PDA

View Full Version : Mariners - 2012 season



gu03alum
04-22-2012, 02:23 PM
I think it's time to get rid of Millwood. I know he's just a placeholder, but he just does not belong in MLB any more. I would much rather see Furbush or Ramirez can do as a starting pitcher until one of the Big 3 are ready. Throwing Millwood every 5th day provides no tangible benefit for the team.

Bocco
04-22-2012, 05:25 PM
untill management gets some guys that can hit it really doesn't matter if the Mariners lose by 1 run when Felix pitches or 10 when Millwood pitches ... it's still a loss because most likey the stiffs we are stuck watching won't score any runs, as was the case last year, and the year before that, and the year ......

sittingon50
04-23-2012, 08:48 PM
Felix says he wants to stay, but these guys are costing him a lottttttttttttttttttt of money!

gu03alum
04-26-2012, 04:01 AM
Yay! The Mariners are good again!

I was curious and saw that they are are 7th in the AL in runs scored and 14th in baseball. I'll take it. I just wish they played Detroit every game.

gu03alum
04-26-2012, 04:05 AM
In the short term the trade with the Yankees for Jesus and Noesi looks like a big win for the Mariners.

Pineda Injury Surprises Mariners GM (http://espn.go.com/new-york/mlb/story/_/id/7855765/seattle-mariners-gm-surprised-injury-new-york-yankees-michael-pineda)

I liked Pineda a lot, but I love screwing over the Yankees.

webspinnre
04-26-2012, 07:40 AM
Just terrible news though. This is the sort of thing that if it doesn't work out could end his career. One of the unfortunate realities of pitching in baseball. One pitch and your career could be over.

gu03alum
04-26-2012, 08:08 AM
Just terrible news though. This is the sort of thing that if it doesn't work out could end his career. One of the unfortunate realities of pitching in baseball. One pitch and your career could be over.

I totally agree. I don't want to come off as celebrating his injury rather I'm celebrating that it happened to the Yankees. I hope he can come back and be as effective as he was last year.

bullzag23
04-26-2012, 01:53 PM
In the short term the trade with the Yankees for Jesus and Noesi looks like a big win for the Mariners.

Pineda Injury Surprises Mariners GM (http://espn.go.com/new-york/mlb/story/_/id/7855765/seattle-mariners-gm-surprised-injury-new-york-yankees-michael-pineda)

I liked Pineda a lot, but I love screwing over the Yankees.

At first I was really against this trade, but now it's looking like a hell of a deal for the M's. Montero is currently leading the team in RBI with 11 to go with a respectable .265 average. The team average of .241 has to be the highest the M's have had in like.....3 years?

gu03alum
04-26-2012, 03:08 PM
At first I was really against this trade, but now it's looking like a hell of a deal for the M's. Montero is currently leading the team in RBI with 11 to go with a respectable .265 average. The team average of .241 has to be the highest the M's have had in like.....3 years?

Sad, but probably true.

Also.......SWEEP!

webspinnre
04-26-2012, 04:48 PM
Jose Campos has been fantastic to start the year for the Yankees. So at least they've got something going for them.

a13coach
04-30-2012, 07:18 PM
Pathetic. Felix goes 8 inn and only gives up 1 run on 5hits w/9 K's and they blow it? After Montero's HR in extra inn, the batters that followed him were swinging for the fences instead of just trying to hit the ball. The on top of that Brandon is throwing fastballs right down the middle with no attempt at locating the pitch. SMH.

gu03alum
05-08-2012, 04:28 AM
Here's a pretty funny blog post from Jon Bois (http://www.sbnation.com/2012/5/7/2980452/sloganalysis-what-your-awful-slogan-says-about-your-horrible-baseball)about Baseball team slogans and the Mariners have had their share of bad ones. Mojo even received it's own chart. I have never quite understood the Mojo slogans. The only one that I liked was the Refuse to Lose back in 1995. Here's one that I think they should use from the top to the bottom of the organization: "Just Win"

http://assets.sbnation.com/assets/1086070/9.png

gu03alum
05-16-2012, 04:52 AM
http://www.fangraphs.com/not/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/AckleyPonyBackground.jpg

awesome picture of Ackley on Notgraphs today. There is a pretty funny explanation of the picture on the site too.

Link (http://www.fangraphs.com/not/index.php/dustin-ackley-white-hat-one-boot-a-pony/#comment-214214)

kitzbuel
05-16-2012, 05:33 AM
What is up with East Coast baseball right now? You have to be playing over .600 ball just to be in contention.

Angelo Roncalli
05-16-2012, 10:51 AM
Here's a pretty funny blog post from Jon Bois (http://www.sbnation.com/2012/5/7/2980452/sloganalysis-what-your-awful-slogan-says-about-your-horrible-baseball)about Baseball team slogans and the Mariners have had their share of bad ones. Mojo even received it's own chart. I have never quite understood the Mojo slogans. The only one that I liked was the Refuse to Lose back in 1995. Here's one that I think they should use from the top to the bottom of the organization: "Just Win"

http://assets.sbnation.com/assets/1086070/9.png

Refuse to Lose...

Someone made a fortune off that phrase.

His name in John Calipari.

http://www.nytimes.com/1996/07/19/sports/sports-people-basketball-refuse-to-lose-and-pay-calipari.html

Kiddwell
05-16-2012, 06:25 PM
This fan expected a winning season. Alas, we stink again.

:[

gu03alum
05-17-2012, 03:20 AM
What is up with East Coast baseball right now? You have to be playing over .600 ball just to be in contention.

How crazy would an Orioles Nationals World Series be?

Also, the Mariners are almost unwatchable right now.

sittingon50
05-17-2012, 11:54 AM
Boston had a team ERA of about 4.80 & the Mariners go in there & score 1 run in 18 innings.

Hey Jack Z., is there really a plan or are you just cashin' checks?

Kiddwell
05-17-2012, 12:15 PM
Mariners burn a one-run lead in the bottom of the 11th...and lose again. Brandon League, God bless him, just doesn't have "the stuff" this season.

:[

Eroop22
05-17-2012, 12:36 PM
I have been a lifelong Mariner fan. As much as it hurts to actually say it I am pretty sure I am almost done for the year. I cant take it anymore. I cant imagine how Felix feels knowing that his greatness is being wasted. Oh well rant over. I will continue to watch the Mariners lose game after game at least till football season starts.

a13coach
05-18-2012, 02:04 PM
What is up with East Coast baseball right now? You have to be playing over .600 ball just to be in contention.

Must be tough for Philly. Sitting at 20-19 and 4-GB (last place in their division). They would be in 2nd place in the NL-west, NL-cent., AL-cent., AL-west.
But same with the Yanks at 20-18, but they at least are looking down at Boston.
I have a good hunch it will "normalize"- out in the next 4 weeks though.

a13coach
05-18-2012, 02:08 PM
How crazy would an Orioles Nationals World Series be?

Also, the Mariners are almost unwatchable right now.

A Nats & O's series would make your neck of the woods a dangerous place come October.:eek:

Yep hard to watch more than 2 innings of the M's. Their executives are just destroying their product. It is a shame.

Kiddwell
05-21-2012, 09:02 PM
Unless Kiddwell's been hit in the head with a brick and isn't seeing straight, a BIG difference this year from last year's Mariners is that this year's squad puts together win streaks. With today's win over Texas, the Mariners have won four in a row. That didn't happened much last year, did it?


:]



<Now if they could just avoid the oft-times longer losing steaks. Young team. Dare the fans hope this team is on the verge of getting respectable?> :D

gu03alum
05-22-2012, 03:15 AM
Unless Kiddwell's been hit in the head with a brick and isn't seeing straight, a BIG difference this year from last year's Mariners is that this year's squad puts together win streaks. With today's win over Texas, the Mariners have won four in a row. That didn't happened much last year, did it?


:]



<Now if they could just avoid the oft-times longer losing steaks. Young team. Dare the fans hope this team is on the verge of getting respectable?> :D

the 17 game losing streak was terrible last year. I hope we never have to endure a streak like that again. You wouldn't think that would be possible with a pitcher like Felix going every 5th day.

kitzbuel
05-22-2012, 05:13 AM
It became very hard to follow them from across the country with performances like that. They do not entice me to pay for the MLB package right now.

gu03alum
05-22-2012, 10:28 AM
Here is a great collection of gifs from last night from when Felix and Beltre were going back and forth.

Gif King Felix and Beltre Sign Love Language (http://www.fangraphs.com/not/index.php/gif-king-felix-and-beltre-sign-love-language/)

Kiddwell
05-22-2012, 02:41 PM
Here is a great collection of gifs from last night from when Felix and Beltre were going back and forth.

Gif King Felix and Beltre Sign Love Language (http://www.fangraphs.com/not/index.php/gif-king-felix-and-beltre-sign-love-language/)

That was hilarious to watch. Really fun.


:]

sittingon50
05-25-2012, 08:29 PM
Who wins a footrace between Jesus Montero and
















































Jamie Moyer?

zagitarious
05-26-2012, 11:13 AM
Brandon League oughta be poisoned.

sittingon50
05-26-2012, 06:11 PM
Just a touch over the line.....

Kiddwell
05-27-2012, 08:54 PM
Brandon League oughta be poisoned.

League was terrific last year. So maybe not "poison?" Maybe "position," as in League's position as closer is bestowed upon another? :o


:]

gu03alum
05-30-2012, 03:46 AM
Good win last night. I like it when they score 10 runs. I kind of miss the high scoring no pitching Mariners from my youth.

Bring back the Kingdome! and steroids!

Eroop22
05-30-2012, 07:31 AM
Good win last night. I like it when they score 10 runs. I kind of miss the high scoring no pitching Mariners from my youth.

Bring back the Kingdome! and steroids!

I miss the Kingdome to. I doubt Griffey, Buhner, and Edgar used roids. Actually I seriously doubt Griffey ever saw the inside of a weight room. I am sure the M's had some roid users my top two suspects are Segui, and Boone. (I actually forgot Ryan Franklin tested positive and I think there is one more but I cant remember his name.)

gu03alum
05-30-2012, 09:33 AM
I miss the Kingdome to. I doubt Griffey, Buhner, and Edgar used roids. Actually I seriously doubt Griffey ever saw the inside of a weight room. I am sure the M's had some roid users my top two suspects are Segui, and Boone. (I actually forgot Ryan Franklin tested positive and I think there is one more but I cant remember his name.)

One of my all-time favorites, Mike Cameron got a suspension for steroids. The only one who I don't think used was Griffey. I loved Edgar and Bone, but I'm not convinced they didn't use steroids. Have you seen pictures of Edgar when he first came up and how much bigger he got? I have some of his rookie cards and he was a pretty small guy. I don't really care. It is what it is. I hope they are clean, but it doesn't really matter to me.

I have a book full of pictures of Griffey and it includes some stuff written by Griffey. At one point, he talks about how he maxes out at 225 on the bench and that he's probably the weakest guy on the team. The book was written in the 90's. My goal for weight lifting is to get to 225. I'm only at 200 right now. It's crazy to think that everyone on that team did a lot more than that.

gu03alum
05-30-2012, 05:13 PM
Mariners are up 14-0 in the third inning!!!!

sittingon50
05-30-2012, 06:01 PM
Save some runs for Felix!!

gu03alum
05-30-2012, 07:14 PM
Save some runs for Felix!!

This is awesome! I hope this wakes up Smoak's bat for good.

21 runs and counting!

Eroop22
05-31-2012, 07:27 AM
This is awesome! I hope this wakes up Smoak's bat for good.

21 runs and counting!

I really want to see Smoak live up to his potential. So hopefully this is a sign of good things to come. Typical Mariners I miss a game and there bats come alive. Just looked at the boxscore crazy Figgins, Olivio, and Ryan all got hits. I am not going to look it up but that has to be a first.

Eroop22
05-31-2012, 01:59 PM
I just took another look at last nights boxscore and I noticed Iwakuma was given a save. 21-8 how could it possible be a save the game was over for sure after the 2nd inning. I get it he pitched 3 innings with the lead so the official scorer credited him with a save. But I always thought that was a judgement call by the official scorer.

gu03alum
05-31-2012, 03:47 PM
I really want to see Smoak live up to his potential. So hopefully this is a sign of good things to come. Typical Mariners I miss a game and there bats come alive. Just looked at the boxscore crazy Figgins, Olivio, and Ryan all got hits. I am not going to look it up but that has to be a first.

You must not miss many games.

Eroop22
06-01-2012, 07:16 AM
Not a lot. Maybe I should miss more.

gu03alum
06-02-2012, 03:03 PM
Ichiro! with 2 home runs!

gu03alum
06-03-2012, 12:34 PM
very cool photo of Griffey on mlb page of ESPN

http://a.espncdn.com/photo/2011/0511/mlb_g_griffey_576.jpg

gu03alum
06-04-2012, 04:33 PM
Mariners draft Mike Zunino, yawn. The two guys I was excited about were both off the board when the M's picked at 3 so apparently the Twins and Astros were excited about those guys too.

Zunino is another high floor low ceiling guy from what I have read. I guess that's a good thing for a catcher. I hope he exceeds expectations.

http://blog.seattletimes.nwsource.com/stone/zunino.jpg

http://cdn.bleacherreport.net/images_root/article/media_slots/photos/000/443/575/zunino_original_crop_340x234.jpg?1338346044

Eroop22
06-05-2012, 06:22 AM
I did some reading on Byron Buxton yesterday. Some of the articles made him sound like the greatest prospect since Sidd Finch. They compared him to Bo Jackson, Eric Davis, and Justin Upton.

I am not to thrilled with M's pick. Kind of a boring pick on local radio last night they were comparing Zunino to Dan Wilson. I liked Dan Wilson he was good behind the plate but was never anything special with a bat in his hands.

webspinnre
06-05-2012, 08:18 AM
Dan Wilson? That seems like an odd comparison. I was definitely hoping for Buxton or Correa. I've heard comparisons like Buster Posey for Zunino. Above average bat, above average defensively, but not outstanding at either. Wilson was more of a glove first catcher who was competent offensively.

Eroop22
06-05-2012, 08:58 AM
Dan Wilson? That seems like an odd comparison. I was definitely hoping for Buxton or Correa. I've heard comparisons like Buster Posey for Zunino. Above average bat, above average defensively, but not outstanding at either. Wilson was more of a glove first catcher who was competent offensively.

I thought it was odd comparison to. But they were saying when Wilson came out of college he had a career .336 average and was coming off a season in which he hit for .370 average. Zunino hit for .316 last year and obviously has more pop in his bat than Wilson did.

gu03alum
06-05-2012, 09:10 AM
I have heard him compared to Varitek a lot which doesn't get me that excited either. I feel like if you're taking a guy that high he should have the chance to be Joe Mauer, Matt Weiters, Buster Posey type player.

In his defense a .316 average is different today than it was when Wilson played in college. The bats have been deadened to act more like wood bats.

webspinnre
06-05-2012, 10:37 PM
In his defense a .316 average is different today than it was when Wilson played in college. The bats have been deadened to act more like wood bats.

This is really important to point out. The offensive environment of college baseball has really changed (MLB has too, to a lesser degree).

gu03alum
06-08-2012, 09:20 AM
lookoutlanding today's fun fact (http://www.lookoutlanding.com/2012/6/7/3072034/todays-fun-fact)

Lookoutlanding shows that Yu and Millwood have been nearly identical in pitching stats this year. The Mariners paid $1 million for Millwood and the Rangers paid $108 million for Yu.

http://www.gif-man.com/Animatedgifs/NelsonHaHa.gif

sittingon50
06-08-2012, 09:51 PM
Home cookin' gets the my Dodger's!

;)

webspinnre
06-08-2012, 10:04 PM
Really remarkable the play Ryan made to even make it a discussion. If Munenori is still in there, its a straight up hit.

gu03alum
06-09-2012, 04:29 AM
There is a guy at work that's a huge Dodgers fan and was talking all kinds of crap about the Mariners last week. I cannot wait until Monday.

gu03alum
06-09-2012, 05:01 AM
All 27 outs of the no hitter (http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=22141153&topic_id=33023126&c_id=mlb&tcid=vpp_copy_22141153&v=3)

gu03alum
06-09-2012, 05:21 AM
Jesus Montero gifs from the no hitter (http://www.lookoutlanding.com/2012/6/8/3074319/jesus-montero-mariners-no-hitter-dodgers#storyjump)

kitzbuel
06-09-2012, 05:41 AM
Ichiro's steal was huge. Wins the game.

bullzag23
06-18-2012, 10:34 PM
I'm just going to go on pretending we didn't get swept by the Padres. Did that series even happen?

Kiddwell
06-19-2012, 09:41 PM
Wild game vs. D'backs :cheers:



:]

Kiddwell
06-28-2012, 08:56 PM
Felix with 13 strikeouts. Mariners win against Boston, 1-0, in the bottom of the 9th. Wells had two great sliding catches out in left field then scores the winning run on a Jaso pinch hit.

:]

gu03alum
06-29-2012, 04:19 AM
Felix with 13 strikeouts. Mariners win against Boston, 1-0, in the bottom of the 9th. Wells had two great sliding catches out in left field then scores the winning run on a Jaso pinch hit.

:]

A great game from Felix and that is three in a row since he made an adjustment to his mechanics. According to the Pitch fx data (http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/pfx.php?month=6&day=28&year=2012&game=gid_2012_06_28_bosmlb_seamlb_1%2F&pitchSel=433587&prevGame=gid_2012_06_28_bosmlb_seamlb_1%2F&prevDate=628), Felix got his fastball up to nearly 95 last night. He also had 22 swinging strikes, which is a career best (http://www.lookoutlanding.com/2012/6/29/3125404/felix-hernandez-seattle-mariners-boston-red-sox). I'm feeling really good about Felix.

a13coach
06-29-2012, 08:37 AM
Save for Millwood (they really need to replace him) the M's pitching the last 7 games has been very very good, but their batting over those 7 games -> 44/223 is not very good at all. Let's hope the pitching staff does not get too jaded with the offensive efforts not supporting their hard and admirable performances.

gu03alum
06-29-2012, 08:45 AM
Save for Millwood (they really need to replace him) the M's pitching the last 7 games has been very very good, but their batting over those 7 games -> 44/223 is not very good at all. Let's hope the pitching staff does not get too jaded with the offensive efforts not supporting their hard and admirable performances.

It will flip again when they go on the road.

Kiddwell
06-30-2012, 10:39 PM
Another "squeaker" win for the Mariners: 3-2 over Boston in ten innings. Nice to beat the big name teams from the East. If the boys can pull out another "W" tomorrow, they'll win the series 3-1.

Hope, hope, hope! (Oh! Good to see Figgy hit the sac fly that won the game.)

:]

gu03alum
07-01-2012, 04:16 AM
what's going on at Safeco Field? (http://www.fangraphs.com/blogs/index.php/whats-going-on-at-safeco-field/)

This is an interesting post on Fangraphs about Safeco Field and how it has suppressed offense even more than normal than last year. Dave's theory is that the lower than normal temps I'm Seattle are to blame.

Kiddwell
07-01-2012, 11:47 AM
what's going on at Safeco Field? (http://www.fangraphs.com/blogs/index.php/whats-going-on-at-safeco-field/)

This is an interesting post on Fangraphs about Safeco Field and how it has suppressed offense even more than normal than last year. Dave's theory is that the lower than normal temps I'm Seattle are to blame.

Seems like the low temps would work equally against both teams. Therefore, the M's offense (low temps or not) has issues.

Despite the way the season's going, this's still Kiddwell's favorite professional sports team.

Here's hoping for a much improved second half of the season.

:]

gu03alum
07-01-2012, 12:05 PM
Seems like the low temps would work equally against both teams. Therefore, the M's offense (low temps or not) has issues.

Despite the way the season's going, this's still Kiddwell's favorite professional sports team.

Here's hoping for a much improved second half of the season.

:]

He addresses that in the article. M's opponents are hitting almost as poorly at Safeco as the M's are, but they are hitting really well off M's pitchers away from Safeco.

The M's are also my favorite team.

gu03alum
07-01-2012, 12:54 PM
some fun gifs from Mr. Jeff Sullivan LINK (http://www.lookoutlanding.com/2012/7/1/3130523/munenori-kawasaki-gifs)

My favorite of the bunch:

http://assets.sbnation.com/assets/1216665/Munenori5.gif.opt.gif

gu03alum
07-01-2012, 06:26 PM
The Mariners just scored 5 runs in a 4 game series and still won 2 games.

gu03alum
07-05-2012, 04:25 AM
Wilhelmsen fastball analysis from Fangraphs (http://www.fangraphs.com/blogs/index.php/tom-wilhelmsen-thrives-with-fastball/)

gu03alum
07-05-2012, 04:27 AM
I was able to watch M's games the past few days as they were playing the Orioles. I get the Orioles and Nationals games where I live. I have been keeping up with the team by having stat tracker going while I study. Watching the M's on tv is about the same as watching them on stat tracker...Boring. I really hope they do something about the fences at Safeco Field because this team is truly unwatchable at home.

sittingon50
07-05-2012, 03:13 PM
As much as they take called 3rd strikes even if they put the fences just behind the mound it ain't gonna' help, '03!

gu03alum
07-05-2012, 03:18 PM
As much as they take called 3rd strikes even if they put the fences just behind the mound it ain't gonna' help, '03!

I kind of agree, but they hit so much better on the road.

gu03alum
07-18-2012, 08:25 AM
Jay Buhner says "I'd vomit" (http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/mariners/2018709473_mariners_notes18.html) if Ichiro was offered big contract extension


"I'd vomit," Buhner said. "I mean, really, no offense. No offense, we've got to get this organization turned around. You can't be spending all the money on one guy."


I 100% agree. This happening with a combination of Felix being traded might be enough to push me over the edge.

Eroop22
07-18-2012, 09:42 AM
Jay Buhner says "I'd vomit" (http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/mariners/2018709473_mariners_notes18.html) if Ichiro was offered big contract extension



I 100% agree. This happening with a combination of Felix being traded might be enough to push me over the edge.

wow it was just a couple years ago that you got all kinds of mad at me for saying Ichiro is an overpaid singles hitter.

webspinnre
07-18-2012, 10:28 AM
Well, at the time, he was still a solid hitter. This year, not so much.

gu03alum
07-18-2012, 10:36 AM
wow it was just a couple years ago that you got all kinds of mad at me for saying Ichiro is an overpaid singles hitter.

Wow, did I? I was probably right then and I'm right now. ;)

I love Ichiro and I loved him when he was good. He is no longer good. He is no longer an overpaid singles hitter. If the Mariners waste money and a roster spot on him after this season it would be a mistake.

Eroop22
07-18-2012, 12:22 PM
I was asking for it. I was never a big fan of Ichiro.

gu03alum
07-24-2012, 01:45 AM
Smoak sent down and Mike Carp up. I hope Smoak gets it figured out in the minors. I wonder if Carp will get the majority of playing time at first. I think it would be good to get Jesus some time at first too.

gu03alum
07-25-2012, 02:01 AM
Great night for baseball last night. The Mariners beat the Yankees. Saunders hit a home run. Felix broke AROD's hand.

Hey Cashman, I think Chone Figgins is available if you need a 3B.

bullzag23
07-25-2012, 03:32 PM
Great night for baseball last night. The Mariners beat the Yankees. Saunders hit a home run. Felix broke AROD's hand.

Hey Cashman, I think Chone Figgins is available if you need a 3B.

I think we'd pay the Yankees to take Figgins at this point.

IrishZagFan
07-25-2012, 03:45 PM
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-lqCcrR-_yqY/UAaISTnUQaI/AAAAAAAABMs/PRGJ2RC-Vzw/s1600/Jesus%2BMontero%2B5.jpg

IrishZagFan
07-25-2012, 03:55 PM
Good daily blog on the Mariners....

Mariners Latest (http://www.marinerslatest.com/)

gu03alum
07-28-2012, 12:05 PM
Thanks IZF. I'll add that to the blogs I check on the M's. I also like USSMariner and Lookoutlanding.

I just watched streaming video of the HOF induction of Dan Wilson and Randy Johnson. It brought back some great memories.

gu03alum
08-15-2012, 01:37 PM
Stop whatever you are doing and turn on the Mariners game

gu03alum
08-15-2012, 01:54 PM
3 more outs.....

TerpZag
08-15-2012, 02:02 PM
Mariners Blog: Game Thread...


Hernandez strikes out Sean Rodriguez to end it, and chaos ensues. First perfecto in Mariners' history, third in MLB this season, most ever. Mariners first team to ever had a perfect game thrown against them, and by them, in same season. In ninth, Felix struck out pinch-hitter Desmond Jennings, got pinch-hitter Jeff Keppinger to strike out, then fell behind Rodriguez 2-0 before dropping in three straight called strikes...



RAYS EIGHTH: If anything, he's getting stronger, striking out the side, all on breaking pitches or changeups. Rays, of course, will have 7, 8 and 9 in the ninth. 10 strikeouts for Hernandez. 24 up, 24 down. Three more outs, and Hernandez reaches baseball immortality. 1-0 Mariners.

RAYS SEVENTH: OK, folks, fasten your seatbelts: 21 up, 21 down. Joe Maddon was ejected arguing a strike call to Matt Joyce. There was a long delay, but Felix was undeterred getting Joyce to ground out on a 3-2 pitch -- just his second 3-ball count.

RAYS SIXTH: No question Felix has the stuff today for immortality. He strikes out the side, 18 up, 18 down.

RAYS FIFTH: This is getting interesting. 15 up, 15 down, and 54 pitches. 1-0 Mariners.

RAYS FOURTH: Hernandez rolls on with another perfect inning. That's 12 up, 12 down,and just 40 pitches through four. He's fanned four. 1-0 Mariners...

Seattle Times Link (http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/marinersblog/)

Eroop22
08-15-2012, 02:03 PM
Perfect game was awesome glad I got to see it.

gu03alum
08-15-2012, 02:12 PM
That was awesome! I got to see the last 4 innings. I'm so glad my dad texted me and that it was the free game on MLB.tv today.

TerpZag
08-15-2012, 02:20 PM
Perfect! Mariners' Felix Hernandez throws perfect game

Felix Hernandez threw a perfect game Wednesday, beating the Tampa Bay Rays, 1-0. Hernandez struck out 12, throwing the 23rd perfect game in Major League Baseball history.


Whenever Felix Hernandez takes the mound, the possibility of seeing something special, of witnessing immortality, is always lurking.

On Wednesday, on a brilliantly sunny day, that possibility became reality, as Hernandez threw the 23rd perfect game in major-league history, and the first in Mariners history.

It was the third perfecto this season, one of which took place in the same venue, as Philip Humber of the White Sox threw a perfect against the Mariners on April 21. The Giants' Matt Cain had a perfect game against the Astros on June 13.

It marks the first time in MLB history three perfect games have been thrown in the same season, and also the first time a team has been victimized by, and thrown, a perfect game in the same season.

The Mariners beat the Rays, 1-0, before 21,889 at Safeco Field to win the series, but that was secondary to Hernandez's historic outing.

Hernandez struck out the side in the sixth, and again in the ninth, as fans in the King's Court section loudly chanted, "Let's Go, Felix." Mariners players, who hung on the dugout railing during Mariners at-bats, were nowhere to be seen when the Mariners were in the field as superstition took over.

In the ninth, pinch-hitter Desmond Jennings fouled off two-strike pitches, then went down swinging. Another pinch-hitter, Jeff Keppinger, grounded out to shortstop Brendan Ryan on a 1-2 pitch. Hernandez went 2-0 on Sean Rodriguez, then struck out Rodriguez for the 27th consecutive out.

Hernandez pointed skyward as teammates rushed out to congratulate him. It was the first perfect game in Mariners history, though Brian Holman came within one out in 1990 before Ken Phelps of Oakland hit a pinch-hit home run. The Mariners have thrown three previous no-hitters, including one against the Dodgers earlier this season in which they used six pitchers on June 8.

The last Seattle pitcher to go the distance on a no-hitter was Chris Bosio on April 22, 1993 against Boston. Randy Johnson threw the first Mariners no-hitter on June 2, 1990, against the Tigers.

Hernandez has flirted with no-hitters before, most notably on April 11, 2007, when he stole the thunder from Daisuke Matsuzaka's Boston debut with a one-hitter at Fenway Park. The only hit he allowed was a single up the middle by J.D. Drew leading off the eighth.

This was Hernandez's fourth shutout this season, including a masterful two-hitter at Yankee Stadium two starts ago. He also had a three-hitter against the Rangers, and a five-hitter against the Red Sox.

For the Rays, it was the third time in their brief history which began in 1998 that they have been the victim of a perfect game. Mark Buehrle of the White Sox threw one against them on July 23, 2009, and Oakland's Dallas Braden threw one on May 9, 2010. They've also had two no-hitters thrown against them, by Boston's Derek Lowe (April 27, 2002) and Arizona's Edwin Jackson (June 25, 2010).

Tampa Bay manager Joe Maddon was ejected with two outs in the seventh by home-plate umpire Rob Drake, arguing a called strike on Matt Joyce. But Hernandez was undeterred by the delay, getting Joyce on a ground out to first on a 3-2 pitch. It was just his second three-ball count of the game...

Seattle Times Article Link (http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/mariners/2018925658_mariners16.html)

zagitarious
08-15-2012, 02:22 PM
: D

gu03alum
08-15-2012, 03:10 PM
http://assets.sbnation.com/assets/1299293/FelixPerfect.gif.opt.gif

courtesy of lookoutlanding (http://www.lookoutlanding.com/2012/8/15/3245666/felix-hernandez-perfect-game-king-mariners#storyjump)

kitzbuel
08-15-2012, 03:15 PM
That was awesome! I got to see the last 4 innings. I'm so glad my dad texted me and that it was the free game on MLB.tv today.

Unfortunately I was still at work.

gu03alum
08-15-2012, 03:29 PM
Unfortunately I was still at work.

That sucks man. I luckily got off early today because I'm only working 8 hour days this week.

webspinnre
08-15-2012, 07:51 PM
I was at Les Mis in SF, so hard to complain that I missed it. If you want to see all 27 outs:

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/gameday/index.jsp?gid=2012_08_15_tbamlb_seamlb_1&mode=recap_home&c_id=sea#gid=2012_08_15_tbamlb_seamlb_1&mode=video

a13coach
08-16-2012, 10:29 AM
They mentioned this on the telecast but I thought it worth repeating.
On June 28th Felix pitched a complete game shutout vs. Boston (1-0) 5 hits
July 14th complete game shutout vs Texas (7-0) 3 hits
Aug 4th complete game shutout vs NYY (1-0) 2 hits
Then last nights 1-0 perfecto!

Now he had many games in between (even 3 losses, all of them by 1 run), his pretty steady climb to this achievement has been building for almost 2 months now. Amazing!!

gu03alum
08-17-2012, 03:29 AM
They mentioned this on the telecast but I thought it worth repeating.
On June 28th Felix pitched a complete game shutout vs. Boston (1-0) 5 hits
July 14th complete game shutout vs Texas (7-0) 3 hits
Aug 4th complete game shutout vs NYY (1-0) 2 hits
Then last nights 1-0 perfecto!

Now he had many games in between (even 3 losses, all of them by 1 run), his pretty steady climb to this achievement has been building for almost 2 months now. Amazing!!

I was at the Yankee game. He was awesome. I enjoyed it so much I stayed in my seat the entire game even though I knew I was getting badly sunburned. It was totally worth it to see one of the best games I have ever seen in person.


Here's a picture being passed around on Twitter:

https://p.twimg.com/A0bSORZCcAAnMyG.jpg

Kiddwell
08-17-2012, 07:21 AM
Kiddwell missed the game, so watched the last 3+ innings on MLB.com's recorded broadcast. Pretty wonderful.

The Mariners have two of three components to be a winner:
(1) Pitching -- check :)
(2) Fielding -- check :)
(3) Hitting -- <sorry, we don't take checks> :o



:]

IrishZagFan
08-21-2012, 01:34 PM
Don't look now, but the Mariners are only 5 games under .500 and are 23 - 13 since the All Star Break. Also 8 - 2 over the last 10, and have won what, 5 in a row?

That's the kiss of death, and you can thank the Irish for it........

P.S. Felix pitches tonight.

Angelo Roncalli
08-21-2012, 03:52 PM
Don't look now, but the Mariners are only 5 games under .500 and are 23 - 13 since the All Star Break. Also 8 - 2 over the last 10, and have won what, 5 in a row?

That's the kiss of death, and you can thank the Irish for it........

P.S. Felix pitches tonight.

6 in a row, but who's counting? :)

Kiddwell
08-22-2012, 08:55 PM
6 in a row, but who's counting? :)

Eight! :000tens:

gu03alum
08-23-2012, 05:53 AM
Playoffs? any chance?

Does this feel like 1995 to anyone?

LongIslandZagFan
08-23-2012, 07:22 AM
Wife and I were in Atlantic City celebrating our 20th... Didn't know about it until next day when we were having some drinks before dinner in the hotel bar. They had Pardon the Interuption on.. But no sound. But what they were discussing, regardless of what they were saying just plain pissed me off. On the list they always have it said Felix Perfect but on the screen as they discussed it they question was were perfect games no longer special. I took out my phone to look up that he had thrown the perfect game. Even of they agreed that theyare still special... They are... By asking the question they were cheapening King Felix achievement.

gu03alum
08-24-2012, 06:56 PM
Did I mention this feels like 95?

Mariners scored 6 runs so far in the 9th to take an 8-7 lead. The inning is still going.

gu03alum
08-24-2012, 07:12 PM
sh!t nevermind

Kiddwell
09-04-2012, 04:42 PM
As of today (pre-game) the Mariners are only four games below .500. Yes, you don't get into the playoffs with a record like that, but they've played quality baseball since the All Star Game. :cheers:

C'mon, M's! Break <and maintain> .500! :boxing:




:]

bullzag23
09-05-2012, 10:05 AM
sh!t nevermind

I had the same thoughts about that game....I was celebrating in the top of the 9th only to be driven to disappointment by that awful ending...