PDA

View Full Version : Not Everyone Believes



Knotsolucky
11-04-2011, 09:46 AM
Everybody has an opinion...

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/915445-college-basketball-2011-12-preview-50-intriguing-games-before-new-years-day#/articles/916147-college-basketball-rankings-10-underrated-teams-and-10-overrated-teams

primal23
11-04-2011, 09:54 AM
I would put more faith in KenPom then Bleacherreport lol

Ezag
11-04-2011, 10:00 AM
"The Gonzaga Bulldogs are ranked No. 23 in the country, but they don't belong in the top 25 conversation.

The Bulldogs will dominate in the WCC again, but that doesn't say much. They are relying on Elias Harris to make up for the loss of Steven Gray, who was the team's leading scorer last season, but Harris was incredibly disappointing, and there's no guarantee that he will help them at all.

Center Robert Sacre is dangerous inside, but he can't do it alone and he needs Harris to improve if their frontcourt can be successful.

The Bulldogs also do not have a solid option in the backcourt. There is no obvious choice to take Gray's position, and if they can't find a replacement they could be in some serious trouble."

oh, bull honkie!

Angelo Roncalli
11-04-2011, 10:00 AM
a senior in high school?


Hey, I'm Josh.
I started writing for Bleacher Report in December of 2010 as a junior in high school. After posting a few articles I was placed into the Featured Columnist Program and I am now a full-time FC. I mainly write about college basketball, but I also write about the Phillies and the MLB, tennis, football, the Little League World Series, and whatever sporting events are of interest.
I am a former intern for Bleacher Report, with my internship being in the Summer of 2011.
I previously considered business as my main option for a major in college, but I am now looking to double-major, also majoring in journalism/TV broadcasting in order to have a career following my passion of sports.
Be sure to check out my monthly rankings of college basketball recruiting. During the first two weeks I'll write an article about updated recruiting class rankings, and during the last two I'll write about updated undecided recruits.
Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/JoshSchoch

http://bleacherreport.com/users/425494-josh-schoch

ZagNative
11-04-2011, 10:01 AM
I don't read Bleacher Report. Thanks anyway.

Knotsolucky
11-04-2011, 10:06 AM
I'm not a big fan of the Bleacher Report either, BUT I do find myself reading everything I see about our beloved Zags...

Just thought I'd share...

EuroZag2010
11-04-2011, 10:19 AM
Isn't bleacher report written by a Gael fan or alum ? Or am I thinking of rushthecourt?

NotoriousZ
11-04-2011, 10:21 AM
Hey, I'm Josh.

I don't really know anything about the Zags except what I remember from last year. But don't let that stop you from reading my insightful article.

Since the Gonzaga will easily win the WCC again, and there's nothing different about the WCC this year, it doesn't mean anything.

Look for more quality information coming up soon, I just bought this really cool CBB magazine about the upcoming season! And be sure to follow me on twitter, Momma says I can tweet up until 10:00 pm now!

CaliforniaZaggin'
11-04-2011, 10:35 AM
Overrated? We're undefeated!

04ZagFan
11-04-2011, 10:48 AM
He does make some decent points... There isn't any obvious choice to replace Gray, and Harris was extremely disappointing last year. It's not like he's totally talking out of his rear.

tlark420
11-04-2011, 10:51 AM
He does make some decent points... There isn't any obvious choice to replace Gray, and Harris was extremely disappointing last year. It's not like he's totally talking out of his rear.

hes right elias harris will not help us win this year:confused:

bostonzagfan
11-04-2011, 10:53 AM
bleacher report is a mixed bag. There are thousands of writers. I write for them... will be writing about the Zags once the season starts.

Unless someone is a fan of the team they aren't going to have much insight into the team. I'm guessing that kid isn't a fan seeing as it was an NCAA wide article.

You can read bleacher report, but make it a point to remember if the author was good or bad, and then you can read/avoid in the future.

75Zag
11-04-2011, 10:55 AM
I just finished selling my wife's internal organs to the Chinese (futures contract only) so I could get more money to bet on GU making the Final Four. I told her that after GU makes the FF I can buy them back. My betting decision was of course based on other threads reporting that GU's performance against Carroll College was absolute proof that GU is a "lock" this year for the FF. I hate to see this sort of negative stuff, as it might make my wife feel nervous.

Go Bulldogs! Get Bigger!

04ZagFan
11-04-2011, 10:57 AM
hes right elias harris will not help us win this year:confused:

I said he makes SOME decent points.. I for one think we do belong in the top 25, and I believe Elias WILL be much improved... But just because we're confident in our team doesn't mean there aren't obvious question marks. There are.

maynard g krebs
11-04-2011, 11:10 AM
I said he makes SOME decent points..

Which ones?

04ZagFan
11-04-2011, 11:19 AM
Which ones?

"Center Robert Sacre is dangerous inside, but he can't do it alone and he needs Harris to improve if their frontcourt can be successful." I'd say that's a fair assessment... We need Elias to be much better than he was last year.

"There is no obvious choice to take Gray's position, and if they can't find a replacement they could be in some serious trouble." I'd say that's also fair. We all think Carter can be that guy, but we aren't positive.

Listen, I wasn't trying to start a fight, and like I said, I think we are going to be just fine, but you people just can't seem to accept the fact that this team has question marks.

maynard g krebs
11-04-2011, 11:31 AM
Listen, I wasn't trying to start a fight, and like I said, I think we are going to be just fine, but you people just can't seem to accept the fact that this team has question marks.

It was a simple question, nothing more. No need to read anything else into it.

DixieZag
11-04-2011, 11:47 AM
While the kid gets the facts that he addresses correctly, he does not acknowledge the facts that anyone who has researched the program significantly would point out, such as the fact that if Harris struggles again at the 4 - Sam Dower looked like a near All WCC team honorable mention as a RS Frosh and should contribute much more, nor the fact that by the end of the year Carter was playing at a higher level than Steven.

He also, of course, fails to mention anything about the quality incoming players.

It looks to me like he is simply reading into what we have left from last year.

CDC84
11-04-2011, 12:11 PM
I'm not sure if you can say that any team is overrated or underrated until actual games get played....

Gonzaga's frontcourt ranks among the best that college basketball has to offer...regardless of whether Harris had a disappointing 2nd year. Not many teams can put 5 decent post players on the floor like GU can. That alone makes them worthy of top 25 consideration.

For me GBJ is the clear choice to replace Steven Gray and has been so since his junior year in high school. He just needs to get his feet wet, and yes, he won't be as polished as Steven Gray was as a senior. He will make freshman mistakes. I could care less about how he played during a lousy exhibition game (which was also his first game under the lights). I still argue that Gray's loss won't be felt as much as Bouldin's loss last season. It will be felt, though. Especially early on.

DADoZAG
11-04-2011, 12:45 PM
I don't read Bleacher Report. Thanks anyway.

WHAT? YOU CAN'T JUST SAY THAT! YOU NEED TO JUMP UP AND DOWN AND SCREAM OUT WHY!

Or not...

Have a nice day, ZN.

Go ZAGS!

ZagNative
11-04-2011, 01:08 PM
Regarding Bleacher Report, I find it distressing to see professional media withering away, replaced poorly by amateur sites like Bleacher Report, whose contributors have such shaky credentials. It's just too bad, and we're being inundated with this amateur, poorly researched and written drivel.

TheGonzagaFactor
11-04-2011, 01:15 PM
I'm surprised he didn't say something like: "Demetri Goodson needs to be much improved at the point this season."

DADoZAG
11-04-2011, 01:27 PM
Regarding Bleacher Report, I find it distressing to see professional media withering away, replaced poorly by amateur sites like Bleacher Report, whose contributors have such shaky credentials. It's just too bad, and we're being inundated with this amateur, poorly researched and written drivel.

Sorry, ZN.

I was actually making a joke about how some folks just can't politely say they're not interested or they don't agree.

Your first response was perfectly perfect in every way.

Seriously.

Go ZAGS!

titopoet
11-04-2011, 01:45 PM
I just finished selling my wife's internal organs to the Chinese (futures contract only) so I could get more money to bet on GU making the Final Four. I told her that after GU makes the FF I can buy them back. My betting decision was of course based on other threads reporting that GU's performance against Carroll College was absolute proof that GU is a "lock" this year for the FF. I hate to see this sort of negative stuff, as it might make my wife feel nervous.

Go Bulldogs! Get Bigger!

Hey you could sign up bleacher report and do the top reasons my wife's internal organs will be back and the top ten reasons they won't. It might be a little too deep for Bleacher Report

bostonzagfan
11-04-2011, 04:33 PM
bleacher report isn't bad for some things. It's really not that far from a forum when you think about it.

looking for information about a team you are already knowledgeable probably isn't going to leave you too happy. Most people on this board are more knowledgeable about Gonzaga than any writer on bleacher report. If you wanted some information or opinion on something you don't know much about, then its not a bad place to look.

but those on this board are "experts" on gonzga hoops compared to most of the writers on the b/r.

bigblueandzags
11-04-2011, 05:23 PM
funny how he says we are "relying" on Harris to make up for the loss of Gray. we rely on all these boys to make up for any loss to the roster. im pretty sure Few didnt point at Harris in the off season and say "we are relying on you to make up for our loss at SG".

this poor kid writing for BR should probably do some research before he embarrasses himself again.

MickMick
11-04-2011, 05:38 PM
It's ok to cover your tracks now in case GU doesn't live up to expectations. I completely understand.

As for myself, I'm really liking what I see and I think they will get much better. I willingly expose myself as one of those kool-aid drinking Polly Annas. I'm waiting for the "I told ya so's" when GU is humbled. Let's see how long I have to wait. Until then, I have fallen hard for this year's version. I haven't been this optimistic in a long, long time.

RenoZag
11-04-2011, 05:42 PM
GU was 42 -1 to win it all at the Race & Sportsbook today, FWIW, etc. . .

UNC was the shortest price, 8 -1; Duke & Kentucky weren't far behind.

bostonzagfan
11-04-2011, 06:15 PM
It's ok to cover your tracks now in case GU doesn't live up to expectations. I completely understand.

As for myself, I'm really liking what I see and I think they will get much better. I willingly expose myself as one of those kool-aid drinking Polly Annas. I'm waiting for the "I told ya so's" when GU is humbled. Let's see how long I have to wait. Until then, I have fallen hard for this year's version. I haven't been this optimistic in a long, long time.

I'm excited for this year too. Especially because if Harris has a good year he is leaving, so next years team will be without Carter, Harris, and Sacre...

We will mostly likely have to wait until the current class of freshmen are seniors for a season as good as this one...

Kiddwell
11-04-2011, 06:36 PM
Everybody has an opinion...

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/915445-college-basketball-2011-12-preview-50-intriguing-games-before-new-years-day#/articles/916147-college-basketball-rankings-10-underrated-teams-and-10-overrated-teams

...wonder if BleacherReport has any tips for getting tough stains out of Kiddwell's gym shorts.

:]

Reborn
11-05-2011, 08:18 AM
I agree that Gray will not be missed as much as Bouldin. One reason is that last year's Freshmen were not as good as this year's Freshmen. The Zags have some great talent to fill in for the absence of Gray. I do not think any of last year's Freshmen were as good as Pangos or Bell or Spangler, and now I add Dranginis.

Every year there is a player and sometimes two who graduate, and the team will need to adjust to their absence. That's what makes college basketball so interesting to me. Personally, I seldom lament the loss of players accept in cases where the guys leave early for the NBA. Rather then think about the losses, I usually look forward to seeing the new playes who fill that vacancy. Last year it was Carter and Dower, and even Stockton. I really enjoyed watching the development and progress of these guys. Honestly, I didn't think about Boudin all that much. If we missed something about Matt it was his passing skills. Gray was not a great passer like Matt was.

So when I think about what the Zags need the most it's someone who can pass and create one on one, and so far that guy is Pangos. Rather then looking for more scoring from the wing (where Gray played) I'm looking for Pangos to pick up Gray's scoring (13. something per game). I think he can do it. If I were looking for a guy to play the wing where Gray was, I would look for a guy who can pass and play defense and rebound, and who can score maybe 6 or 7 pts a game. That guy is Landry-Edi in my opinion. He will be sitting now for a few games and that's really to bad.

MDABE80
11-05-2011, 11:05 AM
Bell is more than capable of making fans forget Steven's preformances. I suspect he will too but it'll be different..why? Pangos. It's a whole new day for the Zags with a competent PG who runs the team as it should be run and puts some points up at the same time. Kevin is the smartest PG in years. he's not physically imposing but how many PG's are? Not many...a rarity.

What does this mean? It means the bigs will be left alone to do their work. They have somebody to feed them. Defenses cannot collapse on the key because they know out PG is no threat to score. No more 4 on 5 or 3 on 5 anymore.

Sometime will be needed to develop the team as a team but come January this group will be a very talented cohesive unit.

75Zag
11-05-2011, 11:21 AM
. . . but how many PG's are [imposing]? Not many...a rarity.



I agree with you Abe, but have you been following UCLA's new point guard for the class of 2012? He is the #1 ranked point guard in the class of 2012 (#2 player overall), and he measures in at a mere 6'8" and 215 pounds. His name is Kyle Anderson and he is from New Jersey.

Sorry Mrs. '75, but I think I have fallen in love all over again.

Go Bulldogs! Get Bigger!

MDABE80
11-05-2011, 11:43 AM
Yep 75...that one word (imposing) was left out. Thinking faster than my fingers can deliver. I watched this kid about 5 months ago. Magic Johnsons are rare. But still, this kid has size, speed and skills. It'll be fun watching him develop.

Zagquette
11-06-2011, 05:47 PM
For me GBJ is the clear choice to replace Steven Gray and has been so since his junior year in high school. He just needs to get his feet wet, and yes, he won't be as polished as Steven Gray was as a senior. He will make freshman mistakes. I could care less about how he played during a lousy exhibition game (which was also his first game under the lights). I still argue that Gray's loss won't be felt as much as Bouldin's loss last season. It will be felt, though. Especially early on.

Hey, if he is just a little more polished than Steven was his freshman year, we could feel pretty good about.

Peace

hondo
11-06-2011, 06:03 PM
Are they Zagnostics?

ZaggyStardust
11-06-2011, 06:20 PM
Are they Zagnostics?



:lmao: Good one Hondo!

maynard g krebs
11-06-2011, 06:24 PM
Are they Zagnostics?

I am a dyslexic agnostic insomniac. Sometimes I will lie awake all night, wondering whether there really is a dog.

LynetteG
11-06-2011, 07:39 PM
I am a dyslexic agnostic insomniac. Sometimes I will lie awake all night, wondering whether there really is a dog.

bravo! ROFLOL!