PDA

View Full Version : Gonzaga v. UCLA - 3-21-2011



Akzag
03-21-2011, 05:46 PM
Lady Bruins off to a 14-8 lead ...

Akzag
03-21-2011, 05:49 PM
Kayla starts off 3-3 ... CSV with three great assists ...


12-16

Akzag
03-21-2011, 05:55 PM
well, we are passing great ... Lady Bruins off to a 10/17 shooting start including a few treys ...

Zagdawg
03-21-2011, 05:56 PM
UCLA coach is pretty hot.

Go Zags!

Zagdawg
03-21-2011, 06:05 PM
Wow--these gals are running--i'm getting tired just watching them.

Akzag
03-21-2011, 06:05 PM
UCLA's pretty much in CVS's face with pressure ... they're bigger at pretty much every position and getting a lot of offensive rebounds.

hanging close ... 26-22, bad girls

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:06 PM
Zags in a little trouble. UCLA is doing what they couldnt against Mont - hit shots.

CV is all about the win, but she is making a few too many moves at times. They need to get her going towards the rim off a screen and get some time at the FT line.

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:07 PM
Ouch. CV - stop and pop there!

Akzag
03-21-2011, 06:08 PM
cvs update ... 6 assists, 4 to's, 0-3 (maybe 4 ?) from the field

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:10 PM
cvs update ... 6 assists, 4 to's, 0-3 (maybe 4 ?) from the field

Missed a FT too...

Hope the 2000 pt thing isn't on her mind....

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:11 PM
Running and gunning but lots of mistakes.

Akzag
03-21-2011, 06:16 PM
and we're giving up too many 3 footers ...

NEC26
03-21-2011, 06:16 PM
Admittedly I don't watch a whole lot of women's basketball but man its sloppy. Vandersloot has a lot of turnovers. Playing out of control it looks like to me.

EuroZag2010
03-21-2011, 06:17 PM
They are just hawking all over 'Sloot. Kayla has become my fav player.

Akzag
03-21-2011, 06:19 PM
9 pt.s to go (off an earlier ft), 8 ... & 7 on ft's ...

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 06:20 PM
UCLA has been shooting pretty well

Akzag
03-21-2011, 06:21 PM
9 pt.s to go (off an earlier ft), 8 ... & 7 on ft's ...

and a trey from cvs narrows it to 34-33

[ 4 pt.s to go ... ]


Admittedly I don't watch a whole lot of women's basketball but man its sloppy. Vandersloot has a lot of turnovers. Playing out of control it looks like to me.

It's not the norm ...

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:22 PM
Admittedly I don't watch a whole lot of women's basketball but man its sloppy. Vandersloot has a lot of turnovers. Playing out of control it looks like to me.

CV is trying way to hard. They shoot better, run the plays and pass better than the men normally. It's a different game, mind you, but it's 'tighter' normally.

EuroZag2010
03-21-2011, 06:22 PM
Zags can't hit jack

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:24 PM
They are closing out way to late then trying to recover on the weakside way to late. They watch too many men's games.

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:25 PM
Wow... would have been something for CV to get that 2000th point at the last second. She would have kept running into the tunnel, mind you.... but still.

Akzag
03-21-2011, 06:26 PM
38-35 at the half ... cvs added a lay-up [2 pt.s ... if this was a regular season game, they would be able to stop the game for the milestone when it happens]

kitzbuel
03-21-2011, 06:28 PM
CV has had some silly assists, though.

3 fts and a 3 ptr. 4 pts away.

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 06:30 PM
If Zags heat up on the shooting, will be a heckuva ending

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:34 PM
CV has had some silly assists, though.

3 fts and a 3 ptr. 4 pts away.

The first couple passes drew a timeout from UCLA. I had a vision of us rolling them - but reality set.

UCLA is skilled. They play slow and tedious because they want to. Not because they have to. It will be a challenge for the Zags. Luckily, fouls aren't an issue (yet).

Can't believe how open they leave some of the Bruins though. We sink into a zone - why is the middle so open? They let someone show up top, they make the pass then we collapse (2) and someone is open. Hopefully Graves can adjust.

Get those 2 points, CV! Free those shoulders and start rolling those girls.

Akzag
03-21-2011, 06:35 PM
CV has had some silly assists, though.

3 fts and a 3 ptr. 4 pts away.

she had a layup, too ... 8 pt.s ... box score (http://scores.espn.go.com/ncw/boxscore?gameId=310800026)

Of her 8 assists, probably 5 were OMG assists ... 3 steals as well

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 06:42 PM
Let's Go Lady Zags!!!

Let's do it in the second half...

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:43 PM
Need to keep the momentum from the end of the first half

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:44 PM
THAT'S IT! Good job. CV to Standish.

Akzag
03-21-2011, 06:44 PM
ten assists ... and it is a one point game ...

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 06:45 PM
Great pass and assist by Courtney!

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 06:45 PM
Zags lead!!!

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:46 PM
Can you get an assist from the out of bounds pass? CUZ CV JUST DID!

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:47 PM
Zags doing it.... 21 for Standish!

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 06:48 PM
Gonzaga leads 46-41...

rawkmandale
03-21-2011, 06:49 PM
The Kennel in full roar!

Akzag
03-21-2011, 06:50 PM
wow ... Kayla 8/10 + 5/5

cvs up to 12 assists ...

and most importantly,


GU 46 - UCLA 41 ... Bruins going to the line ...

EuroZag2010
03-21-2011, 06:50 PM
The boyfriend got the hots for Kayla standish hahaha

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:52 PM
The boyfriend got the hots for Kayla standish hahaha

Been watching a lot of women's ball over the weekend.

Zags have the cutest girls, by a wide margin.

Akzag
03-21-2011, 06:56 PM
HERstory !!!

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 06:56 PM
Hang it from the RAFTERS!

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 06:57 PM
Courtney did it!!!

2,000 points!!!

rawkmandale
03-21-2011, 06:57 PM
History!!!

kitzbuel
03-21-2011, 06:57 PM
Yeah baby!!!


Now lets let'sjust focus on winning the game !

2000!!

sittingon50
03-21-2011, 06:58 PM
John Stockton smiled!!

EuroZag2010
03-21-2011, 06:58 PM
Hang that jersey after its all said and done !! Kayla is killing them !!!

Once and Future Zag
03-21-2011, 06:59 PM
I think her #21 is just shorthand for 2K and 1K.

Also - have you ever seen John Stockton as animated in the crowd shot as after that score?

Zagineer
03-21-2011, 06:59 PM
2,000 and 1,000!!!!!!

No D1 college player, man or woman, has ever done that!!!

:allhail:

I have tears in my eyes right now.

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 06:59 PM
CV :clap:

:cheers: :000tens:

Zagdawg
03-21-2011, 06:59 PM
Oustanding--1st player ever with...

2000pts!!!

1000 career assists!!!!

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:00 PM
I think her #21 is just shorthand for 2K and 1K.

Also - have you ever seen John Stockton as animated in the crowd shot as after that score?

Just like it was his own daughter

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:00 PM
Come on Zags - they don't drive, don't leave the skip pass and the 'round the horn open.

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:01 PM
I think her #21 is just shorthand for 2K and 1K.

Oh. I like that.

Zagdawg
03-21-2011, 07:01 PM
Wow--what a pass!! 14 assists!

Courtney with more assists that the entire UCLA team combined.

Zagdawg
03-21-2011, 07:02 PM
Dang bruins are not missing from 3.

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:03 PM
Get a body on that one girl... jeebus...

7/9 they said?

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:05 PM
Get a body on that one girl... jeebus...

:roll:

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:06 PM
Standish is NUTS.

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:06 PM
:roll:

I volunteered, mind you. ;)

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:06 PM
Nice 3 CV!!!!

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:07 PM
I volunteered, mind you. ;)

+1

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:07 PM
Push in the back caused that travel.

EuroZag2010
03-21-2011, 07:09 PM
That was BS no call on the travel that was a foul

Zagineer
03-21-2011, 07:10 PM
Push in the back caused that travel.

+1 on that!!! I can't believe that call! :enraged:

Zagdawg
03-21-2011, 07:11 PM
Have we really only played 6 girls (ESPN tracker)? While the bruins have played 10? Will we have the gas to finish this out?

abarefootboy
03-21-2011, 07:11 PM
Keep the fire burnin' lady zags .. !

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:11 PM
Kayla 11-13 ... sick ...

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:12 PM
Don't want to jinx, CV would want the win - but she is approaching the assists record (season).

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:13 PM
Just realized: more assists from CV, more likely we win... so keep assisting.

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:13 PM
Good ... Courtney is driving and taking the contact

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:13 PM
CV!!!

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:16 PM
Bekkering needs to run that out early and cut underneath her... there wasn't a chance at a block there.

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:16 PM
Momentum swings an overstatement in this game

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:16 PM
and the lead is 4 ... 5:17 left ...

Zagineer
03-21-2011, 07:17 PM
Where's the foul on UCLA against Sloot!!

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:18 PM
Bruins going cold-----no TOs Zags

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:19 PM
I like the face of the UCLA coach... you know she hates playing this game in Spokane. She was at Tenn for two nat champ games as a player and two as an assint. Tenn played plenty of games at home in the NCAA tourney. She knows how it works.

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:19 PM
" the nation's leading A-sister ... "

oh, ... assister ...

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 07:19 PM
Courtney is on a mission!!!

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:20 PM
No 3's

Zagineer
03-21-2011, 07:20 PM
Don't let up now, Zags!!!

UCLA is playing very aggressive defense and hitting three's.

Don't let up now, Zags!!

EuroZag2010
03-21-2011, 07:21 PM
That was a foul on Kayla !!!!:enraged:

rawkmandale
03-21-2011, 07:21 PM
UCLA in their little run - it'll come up short

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:22 PM
Game Re-Set At The Under 4 Minute Media Time-Out

Gonzaga 74
UCLA 68

I haven't seen any of them, but I hope the mens' team is in attendance ...

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:24 PM
I would think they would show up.

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:25 PM
3!

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:25 PM
C'Mon Zags, Hold On!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 07:25 PM
Bekkering for three!!!

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:25 PM
Bekk's for three !

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:26 PM
UCLA just chucking them up... but get the rebound, Zags!

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:27 PM
Cv, turn that corner and draw the foul

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:27 PM
Up seven ... 1:29 til the Sweet Sixteen ...

Zagineer
03-21-2011, 07:27 PM
I am soooooo tired of hearing that lady commentator praising UCLA.

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:27 PM
Let CV be the one going to the line

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:29 PM
I am soooooo tired of hearing these announcers praise UCLA.

Just evening out the west coast love... ESPN2HD, prob 20 states have this game. I know what you mean though..

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:29 PM
Let CV be the one going to the line

Booyah ... Money with a $

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:30 PM
they are gonna do this, aren't they? :)

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:30 PM
Dixon 55% FT shooter? Not tonight

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:32 PM
Stay focused, play smart til the very end

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:33 PM
they are gonna do this, aren't they? :)

+ 9 ... 1:05 left ... cvs on the line for 1-and-1 ... Oh yeah ...

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:33 PM
Booyah ... Money with a $

Automatic

Zagineer
03-21-2011, 07:33 PM
Yes, katelan!!!!

EuroZag2010
03-21-2011, 07:34 PM
Let's go ladies !!!

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:34 PM
25/17

Meech, you watching???? ;)

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:35 PM
Oh, 3k posts for me. Me and CV, milestone city.

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:36 PM
Tainted---home court :p

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:37 PM
Tainted---home court :p

Tainted --- one of the best PG of all-times. ;)

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:38 PM
they are gonna do this, aren't they? :)

Done!

EuroZag2010
03-21-2011, 07:38 PM
Wow Kayla doing it all !!!

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:38 PM
Okay Coach Graves ... empty the bench ...

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:39 PM
;)
Boom.

ZagLawGrad
03-21-2011, 07:40 PM
What a Win!!!!

Akzag
03-21-2011, 07:40 PM
w00t, w00t, Vandersloot ...

Hoopaholic
03-21-2011, 07:40 PM
wow....awesome ladies keep the train moving forward just awesome

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 07:41 PM
Lady Zags win 89-75!!!

Congratulations Courtney and the Lady Zags!!!

Sloot finishes with 29 points and the steal!!!

abarefootboy
03-21-2011, 07:42 PM
I love you Lady Zagssssssssssssssssssssssssssss ... !!!!!!!!!!!!!

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:43 PM
Standish, too... what a game. All those girls. Fabulous!

EuroZag2010
03-21-2011, 07:43 PM
Congrats lady zags !!! Well done !! Kayla unsung hero !! Sloot was remarkable

GU69
03-21-2011, 07:43 PM
Wow!

This is the first time I have watched this team . . . . CV is the real thing!

MJGoGaels
03-21-2011, 07:44 PM
Congrats to the best team in Spokane with the best guard in the Nation who beat UCLA. Back to back Sweet 16. I don't it stops there.
http://scores.espn.go.com/ncw/boxscore?gameId=310800026

Once and Future Zag
03-21-2011, 07:44 PM
First 30 Win season for either GU BBall team.

kitzbuel
03-21-2011, 07:45 PM
Standish, too... what a game. All those girls. Fabulous!
Outstandish game.

U Zig, I Zag
03-21-2011, 07:49 PM
Outstandish game.

Trademarked, UZIZ Entertainment Properties Intl.

Zagineer
03-21-2011, 07:52 PM
Wow!

This is the first time I have watched this team . . . . CV is the real thing!

Keep watching, 69. Not just the remainder of this year, but in the years ahead. Sloot can never be replaced. But we have players on the team now, and those coming in, that will make the Zags just as competitive in a different way.

ZagAddict
03-21-2011, 07:54 PM
Fun game to watch tonight... the fight in the Lady Zags is incredible. It's good to know that kind of fight still exists in a basketball team for a full 40 minutes at GU. Great job tonight Zags... you should be very proud as a team and it keeps going.

Congrats to Courtney Vandersloot... she is just amazing to watch.

Go Zags!

sittingon50
03-21-2011, 07:54 PM
"Forget Jimmer
Teach me to Sloot."

ZagAddict
03-21-2011, 07:55 PM
Wow!

This is the first time I have watched this team . . . . CV is the real thing!

One of the best guard performances I've ever seen...

Reborn
03-21-2011, 07:57 PM
Congratulations Lady Zags!!! I really enjoyed your game tonight. You are awesome. Congrats also to Vandersloot setting an incredible record, and who had 20 pts and 17 assists tonight and to Standish who had 32 points I think.

I have seen Vandersloot (last year) so I knew how good she is, but Standish is quite a surprise. What a shooter. 30 points two games in a row and she just shoots the eyes out of the basket. She is an inside and outside player, and can really shoot the jump shot. Beckering needs to find her shot. I hope she does because she can shoot a lot better than she did tonight.

Good luck this weekend! Go Zags!!!

gamagin
03-21-2011, 08:13 PM
tonight. The crowd was overwhelmingly in to this game and REALLY was deafening whenever UCLA had the ball. GREAT game. Great composure and great basketball game.

UCLA was really, really, really tough. But we were tougher.

Courtney has sealed her place in the annals of all time Zag basektball players. And she, and this team, are not done yet.

Amazing !

lothar98zag
03-21-2011, 08:19 PM
I think her #21 is just shorthand for 2K and 1K.

I'm stealing that.

Once and Future Zag
03-21-2011, 08:24 PM
Courtney has sealed her place in the annals of all time NCAA basektball players.

Fixed that for ya there.

bigblahla
03-21-2011, 08:43 PM
For those that live in and around Spokane if you have not seen this team live get to the arena next weekend. they play every game the same and leave it all out on the floor.

Congrats to the Lady Zags.

I'm proud I can say I was there when Sloot got 2000 and made NCAA history.

Best season tickets I ever bought.

Go!! Zags!!!

gustudentmd
03-21-2011, 09:01 PM
I saw Harris at the game(to the poster who asked). Kayla was a freaking warrior the past couple of games. My throat will be sore tomorrow.

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 09:11 PM
http://grfx.cstv.com/photos/schools/gonz/sports/w-baskbl/auto_action/6359861.jpeg
Gonzaga's Courtney Vandersloot (21) is chased by UCLA's Markel Walker (23) and Christina Nzekwe (4) as she races upcourt during the first half of their second-round game of the NCAA women's college basketball tournament.


http://grfx.cstv.com/photos/schools/gonz/sports/w-baskbl/auto_action/6359916.jpeg
UCLA's Doreena Campbell, left, defends as Gonzaga's Courtney Vandersloot drives the lane during the first half of their second-round game of the NCAA women's college basketball tournament Monday.



No. 20 Gonzaga Upsets No. 8 UCLA 89-75, Advances To Third Round of NCAA Tourney

Courtney Vandersloot scores 29 points, tabs 17 assists to lead Bulldogs.

March 21, 2011

SPOKANE, Wash. (AP) - Courtney Vandersloot had 29 points and 17 assists to help No. 11 seed Gonzaga beat third-seeded UCLA 89-75 on Monday night in the second round of the NCAA tournament.

Playing in front of a raucous home crowd, Vandersloot became the first player in Division I history - men or women - to record 2,000 points and 1,000 assists in her career. And after that benchmark was set, the senior made sure her college career would last at least one more game, in the round of 16, across town at the Spokane Arena next Saturday night.

Kayla Standish matched her career high with 30 points to lead Gonzaga (30-4), which is headed to the regional semifinals for the second straight year, giving Vandersloot one more opportunity to add to a career that'll be hard for anyone to match.

Along with her scoring, Vandersloot's 17 assists were one shy of tying the most ever in an NCAA tournament game. She added seven rebounds and darted through UCLA's pressure trapping defense, imposing the Bulldogs style on a game that was determined largely by the pace.

Darxia Morris led UCLA with 20 points and Jasmine Dixon added 18, but the Bruins (28-5) were bounced in the second-round of the tournament for the second straight year.

Standish set her career high just two days earlier in the Bulldogs 92-86 first-round victory over Iowa, with 22 coming in the second half. She'd already scored 30 in 30 minutes on Monday night - including a personal 9-0 run early in the half to give Gonzaga the lead, but went quiet down the stretch as UCLA devoted attention to the Bulldogs' forward.

That was about the time Vandersloot got started. It began a bit earlier, at the 12:24 mark when she stole a pass near midcourt and drove for a layup, her 10th point of the night and 2,000th of her career, making her the first player in Division I - men or women - with 2,000 points and 1,000 assists in her career.

She added a 3-pointer a few minutes later, then converted an acrobatic three-point play, scooping in a left-handed shot with her back to the basket with 6:44 left to put the Bulldogs up 70-62.

It was a key moment as UCLA could get no closer than four the rest of the way. Vandersloot scored 19 points in the final 12 minutes, including eight free throws in the final 1:22.

Gonzaga became the first team all season to top 80 points on the Bruins in regulation. UCLA came in giving up just 54 points per game, while the Bulldogs were the top scoring team in the country at more than 86.

Speed and scoring won out on this night, and the Bulldogs get another game in their hometown next Saturday night in the regional semifinals - held at the Spokane Arena - against either Xavier or Louisville.

UCLA was trying to advance to the round of 16 for the first time since 1999. The Bruins were eliminated in the second round in each of their last two tournament appearances including an 83-70 loss to Nebraska last year.

Rebekah Gardner added 14 points off the bench for the Bruins.

From the start, the Bruins were willing to play at Gonzaga's pace. UCLA proved it could run with the Bulldogs and play at a higher tempo than they have for most of the season and withstood more than eight minutes with Morris and Dixon on the bench. Dixon sat at the 9:02 mark and Morris joined her 38 seconds later, each with two fouls.

But UCLA actually extended its lead with both sitting, taking its largest lead at 30-23 on Gardner's layup with 6:07 left. To that point, Vandersloot had just one point, but scored seven quick points in the final four minutes to get the Bulldogs back within 38-35 at the break.

The pace was decidedly what Gonzaga wanted, but the Bulldogs took eight less shots than UCLA thanks to seven offensive rebounds by the Bruins and 11 Gonzaga turnovers. Gonzaga had just five turnovers in the second half.


Gonzaga Link (http://www.gozags.com/sports/w-baskbl/recaps/032211aaa.html)

Box Score (http://www.gozags.com/sports/w-baskbl/stats/2010-2011/gonwb34.html)

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 09:15 PM
Gonzaga's Vandersloot reaches 2,000 points


March 21, 2011

SPOKANE, Wash. (AP) - Gonzaga's Courtney Vandersloot has become the first player in Division I history - men or women - with at least 2,000 points and 1,000 assists in her career.

Vandersloot already had the assist total, but reached the 2,000-point mark with her 10th point in Monday night's NCAA second-round game against UCLA. Vandersloot went scoreless for the first 13 minutes, but had eight at halftime and got the mark on a steal and layup with 12:24 left. She was given a long standing ovation and chant of "Courtney" by the sold out McCarthy Athletic Center that included former Gonzaga and Utah Jazz star John Stockton.

She had 1,085 assists heading into Monday's game.

Former Penn State star Suzie McConnell previously had the most points for any player with 1,000 assists after scoring 1,897 in her career. The most of any men's player with 1,000 assists was Bobby Hurley, who scored 1,731 points in his Duke career to go along with 1,076 assists.

Gonzaga Link (http://www.gozags.com/sports/w-baskbl/spec-rel/032211aaa.html)

wazmix
03-21-2011, 09:27 PM
CVS makes me forget everything I believe about everything.

I really like how the other players expect ANY pass from her. Must be fun.

RenoZag
03-21-2011, 09:48 PM
LINK (http://msn.foxsports.com/wcbk/story/Gonzaga-scoring-vs-UCLA-defense-in-NCAA-2nd-round-75254982)


''We let Vandersloot do what she wanted,'' UCLA's Jasmine Dixon said. ''Whatever press we threw at her we weren't aggressive. She was able to do whatever she wanted to do.''

Along with her scoring, Vandersloot's 17 assists were one shy of tying the most ever in an NCAA tournament game. She added seven rebounds and darted through UCLA's pressure trapping defense, imposing the Bulldogs style on a game that was determined largely by the pace.


''The thing that makes her great is her ability to make her teammates look good,'' UCLA coach Nikki Caldwell said of Vandersloot. ''She picks and chooses when she is going to score the ball for herself, because she does a great job of putting her teammates in position to score because she's a smart player.''

Oldsport
03-21-2011, 09:55 PM
we beat UCLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA boy! ;)

The fans deserve a ten! :000tens:

...and the Lady Zags upped their average scoring.....again with 89 points.

:allhail:

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 10:07 PM
In the second half, the Lady Zags shot 64% (16 for 25) from the field.

Plus, Gonzaga hit 3 of 6 from three and 19 of 22 (86.4%) from the free
throw line as they out scored UCLA 54-37.

Congratulations Lady Zags!!!

Zagineer
03-21-2011, 10:24 PM
With regard to Sloot.......
When you get a standing "O" AND A SMILE from John Stockton... you know you have arrived. :)

With regard to Kayla Standish........
I knew that you were someone special from the very day that you signed on from being a Bulldog to become a Bulldog :D

With regard to Katelan Redmon.....
A big reason as to why we are even here this night. Thanks for coming home, Katelan. Did I ever mention that my mother is a LCHS grad and was a member of the basketball and track teams? Oh.... I have?.... at least a dozen times?... Well then, let me make this number 13. :D I just want to say,......
Katelan, your performance has brought moments of joy to an 87 year old women who truely enjoys following GU Basketball, as well as all other GU sports. But you being from LCHS,..... that holds a special place in her heart.

With regards to all the Lady Zags.........
I am absolutely and totally inspired by each and every one of you for your commitment and focus towards the good of the team.

What an awesome group of young ladies to represent GONZAGA!!

.

TerpZag
03-21-2011, 11:02 PM
Gonzaga women pull upset against UCLA for another Sweet 16 berth

Senior Courtney Vandersloot makes NCAA women's basketball history

By Erik Skopil

Staff Writer

Courtney Vandersloot's milestone evening guided the Bulldogs past UCLA 89-75 and to their second consecutive Sweet 16 appearance.

Vandersloot, whose 29 points put her at 2,019 for her career, became the only player in NCAA basketball history to score 2,000 points and dish out 1,000 assists.

She entered the game within 10 of the mark, and despite not scoring in the first eight minutes, reached 2,000 points on a fast-break steal and layup with 12:23 remaining in the second half.

"It's an honor. It's great. I never thought I'd be sitting here today talking about this," Vandersloot said. "The win was just the cherry on top."

The Bulldogs trailed at the half for the second game in a row, 38-35, and much like the win over Iowa it was Vandersloot and forward Kayla Standish who led the charge in the second half.

Standish matched Saturday's career-high effort scoring 30 points, 18 after the half, including 13 consecutive points at one point to give the Bulldogs their first lead of the second half.

"It was just now or never," Standish said. "And somebody just needed to step up. Everyone's effort was amazing and we weren't going to lose this game. Once it gets going, it just keeps going."...


The Gonzaga Bulletin Link including pictures (http://www.gonzagabulletin.com/gonzaga-women-pull-upset-against-ucla-for-another-sweet-16-berth-1.2118338?utm_source=Sailthru&utm_medium=email&utm_term=The_Bulletin_2&utm_campaign=The_Bulletin_2_2011322213)

Cavebear33
03-21-2011, 11:46 PM
I knew she had a lot of assists, but wasn't aware until I watched a replay of the game at home that Courtney had 17 for the game. That ties the school record set by Robin Allen in 1987. Robin is now Robin Barnhart and attends all the Gonzaga games. I'm sure she's happy to share the school record with Courtney, and especially to see it tied in such a manner and in such a setting. As I understand it, Courtney can now break the national career record for assists in the next game. I'm not exactly sure how many she needs, but it's not many. If I understood the announcers correctly, it could be as few as two or three. What a player!

lothar98zag
03-21-2011, 11:52 PM
pretty sure it's assists in a season, not career.

Cavebear33
03-22-2011, 12:11 AM
lothar, you are correct. After further research, she needs five to break the single season mark, and is currently third on the career totals.

BobZag
03-22-2011, 10:44 AM
I think her #21 is just shorthand for 2K and 1K.

Also - have you ever seen John Stockton as animated in the crowd shot as after that score?

Because he's never seen another Zag PG so like himself.

adoptedzag
03-22-2011, 01:04 PM
I saw Harris at the game(to the poster who asked). Kayla was a freaking warrior the past couple of games. My throat will be sore tomorrow.

It was a "who's who" of Zag basketball last night. Viv, Pendo, Matis x2, Coach Daniels, John Stockton. Was cool to play "Spot the former player"

BobZag
03-22-2011, 01:54 PM
It was a "who's who" of Zag basketball last night. Viv, Pendo, Matis x2, Coach Daniels, John Stockton. Was cool to play "Spot the former player"

Bowman was at the Iowa game.

a13coach
03-22-2011, 02:02 PM
Bowman was at the Iowa game.

As was Jamie (Bjorklund) Schaefer.

Angelo Roncalli
03-22-2011, 02:11 PM
I hear that Heather is helping with the Spokane Stars.

Tommy was at the game with his clan.

gustudentmd
03-22-2011, 03:54 PM
BZ,
I thought I saw Bowman at the UCLA game too, but I might just be combining those two fantastic games in my memory in to one super awesome game.

bigblahla
03-22-2011, 04:07 PM
BZ,
I thought I saw Bowman at the UCLA game too, but I might just be combining those two fantastic games in my memory in to one super awesome game.

Heather was at the UCLA game.

Go Lady Zags!!!

Cavebear33
03-22-2011, 04:42 PM
Heather is helping with the Spokane Stars. She also worked the tournament for the NCAA, and said she wasn't sure how much action she'd get to see because of that. The Stars, and I presume, Heather, will be at the Warehouse playing in a local tournament, I think on the same day the Gonzaga women have their luncheon. If that's the case, it's a short walk from the McCarthey Center to the Warehouse. I'll post later, when I'm sure of the date.