PDA

View Full Version : The WNBA Draft Thread - Vandersloot



BobZag
04-11-2011, 09:46 AM
We'll leave this thread here until after the show today.

Starting at noon PDT on ESPN, the WNBA draft begins and Courtney will be a 1st-rounder. Let's hope she's drafted by a team that sorely needs a PG.

Good luck to Ms. Vandersloot!

U Zig, I Zag
04-11-2011, 09:54 AM
http://www.swishappeal.com/2011/4/11/2103934/wnba-draft-2011-first-round-mock-draft

Moved up to 3 in this mock draft.

U Zig, I Zag
04-11-2011, 10:50 AM
They all look so happy!! ;)
Had to kill the giant photo!

MDABE80
04-11-2011, 11:20 AM
Ridiculous size of this photo!!!
I'd take Courtney as a lottery pick.

ZagNative
04-11-2011, 11:23 AM
Curtney #3! To Chicago.

U Zig, I Zag
04-11-2011, 11:24 AM
Sorry, grab from ESPN server farm

CV #3 to CHI!

Angelo Roncalli
04-11-2011, 11:24 AM
#3

Outstanding.

Birddog
04-11-2011, 11:25 AM
ESPN talking heads re Sloot; "Best PG in the draft and the best PG in the last several years"

NEC26
04-11-2011, 11:25 AM
Taken third by the Chicago Sky. They had plenty of high praise for her. Said she was the best PG coming out of college since Sue Bird.

gozagswoohoo
04-11-2011, 11:38 AM
Woohoo!


I wonder how much WNBA players make?

Section 116
04-11-2011, 11:41 AM
check this link for salary info:

http://www.ehow.com/info_8121254_starting-salaries-wnba.html

gamagin
04-11-2011, 11:43 AM
she deserves all this attention. Just thrilled she got it.

pbriz
04-11-2011, 11:45 AM
Woohoo!


I wonder how much WNBA players make?

It's not great for all the time they put in.

Minimum rookie is about 34k, max is 41k.

This is the shortest summary I could find

http://www.insidehoops.com/wnba/salaries.shtml

gamagin
04-11-2011, 11:46 AM
Woohoo! I wonder how much WNBA players make?

$30-$40k. I believe it was posted on this site, too. That's the average. Not sure what it is at the top of the list.

MDABE80
04-11-2011, 11:50 AM
She'll elevate the whole league. She is the new standard.

RockandRollJames
04-11-2011, 12:01 PM
Good work Courtney.

Just saying, watch out for the Lynx. They will be a new dynasty.

U Zig, I Zag
04-11-2011, 12:03 PM
http://s3.amazonaws.com/twitpic/photos/full/275005873.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJF3XCCKACR3QDMOA&Expires=1302553185&Signature=SvSmfN092lnnSebVr2duMYKNn6E%3D

Pharmaceutical sales rep or pro ball player?

rijman
04-11-2011, 12:14 PM
Woohoo!


I wonder how much WNBA players make?
There was an article a couple or few years ago about a top player going into the WNBA, I believe from Stanford, who was taking a pay cut to play in the WNBA because the total annual value of the scholarship and benefits was worth more than the annual WNBA compensation.

I wish Courtney the best of luck. If she ever decides to maximize her income she can always leave the WNBA and she'll have her Zag degree to fall back on.

skan72
04-11-2011, 12:26 PM
I remember reading that the top players in the WNBA make about 100k (link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Women's_National_Basketball_Association#Salary_Cap s), but that the same player in Europe can make about 300k-500k. Diana Taurasi was being paid approx. 500k in Russia 3 years ago.

ID ZAGFAN
04-11-2011, 12:33 PM
Angie Bjorklund was drafted by Chicago, so she'll get to play with Courtney. Cool!!!

ZaGranny

U Zig, I Zag
04-11-2011, 12:35 PM
Angie Bjorglund was drafted by Chicago, so she'll get to play with Courtney. Cool!!!

ZaGranny

Excellent.

sittingon50
04-11-2011, 12:53 PM
2 pretty excited ladies I'm guessin'.

gamagin
04-11-2011, 01:04 PM
besides salary, I assume CV et al can also cut deals with companies like Nike and make a whale of a lot more than the league pays.

All depends on what kind of hot commodity she can become. And I'd say right now she is among the very hottest.

On the surface, the sky's the limit. If she keeps working with JS on her point guard skills, steals and passing, like JS did with Fitz and others for at least a dozen summers at GU, well, she might also be able to retire young, rich and famous.

Angelo Roncalli
04-11-2011, 01:15 PM
besides salary, I assume CV et al can also cut deals with companies like Nike and make a whale of a lot more than the league pays.

All depends on what kind of hot commodity she can become. And I'd say right now she is among the very hottest.

On the surface, the sky's the limit. If she keeps working with JS on her point guard skills, steals and passing, like JS did with Fitz and others for at least a dozen summers at GU, well, she might also be able to retire young, rich and famous.

The real money is in Europe. Most of the WNBA stars have gigs in Europe during the winter that pay 4-10 times their WNBA salaries.

U Zig, I Zag
04-11-2011, 01:21 PM
Hmmm. Europe. Do the Dutch have women's leagues? She can salvage the Van der sloot name!

BobZag
04-11-2011, 01:53 PM
Very happy for Courtney and very proud of her. That Sue Bird comment was pretty cool. Good for her!

gamagin
04-11-2011, 01:53 PM
The real money is in Europe. Most of the WNBA stars have gigs in Europe during the winter that pay 4-10 times their WNBA salaries.

I really wonder about these numbers, but have no links nor proof either way. The reason I am skeptical comes from the GU men who have spoken up about how difficult it can get for overseas (U.S.) athletes in many places to collect their salaries and bonuses.

Only Matt Santangelo and Casey Calvary have spoken out about it as far as I know, but there have been articles (though not many) and I have heard from a couple more who say it's really difficult to get paid on time, to collect promised bonuses and generally get paid in full when the contract expires or is about to expire or after a trade. It goes on.

Contrast this to the U.S. men's programs, even in the D leagues, and how low salaries are for top women in the U.S. and it's hard to get my brain around the belief that women athletes (apparently) fare better overseas.

It doesn't seem to add up or make sense to me, fwiw.

ZagNative
04-11-2011, 02:38 PM
Spokesman-Review story and photo album (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2011/apr/11/chicago-sky-pick-vandersloot-wnba-draft/?photos).

spudzag
04-11-2011, 02:42 PM
Just about didn't recognize her without the ponytail!

Argentum
04-11-2011, 02:47 PM
There was a pretty good article about women's basketball in Russia posted here in the last week or so. It's nuts and not really sustainable long term. The top Russian team is owned by a Lithuanian Billionaire who loves basketball and doesn't mind losing money on his hobby. It doesn't sound like they have a fanbase that can sustain what they're paying at all.

Oldsport
04-11-2011, 03:22 PM
I love Russian Women's Basketball !!!

Please send me a blank signed check.

Regards,
Oldsport

wazmix
04-11-2011, 07:35 PM
I wanna see a company market CVS with something like "Not What You Expected".......Apple-pie image, mixed with deadly no-look passes.
They can do lots with her, because she has a game that guys will watch.

EuroZag2010
04-11-2011, 08:16 PM
That is awesome!! Zagnation is proud!! We wish you all the best Court!!!!