PDA

View Full Version : Your Bulldog Tavern



BobZag
04-27-2011, 09:27 AM
http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2011/apr/27/bulldog-adds-some-new-bites/

Hungry? Like barbecue? :)

Birddog can give us a historical account of this Zag establishment, dating back to the Pharoahs. Sam the Sham, that is.

Zag 77
04-27-2011, 09:34 AM
It was the prime spot to be when I was at GU in the 70's and they did not check ID. However, it went on a real down hill slide after that. Last time I was in there 15 years ago the place smelled like stale whiz, and that does not do much for the ambiance.:vomit-smiley-007:

johno
04-27-2011, 09:56 AM
I'm not optimistic that the BBQ will be any good, but I'll give it a try and report back. As someone raised on good Texas BBQ I haven't found anything close in Spokane. The chef worked at Lazy Bones. I tired that before it closed and was really hoping for the best, but could taste no smoke flavor. Seems like they use some electric contraption called a "smoker" but it comes nothing close to pit smoking with real wood. Legitimate BBQ shouldn't rely on sauce. It should stand on its own. Don't get me wrong, I really hope this stuff is good.

coolhandzag
04-27-2011, 10:03 AM
BZ: This is much better! :)

God Bless the drinking establishments on the NW and SE corners of the intersection of Sharp and Hamilton. Lots of good memories! Stale whiz stank or not!

TexasZagFan
04-27-2011, 10:03 AM
It was the prime spot to be when I was at GU in the 70's and they did not check ID. However, it went on a real down hill slide after that. Last time I was in there 15 years ago the place smelled like stale whiz, and that does not do much for the ambiance.:vomit-smiley-007:

It probably smelled like stale whiz in the 70s, too. We just didn't pay attention to it at the time.

Last time I stopped there was during my (25 year) reunion in 2001. It didn't appear like much had changed.

Over the years, our tastes have changed, hopefully for the better.

Good memories, though: $1 pitchers (was it Lucky Lager?), free popcorn (damn it was salty!), an occasional stromboli, and an occasional game of pinball.

BobZag
04-27-2011, 10:05 AM
I'm not optimistic that the BBQ will be any good, but I'll give it a try and report back. As someone raised on good Texas BBQ I haven't found anything close in Spokane. The chef worked at Lazy Bones. I tired that before it closed and was really hoping for the best, but could taste no smoke flavor. Seems like they use some electric contraption called a "smoker" but it comes nothing close to pit smoking with real wood. Legitimate BBQ shouldn't rely on sauce. It should stand on its own. Don't get me wrong, I really hope this stuff is good.

Longhorn Barbecue on Argonne Road and at Airway Heights is the best I've found around here. I tend to go to Pete's and David's in the Bulldog vicinity.

TexasZagFan
04-27-2011, 10:07 AM
I'm not optimistic that the BBQ will be any good, but I'll give it a try and report back. As someone raised on good Texas BBQ I haven't found anything close in Spokane. The chef worked at Lazy Bones. I tired that before it closed and was really hoping for the best, but could taste no smoke flavor. Seems like they use some electric contraption called a "smoker" but it comes nothing close to pit smoking with real wood. Legitimate BBQ shouldn't rely on sauce. It should stand on its own. Don't get me wrong, I really hope this stuff is good.

Mesquite chips are a secret ingredient in Texas BBQ. The thought of a mesquite-smoked steak (or ribs) is making my mouth :drool:.

gu03alum
04-27-2011, 10:22 AM
Bulldog is awesome. That's my spot before games because you can actually get a beer. I do not like the crowds at Jack and Dan's before a game and it's next to impossible to get a beer there. If you are lucky enough to get a beer it usually is in a hot glass that just came out of the dishwasher. Jack and Dan's is great any other time.

CDC84
04-27-2011, 10:27 AM
It's also possible to have too much wood smoke. I had some chicken a couple of months ago that was cooked over oak, and I couldn't get the friggin' oak smell off my hands for 3 days. Way, way too strong. There is no substitute for a good pitmaster.

gu03alum
04-27-2011, 10:43 AM
It's also possible to have too much wood smoke. I had some chicken a couple of months ago that was cooked over oak, and I couldn't get the friggin' oak smell off my hands for 3 days. Way, way too strong. There is no substitute for a good pitmaster.

You should consider a fork.

BobZag
04-27-2011, 10:50 AM
CDC doesn't eat anything w/o Tabasco and jalepenos and red peppers x10!

CDC84
04-27-2011, 10:55 AM
Kind of hard to use a knife and fork on a drumstick. Plus it's just plain wrong. Such culinary treats require caveman principles.

I can safely say that this chicken didn't have Tabasco, jalapenos, cayenne, Red Rooster Sauce or anything else on it. Strange but true. Just a whole lot of oak smell.

gu03alum
04-27-2011, 10:58 AM
Kind of hard to use a knife and fork on a drumstick. Plus it's just plain wrong. Such culinary treats require caveman principles.

I can safely say that this chicken didn't have Tabasco, jalapenos, cayenne, Red Rooster Sauce or anything else on it. Strange but true. Just a whole lot of oak smell.

My bad, I kind of forgot that chicken can come on a bone. I eat a lot of the frozen, boneless, skinless chicken breasts from Costco.

BJZags
04-27-2011, 11:51 AM
For all my time spent there, I never realized they offered food. Go figure.

LongIslandZagFan
04-27-2011, 11:56 AM
Had many a burger and beers with Chris Sarbaugh's dad at the Bulldog.

ZagNut08
04-27-2011, 12:09 PM
My bad, I kind of forgot that chicken can come on a bone. I eat a lot of the frozen, boneless, skinless chicken breasts from Costco.

You're supposed to use a knife and fork on those?? That explains the disgusted looks from the wife...or at least some of them.

77Zag
04-27-2011, 12:21 PM
It probably smelled like stale whiz in the 70s, too. We just didn't pay attention to it at the time.

Last time I stopped there was during my (25 year) reunion in 2001. It didn't appear like much had changed.

Over the years, our tastes have changed, hopefully for the better.

Good memories, though: $1 pitchers (was it Lucky Lager?), free popcorn (damn it was salty!), an occasional stromboli, and an occasional game of pinball.


I must have seen you there!
Couldn't smell the stale whiz because of the stale popcorn aroma.

You could also get a warm case of Fischer, Buckhorn, Regal Select or Lucky Lager for $4 to go.

I was a bit partial to making sure you had a case of warm Buckhorn in the van, just in case a haha broke out.

Texas, send a PM to reveal your actual being!

ZagLawGrad
04-27-2011, 12:32 PM
.... Buckhorn......

Yeee Haw!! Did someone say Buckhorn!! :cheers: :000tens:

RenoZag
04-27-2011, 12:55 PM
http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x375/RenoZag/BulldogAd.jpg

I'll bet that was some mighty fine wine at that price. . .

LongIslandZagFan
04-27-2011, 12:58 PM
http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x375/RenoZag/BulldogAd.jpg

I'll bet that was some mighty fine wine at that price. . .

That's a serious amount of wine per serving.

rijman
04-27-2011, 01:10 PM
Mesquite chips are a secret ingredient in Texas BBQ. The thought of a mesquite-smoked steak (or ribs) is making my mouth :drool:.
Best BBQ I ever had was at a ranch owned by relatives in Weslaco Texas. They cut mesquite limbs off their own trees to make the fire in the dual chimney barrel smoker. The steaks they cooked were awesome, so was the shrimp and corn on the cob.

kitzbuel
04-27-2011, 01:17 PM
It probably smelled like stale whiz in the 70s, too. We just didn't pay attention to it at the time.



Exactly.


Pete's Pizza next door had the calzones. They tasted awesome when I was there, but of course anything tasted awesome after 3-4 pitchers.

gamagin
04-27-2011, 02:02 PM
Yeee Haw!! Did someone say Buckhorn!! :cheers: :000tens:

and of course ! the source of the stale whiz smell was the buckhorn.
actual Bulldog whiz had a sweeter bouquet.

I attribute some of the sweetness to the influence of a pack of Marlboro's, a gallon of Lucky Lager, several baskets of oily, stale popcorn & and a dozen or so spears of asparagus, traced back to the Cog. Per student.

Add to that, steady doses of B.O. from Armand and several overwhelming waves of "inexpensive" perfume from Minnie, the proprietors, and we're almost there.

For me, it's important to mix in a stromboli and a cherry blizzard from the Dairy Freeze to get the perfect, special, aroma, that constituted some of my "good old days" in the Bulldog.

At its apex the hot provolone in a stromboli, itself, could constitute the best, most sweet whiz smell of them all.

As soon as I turned 21, I switched to Joey's (now known as Jack and Dan's), where I.D. was checked.

GoZags
04-27-2011, 02:18 PM
Bulldog v Jack and Dan's thread from Mae's (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=22369)

zagco
04-27-2011, 03:31 PM
Zagco favored the Raineer pounders back in the day, and when he was hungry. Bulldog was packed back in the day, especially on Thursday nights.

ridgebackzag
04-27-2011, 04:09 PM
The best BBQ in the world is probably made on some guy's back porch that doesn't know he could make a restaurant out of it.

On the other hand if you like a range of BBQ, particularly hawaiin, Aloha Island Grill on Francis is my favorite in Spokane. Don't make it a date night though, it only seats about 10 and feels like the old Papa Johns lobby on Hamilton.

gu03alum
04-27-2011, 04:43 PM
The best BBQ in the world is probably made on some guy's back porch that doesn't know he could make a restaurant out of it.

On the other hand if you like a range of BBQ, particularly hawaiin, Aloha Island Grill on Francis is my favorite in Spokane. Don't make it a date night though, it only seats about 10 and feels like the old Papa Johns lobby on Hamilton.

I love Aloha Island Grill. It might be the one thing I miss the most about Spokane.

gamagin
04-27-2011, 04:51 PM
The best BBQ in the world is probably made on some guy's back porch that doesn't know he could make a restaurant out of it.

On the other hand if you like a range of BBQ, particularly hawaiin, Aloha Island Grill on Francis is my favorite in Spokane. Don't make it a date night though, it only seats about 10 and feels like the old Papa Johns lobby on Hamilton.

re pgh 1: I nominate Hondo's back porch & yard. THE best.

re pgh 2: I'm going to check it out. driven by many times. Wondered a few times if it was any good. Never stopped. Now, I will. thanks.

77Zag
04-28-2011, 07:19 AM
http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x375/RenoZag/BulldogAd.jpg

I'll bet that was some mighty fine wine at that price. . .

Annie Green Springs or Boonesfarm -- sweet wine, cheap and worked well as a an aphrodisiac, especially when supplemented with stale popcorn!

cjm720
04-28-2011, 07:32 AM
Some good memories at the Bulldog...never knew they had food LOL. That's what HICO and The Chef was for...

gamagin
04-28-2011, 07:42 AM
Some good memories at the Bulldog...never knew they had food LOL. That's what HICO and The Chef was for...

The Ptomaine Triangle . . .

BobZag
04-28-2011, 08:20 AM
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2180/2254563260_c8cbd8c02c.jpg

http://www.moderndrunkardmagazine.com/issues/55/images/ripple-1.jpg

Goshzagit
04-28-2011, 08:24 AM
The saltiest popcorn on the planet & the coolest party booths around.

Possibly the smallest bathrooms too...

That is what I remember of the Bulldog.

cjm720
04-28-2011, 08:27 AM
Possibly the smallest bathrooms too...

Noticed bathroom was plurural...LOL.

I remember beating Oregon Zag Nut in pool a lot :)

Angelo Roncalli
04-28-2011, 08:29 AM
Annie Green Springs or Boonesfarm -- sweet wine, cheap and worked well as a an aphrodisiac, especially when supplemented with stale popcorn!

Only if your target was a Kinman coed...

77Zag
04-28-2011, 10:34 AM
Only if your target was a Kinman coed...

I was always under the impression that the Zag men were the targets for the Kinman coed population. Hunt and peck, if you will.

GoZags
04-28-2011, 10:54 AM
I was always under the impression that the Zag men were the targets for the Kinman coed population. Hunt and peck, if you will.

Three words that have served me well over the years ...... "I don't remember".

Then there are the four words that have the same effect .... "I'll take the 5th".

MedZag
04-28-2011, 10:57 AM
The saltiest popcorn on the planet & the coolest party booths around.

Possibly the smallest bathrooms too...

That is what I remember of the Bulldog.

Few others:

Steve. If you have to ask who Steve is, you don't know Steve. Does he still work there?

The "retired" architect who always sat on the corner, drank white zinfendel, and chatted up the coeds at every possible moment.

"That girl is no good for you. -Mom" graffiti'd on the fence behind the bar. There was a picture circulating once of a couple doing the horizontal handshake on the grass underneath the graffiti.

hondo
04-28-2011, 11:01 AM
"1: I nominate Hondo's back porch & yard. THE best."


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dB4fSs_juoc

zagco
04-28-2011, 11:04 AM
Boy, Zagco is sure glad he never had to go poop in that bathroom.

Angelo Roncalli
04-28-2011, 11:21 AM
Why is it in some of these posts and the PM's that are flying around that the most prevalent words/phrases are "Kinman" and "5th Amendment?" :)

TexasZagFan
04-28-2011, 11:25 AM
I was always under the impression that the Zag men were the targets for the Kinman coed population. Hunt and peck, if you will.

It was that way, until my dormmates stripped me and locked me on the balcony of 2nd floor DeSmet as a birthday present.

From that point on, the "hunting and pecking" of Kinman coeds vanished much like the dinosaurs after the Cretaceous-Tertiary extinction event.

Robzagnut
04-28-2011, 11:28 AM
Longhorn Barbecue on Argonne Road and at Airway Heights is the best I've found around here. I tend to go to Pete's and David's in the Bulldog vicinity.

Not even close.

Try Chicken-n-More downtown. My best friend was born and raised in Alabama and complained about the lack of southern bbq in Spokane. I took him to Chicken-n-More and he ordered the pulled pork, greens, hushpuppies and red beans & rice. After we were through, he bought two bottles of their bbq sauce to take home saying. "That is southern bbq."

Now it's on our monthly lunch spot rotation.

ZagLawGrad
04-28-2011, 11:50 AM
Not even close.

Try Chicken-n-More downtown. My best friend was born and raised in Alabama and complained about the lack of southern bbq in Spokane. I took him to Chicken-n-More and he ordered the pulled pork, greens, hushpuppies and red beans & rice. After we were through, he bought two bottles of their bbq sauce to take home saying. "That is southern bbq."

Now it's on our monthly lunch spot rotation.

Been to both, sticking with BZ on this one. And that other outfit is slooooooww.......

freejoe69
04-28-2011, 11:50 AM
JohnO: My daughter moved to Austin a year ago and we had BBQ at Salt Lick there and Pappas in Houston. We loved both; what do you think?

Everybody else: Didn't you used to be able to walk from the Bulldog into Pete's without going outside? And does anybody else here remember Van Gorp Place, the one-block long street near Colonial Bowl? And Pagan Pink? 77 cents. Enough said.

TexasZagFan
04-28-2011, 11:56 AM
The "Student Stuffer" at Paki's was a culinary treat...especially when you had a big case of the munchies caused by inhaling the acrid smoke emanating from neighboring rooms.

Second hand smoke was just a fact of life in those days.

77Zag
04-28-2011, 11:57 AM
Three words that have served me well over the years ...... "I don't remember".

Then there are the four words that have the same effect .... "I'll take the 5th".

+1

gamagin
04-28-2011, 12:16 PM
Everybody else: Didn't you used to be able to walk from the Bulldog into Pete's without going outside? And does anybody else here remember Van Gorp Place, the one-block long street near Colonial Bowl? And Pagan Pink? 77 cents. Enough said.

(1) Trick question, perhaps ? Pete's started out as a pizza shell business (selling frozen, rolled out, dough, to other pizza parlors) inside the sw corner of the Bulldog. There was an outside and an inside entrance from the BD.

Pete's later on moved next door, the BD expanded the old Pete's space in to a hamburger joint, and Pete's kept making shells but expanded to serving calzone's and pizza.

If you want to go back even further, & you are not too confused, the original bulldog Tavern was in what is now the Pete's Pizza building. The present Bulldog is made up of old WW II surplus sections of barracks or buildings of that vintage and shape, that once stood behind Webster grade school, across the street from der Bingle's house. Webster later became the GU Law School & is now a full block of student housing in the 600 block between sharp and sinto.

(2) Yes, I remember Van Gorp.

(3) Pagan Pink ? Nope. I'm guessing it was a drink in one of those holes in the wall pubs along the west side of division somewhere, or else at Mary Glass' Bubble Inn. But just guessing. Further it would probably involve wine and a soft drink, since hard drinks were not in the pubs. Close ?

freejoe69
04-28-2011, 12:29 PM
Man, I hope I wasn't peeing in the freezer on my trip to Pete's. I just thought it was a bit drafty in the hallway. And Pagan Pink was a particularly fruity flavor of Ripple. Even tried finding a vintage bottle on Ebay last year, to no avail. There's no accounting for taste, or lack of it! And I'm happy to hear that I didn't make Van Gorp up in my head. Like an imaginary friend.

Vizagra
04-28-2011, 12:33 PM
Few others:

Steve. If you have to ask who Steve is, you don't know Steve. Does he still work there?

The "retired" architect who always sat on the corner, drank white zinfendel, and chatted up the coeds at every possible moment.

"That girl is no good for you. -Mom" graffiti'd on the fence behind the bar. There was a picture circulating once of a couple doing the horizontal handshake on the grass underneath the graffiti.

Steve DOES still work there!

gamagin
04-28-2011, 01:31 PM
Man, I hope I wasn't peeing in the freezer on my trip to Pete's. I just thought it was a bit drafty in the hallway. And Pagan Pink was a particularly fruity flavor of Ripple. Even tried finding a vintage bottle on Ebay last year, to no avail. There's no accounting for taste, or lack of it! And I'm happy to hear that I didn't make Van Gorp up in my head. Like an imaginary friend.

there was a door on the w/side of the BD, west of the bar about midway between sharp and the alley. I believe it is still there. Deliveries were taken in that way. It was a seldom-used (probably a fire) exit for patrons, however. it led towards sharp (south), where one could take a quick right and go in to Pete's.

Most BD patrons went out the south (sharp ave.) door, past the pool table(s) and the bathrooms of the BD, walked a few feet west and entered Pete's, directly next door.

I do not think there was a door/passageway linking the BD & Pete's but I am not positive. I just never saw it.

Btw, there used to be a small barber shop in the BD building, between where the restaurant section (original Pete's) and the bathrooms are now. Facing Sharp.

Angelo Roncalli
04-28-2011, 01:52 PM
there was a door on the w/side of the BD, west of the bar about midway between sharp and the alley. I believe it is still there. Deliveries were taken in that way. It was a seldom-used (probably a fire) exit for patrons, however. it led towards sharp (south), where one could take a quick right and go in to Pete's.

Most BD patrons went out the south (sharp ave.) door, past the pool table(s) and the bathrooms of the BD, walked a few feet west and entered Pete's, directly next door.

I do not think there was a door/passageway linking the BD & Pete's but I am not positive. I just never saw it.

Btw, there used to be a small barber shop in the BD building, between where the restaurant section (original Pete's) and the bathrooms are now. Facing Sharp.

I do recall for a while in the late '70's, there was a speakeasy type window on the south wall of the BD where you could place an order for Pete's--they'd call you back when it was ready and you would have to pick it up at the window. The ill-tempered barmaids (Gerry) wouldn't bring it to your table...

One night when a law student intramural team was celebrating a victory in the BD, a compadre of mine stuffed a couple bucks in quarters into the juke box and punched it to play the Oak Ridge Boys' "Elvira" about 20 times in a row.

gamagin
04-28-2011, 02:09 PM
I do recall for a while in the late '70's, there was a speakeasy type window on the south wall of the BD where you could place an order for Pete's--they'd call you back when it was ready and you would have to pick it up at the window. The ill-tempered barmaids (Gerry) wouldn't bring it to your table...

One night when a law student intramural team was celebrating a victory in the BD, a compadre of mine stuffed a couple bucks in quarters into the juke box and punched it to play the Oak Ridge Boys' "Elvira" about 20 times in a row.

You are right. that would be inside the BD building. SE corner of the building right on the corner of Hamilton & Sharp. That is where the bbq is now being served and where the "restaurant" has been for a long time.

Not to be confused with the separate building west of the BD, on sharp, which now houses Pete's Pizza and Calzone's.

Re Gerry. She was a real peach. Besides her trademark bad service and attitude, she busted several generations worth of (grateful male) cherries from her power post at the BD. None of them her own. allegedly.

cjm720
04-28-2011, 02:14 PM
"she busted several generations worth of cherries"

No comment

Angelo Roncalli
04-28-2011, 02:33 PM
It being Bloomsday season, I am reminded of how my roommate trained for Bloomsday #2 in '78.

At about 8:00 PM every evening, he'd don his sweatpants and running shoes to to go "jogging."

He'd stuff all the change he could find (or mooch) into his pockets.

He'd then "jog" from Roncalli to the Bulldog, where the change would be converted to a few schooners, or a pitcher if he could round up enough coin.

When the change and the beer were gone, he'd walk back home to Roncalli. Then he'd go to bed, exhausted from his training regimen.

gamagin
04-29-2011, 07:54 AM
Thursday and said the owner was very nice but the service was a little slow (they weren't ready for the business uptick due to the newspaper article), but the food was very good. Smoked turkey sandwiches, bbq ribs and samplings of pulled pork were consumed.

One gourmand said the ribs were as good as he'd had anywhere in spokane, if not the best. High marks, too, for the French fries, the corn pasta salad, the slaw and the sweet potato fries. All 4 agreed they would return, fwiw.

willandi
04-29-2011, 08:08 AM
Haven't been to the BD in 23 years, but am sure that I would feel right at home!
There is a woman, here in Spokane (at least I hope she's still here) that has a food trailer. It is cleverly disguised as a log cabin, and it has a smoker on the back. She does the best ribs and brisket BBQ that I have had outside of Kansas. She moves the rig around. I first saw her on the 5000 block of N Division, Then around 800-1000 E Francis.
Haven't made it to Texas or Carolina and not meaning to step on any toes, just haven't tried theirs.
There also was a guy that opened a BBQ place here in Deer Park 4 or 5 years ago, closed within a few months, he wasn't legal to have a liquor license, and I think he has a small stand on Hwy 2, N of Riverside.

stevet75
04-29-2011, 08:32 AM
So, Sam's Pit doesn't exist anymore? Sam's had pretty good BBQ and a well deserved, very seedy, reputation.

gamagin
04-29-2011, 09:35 AM
So, Sam's Pit doesn't exist anymore? Sam's had pretty good BBQ and a well deserved, very seedy, reputation.

about 20 years ago. maybe longer.

Angelo Roncalli
04-29-2011, 09:55 AM
Sam's...

Probably had 3 stars from Michelin?

Al Morse's, maybe only 2 stars...

http://books.google.com/books?id=ss4UWqEx0w0C&pg=PA171&lpg=PA171&dq=sam's+barbecue+pit+spokane&source=bl&ots=RtFLbeHqcr&sig=FkdA84fSk1T83Fm-KcFZ80Os8xw&hl=en&ei=6Pm6Tc3TN6XX0QH304TfBQ&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CCQQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=sam's%20barbecue%20pit%20spokane&f=false

ZAGLAWQB
07-02-2011, 07:41 AM
Before my sister(GU Law Class of 1980) passed away on Easter this year, we revisited many stories surrounding Thursday Night Wine Special. The time has flown by but sharing those evenings was a very fond memory.

gu03alum
08-18-2011, 02:55 PM
It's sad to think many of these wonderful stories may no longer have a home if the Bulldog shuts down.

gu03alum
02-11-2012, 08:54 AM
Stockton does not like his face on the wall of the Bulldog (http://www.spokesman.com/blogs/officehours/2012/feb/10/why-does-john-stockton-dislike-his-face-wall-gu-neighborhood-pub/)


Quinn the artist said he sorta winged it, not really knowing how large Stockton is. That explains why he made JS about 6 foot 7. But it doesn't explain how the face is so un-Stockton like. That may be why JS doesn't like it. The face is nowhere near that of Stockton, even from 20 years ago.

I hope this stupid bar goes out of business.

RenoZag
08-08-2012, 03:57 PM
That mural is pretty hideous. . .not too fond of the version of Father Tony the artist rendered. . .

RenoZag
12-17-2012, 05:05 PM
Understand the "new" place shut its doors yesterday.

IrishZagFan
12-18-2012, 06:44 AM
Understand the "new" place shut it's doors yesterday.

Confirmed in Spokesman blog today.

http://www.spokesman.com/blogs/officehours/2012/dec/17/former-bulldog-tavern-shut-down-new-owner-lasted-one-year/

I was just in there last weekend too.........

Section 116
02-18-2013, 08:39 PM
Chairs to open at former Bulldog (aka University Bar & Grill):

http://m.gonzagabulletin.com/mobile/news/article_2c0c5a24-6b4f-11e2-805e-001a4bcf6878.html