PDA

View Full Version : Osweiler's schedule this weekend



BobZag
07-17-2007, 01:55 PM
Flathead High School schedule:

This Friday--

4:30pm at The Warehouse, Court #2.

Saturday--

9:30am at The Warehouse, Court #3.
11:50am at Gonzaga Prep, Court #1.
4:30pm at Gonzaga Prep, Court #2.

Enjoy!

BobZag
07-20-2007, 04:28 PM
Flathead High School schedule:

This Friday--

4:30pm at The Warehouse, Court #2.

Saturday--

9:30am at The Warehouse, Court #3.
11:50am at Gonzaga Prep, Court #1.
4:30pm at Gonzaga Prep, Court #2.

Enjoy!

Bump. :) For all you who are jonesing for Zag hoops of the future.

ZagNut08
07-20-2007, 06:00 PM
someone should take some video/pics with a camera while they are there

former1dog
07-20-2007, 07:47 PM
Any first hand reports from the game this afternoon?

HillBillyZag
07-20-2007, 08:46 PM
The game was pretty much a mismatch with the Lakeland team outsized and outplayed. I forget the final, I was paying more attention to B.O. then the score. I know the Braves won by more than 20. He had several nice defensive plays in the paint and for a kid thats just going to be a Junior in High School showed great court awareness. For a young man of his size he is very athletic and runs with an effortless grace that would make you think he was dogging it if he did'nt seem to end up in the right place most of the time. The opposition had no player with the size and speed to contest him in most situations . He could have scored at will if it had been necessary, but seemed to concentrate more on his defense, rebounding position and moving without the ball. He seemed to enjoy making the outlet pass and feeding his team mates as much as scoring himself. Seems to be an excellent free throw shooter and very even tempered and low key. I sat with a gentleman who knows the family well and he said that Brock was an excellent student with definite leadreship qualities. As I said the competition was not enough to see the complete package,but IMHO, barring injury or some other unforseen circumstance, by the time he is ready to play at Gonzaga, he may be the pick of the Bulldog litter.

former1dog
07-20-2007, 08:53 PM
Thanks HBZ! Good stuff.

:)

HillBillyZag
07-20-2007, 09:10 PM
Hey,I also talked with a young man who plays soccer for Gonzaga and has watched and even taken part in some of the pick-up games and he says everyone is looking great but the guy that will blow our minds Is "downtown Ira Brown". The kid told me that he has seen Ira at 6'4' stuff Will, Theo, and even Josh a time or two. Young man said everyone raves about Ira and he has a great demeaner and personality and that the players all love him. Said he is sort of like Ronny without the accent. Ha,Ha! Cant wait to see Ira in action.

former1dog
07-20-2007, 09:14 PM
Wow!

I can't wait to see Ira in action.

Ever since his Dad posted in this forum about Ira's work ethic, I've had a good vibe about this young man!

JAGzag
07-21-2007, 02:33 AM
That really has been a consistent theme this of-season - Ira will be the #1 surprise. With what we have coming in/back, that speaks volumes and I can't wait. He sounds like a "spark-plug" off the bench; can you see he and Kuso coming in to pick up the tempo? SWEET!

BobZag
07-21-2007, 09:06 AM
Hey,I also talked with a young man who plays soccer for Gonzaga and has watched and even taken part in some of the pick-up games and he says everyone is looking great but the guy that will blow our minds Is "downtown Ira Brown". The kid told me that he has seen Ira at 6'4' stuff Will, Theo, and even Josh a time or two. Young man said everyone raves about Ira and he has a great demeaner and personality and that the players all love him. Said he is sort of like Ronny without the accent. Ha,Ha! Cant wait to see Ira in action.

Excellent report on Brock, HBZ. Those that see him today have to try and imagine just how dang good he'll be three seasons from now as a frosh at GU.

Ira is "all that." What a find by the staff. He's everything described above, and more. But our three frosh aren't taking abackseat to anyone. Daye is a great shot-maker, Gray looks like a young Ray Allen, and Sacre has the body of a Greek god with skills to match.

It's all very good.

Nevtelen
07-21-2007, 10:01 AM
Hey,I also talked with a young man who plays soccer for Gonzaga and has watched and even taken part in some of the pick-up games and he says everyone is looking great but the guy that will blow our minds Is "downtown Ira Brown". The kid told me that he has seen Ira at 6'4' stuff Will, Theo, and even Josh a time or two. Young man said everyone raves about Ira and he has a great demeaner and personality and that the players all love him. Said he is sort of like Ronny without the accent. Ha,Ha! Cant wait to see Ira in action.

I have no doubt that there will be some great blocks next season with all our shot-blocking talent, but after this report I really really really want to see Ira stuff Samhan. Just to see the look on his face. All the better if it's at K2 and the KC lets him hear about it the rest of the game. I rewatched the St. Mary's game the other night and man I'd love to see us take that guy down a notch or two...

HillBillyZag
07-21-2007, 10:05 AM
Guys, I get soooo excited about the future of G.U. sports I have to pinch myself to see if I'm dreaming. The basketball program with the success that it has had already, the skills of the kids we have coming back, the promise of our incoming players, and the talent of the youngsters that have verbaled down the road makes me confident that the: "NCAA Div1 Basketball Champs" banner will hang proudly over the kennel in the near future. The baseball team came close to winning the WCC and getting a shot at the College World Series, and from what I hear, its just going to improve. The soccer teams taking it to the next level, Our rowers, singles and Crew, are competitive with some of the Nation's best, sophomore linksters winning State amateur Tournaments, other sports getting increased exposure and improved facilities....., the list goes on and on. And through it all, the athletes and students I have been fortunate enough to meet, for the most part, show me that our youngsters still value Faith, Excellence, and "Yes Virginia" Character. What a great time to be a Zag lover!!!

MickMick
07-21-2007, 11:17 AM
Just as a comparison, how was Grant Gibbs percieved as a sophmore or junior? I believe I have read that he blossomed into a 4-star, #17 ranked PG in the span of one summer.

Now considering that players which commit early often don't get as much attention as the undecided kids, the assumption is that they are artificially ranked on the low side.

For those that have seen him play, do you believe that Brock would be considered a top 50 player in his senior year...especially if if he had not committed so early?

HillBillyZag
07-21-2007, 11:55 AM
You know the old adage:"beauty is in the eye of the beholder"? I have seen Brock play in only two games now, neither of which were against a player of his own skills. Another thing I am merely an old fart hoops fan, who played some High School, AAU, and Inter-Service ball and coached CYO kids.. But if you want my PERSONAL observations I will say the odds may be a tad against a top fifty rating for the following reasons:!#1. He plays on a Team, in a Town, and a State, that does not lend itself to a lot of major press exposure. #2. He is athletic, but has that ease of movement that might be construed a slacking until he shows up right in your wheelhouse and stuffs you. #3. He tailors his game according to what they need him to do against a particular opponent..ie: One night they may need him to concentrate of defense, another to put up more shots, and a third game may find him needed to help bring the ball up against presses, traps, & such. In other words he is a TEAM guy and his focus seems to be more on winning than blowing his own horn. And lastly he has verbaled to that little Jesuit School out in the boonies of Washington. Hell, who knows they may actually expect him to him to graduate and other useless things like that?lol. In this fans humble opinion though,I am glad he will be in spokane, He has all of the tools to become a top-50 kid, or with luck, even a burger, boy?, but truth be told he has EXACTLY the equipment to be a great ZAG!

CDC84
07-21-2007, 01:47 PM
"Gray looks like a young Ray Allen."

I agree with this assessment, and I have heard others make it as well. When Gray is operating at his best on the floor, and I have seen game tape where he has, it's like watching a young Ray Allen in terms of his style of play.

Folks, everyone is making a fuss over Austin Daye, and rightly so because he has the makings of being a truly special player, but what the nation generally doesn't realize is how dang good Gray, Brown and Sacre are at this stage in their development. Obviously, these guys will need to prove themselves in high pressure organized basketball games against high level competition in front of a national TV audience, but it's becoming obvious that even with the general acknowledgement that this is GU's finest recruiting class, that these three guys have been underestimated from a national perspective....especially Steven Gray.

I can understand Brown and Sacre because one played at a low level juco and was hardly seen (although no juco player escapes the eyes of assistant coach Leon Rice :)), and the other is a foreign player that only occasionally played on the club basketball circuit here in the U.S., but if you talk to anyone who has any sense of the history of Washington state prep hoops, they'll tell you that Gray is one of the best prospects the state has ever produced at this stage in his development. And what's important to note is that he has a long track record.....he isn't someone that just became very good overnight.

How national recruiting evaluators feel about him no longer matters, of course, because Gray is a Zag and he is on a new course in his development as a player.

JLGutrocks
07-21-2007, 04:46 PM
I believe Gray is the first Player of the Year from the state of Washington.


Pendo, 2004

http://gozags.cstv.com/sports/m-baskbl/mtt/pendergraft_david00.html

Law Zag In Training
07-21-2007, 05:20 PM
BZ says, "Gray looks like a young Ray Allen."
I believe Gray is the first Player of the Year from the state of Washington. .


Erroll Knight was "Mr. Basketball" of the state of Washington which was pretty much the same award. I'm just pointing it out on a slow day. I will always welcome another Washington player of the year.

Edited to Add this Link: http://gozags.cstv.com/sports/m-baskbl/mtt/knight_erroll00.html

HillBillyZag
07-21-2007, 07:37 PM
Whats the deal,the thread was started about B.O. and its turned into a love fest for the frosh. We know what Jeremy, Matt, Pendo, Micah, LG, Kuso & Josh can do, we've seen them in the flesh. I have no doubt that Brown Sacre,Daye, and Gray are all that is claimed and that they will get their chance, but I'm sure that they will have to earn it and I don't think any of those guys that got minutes last season are going to roll over and ride the pine without a fight. I will bet one large Davids Pizza that the depth chart and playing time on this squad will be spread out at least ten deep and perhaps even more.

BobZag
07-22-2007, 08:42 AM
I wouldn't bet against you, HBZ.

Pargo/Gray
*Bouldin/LG
*Downs/Pendo/Daye/Ira
Heytvelt/Theo
Kuso/Sacre/Foster

That's all 13 scholies. * interchangable positions.

Osweiler will help keep the quality depth of bigs on the roster as Josh, Kuso, Ira and others will be gone.

Zag509
07-22-2007, 08:49 AM
Dont forget our boy Sorensen being the cheerleader on the bench, pumping everybody up, adding support, and being one heck of a Zag.


Keep it up kid.

Scotto
07-22-2007, 02:27 PM
Just because he is from Canada, don't think Sacre wasn't highly recruited. His list of schools was impressive, but it was your coaching staff and the words of former players that brought Sacre to the Zags.

MDABE80
07-22-2007, 02:52 PM
I think Robert will surprise everyone. He's got a gentile giant look to him but he said he'll bring us a Final Four and I believe him.

Abe was over at Prep yesterday for the 430 game. 95 degrees in that gym. Those kids looked tired after all those game. Brock included. He's got good speed and is a lock (as far as I'm concerned) even though the Montana Braves lost to the Prep team. Legs of the players on both teams looked shot..........except for one kid by the name of David Stockton. David is about 5 ft 10 and he's only 15 ( I think). This kid will be a very good (if not great) player. He was relentless even though he had ever reason to be tired out. Great speed and terrific ballhandler. Didn't miss from the FT line and hit all his shots. I have a great feeling about this kid. A lot of John in him for a HS player. We'll hear from him as he grows and fills out. He's got an uncanny way of finding seams in the defense and he's not afraid to penetrate and mix it up. Changes direction on a dime. I'll stop the gushing now.

Brock is a special kid. Good passer and feeds his teamates. A bit too much outside ...sorta like out own Josh. But it was a fast paced game and surely fatigue was present from so many games ina short period. He's got a great frame and has those "Michael Cage" type shoulders. We're gonna like this kid a lot. Younger version of Cory Violette with more upside........and I loved Cory's game.

Well......enough of this report. Suffice it to say though....I'm planning on Brock being a major contributor AND Abe's gonna keep an eye on David. He's so good at his young age. It's obvious to me that Dad's been training him and David's been watching Dad's old films.

Best Sunday wishes to all of you. Future's pretty bright.
Abe

23dpg
07-22-2007, 04:30 PM
http://www.brigittab.com/Biopictures/TonySeinfeld.jpg

MDABE80
07-22-2007, 05:31 PM
Haaaaaaaaaa! Good one. Jimmy dribbles good! Jimmy likes burgers!

SammamiZag
07-22-2007, 07:59 PM
I was at every one of Brock's games on Saturday and Sunday - my girlfriend's youngest brother was #10 on the Flathead team (he didn't really get too many minutes, being a freshman), so I was sitting in the section with parents/family. Brock showed a lot of great moves to the basket, obvious physical dominance even though he was fighting through constant double and triple-teams. He was especially good at grabbing rebounds, and followed up on a lot of his own misses. In the semifinal game this morning he fouled out with a couple minutes to go against U-High, but Flathead ended up winning it in OT anyways.

Flathead ended up winning the tournament by beating Bozeman in the championship. It was an exciting weekend and it'll be fun to see Brock in a GU uniform down the road.

Pictures below...

SammamiZag
07-22-2007, 08:15 PM
Sorry for the blurriness - it's the best I could do without unleashing the flash on my camera and annoying everyone.
http://barney.gonzaga.edu/~pbuxton/osweiler.jpg
http://barney.gonzaga.edu/~pbuxton/osweiler2.jpg
Brock is #51

zagster318
07-23-2007, 05:30 AM
Hey,I also talked with a young man who plays soccer for Gonzaga and has watched and even taken part in some of the pick-up games and he says everyone is looking great but the guy that will blow our minds Is "downtown Ira Brown". The kid told me that he has seen Ira at 6'4' stuff Will, Theo, and even Josh a time or two. Young man said everyone raves about Ira and he has a great demeaner and personality and that the players all love him. Said he is sort of like Ronny without the accent. Ha,Ha! Cant wait to see Ira in action.

Given our relative lack of depth in the backcourt, is it feasible to assume that Ira could play the 2, or even the 1?

Nevtelen
07-23-2007, 06:32 AM
I'm glad he's better than perhaps anticipated, but playing the 1 might be stretching it a bit I'd think. His skills seem to be of the athletic variety not necessarily of the court vision/setting up an offense variety. He was a PF in JUCO, too, so he probably doesn't have the necessary experience at that type of position, esp with GUs complicated offense.

BraveZag
07-23-2007, 09:48 AM
BRAVES won it all.
I was not there but I heard the team dominatd the last game.
The tam is going to be strong this year. They play like a team and with Brock a team player it looks good this year for a Championship.

SammamiZag
07-23-2007, 11:55 AM
They won that last game handily, but in most of their games I saw they struggled out of the gate, came back and then put on the afterburners. In the semifinal U-High was up on them by something like 12 or 13 before Flathead settled down and started making baskets. The overtime in that U-High game was fun - U-High turned it over in their backcourt and the Flathead guy scooped up the ball, laid it in for 2, with less than 10 seconds left. Then the defense stepped up and smothered the last attempt, and Flathead squeaked by - all this happening after Brock had fouled out in the second half.