PDA

View Full Version : If I'm Saint Mary's I'm wondering how I have a chance at winning tomorrow



Zag@LMU
03-04-2012, 09:32 PM
Holt is out, Pangos like the Orleans hoops apparently, and it will essentially be a home game with the fan proportions. If we play our game, SMC will be hard pressed to keep it within 15.

zagitarious
03-04-2012, 09:37 PM
Don't jynx it!

Zag@LMU
03-04-2012, 09:39 PM
Don't jynx it!

I'm sure there's a Gael who thinks the same about our chances somewhere :)

upan8th
03-04-2012, 11:39 PM
My mamma tol me not to say things like this, but I'll say it ennyway (since she's gone to her rest and peace lo these many years). HAVE YOU LOST YOUR F@!#@!! MIND?

Oregonzagnut
03-04-2012, 11:46 PM
I think Tonya Harding was in a similar situation in 1994.

raise the zag
03-05-2012, 12:57 AM
agree with the premise, yet you're forgetting Gary Bell's injury...who was limping around MB today...hip sprain. Surprised no mention of this on the board. GBJ is nursing an injury following BYU game which could neutralize their loss of Holt.

Oregonzagnut
03-05-2012, 01:03 AM
agree with the premise, yet you're forgetting Gary Bell's injury...who was limping around MB today...hip sprain. Surprised no mention of this on the board. GBJ is nursing an injury following BYU game which could neutralize their loss of Holt.

Uh, yeah! If there is no mention of it here then it is probably because people here don't know or didn't think it was an issue.

Is it officially "an injury"? Is he day to day?

raise the zag
03-05-2012, 01:11 AM
Uh, yeah! If there is no mention of it here then it is probably because people here don't know or didn't think it was an issue.

Is it officially "an injury"? Is he day to day?

I dunno and don't want to speculate, yet saw GBJ at Mandalay Bay around 9pm tonight and he was walking with a limp...

My "hip sprain" diagnosis was an assumption based on last night when he was holding his hip and stretching his leg...

Its definitely/evidently effecting him, yet who knows how much...I have a feeling he'll play. Maybe he just needs to keep it warm and loose...

Zagger
03-05-2012, 04:01 AM
Only chance SM has is if the Zags can't shoot AND give up on defense. In other words - if the Zags don't show up for the game. What I think will character the game a bit though is foul trouble for both teams. Bench members are going to have to step it up. Oh yeah, and the Zags are going to need some glue on the old fingers. Still - I think Few & team will wear SM out and win by 10+.

titopoet
03-05-2012, 04:28 AM
GU just blew out BYU, but SMC did that twice. I think that both teams are going to games tough.
I think that it is going to be hard fought game. Look at the matchup of Harris vs. Jones, what wrinkles we throw at Delly, and what wrinkles they throw at Pangos and finally the difference will be Sacre. If he comes to play, then he can put GU over the humps.

jbslicer
03-05-2012, 05:20 AM
Stupid question, of course they have a chance.

Pargo the Destroyer
03-05-2012, 06:02 AM
eff the Gaels.

BULLDOG#1
03-05-2012, 07:38 AM
This thread isn't giving the Gaels nearly the respect they deserve. Yep, they're banged up and without Holt.

But they were banged up and without Holt when they went into SF and took the conference outright -- something we couldn't do at full strength.

Bruised or not, the Gaels are a handful. Delly, Jones, even Waldow are capable of taking the game over. Steindle could break the whole game open with his shooting.

I think the zags will win this one, especially with Pango's hot hand in vegas, but it wouldn't shock me if the Gaels pulled it out...

VanillaGorilla
03-05-2012, 07:40 AM
You are confusing a limp for his mad swag

FlyZag
03-05-2012, 07:43 AM
+1 Bulldog

I am certain the Gaels will give us their best effort. Holt or no Holt, they will be a tough out. I remind you that without Holt they went to Portland and blew the Pilots out. Something we didn't do at 100% health. Then 2 days later went to USF and won @ WMG... again something we didn't do. Not having Holt will certainly impact them, but not nearly as much as you might think. They are a smart team, are well coached and have the WCC player of the year running the show. Lets not forget Rob Jones averaged a double double this year.

Go Zags!

hondo
03-05-2012, 07:51 AM
ZAG@LMU you need to review a few things. Check the box score from the Zag game at Moraga Jan. 12, 2012. Then check the box score fro the WCC championship game 2 years ago. If that is not enough check the box score from the Zags home game vs St. Mary's in 2011. When the Gaels are on they are a damn good team. Our problem is that when they play us they are really on most of the time regardless of who they suit up.

U Zig, I Zag
03-05-2012, 07:57 AM
Gotta give credit where credit is due: SMC can win this one, easily. This Zags team has been two-faced in many aspects.

Saving graces:
Holt is out, SMC players might be a little worn.
Pangos found a place other than the Kennel where he can shoot.
The Orleans is a home away from home in some aspects, the crowd will be pro-GU

Unknown:
Will Rob step up and play BIG?
GBJ's hip?

bballbeachbum
03-05-2012, 08:04 AM
I believe that they believe they can win

but I'm with Pargo the Destroyer!!!

Zag@LMU
03-05-2012, 08:04 AM
ZAG@LMU you need to review a few things. Check the box score from the Zag game at Moraga Jan. 12, 2012. Then check the box score fro the WCC championship game 2 years ago. If that is not enough check the box score from the Zags home game vs St. Mary's in 2011. When the Gaels are on they are a damn good team. Our problem is that when they play us they are really on most of the time regardless of who they suit up.

Trust me im familiar with those games, my belief still stands. Maybe its you who needs to review the box scores from the February game in Spokane, last years WCC tournament game, and the box scores from both of our league victories in 2009.

Oregon Zag
03-05-2012, 08:08 AM
I don't think there's any question that Pangos will be double-teamed. That leaves someone else open. GBJ? I, too, think Rob is going to be a deciding factor in this game and if Guy Landry has another game like the last one, we can hang in there. This will not be a runaway by any means. It's going to be close. Go Zags!

former1dog
03-05-2012, 08:14 AM
Zags@LMU,

I think your post is what is called "bulletin board material".

I'm feeling somewhat confident that GU is going to win this game, but your notion borders on disrespecting a very good team WHO IS capable of beating GU. In fact, this exact crew has come up with 3 wins against GU in just the last 2 seasons. You're being too cocky and as far as I know, you don't suit up.

Karma can be a ##### and I don't believe in tempting fate.

Zag@LMU
03-05-2012, 08:19 AM
Zags@LMU,

I think your post is what is called "bulletin board material".

I'm feeling somewhat confident that GU is going to win this game, but your notion borders on disrespecting a very good team WHO IS capable of beating GU. In fact, this exact crew has come up with 3 wins against GU in just the last 2 seasons. You're being too cocky and as far as I know, you don't suit up.Where did I say anything even borderline disrespectful to Saint Marys? Is it not conceivable that we win by 15 or more if we play our A game just as we did against BYU? Sure they could beat us, any team can win on any night, but there is a reason we are the favorites, and getting over 80% of betting action on us ATS not just moneyline.

If this is bulletin board material and Dellavedova wants to personally print my post out and show it to all of his teammates then I have no fears about our guys' abilities to back it up.

bullzag23
03-05-2012, 08:19 AM
Zags@LMU,

I think your post is what is called "bulletin board material".

I'm feeling somewhat confident that GU is going to win this game, but your notion borders on disrespecting a very good team WHO IS capable of beating GU. In fact, this exact crew has come up with 3 wins against GU in just the last 2 seasons. You're being too cocky and as far as I know, you don't suit up.

Karma can be a ##### and I don't believe in tempting fate.

3 wins the last 2 seasons? I count 1 last year, and 1 this year.....

willandi
03-05-2012, 08:19 AM
I like the Tonya Harding reference. The question becomes which knee of which player? My vote is for ...

former1dog
03-05-2012, 08:26 AM
3 wins the last 2 seasons? I count 1 last year, and 1 this year.....

My bad, 3 wins in 3 seasons.

3-3 in the last 6 games.

gu03alum
03-05-2012, 08:33 AM
Bulletin Board material? Really?

Do you really think that Saint Mary's is reading the Gonzaga message board and using that as motivation for the game? I hope that is true because it would be pretty pathetic in my opinion and I would feel pretty good about Gonzaga's chances. I will never understand the fans that think they have some kind of effect on the outcome of a game. Fans cannot jinx a game. Players at this level don't need to create motivation from another school's message board.

MJGoGaels
03-05-2012, 08:36 AM
ZAG@LMU you need to review a few things. Check the box score from the Zag game at Moraga Jan. 12, 2012. Then check the box score fro the WCC championship game 2 years ago. If that is not enough check the box score from the Zags home game vs St. Mary's in 2011. When the Gaels are on they are a damn good team. Our problem is that when they play us they are really on most of the time regardless of who they suit up.

Hondo, you always bring balance. The odd stat in the January 2012 game in Moraga was Jones scored 2 points - monster boards and assists, but only 2 points. Further in Spokane only had 8 pts and 7 rebounds. http://www.smcgaels.com/ViewContent.dbml?CONTENT_ID=184970&DB_OEM_ID=21400#GAME.BOX I guess most believe or contend he won't be a major factor in the outcome. He didn't have a very good game at all with early foul trouble in last year's WCC tournament final. I have the belief he'll be different tonight in his statistical contribution

If you keep the Gaels under 65 points or under under 48% shooting - it's the Zags advantage, which is why I am wondering most on this board are giving the points and taking the OVER on the total score. There's an unbelievable running stat that when the Gaels score over 71 they have only lost a handful of times over that last 4 years.- I wish I could find a current update to that stat which used to be featured in the Gael Game Notes. I looked at the last six meetings and low and behold it's even - 3-3, figuring we can't look back any further (well you can but so what), because only a couple of players were on the rosters of either team. So this is a big game. It's a rubber match for the year and over the last 6 meetings.

Crowd thought - Zag do represent and travel better than anybody else. I just wondering if the Gaels benefit from the other 7 team fans there tonight who might tend to pull for Saint Mary's? I do recall that home crowd advantage slip as the balance of the crowd started pulling for the Gaels in 2010.

Just a few thoughts. It should be another Instant Classic on ESPN. I toast good health to all my friends. Enjoy the experience. It's what we all have anticipated for the last 11 months. Great Days indeed. MJ

former1dog
03-05-2012, 08:37 AM
Bulletin Board material? Really?

Do you really think that Saint Mary's is reading the Gonzaga message board and using that as motivation for the game? I hope that is true because it would be pretty pathetic in my opinion and I would feel pretty good about Gonzaga's chances. I will never understand the fans that think they have some kind of effect on the outcome of a game. Fans cannot jinx a game. Players at this level don't need to create motivation from another school's message board.

Of course not, don't be silly.

But, if a player or coach said it, yes it would be bulletin board material.

I also don't like disrespecting a team (and the fanbase of said team) when they (a) do have a really good team and (b) that team has beaten our team (recently and badly).

gamagin
03-05-2012, 08:37 AM
Uh, yeah! If there is no mention of it here then it is probably because people here don't know or didn't think it was an issue.

Is it officially "an injury"? Is he day to day?

they both were running retrieve a pass from the corner. I think GBj got a knee to the spot. I think GBj was out of position at the time, but not positive.

Zag@LMU
03-05-2012, 08:37 AM
RE: Crowd

Other important thing to remember is that this year there was on off day on Sunday so a lot of the losing team fans were likely to go back home instead of staying, unlike when there was not an off day between the semis and the finals. I think that should favor GU slightly.

zag944
03-05-2012, 08:46 AM
This thread isn't giving the Gaels nearly the respect they deserve.

seriously. I just checked the line in the seattle times and the game is a 'pick em'.

I think we will win and all, but Id hardly be shocked with any result within 15 points either way.

gamagin
03-05-2012, 08:47 AM
ZAG@LMU you need to review a few things. Check the box score from the Zag game at Moraga Jan. 12, 2012. Then check the box score fro the WCC championship game 2 years ago. If that is not enough check the box score from the Zags home game vs St. Mary's in 2011. When the Gaels are on they are a damn good team. Our problem is that when they play us they are really on most of the time regardless of who they suit up.

A thought, any thought, is not ALWAYS grist for yet another new thread.

Coptrdr
03-05-2012, 09:08 AM
I like the Tonya Harding reference. The question becomes which knee of which player? My vote is for ...

Can't just leave the Tonya thing alone can ya?

On a more serious note; I'm going with a bruise to GBJ's hip or thigh after watching him hit the floor. He landed pretty hard and was favoring it when he got up.

As for how all this plays out; We have hit our stride at the right time and the Gails have been down as of late. That said I have to agree that Rob has to show up with sticky hands and be able to elevate like he showed us on Friday.

Win or lose I just want to see mouthpiece shut down....or at least less close ups of him. (my vote for the knee shot..but after the game)

GonzagaSwagga
03-05-2012, 09:09 AM
You are confusing a limp for his mad swag
+10

Coptrdr
03-05-2012, 09:13 AM
they both were running retrieve a pass from the corner. I think GBj got a knee to the spot. I think GBj was out of position at the time, but not positive.


Yeah...what he said! That play there. It was a deflected pass from the corner on the sideline and they both went for it. I almost agree with the knee thing...they did hit hard.

willandi
03-05-2012, 09:50 AM
Can't just leave the Tonya thing alone can ya?

On a more serious note; I'm going with a bruise to GBJ's hip or thigh after watching him hit the floor. He landed pretty hard and was favoring it when he got up.

As for how all this plays out; We have hit our stride at the right time and the Gails have been down as of late. That said I have to agree that Rob has to show up with sticky hands and be able to elevate like he showed us on Friday.

Win or lose I just want to see mouthpiece shut down....or at least less close ups of him. (my vote for the knee shot..but after the game)

Gotta love a woman that drinks, smokes and is willing to let her BF (or hubby) take matters into his own hands. Trailer Trash, love em or leave em!

bullzag23
03-05-2012, 09:52 AM
Gotta love a woman that drinks, smokes and is willing to let her BF (or hubby) take matters into his own hands. Trailer Trash, love em or leave em!

It takes a lot of courage(and class) to beat your BF with a hubcap.

Clark County Pride! :roll:

DixieZag
03-05-2012, 09:58 AM
I truly think this is a dumb post. Yes, we looked good against a banged up BYU. But, SMC is perfectly capable of beating us:

Delle can have a shooting night like Pangos did on Saturday.
We can resort to "bad Zags" and turn the ball over mucho.
Jones can become the Jones of old and hit some 3s.
We can have foul trouble.
Gary's injury may be more serious than we know - guarding Delle gets hard.

All perfectly reasonable things that can happen. I think the Zags are playing well and things are really coming together, but I would never write off a team that only lost 2 league games.

sircreate
03-05-2012, 07:27 PM
Thanks for jinxing it for the Zags so my team wins man.. thanks!!

Seriously tho, that was a classic of a game, talk about a dagger of a shot from harris to take it to OT, unbelievable game Zags

Zag@LMU
03-05-2012, 07:31 PM
Someone pass the salt

WanderingZag
03-05-2012, 07:32 PM
Thanks for jinxing it for the Zags so my team wins man.. thanks!!

Seriously tho, that was a classic of a game, talk about a dagger of a shot from harris to take it to OT, unbelievable game Zags

I don't think that is the definition of dagger. I wish Harris' shot had been "the dagger".

sircreate
03-05-2012, 07:35 PM
Felt like a dagger to my heart man when he hit it, I thought oh christ, no way we win in overtime with the Zags having all the momentum

gonzagacfen
03-05-2012, 07:39 PM
Thanks for jynxing us, just like the one so called zag fan did after st Mary's lost to lmu earlier

maynard g krebs
03-05-2012, 07:40 PM
Gotta love a woman that drinks, smokes and is willing to let her BF (or hubby) take matters into his own hands. Trailer Trash, love em or leave em!

She could shoot a deer before lunch, put a new transmission in her pickup before dinner, win a silver medal in the evening, and film a porno before going to sleep.

And she came up with one of my alltime favorite quotes: "I'm not going to make a sceptical of my boxing career."