PDA

View Full Version : Your Best Guess May = 2 Tickets



BobZag
05-09-2012, 02:30 PM
Zags have a visitor this coming weekend. I don't know who he is but he is visiting with his folks. The staff wants him to commit and sign. They like him a lot. I'm thinking most likely a 2012 kid, but don't know if it's a Juco, a high schooler or a transfer from another school. Again, I do not know who it is.

Question to y'all:

Who do you think it is?

The correct guess may fetch you two tickets to a Zags home game next season. Good luck!

ZagNative
05-09-2012, 02:37 PM
Michael Carrera. I know he was expecting his folks to visit from Venezuela soon, so the timing would be right.

BobZag
05-09-2012, 02:43 PM
Forgot to post that in case of a tie, the first correct guess wins.

zagfan07
05-09-2012, 02:48 PM
I'm going to go with the kid out of Houston that was brought up a few days ago. I think he's a 2012 prospect.

pbriz
05-09-2012, 03:07 PM
Mark McLaughlin.

ZagaZags
05-09-2012, 03:11 PM
Would be a great get for Gonzaga. :drool:
So ill say Savon Goodman.

Ziggy
05-09-2012, 03:21 PM
D.J. Fenner- Local talent-6'5" Forward just like we need.

ZagNative
05-09-2012, 03:25 PM
Fenner is a 2013 kid. Too soon to commit.

madness
05-09-2012, 03:25 PM
D.J. Fenner- Local talent-6'5" Forward just like we need.

Isn't Fenner 2013?

I'm going to change my vote and say Victor Robbins. Isn't he still undeclared? Is it possible he passed a few tests recently? Maybe Donny met with him in LA?

Ebay
05-09-2012, 03:26 PM
Shot in the dark...Sekou Wiggs

He's 2012 right? Not sure another PG is a need, but I get to leave work soon and its the best answer I could come up with!

EagleFuzz
05-09-2012, 03:27 PM
Zach Hanson:000tens:

ZagNative
05-09-2012, 03:33 PM
Zach Hanson:000tens:Zach Hanson is another 2013 kid.

Wild possibility: Jordan Tebutt

madness
05-09-2012, 03:39 PM
ZN, have you seen any news on Victor Robbins?

ZagNative
05-09-2012, 03:44 PM
ZN, have you seen any news on Victor Robbins?Not much. My recollection is that he has had academic qualification issues. There's very little out there about him, though I've looked.

Edited to add: From Rivals on April 21:

2012 wing Victor Robbins is apparently on the verge of qualifying and if the 6-foot-5 wing from Compton (Calif.) High can get it done in the classroom, he's an intriguing spring option. A fine athlete, he has a pretty good jumper and could provide help to a high major looking to add a wingFrom Scout in January:
“Everyone is waiting to see if he qualifies first, that’s the hold up,” he said. “He’s on course. Semester grades end this week and then he’ll be really on course. He just needs to get his GPA up some.”

CaliforniaZaggin'
05-09-2012, 03:51 PM
Wild possibility: Jordan Tebutt

Hmmm... That's interesting. Jordan was a red hot recruit as an underclassmen.

gu03alum
05-09-2012, 03:54 PM
Nerlens Noel

Zagtana
05-09-2012, 03:56 PM
Oh what the heck ...

Rathan-Mayes.

Fat chance dept.

ZagNative
05-09-2012, 03:58 PM
Rathan-Mayes is another 2013 guy.

MDABE80
05-09-2012, 04:01 PM
Aren't we due for a Lavine visit?

ZagNative
05-09-2012, 04:04 PM
Aren't we due for a Lavine visit?Another 2013 guy, so if we're looking for a visitor is capable of signing, Lavine's not in the mix.

All the 2012 guys I've seen mention the Zags over the past year are listed in the posts above. Maybe we're in for a surprise, someone totally under the radar, from overseas, etc. However, I'll be surprised if it's not Carrera.

Kiddwell
05-09-2012, 04:07 PM
Kiddwell is clueless. Here goes nothing: J.T. Flowers.

:]

ZagNative
05-09-2012, 04:10 PM
I think J. T. Flowers would like that, Kidwell. 6'5" SF out of Lincoln HS in Portland.

sittingon50
05-09-2012, 04:15 PM
Craig Ehlo?

Angelo Roncalli
05-09-2012, 04:19 PM
Aren't we due for a Lavine visit?

He can't take an official vist, yet.

willandi
05-09-2012, 04:28 PM
President Obama? Hey, if he can go to Pakistan...just sayin'.

ZagFanInNC
05-09-2012, 04:32 PM
Anthony Bennett, he is down to UNLV and Oregon but has been bombarded with social media. Maybe we are a new dark horse!!!

Anthony Bennett!

(I know we probably aren't even on the radar by the way, just wishful thinking)

NotoriousZ
05-09-2012, 04:49 PM
Anthony Bennett, he is down to UNLV and Oregon but has been bombarded with social media. Maybe we are a new dark horse!!!

Anthony Bennett!

(I know we probably aren't even on the radar by the way, just wishful thinking)

Beat me to it. Now I've got to come up with another name.

northsidezagfan
05-09-2012, 04:53 PM
Rotnei Clarke?

Zagtana
05-09-2012, 04:54 PM
Okay - if I can't go with a 2013 guy, let's try an ever longer shot, I'll guess a JC guy ... Majok Majok.

NotoriousZ
05-09-2012, 04:59 PM
Alex Oriakhi

Is he still available?

hondo
05-09-2012, 05:00 PM
I know he can't sign yet but I'll go with Calvin Hermanson just because he hasn't been mentioned yet.

ZagNative
05-09-2012, 05:01 PM
Alex Oriakhi

Is he still available?Nope. Chose Missouri.

ZagaZags
05-09-2012, 05:02 PM
Can we make a 2nd guess? I do like the Carrera and Santee picks =) But they were gone so i went with Savon Goodman. If i get to make a 2nd guess, i will go into dream mode and say Devonta Pollard ( wishful thinking )

NotoriousZ
05-09-2012, 05:04 PM
Nope. Chose Missouri.

Drat! I'm terrible at this. Another guess to come...

Ziggy
05-09-2012, 05:10 PM
Michael Chandler- 6'10" SF-#77 on CBSSports. Out of Florida. Just guessing :D

Jedster
05-09-2012, 05:12 PM
So, I'm gonna go way out of left field and pick the two kids from France that were mentioned a few weeks ago. I'll go with Mouhammamadou Jaiteh or William Howard. If I only get one pick I'll go with Howard, as he fits a big need at SF, though I read in the link from a couple weeks ago Howard is looking at Washington as one of his schools. Why not swing east a few hours and check out a quality program? :)

Jaiteh, might make sense as they were in France looking at someone, so maybe he flew out with his parents to check out GU.

NotoriousZ
05-09-2012, 05:16 PM
Renaldo Woolridge?

Reborn
05-09-2012, 05:20 PM
I was looking at the list this morning, before BZ offered tickets, and I had a feeling J.T. Flowers would be a great choice. I know he has already been picked, so I won't get the tics. So what? Got to go with my heart.

#1bulldogfan
05-09-2012, 05:28 PM
Anthony Bennett:drool::drool::drool::drool:

ZagaZags
05-09-2012, 06:01 PM
I just read he is going to Brewster Academy next season. But Savon is still my guess.

VinnyZag
05-09-2012, 06:02 PM
Rotnei Clarke?

My head just exploded.

Worthington
05-09-2012, 06:23 PM
For the sake of naming someone who hasn't been named (and possibly winning the tickets :D) I'll take a shot in the dark and say Dyshawn Pierre.

snebzag
05-09-2012, 06:28 PM
BZ is like Sgt. Shultz. " I know nothing" Yea right.

Mark Lyons is my guess.

I did see Ehlo at Fred Meyers in the Valley last weekend. I first thought " what a small shopping cart." Then I realized it was a tall guy pushing a regular cart.

ZagaZags
05-09-2012, 06:40 PM
BZ is like Sgt. Shultz. " I know nothing" Yea right.

Mark Lyons is my guess.

I did see Ehlo at Fred Meyers in the Valley last weekend. I first thought " what a small shopping cart." Then I realized it was a tall guy pushing a regular cart.

Is going Arizona.

ZagaZags
05-09-2012, 06:52 PM
Was going to West Virginia but for some reason went to a JC ( Casper college )
He was on the Zags radar 6 months ago. He is a 6-7 200lb SF.

Zagcity
05-09-2012, 07:00 PM
Michael Carrera. I know he was expecting his folks to visit from Venezuela soon, so the timing would be right.


Sounds like someone that would fit in as good a bet as any

Im going to decide after the tournament, Im just waiting for a few more scholarships, Carrera said I just want one place I can be comfortable, where my family can be comfortable when they get here. Well see what happens.

ZagaZags
05-09-2012, 07:17 PM
Is Carrera more of a PF? Or can he play the SF position and defend it as well?

Pargo the Destroyer
05-09-2012, 07:24 PM
Biggs McGee

ZagNative
05-09-2012, 07:24 PM
[Darrious Curry] Was going to West Virginia but for some reason went to a JC ( Casper college )
He was on the Zags radar 6 months ago. He is a 6-7 200lb SF.They discovered a health problem when he was at WV, so he left. It was subsequently found to not be as serious a health issue as previously thought, so he was able to play at Casper CC. However, I think this last season was a disappointment in his play. I'd be surprised if the Zags continued to pursue him.

ZagaZags
05-09-2012, 07:57 PM
Could be the winning choice. Clyde Santee posted good news on Twitter. Did not mention Gonzaga but something is going on this week.

ZagNative
05-09-2012, 08:11 PM
Could be the winning choice. Clyde Santee posted good news on Twitter. Did not mention Gonzaga but something is going on this week.You talking about this?
Got some of the best news of my life today now I'm really focused!Or was it this?

I'm ready for prom!!

thespywhozaggedme
05-09-2012, 08:24 PM
Anthony Bennett, he is down to UNLV and Oregon but has been bombarded with social media. Maybe we are a new dark horse!!!

Anthony Bennett!

(I know we probably aren't even on the radar by the way, just wishful thinking)

Darn you. I've started several threads on this guy. I was gonna say him, but now I have to choose someone else. Not like it's him anyway, but hey, you never know.

thespywhozaggedme
05-09-2012, 08:26 PM
Renaldo Woolridge?

UGH. That's what I get for getting into this game so late. All of my shot in the dark guesses are being taken before I can post.

ZagaZags
05-09-2012, 08:26 PM
Then he told someone he would DM it to them. ( Direct Message ) Might be nothing but we will find out in 3 days. Glad to hear he has a Prom date tho...... I wonder if his date likes tacos.

Kong-Kool-Aid
05-09-2012, 08:34 PM
Bol Kong

MickMick
05-09-2012, 09:39 PM
Javon Dawson, 6-6, F, RS Soph., Utah

Can play right now.


Don't think it will happen, but need a name that no one has picked yet.

CanadianZagFan
05-10-2012, 02:49 AM
What is the kids name from Wisconsin that had all the trouble getting his release?

Found it...Jarrod Uthoff, that's my guess!

Martin Centre Mad Man
05-10-2012, 04:46 AM
I'll throw a few wild guesses that nobody has named:

Kyle Wiltjer, Duane Notice, Ryan Spangler, and Guy Marc-Michelle.

I expect to win the tickets and I still have faith that the Red Sox can turn it around and win this year's world series.

gu03alum
05-10-2012, 04:53 AM
I'll throw a few wild guesses that nobody has named:

Kyle Wiltjer, Duane Notice, Ryan Spangler, and Guy Marc-Michelle.

I expect to win the tickets and I still have faith that the Red Sox can turn it around and win this year's world series.

I'm not a Red Sox fan, but fire Bobby V!

LongIslandZagFan
05-10-2012, 05:56 AM
Shooter McWingerson

NotoriousZ
05-10-2012, 06:42 AM
Originally Posted by NotoriousZ
Renaldo Woolridge?


UGH. That's what I get for getting into this game so late. All of my shot in the dark guesses are being taken before I can post.

Sorry, I've gotten into the habbit of checking this site three times a day (or more). I'll take the SMC game, Bob.

cjm720
05-10-2012, 07:12 AM
Zach Hanson

cjm720
05-10-2012, 07:14 AM
Michael Carrera. I know he was expecting his folks to visit from Venezuela soon, so the timing would be right.

Would be a great fit...constant motor plus we could spread our international brand.

cjm720
05-10-2012, 07:15 AM
Another 2013 guy, so if we're looking for a visitor is capable of signing, Lavine's not in the mix.

Why not? I don't think there's any rules against that and BZ said he only thinks it's a '12.

ZagNative
05-10-2012, 07:18 AM
NCAA rules. Players can't sign a LOI until their senior year in H.S. has started.

jake
05-10-2012, 07:24 AM
Jimmy Chitwood. Few is looking for scoring wings.

LongIslandZagFan
05-10-2012, 07:28 AM
Jimmy Chitwood. Few is looking for scoring wings.

But can we run the picket fence?

IrishZagFan
05-10-2012, 07:43 AM
I'm going with BobZag.....If he visits, I win. BZ, PM me with how I pick up the tickets....

cggonzaga
05-10-2012, 07:47 AM
I'll say Austin Pope but I'm confused whether he's 2012 or 2013. I've seen both on different websites.

Would have to think it's a high schooler since the parents are coming. Don't know how customary it would be for a JC or other college transfer to bring their parents.

TexasZagFan
05-10-2012, 07:47 AM
Jimmy Chitwood. Few is looking for scoring wings.

That makes a lot of sense: offer a schollie to a 76 YO man. Does the NCAA allow wheelchairs on the court?

Didn't BobZag say "Few really likes his shot?

hooter73
05-10-2012, 07:47 AM
Shooter McWingerson

winner.


Do we start another thread on who leaves when this unknown signs on?

cggonzaga
05-10-2012, 08:16 AM
Dyshawn Pierre

Baldwinzag
05-10-2012, 08:23 AM
Greg Creed.

His recruiting profile is listed HERE (http://people.forbes.com/profile/greg-creed/88023).

I've heard 'high interest' between both parties.

sittingon50
05-10-2012, 08:32 AM
Gordon Gekko.

pbriz
05-10-2012, 08:33 AM
Greg Creed.

His recruiting profile is listed HERE (http://people.forbes.com/profile/greg-creed/88023).

I've heard 'high interest' between both parties.

This is great.

jpwils
05-10-2012, 08:35 AM
Wild ___ ___ ___ Guess- Dorian Finney-Smith - a transfer from Va Tech.

Whoever it is - sure is fun to speculate!

Thanks, Bobzag!!

coolhandzag
05-10-2012, 10:31 AM
Any Shawn Kemp Jr.

77Zag
05-10-2012, 10:47 AM
Desmond Tutu -- he is visiting, he has 4 years eligibility.

BZ, send me the tickets!

OregonZag5
05-10-2012, 11:40 AM
Biggs McGee just like the name

aflac4life
05-10-2012, 12:28 PM
Tre Maker and his parents Starr and Babe Maker

jake
05-10-2012, 01:46 PM
But can we run the picket fence?

:) I think so, as long as we don't get caught watching the paint dry.

Pargo the Destroyer
05-10-2012, 04:19 PM
Any Shawn Kemp Jr.

Win.

ZagNative
05-10-2012, 07:07 PM
I think a lot of the guys on the team will be leaving for home very soon. I wonder who'll be around for the weekend.

Graduation is Sunday, so hopefully most of them will stick around until after that, so they can see Quise graduate and Sacre get his Masters.

GorgeZag
05-10-2012, 09:14 PM
The correct answer is: Nobody!


Or Tony Trocha

RRZagFan
05-11-2012, 03:29 PM
I wouldn't have guessed him anyway .

@areacodes: Victor Robbins 6'5 SG Compton HS & Compton Magic signed NLOI with Oregon St, great job David Grace beating Gonzaga & S Carolina.

Voice4Vision
05-11-2012, 04:09 PM
Montrezl Harrell

Birddog
05-11-2012, 04:42 PM
Graduation is Sunday, so hopefully most of them will stick around until after that, so they can see Quise graduate and Sacre get his Masters.
Is that a fact? I don't recall ever seeing this info before. Hope it's true.

sittingon50
05-11-2012, 05:06 PM
Doesn't Mike Hart graduate also?

ZagNative
05-11-2012, 05:15 PM
Doesn't Mike Hart graduate also?He does, doesn't he?

ZagFanInNC
05-11-2012, 05:29 PM
I think a lot of the guys on the team will be leaving for home very soon. I wonder who'll be around for the weekend.

Graduation is Sunday, so hopefully most of them will stick around until after that, so they can see Quise graduate and Sacre get his Masters.

Rob got us undergrad last year, I'm pretty sure he didn't complete any Masters Program in one year while playing.

ZagaZags
05-11-2012, 06:20 PM
Tweeted he was bored at the airport then tweeted boarding my flight and the last tweet 3 hours ago was wheels up. = )
I wonder where he is flying to...................Spokane maybe :drool:

Tickets please :D

thespywhozaggedme
05-11-2012, 07:55 PM
Tweeted he was bored at the airport then tweeted boarding my flight and the last tweet 3 hours ago was wheels up. = )
I wonder where he is flying to...................Spokane maybe :drool:

Tickets please :D

He doesn't list us on Scout and his biggest flaw is his shooting. From Scout:

Shooting is a major growth area for Goodman has he can really struggle from beyond the arc and in the mid-range.

http://scouthoops.scout.com/a.z?s=75&p=8&c=1&nid=4173656

ZagaZags
05-11-2012, 09:21 PM
Savon Goodman zagsblog. It says he wants to be in school by June. And it does mention Gonzaga.

Hogan
05-11-2012, 09:25 PM
Wow. He would be a huge get.

Oregonzagnut
05-11-2012, 09:30 PM
Any Shawn Kemp Jr.

HaHa!! If we are dreaming, I think I would want by some miracle of fate, the kid whos 2 grandfathers were Wilt Chamberlain and Pete Maravich!

It could have been possible.

ZagNut08
05-11-2012, 09:37 PM
Kendal harris

ZagaZags
05-11-2012, 09:53 PM
Is a 4 star recruit and # 100 on ESPNs top 100

EagleFuzz
05-12-2012, 05:42 AM
its Mike Hart

ZagaZags
05-12-2012, 01:40 PM
UNLV is loaded, now they add Bennett.

MDABE80
05-12-2012, 03:19 PM
You WILL be surprised! I am wireless AND on campus...

DCZag
05-12-2012, 03:39 PM
C'mon someone spill the beans - I've been checkin' the dang thread every 10 minutes all afternoon to see who it could possibly be!

jimmycarter
05-12-2012, 03:59 PM
I think Abe just likes teasing us...

Goshzagit
05-12-2012, 04:29 PM
Theoretically, someone should know by now...I mean he's ON campus.

I expect more from you guys. :)

thespywhozaggedme
05-12-2012, 04:53 PM
Is a 4 star recruit and # 100 on ESPNs top 100

Hey don't shoot the messenger; Scout said that is a very poor shooter, I didn't. I was under the impression that if we were to upgrade the sf position, it would specifically be someone who was a deadeye shooter. We already have a crazy athletic sf that isn't a good shooter.

MDABE80
05-12-2012, 05:00 PM
Patience.....I'm working on his name.

BobZag
05-12-2012, 05:11 PM
Lips are sealed really tight. He's 6'3" maybe 6'4". Very athletic with serious hops, and is a good shooter. That's all I know. Abe is right. Patience is needed. Keep guessing, just in case nobody has been right so far.

Voice4Vision
05-12-2012, 05:19 PM
Amile Jefferson
Devonta Pollard
Torian Graham - My guess, it's this guy....when considering BZ's last description

ldszagfan
05-12-2012, 06:12 PM
When is the deadline to commit again?

EDIT: Ha, never mind, I found it. May 16th according to this website http://www.ncaa.org/wps/wcm/connect/nli/nli

MDABE80
05-12-2012, 06:28 PM
15th as far as I know. God...this is like breaking into Fort Knox these days. I guess the staff has cautioned the kids about secrecy....and (unfortunately)) getting too close to alums. Some of it's warranted I suppose....

EagleFuzz
05-12-2012, 07:00 PM
:adored: Josh Mason

SageOfZagville
05-12-2012, 07:06 PM
Not Bennett :(

http://espn.go.com/college-sports/recruiting/basketball/mens/story/_/id/7922718/anthony-bennett-espn-no-7-overall-senior-selects-unlv-runnin-rebels

thespywhozaggedme
05-12-2012, 07:34 PM
Amile Jefferson
Devonta Pollard
Torian Graham - My guess, it's this guy....when considering BZ's last description

He fits Bob's description to a "T". From Scout:

STRENGTHS
3-Point Range
Athleticism

AREAS FOR IMPROVEMENT
Mid-Range Game
Graham is an elite level athlete who is more than capable of throwing down a highlight reel quality dunk at any point in time. Also his range extends well beyond the three point line. Right now he needs to be more consistent with his effort and his shot. Also using his athletic ability to get into the mid-range and convert is a growth area.


http://scouthoops.scout.com/a.z?s=75&p=8&c=1&nid=5014312

bostonzagfan
05-12-2012, 08:01 PM
very excited! zags are only as good as the upperclassman - someday it will be a pangos/bell/dranginis/Karno + mystery man upperclass

SoCalZag
05-12-2012, 08:17 PM
A little taller than BZ mentioned, but how about Montrezl Harrell? 6'7" PF with serious hops/athleticism.

Kong-Kool-Aid
05-12-2012, 09:19 PM
Amedeo Della Valle, hope you enjoyed your visit to Spokane.

Voice4Vision
05-12-2012, 09:22 PM
Amedeo Della Valle, hope you enjoyed your visit to Spokane.
He's already committed to Ohio St.

Kong-Kool-Aid
05-12-2012, 09:23 PM
Only a verbal :)

JPtheBeasta
05-12-2012, 09:24 PM
Amedeo Della Valle, hope you enjoyed your visit to Spokane.

Sarcasm? I thought he signed (http://www.annarbor.com/sports/um-basketball/former-michigan-basketball-target-amedeo-della-valle-signs-with-ohio-state/) with Ohio St???

Voice4Vision
05-12-2012, 09:27 PM
Only a verbal :)

Not according to ESPN

http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/team/_/id/194/ohio-state-buckeyes

HillBillyZag
05-12-2012, 10:05 PM
I think it will be 2013 SG Isaac Hamilton, 6'4", 190-St John Bosco High School, LA. A 5 Star pickup!

MDABE80
05-12-2012, 10:40 PM
Just saw Josh H....he must be graduating or maybe we're resigning him;)

cggonzaga
05-13-2012, 12:27 AM
Not Graham. Played in a game in North Carolina today.

And not Della Valle as he doesn't have "serious hops".

Zagcity
05-13-2012, 06:03 AM
Not Graham. Played in a game in North Carolina today.

And not Della Valle as he doesn't have "serious hops".

Not sure Graham understands the meaning of commitment anyway ;)

Baldwinzag
05-13-2012, 07:24 AM
Tre’Shaun Lexing?

A multi-positional 3/4 hybrid prospect we recruited -- and offered -- awhile back...very athletic, long, rangy, broad, yet not the most skilled guy on the court.

He's a 2013 kid, averaged 18 ppg, 11 rpg last season for Lincoln HS in Tacoma.

http://scouthoops.scout.com/a.z?s=75&p=8&c=1&nid=6243298

Gonzaga & WSU have both offered -- would it make sense for a dual-visit perhaps? However, he's a tad bit taller(6'6") than BZ hinted at, yet seems like a solid fit...a player who could be great with better coaching.

Also, whatever happened to the Franklin High kid, Patrick Ball? He was a fast-rising, 6'4", CG who was drawing interest from most of the WCC, including us. Could Ball be ballin' with us this weekend?

bostonzagfan
05-13-2012, 08:54 AM
i want to knowww

thebigsmoove
05-13-2012, 08:55 AM
I dont think ive seen anyone mention Xavier Rathan-Mayes...2013, but definitely a high priority recruit...

HillBillyZag
05-13-2012, 10:22 AM
At 0830 Mass today at St. Al's, there was a young man about the size of BZ's subject.
He was with his parents and someone I know is affiliated with G.U.Sports. As an usher they were among the many I greeted and welcomed to our Parish. All I can tell you is that he had a good firm handshake, a sincere smile, and was wearing blue golf shirt with a High school hoops emblem. Also he was every bit of 6'4" or 5", 180-190lbs, and they seemd like a nice family.

hondo
05-13-2012, 10:33 AM
So which persons of interest attend a high school whose colors include blue?

SLOZag
05-13-2012, 11:13 AM
So which persons of interest attend a high school whose colors include blue?

Michael Carrera, ZagNative's early pick, meets the uniform color test, as well as the size (6' 6") and year (2012) criteria.
http://www.gazette.net/article/20120422/SPORTS/704229999/1021/montrose-christian-pecking-order-changes-for-a-night&template=gazette

:pray:

hondo
05-13-2012, 12:38 PM
Also Michael and his parents are from Venezuela which is about 90 percent Roman Catholic.
I want to change my earlier guess.

ZagNative
05-13-2012, 12:40 PM
I think Montrose's road color is green ...

ID ZAGFAN
05-13-2012, 12:45 PM
From what I could gather from the photo and others, the blue uni was his all-star team from last year Capital All Stars (or earlier). Montrose Christian's colors are green and white. This year he was on United All Stars and his uni was red.

ZaGranny

theothegreat21
05-13-2012, 12:45 PM
Just to make life easier for people...it's not any of the following

Xavier Rathan-Mayes- EYBL
Torian Graham- Not considering Gonzaga
Savon Goodman- Offiically visited elsewhere
Amile Jefferson- Not considering Gonzaga
Devonta Pollard- Not considering Gonzaga
Amedeo Della valle- Signed LOI to Ohio St.

Would be surprised if it's Carrera, since he has already reportedly taken an official visit to Gonzaga, which would mean he and his family would have been paying for this entire trip out of their pocket. Also, Carrera is not a great shooter and as ZN mentioned, Montrose wears green and not blue. This is probably not a guy on everyone's radar, or else he would be signed elsewhere.

cggonzaga
05-13-2012, 01:19 PM
Not to mention Carerra goes at least 6'6" 230lbs and does not have serious hops.

My guess at this point is its somebody we don't know about or have heard about. Somebody way under the radar.

sittingon50
05-13-2012, 01:24 PM
Lucas Meikle.

;)

bostonzagfan
05-13-2012, 01:25 PM
so who played on that capital all stars team?

RockandRollJames
05-13-2012, 04:07 PM
Gerard Coleman

thespywhozaggedme
05-13-2012, 04:24 PM
Gerard Coleman

Do you mean Marquez Coleman? Fits Bob's description. He verbaled to Nevada but never signed his l.o.i.

http://scouthoops.scout.com/a.z?s=75&p=8&c=1&nid=5638847

thebigsmoove
05-13-2012, 04:35 PM
Do you mean Marquez Coleman? Fits Bob's description. He verbaled to Nevada but never signed his l.o.i.


No he means Gerard Coleman, the Providence Transfer from the class of 2010 who is rumored to be visiting GU right now. Here is a link to the article:

http://www.zagaholic.com/2012/05/rumored-gerard-coleman-on-campus.html

thespywhozaggedme
05-13-2012, 05:12 PM
No he means Gerard Coleman, the Providence Transfer from the class of 2010 who is rumored to be visiting GU right now. Here is a link to the article:

http://www.zagaholic.com/2012/05/rumored-gerard-coleman-on-campus.html

Ah....didn't think about transfers, I was just thinking about in coming freshmen. Quick question though; Bob said that the recruit was a great shooter, but Coleman is such a bad shooter, he makes Edi look like Steve Kerr. 22% from three is awful. On the plus side, he shares my oldest daughters birthday.

http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/player/_/id/51554/gerard-coleman

Worthington
05-13-2012, 05:20 PM
Coleman would be a really nice pickup. Top 60 player from the 2010 class

thebigsmoove
05-13-2012, 05:21 PM
Ah....didn't think about transfers, I was just thinking about in coming freshmen. Quick question though; Bob said that the recruit was a great shooter, but Coleman is such a bad shooter, he makes Edi look like Steve Kerr. 22% from three is awful. On the plus side, he shares my oldest daughters birthday.

http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/player/_/id/51554/gerard-coleman

From what i know, Gerard has a great mid range jumper, but yeah hes not the best from outside...This is a rumor for now, hopefully we will have confirmation soon.

BobZag
05-13-2012, 05:41 PM
At 0830 Mass today at St. Al's, there was a young man about the size of BZ's subject.
He was with his parents and someone I know is affiliated with G.U.Sports. As an usher they were among the many I greeted and welcomed to our Parish. All I can tell you is that he had a good firm handshake, a sincere smile, and was wearing blue golf shirt with a High school hoops emblem. Also he was every bit of 6'4" or 5", 180-190lbs, and they seemd like a nice family.

http://scouthoops.scout.com/a.z?s=75&p=8&c=1&nid=3905418

http://code.friarblog.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/61423721.jpeg
Look familiar?

jimmycarter
05-13-2012, 05:47 PM
I realize the clip of Coleman was only a single-game highlight reel...but DANG! That kid is explosive!!! If he averaged over 13 pts a game as a Soph for the Friars, I think it's safe to say he can score.

MaroonZag22
05-13-2012, 05:49 PM
Do you mean Marquez Coleman? Fits Bob's description. He verbaled to Nevada but never signed his l.o.i.

http://scouthoops.scout.com/a.z?s=75&p=8&c=1&nid=5638847

According to ESPN, he has signed on the dotted line with Nevada.

http://espn.go.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/67563/marqueze-coleman

Reborn
05-13-2012, 06:10 PM
According to ESPN, he has signed on the dotted line with Nevada.

http://espn.go.com/college-sports/basketball/recruiting/player/_/id/67563/marqueze-coleman

Marquez Coleman and Gerard Coleman, the player in the picture on BZ's thread. Gerard played two years at Providence, and Marquiz is a HS senior.

MDABE80
05-13-2012, 06:50 PM
If you turn that kid 90 degrees fro a side shot, that could be him. Launches like a rocket. I am still waiting for my source to confirm or deny. Keep snooping friends....I am.

thebigsmoove
05-13-2012, 06:58 PM
If you turn that kid 90 degrees fro a side shot, that could be him. Launches like a rocket. I am still waiting for my source to confirm or deny. Keep snooping friends....I am.

I dont snoop often, but when i do i snoop with a bottle of Dos Esquis in my hand...:D

Reborn
05-13-2012, 07:12 PM
Read an article on the Providence HOme page that said he was going to transfer because of personal reasons. I looked at all their games last year and Coleman had some GREAT games. He is definitely a scorer. He's a pretty good rebounder too. My best guess as why he would want to transfer is because I think his coached moved him around alot from guard to small forward. That's just a guess. He started the season at the #2 and was moved after about 6 games to the #3. But if comes to GU he would most likely be a 3.

Coleman will be a Junior, and would most likely Red Shirt next season. If he is the guy then we're in for a great one I think. For us to get a BIG EAST player I think would be incredible, and would certainly help our recruiting going forward from today.

hondo
05-13-2012, 07:13 PM
Are we assuming that there is just one PSA visiting this weekend?

theothegreat21
05-13-2012, 07:16 PM
This is hilarious...all TSSF did was report that Gonzaga had interest in Coleman. Never said he was visiting and now all of a sudden he might be on campus.

CDC84
05-13-2012, 07:19 PM
Gerard Coleman was brought into Providence by Keno Davis. Then Keno was let go. There is some feeling that Coleman and Providence's new coach, Ed Cooley, never saw eye to eye. Very common reason for a transfer. It wasn't what he signed up for.

Reborn
05-13-2012, 07:22 PM
Gerard Coleman was brought into Providence by Keno Davis. Then Keno was let go. There is some feeling that Coleman and Providence's new coach, Ed Cooley, never saw eye to eye. Very common reason for a transfer. It wasn't what he signed up for.

Thanks CDC! That makes a lot more sense then my idea.

SLOZag
05-13-2012, 08:16 PM
Coleman will be a Junior, and would most likely Red Shirt next season.

Does anyone know whether Coleman would be eligible TO PLAY this Fall? Or MUST he sit for one year before playing? As a transfer at the end of his sophmore year, if Coleman redshirts for the 2012-13 season, how many years of play would he have left thereafter?

MDABE80
05-13-2012, 08:21 PM
Theo....I don't think anyone thought because you reported on anything that a recruit would appear in Spokane or on campus. I think we need a bit more than a non report that doesn't say anything about a recruits possible appearance.

Unless I misunderstand your post above...one(or absence of one report) has little to do with a recruit coming to interview.

thespywhozaggedme
05-13-2012, 08:35 PM
Does anyone know whether Coleman would be eligible TO PLAY this Fall? Or MUST he sit for one year before playing? As a transfer at the end of his sophmore year, if Coleman redshirts for the 2012-13 season, how many years of play would he have left thereafter?

I don't see how he could play this season, what would be the reason? He would be a junior eligible in 13/14. Looking at his on the court numbers, and not his high school hype, I don't get this too much. Is he better than Dranginis?

ZagNative
05-13-2012, 08:40 PM
Oh, oh ... the tragedy of a thread going crazy ....

MDABE80
05-13-2012, 08:48 PM
Werewolves of London again ZN............happens this time of year................

Reborn
05-13-2012, 08:49 PM
Does anyone know whether Coleman would be eligible TO PLAY this Fall? Or MUST he sit for one year before playing? As a transfer at the end of his sophmore year, if Coleman redshirts for the 2012-13 season, how many years of play would he have left thereafter?

He would have two years left to play, and Edi would be gone.

Reborn
05-13-2012, 08:51 PM
I don't see how he could play this season, what would be the reason? He would be a junior eligible in 13/14. Looking at his on the court numbers, and not his high school hype, I don't get this too much. Is he better than Dranginis?

Maybe you need to go to the Providence web site for men's basketball and look at the games they played. He had alot of games in the 20's. His oncourt numbers look pretty good to me.
I'm not saying he's coming to GU, but if he does I'll sure be happy.

bostonzagfan
05-13-2012, 09:05 PM
so it is or isn't coleman?

ZagsGoZags
05-14-2012, 12:16 AM
IF, he can go somewhere else and play right away
why would he come here to redshirt?

This thread reminds me of the one for P. Karnowsky,
check in every day
no news
no news
then, finally, news and it was GOOD news

maybe that will happen to this thread, later,
and down the road, maybe
way, way later ...


Bol Kong thread was the longest I remember, and thought
it was GOOD news,
just later ... came the disappointment

thespywhozaggedme
05-14-2012, 05:22 AM
Maybe you need to go to the Providence web site for men's basketball and look at the games they played. He had alot of games in the 20's. His oncourt numbers look pretty good to me.
I'm not saying he's coming to GU, but if he does I'll sure be happy.

huh? Of course I know his stats, I posted the link to them. He scored 20 points less than 10 times last year. He only made five 3 pointers all season, which is extremely odd for a sg. He's a very poor shooter. He's a scorer, not a shooter, reminds me of Demar DeRozan. I think he would be a great addition to the team, but he's not better than GBIII or Dranginis. He would be a great sixth man off of the bench, instant offense. If he's okay with that, sign him up.

Reborn
05-14-2012, 06:39 AM
My take on him from reviewing the box scores is that he was playing small forward. He started the season at scoring guard and did make some three's. After they moved him to the 3, he didn't shoot many 3's at all. When you look at the box scores you'll see they are playing a 3 guard offense. One of those 3 plays the small forward position. It was Coleman I am sure.

Dranginis hasn't even played a Div I game yet. I'm not sure how good Kyle will be. Coleman was ranked the 33rd best player in America after his senior year by Scout. I don't think Kyle was rated that high. I'm just saying that I think Coleman is a pretty darn good player and has proved that at the Div I level. We know he averaged over 13 ppg last season and as a freshman he had 16 games where he scored in double figures, and he was twice named rookie of the week in the Big East. His numbers look a lot like Gary Bell's as a freshman and maybe a little better. But it's just my opinion.

gu03alum
05-14-2012, 06:52 AM
My take on him from reviewing the box scores is that he was playing small forward. He started the season at scoring guard and did make some three's. After they moved him to the 3, he didn't shoot many 3's at all. When you look at the box scores you'll see they are playing a 3 guard offense. One of those 3 plays the small forward position. It was Coleman I am sure.

Dranginis hasn't even played a Div I game yet. I'm not sure how good Kyle will be. Coleman was ranked the 33rd best player in America after his senior year by Scout. I don't think Kyle was rated that high. I'm just saying that I think Coleman is a pretty darn good player and has proved that at the Div I level. We know he averaged over 13 ppg last season and as a freshman he had 16 games where he scored in double figures, and he was twice named rookie of the week in the Big East. His numbers look a lot like Gary Bell's as a freshman and maybe a little better. But it's just my opinion.

I agree. We really don't have any idea how good Kyle is going to be. My personal thought was that he was going to be a role player for the team. I figured he'd come off the bench for some quick threes.

CDC84
05-14-2012, 08:11 AM
Again, I have zero idea if Coleman is the guy, but you need to understand that he has to sit out a redshirt year wherever he goes. I am sure the number one thing that will be addressed during his redshirt year is his long distance shooting. He'll have a whole season to better it. It's clear that he's never going to be a 48% three point shooter, but I am sure there is enough in the tank to make his three point shot respectable.

He can't play right away. He would have to sit a year. He hasn't graduated yet and he didn't transfer to be close to a sick family member....the kinds of things that the NCAA grants exceptions for. By all accounts he left Providence due to reasons surrounding the coaching change.

cjm720
05-14-2012, 08:47 AM
Coleman looks good on paper and in the vid. Good rebounder and scorer. Didn't take many threes (only 2 in the last 13 games of the season.)

http://espn.go.com/mens-college-basketball/player/gamelog/_/id/51554/gerard-coleman

Would be a big get for us....In the staff I trust.

theothegreat21
05-14-2012, 09:04 AM
Just in case people didn't pick up on it earlier, it's not Coleman. He didn't visit.

DCZag
05-14-2012, 09:09 AM
Scored in double digits in 23-30 games as a soph(not bad against that level of D1 competition). Played some pretty good minutes, hit the boards decently for his height. Needs to improve his FTs and work on the outside shot. Could work on the handles a little - seems like a great talent/athlete who would benefit from a RS and a year to get into the system.

Sign him up

Birddog
05-14-2012, 09:22 AM
Just in case people didn't pick up on it earlier, it's not Coleman. He didn't visit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3FnpaWQJO0

cjm720
05-14-2012, 09:31 AM
Zags have a visitor this coming weekend. I don't know who he is but he is visiting with his folks. The staff wants him to commit and sign. They like him a lot. I'm thinking most likely a 2012 kid, but don't know if it's a Juco, a high schooler or a transfer from another school. Again, I do not know who it is.

Question to y'all:

Who do you think it is?

The correct guess may fetch you two tickets to a Zags home game next season. Good luck!

So did anyone visit?

Ebay
05-14-2012, 10:01 AM
So did anyone visit?

Everyone is waiting eagerly for the answer to this question...

My guess is IF someone did visit, we didn't get a commitment. Major news like commitments(at least US commitments) seem to always leak quickly. Bummer if that's the case especially if the staff was really high on him and hoping for a weekend signing.

Again, this is complete speculation. No facts.

MDABE80
05-14-2012, 10:18 AM
I have a clear answer............YES.

SLOZag
05-14-2012, 10:21 AM
I have a clear answer............YES.

Do you have a clear question to go with that, or will this remain a Bob-like post?

ZagsGoZags
05-14-2012, 10:51 AM
I take it that Abe is saying
somebody did visit

Abe and BobZag usually know

BobZag
05-14-2012, 10:53 AM
Efforting to dig up the name.

zag67
05-14-2012, 11:04 AM
Maybe after tomorrow they can say. Tomorrow is the last day for signing (I think)....

thebigsmoove
05-14-2012, 11:39 AM
I thought the 16th was...although if they miss the deadline i think there are still ways for the recruits to join later...

IrishZagFan
05-14-2012, 11:54 AM
Just in case people didn't pick up on it earlier, it's not Coleman. He didn't visit.

I'm positive I saw a few of these on campus over the weekend.....

http://www.orvis.com/orvis_assets/prodimg/2L36VB0.jpg

Zagtana
05-14-2012, 01:02 PM
I dont think ive seen anyone mention Xavier Rathan-Mayes...2013, but definitely a high priority recruit...

:boxing:See Post #17 on this topic. Doesn't matter, seems like it ain't him anyhow.

NotoriousZ
05-15-2012, 02:23 PM
Efforting to dig up the name.

:starwars:

BroncoZAG615
05-15-2012, 03:45 PM
wow, really?

we just had a prospective/potential prospect freakin' visit our CAMPUS over the weekend and we still have no name or intel?

ouch -- either the coaching staff & recruiting is getting more and more anal by the day or we're seriously losing our "touch" around here.

appreciate any insight provided, but I have a feeling St Mary's or WSU board is going to get info sooner than we will re: the recent visit from our recruit.

not our best showing.

Yep, someone's got to say it ... You are a true trailblazer. Pretty sure I've read 20 posts in this thread of people complaining about the lack of intel on the topic. Great contribution, though.

Reborn
05-15-2012, 04:04 PM
Last day for signing is tomorrow. Maybe we'll know by then. I too am frustrated along with many about how this has gone down. I feel like someone's toying with my emotions, and that feels pretty strange, as I'm an adult. I would expect it from Jr. High kids though.

Bogozags
05-15-2012, 04:13 PM
Last day for signing is tomorrow. Maybe we'll know by then. I too am frustrated along with many about how this has gone down. I feel like someone's toying with my emotions, and that feels pretty strange, as I'm an adult. I would expect it from Jr. High kids though.

Reborn, I agree...maybe it wasn't intended to be that type of thread BUT it seems like that is how it has turned out. Could well be that BZ just doesn't have the answer himself OR he can't say...if it is the latter then...

BobZag
05-15-2012, 04:26 PM
Trying our best. Really. Getting snippets of this and that about the kid but no name. Will keep at it.

whatazag
05-15-2012, 04:58 PM
Gotta assume that the visit didn't go that well. No commit. No stories about him meeting any guys from the team. I am thinking we would have heard something if it was positive, but if it wasn't a good fit probably no reason on either side to talk a lot about it.

zagfan1
05-15-2012, 05:21 PM
I agree visit probably didnt go well or it was a stretch in itself to get the recruit. Have to applaud the staff for trying. At this point will have to wait for any chatter tomorrow if there are any late signees.

Zagcity
05-15-2012, 07:24 PM
And then again sometimes "Silence is Golden" :)

MDABE80
05-15-2012, 08:15 PM
Nah Zagfan..it went well. Just can't get a name to go with the kid. Something's up.
Just no name.I suppose though that "it'll shine when it shines"....

Martin Centre Mad Man
05-16-2012, 05:39 AM
Last day for signing is tomorrow. Maybe we'll know by then. I too am frustrated along with many about how this has gone down. I feel like someone's toying with my emotions, and that feels pretty strange, as I'm an adult. I would expect it from Jr. High kids though.

I share your pain, Reborn. I have checked this board far more often than I should have for news related to a recruiting cycle that seems quieter than usual. I keep worrying that the team isn't going to have enough depth to capitalize on the great core of next year's team.

However, when I stop to think about it, there isn't that much to worry about. Even if Karnowski is the only new face for 2012, the team will have the same number of available bodies that it did, last year, and last year's team was deep enough that some decent players didn't get a lot of playing time. We'll lose four bodies - 1 center (Sacre), 1 power forward (Spangler), 1 combo guard (Carter), and 1 defensive wing (Keita). We already have four new bodies that fill exactly those roles: 1 center in Karnowksi, 1 power forward in K.O., 1 combo guard in Dranginis, and 1 defensive wing in Sarbraugh. That basically reloads the entire bench with a roster comparable to what was available on last year's team. We can fret that there haven't been any upgrades, but we don't know that and won't know that until we see how these kids actually play when they hit the floor.

If the staff has chosen to save scholarships for better players in 2013, I can't fault them for that. There is enough depth for next year.

zag67
05-16-2012, 06:00 AM
I also have been coming on many more times than usual. But Martin, I agree about the and playing time. If the right person shows up or a person that needs to RS to get better, then get him. But do not get someone just to get a body.

thebigsmoove
05-16-2012, 07:13 AM
Well we got a 2013 guard taking an unofficial around June 15-17, so theres that:

Recruit Profile: Darin Johnson (http://www.zagaholic.com/2012/05/recruit-profile-darin-johnson.html)

DADoZAG
05-16-2012, 12:08 PM
Trying our best. Really. Getting snippets of this and that about the kid but no name. Will keep at it.

Trying OUR best? How many of you are there?

It seems to me that all of you must have gotten under someone's skin, BZ. Perhaps the smell you loved last summer? That was very unfortunate.

Clocks a tickin, though. Something's got to come out...

Go ZAGS!

SweetOnionZag
05-16-2012, 12:16 PM
Less than 11 hours until midnight (PAC TIME) It's getting real tense......

sittingon50
05-16-2012, 12:17 PM
you how tempted I've been just to put anybodies name in here (other than Biggs McGee).

75Zag
05-16-2012, 12:30 PM
Devonta Pollard - Small Forward. 6'7" 190 pounds. Rivals #7 Small Forward (Five Stars).

Supposedly he has Alabama, Georgetown, Missouri, Texas and Mississippi State on "hold" while he waits this afternoon for the last minute call from Kentucky, but perhaps KY won't make the call and Few will.

ZagaZags
05-16-2012, 02:03 PM
Trying OUR best? How many of you are there?

It seems to me that all of you must have gotten under someone's skin, BZ. Perhaps the smell you loved last summer? That was very unfortunate.

Clocks a tickin, though. Something's got to come out...

Go ZAGS!

No need to be a hater on GU boards. We are all on the same team.

DADoZAG
05-16-2012, 02:25 PM
No need to be a hater on GU boards. We are all on the same team.

Huh? I guess someone might interpret my post that way...

Sorry for being vague, was just ribbing our illustrious BZ a bit. No hate in this ZAG fan, nothin' but love and respect for all BZ has done and will no doubt continue to do.

Have a great day.

Go ZAGS!

ZagaZags
05-16-2012, 03:17 PM
Huh? I guess someone might interpret my post that way...

Sorry for being vague, was just ribbing our illustrious BZ a bit. No hate in this ZAG fan, nothin' but love and respect for all BZ has done and will no doubt continue to do.

Have a great day.

Go ZAGS!

I just read it wrong.

zag67
05-16-2012, 04:00 PM
I think all of us appreciate the info that BZ and the rest find out. What we do have to remember is that sometimes information is not allowed to be forwarded at that time and other times they find out about something that might happen, but does not happen when they think it will.

Thanks again.

maynard g krebs
05-16-2012, 04:41 PM
Less than 11 hours until midnight (PAC TIME) It's getting real tense......

A player can still commit after today. Just the last day to sign letter of intent. After today there's another term for what they sign- some kind of aid agreement or something. Turiaf committed around August.

BobZag
05-16-2012, 05:18 PM
I am coming to the conclusion that it was a lower level prospect which got zero media attention, a prospect, say, from NIC or just giving a kid a tryout based on his coach's request. A name is not emerging and some Zags were already home. GU coaches have to maintain good relations with area coaches, and it's looking more and more like a favor was done for another school's coach. It's been done many times before but without anyone hearing about it. MDABE80 did see a kid scrimmage, HillbillyZag did see a kid and his folks at St. Al's, and I've heard bits and pieces, but I'm feeling like it was not a serious visit as I had initicially been told.

We'll see, but that's what it's feeling like now.

zag67
05-16-2012, 05:38 PM
BZ, thanks for the info.

MDABE80
05-16-2012, 05:56 PM
I dunno either. Can't explain it. Not much to show for the efforts. Blah!

zagapotomus
05-16-2012, 06:03 PM
Thanks BZ, MDABE, et al. Appreciate your effort!

A to Zags
05-16-2012, 06:35 PM
I am coming to the conclusion that it was a lower level prospect which got zero media attention, a prospect, say, from NIC or just giving a kid a tryout based on his coach's request. A name is not emerging and some Zags were already home. GU coaches have to maintain good relations with area coaches, and it's looking more and more like a favor was done for another school's coach. It's been done many times before but without anyone hearing about it. MDABE80 did see a kid scrimmage, HillbillyZag did see a kid and his folks at St. Al's, and I've heard bits and pieces, but I'm feeling like it was not a serious visit as I had initicially been told.

We'll see, but that's what it's feeling like now.

I just knew it....Do I get the tickets, BZ

Malastein
05-16-2012, 10:46 PM
I have a feeling that they don't really want to say because it is a long shot either way, and then they don't really want to give out tickets. Or perhaps they would've if somebody had guessed correctly, but no one did. Or something.

JAGzag
05-17-2012, 03:12 AM
Thanks for the info, BZ. We appreciate the effort and first hand information!

KStyles
05-17-2012, 12:50 PM
Could it have been Namon Wright?

BobZag
05-17-2012, 02:28 PM
Could it have been Namon Wright?

K, it could've been Kobe Bryant. There's no telling. One would assume a kid of Namon's caliber would have a very difficult time keeping a visit to Spokane quiet for this long. Just my opinion.

ZagaZags
06-17-2012, 01:08 AM
Did anyone figure out who it was?