it.

MDABE80
07-25-2012, 04:48 PM
Adam is in an odd position. He wither scores or he doesn't. He'snot going to be a glue guy and he won't be diving for lost balls. he'll rebound if the ball's near him but he's not the kind of guy who will be climbing the boards and elbowing to get the ball. Like on or off.....his main asset is scoring. He does that very well.
SO either he scores or he comes home. Anyway that's my take. If I was a Pro team, I'd take his 20 ppg and figure out the rest.

ZAGGED OUT
07-26-2012, 08:38 AM
is long and wiry. Long arms. He is the master of the half inch. He can score on anybody.

CP3...is he gonna win one this year? Lot of hype lately. Been hearing elite and super star on ESPN for a few years now. When? Put your $ where your mouth is.

I'll go with Westbrook and Durant. Yes we are talking about World Championships not gold medals.

Saying he can score on anybody is a little outlandish seeing as how he is scraping to get back in the league. Does it look like vintage amo is back? Of course. Problem with shooters is that they need time to find their rhythm. If he gets a solid amount of pt on a regular basis, I think he could be a very effective sub at SF for the Clips, especially with an aging Butler and Hill.

CP3 has been elite his whole career, it's not a secret. 19pts and 9.8ast for his career (20+pts, 10+ast/game at NO), you really should do some research before calling out one of the top 3 PG's in the league. Ive got a question, if CP3 is selfish and not elite, then who the hell is an unselfish elite PG in this league??

Vanzagger
07-26-2012, 10:07 AM
Chris Paul is a fine basketball player. So were AI, Action Jackson, Mighty Mouse, and Stephan Mauberry.

I'll take a bigger, pass first pg who will knock down the open J in the clutch. One who make every teamate better not just one or two. One who the only # that matters is wins and losses. Paul is fine. He will not win a championship. Or am I wrong?

Dumars and Thomas won ships but I would argue without Spiderman and Rodman they win zero. That team was nasty. Length and D baby!

Morrison's scorring prowess may be too fresh for some of you guys to fully appreciate. Guys like him do not come along every year. As said on here before, he is not a pure shooter, he is a freak scorer. Super high release, creates crazy angles, and only needs a half inch to make you look stupid.

Make the game easier. Simple. It starts with Length and D. I don't want my pg to be the going a 100 miles an hour looking to score. On defense yes. That will create easy buckets on the other end.

Vanzagger
07-26-2012, 10:11 AM
Saying he can score on anybody is a little outlandish seeing as how he is scraping to get back in the league. Does it look like vintage amo is back? Of course. Problem with shooters is that they need time to find their rhythm. If he gets a solid amount of pt on a regular basis, I think he could be a very effective sub at SF for the Clips, especially with an aging Butler and Hill.

CP3 has been elite his whole career, it's not a secret. 19pts and 9.8ast for his career (20+pts, 10+ast/game at NO), you really should do some research before calling out one of the top 3 PG's in the league. Ive got a question, if CP3 is selfish and not elite, then who the hell is an unselfish elite PG in this league??

I watched Paul at Wake and thought they under performed. His NBA career......Yawn.....Go play a vidieo game. That saying....stats are for losers.

gamagin
07-26-2012, 10:43 AM
http://boston.sbnation.com/2012/7/22/3176644/adam-morrison-steals-show-against-boston-celtics-nba-summer-league

JAGzag
07-26-2012, 10:48 AM
Adam is in an odd position. He wither scores or he doesn't. He'snot going to be a glue guy and he won't be diving for lost balls. he'll rebound if the ball's near him but he's not the kind of guy who will be climbing the boards and elbowing to get the ball. Like on or off.....his main asset is scoring. He does that very well.
SO either he scores or he comes home. Anyway that's my take. If I was a Pro team, I'd take his 20 ppg and figure out the rest.

The problem with this analysis, in my opinion, is being a scorer requires a rhythm which undoubtedly means more minutes, which he is unlikely to get. He's somewhat struggled not being THE scoring option in the league, but let's hope that changes.

cjm720
07-26-2012, 10:52 AM
He's a proven scorer and this summer proves that. His game transcends due to confidence, which comes from getting the minutes. But bottom line for Ammo is that he needs to adapt to get the minutes, not the coaches or other players. Basically, what I mean is that he needs to score the second he gets in the game...can't wait for it to come to him.

Best of luck, Ammo!!!!!!!!!!

Saxon_zag
07-26-2012, 07:36 PM
Agree on the account that Adam is a freak scorer putting the ball in from anywhere. If you don't think Chris Paul is an elite PG in the NBA now and in any era, get your head checked. Lol him being elite isn't some ESPN pushed agenda, he played for the hornets for christs sake

MDABE80
07-26-2012, 09:05 PM
I agree Jag. he's got to have extended minutes or he'll never see a rhythm. If Adam is expected to come off the bench , pop a few in and then sit, well, that just doesn't happen.
This is why I said I'd take Adams' 20 pts, limited defense, uneven rebounding record and work it out. Simple stuff.

Vanzagger
07-26-2012, 09:26 PM
Paul has a lot to work with this year. Hell I hope he does win one. If he does I'll come on here and scream I was dead wrong.

I think we just have a different definition of an elite pg.

Think the Zag team that lost to Wyoming. Look at the scoring averages.

Now think the Zag team that had UCon(Nat Champs) right where they wanted them with a few minutes left.

So maybe coaching philosophies have just as much to do with pg play as the actual person. And I don't care if a pg runs around in the reg season and fills up the sheet. Do it when it counts the most. You will soon see Rose and Westbrook doing it on the biggest stage.

Robzagnut
07-27-2012, 08:21 AM
So maybe coaching philosophies have just as much to do with pg play as the actual person. And I don't care if a pg runs around in the reg season and fills up the sheet. Do it when it counts the most. You will soon see Rose and Westbrook doing it on the biggest stage.

I'm not sold on Westbrook as much as you. He shoots too much and has a bad attitude. He's got too much Alan Iverson in his game and not enough Magic Johnson/John Stockton.

I don't want him shooting with the game on the line. I want him looking for Durant, but that's not gonna happen, because he considers himself an equal. He's not.

JPtheBeasta
07-27-2012, 09:32 AM
I'm not sold on Westbrook as much as you. He shoots too much and has a bad attitude. He's got too much Alan Iverson in his game and not enough Magic Johnson/John Stockton.

I don't want him shooting with the game on the line. I want him looking for Durant, but that's not gonna happen, because he considers himself an equal. He's not.

This is the moment for me when Vanzagger has officially jumped the shark. Westbrook has been criticized over and over again for taking too many shots. Chris Paul consistantly is a one of the best in the league in assists, yet he is the selfish one. I guess unselfish= I like the player and selfish= I don't like the player (also tall=good player and short=bad player, but I digress). I really have been trying to understand the VZ thought process for a while now and am finally throwing in the towel. I'm starting to feel like we are the butt of some joke.

ZAGGED OUT
07-27-2012, 09:45 AM
This is the moment for me when Vanzagger has officially jumped the shark. Westbrook has been criticized over and over again for taking too many shots. Chris Paul consistantly is a one of the best in the league in assists, yet he is the selfish one. I guess unselfish= I like the player and selfish= I don't like the player (also tall=good player and short=bad player, but I digress). I really have been trying to understand the VZ thought process for a while now and am finally throwing in the towel. I'm starting to feel like we are the butt of some joke.

+10000

I am on the same page. CP3 is far from selfish, one of the best passers, one of the most efficient handlers (minimal wasted dribbles), and when it comes to clutch there are not too many more pg's id rather give the ball to in that situation