PDA

View Full Version : Don Migliuri, RIP



gamagin
05-14-2011, 02:05 PM
Following is a Spokesman-Review feature story on Ben Migliuri, son of former Zag basketball player and GU grad, Don Migliuri. I repeat it here because the story is really about both Don and his son.

Also, it seems timely because Don died a couple of days ago, losing his very brave, extended battle with brain cancer.

Don was a great guy, a great father and husband and a wonderful friend to many on this board, as well as at GU, G Prep and throughout Spokane. He is survived by his wife, Karen, and four children.

http://m.spokesman.com/stories/2011/jan/20/migliuri-does-more-than-manage/

El Voce
05-14-2011, 02:55 PM
I am proud to have called Don a friend and neighbor. We met our freshman year at GU, long, long ago, and stayed close from then on. As gamagin noted, he was a great friend of the Zags, and will be deeply missed by those who knew him.

jazzdelmar
05-14-2011, 05:07 PM
I am proud to have called Don a friend and neighbor. We met our freshman year at GU, long, long ago, and stayed close from then on. As gamagin noted, he was a great friend of the Zags, and will be deeply missed by those who knew him.



hall of famers in life, both....

TheZagPhish
05-14-2011, 06:28 PM
Blessings to his family.

MDABE80
05-14-2011, 11:46 PM
Superior person in HS and college. We lost a good one in Don. Bad luck we never can figure out.. but he was such a nice guy. Prayers for you big fella!

ExtremeJim
05-15-2011, 08:45 AM
...honored in 2004 at the last game in the original Kennel, he was the Zag player who jumped center in the first game at the then John F. Kennedy Pavilion:

http://gonzaga.scout.com/2/238652.html

I knew him only casually, but he was a very nice man, a frustrating gym-rat opponent after he completed his varsity eligibility, and a great sport.

He had the disarming tactic, after you beat him with a smooth inside move, of asking wonderingly, "How'd you do that?" Then you'd spend the next ten minutes falling in love with the move while he would block your next three shots.

He had some long arms on him for a man of his height, but could never seem to understand or accept that mine were longer.

Once, in talking to my 89-year-old father about death, I asked how he could seem so complacent about accepting it. He put it this way: "As time passes, more and more of the people that were important in your life have gone to the other side of the grass, and at some point, you want to get on over there and rejoin the party."

We are poorer here for Don's passing, but the party on the other side of the grass is richer.

gamagin
05-15-2011, 09:03 AM
...honored in 2004 at the last game in the original Kennel, he was the Zag player who jumped center in the first game at the then John F. Kennedy Pavilion:

http://gonzaga.scout.com/2/238652.html

I knew him only casually, but he was a very nice man, a frustrating gym-rat opponent after he completed his varsity eligibility, and a great sport.

He had the disarming tactic, after you beat him with a smooth inside move, of asking wonderingly, "How'd you do that?" Then you'd spend the next ten minutes falling in love with the move while he would block your next three shots.

He had some long arms on him for a man of his height, but could never seem to understand or accept that mine were longer.

Once, in talking to my 89-year-old father about death, I asked how he could seem so complacent about accepting it. He put it this way: "As time passes, more and more of the people that were important in your life have gone to the other side of the grass, and at some point, you want to get on over there and rejoin the party."

We are poorer here for Don's passing, but the party on the other side of the grass is richer.

very well said. thanks !

gamagin
05-15-2011, 09:04 AM
scroll down to it:


http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/spokesman/obituary-browse.aspx?page=3&recentdate=0&entriesperpage=10

hondo
05-15-2011, 07:21 PM
Don was a really good guy who will be missed by all who knew him.

Zag 77
05-15-2011, 07:31 PM
Hondo, did Kennedy Pavilion open around 1966? That would mean this gentleman would have played for Hank Anderson in the Big Sky days.

MDABE80
05-15-2011, 08:03 PM
1966.true. Transitioned some programs though. Some were in sooner and some later I think.

hondo
05-15-2011, 09:03 PM
Don graduated from GPrep and enrolled at GU the same year Kennedy Pavilion opened, 1965. GU at that time had a Freshmen team and Don jumped center on opening afternoon in the very first official game in KP. Jud Heathcote brought his Cougar freshmen team to Spokane to be the first game of a double header. The Cougar center was Ted Wierman and Don either outjumped Ted or timed the jump better and won the tip becoming the first player to touch the ball in KP in a regular game.

gamagin
05-16-2011, 01:12 PM
Dear friends:

I am sad (and happy) to report that Don has gone home. He passed away on May 11, 2011 at 11:11 p.m. It was mercifully pain free and peaceful. We were blessed to be with him at that time. (Melissa, Merry, Benjy, Gary, Aunt Barbara, Theresa and me.) He was only at Hospice House for a week, and was very content and at peace. He was 64 years old. Our 36th anniversary would have been next month. Although he wanted to be here for Benjy's and Merry's graduations, Gracie's and Evie's birthdays, and for the birth of our first grandson in October, Don always kept his spiritual bags packed. He was ready.

His Vigil Service will be at Hennessey-Smith Funeral Home, 2203 N. Division, Spokane, 99207, on Tues. May 17, at 7:00 p.m. The viewing will be at Hennessey's that same day from noon to 4:00 p.m. The Mass of Christian Burial will be at 10:00 a.m. on Wed. May 18, at St. Thomas More Catholic Church, 505 W. St. Thomas More Way, Spokane, 99208, just two blocks from our house. Interment will follow at Holy Cross Cemetary, 7200 N. Wall St., Spokane, with full military honors. All are invited to return to STM for a reception immediately following. If you cannot attend, let me know if you'd like a memorial pamphlet and I'll send you one. (They are really awesome, as was Don!) Memorial contributions may be made to Hospice of Spokane, 121 S. Arthur, Spokane, 99210.

We are saddened to lose such a wonderful man. He has always been the very best Christian person, husband, father, grandfather, brother and friend he knew how to be. We need more people like Don Migliuri in this world. Don and his indomitable sense of humor will be missed very much by many people. Even though we are sad for ourselves, we are happy for him. He is in paradise with lots of people who have loved him. We set him asail on his journey, saying "Well, there he goes. He's gone." But somewhere on the other shore there was someone clapping their hands, jumping up and down saying, "Oh boy, here he comes!"

Thank you all for the many prayers and support. I pray that you will be blessed, in turn. Please share this with anyone you think would like to know.

May the peace of Christ be with you.

Love,

Karen

jazzdelmar
05-16-2011, 01:18 PM
gamagin, i didn't know the fellow but he sounds like a terrific man who was also blessed to have such a friend as you.

MDABE80
05-16-2011, 02:25 PM
Jazxz...very quiet kid with unusual springs. Academically disciplined and was way up in his SAT's.
But such a nice guy with a fabulous sense of humor with a ready grin. Our friends are leaving us. All of us must do better in staying touch. When someone like Don passes, a bit of us goes with them.
Superior Christian man. Good Dad and successful in life in so many ways. A little bit goes...every... little... minute.....

Reborn
05-17-2011, 07:15 AM
Great post gamagin. Don was a great guy, great teammate and great student at GU. He will surely be missed. My condolences to the family.

gamagin
05-17-2011, 07:38 AM
Great post gamagin. Don was a great guy, great teammate and great student at GU. He will surely be missed. My condolences to the family.

thanks. I will tell his family about your kind words & thoughts.

gamagin
05-18-2011, 01:27 PM
Don was laid to rest today after a first rate send up that included loving words from his daughter, Melissa, a reading from his son, Ben, and escorts by the military and a Knights of Columbus honor guard, complete with taps.

A final request from Don, himself, went awry at the cemetary when the portable cd player failed to work. so we were all encouraged to sing, "Louie, Louie" ourselves. Before that we were privileged to hear the very professional trio of Harry Lewis, Paul Schuster & Helen Tugan, who has one of the finest set of pipes I've heard in a long time.

Board members I saw in attendance included Hondo and el Voce & JHoops. I'm guessing since there were a fair amount of Gonzaga folks, there were more. I saw Don's teammate Mike McChesney there, too. I'm hoping those listed above will help name the rest they saw.

Everyone learns something at these functions and what I learned about our friend is how many relatives he had that I've known all my life but did not know THEY knew each other.

Other than that, the only thing I can think to add is how loving Don's wife and family were towards him all of his life. And how grateful they were to have him as a husband, father and grandfather.

I plan to share this thread with the family, so if any of you have memories you'd like to add, or best wishes, please feel free.

RIP Don. Godspeed. See you on the other side.

--

El Voce
05-18-2011, 07:12 PM
Gamagin, very nice recap. My wife and I were struck by the grace exhibited by Karen and the kids in very trying circumstances.

McChesney lives right across the street from me, and Don lived just down the street. In a lot of ways, Spokane is really a small town. In that same vein I thank all the other pall bearers/honorary pall bearers for letting this Basque from southern Idaho feel at home among the Italian/Irish/Gonzaga Prep Mafia.

Don was a kind and gentle man. I was lucky to have him in my life for 46 years. Like his daughter Melissa mentioned in her eulogy today, I feel cheated that he won't be around for the next twenty years.

SunDevilGolfZag
05-23-2011, 06:57 PM
Don was a great guy. I played several years of City League on the same team with Don. A great teammate and a nice family. RIP my friend.