PDA

View Full Version : Honest Question For Posters- Re. Mike Hart

theothegreat21
03-06-2012, 09:19 AM
I have seen it mentioned by a handful of posters on this site that people wish Mike Hart would shoot more or get more playing time. I guess I am wondering what the basis is for this belief. I'm no rocket scientist, but why on earth do people on this site continue to want to make Mike something he isn't?

Mike is shooting 12.5% from behind the three-point line this season and barely over 40% from the field. This is pretty staggering when you realize most of his attempts are from within five feet. Have none of us learned that just because someone lights it up during the summer (hello Ira Brown and Demetri Goodson) that in no way translates to the actual games.

Instead of throwing unrealistic expectations on this kid, and not even noticing the growth that Guy Landry-Edi has made in such a short time, can we just accept that Mike is a great hustle player who is best-served playing 5-10 minutes a game with great energy?

BobZag
03-06-2012, 09:25 AM
He is effective in short spurts, to shake up things a bit and provide energy. To me, that should be his role. Very situational. In smallish doses he helps, but 4 on 5 on offense is something I'm weary of after Meech.

Gonswagga
03-06-2012, 09:26 AM
I think the big gripe that in those 5-10 minutes he has open looks from 10-20 feet and still would rather dribble out and get the ball out of his hands. We all know Hart isn't the number one offensive option but I think most people would rather like to see a shot with maybe a put back rather than forcing our guards to make something out of a 8 second shot clock.

Oregonzagnut
03-06-2012, 09:29 AM
Because if defenses are going to leave him open and challenge him to shoot, then he should shoot. This is basketball. Put the ball in the bucket. Him not being any sort of threat, even in the paint, is an issue that puts more pressure on our offense and limits the entire O.