PDA

View Full Version : Othello visit



MickMick
06-25-2007, 10:15 AM
Bobzag,

I am very interested about any details that can be provided about the Othello (girls) high school visit scheduled for June 15. Did Allison Walker attend?

BobZag
06-26-2007, 09:21 AM
Allison Walker did not attend, and neither did Kayla Standish of Ellenberg, who was supposed to join Othello. Both had other commitments. Othello had a couple girls I liked, though. Don't know their names but numbers #1, #12 and one was not numbered. All three were about the same size, 6'0", and #1 could really run with good handles. They should find a home at the college level somewhere.

MickMick
06-27-2007, 08:58 AM
The one with good handles is the youngest Kirwood girl. She was somewhat of an 8th grade phenom and will be entering her freshman year. She will be the top guard in the state in 4 years.

BobZag
06-27-2007, 01:59 PM
The one with good handles is the youngest Kirwood girl. She was somewhat of an 8th grade phenom and will be entering her freshman year. She will be the top guard in the state in 4 years.

Did she wear #1? Is she about 6', give or take an inch? I think she was blondish, as well.

MickMick
07-01-2007, 12:39 PM
I misspelled her name. It is Christine Kirkwood.

Her older brother (http://archives.seattletimes.nwsource.com/cgi-bin/texis.cgi/web/vortex/display?slug=uwfb04&date=20050904), Greg Kirkwood, made a game winning play to help the Air Force Academy defeat the University of Washington in football a couple years back. Her older sister Courtney is an all conference basketball player, but will choose her school based on the second longest javelin throw (http://www.sportstricities.com/sportstc/preps/track/story/8929297p-8829529c.html)in the nation this year. From the last link, notice the Kirkwood/Walker leaders for girl's high jump, long jump, triple jump, and javelin.

From what I hear, the youngest Kirkwood daughter, (freshman) Christine, is quite the basketball phenom. I haven't seen her play, but I know some that have watched her AAU ball and they believe she would have started (and starred) at Othello as an eighth grader.

She will be teamed with Allison Walker to be a formidable duo. Now if only Allison's sister Ashley had not graduated.

BobZag
07-07-2007, 02:51 PM
What does Christine look like? How tall? I was probably watching her and didn't even know it. :)

MickMick
07-08-2007, 12:01 PM
What does Christine look like? How tall? I was probably watching her and didn't even know it. :)

I have not seen her play. I am going on what Allsion Walker's father is telling me. She was an 8th grader so many of the locals have never seen her.

on another note:

Allison's father (a 6' 8" Othello grad) played in a high school all-star game in Los Angeles against some future NBA players. This was before McDonalds was involved in high school hoops (or at least in it's current format). It was also before AAU ball became such an integral part of the process. Too bad he blew his knee out playing football, as Tarkanian (as well as others) were showing interest. That is back when they made a foot long cut to repair a knee. The point is, he knows and loves hoops. If he believes Christine is the Schizzle, then I believe him absolutely. He also made mention of the young point guard from Moses Lake. He believes they are both great Div 1 prospects.

Mr. Walker's niece played for a Spokane School (University?) with Angie Bjorkland. He has another niece that played at BYU for 4 years. He follows girls high school hoops with keen interest. He travels to the State playoffs regularly regardless if his relatives are involved or not. He really knows Washington State high school girl hoops. He does not care for me touting his own daughter Allison on a message board, but he is very proud of her nonetheless (and for good reason).

MickMick
07-25-2007, 08:39 PM
I just can't help myself......I have to tell you of this casual conversation I had with Mr. Walker about a month ago.

To lead into it I need to describe his daughter Allison a bit. If you followed one of the links (http://www.sportstricities.com/sportstc/preps/track/story/8929297p-8829529c.html) above, you would have noticed that she had the area best high jump for the Mid-Columbia region of Washington state. Further, her coach for the Spokane Stars (http://websearch.cs.com/gw/boomframe.jsp?query=Spokane+Stars&page=1&offset=0&result_url=redir%3Fsrc%3Dwebsearch%26requestId%3D8 bcee0b54594a5c%26clickedItemRank%3D1%26userQuery%3 DSpokane%2BStars%26clickedItemURN%3Dhttp%253A%252F %252Fwww.spokanestars.com%252F%26invocationType%3D-%26fromPage%3DGWYTop%26amp%3BampTest%3D1&remove_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.spokanestars.com%2F)AA U basketball club (Elite Team-Blue Squad) once turned to her father (Mr. Walker) and said "She can really jump. What is her vertical?" Needless to say, it had never been measured, so the reply was a shoulder shrug. But it did make Mr. Walker curious.

Around June of 07, Mr. Walker accompanied Allison, to Seattle for her AAU volleyball tournament. There were numerous clubs there for the tournament with multiple games being simultaneously played along 3 different courts. Off to the side of the eating area, he noticed that a couple of young adult women (he assumed coaches) had a pole set up to measure vertical jumps.

To satisfy his curiosity, Mr. Walker took Allison over and inquired about it. It seemed to have been an informal set up that was "just for fun." Apparently, there had been various girls getting their jump measured intermittently throughout the day. So Allison stepped up to take the measure. She leaped up to spin all of the rungs...including the top one. Hmmm....It wasn't set high enough. The two surprized young women that were managing the day long event said that this was the first time they had seen it happen. This was at a volleyball tournament.

So I had to ask Mr. Walker, " What did you eventually find out? What is her vertical?" And I got the same shrug that her AAU coach did. "We were short on time and we never got it measured."

Sigh...

MickMick
07-30-2007, 07:44 PM
From this link (http://spokesmanreview.com/tools/story_pf.asp?ID=200009):


The Mid Columbia Region girls that can really play in bold..don't know the Spokane girls that well




Staff writer
July 17, 2007

The Spokane Stars Elite Blue girls basketball team did something last week that no other AAU team has done.

For the fourth consecutive year, the Stars won the 10th annual Midsummer Nights' Madness tournament held July 10-13 at the University of Washington in Seattle. No other AAU team has ever won more than two consecutive titles at the tourney.

Kristi Kingma led Spokane over The Way to Win Gold in the championship game, scoring 19 points, including nine in the first quarter.

Coached by Ron Adams, the Stars went 7-0 and have not lost a game the past four years at the tournament.


Lewis and Clark senior Brittney Kennedy led the way for Spokane, averaging 6.6 points, 8.5 rebounds, 3.6 steals and 3.4 assists per game.

The Spokane Stars Red and the Spokane Stealth each advanced through pool play, but were eliminated after losing their first game in bracket play.

The Stars Blue, one of only 21 Nike National teams, finished fourth at the End of the Trail tournament July 6-9 in Oregon City, Ore., losing to the Boulder Rockies in the consolation game.

Next up for Spokane is a trip to Memphis, Tenn. to compete in the River City Classic July 22-25. The Stars will face the Kenner Angels, a team out of Louisiana, in the opener on July 22. From there, Spokane will compete in the Nike National Championships held July 27-31 in North Augusta, S.C.

Spokane Stars Elite Blue team roster: Ali Johnson (Coeur d'Alene High School), Jordan Loera (Moses Lake), Kristi Kingma (Jackson), Katelyn Loper (Post Falls), Brittany Kennedy (Lewis and Clark), Kenzie DeBoer (Lynden Christian), Carly Noyes (Moses Lake), Jessica Oestreicher (Liberty Christian), Allison Walker (Othello) and Lexie Pettersen (Shadle Park).




Most recently (last weekend of July), the Stars played here (http://hoopsfuture.com/womens-programs.html)

young julez
07-31-2007, 11:16 AM
The following link is to a story on the HoopGurlz website...enjoy

"Kristi Kingma stays committed to Washington, but for how long? Plus other notes from Nike Nationals." (http://www.hoopgurlz.com/node/1990)
I have seen Jordan play and she is a great player and one for GU to watch!!

BobZag
08-03-2007, 08:34 AM
I'll bet (no money) that Kingma will be a Zag. I really like those Moses Lake recruits--Jordan and the Noyes girl. I really was impressed by the Anderson girl from LC, too. This state sure doesn't lack for talent.

MickMick
08-03-2007, 05:17 PM
I have heard that Kingma is very impressed with Gonzaga.

MickMick
08-10-2007, 09:02 PM
Latest (http://www.hoopgurlz.com/forums/showthread.php?t=619)about Christina Kirkwood. I believe this is the nationals for the "under 15 years of age" bracket.

Notice the last post about the girls stepping it up from the eighth grade.

Othello has some players. As I posted earlier, Allison Walker and Christina Kirkwood will make a nice "inside-out" tandem for the Huskies next season. Add Carli Rosenthal (from the link) and the senior all-conference player Courtney Kirkwood and Othello looks good.

On another note, I am wondering if Jasmin Redmon (from the link) is the younger sister of Katelan Redmon...anyone know?

young julez
08-13-2007, 10:45 AM
She is not the younger sister, but is a great player!

MickMick
08-13-2007, 07:53 PM
Ok...I just found out that Carli Rosenthal is not from Othello...so scratch her from my last post. The link contained an error by the coach who created the post.

loyalviking
08-26-2007, 10:06 AM
Ok...I just found out that Carli Rosenthal is not from Othello...so scratch her from my last post. The link contained an error by the coach who created the post.

You are correct. Rosenthal will play for CDA.