PDA

View Full Version : Interesting rating site



MDABE80
06-25-2007, 06:58 PM
http://www.sociology.uiowa.edu/bestschoolsforathletes/mensbasketball.htm

ZagNative
06-25-2007, 07:14 PM
Very interesting indeed. Thanks for ferreting that out, Abe. Zags #6 ranking is pretty impressive.

sittingon50
06-25-2007, 07:17 PM
Nice find Doc.

pbriz
06-25-2007, 09:27 PM
and washington comes in at 185....:D

sonuvazag
06-26-2007, 06:16 AM
and washington comes in at 185....:D Wow, that gives me a new appreciation for Romar's recruiting ability.

SageOfZagville
06-26-2007, 06:48 AM
Components of the Student Athlete Performance Ratings (SAPR)

We have developed a rating system that combines those elements important to a college athlete who wants the best showcase for his athletic talent and also the best opportunity of a quality college degree.

One component of the SAPR is the Athletic Success Rate (ASR) that combines the following information for each NCAA football and basketball program:

The number of team wins in the last 5 years
The teamís all-time winning percentage
The number of conference championships in the last 5 years
Total attendance at recent home games
Number of bowl games in the last 5 years
Number of national rankings 25th or above in the last 5 years
Number of program players currently playing in the National Football League (NFL) or National Basketball Association (NBA)

The second component of the SAPR is the Athletic Progress Rate (APR) calculated by the NCAA to determine how well teams have promoted the academic progress of their athletes. The APR tracks two critical factors for each athlete on each NCAA team:

Whether the athlete who participated last year has been retained on the team this year.
Whether the athlete remains academically eligible to play this year.
The Student Athlete Performance Rate (SAPR) combines the above components to rank NCAA programs by how well they provide their athletes with both the opportunity for athletic success and academic progress.

GoZags
06-26-2007, 07:00 AM
1. Duke
2. Illinois
3.North Carolina
4. Kansas
5. Syracuse
6. Gonzaga
89. LMU
129. USD
130. SCU
135. Portland
166. Pepperdine
185. Dawgs
241. St. Mary's
283. USF
298. Coogs

ZagNative
06-26-2007, 07:40 AM
APRs for 2005-06 (http://www.ncaa.org/wps/portal/!ut/p/kcxml/04_Sj9SPykssy0xPLMnMz0vM0Y_QjzKLN4j3CQXJgFjGpvqRqC KOcAFfj_zcVH1v_QD9gtzQiHJHRUUAc0tpTA!!/delta/base64xml/L3dJdyEvUUd3QndNQSEvNElVRS82XzBfTFU!?CONTENT_URL=h ttp://www2.ncaa.org/portal/academics_and_athletes/education_and_research/academic_reform/apr/2005-06/school_data.html)for the top 25 (Connecticut and Wake Forrest are tied @ #9):

Duke 972
Illinois 986
North Carolina 993
Kansas 969
Syracuse 948
Gonzaga 960
Oklahoma St. 966
Kentucky 916+
Connecticut 934
Wake Forest 986
Villanova 993
Arizona 924+
Michigan St. 965
Maryland 908+
Xavier 976
Southern Illinois 935
Penn 979
Pacific 974
UNC-Wilmington 993
Creighton 962
Oregon 974
Notre Dame 977
Wisconsin 931
Stanford 955
Davidson 1000



+ Denotes APR that does not subject the team to contemporaneous penalties due to the squad-size adjustment. The "upper confidence boundary" of a eam's APR must be below 925 for that team to be subject to contemporaneous penalties. Squad-size adjustments will be eliminated when the fourth year of APR data is collected, provided the team's multiyear cohort includes 30 or more student-athletes.


Edited to add: Interesting that Stanford's APR is lower than ours ....

RebornZag
06-26-2007, 10:07 AM
Are we now able to say the word Elite?

sonuvazag
06-26-2007, 10:09 AM
Are we now able to say the word Elite?:D

RebornZag
06-26-2007, 04:39 PM
Reviewed this a little longer, and compared basketball schools and football schools to get an idea of what it could mean. When you look at the football schools my response is, "yeah, they should be there." So Ganzaga/basketball and Florida/football says a lot to me. And GU is only 3 points behind Syracuse for the #4 spot. #4 in football is Michigan. Again I say, "Michigan a football school? Hell yes!"

I would really use this tool with our recruits. I think it says a lot for GU. I think most kids (and especially their parents and coaches) are looking for not only good basketball schools but Universities with a great education. I am really impressed with this!!!!!!!!!!