PDA

View Full Version : C'mon Man - Give me a break from the negativity!



DCZag
01-22-2012, 06:54 AM
I was watching the stream of the game last night as I always do (thanks to Flyzag for hooking us displaced fans up) with the usual cast of characters who tune in and chat while the game runs. I enjoy reading what people have to say and the good natured banter that goes on - tho' our streams attract a lot of outside trolls and haters - we brush them off and move on.

I enjoy spending a couple of hours watching the games, interacting with other fans who aren't in Spokane, and sharing our common bond of Zag basketball. By the way on the justin.tv chat my handle is "jmprdood", that way anyone who was on knows what I'm talking about.

I'm usually a "live and let live" kinda guy - say what you want, make your point intelligently and move on, but realize that several won't agree with what you are saying. The last couple of games we've had a couple of posters make critical remarks of the team and coaching staff. Ok, say what you have to and let it go. But these guys don't. They go on, and on, and on......when a few of us get tired of them, they just continue to spew :vomit-smiley-007: I know I can hit the ignore button, but these chuckleheads who call themselves fans need to learn that if you're the only one who is right, you probably aren't. We're 16-3 with a top 20 RPI and top 40 SOS for crying out loud.

I, for one, don't appreciate it when a couple of Debbie Downers try to hijack my Sat night so they can rant about the perceived injustice of who gets 2 minutes of playing time or how the coaches should be replaced because a 20 yr old is inconsistent from night to night. Really? A 20 yr old being inconsistent?! That never happens anywhere but on a basketball court.

Ok, I feel better now.

C'mon Man - Give me a break from the negativity!

TheGonzagaFactor
01-22-2012, 06:59 AM
I was in there too, I didn't notice a whole lot of negativity outside of the trolls (saying BYU and SMC own the league now, LMAO) but I was in full screen for a while. Maybe it was me being out of control (soundpound), but I really doubt it. Chatting on jtv during games is fun.. good environment.

FlyZag
01-22-2012, 07:04 AM
I can always password protect the stream... If you guys think that would be best.

I haven't because somebody always "forgets" the password even though it is usually posted here on guboards and then I get endless requests asking for the password. Plus I figure it's easy enough to just hit ignore.

Thoughts?

TheGonzagaFactor
01-22-2012, 07:06 AM
I can always password protect the stream... If you guys think that would be best.

I haven't because somebody always "forgets" the password even though it is usually posted here on guboards and then I get endless requests asking for the password. Plus I figure it's easy enough to just hit ignore.

Thoughts?

If it's any sort of hassle for you to protect it, don't protect it. I have no problem hitting ignore.

DCZag
01-22-2012, 07:22 AM
Fly - not what I'm saying at all, and I'm not calling anyone out, but not hiding either.

I want everyone to be able to participate. I, too, can hit the ignore button - but I try to only do that to the trolls. The last couple of games I've had to do it to people who profess to be Zags fans.

Enjoy the ride folks - but if you don't like it, get off the bus - I'll stay on thank you.

Martin Centre Mad Man
01-22-2012, 08:26 AM
I can always password protect the stream... If you guys think that would be best.

I haven't because somebody always "forgets" the password even though it is usually posted here on guboards and then I get endless requests asking for the password. Plus I figure it's easy enough to just hit ignore.

Thoughts?

Please don't password it. I'm one who can never remember them, unless I create them. I always use Balogna1 because those banks make you add numbers to those things.

RenoZag
01-22-2012, 08:54 AM
I have used the "stream" to view one game this year; the "ignore" feature comes in handy. The commentary from some of the users is closer to what one reads on an ESPN chat board than what is found on the GUB. . .

Fly: Can you disable the chat / comments part & just show the game ?

Thomas_Sutpen
01-22-2012, 09:13 AM
Fly: Can you disable the chat / comments part & just show the game ?

If you're not watching in full-screen mode, you can collapse the chat window by clicking that little arrow on the tab with the head silhouette on it.

And thanks to Fly & Philly for the streams--Justin comes in handy when we're playing on ESPN-U(navailable).

Malastein
01-22-2012, 09:20 AM
Just win baby!

Oregonzagnut
01-22-2012, 10:45 AM
I can always password protect the stream... If you guys think that would be best.

I haven't because somebody always "forgets" the password even though it is usually posted here on guboards and then I get endless requests asking for the password. Plus I figure it's easy enough to just hit ignore.

Thoughts?

No, don't do that unless we get mass spam or hackers. Just realize, some pose as fans but aren't. they are actually trolls and if you feed them they stay. If you starve them, they go away or stop typing. However, if you want to keep it exclusive to GUBoard members, then just PM the password to people who ask or keep it the same for 3-4 games.

I agree with DCZag, except:

It is easy to confuse constructive criticism with negativity. I do not. Until the debate goes so far and for so long that each must then force their opinions and that only leads to repeatedly hammering home the players weaknesses, errors or the coaches weaknesses and errors. Or on the other hand, if someone looks for faults they must not be happy and hence not a "true" fan. By then it is all personal attempts at insults and none of us are immune. This is the end result of 50% of the threads it seems. so just in pushing the issue, the polarization becomes stronger and more distanced. But the one who argues towards the positive "just cheer and be happy" argument are just as wrong as the negative" Why can't we get past the Sweet 16" argument.

I am what many call a "debbie downer" because I look for the places we need improvement. I see the errors. Some are glaring and habitual problems. But an error should be fixed, IMO. Repeated errors and repeated bad habits that lead to losing winnable games are what drive me to speak my opinion. If I go further and show evidence after I am challenged for being a negative nancy that makes the entire conversation turn towards personal subjective goals rather than objective debate. Several here, flat out hate me and say so anonymously in red dot feedback. BTW, Why can't I leave red dots?

We know it takes all types. The powers that be need to appreciate the effort that it takes for some of us to analyze for problems and come up with solutions. Others can just praise and be happy and never bother to work out solutions. Some cheerlead, but some problem solve. To be honest, I am a "strict" parent. I am what kids would call the parent who is never satisfied with the B+ or even the A-. I want the A. My wife said I was not a listener, I was a problem solver. I never just listened and supported without comments on what the problem is. Solving problems means you have to point them out. Some people get depressed (down) and don't want to even know about problems that likely, none of us can ever change.

Pretty classic types of people and personality. They even have names for it. Scientifically known as the "Andrew Goldsmith theory". Type A (alpha) and type B (Beta) personality. I tend to be Alpha. My wife tended towards Beta. We got divorced. Go figure. The same applies on 100% of the forums because they are made up of human beings, not talking parrots. But we Alphas tend to die of heart attacks. I wonder why?

Some on this board wish the type A's would all just go away. We are assertive, problem solving, analytical and COLD!

The important warm fuzzy rah rah has its place! During the game! So I agree with DCZag that the DD's (NN's) MUST respect that time and hold their tongues until the next day's debates. Then after that, the Betas should listen to the Alphas and not accuse us of not being real fans for seeing the obvious problems with the game, players or coaches!

I saw the conversation that went on during the stream but did not type one word during it. There was 1 obvious troll who was not a fan or member at GUboards and thus his influence ruined it for many. He is not who I am talking about and we cannot control for any passerby, positive or negative.

I tire of people telling me I am not a fan for pointing out the problems. But they must tire of me for never just simply going along for the ride and being satisfied. Its two ageless types of people. IT WILL NEVER CHANGE. All we can do is respect each others space and opinion and hope somehow the stars align and we all come together and we can watch our Zags make it to the Final Four.

That is what we ALL want.

ZagMan in Philly
01-22-2012, 01:43 PM
I can always password protect the stream... If you guys think that would be best.

I haven't because somebody always "forgets" the password even though it is usually posted here on guboards and then I get endless requests asking for the password. Plus I figure it's easy enough to just hit ignore.

Thoughts?

Fly, first of all your stream is great.
Here are my thoughts since I have been around justintv for a few years. If you are not watching the chat, you should designate at least one dependable user, perhaps DCzag, someone will help keeping the chat room clean. Give this user the power to put bad posters in timeout or ban them. This would help greatly to keep things clean. I use the pass code in my stream because I didn't want Espn to shut down the stream, they have done that a few times. Root sports does not care about the streams. I will always keep my pass code simple, like win...cause I want the zags to win of course. Most regular zag fans use the streams are great fans and are people from this board.

Go Zags!

DCZag
01-22-2012, 02:12 PM
Philly and Fly - you guys are our Zag lifeline and we appreciate it greatly.

I'm not trying to censor anyone. Almost every opinion deserves to be heard (unless offensive). My only issue is the occasional poster who just uses the chat to monopolize their point of view to the point of distraction.

The place for that discourse is here on the GUBoard, not in the middle of the game.

Cheers!

maynard g krebs
01-22-2012, 05:12 PM
Thank you guys so much for streaming the games- it has come in handy a couple of times.

Please don't use passwords if you can avoid it. They are a hassle. Thanks.

FlyZag
01-22-2012, 05:30 PM
I think that part of the issue is that I set up the stream and then go watch the game on the TV or I'm AT the game... thus I really have no idea what's happening on the chat. I do usually check at half time. A few games ago I did block a spammer. Perhaps we could figure something out like Philly was suggesting.

For now I won't use a password. I am just streaming the over-the-air signal from KHQ... it's not a 'pay' signal like ESPN so passwording isn't necessary to keep the stream up, only to keep the casual passers by on Justin out.

I suspect we get a few WCC watchers that find the link on the board then take the opportunity to stir the p0t so to speak. That's fine. The more watching GU the better. I have been getting between 400-1200 viewers watching the stream depending on the game. A lot of those people wouldn't have the opportunity otherwise.

Go Zags!

LynetteG
01-22-2012, 05:36 PM
My only issue is the occasional poster who just uses the chat to monopolize their point of view to the point of distraction.


This is what happened last night. It was a vomit of words. I finally ignored the poster, ugh.

I also vote for DC or someone to supervise (if they are willing) during the games. There were only a few trolls, and again, that ignore feature is wonderful!

Thanks for streaming!

GU69
01-22-2012, 07:52 PM
I always have it on full screen so I don't pay any attention to the chat.

And I REALLY appreciate the streaming.

webspinnre
01-22-2012, 08:09 PM
Streaming is great for all the non-ESPN games, and greatly appreciated. I don't mind a pw or not, whatever works for others. I do agree with the idea of choosing a mod at the beginning, so you've got someone who can keep an eye on things.

Ezag
01-22-2012, 08:28 PM
I really appreciate the streams and watch the game, therefore I could care less about the chats

TheGonzagaFactor
01-22-2012, 09:17 PM
This is what happened last night. It was a vomit of words. I finally ignored the poster, ugh.



Just curious, who are you and the OP talking about? Was it someone who word vomits similarly on this board? I was away from the game for a while so I didn't notice the trash that is being called out, and I had a quick trigger on the ignore button to say the least. Chat is fun if you're not around anyone else who knows the team.

titopoet
01-23-2012, 04:53 AM
I love the stream and see it on full screen (I watch on a laptop).

So, I ignore the flurry of words and opinions on the side. Subscribing to the old mom's advice of words can't hurt.

First in dealing with opinion, I remember a great bit of advice and truth in dealing with anyone else opinion. Anything thing that anyone says (including what I am say now) says more about them and their world than about me or the subject at hand.

Second, we are dealing with opinion and not constructive criticism, advice or fact. This board is all about opinion, good or bad; it is opinion. Opinion being a valuation or attitude toward something that one has no power to change. If I am coach, or if a player earnestly asks for my valuation of his play and then acts on it, that is advice or constructive (or destructive in my case) criticism. But no coach, player or staff member would go on to a internet board or a live game chat and in act what a random fan says they should do. So, listening to chatter (good or bad) maybe fun, it more akin to listening to a herd of cattle moo.

I enjoy watching GU, but understand that neither Few or his players listen to my opinions. Nor should they. They work hard, putting in long hours to play, while I watch and see them play for less in a week than do one practice session. I get the joy of hindsight that they don't.

My advice on the stream is enjoy the human comedy.

Birddog
01-23-2012, 06:06 AM
My advice on the stream is enjoy the human comedy.
And that's good advice IMO. I can't tell you how often or how much pleasure I derive from reading a moronic post(s) and then exclaiming to myself "what a farking idiot".

bballbeachbum
01-23-2012, 08:58 AM
well, I missed the USD game and the chat in question,

but the streams are GREAT and I am always grateful

Thank you Fly and ZMIPhilly

ZagsGoZags
01-23-2012, 11:42 PM
be respectful, and give your reasons.

C'mon, freedom of speech, a few manners, some evidence of thinking,
more, more of that
C'mon more of that, Man, Geeses

for crying out loud, who cares if some call your thoughts polyanna or negative, just give the opinion, reasons, and keep it clean.

I love that expression: " C'mon Man."
women too

wildIDzagnut
01-24-2012, 09:54 AM
Philly and Fly have definitely saved me. Their streams are the only way I can see most of the games. I have noticed some disparaging remarks in the chats but I usually go to full screen so I can see the action as much as possible. If I want to read chats I usually use a second computer to read the GUB game thread....if that sounds a little nuts, it is, but I am all about Gonzaga! I love you all for being out there.