PDA

View Full Version : Selection Sunday Show -- Sunday/3:00 PM (CBS)



Kiddwell
03-08-2012, 08:04 PM
Reminder: Set your DVR. Plus, the post-selection show over on ESPN is also fun to watch/DVR. It's called "Bracketology" -- 4:00 PM (two hours). West Coast times.

Great time of year, great time to be a Zag.

Here's a Selection Sunday prediction: UW makes the cut...unfortunately. Too much pressure on the selection committee to put the PAC-12's regular season Champs in the tourney. :(


:]

Seatown
03-09-2012, 03:22 AM
I think uw gets into a play-in game based on the eye test. I know I wouldn't want to play against all that talent if I was a 5 or 4 seed.

gu03alum
03-09-2012, 04:34 AM
Reminder: Set your DVR. Plus, the post-selection show over on ESPN is also fun to watch/DVR. It's called "Bracketology" -- 4:00 PM (two hours). West Coast times.

Great time of year, great time to be a Zag.

Here's a Selection Sunday prediction: UW makes the cut...unfortunately. Too much pressure on the selection committee to put the PAC-12's regular season Champs in the tourney. :(


:]

Do you think the Bracketology special will be on ESPN3?

Kiddwell
03-09-2012, 07:37 AM
Do you think the Bracketology special will be on ESPN3?

Good question. Don't know the answer to that. Anyone know?

:]

caduceus
03-09-2012, 08:07 AM
Wasn't there supposed to be a show on another cable channel where the committee was going to show the actual S-curve and seeding rationale? Maybe TruTV or TBS? Sounds that that would be much better than the talking heads on ESPN.

awberke
03-09-2012, 08:24 AM
Good question. Don't know the answer to that. Anyone know?

:]

That is a good question, I'm going to try and find out.

I couldn't find out. I hope so.

Goshzagit
03-09-2012, 08:26 AM
The Big East is expected to get 10 teams in once again (sigh).

I have a feeling it'll be the same result, the #1 seed advances and goes far and the rest are left in the 2nd round (at best).

I think Marquette has a shot at Sweet 16, but I bet we'll see 2/10 make the S16 or beyond...

Its pitiful and inexplicably overrated. Its always the "Team of the Year" and then everyone else in that Conference.

Its not a coincidence the winner of the Conference flat-out dominates the rest, every year.

The Big East just doesn't play very good bball, imo. Athletic, fast, tough, but the X & O's are questionable outside the Top-2 and there are 16 teams!

I say besides Syracuse, bring on a Big East opponent! Remember St Johns (#4 team in BE) last year? and Notre Dame (#3 team in BE) this year?

Lunardi has us facing West Virginia in Pittsburgh in Round 1. The geographic disadvantage here is laughable considering WVU's campus is only 70 miles!(1 hr drive) away from Pittsburgh, but any Big LEast team is fine by me. . . we match-up very well with most.

rawkmandale
03-09-2012, 11:03 AM
Don't forget to "spring ahead" on your clocks Saturday night, so you don't miss the selection show.

NotoriousZ
03-09-2012, 12:58 PM
Wasn't there supposed to be a show on another cable channel where the committee was going to show the actual S-curve and seeding rationale? Maybe TruTV or TBS? Sounds that that would be much better than the talking heads on ESPN.

I would love to watch this. Especially if UW makes it...I want to know who the first team out was who got the shaft. I would also like to hear the "explination" of how UW got in if they do indeed make it. And obviously I'd like to see how they picked us to go wherever we end up.

So...what channel will this be on? I tried the search function, but couldn't find it.

Kiddwell
03-09-2012, 01:07 PM
I would love to watch this. Especially if UW makes it...I want to know who the first team out was who got the shaft. I would also like to hear the "explination" of how UW got in if they do indeed make it. And obviously I'd like to see how they picked us to go wherever we end up.

So...what channel will this be on? I tried the search function, but couldn't find it.

Your local CBS affiliate. If memory serves, that's Channel 6 in Portland, Channel 2 in LA and...I dunno the rest. :p

:]

bullzag23
03-09-2012, 02:12 PM
I think uw gets into a play-in game based on the eye test. I know I wouldn't want to play against all that talent if I was a 5 or 4 seed.

If UW gets in and has to play against a team that plays a structured style(similar to GU) then they will struggle. If they play anything like they did in the Pac-12 tourney then they wouldn't make it past the play in game.

caduceus
03-09-2012, 03:16 PM
Ahh, found it. Posted earlier by Reno (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showpost.php?p=767289&postcount=42).


But this year, the NCAA is offering a methadone chaser for bracketology addicts. Immediately following the selection show, the highest-ranking members of the Selection Committee will spend an hour breaking down why the bracket looks the way it does.

Airing on truTV, Jeff Hathaway and Mike Bobinski will attempt to justify the committee's selections, rather than leave it to the pundits' best guesses. That entails giving concrete reasons for why each bubble team made it in or was left out. And even better, for the first time ever, the NCAA will reveal the complete seed list, ranking every team in the tournament from 1 through 68.

Jakester425
03-11-2012, 10:55 AM
Do you think the Bracketology special will be on ESPN3?

If its not you can watch it here.

http://www.firstrowsports.eu/sport/basketball.html

gu03alum
03-11-2012, 11:08 AM
If its not you can watch it here.

http://www.firstrowsports.eu/sport/basketball.html

thanks

Coach Crazy
03-11-2012, 11:12 AM
Reminder: Set your DVR. Plus, the post-selection show over on ESPN is also fun to watch/DVR. It's called "Bracketology" -- 4:00 PM (two hours). West Coast times.

Great time of year, great time to be a Zag.

Here's a Selection Sunday prediction: UW makes the cut...unfortunately. Too much pressure on the selection committee to put the PAC-12's regular season Champs in the tourney. :(


:]

The Bonnies are gonna hang on to beat Xavier. Don't see how UW makes the cut with their resume' even before this game, but now it they shouldn't even be on the bubble. NIT-bound Huskies '12.

RenoZag
03-11-2012, 12:29 PM
If the Huskies don't make it, it would be the first time a regular season champ from a "power conference" (who lost in their post-season conference tourney ) didn't make the Big Dance.

Does the committee have the gonads to establish a new precedent ?

And if they snub UW and the put those pieces of garbage from Seton Hall in. . .the howls from the Huskyville will reach from the shores of Lake Washington to Post Falls.

Reborn
03-11-2012, 12:34 PM
Ahh, found it. Posted earlier by Reno (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showpost.php?p=767289&postcount=42).

My question is, "Will Gonzaga be treated any different than North Carolina, Duke, Kansas and Kentucky?" These teams all failed to win the conference tournaments too. I get the feeling from watching Lundardi's brackets that Gonzaga is once again being punished for what? No! I think this year will be different. GU will not get an 8 or 9 seed as Lunardi predicts. GU has no bad losses. Teams who are historically given the 8 and 9 slots do have "bad losses."

Personally, I don't think that winning the conference tournament is as big a deal as some think. You have teams in the conference tournaments that are more motivated to win the games in the tournament then others are. I think that part of the reason that all of the above teams lost in their conference finals or semis is that they were not as motivated.

Coach Crazy
03-11-2012, 12:35 PM
If the Huskies don't make it, it would be the first time a regular season champ from a "power conference" (who lost in their post-season conference tourney ) didn't make the Big Dance.

Does the committee have the gonads to establish a new precedent ?

And if they snub UW and the put those pieces of garbage from Seton Hall in. . .the howls from the Huskyville will reach from the shores of Lake Washington to Post Falls.

A power conference has never been this bad. Ranked 10th in RPI...AND...an RPI of 70 with barely over 21 wins. That's pathetic.

RenoZag
03-11-2012, 12:38 PM
I'm not defending the Pac 12. . .agree they suck.

Oregonzagnut
03-11-2012, 01:11 PM
I'm not defending the Pac 12. . .agree they suck.

IMO, the fact that every team is "less than top 25" implies a disease within their entire conference. I am not sure if it is because more of the top recruits are not choosing Pac-12 schools or if it is a wave of complacency or a lack of discipline/accountability across the board. Maybe it is just a legitimate natural cycle.

Also this "slide" coincides with adding 2 schools to the Pac-10. Coincidence maybe. If the other schools trend towards running a program as Howland did, I can see why the Pac 12 is down. But maybe Howland was just a symptom , not a cause.

Section 116
03-11-2012, 01:24 PM
TruTv from 4-5pm PDT will have the talking heads of CBS. TruTV HD is comcast channel 705. TruTv non HD is Comcast 49. ESPN will have a 2 hour bracketology special from 4-6pm PDT.

VinnyZag
03-11-2012, 01:31 PM
By their own criteria, all the noise about UW being the first big conference regular season winner to miss shouldn't matter to the committee. One thing is certain, though: either way, UW will be one of those teams that everybody talks about during and immediately after the selection show.

Just occurred to me that MSU winning, and presumably locking up a 1 seed, is bad for GU. If we're an 8, we're probably now looking at Kentucky, North Carolina or Syracuse in a possible round two matchup. Those are the only three teams I think we have no chance of beating.

Zag@LMU
03-11-2012, 01:42 PM
By their own criteria, all the noise about UW being the first big conference regular season winner to miss shouldn't matter to the committee. One thing is certain, though: either way, UW will be one of those teams that everybody talks about during and immediately after the selection show.

Just occurred to me that MSU winning, and presumably locking up a 1 seed, is bad for GU. If we're an 8, we're probably now looking at Kentucky, North Carolina or Syracuse in a possible round two matchup. Those are the only three teams I think we have no chance of beating.
So you don't think we could beat cincy, vandy, or Florida state? Because they all beat those teams.

bballbeachbum
03-11-2012, 01:59 PM
So you don't think we could beat cincy, vandy, or Florida state? Because they all beat those teams.

anything's possible, I really do believe that, and we can point to any number of recent examples that backs that up.

of those 3 you mention, Florida St. seems one tough matchup (they all do) BUT if GU is making it's open shots consistently, along with competing well in the areas they have competed well in this year, flaws and all, then anything's possible

the 3 point shot is the great weapon, and GU has it in it's quiver. Got to nail bullseyes, and then who knows

VinnyZag
03-11-2012, 02:01 PM
So you don't think we could beat cincy, vandy, or Florida state? Because they all beat those teams.

It's true, nobody went undefeated this year.

caduceus
03-11-2012, 02:03 PM
Kentucky - South
Syracuse - East
UNC - Midwest
Mich St. - West

tobizag
03-11-2012, 02:08 PM
that map of the tourney sites is an embarrassment. all clustered out east, with portland the only site within 2,000 miles of anyone in the west.

zag buddy
03-11-2012, 02:09 PM
So much for our number 1 seed

VinnyZag
03-11-2012, 02:09 PM
Yay, dodged Kentucky.

VinnyZag
03-11-2012, 02:12 PM
South region is brutal.

MJ777
03-11-2012, 02:15 PM
Did Seth Davis just say So Dakota State would beat Baylor?

gu03alum
03-11-2012, 02:15 PM
that map of the tourney sites is an embarrassment. all clustered out east, with portland the only site within 2,000 miles of anyone in the west.

Yeah, how is the sport going to grow out west if its not played out west.

spike_jr
03-11-2012, 02:15 PM
X as a 10 seed... interesting....

awberke
03-11-2012, 02:15 PM
Xavier as a ten seed? I don't know about that.

MDABE80
03-11-2012, 02:16 PM
We'll be an 8 seed..win the first game then face a 1 seed. Oh well...we've been down this road before........I hope I'm wrong...

Baldwinzag
03-11-2012, 02:16 PM
Lunardi actually predicted UConn & Iowa St would play each other and same with Xavier & Notre Dame...he's actually nailed a couple MATCH-UPS this year. wow. Seeding is a bit off.

caduceus
03-11-2012, 02:20 PM
Looks like BYU gets to play some Gaels again. (for 14 seed? wow).

gu03alum
03-11-2012, 02:20 PM
BYU got a decent draw.

VinnyZag
03-11-2012, 02:22 PM
Looks like BYU gets to play some Gaels again. (for 14 seed? wow).

Yeah, stunned. Thought they'd be a 12.

Zaglaw
03-11-2012, 02:22 PM
If BYU is playing for a 14 seed, I would think that doesn't bode well for our seeding.

jazzdelmar
03-11-2012, 02:23 PM
iona-byu might be best gm on the board.

jazzdelmar
03-11-2012, 02:23 PM
this nimrods are talking abt elite 8 matchups. they still dont get it.

VinnyZag
03-11-2012, 02:24 PM
There are going to be some barn-burner second round games.

spike_jr
03-11-2012, 02:25 PM
and should byu survive the first week, they get to play out west. neither smc or gu will have that luxury should they get that far. kind of bs......

Blitzing-Zag
03-11-2012, 02:25 PM
I really don't want to face a number seed right away if we get past our first round game........

caduceus
03-11-2012, 02:27 PM
Zags 7 Seed vs. WVa in Pittsburgh. Hmm.

Zaglaw
03-11-2012, 02:28 PM
Wow! we did hang in at 7!

tobizag
03-11-2012, 02:28 PM
####ing bull####. repeat of 2008.

gu03alum
03-11-2012, 02:28 PM
Home game for west virginia, I'm fing pissed.

RenoZag
03-11-2012, 02:28 PM
West Virginia. . .Huggy Bear & the Boys

ZagLawGrad
03-11-2012, 02:28 PM
Somebody turn out lights.

MedZag
03-11-2012, 02:29 PM
Ohio St for game 2. Ouch.

Jakester425
03-11-2012, 02:29 PM
We got Davidson'ed again! Unbelievable!

Blitzing-Zag
03-11-2012, 02:29 PM
I feel like we have been in this exact scenario before........a home game for our opponent.

ZagLawGrad
03-11-2012, 02:29 PM
Home game for west virginia, I'm fing pissed.

No surprise. That's what you get when you don't take care of business.

spike_jr
03-11-2012, 02:30 PM
we are awarded with a 7.... and get to play WVU in their back yard... AWESOME. Greg already has us going down!

VinnyZag
03-11-2012, 02:30 PM
Greg Anthony: West Virginia could be a tough matchup for Syracuse.

bballbeachbum
03-11-2012, 02:30 PM
Home game for west virginia, I'm fing pissed.

WVA earned a site 70 miles from home evidently, because ???

whatever

freakin' kick their #$%E$#

bballbeachbum
03-11-2012, 02:31 PM
No surprise. That's what you get when you don't take care of business.

true, and WVA took care of their business exactly how?

CaliforniaZaggin'
03-11-2012, 02:31 PM
Somebody turn out lights.

Boo.

Jazzgirl_127
03-11-2012, 02:31 PM
Have they announced what time the Zags game is? I'm trying to buy tickets quick before all the WVU fans get them.

caduceus
03-11-2012, 02:32 PM
http://i.imgur.com/2pG0Q.jpg (http://imgur.com/2pG0Q)

awberke
03-11-2012, 02:32 PM
How nice for West Virginia, who wants to be a one seed when you can be a 10 and play down the street. WTF

tobizag
03-11-2012, 02:32 PM
true, and WVA took care of their business exactly how?

this. perhaps we didn't take care of business because we lost an overtime game to a top 20 team...... but west virginia is a 10 and gets to play 73 miles from campus. WTF

MDABE80
03-11-2012, 02:33 PM
A no 7...well we can beat WVU...if we face Ohio St...next Sunday we'll be watching TV to see how everyone else is doing.
Pittsburgh...........good town...I guess the boys best be getting on that rented plane.
Long way away.

wiszag
03-11-2012, 02:33 PM
That is ridiculous. The good part is GU has defeated Huggy in the past. I hope he sticks around for the entire game this time.

VinnyZag
03-11-2012, 02:33 PM
West Virginia has won 4 of their last 12.

tinfoilzag
03-11-2012, 02:33 PM
I-79 N - 73.9 mi, 1 hour 32 mins

This would be like making them play us in Pullman.

kitzbuel
03-11-2012, 02:34 PM
Home game for west virginia, I'm fing pissed.
The good news is we are not playing in Morgantown....I guess.... Maybe not. They can probably get more fans in the arena at P'burg than WVU.

Ok. So the only good news is they are close enough for me to drive there for a day.

ZagLawGrad
03-11-2012, 02:34 PM
Boo.

C'mon CZ, don't be too big a homer on this one :D

75Zag
03-11-2012, 02:34 PM
Tons of tickets available. Full strips at 300 or less.

applezag
03-11-2012, 02:35 PM
Can't get too mad about the location when I think back to '99 (10 seed in Seattle vs. Minnesota). Don't know if GU is in this tournament if that didn't happen all those years ago.

gu03alum
03-11-2012, 02:36 PM
The good news is we are not playing in Morgantown....I guess.... Maybe not. They can probably get more fans in the arena at P'burg than WVU.

Ok. So the only good news is they are close enough for me to drive there for a day.

I'm going to see if I can get tickets too so at least there might be 2 GU fans there.

spike_jr
03-11-2012, 02:37 PM
A no 7...well we can beat WVU...if we face Ohio St...next Sunday we'll be watching TV to see how everyone else is doing.
Pittsburgh...........good town...I guess the boys best be getting on that rented plane.
Long way away.

I dont think we have to use our plane. The NCAA will reach into the misc cash drawer and charter a plane.

caduceus
03-11-2012, 02:37 PM
SMC a 7 playing Purdue.

VinnyZag
03-11-2012, 02:38 PM
No, the good news is that West Virginia isn't very good.

zagamatic
03-11-2012, 02:39 PM
Before I decide on our chances against WVU, I wanna know what time of day we play. Early game against a lower ranked home team (which is crap) I think we're done. However, if it's a late game, we've got a pretty good shot. And considering I've had a feeling all week that we'd be playing Ohio State, I'm goin with my gut. Btw, I like our chance against Ohio State better than any other team seeded 3rd or higher.

RenoZag
03-11-2012, 02:39 PM
Drexel got hosed

cjm720
03-11-2012, 02:40 PM
Greg Anthony: West Virginia could be a tough matchup for Syracuse.

OSU

This is just like the Davidson matchup. Complete bull####...but could be a good story for us. Win

BobZag
03-11-2012, 02:40 PM
I feel Creighton got jobbed a bit. 8 seed?

Zags and Gaels both 7 seeds, way better than any Pac-12 team.

kitzbuel
03-11-2012, 02:40 PM
Tons of tickets available. Full strips at 300 or less.
Call the school ticket office. They will have tix.

Section 116
03-11-2012, 02:42 PM
SMC is pretty much like us. If they do beat Purdue they get to face Kansas in the second round. Kansas is 3 1/2 hours from Omaha, Doesn't matter, you have to play top teams at some point. Anyone can bet anyone, except maybe a 16 over a 1.

awberke
03-11-2012, 02:42 PM
Sorry UW.

caduceus
03-11-2012, 02:42 PM
11 teams from non-power conferences. Pretty good this year, mostly thanks to the Pac 10.2 being an embarrassment.

awberke
03-11-2012, 02:45 PM
SMC is pretty much like us. If they do beat Purdue they get to face Kansas in the second round. Kansas is 3 1/2 hours from Omaha, Doesn't matter, you have to play top teams at some point. Anyone can bet anyone, except maybe a 16 over a 1.

Kansas is a 2 not a 10. The higher seed gets the advantage?

wiszag
03-11-2012, 02:47 PM
I can't believe UW's out of conference schedule wasn't enough to get them in. How is playing that national schedule working out?

RenoZag
03-11-2012, 02:50 PM
If the Huskies don't make it, it would be the first time a regular season champ from a "power conference" (who lost in their post-season conference tourney ) didn't make the Big Dance.

Does the committee have the gonads to establish a new precedent ?

And if they snub UW and the put those pieces of garbage from Seton Hall in. . .the howls from the Huskyville will reach from the shores of Lake Washington to Post Falls.

Well, we got the precedent setter !!

caduceus
03-11-2012, 02:50 PM
http://www.cbssports.com/collegebasketball/ncaa-tournament/brackets/viewable_men

Coach Crazy
03-11-2012, 02:50 PM
Sorry UW.

Personally, I am quite content watching the meltdown in Romarville. The only sorry I would have for them is of the condescending variety.

MDABE80
03-11-2012, 02:51 PM
Ive been curious about how we might do against an Ohio St...how we might play against their bigs...If we beat WVU.........we'll find out.

My goodness those sites are far away from the West.........
big disadvantage for the Western teams. UW........shameful. I bet they're just sick about not making it. NIT likely...breaks a string for them. Such talent and nothing for them. I kinda wonder when they might wake up. The new AD will be backing up Romar...good man, great recuiter and salesman...not so good as a coach.

We do have our own work cut out for us. Go Zags!!! Laugh all you will, after analysis, we actually could make it tough for OHSt.

Jazzgirl_127
03-11-2012, 02:53 PM
Call the school ticket office. They will have tix.

I'm not an alum, will they still sell them to me?

gamagin
03-11-2012, 02:57 PM
shudda got the nod over Cal because they won the Pac 12 (even though they lost to Cal). His only example of what he seemed to consider a bad call.

Another talking head said it was his opinion that the winner of each conference should get the auto bid, versus the winner of the conference tourney. I agree, fwiw.

jazzdelmar
03-11-2012, 02:58 PM
wvu a winnable game. few will get to outcoach someone. huggie is dreadful. his team plays on instinct.

caduceus
03-11-2012, 03:01 PM
NCAA Hardcore Brackets is on right now on TruTV. Showing the 1-68 S-curve for the first time. Should be interesting.

gu03alum
03-11-2012, 03:05 PM
I just called the ticket office and no one answered. There appears to be nothing about NCAA tickets on gozags.com.

caduceus
03-11-2012, 03:08 PM
Per Bracket Show, OSU is the 2nd weakest 2 seed (7th overall).

caduceus
03-11-2012, 03:10 PM
Gonzaga was 27th overall, 3rd 7-seed on the S-curve. St. Mary's was 26th overall.

Section 116
03-11-2012, 03:11 PM
Overall seeds from TruTv: SMC-26; GU-27

LynetteG
03-11-2012, 03:13 PM
i can't believe uw's out of conference schedule wasn't enough to get them in. How is playing that national schedule working out?

lmfao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

caduceus
03-11-2012, 03:14 PM
They also said that Florida and St. Mary's had to be swapped in the brackets to fulfill a rule (which they didn't specify).

Edit: I'm sure it's because of the BYU play-in in the West. Can't be in the same region.

gu03alum
03-11-2012, 03:14 PM
lmfao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lpshyvlEMU1qh98ol.gif

caduceus
03-11-2012, 03:20 PM
West Virginia was the 2nd 10 seed (#38), Purdue the top 10 seed (#37). Overall a favorable draw, except for the location.

LynetteG
03-11-2012, 03:22 PM
http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lpshyvlEMU1qh98ol.gif

ah ah ah, i work out....

Kiddwell
03-11-2012, 03:29 PM
Aren't West Virginia and Pittsburgh heated rivals? If so, doesn't that bode well for the Zags--that is, a lot of local fans "hating on" West Virginie by rooting for the Zags? :pray:

:]

Jazzgirl_127
03-11-2012, 03:34 PM
Aren't West Virginia and Pittsburgh heated rivals? If so, doesn't that bode well for the Zags--that is, a lot of local fans "hating on" West Virginie by rooting for the Zags? :pray:

:]

Yes, Pitt fans and WVU are rivals....but I think most of the Pitt fans put their all session NCAA tickets up on Craigslist the day that they were knocked out of the Big East tournament.

FWIW, I remember a bunch of people here getting on the Zags bandwagon during their early tourney runs '99 and '00 ...I'm not sure if that will still hold true or for that matter how many people bought tickets that weren't Pitt fans who assumed they'd be playing.

gu03alum
03-11-2012, 03:41 PM
I work with a lot of people from Pittsburgh and they all seem to follow whoever is good at that point in time. They follow Penn State football when good, Pitt basketball when good, and they also talk fondly of West Virginia. I think they will be more than happy to root for West Virginia.