PDA

View Full Version : Grant Gibbs article



BBskorer
07-12-2007, 04:23 PM
Link courtesy of Native's buds over on the 'Clone board.

Will Gibbs go to Iowa State or Gonzaga? (http://www.midiowanews.com/site/tab6.cfm?newsid=18578271&BRD=2700&PAG=461&dept_id=612550&rfi=6)

Pretty easy to root for Grant wherever he goes. But I know which school I'm pulling for. :)

RandomZagFan
07-12-2007, 04:30 PM
It seems like a win-win situation for Mr. Gibbs.

BobZag
07-12-2007, 04:57 PM
The author of that article posts regularly on the ISU board. He's likely reading this, so Howdy and Welcome, Chris! :)

Good article. All the best to Grant.

Larryzag
07-12-2007, 05:01 PM
"Iowa State is at home, and I think it would be really cool to be an Iowa player who helped rebuild a program," Gibbs said.


Oh, no.

ZagNative
07-12-2007, 05:14 PM
Those folks over on clonefanatic.com are super nice people and great basketball fans. However, I didn't like the article at all.

Did you not notice the representation that we play in high school gymnasiums in the WCC? The guy is pimping so hard for ISU in that story, it's a joke.

One of the posters on CycloneFanatic.com (http://www.cyclonefanatic.com/forum/front-page-news/10493-chris-williams-gibbs-article-3.html#post153236) called BS on the story:


Joepublic 07-12-2007 02:14 PM
Re: Chris Williams Gibbs article


Originally Posted by cycloneworld (Post 153219)
Hmmm...why would the Ames' newspaper be a shill for Iowa State...I wonder. What do you expect, that they give Iowa and Iowa State equal coverage??:rolleyes5cz:

I think its great that the local paper is writing about a potential recruit. We should use every opportunity and every outlet to promote Iowa State athletics.

If you are Grant Gibbs, his family, or friends and you read an article in the Ames' tribune about how the University and the City wants Gibbs to come here, how do you think that makes them feel? It would make me feel wanted, which is what these kids want.
A newspaper has a different job than shilling for the university. I do think the problem lies more with the paper and its sports editors, than the writer.

I'm taking 22's advice and ending the Chris stuff at this point.

I also was quite fond of the author's statement that "At Gonzaga, Gibbs would be just like any other run of the mill recruit." I'm thinking, "Yeah, maybe like the freshman run-of-the-mill recruit Matt Bouldin, who put up 14 points for the Zags against North Carolina in Madison Square Garden - in just his seventh college basketball game, after just three weeks into his first season as a Zag."

Nah, kid from Iowa wouldn't want that. He'd rather play for the Cyclones, coming off a 14-16 season, which CollegeHoopsNet (http://www.collegehoopsnet.com/new/story/2007_08_iowa_state_basketball_preview40953) ranks six up from the botton of its ranking of 144 teams in 144 days.

This thread needs a picture, dammit!

Let's hear it for the freshmen!

http://www.spokesmanreview.com/zags/slideshows/111506/r_04.jpg
Matt scrapes a Baylor player off his shoe.

Edited because: I lost my nerve. Tad bit strong in expressing negative attitudes against the story linked, the author, his mama, and his mama's mama.

thickman1
07-12-2007, 05:39 PM
Those folks over on clonefanatic.com are super nice people and great basketball fans. However, I didn't like the article at all.

Did you not notice the representation that we play in high school gymnasiums in the WCC? The guy is pimping so hard for ISU in that story, it's a joke.

One of the posters on CycloneFanatic.com (http://www.cyclonefanatic.com/forum/front-page-news/10493-chris-williams-gibbs-article-3.html#post153236) called BS on the story:



I also was quite fond of the author's statement that "At Gonzaga, Gibbs would be just like any other run of the mill recruit." I'm thinking, "Yeah, maybe like the freshman run-of-the-mill recruit Matt Bouldin, who put up 14 points for the Zags against North Carolina in Madison Square Garden - in just his seventh college basketball game, after just three weeks into his first season as a Zag.

Nah, kid from Iowa wouldn't want that. He'd rather play for the Cyclones, coming off a 14-16 season, which CollegeHoopsNet (http://www.collegehoopsnet.com/new/story/2007_08_iowa_state_basketball_preview40953) ranks six up from the botton of its ranking of 144 teams in 144 days.

This thread needs a picture, dammit!

Let's hear it for the freshmen!

http://www.spokesmanreview.com/zags/slideshows/111506/r_04.jpg
Matt scrapes a Baylor player off his shoe.

Edited because: I lost my nerve. Tad bit strong in expressing negative attitudes against the story linked, the author, his mama, and his mama's mamma.


I had the same feelings that you did ZagNative after reading that article. on the surface it had "feel good" on it but inside it was picking apart GU and praising the Cyclones. Oh well - really can't expect anything different.

Zags-Bsee
07-12-2007, 05:52 PM
I'm thinking, "Yeah, maybe like the freshman run-of-the-mill recruit Matt Bouldin, who put up 14 points for the Zags against North Carolina in Madison Square Garden - in just his seventh college basketball game, after just three weeks into his first season as a Zag.

Matt scrapes a Baylor player off his shoe.

Edited because: I lost my nerve. Tad bit strong in expressing negative attitudes against the story linked, the author, his mama, and his mama's mamma.

LOL, I hope the Zags defense is this intense.

Better yet, I hope Grant reads this and sees how run of the mill freshmen get noticed here.

Lots of writers will tell you they were there when Morrison started his career with an audacious jumper against Saint Joseph's in Madison Square Garden, as if they're recounting seeing Springsteen in some Jersey shore bar in the early '70s. Well, I was at the Garden that night, too, but I wasn't taken by surprise because I'd seen him working out against Blake Stepp, Erroll Knight and the other Zags. Morrison, obviously, was special.
LINK (http://www.sportingnews.com/yourturn/viewtopic.php?t=41301)

His game is what you'd expect of a coach's son who grew up as a gym rat. His father, John, who played professionally in Europe, coached junior college ball in Montana and Wyoming and often took young Adam on road trips.

At Mead High School in Spokane, Wash., he averaged 27.7 points per game as a senior and regularly abused Gonzaga players in pickup games around Spokane. But Few said that when he saw him play at Mead, he wasn't immediately impressed.

"The lack of athleticism was really there,'' Few said. "He's kind of gangly." At halftime of a high school game, Few spoke on his cell phone to one of his assistant coaches and muttered, "He's not even running back on defense. He shoots from behind his head.''

Then Few looked at a stat sheet and told the aide, "He's got 30 at the half. I think I'll stick around.''
LINK (http://sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2006/01/07/MORRISON.TMP)

http://i.a.cnn.net/si/multimedia/photo_gallery/2005/12/13/gallery.leadingoff/Web009.jpg

GonzagasaurusFlex
07-13-2007, 03:36 AM
"In the class of 2007, Iowa State added Diante Garrett and Marcus Brister, two guards with the ability to run the point. In the class of 2008, Iowa State has already picked up the commitment of one of the best point guards in the Midwest, Dominique Buckley, of Romulus, Mich."

Does anyone else think the Zags' relatively small # of pg prospects in the system could be incentive for Gibbs to come here? Thus far neither Clarke nor Jackson have committed, so he'd be looking at showing up in Spokane w Pargo a senior (hopefully), Bouldin a junior and Gray a sophomore...what other guards - thus far - would he be competing for PT against?

thickman1
07-13-2007, 05:35 AM
Maybe all the Pargo to the NBA talk has him thinking he'd get some early PT?

spudzag
07-13-2007, 02:17 PM
GU is certainly the better spot for Gibbs to develop, get playing time and exposure. I think Gibbs will regret it if he gives into "homer" pressure and picks ISU. Hopefully he chooses to follow his dream and step out and grow. Isn't a major part of what the college experience is all about? :confused:

BobZag
07-13-2007, 04:47 PM
Grant will make his decision. No newspaper article will influence him. I wish him the best and I'll wish him well if he doesn't choose GU. Good kid.

Zags-Bsee
07-13-2007, 05:08 PM
I wish him the best and I'll wish him well if he doesn't choose GU. Good kid.

It is a little depressing :mad: seeing your posts with not quite as much confidence. :confused:

I appreciate them either way. Thanks for making it entertaining.

I appreciate all the hard work the coaching staff did to get the new kids we get to watch this year. This board has been wonderful for seeing videos of them play, learning about their skills and discussing their impact. :)

ZagNative
07-13-2007, 06:27 PM
Grant will make his decision. No newspaper article will influence him. I wish him the best and I'll wish him well if he doesn't choose GU. Good kid.
Don't like to hear BZ talk that way....

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/134/tinydarkcloudvj4.jpg

The only thing missing was ...


WE'RE DOOMED!

MickMick
07-13-2007, 06:40 PM
If it came down to it, I'll bet this time next year, we would be quite happy with option #6.

Few probably has some foreign or JUCO player ready to go if Harris, Jackson, Gibbs, Clarke fall through. And we will probably be saying things like "Look how close we were to passing this guy up."

In Few we trust.

spudzag
07-14-2007, 07:21 AM
Grant will make his decision. No newspaper article will influence him. I wish him the best and I'll wish him well if he doesn't choose GU. Good kid.

Is this reminiscent of the "we're doomed" posts midseason last year. Having gone through the process with my two kids I understand the difficulty of the college choice. The challenge as a parent is to let your child make their own choice. Both of my kids made a choice that was diffent than I would have made for them. Both kids loved the school they chose and it was all theirs. In the end I loved the choice because I could feel good about them makling a significant step toward making their own lives.

Grant seems to have a similiar kind of support from his family. While I'd love to see him here he needs to make his own choice. He seems to be following a great path reasoning out his selection and makingit one he can ultimately embrace as his own.