PDA

View Full Version : 2/2/12 Zags @ BYU Game Thread



Pages : [1] 2

BobZag
02-02-2012, 11:45 AM
Note to BYU: This is not Port Said. For further explanations:

http://www.amsciepub.com/doi/abs/10.2466/pms.1979.48.3c.1047

8:00
ESPN2
KGA AM 1510

Go Zags, play your bikini undies off.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 06:33 PM
Get it together and keep it together and play OUR game. It is time.

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 06:56 PM
Wow, bob, nice find.

I would just love to see an absolutely atrocious call go against BYU right in the first minute, just for the refs to assert "control" or whatever, just giving the fans a reason for the minds to explode.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 07:08 PM
pre game show:

"Zags got to get off to a good start. And there's to be NO sleepwalking through this one."

"This is a game circled on the players' schedule since the announcement that BYU joined the WCC. The only taste there now (amongZags) is the BYU that beat us last year.

"We gotta play hard from the beginning. like the underdog.

"We're all falling alittle bit victim to the SMC "way" we lost. SO get back into a high level.

Three weeks ago GU was playing at a real high level. Got to get back to that tonight.

BYU 6-3 in WCC.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 07:16 PM
TH: BYU having frustration. If gu knocks em off tonight, the wcc title is out of reach.

MS: " yeah, they used to out execute and shoot and play their opponents. NOW in the WCC, they up against a number of good teams, as evidenced by their losses.

If they don't get it tonight, they can write that off as well."

TH: the BYU fredette blowout last year, any hangover ?
MS: " Jimmer gets a lot of credit of course. Others still playing are going to be a factor. Brandon Davies, too, (back from violation).

TH: five BYU letterman from last year are gone. They lost 36% of their shooting (alot Jimmer ?). yet some missionaries returned. But this team has 7 freshmen . . .

MS: yes, huge learning curve for BYU. They not playing good basketball right now and they know it. they are winners and a winning team trying to get back on track. Tonight.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 07:21 PM
TH: 5,200 students expected. 22,700 seats. third largest behind syracuse and Ky arenas. It's fascinating in our league. WHen BYU plays away, they play in small gyms that aren't always full. THis is entirely different than other WCC schools.

MS: there's a tent city. students are outside waiting for this game. spectacular environment. Now GU needs to pull from previous experience come out and take the crowd out of it as early as they can.

TH: one thing that makes em dangersou. they have 3 abuo, davy and hartsock, who have had big games this year.

MS: yes, all these players have the green light and it's wide open. they push the ball and share well. That's why all three have had 20 pt nights.

TH: Carlino, harrison, cusick, rogers, right on down the list -- all have tried a lot of 3 pt shots.
MS: think we're going to see more 3pt attempts tonight. They are going push for the first available shot and that could be beyond the rim.

caduceus
02-02-2012, 07:27 PM
Thanks for that gamagin!

hooter73
02-02-2012, 07:28 PM
Portland beating up on santa clara....two beers down playing the waiting game

gamagin
02-02-2012, 07:28 PM
TH: for the last 4-5 days, GU been working on this one. Carlino (transfer) has ave. 12.5 per game. He has only hit 2 of his last 23 attempts. Not on now, but you can see he can shoot.

MS: yes, he's aggressive and he's going to keep shooting. A Lefty who needs to be forced right. Hope his shot doesn't start falling early vs. us.

Zylstra struggling, too, but they are getting a LOT of shots off. THey can shoot, we can only hope they stay cold vs. us.

MS: we gotta play DISCIPLINED D for 40 minutes.

TH: GBj has really come in to his own.
MS: GB has shot the ball pretty well all season. He's added ability to get to the rim. Showing off athleticism. reverses, left hand and he's very cfreative and strong. Opposition doesn't know what to do with him.

TH: EH is back, dare I say RS, too ?
MS: He (RS) HAS bounced back. He's very resilient. we've seen it. He's playing much better. You can tell because he's getting back to the f.t. line. I see that continuing. His effort has been there the last few games and he's helped the team grind out wins.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 07:34 PM
RayG: third largest arena in the country. sold out for us. different feel.
much bigger u. than we used to.

Once we between the lines it's the same game.

TH: byu in the corner ?
RG: they need a win. i do think they're against the wall. imperative we the aggressor tonight. we gotta win all those little things . . .
TH: hartsock and davies tough to battle ?
RG: yes, they can face up and shoot, rebound and drive. We need to keep them away. Then help our bigs keep them away.

TH: byu shoots well. . .
RG: BYU was playing faster before. NOW they aren't getting their shots off as fast. They averaging high 80's for awhile. We can't give either one an open look. we gotta contest those shots.

TH: who else you concerned about ?
RG: Aboue (sp?) is a concern. he's versatile at the three. He puts it on the floor. he's the next piece that makes BYU go (after the first two).

RG: they'll double us big to big. we need to get our transition game going, get em in foul trouble. and in order to do that we need to get stops at the other end.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 07:46 PM
MS: a little tired. He's a freshman. worn down. carrying tremendous load. Competent player and shooter, just needs to see the ball hit the bottom of the net.

TH: Dower. Offensively he struggling . . .
MS: he is. others have keyed in on him. As X learned, you don't let him get going. He needs to let the game come to him. Recognize the defense, dish when necessary and don't force shots. He'll be ok.

TH: last week had some time off.
MS: last weekend off was good. I asked KP about that and he says yes, he got some rest. They all did.

that's what they were able to do last week. They may start a little sluggish tonight (I add: gawd I hope not) but in the course of the game, we should see fresher legs due to the rest (I add: I sure hopes so).

gamagin
02-02-2012, 07:54 PM
TH: carlino v. KP . . . what do you see ??
MS: They are both freshman. carlino is going to search out his shot. kp doesn't shoot as often if he's not on. carlino, however, is going to search & shoot.

Hopefully KP will do that, too. Search for success.

Carlino is 2-21 and kp is 7-23 atop the key in recent games.



TH: tonight
MF: it's like our pre season vs. ILL here. no neutrals here. they behing BYU. That's fine. our guys are used to this. us vs. the world. this will be difficult. they are up against the wall. they smarting after 2 losses. SMC got em. They physical, shoot well, they're coming off cold spells so that's kinda scary.

Their insiders can score like ours and they can shoot from 15-18 feet and those are good shots for them. They're physical and they've had 4-5 games not shooting well. Hopefully that will continue tonight.

TH:Thanks, coach.

MF: Yup

gamagin
02-02-2012, 07:58 PM
MS: we need a great start and we have to rebound the ball. GU has to be ready for the glass battle and at some time this place is going to erupt and we gotta play through that, too.

Play Ball ! !

Akzag
02-02-2012, 07:58 PM
Let's Do This ...

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 08:00 PM
OF COURSE. . .the game before the Zags is running over. . .sometimes I hate espn

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:01 PM
UW getting a test at home from UCLA. Go Bruins

VinnyZag
02-02-2012, 08:01 PM
And now South Carolina is fouling, down 6 with a minute left. Awesome.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:05 PM
the game started without us.

gu03alum
02-02-2012, 08:06 PM
Yeah, gametime!!!

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:07 PM
the game started without us.

nice

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 08:08 PM
Edi picked up two fouls in the first two minutes

Oregon Zag
02-02-2012, 08:08 PM
What's happening?

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:08 PM
Our offense looks terrible right now.

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:09 PM
cut to the game already, man

Lurknomore
02-02-2012, 08:09 PM
Their fans are leaving and we still have to watch.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:09 PM
2 careless turnovers in seconds by GBj & KP. 5 pts on turnovers.

gu03alum
02-02-2012, 08:09 PM
Turn to ESPN3

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 08:10 PM
7 - 0 run by BYU. . .Zags with 4 TO's. . .7 - 2 BYU

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:10 PM
Great to NOT get off to that fast start.

Come ON guys, silly turnovers

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:10 PM
nice shot EH

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:12 PM
Nice MC

caduceus
02-02-2012, 08:12 PM
Carter, and one!

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:12 PM
Nice play by Carter!

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:12 PM
God I wish Pangos would hit one of those threes early.

Thank you Carter

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:12 PM
Carter's time ! Hope so

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:13 PM
oh yes, good box out there wins the foul

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:13 PM
getting some calls back our way

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:13 PM
Abou with 2, nice

gu03alum
02-02-2012, 08:15 PM
I'm impressed with Carter so far

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:15 PM
UW lucks out to win at end

caduceus
02-02-2012, 08:15 PM
OK, jitters and turnovers are out of the way, hopefully. We have the lead. Time to expand on it.

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:15 PM
I'm impressed with Carter so far

Playing much more composed than Guy was.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:16 PM
so far. vets come in mighty handy in situations like this. also bolsters the stars in training, taking the pressure off em while they adjust

caduceus
02-02-2012, 08:17 PM
SMC and USD tied at 49 apiece. 15 mins left.

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:17 PM
Dower just got schooled

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:17 PM
they immediately target Sam on the block as soon as he enters...foul

sonuvazag
02-02-2012, 08:17 PM
So are the BYU fans wearing "Beat the Zags" t-shirts?

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:18 PM
SMC and USD tied at 49 apiece. 15 mins left.

Go Billy

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:18 PM
bad pass MC

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:18 PM
think Gary can finish stronger there

kitzbuel
02-02-2012, 08:19 PM
I suggest that they not let Carlino get going.

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:19 PM
like that

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:19 PM
great 3 pt play, GJB

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:20 PM
cmon Carter, let's get consistent

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:21 PM
2 D boards in a row for Gary...nice

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:21 PM
Just as I praise Carter he causes three turnovers.

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:21 PM
Wow, Carlino with 2, abou with 2

We need to capitialize, that should be about the end of Carter driving for awhile.

kitzbuel
02-02-2012, 08:22 PM
If Zags can hold on to the ball a little bit better and keep pressure on BYU, BYU can beat themselves.

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:22 PM
time to work the block, yes?

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:22 PM
As much as I hate everything BYU and always have, I do like their coach

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:22 PM
davies big play

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:23 PM
Sammy with the left. Rinse, Dry, Repeat.

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:23 PM
davies big play

x2

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:24 PM
MC = head up A**

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:24 PM
Carter is playing awful surprised he is still out there.

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:24 PM
Carter not looking good so far. Needs to stop forcing it. Don't worry, let it come to you.

jazzdelmar
02-02-2012, 08:24 PM
Um, I think maybe Few shld take TO Carter out.

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:24 PM
Carter has killed us so far, if we could hit an outside shot we would be up 6

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:25 PM
we can keep our cool, BYU will keep amassing fouls. IF.

rawkmandale
02-02-2012, 08:25 PM
PLEASE give me some Mike Hart

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 08:25 PM
level of play on both sides has been mediocre so far

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:26 PM
I am calling for MM - - his type of game, fast paced, lots of lanes, and we need an outside threat.

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:26 PM
Scoreboard watch: Billy's boys 60 smc 58 11:46 left

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:26 PM
great tempo, bench key

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:27 PM
I am calling for MM - - his type of game, fast paced, lots of lanes, and we need an outside threat.

got ur wish

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:27 PM
Could this be a coming out party for the Hoff? I hope so.

kitzbuel
02-02-2012, 08:28 PM
Not bad D by MM

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:28 PM
RS playing 7' invisible man so far

rawkmandale
02-02-2012, 08:28 PM
Mike Hart pleasssssssssse

MDABE80
02-02-2012, 08:28 PM
Cooooooooooooooooold

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:28 PM
but . . . .

whatazag
02-02-2012, 08:29 PM
Dang, bad luck with MM missing 3 open 3s

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:30 PM
I am calling for MM - - his type of game, fast paced, lots of lanes, and we need an outside threat.

good call, but he's 0-3 on open looks unfortunately. right sub tho

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:30 PM
Our offense is beyond awful right now.

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:30 PM
Robert doesn't get enough credit for what an absolute beast he is down low and opposing post players just absolutely hang on him all the time. Fouls are only called a fraction of the time.

MDABE80
02-02-2012, 08:30 PM
Bad rebounding...our bigs look worn out already....

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:30 PM
Could we be shooting any worse

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 08:30 PM
Foul trouble mounting

kitzbuel
02-02-2012, 08:30 PM
Who is gonna have the hot hand?

jazzdelmar
02-02-2012, 08:30 PM
Pangos is disappearing.

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:30 PM
Zags all out of sorts, fortunaley BYU about the same

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 08:31 PM
Could this be a coming out party for the Hoff? I hope so.

Not if he can't make a bucket on wide open looks

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:31 PM
can only dribble 1-2 steps. MAX

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:31 PM
E can't back down just cuz he lsot that handle...stay in attack mode

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:32 PM
Oh wait. I thought I was watching the Portland game on DVR. Jeez what is our FG%?

MDABE80
02-02-2012, 08:33 PM
Cheap foul on Carter

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:33 PM
getting a little ticky tack

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:33 PM
Bad call on GBJ.

MDABE80
02-02-2012, 08:33 PM
Another on Bell....cmon refs!

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 08:33 PM
This will be a whistle happy game the whole way. Zags need to adjust to how tight these jackass zebras are calling it

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:34 PM
Scoreboard Watch: Billy's Boys 62 SMC 65 7:28 left

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:35 PM
New Strategy for this Slopfest:

1) Minimize BYU Offensive Boards
2) Make FTs

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:35 PM
Our turnovers are just killing us.

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:35 PM
painful to watch ineptness

kitzbuel
02-02-2012, 08:35 PM
Crap, who greased the ball!?

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:35 PM
sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy sloppy

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:35 PM
Not exagerating, that might have been the worst 5 minutes of GU basketball that I have seen since 1989

whatazag
02-02-2012, 08:35 PM
Wow. Already 8 fouls and 10 turnovers with 8 min still in 1st half left.
St Mary's made their defense look bad, we are making it look amazing.

MDABE80
02-02-2012, 08:36 PM
Jesus Christ...this is terrible in ALL facets...
Sam, Rob, ELias, Bell and Pangos...this is what we need. Rebounding is terrible and the TOs are awful!

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:36 PM
Crap, who greased the ball!?

Joseph Smith?

sweezag
02-02-2012, 08:36 PM
We officially suck. Embarrassing ...

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:37 PM
BYU's defense looks TERRIBLE, every shot we have is wide open. We can't hit anything or even keep it long enough.

We just look terrible.

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:37 PM
They don't score except on turnovers. We limit those and we are fine.

BJZags
02-02-2012, 08:37 PM
Yet another all-too-common example of sloppy "road" hoops. Why am I not surprised? Come on Zags, pull it together.

Bulldog
02-02-2012, 08:37 PM
Should have scheduled this game for Sunday.

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:37 PM
TOs may come and go with younger team, but must board every time O and D, must run the floor harder, must work harder than them...under control

and make shots. they are there

OZZY
02-02-2012, 08:38 PM
Its streaming on

www.justin.tv.sportzzworld31

Although its painful right now, at least we are only down by 4!

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:38 PM
start making a few shots ??

VinnyZag
02-02-2012, 08:38 PM
We're 6-18, 1-7 on threes. Ten turnovers.

caduceus
02-02-2012, 08:38 PM
Can't drop a shot. BYU's not much better though.

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:38 PM
Few looks unhappy

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:38 PM
start making a few shots ??

I am hoping to see GBJ start breaking down there guards off the dribble.

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:39 PM
" I WANT WINNERS!"

http://www.teachwithmovies.org/guides/hoosiers-DVDcover.jpg

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:39 PM
offensive boards, either. a string of one and dones.

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:39 PM
we're 6-18, 1-7 on threes. Ten turnovers.

f' me

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:39 PM
start making a few shots ??

they tried Gary there, open too...no

kitzbuel
02-02-2012, 08:40 PM
It looks like the only offense left is Rob from the FT line

MedZag
02-02-2012, 08:40 PM
In the words of Sir Charles...

Turrible. Just turrible.

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:40 PM
Keep it close or take lead going into half and make some adjustments.

whatazag
02-02-2012, 08:41 PM
Really?

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:41 PM
WTF was that call on Harris?!! Are you kidding me?!

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:41 PM
Offensive foul!!!!!!! What the hell?????

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:41 PM
what a ridiculous call...embarrassing

play on

big call

win anyway!

caduceus
02-02-2012, 08:41 PM
That was the most ridiculous call I've seen all year.

kitzbuel
02-02-2012, 08:42 PM
My eyeballs are burning

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:42 PM
Zags' passing and shooting = horrific

Pangos a no show so far

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:43 PM
Wow

GrizZAG
02-02-2012, 08:43 PM
How many Sh&& passes can our guys do? Nice ref work eh?

jazzdelmar
02-02-2012, 08:43 PM
By tHe way, BYU is terrible.

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:43 PM
WCC Refs. Making basketall unwatchable since XXXX.

MDABE80
02-02-2012, 08:44 PM
These goddam refs are calling a terrible game...2 missed calls on shooting. We breath we get called. I'm afriad the fix is in...on top of us playing terribly.

MedZag
02-02-2012, 08:44 PM
Think that's it for me folks. Have to be up for work in 4 hours. If we win great, but honestly I derive no enjoyment from watching crappy basketball.

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:45 PM
Turnovers turnovers turnovers

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:45 PM
EDi playing JC ball again

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:45 PM
I can't believe GU is still in this game. BYU is playing awful as well.

kitzbuel
02-02-2012, 08:45 PM
abouo hacked GLE

jazzdelmar
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
I think maybe we have, um, overrated this team.

zagsfanforlife
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
And there goes the streak..

Turnover after turnover after turnover after turnover.

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
We are playing so horribly it is hard to say anything about the officiating, that said, its about what we deserve right now.

We aren't playing with any fight. I think we are really intimidated. I have no other explanation.

This looks worse than the SMC game.

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
I don't think we could possibly play a sloppier game. Its like they all forgot how to play.

Bulldog
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
Zags suck right now. Not the ref's

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
Never thought I would miss Zach Gourde. . .

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
Cool. 'Inception' is on HBO. Later. :explode:

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
we could go in to the half behind by just a few, IN SPITE of this sh!tty play. I can hope, anyway.

It's not like they're beating us half as much as we're beating ourselves. Maybe we should full court press ourselves, buckle down, take positions and get back in to it.

GrizZAG
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
Pathetic

They are grabbing the ball away at will and we seem to play small. Nothing going at all. They look defeated already. Few better kick some Arse...

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:47 PM
I think maybe we have, um, overrated this team.

some have

BJZags
02-02-2012, 08:48 PM
Wise old coach once said: put round ball in round hole. Very hard to do when you give it to the other team.

Bulldog
02-02-2012, 08:48 PM
We suck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 08:48 PM
Rob "Stone Hands" Sacre strikes again. . .

zagsfanforlife
02-02-2012, 08:48 PM
And another turnover. If sacre is an nba player Sarah Palin is the next president of the United States

kclubfounder
02-02-2012, 08:49 PM
Please. Please. Please.

Start playing your game RIGHT NOW (8:49 PM).

Thank you.

VinnyZag
02-02-2012, 08:49 PM
Good thing BYU is playing poorly, too, or this thing could get really ugly.

GU just doesn't seem very tough. They've been getting rattled and discombobulated. Never would have thought that after the Xavier game.

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:49 PM
I think we are intimidated.

Someone said, we are playing small. I would full-court press, use the bottom of the bench if we have to.

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:49 PM
honestly, not surprised with the play or score so far.

yes, it is still ealry

Bulldog
02-02-2012, 08:50 PM
They all stink. Better hope for divine intervention at half time.:bishop_smiley:

caduceus
02-02-2012, 08:50 PM
Unlucky so far...balls are dropping in their hands and out of ours. Just need to compose ourselves a bit. Pushing a little too hard.

MDABE80
02-02-2012, 08:50 PM
Carter with 4 tos and the same with Elias...not good. Good to see Keita come in. At least some defense shows up. Good Time out.

VinnyZag
02-02-2012, 08:50 PM
Update: 7-22, 14 turnovers.

BJZags
02-02-2012, 08:50 PM
"Few better kick some Arse?

Is coach known for his gipper speeches?

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:51 PM
shooter ? The job is WIDE open.

Bulldog
02-02-2012, 08:51 PM
Just a matter of giving the cougars false hope.

CarolinaZagFan
02-02-2012, 08:52 PM
Can't single anyone out right now. The whole team is struggling. Luckily BYU's offense is almost as bad as ours right now and we're still in the game. I think Coach Few and the Zags will figure it out and calm down in the locker room at halftime and the boys will pull it out though or at least make it close.

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:52 PM
Sacre as bad as ever seen him

caduceus
02-02-2012, 08:52 PM
SMC 78, USD 73, 1:13 left.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 08:53 PM
blocked from behind, for crissakes, on a dunk

Martin Centre Mad Man
02-02-2012, 08:53 PM
Blocked dunk followed by an open three followed by an airball. The crowd goes nuts.

Poop.

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:53 PM
Keita ---- yikes

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:53 PM
I do believe we are going to lose this game. They are now getting comfortable and hitting shots.

kitzbuel
02-02-2012, 08:53 PM
:vomit-smiley-007:

rawkmandale
02-02-2012, 08:54 PM
OMG, is Few actually sending Mike Hart in?

jazzdelmar
02-02-2012, 08:54 PM
Nit.

MBZags
02-02-2012, 08:54 PM
The offense sucks. Few's solution? Bring in Keita, an offensive liability who has no business on the court.

zagsfanforlife
02-02-2012, 08:54 PM
Yikes. This is UGGGGLLLYYYY

GrizZAG
02-02-2012, 08:54 PM
How can our confidence get so smashed? They are playing like high school ballers. Awful with a capital AAA

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:54 PM
The upside is the BYU fans won't be complaining about the refs tonight barring a comeback.

Martin Centre Mad Man
02-02-2012, 08:55 PM
How bad is the foul trouble for BYU's bigs?

Bogozags
02-02-2012, 08:55 PM
If we don't settle down, play defense and stop turning the ball over, it will be over...

zagfan24
02-02-2012, 08:55 PM
In a word, turnovers. Every other fault of the Zags in this game has been magnified x 1000 by the carelessness w/ the ball. The bad reffing, the poor shooting, the abysmal floor spacing...all survivable if we hold onto the ball.

CDC84
02-02-2012, 08:55 PM
The turnovers are just absolutely killing the Zags. They should be leading this game. Most of them are totally unforced.

zagsfanforlife
02-02-2012, 08:55 PM
If sacre is hurt, sit him and dont bring him back. He is hurting the team more than helping

Zag@LMU
02-02-2012, 08:55 PM
Just a matter of giving the cougars false hope.

Wouldn't call it false hope right now

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:56 PM
make a freakin shot here, come on

kitzbuel
02-02-2012, 08:57 PM
The offense sucks. Few's solution? Bring in Keita, an offensive liability who has no business on the court.

Any other ideas?

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 08:57 PM
Pangos a rookie tonite

MBZags
02-02-2012, 08:57 PM
What a joke.

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:57 PM
That is the proper ending to our half.

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:57 PM
wow

jazzdelmar
02-02-2012, 08:57 PM
The scariest development is that Pangos and Bell may not be all that after all.

zagfan24
02-02-2012, 08:57 PM
Pathetic ending to a horrid half. It's been a long, long time before I've seen a Zags team play this poorly.

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 08:57 PM
I can't think of a more appropriate way for the half to end.

caduceus
02-02-2012, 08:57 PM
Way to punctuate the end of the first half, guys. Ugh.

Changing my Zag gear for the 2nd half.

zagsfanforlife
02-02-2012, 08:57 PM
NIT here we come!!!

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 08:58 PM
Pangos a rookie tonite

yep. damn

Ezag
02-02-2012, 08:58 PM
Frustrating to say the least....

Birddog
02-02-2012, 08:58 PM
You just witnessed the absolute worst end of half play by the Zags of all time!!!!

Zag@LMU
02-02-2012, 08:58 PM
Shake your head all we want, might as well get on the plane and go home now. This seasons over. If we make the NCAA were one and done. Time to admit it and look forward to next year.

CDC84
02-02-2012, 08:59 PM
I was gonna say.....that last play summed up the whole half.

As crazy as this may seem, if the Zags can somehow stop turning the dang ball over, they have a chance in the 2nd half. Their halfcourt defense has been excellent, but they keep giving BYU layups.

Bulldog
02-02-2012, 08:59 PM
Worst play ever witnessed this year, anyway.

NEC26
02-02-2012, 08:59 PM
So many terrible decisions and awful passes that were really unforced turnovers.

Bogozags
02-02-2012, 08:59 PM
The turnovers are just absolutely killing the Zags. They should be leading this game. Most of them are totally unforced.

15 turnovers in the FIRST HALF!

14 down...when was the last time we came back from 14 down, on the road???

john montana
02-02-2012, 09:00 PM
Horrid.

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 09:00 PM
Zags aren't contenders

SWZag
02-02-2012, 09:00 PM
I was gonna say.....that last play summed up the whole half.

As crazy as this may seem, if the Zags can somehow stop turning the dang ball over, they have a chance in the 2nd half. Their halfcourt defense has been excellent, but they keep giving BYU layups.

Agreed. We are down big, but I don't think the first half could have been any worse. If we play like we can in the second half, I don't see how we don't get back in and have a chance of winning. BYU doesn't seem like they could handle it if we play good GU ball.

SWZag

bigblueandzags
02-02-2012, 09:00 PM
im pretty sure my neighbors are going to call the cops on me.

id rather be shoveling human feces than watch another half of basketball like that.

:vomit-smiley-007:
:vomit-smiley-007:


:mad:

Bulldog
02-02-2012, 09:00 PM
A building year.

BJZags
02-02-2012, 09:00 PM
With such a pathetic effort, the Zags aren't making me want to stay-up for the second-half. The TO's tell me they simply weren't prepared to play on this "stage" tonight.

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 09:01 PM
You just witnessed the absolute worst end of half play by the Zags of all time!!!!

Painful to watch. . .

zagfan24
02-02-2012, 09:01 PM
The turnovers are often unforced, but this is an incredibly stagnant offense. Most of the Zags are just taking turns going 1-on-1 at this point, and our shooting is way too poor to keep guys from slapping away at the ball when the bigs have it.

I'm in no way ready to write off Pangos and Bell...they clearly have a long way to go (esp Pangos). To me, the fact that Carter, Harris, and Sacre are playing just as poorly is even more inexcusable.

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 09:01 PM
what a mess

boards fine, but omg, 15 to's

the only guy who seems himself is Bell

Birddog
02-02-2012, 09:02 PM
Weren't the Zags down by 17 to UNC in the Garden before coming back and winning big? I know it wasn't in UNC home, but still.

TacomaZAG
02-02-2012, 09:02 PM
7 FG's and 15 TO's. I didn't think it could get any worse than the 1st half against Portland.

I stand corrected............

Thank god we have 20 minutes to try and get it fixed. We have to find a way to get the win tonight, but it's going to take the biggest half by half turnaround I've ever seen.


Go ZAGS

Zagnailler
02-02-2012, 09:02 PM
One can only hope that we can play in the second half more like Butler and Arizona games. Otherwise this will be a miserable evening.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 09:02 PM
this halftime "pep" talk.

caduceus
02-02-2012, 09:02 PM
26% FG
11% 3pt
15 TO's

Niiiiiice.

john montana
02-02-2012, 09:03 PM
Hard to keep the faith after that debacle.

And byu isn't that good either.

Bulldog
02-02-2012, 09:03 PM
just imagine how the coaches and player must feel. They can't be too proud of themselves either.

kclubfounder
02-02-2012, 09:03 PM
Kevin Pangos looks like a scared freshman that should be redshirting instead of playing.

I hope he is pissed right now, and plays the way he can (and should) in the 2nd half.

And I hope the others who are SUCKING follow his lead (Sacre, Harris, Morninghoff, etc...)

I BELIEVE!!!!

Bogozags
02-02-2012, 09:03 PM
Painful to watch. . .

+1000...so sad!

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 09:03 PM
I fear that after halftime, the worst may have yet to come

hondo
02-02-2012, 09:03 PM
It is not as if BYU is playing well, they are playing poorly also but still kicking our ass.

bballbeachbum
02-02-2012, 09:04 PM
and 27% from the floor...on many open looks...many

bigblueandzags
02-02-2012, 09:04 PM
finishing in the paint would make this a close game. why cant we make a shot within 7 feet?

who is gonna step up in the 2nd half and play actual basketball? this reminds me of a 2 teenagers playing NBA Jam for the first time.

gamagin
02-02-2012, 09:04 PM
Weren't the Zags down by 17 to UNC in the Garden before coming back and winning big? I know it wasn't in UNC home, but still.

of our shots and got 10% of the second chances, (both doable) we'd be even. It was just a complete breakdown.

We're just beating ourselves in front of a lot of witnesses.

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 09:04 PM
The real isssue here, the 15 turnovers, is that "weird" or is it actually just "extreme us" - - and I think its the latter. I hate middle of the game analysis of a team, but

I think we are young, turn over prone and have had no outside shooting in the last month. All of that equals a very mediocre team. I am afraid that that is what we are right now.

zagfan24
02-02-2012, 09:05 PM
Watching Davies dunk the ball early in the half reminded me of what Rob could be.

NEC26
02-02-2012, 09:05 PM
It was truly one of the worst halves I have ever watched and we have no one to blame but ourselves.

asoc
02-02-2012, 09:05 PM
Felt the 1st half was a little hectic and up and down.

I am worried about Gonzaga running out of energy in the 2nd half because of the high altitude.

Pretty much bad turnovers at every position in the 1st half and couldn't make the shots we had.

ZagLawGrad
02-02-2012, 09:05 PM
im pretty sure my neighbors are going to call the cops on me.

id rather be shoveling human feces than watch another half of basketball like that.

:vomit-smiley-007:
:vomit-smiley-007:


:mad:

I'm thinking Dirt's wood chipper analogy fits for me

kclubfounder
02-02-2012, 09:06 PM
The good news is we aren't down by 25, like we should be.

zagsfanforlife
02-02-2012, 09:07 PM
Watching Davies dunk the ball early in the half reminded me of what Rob could be.

Revised: "Could have been"

bigblueandzags
02-02-2012, 09:07 PM
i wish we could get another big with the energy like turiaf. magical energy that gets the team, the crowd and the coaches excited regardless of the score.

rockzag
02-02-2012, 09:07 PM
Weren't the Zags down by 17 to UNC in the Garden before coming back and winning big? I know it wasn't in UNC home, but still.

Not the same Zags.

hockeyzag
02-02-2012, 09:07 PM
For a guy who is supposedly super strong, Sacre's hands holding a basketball are the weakest I've ever seen.
Argh!!!!

Zag4Hire
02-02-2012, 09:08 PM
"Beringer...What's that Coach Few?....Alright boys we are going to Defcon 2"

http://www.barrycorbin.com/captures/wargames/wargames_beringer06.jpg

Birddog
02-02-2012, 09:08 PM
I think we are young, turn over prone and have had no outside shooting in the last month. All of that equals a very mediocre team. I am afraid that that is what we are right now.
Regrettably, you might be right. Esp the bolded part

SWZag
02-02-2012, 09:08 PM
I don't understand how little faith in our team there is on this board.

And come on, the players are trying their best. Do you think they're intentionally making mistakes. Lets keep positive. Can't win with a losing attitude.

SWZag

VinnyZag
02-02-2012, 09:09 PM
Kevin Pangos has now missed eight consecutive threes and committed seven turnovers since the start of the Portland game.

DixieZag
02-02-2012, 09:09 PM
That team deserves the biggest ass chewing in history at half.

It may do no good tonight, but how we play the rest of the night might impact how we do the rest of the year.

GeorgiaZagFan
02-02-2012, 09:10 PM
...more carelessness on the Zags part than any great defense by the Cougars. It's like we've never played the game before, soft cross court passes, telegraphed passes to the post, ....the 2nd half will let us know the toughness of this year's Gonzaga team. We battle and make a game of it...or if we get blown out.
I said going in that we needed to win the TO battle by a 17-12 margin for an easy win...we've had 15....yes 15 turnovers in the FIRST HALF ALONE!!! coupled with 27% shooting and we are lucky to be within 14 points!!!
With all that's happened in the first half ...we still have a chance if we take care of the ball, BYU is very prone to bogging down in the half court, but that won't happen if we don't start shooting better and turning it over less ...or NONE in the 2nd half!

RenoZag
02-02-2012, 09:10 PM
Well, there's always the Leon Russell - Elton John special on HBO. . .