PDA

View Full Version : Nice Story about Andy on OregonLive.com



ZagNative
06-15-2007, 01:08 PM
Poling, Wildcats ready to take center stage (http://www.oregonlive.com/sports/argus/index.ssf?/base/sports/1181937071248320.xml&coll=6&thispage=1)
Friday, June 15, 2007
By Ron Forbes

The Argus

Andy Poling is ready to take center stage after paying his dues the last three seasons as a cornerstone of the Westview basketball teams.

Poling made his mark as a freshman yearling, and his sophomore and junior seasons blossomed into state tournament berths for the Wildcats.

But Poling has bigger plans than just a token appearance at the state tournament as he embarks on his senior basketball season.

"We're going to win the state championship," Poling said, following Westview's 65-47 victory Tuesday night at Glencoe.

The 6-foot-11 Poling was plagued by a stomach illness that reduced his playing weight to 197 last winter, but now he's playing stronger and better while packing 230 pounds.

Poling was the court's dominant figure while playing a little more than half of Tuesday's summer game.

And unlike most players who are counting on big senior seasons to land a scholarship, Poling made a commitment to Gonzaga last year, and he's staying in touch with the Zags' coaching staff this summer.

"They (coaches) want me to lift weights and work on my inside and outside game," Poling said, "and so far everything is going well."

Poling tallied 14 points in sharing scoring honors with teammate Terrell Wallace against Glencoe, and one of his baskets came more than a foot beyond three-point range.
[emphasis added] - P.1 of 3 pages

Way to beef up, young man!

SLOZag
06-15-2007, 01:16 PM
You beat my basically identical post (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=3355)
by three minutes (which is about the time it takes me to type my name!) Sorry I "overposted" on you.

Nevtelen
06-15-2007, 01:35 PM
Another interesting quote from the piece (on the 3rd page):


Poling plans on playing for Westview this summer (through June), before trying out for the 18-and-under U.S. national team at the Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo.

That should give Andy a good idea about where he stands in his age-group, whether or not he makes it. Cool that he's trying out, though. Is it by invitation only? Anyone know?

ZagNative
06-15-2007, 02:01 PM
Is the article referring to the Youth Development Festival in Colorado Springs referred to here a couple of days ago?

http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=29608#post29608

P.S. to SloZag - No problem with the double-post. This time of year we're all just scrambling to dig up any bit of bball news.

BobZag
06-15-2007, 03:12 PM
Is the article referring to the Youth Development Festival in Colorado Springs referred to here a couple of days ago?

http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=29608#post29608

P.S. to SloZag - No problem with the double-post. This time of year we're all just scrambling to dig up any bit of bball news.

The writer meant the youth festival, yes. That will really tell Andy (and us Zag fans) where he stands compared to others his size and grade. And speaking of size, that weight gain is the best news of the day by far. That means he'll be getting stronger, too, and can make up for lost time in the development department.

Great news.

MDABE80
06-15-2007, 03:45 PM
This is just great news. Andy at 230! I very much agree that this'll give us a better idea of how he looks, moves and completes now that his mystery illness is behind him. Everyone's always said his skill set is good but his frailness was a major setback. Let's hope he comes along quickly.

ZagNut08
06-15-2007, 04:54 PM
if he can put on and keep weight he will be a very solid player with his skill set

MickMick
06-15-2007, 05:24 PM
After Sacre bangs on him everyday in practice, he will have more than enough self motivation to add even more weight.