PDA

View Full Version : The NBA is a fraud: discuss



wazZag
07-20-2007, 05:22 PM
http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/columns/story?columnist=stein_marc&id=2943938

I kid about it being a fraud, but what a mess DS has on his hands with this one.

RandomZagFan
07-21-2007, 12:13 AM
What an outrage. This is AMERICA. I would expect match fixing and referee scandal in Italian football, but not here!!!

CDC84
07-21-2007, 01:12 PM
What's sad about this is that I felt that the NBA was on an upward swing...especially with the most recent NBA draft and all of the established college stars who are entering the league. There was a real positive vibe going on. There was more water cooler discussion regarding this draft than any I can recall, and I can't tell you how many people I've talked to whose long lost interest in the NBA has been rekindled with Durant, Oden and the Florida kids entering the league.

This scandal is going to be a major distraction. It's most unfortunate.

Rubbadub
07-22-2007, 12:59 PM
Before even reading the latest SG article, I was thinking to myself that this will become part of sports lingo. As in, "wow we just got Donaghied," or something like that. :o

This will be a living nightmare for the NBA and their referees for a longggggg time. Do you know just how many fans were already convinced that the nba is becoming the wwe? And it turns out they were right! As a fan of the nba I feel entitled to not only replays on nbatv of all important games that this jackass called but also full on investigations into the lives of all nba referees. :mad: In my mind this is a far worse offense than all the steroids garbage floating around combined.

zagco
07-22-2007, 03:00 PM
I've been mocking the NBA for years. It's the third or fourth best basketball in the world! It's just gone in the crapper since MJ retired.

Rubbadub
07-22-2007, 05:29 PM
I thought it was hilarious when the Greeks completely embarassed the USA...by running the pick and roll every play for just about the entire game. It just makes you wonder when was the last time these superstars had to rely on fundamental basketball instead of referee whistles.

94zagoldwomanasherdsmen
07-23-2007, 11:16 PM
just my 2c worth.

Rubbadub
07-23-2007, 11:47 PM
hate the game? basketball?

zagco
07-24-2007, 06:49 AM
I yearn for the good old days when the team game was played by dudes wearing extremely short satin pants and sporting huge porkchops, 'fros, and were otherwise hairier than the stars in bad 70's porn flicks.