PDA

View Full Version : The way the student body acquires Men's BB tickets (Debate).

ZagFanInNC
01-24-2012, 06:48 PM
As we all know at Gonzaga acquiring Men's BB tickets is pretty tough, for students and fans alike. I graduated last year and am getting my MS in Sport Management right now. Our instructor for my Ticket Sales and Strategy course gave us this discussion question, and of course my answer is after the bolded question.

Let me know what you think, should GU impliment a point system, stay status quo. . . what do you think? There has to be an alternative to sleeping in a tent outside, new ideas never hurt anybody right?

PRIMER:
(To try and boost attendance at other sports Northwestern gives points to students who attend them. Then the students with the most point get first crack at the popular events)

If you were in charge of ticketing at a major University and instructed to develop a priority system for student ticket sales, what criteria do you think would be most valuable in determining how student priority access should be granted? and why? How would you structure this program?

The most valuable factor to determine priority access would be school involvement. I really liked the Northwestern example where student received points for attending other sporting events. This obviously improves the attendance of other events but I think this can be taken to another level.

I would give the students points for attending other sporting activities like Northwestern did with a sliding scale depending on the sport. I would also include points for the amount of credits taken at school, a student’s grade point average, their year attending and their involvement in other school sponsored activities such as young life. This will promote the school events that are not as popular and it will give students a reason to be proactive in them.

Here is an example of how the points system could be weighted.

Grade:

Senior- 10
Junior- 8
Sophomore-6
Freshman- 4

Credits: