PDA

View Full Version : Relax. Don't worry. Just get in.

Zagobserver
02-03-2012, 11:26 AM
I post here rarely, but thought I'd add something after last night. As I've noted before, I'm a Notre Dame grad/fan who also happens to love the Zags (except for Nov. 30th 2011) for family reasons.

I don't see too much gnashing of teeth here. But, as someone who has to deal with a team who has a smallish real fan base and a much larger group of football fans that pretend to like basketball when it's convenient and then call for our 3-time (and soon to be 4-time) BEast coach of the year's head without knowing wtf they're talking about the rest of the time, I'm here to encourage you to relax.

The perception of the WCC has changed. Not even we East Coasters who can only watch a half of an 11 pm game can dismiss it as a Low-level conference that has one good team. It's much more like the MWC and MVC now in the eyes of outsiders. The bad part of being a "big boys" conference (I don't mean that derogotarily, just using it for simplicity's sake) is that you can't show up, play poorly and still win. The good part is that you don't have to go undefeated to make the tournament..and you don't have to be undefeated to be a good team. Gonzaga used to be able to sleep walk through two months of the season and show up in March. They'll be battle- tested much more recently this year...and that should benefit you.